Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Black November
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Small Business > Cisco Small Business RV110W-A-NA-K9 Wireless-N VPN Firewall 5000 Simultaneous Sessions 90 Mbps

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Decent, inexpensive Wifi Firewall/Router
Pros: *Stable firmware (updated to latest version: 1.2.1.4)
*Management interface is very simple compared to higher-end firewalls, like Sonicwall TZ series
*Can select IP mode (IP v4, v6, or combination) and Wireless band (B, G, N, or combination)
*Firewall settings can be configured to your heart's content
*Compact design
*Supports DDNS
Cons: *Only supports RIP routing protocol
*No firewall settings documentation - Administration manual is very light in details, mostly definitions of phrases and terms as shown on the Management interface
Other Thoughts: Purchased this firewall has a temporary substitute of my Sonicwall TZ200, which is locked up in storage since I recently moved. It is a notch above the Netgear and DLink router/firewalls, but it does not seem to match the capabilities of higher-end firewalls like from Sonicwall and Watchguard.

My configuration is a Cisco RV110W with Motorola SB6121 cable modem on Comcast. I setup a different DNS Server in my DHCP scope, using Google's public DNS servers as my primary (and not the ones from Comcast).

Highly recommend the Cisco firewall as a low-cost firewall.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/19/2014 10:11:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > WatchGuard > WatchGuard XTM 25-Appliance Only - WG025000

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works but requires registration
Pros: Strong firewall with multiple LANs possible. With basic internet address info for your ISP, you can have one port open with DHCP within minutes. But be sure to create a Watchguard account FIRST (see cons) or you will add an hour of work.
Cons: Online documentation is not written for a beginner and little is provided in the package (you need internet to get the manual). You absolutely MUST register for the free 90 day LiveSecurity trial or the device is limited to only ONE output port. Getting the key installed for the subscription is terribly difficult - finally had to cut/paste between browser windows because links do not work!!! LiveSecurity subscription is required for firmware updates - i.e. add $100 per year to get the updates.
Other Thoughts: Watchguard needs to revisit their "non-functional-until-subscribed" hardware set-up. I understand firmware is not free to create and would be willing to consider subscriptions - but the forced (and buggy) set-up is unappealing. Instruction language should be reviewed by someone who is not a professional network administrator if they are interested in sales outside commercial.
Reviewed By:Ben Secure,11/18/2014 10:22:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Dell SonicWALL > Sonicwall 01-SSC-6942 TZ105 UTM Secure Firewall

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Sonic wall TZ
Pros: set up was OK
Cons: Now owned by DELL service contract that I paid extra for is worthless waste of money. No clear English spoken. Each month it go's down and after 3hrs and many changes were back up. But every month! Its crazy. I will be looking for another firewall when my extended contract is up. Its typical DELL sales are good service is horrid
Other Thoughts: Look at other options, a company who has true American speaking service techs
Reviewed By:Kevin in FLA,11/14/2014 2:10:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR SRX5308-100NAS ProSafe Quad WAN Gigabit SSL VPN Firewall 200000 Simultaneous Sessions 924 Mbps (LAN-to-WAN)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Beware!
Pros: Cheap, not very loud. Seems like plenty of routing and VPN options if you're running a supported OS (Windows). Supports RADIUS authentication.
Cons: We wanted a VPN solution that offered PPTP, L2TP, and SSL, but without any of the restrictions that are found with other devices, such as high price, limited speeds, or proprietary clients. This looked like it would work perfectly.

Boy, was I wrong.

Yeah, it supports L2TP, but not "L2TP/IPSec w/ PSK". So it doesn't work right with many of the operating systems that use that (such as OS X, Android, iOS, etc.).

And PPTP? It has limited options for that, and so far we've not been able to get any client to connect to it using PPTP.

The device apparently doesn't keep logs for anything other than IPSec and SSL, making it rather hard to diagnose connection issues.

And SSL VPN? It uses Netgear's proprietary SSL VPN that requires their own Neatgear client to be installed. And the client they provide is several years old. It is an *unsigned* Java applet. Are they serious? Java 7/8 by default blocks unsigned apps because of the security issues with allowing such a thing. While you can add the VPN device's IP to your Java whitelist to get it to run, you shouldn't have to. The SSL VPN client is filled with poor grammar and misleading error messages, as well. It sort of works. Unlike L2TP and PPTP, we did get the SSL VPN to connect. Unfortunately, the client requires root access to install certain files, and the Netgear forums have mini-guides that instruct users on how to enable the root account on OS X just to get the software to install (you must run a web browser as root, seriously). Once installed, users will still get bombarded with security errors (at least 3) any time they connect, simply because of it being an insecure/unsigned Java applet and the poor programming of the applet that will complain about lack of root access (because that is what every user needs, right?).

With an SSL client that looks like it was poorly slapped together several years ago and less L2TP and PPTP compatibility than a Windows Server installation from a decade ago, it's obvious that Netgear has no intention of supporting this device.
Other Thoughts: If you want to run a VPN server that allows actual clientless connections for PPTP and L2TP/IPSec w/ PSK, and the security and functionality of SSL VPN, I would suggest just setting up a Linux server w/ OpenVPN or even a Windows Server w/ OpenVPN.
Reviewed By:Xenomorph,11/14/2014 10:54:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Dell SonicWALL > SonicWALL 01-SSC-4887 TZ 205 Wireless-N Secure Upgrade Plus Program Hardware with 3 Years of the Comprehensive Gateway Security Suite

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Nice Features - Expected Better Performance
Pros: Handles complexity of Internet access and much of the management needed by a SOHO - may be over-priced. Of course you need to be an experienced Network Engineer to setup or purchase the setup assistance support. Picked up a great sales price.
Cons: Performance is limited, I expected better from a dual CPU router. I have one machine downloading windows updates and it has the CPU pegged at 98.67% utilization. And yes you do need competent networking skills to set this up.
Other Thoughts: I work from home have approximately 60+ devices hitting the network. Been struggling with the top of the line home routers like the Link sys EA6900. Thought this dual CPU router would perform better. I have a 40UL/5DL internet circuit. Running multiple video streams and downloads, this router barely performs better than $150 router. I wouldn't recommend any lower than the model 215, and maybe even go higher. When you pay premium monthly fees for an internet circuit, then place a weak router in the middle, you may as well only have DSL.
Reviewed By:Spamhater007,11/14/2014 7:48:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Dell SonicWALL > SONICWALL 01-SSC-6945 TZ 205 Network Security Appliance 500 Mbps

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 OK....but
Pros: Small, Compact, seems to work well. Install wizard works good. I have owned previous sonic walls, so the configuration was not a mystery.
Cons: Claims to be 12000 connections, Only 10000. Subtract 1 egg for misrepresentation.
Other Thoughts: Dell customer service sucks. When trying to contact them to point out the error in the specification, the only reply was that your support agreement is expired. This is on the 6th day of owning the device.
Reviewed By:David,11/12/2014 2:41:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL USG60 Security Firewall w/13 Months UTM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works as anticipated
Pros: Works as it should. Very simple setup, and interface is relatively easy to understand.
Cons: UTM subscription a little weird to sing up and update the firewall. Wasn't sure if it took then a couple days latter when logging in. It was all good. Just took a couple days to register in the firewall. In mt network. Auto IP addressing is the same as my Cisco router. Caused a few problems out of the box, but a simple fix.
Reviewed By:Lanwood,11/10/2014 7:32:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Small Business > Cisco Small Business RV325-K9-NA Dual Gigabit WAN VPN Routers 40000 Simultaneous Sessions < 250Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome Gear
Pros: Purchased for small office. They have more function now with less hassle than previous devices.
Never given me one issue. I upgraded to latest firmware out of the box so I am not sure about the initial Firmware.
It is awesome for most SOHO uses.
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:Lee D.,10/30/2014 7:55:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Fortinet Inc. > Fortinet FortiGate 60C Multi-threat Security Appliance

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Everything was as expected
Pros: Packaging was excellent. Device itself performs just as I expect from a Fortinet product, which is flawlessly. Got two of these for a direct VPN between two locations, and for the UTM aspects.
Cons: No issues at all with this.
Other Thoughts: Would recommend any of their products. I've used several different UTM models from Fortinet, and have had good experiences with all of them.
Reviewed By:JACOB W.,10/28/2014 12:43:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZyWALL USG50 Internet Security Firewall with Dual-WAN, 4 Gigabit LAN / DMZ Ports, 5 IPSec VPN, SSL VPN, and 3G WAN Support

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It works well and fast.
Pros: Nearly plug and play with a decent GUI. I got my school network up and running in 30 minutes with VPN. Not using the trial-ware which will cut throughput in half. Running with FIOS at 100/100 with no issues.
Cons: Don't have any issues yet.
Reviewed By:OLGMarty,10/20/2014 5:08:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.