Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Server Power Supplies > Athena Power > Athena Power AP-U1ATX30A 1U 300W Server Power Supply

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent bang for the buck!
Pros: Fits in the Supermicro 1U case and aligns with mounting holes. Powers the server with all 4 drives installed. Very quiet. Has all the needed connectors and more!
Cons: None so far
Reviewed By:N/A,6/16/2015 12:20:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Power Supplies > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA TC-350PD3 20+4Pin 350W Single PS3 Power Supply

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Needs improvement
Pros: Works well in a 2U server case where a short depth dimension PSU is needed. The power supply runs fine. The fans, not so much.
Cons: The fans are/were of poor quality. I have two of these power supplies, and both times, the fans started to fail. The first one lasted 13 months before it started going bad and chattering, the second one lasted all of 4 months. Both fans came from the same manufacturer.
Other Thoughts: Instead of tossing the power supplies because of a bad fan, I bought replacement 2 pin 80x80x15mm fans. The connector style on the replacement fan may be different than the one on the power supply fan. If so, you'll need to pop the connector off the wires of the good fan, and replace it with the connector from the bad fan. Make sure you orient and put both connectors side by side, so you know which sides the red and black wires need to go in the connector. It's a tight fit, plugging the connector onto the power supply board. I ended up using a pair of tweezers to guide it over, and a small precision screwdriver to push the connector down onto the board.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/6/2015 3:05:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Power Supplies > SeaSonic USA > SeaSonic SS-250SU 250W 250W 1U 80+ Bronze Certified APFC Power Supply

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Much quieter than I expected
Pros: I always heard 1U PSUs would be loud due to the fan size and speed, but I was pleasantly surprised by how quiet this beast was. Instead of a whiny buzz we get a gentle *woosh*. Its going into a rack away from human ears, but it could easily be put in a normal use computer and not annoy someone.
Cons: Slightly long cables, but only because I put it in a shallow depth mITX case. Had enough room to fit all of them without modification but I had to get inventive. Better to have too much than not long enough though.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/3/2015 7:02:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Power Supplies > Athena Power > Athena Power AP-MFATX25P8 20+4Pin 250W Single 80 PLUS Certified Server Power Supply for 1U Mini-ITX

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good, but loud...
Pros: Good PSU, easy to replace the weak one that came with the Mini-ITX case that had burned out before I even used it.
Cons: Fan is very loud.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't buy another one of these, as I can't believe the fan on the PSU is this loud! Yeah, it's a great PSU and is doing the job, but the fan variance on the PSU is horrid. It will go a long time at high speed, then all of a sudden drop to a whisper, then back up again.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for your reviews on Athena Power AP-MFATX25P8. Since AP-MFATX25P8 is designed as an IPC grade power supply unit, it features a high RPM and ball bearing cooling fan. Furthermore, it also features temperature sensing fan speed controller for preventing PSU over heat. If the PSU fan is too noisy, this is because the fan is spinning in the highest speed. We will suggest users to improve the system's ventilation or inspect system configuration to see the PSU has enough wattage. Please feel free to contact with our service team at 626-810-5008, or e-mail us at service@athenapower.us in regular business hour 8:30AM~5:30PM, Monday~Friday. Thank you and have a nice day.

Reviewed By:N/A,6/2/2015 11:06:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Power Supplies > Athena Power > Athena Power AP-U2ATX80FEP8 20+4Pin 800W Single 2U IPC Server Power Supply - 80PLUS Bronze

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Incompatible
Pros: It turned on
Cons: DO NOT try to use this with an Asus Z10PE-D16 board! The 4-pin and 8-pin mother board power connectors are on the same cable from the power supply. The connector from the 8-pin to the 4-pin is about 3 inches long and will not reach to the 4-pin connector on the motherboard so you cannot use both at the same time, which is the whole point of the psu. Whoever designed this was an idiot.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for your reviews on Athena Power product. We apologize any inconvenience caused on you. User may have the similar fitment issue. We encourage you don't feel hesitate to contact with us and we can provide solution to resolve this problem. Please contact us at 626-810-5008 8:30AM~5:30PM on Monday~Fridayor e-mail us at service@athenapower.us. Thank you again.

Reviewed By:N/A,6/1/2015 7:52:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Power Supplies > Athena Power > Athena Power AP-RRP4ATX6508 80 PLUS Certified 20+4Pin 2 x 500W Mini Redundant Server Power Supply

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great power unit, doesn't fit though
Pros: Great price, decent power. Good build quality
Cons: As some have noted, it doesn't fit some server cases. I put this into a 4U rack mount case. I had to go crazy on the cutout on the case with a dremmel. About 30 min of precision grinding, and it is now in the case, and securely mounted. The power supply is just 1/8" too big, and then it has screws that sick out to the sides, that will need to be cleared as well.
Other Thoughts: Good unit, but may not fit your case. Not a deal breaker if you have a dremmel with a cutoff wheel.
Reviewed By:Dennis L.,5/18/2015 7:34:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Power Supplies > Athena Power > Athena Power AP-MFATX40P8 20+4Pin 400W Single Server Power Supply 80+ Bronze Certified

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works great
Pros: Solid Flex ATX psu. Quiet most of the time. Tons of cables to accommodate anything you can throw at it.
Cons: When the fan does turn on it stays on permanently until the computer is restarted. Wouldn't really care except that it is noisy and distracting.
Other Thoughts: Needed one for an old HP Pavilion Slimline that I gutted, painted and built up with modern components for my living room. This fit the bill perfectly and installed in a few minutes. Would buy it again.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/25/2015 12:18:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Power Supplies > Athena Power > Athena Power AP-U2ATX80FEP8 20+4Pin 800W Single 2U IPC Server Power Supply - 80PLUS Bronze

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Powerful & Quiet
Pros: Fits perfectly in my 3u rack case. This psu is quiet and powerful. I thought the smaller size fans would be noisy and constantly spinning at high rpms. But no such thing. the high efficiency results in surprisingly cool and quiet operation. That's a plus because the computer is part of a video production switch and the quietness allows us to stay close to the action without hum being picked up by mics.
Cons: The PSU may not lie flat on the bottom of some 3u cases when mounted. It's still probably secure enough for most people, but since our system is mobile, I used thick foam mounting strips under it to make it more secure.
Other Thoughts: Connectivity is perfect for any atx system & designed to support multiple GPus.
Reviewed By:gapmedia,4/7/2015 6:26:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Power Supplies > SuperMicro > SuperMicro PWS-721P-1R 720W Server Power Supply

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great!
Pros: Exact same as OEM Barracuda power supply
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: This is the exact same power supply Barracuda wanted $2K to replace\repair. Plugged this in and back to the races. Buy with confidence.
Reviewed By:Chuck!,4/6/2015 7:50:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Power Supplies > Athena Power > Athena Power AP-MFATX50P8 500W FlexATX Single Standard Length (150mm) EPS12V/ATX12V mini-ITX/1U IPC/GPU Server Power Supply - 80PLUS Silver Certified - ActivePFC - OEM

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Excellent! Not too quiet nor too loud.
Pros: Great quality. Average capacitors used inside (Teapo). Decent efficiency. Fan is pretty quiet for its size when idle and not too loud when under load. Plenty of connectors.
Very high power output for even the most demanding FlexATX size systems.
Cons: Deducted 1 egg because noisy coil whine when under heavy GPU load. Sounds like a cicada.

Cables a bit too long for most cases that take this PSU.

The 2 PCI-E 6+2-pin connectors are both on the second virtual 12V rail. This means you can really only power up to a GTX 980 (~200W) without powering half the GPU from an EPS12V to PCI-E adapter.
Other Thoughts: Highly recommended. Nothing else in this form factor can handily deliver this much power to a high-demand gaming system.
Reviewed By:Mono,3/5/2015 10:22:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.