Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Limited Time Only! Newegg Premier is now only $29.99/year. Sign up now.
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Home Improvement & Hobbies > Individual Software > Individual Software Total 3D Home Design Deluxe

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Individual Software Total 3D Home Design Deluxe
Pros: Fun and plenty of interior elements.
I like the area mapping idea.
Ok to spend a rainy afternoon with, but...
Cons: Wonky interface. Occasionally exits on its own. Can't erase dimension lines once added and they are added automatically. Walls do not always connect when added.
Mapped areas don't generate the rooms I expect.
All in all - wonky.
Other Thoughts: Overall, pleasant looking and as long as you live in a square house, its fine. Don't try to make a split level. or put in stairs.
I bought this to produce drawings for the town inspector and to do estimates. It just isn't for doing actual work.
Reviewed By:chris,10/14/2013 8:33:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Improvement & Hobbies > Individual Software > Individual Software Total 3d Home, Landscape & Deck Suite 12

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Buggy Software with a limited feature set
Pros: The software was easy to install on XP. It has a lot of examples if you're looking for ideas, but you could probably find the same thing from magazines and searching online.

The learning curve wasn't too bad, but I am pretty computer literate so others' experiences may vary.
Cons: Don't even expect basic functionality to work correctly with this program. You have to save often as crashes tend to happen. There are several bugs in the code which are blatant, like only being able to rotate the 'up' direction of stairs once.

Be careful what you save too. I had to re-do a couple hours of work adding a wall and saving. Shortly afterwards, it crashed. After that, it would crash each time I tried to open the drawing. I had to start from scratch.

There are many features which seem odd to leave out. Considering the cost, I guess I cannot expect too much. Some features (like adding another floor) probably should have been left out as you're almost guaranteed a crash eventually once this is done.

All of this was discovered within hours of installation.
Other Thoughts: I didn't expect much for the price. I only expected something to get some basic design plans I could take to an architect so they could have an idea of what I wanted.

In general, this is a poorly written SW with a lot of fluff to make you think you're getting more that you actually get. I write software for a living and this being the '12' version astounds me. There are so many basic functionality bugs in the programs that it make me wonder about the company in general. I looked on there website and it seemed they had lots of business software packages available. If your considering any software from this vendor, think twice. If I was this company, I would pull this package from the shelves as it is would surely tarnish my reputation. This is absolutely the worst program I ever bought.
Reviewed By:Randy,11/1/2011 1:46:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Home Improvement & Hobbies > NOVA DEVELOPMENT > Nova Development Family Tree Maker 2011 Deluxe

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 1/10 the program as FTM 16
Pros: Works with windows 7.
Cons: Everything. Difficult to use , won't display tree the way I feel I want (not a problem with FTM 16). Hard to add new pictures. Down right ugly graphs. Resists doing just about anything. Do NOT buy.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/5/2011 10:37:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Improvement & Hobbies > ValuSoft > ValuSoft MasterCook 11.0

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very nice product
Pros: Nice upgrade from version 9.
Fixed shopping list naming bug.
Excellent price for powerful software.
Cons: Software is somewhat behind the times.
Doesnt support drag and drop, back button on mouse, and some stuff like that.
Other Thoughts: Have been a long time user of Mastercook. Started with version 6.
Like all software, it takes sometime to set it up to your personal standards; like entering your own recipes, menus, ingredients.
The nutritional analysis is great; you know what you are eating! By making some adjustments to recipes, you can keep our fat intake to X percent, stuff like that.
We set up our menu for the week and print out a shopping list.
When we go to the store it is a quick and easy trip; stick to the list and your in and out.
We seldom have anything in the cupboard that we dont need for the week. Savings on the grocery bill are good.
Reviewed By:valk97,5/28/2011 6:01:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Home Improvement & Hobbies > Chief Architect > Chief Architect Home Designer SUITE 10

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great for designing your home
Pros: Quickly draw floor plans for your dream house. Instantly produce 3D walkthroughs and overviews. Lots of decorating options. Place cabinets, etc. and see them in 3D.
Cons: Can't dimension elevations. Not made for professional home designers (Chief Architect has other software for that).
Other Thoughts: You can't design a home to be built using this software. It is for designing your home, and then handing off the design to a qualified home designer. Home designers charge around $2-3/sq ft for a home design while architects charge >$8. If you know what you want, you can save a lot of money designing your own home. This is the best software out there for that purpose.
Reviewed By:Jeff J,5/27/2011 9:17:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Home Improvement & Hobbies > Chief Architect > Chief Architect Home Designer SUITE 10

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 chief architect 10
Pros: decent graphics, but
Cons: If you want to really do accurate drawings to scale, this is not for you.
You cannot offset any line so all you can do is to create a nice picture.
Reviewed By:wcl,4/2/2011 7:22:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Home Improvement & Hobbies > Individual Software > Individual Software Total 3D Home Design Deluxe

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Deal
Pros: Good program
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Wyomingjeff,3/3/2011 3:03:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Home Improvement & Hobbies > PUNCH SOFTWARE > Punch! Software Home & Landscape Weekend Project Jewel Case

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Not Bad
Pros: Price. A good, not great, selection of home furnishings (drapes, bricks, windows, etc). Great for home owners and Do It Yourselfers. It beats making a scale model out of basal wood. You can choose the type of door casing and scale of your project.
Cons: The UI and walk through options. Could be a little more intuitive. But for a good price you can learn to live with it. After about 4 hrs of use I got used to the user interface and 3d options. Plan on investing a few hours with a tape measure measuring your rooms and transcribing it to the software.
Other Thoughts: Bought it to see what projects would look like before I invested the time and money into doing it. It fulfills that need. As a DIYer my wife is skeptical of the end result, this helps her skepticism. The UI made it loose an egg. Honestly for every ten dollars in price it would loose an egg. Easily frustrated people should get a more intuitive UI in home design software. Wouldn't use it as a professional.
Reviewed By:Gene O,2/20/2011 8:47:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Improvement & Hobbies > Individual Software > Individual Software Total 3D Home Jewel Case Edition

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Only for those with NO experience
Pros: Only for those with NO experience - would probably help to put ideas on paper, before talking to someone with knowledge.
Cons: Only for those with NO experience - regret reading others reviews before purchasing.
Other Thoughts: You get what you pay for.
Reviewed By:JH,2/11/2011 12:31:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Improvement & Hobbies > Individual Software > Individual Software Total 3d Home, Landscape & Deck Suite 12

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Disappointed
Pros: none yet
Cons: First, I have NOT spent a lot of time yet with this program. The little time I did spend was very disappointing. Software appeared cumbersome to use with rudimentary results. I felt I'd be better served with a pad and pencil.
Reviewed By:Will,1/27/2011 6:22:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau