Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > SAMSUNG > Samsung BD-H5100/ZA Blu-Ray Disc Player

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Samsung BD-H5100 Blu-Ray Disc Player
Pros: Great product. Works well - The remote is excellent quality as well.
Great Price
Cons: mechanical wise - is a little noisy
Reviewed By:California Scotty,1/11/2015 11:47:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > SAMSUNG > Samsung BD-H5900/ZA 3D Wi-Fi Blu-Ray Disc Player

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good, inexpensive multimode player
Pros: Plays blu-ray, dvd, netflix, prime instant video, hulu+, DLNA, and more
Small and sleek
Wi-fi and wired networking
Inexpensive
Playback looks great through HDMI out.
Good configuration for aspect ratio preferences.
Cons: Navigation buttons on remote are crowded, making navigation a little bit cumbersome.
Interface is occasionally a little laggy.
Other Thoughts: Does everything I need it to for a very affordable price. Easily streamed media from my computer via DLNA.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/7/2015 11:18:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > SAMSUNG > Samsung BD-F5700 Wi-Fi Blu-Ray Player

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Does the job without taking up too much space
Pros: This model has a compact and minimalist design. There are no obnoxious lights, the remote is backlit and well laid out, and the blu-ray drive is quiet. I didn't experience any problems with the wireless. In fact, setup was quick and easy. For the limited space available this unit fits in perfectly.

This player is another one of those smart devices. It has apps, firmware updates, and a good variety of on screen menu controls. I'm honestly not a big user of the built-in apps. I did use the YouTube app and had no problem with it. Ok, entering letters was annoying, but that's to be expected with a remote control!
Cons: I've subtracted an egg because the power light on this model is on the top of the unit rather than the front. All of the built-in controls are actually on the top and are touch-sensitive. I don't like this. It makes it harder to tell if the unit is on or off at a glance. The top buttons also make stacking other objects on top of it troublesome.

Also, take note that only an HDMI port exists for video connectivity. This is all I needed so not taking an egg off for it. Some people may be upset at the lack of connectivity options.

There is no front display. I'm not even sure Samsung had room for it so not taking an egg off for this either. Samsung is all into curved stuff though. They could have done a curved display, eh? :-D (horrible suggestion, don't do this, SERIOUSLY, don't)
Other Thoughts: This was a gift to my parents. I've spent the mos time using this player so far (including setup time). It fit into the limited space perfectly and plays blu-rays. It's snappier to load than my old Panasonic blu-ray player. Bottom line: his Samsung is a good, basic, compact blu-ray player.
Reviewed By:zjbdragon,1/6/2015 4:44:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > LG Electronics > LG 3D WiFi Built-in Blu-ray Player BP335W

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good player
Pros: Small light-weight and wireless, speedy delivery. Bought it because old bluray wouldn't play right, movies would go black for a second or two, this one has no problems.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: upgrade the firmware with a usb stick, easy to do
Reviewed By:N/A,1/6/2015 6:05:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > SAMSUNG > Samsung BD-F5700 Wi-Fi Blu-Ray Player

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Streamer/Player for the Price
Pros: Got it on sale 52.99 back in November.

Very straight forward and quick setup out of the box. To be honest I've only watched one bluray and one DVD on it to test it and both worked great.

I bought this primarily to stream Netflix to my bedroom and it has worked perfect every time without fail so far. If you're wondering, yes I'm using the WiFi with no problems!!
Cons: I do wish it had more apps or at least the ability to add them, but for $53 bucks I'm not going to complain too much!!
Other Thoughts: Solid player if you catch it on sale imo. Starts up much faster than 2 Sony bluray players I have in other rooms of house I bought in 2013.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/2/2015 10:47:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > Sony > Sony BDPS5200: 3D Streaming Blu-ray Disc player with TRILUMINOS technology

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Great 3D Blue Ray Player!
Cons: None
Reviewed By:agapenet,12/31/2014 11:03:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > SAMSUNG > Samsung BD-FM59 Smart 3D Blu-Ray Player with Wi-Fi

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Broke after 95 days...
Pros: Got a good deal for it.
Sister model to the well-liked BD-F5900.
Smart Hub (newer models in this price bracket apparently don't have it anymore).
Good remote.
Good image quality.
Dual-core processor was good for apps.
Cons: Broke right after refurbished warranty expired. No longer reads any Bluray discs. Upgraded to latest firmware, no dice. Only DVD seems to work now.
Other Thoughts: I've had good luck with refub laptops and A/V Receivers and things before. Thought I'd get away with saving some money on a refurbished BD player. But with mechanical things like this that entail physical spinning and laser head calibration, etc., you're better off getting a brand new one with a full warranty. What a waste of money!
Reviewed By:N/A,12/31/2014 12:50:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > Toshiba > Toshiba Symbio BDX5500 3D Wi-Fi Blu-Ray Disc Player with Ultra HD 4K Upscaling

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 streaming media player huh?
Pros: plays almost any DVD/bluray i put into it. somewhat decent setup and layout nice remote layout too . hope you like netflix though its all you really get
Cons: Media player my Bum . its soo limited
you have netflix and a flew oddball channels no hulu same as my sony smart tv and cant add more apps. i mean pandoras great but i have a stereo for music not my tv
Other Thoughts: if this product had more media choices i wouldnt be giving it away and useing a xbox instead
Reviewed By:VapinYoda,12/29/2014 8:19:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > SAMSUNG > Samsung BD-H5900/ZA 3D Wi-Fi Blu-Ray Disc Player

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great bluray player for the money
Pros: AnyNet+ interface is great for casting
Ability to convert to DolbyDigital or DTS on the fly
Plays DLNA content over my network.
Fast power-on time
Netflix Dolby Digital+ works great
Cons: Only HDMI, no component or composite. This is pretty minor.
The arrow keys on the remote are hard to find if it's dark. It'd be nice if one of them had a bump like I've felt on other remotes.
Other Thoughts: I picked up this bluray player because I like the Samsung brand, and because the price was good. I didn't have much expectations beyond playing blurays and doing bitstream audio to my AVR. I was totally wrong, because this thing is awesome! While it does play blurays excellently, it's the additional features that really put it over the top. The bluray features are quite good, with the ability to bitstream audio directly over HDMI, but also to convert it to DolbyDigital or DTS if your AVR doesn't support the newer bluray formats.

This player also supports Netflix, Amazonz, Hulu, YouTube like every "smart" bluray player. It has both wired (my personal preference) and wireless which is nice. I've only tested Netflix and YouTube, both of which worked great. I was able to get Dolby Digital+ 5.1 from Netflix which was important to me. It also includes AnyNet+ which is great if you’re a gadget nerd. I was able to “cast” from my Android phone/tablet both Netflix and YouTube flawlessly. Much better than trying to navigate the app menus with the remote.

This unit also has a built in web browser and app store, both of which were lackluster. It also has the ability to play DLNA content streamed over your network. This worked well for the content I tested it with, and could come in handy in a pinch. I was not able to cast DLNA content to it via BubbleUPNP, which is the only (albeit minor) thing I would ding this unit for.
Reviewed By:scottchiefbaker,12/24/2014 11:59:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > LG Electronics > LG 3D Blu-ray Disc Player BD645

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Does everything it's meant to do and looks good.
Cons: Dent more noticeable than I would have thought would be sent as a refurbished item.
Little wide (I would think) for a late model Blu-ray player but the dimensions are noted so it's not like I wasn't expecting it
Other Thoughts: It IS a refurb so I'm not sweating the dent, doesn't interfere with operation at all and that's the gamble of buying refurb!
Reviewed By:Ryfel,12/24/2014 9:16:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.