Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Dell SonicWALL > Dell SonicWALL 01-SSC-0576 VPN Wired TZ300 Gen 6 Firewall Secure Upgrade Plus 3 Year

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great firewall
Pros: I upgraded my home firewall from a cheap linksys router to this TZ300 because I wanted the ability for my iOS devices to VPN into my network. The setup and configuration was very easy, even getting the VPN endpoint setup wasn't difficult (as long as you follow the instructions available on dell or youtube).

For the most part the sonicwall devices (TZ series, NSA series, etc) all run on the same firmware. This is really nice because for configuration tasks you don't really have to find a guide specific to your model. For example you can find an SSL VPN setup guide for an NSA 2400, and the steps are exactly the same on a TZ300. Coming from a world of DIY firewalls and DD-WRT builds, this is a very welcome change.
Cons: Honestly I think the hardest part of setting up this device was getting it registered via www.mysonicwall.com. The in-device registration wouldn't work so I had to go directly to the website and punch in my S/N to register it (which you have to do to access your license information). Even then I had to fiddle with it a bit before I could access my licensed features (such as content filtering, email filtering, etc).

One thing to note is that the licensed services, such as anti-virus and content filtering, are *NOT* enabled by default (even though you have a license for them). You have to manually enable them once you get your license stuff syncing with the mysonicwall website. It's easy if you google for "'sonicwall best practices", but it's definitely something to be aware of.
Other Thoughts: Most of the common setup tasks have wizards that seem to work pretty well. If there isn't a wizard for what you're trying to do then there is a lot of good documentation online, both from dell and from individuals. However, if you're moving from a cheap firewall to a sonicwall then any advanced configuration you do is going to seem complex at first. I have worked with a sonicwall at my previous job several years ago, so I had a good idea of how things worked. But I do have to say, in the 4 years since I've worked with a sonicwall, dell has done a great job of simplifying the configuration experience while still leaving in the complexity/flexibility for those who need it.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/27/2015 8:00:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Small Business > Cisco Small Business RV320-K9-NA Dual Gigabit WAN VPN Routers

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Looking for a new solution
Pros: Can use Dual WAN and Verizon LTE. Has Gigabit ports
Cons: I have an RV082 that works pretty good. I have 2 DSL Connections at 1.25 Mbps ea. When I do a Speed Test, it shows 2.5 Mbps.

This device only shows 1.25 on the speed test, and Tech Support is stumped. They say these RV devices will only use one or the other WAN Port. So I remote into a computer on one of the other 4 networks I have running a Cisco RV series router, and show them the speed test on those setups. When they see the 2.5 Mbps, they are friendly, but they just scratch their heads. I have purchased several of the RV series because of there load balancing function.
Other Thoughts: Some cool features on this device, but if Cisco is moving away from load balancing, and moving just toward a round robin configuration, I need to find a new solution soon for my next install next week... 1.25 Mbps is CRAZY. 2.5 Mbps is just a pleasant miserable... The 10/100 Ports on the RV082 was great 10 years ago, but not very impressive now.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/26/2015 12:31:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Small Business > Cisco Small Business RV325-K9-NA Dual Gigabit WAN VPN Routers

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome little Router
Pros: Stable, easy to use and perfect for small business. I'm not really a network guy but this router is easy enough for the average IT guy to work with.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: When I was hired the company was basically using a Nice Home router. The company was looking to upgrade so that they could start using sip phones and expand the office to a few more people. The RV325 was the perfect option. Affordable and reliable.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/25/2015 8:57:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Small Business > Cisco Small Business RV325-K9-NA Dual Gigabit WAN VPN Routers

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very simple
Pros: These are very simple to setup and run very well. They are easy to use for almost anyone and as usual Cisco has great customer service.
Cons: None that I see other then they do to many firmware updates.
Other Thoughts: If your looking for a simply VPN tunnel this is your easiest setup!
Reviewed By:N/A,8/25/2015 8:37:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Systems, Inc. > Cisco ASA 5506-X Network Security Firewall Appliance

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terrible Product - CCNP
Pros: It is a Cisco ASA, which is great for all of the reasons we used the 5505 up till this point. If you want it as a replacement to the ASA5505, that will be fine, but don't use FirePower.
Cons: FirePower Services are terrible. Another product that Cisco tried to bolt onto a decent product. Don't buy this device. The way Cisco tried to incorporate the FirePower module/service into this device is so junky. The management page fails to load half of the time. It takes minutes to allow configuration changes take effect. The oddest thing is you have to connect the management port of the device to the same interface as the inside port through a cross over cable, or directly into a shared switch.
Other Thoughts: It looks like a rip off of some of the PaloAlto monitoring pages, does barely a good job at identifying applications. I didn't even go as far as to do user identification after just stopping at the Access Control Policies. Don't waste your money.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/24/2015 9:13:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Fortinet Inc. > Fortinet FortiGate-30D Security Appliance Firewall FG-30D

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great for Small Business/Home Office
Pros: If the other reviewer is used to working on multi-thousand dollar fortinet models, not sure what they were expecting from the SO/HO offering. As compared to other entry-level business-class devices I'm extremely happy with the Fortinet. Intuitive interface, great performance for the price. Some of the advanced functions require command line (advanced vpn config, for example), but as an engineer, having access to the command line in a small appliance is a huge plus.
Cons: Probably overkill for the average home user.
Other Thoughts: There is also a model that has a single PoE port that is handy if you have a PoE phone or AP.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/24/2015 6:37:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > WatchGuard > WatchGuard Firebox T10 Network Security/Firewall Appliance (3 YR LiveSecurity)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Do not buy
Pros: None for device. Five eggs for Newegg taking this piece of junk back. We have purchased $10K worth of stuff per year from Newegg for more than 10 years. This is our first return.
Cons: Marketing is misleading. There are no unit specific instructions. The T10 can only be programmed/setup through the browser UI. There is no browser UI instructions/tutorials/videos. Only instructions are for the server based software. I don't know what they expected you to do. First call to WatchGuard support only advice was return the device. That was honest and I should have returned it. I plugged on. By trial and error I got it setup. Then after the trial period it went nuts and started deleting all incoming email. No warning at all. Happened over a weekend so everyone in early to the office that Monday lost dozens of client emails. This is in excusable. This is suppose to be a product for the masses. There is no small business/retailer/coffee shop I know of that could have the IT staff support this device.
Other Thoughts: LiveSecurity is not a license it is a extended warranty, but who would know from their misleading unreadable marketing materials.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/24/2015 9:29:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Small Business > Cisco Small Business RV320-K9-NA Dual Gigabit WAN VPN Routers

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not as advertised.
Pros: This device is an extremely excellent selection for basic features. It has a simple, user friendly interface on the firewall, DHCP and DNS servers, easy setup for VLAN, DHCP relay and MAC filtering, so on. Most of all, X.509 certificate administration is as easy as it can be.
Cons: There are two very important limitations on advertised features that are not documented anywhere in print or on device .

First, enabling DMZ mode on the WAN2 interface disables NAT on that interface. So if you want to hide multiple public facing devices behind a single public address, you have to setup a VLAN and use port forwarding for public traffic and firewall rules to isolate the VLANs. This is a perfectly valid way to go, but why not make NAT togglable on the DMZ interface? Why force the user away from other valid setups?

Second, IPSec functionality is extremely limited. The device only supports IKEv1, which does not support mobile connectivity without certificates and the RV320's certificate based IKE tunnel requires the remote host to have a static IP. So there is no mobile IPSec tunneling. Further, Windows requires certificates for all IKE tunnels, so no IPSec tunneling to home users either. IPSec with manual keying only supports 3DES encryption, which might as well be clear text.. Not surprisingly, the encryption available on the PPTP tunnel is also weak encryption. PPTP. So unless all hosts involved in the tunnel have static public IP addresses, there is no secure tunneling option available through this device.
Other Thoughts: Admittedly, the configuration I wanted to go with is not the standard config. However, i have non-standard needs. All of the features that I need are available on the device, they just don't all inter-operate, which seems like lazy firmware programming to me. The device can handle AES-256, it just doesn't allow it on manual IPSec keying or non-IPSec tunnels. It can handle dynamic public IPs, just not with certificates. It has IKE, just not the latest version. It has NAT on the WAN2 interface, but forcibly disables it when enabling DMZ mode.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/15/2015 12:57:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > WatchGuard > WatchGuard Firebox T10 Network Security/Firewall Appliance

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Quality product
Pros: Fantastic performance for my home network. This is ideal for a 2-8 concurrent user environment. Great low cost, for both the unit and the subscriptions. Highly recommended if you know your way around enterprise grade networking equipment while not having to spend more than you need.
Cons: This device does require a healthy amount of knowledge of firewalls and routers to configure. If you have never dealt with an enterprise grade product, then I probably wouldn't recommend this product. Documentation is unfortunately limited.
Other Thoughts: DO NOTE!!! This device comes with a basic 90 Live Security subscription. Live Security is what allows you to get firmware upgrades and warranty. If you let this expire, you'll have to pay a multi year subscription in order to get back up-to-date in your subscription and, subsequently, your warranty/upgrades.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/10/2015 4:23:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZyWALL ZWUSG20 Internet Security Firewall with 4 Gigabit LAN / DMZ Ports, 2 IPSec VPN, SSL VPN , and 3G WAN Support

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dead 4 Months Later
Pros: Full featured firewall, albeit with quirky setup and NAT concepts.
Cons: WAN port died after 4 months. Lets see if ZyXEL fixes it. Seems this is a common problem.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/22/2015 8:31:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.