Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Server Power Supplies > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA IS-1U40PD8 24Pin 400W Single 1U 80Plus Server Power Supply

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid power supply for a compact NAS
Pros: Fits the Norco ITX-S8 chassis PERFECTLY. Took me a long time to find a power supply that fit well and actually worked right.

Very solid unit, motherboard diags show the voltage levels are very close to targets. Build quality is VERY high - very close to that of a SeaSonic.
Cons: No sleeves for power cables (cosmetic only)
Other Thoughts: Would definitely purchase this brand again. I don't skimp on power supplies after being burned in the past. Seasonic is my go-to brand, but this brand (XEAL, iStarUSA's power supply line) is now on my list, especially when I need something that isn't an ATX power supply.

I wish I had the proper tools to test the power output. I would expect the levels to be close to the tolerances of other high-end power supplies.
Reviewed By:Andrew N.,9/11/2016 5:18:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Power Supplies > Athena Power > Athena Power AP-U2ATX40P8 20+4Pin 400W Single 2U EPS 80 PLUS Server Power Supply

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 A little noisy, but OK until it fails.
Pros: Provided power.
Had enough connectors for my application.
Cons: No on/off switch on back.
Fan was loud.
Died prematurely.
Other Thoughts: This was an okay power supply for what it was. Used in a very low power (less than 100W draw nominal) NAS system. The power supply lasted through its warranty period (1 year), but it failed with ~24,000 hours of use on it, and it is rated for a MTBF of 100,000 hours.

In the dozens of PC's, servers, and NAS units that I have built over the years, this is only the second PSU that I've ever had fail.

I normally build for reliability, so I can't really recommend Athena Power if you need a PSU that will be considered reliable. I had to buy this unit, because at the time, my normal PSU options were not available and had a lengthy backorder.

Fortunately, I didn't have a lot of faith in this unit, and I had went ahead and back ordered my regular PSU. So I had one on hand for a quick swap out, and I expect it can survive 10 years of 24/7 usage, and it was only $14 more than the Athena Power unit that failed early.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer. Thank you for having your review on Athena Power AP-U2ATX40P8. This power supply is designed as an IPC or server grade power supply unit. In order to have better thermal solution, it features 2 ball bearing cooling fans to let the fan run longer lasting. However, we apologize about the any inconvenience happened on you. In the meanwhile, this power supply unit, AP-U2ATX40P8, has 3-year limited warranty with Athena Power. We encourage you don't hesitate to contact our service team at (626)810-5008 or email to service@athenapower.us during our regular business hours: 8:30am-5:30pm, Mon.-Fri. Our team will assist you with our RMA service. Again, thank you for your review and having a wonderful day.

Reviewed By:William N.,9/8/2016 8:16:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Power Supplies > SeaSonic USA > SeaSonic SS-400L2U 400W Single 2U Server Power Supply - 80PLUS Gold

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Still Going Strong!
Pros: Installation into a Norco 2U case was a breeze. Love the modular style connectors at the back of the power supply allowed me to customize the cabling I actually needed and was able to eliminate a lot of unnecessary cable clutter.
Cons: No so far! Power supply is still going strong. Rock solid stable!
Other Thoughts: No further comments
Reviewed By:Daniel G.,7/28/2016 6:32:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Power Supplies > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA TC-2U/50-80 24Pin 500W Single 2U 38dB Quiet 80plus Bronze Green Server Power Supply

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 hahahaha garbage
Pros: - hahaha not a single one
Cons: the fan is too big for its housing, so it scrapes against the inside and makes an awful sound, when it actually spins. It's about a 50/50 chance the fan can overcome friction and make eardrums bleed. I saved a video for my own sad humor of how awful it sounds to remind myself how bad a piece of hardware can be.
Other Thoughts: would not recommend this brand to anyone ever, this is hands down the worst defect I've received from newegg
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/19/2016 7:53:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Power Supplies > Athena Power > Athena Power AP-U1ATX40P8 20+4Pin 400W Single 1U EPS 80 PLUS Server Power Supply

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Gave up the ghost at 2 yrs 8 months
Pros: small
compact
quiet
Cons: not sure...trying to figure out what happened
Other Thoughts: had it installed on a NAS home server. The PSU just stopped working. No smoke, no fire (nocking on wood heavily). When the PSU stopped working, it tripped a breaker at the main panel and taking power off to several rooms served by that breaker.

Unfortunately, while the unit is still under warranty (surprise!) I can't ship it as I took it apart trying to figure out what went wrong.

I will buy another one since I have two identical servers (one is a donor/spare parts). The second server will eventually be placed back online once I get more time to finish it.
Reviewed By:Robert F.,7/12/2016 9:38:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Power Supplies > Athena Power > Athena Power AP-U1ATX70 20+4Pin 700W Single 1U EPS Server Power Supply

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Small, powerful, has tons of cables.
Pros: - Build feels high quality, fans push a lot of air.
- Fit perfectly in my Chenbro RM11704 1U Chassis
- Powers 2 x Xeon E5-2670s with 256GB of DDR3 ECC, 4 hard drives, and an SSD without any issues.
- This PSU stays cool, even after hours of usage.
- Tons of cables.
Cons: - The wires felt a little low quality, however, the connectors seemed just fine.
- Tons of cables (yes - I know, I listed that as a pro too), when routing all of these cables in a 1U Chassis, it can be a little complex, definitely takes some patience, but I was able to do it just fine.
Other Thoughts: - This is a 1U server power supply, so don't expect it to be quiet. It is't super loud, but it is by no means silent.
- Only 1 x EPS Connector, had to buy a 4 PIN ATX (P4) / Molex to EPS converter. Powers 2 x CPUs just fine after that.
- Only 80 plus bronze. I would've liked gold, but this is one of the few options of power supplies that actually fit in my case.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/18/2016 8:15:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Power Supplies > Athena Power > Athena Power AP-P4ATX60FE 20+4Pin 600W Single EPS12V V2.91 SLI and CrossFire Ready Supports Intel Core i7 Server Power Supply

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works
Pros: No problems. Could use mode SATA power connectors (they are all on the same pigtail). No noise issues.
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this power supply.
Reviewed By:Joe C.,6/9/2016 8:52:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Power Supplies > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA TC-850PD1 20+4Pin 850W Single Server Power Supply

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product!
Pros: -Silent Fan
-6 SATA power connectors
-Sleeved Cables
-Many more!
Cons: -None that I can tell
Other Thoughts: -I would definitely recommend this product to anyone
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/22/2016 2:02:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Power Supplies > SeaSonic USA > SeaSonic SS-250SU 250W 250W 1U 80+ Bronze Certified APFC Power Supply

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Died after a few weeks in use
Pros: - Inexpensive
- 80+ Certified
- All of these are moot if the thing dies after just two weeks...
Cons: - Stopped working after two weeks.
Other Thoughts: - Maybe I got a lemon, but be careful buying from this company.
Manufacturer Response:Hello,

Thank you for your comment and sorry about the problem you had. We always do our best to avoid such problem but it can happen that sometimes a PSU fails. Kindly contact your reseller to ask for an exchange. If you have any comments, please let us know at: newegg@seasonic.com
Thank you.

Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/15/2016 2:58:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Power Supplies > Athena Power > Athena Power AP-U1ATX30A 1U 300W Server Power Supply

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Poor quality control.
Pros: Cheap
Had enough luck not to blow up or catch fire.
Cons: I have just received the AP-U1ATX30A power supply from Newegg, plugged it into my Mini-ITX server, powered it on, and the IPMI reported VCCM and other power readings as 0 volts.

After numerous attempts to re-seat the ATX connector and each time failing to provide the right voltages (not zero), I was forced to abandon the power supply.
The server is currently using a known good (but larger size) power supply, until I can get a smaller, yet working, unit.

Being perturbed by this DOA unit, i decided to look inside the unit. Lo and behold, half of the red leads coming out of the power supply were broken off at the PCB and were just loose. The reason why the power would turn on, but no system post, had been revealed.

This could have caused serious damage to equipment and possibly bodily harm if the loose wires bridged the wrong contact within the Power Supply.

I have documented the issues and will attempt to contact the MFG.
Other Thoughts: I purchased this item via another site with the same name as a rain forest.
However, it was still shipped by and ordered via Newegg (Packing List).

Note to MFG:
I would suggest adding some sort of cable restraint on the back of the power supply as to not allow external movement of the power connectors to influence the solder connections holding the wires to the PCB. This may prevent a scenario where the unit passed QC, but the shipping / packaging process may have forced the cables into a position which caused stress on the solder points.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer. Thank you for the product review on Athena Power AP-U1ATX30A. Per your information, we encourage you to contact with our Customer Service/Tech Support team to assist you to solve the issue you are having. Please contact us via landline at (626)810-5008 or e-mail at service@athenapower.us during our regular business hours: 8:30am-5:30pm, Mon-Fri. Thanks again and have a nice day.

Reviewed By:Brian H.,5/3/2016 6:02:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.