Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZyWALL USG50 Internet Security Firewall with Dual-WAN, 4 Gigabit LAN / DMZ Ports, 5 IPSec VPN, SSL VPN, and 3G WAN Support

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It works well and fast.
Pros: Nearly plug and play with a decent GUI. I got my school network up and running in 30 minutes with VPN. Not using the trial-ware which will cut throughput in half. Running with FIOS at 100/100 with no issues.
Cons: Don't have any issues yet.
Reviewed By:OLGMarty,10/20/2014 5:08:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR UTM50EW-100NAS 40000 Simultaneous Sessions 400 Mbps ProSecure UTM50 Appliance with 1-year Subscription Bundle Web, Email, and Support & Maintenance Subscriptions – Unlimited Users

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good performance, POOR support
Pros: Good hardware, performance and price point.
Cons: Netgear doesn't seem to realize that their enterprise offerings can't afford to be treated like the home networking side of the their business. They are very slow to address known security issues in this product. Ex. Heartbleed. I called and NO ONE had a comment on the status of a fix and customers had to wait WEEKS to see the issue resolved. Additionally, they don't have any security announce mailing list or security website for the enterprise products like other enterprise security vendors.
Other Thoughts: Netgear needs to start treating the enterprise customer with a higher level of support than its $100 home network customer.
Reviewed By:J,10/12/2014 4:49:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Dell SonicWALL > SONICWALL 01-SSC-4906 TZ 105 TotalSecure 1-year 200 Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great
Pros: Seller was great. Arrived fast. Device was easy to configure. Using it on home network so it has a lot more functionality than I actually need but very satisfied.
Cons: None. Only had it a month so we will see how it goes. So far so good.
Reviewed By:Zippync,10/10/2014 10:30:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Small Business > Cisco Small Business RV320-K9-NA Dual Gigabit WAN VPN Routers 20000 Simultaneous Sessions < 250Mbps

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Cisco RV320
Pros: Very Good throughput
Easy to Install
Easy to Configure
Cons: You have to update the firmware on some units.

I have three of these and had to update the firmware on two. The last one I purchased had the latest firmware already installed.

Updating the firmware is very easy. You download the file from Cisco's website and use the routers web interface to update.
Other Thoughts: Great product. I have two on a point to point VPN and have never had ANY problems, It just works.

The other is a VPN router for mobile users. Use Cisco's Easy VPN Client software on the laptops. Works great.
Reviewed By:Fred,9/27/2014 11:56:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Dell SonicWALL > SONICWALL 01-SSC-6945 TZ 205 Network Security Appliance 500 Mbps

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Great reputation but poor quality
Pros: Good color - very clean looking and the unit is shipped in a gorgeous cardboard box. The plastic wrap surrounding the unit seemed to be high quality and very transparent. The adhesive tape securing the package appeared to be applied straight and with nary a wrinkle.
Cons: This unit was selected as a more high-throughput option to the 7 year-old Linksys RV082 router. Sadly, this router is a far cry slower that the old Linksys. In actual speed tests the SonicWall is faster than the Linksys, but the time required to load web pages, S/R email, or download a file is much slower with the SonicWall TZ-205. And if you'd like to talk to someone for support or maybe allow an experienced tech to look at configuration in a remote session, it ain't happening.
Other Thoughts: I had great success with other SonicWall routers and security appliances, but this one has found a home on the DNU (do not use) lit. It's a great router, it just doesn't do the job it was intended to.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/24/2014 7:41:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Systems, Inc. > Cisco ASA 5505 10 User Bundle Firewall

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 response to bad reviews
Pros: Extremely reliable, provides Cisco CSACLI and ASDM configuration, Cisco gives "the sky is the limit" configuration power to their users.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: For bad reviewers. If it is a DoA device, that's understandable, but to anyone complaining about functionality, especially to those who are rating themselves a 5 in Tech Knowledge understadning, sorry, but when it comes to Cisco, you may want to knock yourself down a few levels of knowledge.

Cisco uses (for good reason) a proprietary CLI owing its' origins to UNIX. That, of course, has changed over the years, evolving into its' own product, but has been very stable throughout the years, with the occasional acceptable glitch.

One reviewer stated that it is a complicated setup. I disagree. Cisco has done a fantastic job of getting the Wizard functioning well enough for moderately technical users to set one of these up in their environment. Again though, they do expect the user to understand basic security and technical firewalling/IDS principles.

IMO, if you are not a very technical person, do not buy this product. It's not designed for home use, but can be in the right hands.

If you are very technical, and have exhausted the capabilities of other Home/SOHO firewalls, and love a challenge, then go for it. This is arguably the best firewall you can buy.

And if you are not a technical person, or are not familiar with Cisco CLI, don't blame the product if it doesn't "work" the way you think it should, blame your lack of knowledge of the product.
Reviewed By:Jim,9/13/2014 5:23:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZyWALL USG50 Internet Security Firewall with Dual-WAN, 4 Gigabit LAN / DMZ Ports, 5 IPSec VPN, SSL VPN, and 3G WAN Support

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great for Small Business
Pros: Reliable, easy to work with, good tech support
Cons: None that I know of
Other Thoughts: I have used these for a few different clients and once I became familiar with them I have found them to be a great solution for small businesses
Reviewed By:N/A,9/9/2014 10:47:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR FVS318N-100NAS ProSafe Wireless-N 8-port Gigabit VPN Firewall 6000 Simultaneous Sessions 95 Mbps

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Three Year (almost) Follow-Up
Pros: Sturdy metal construction
Port-based VLANs
IPSEC & SSL VPN
All Gig-E ports
Supports jumbo frames
Small size
Console serial port
Limited lifetime hardware warranty
Cons: Painfully slow Web GUI
Fundamentally unstable
Other Thoughts: At one time I had as many as eight of these units in the field, but now I've replaced them with competing products (at my own expense) because my clients deserve better.

Simply stated, Netgear's engineers have not been able to provide a firmware update that enables this firewall's full feature set without breaking something in the process. Fix the DHCP lease problems and the router intermittently drops RDP packets; fix the frequent lockups and the router starts dropping DNS traffic; fix the periodic loss of wireless connectivity and the LAN-WAN rules stop working. I pulled the last unit earlier this week (firmware 4.3.1-22) because it could only go a few days before clients began to experience timeouts, half-loaded webpages and loss of internet connectivity. Nearly three years and nine firmwares after I purchased my first FVS318N, Netgear added the only feature that makes sense for this flaky firewall: the ability to automatically reboot itself every 24 hours.

The FVS318N isn't the only recent Netgear product I've seen with reliability issues. Poor design, poor implementation and laughably poor support is a good reason to look elsewhere for SoHo/SMB kit.
Reviewed By:David R.,9/4/2014 8:13:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Small Business > Cisco Small Business RV110W-A-NA-K9 Wireless-N VPN Firewall 5000 Simultaneous Sessions 90 Mbps

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not very expensive but usalbe life is too short.
Pros: Simple to set up. Good features. Decent range.
Cons: Failed just after 2 years - with a 1 year warrantee. I expected more from a company like Cisco - even in this price range.
Reviewed By:Mike K.,9/1/2014 7:26:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZyWALL USG50 Internet Security Firewall with Dual-WAN, 4 Gigabit LAN / DMZ Ports, 5 IPSec VPN, SSL VPN, and 3G WAN Support

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Terrible Documents
Pros: It's fast, I bought it to replace my Sonicwall TZ190 at home. The TZ190 has very slow throughput and this unit used every bit of my download band width with qos on 7 for the wan port.
Cons: This is not my first firewall, I have worked with other brands including Sonicwall, Cisco andPalo Alto at work. This firewall has the worst documents of any I have ever seen. Creating rules and nat policies are pretty much the same as any other firewall but the settings for options and connectivity are sometimes hidden and the manuals are by far the worst I have ever seen. I had to use google to find procedures for simple things that I should not have. I never used tech support so I can't comment on the support side but I really shouldn't have to use google to find answers to some of the questions I had.
Other Thoughts: The CLI documentation seemed to be better than the manual but since it uses different commands you have to learn a whole new set of commands that are different from Cisco to make changes.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/20/2014 3:02:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau