Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport Edge for Mac 500GB 2.5" USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive Model WDBJBH5000ABK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great! UPDATE(2016/Jan): Drive just died, click click click
Pros: Silent, low power, reliable (so far). The small form factor and self-powered aspects are pluses as well.
Cons: None.
Update(2016/Jan): I used it a few times (maybe 4) and had it unplugged sitting on my desk. I used it just now for another Time Machine backup and it started to act weird. It would unmount spontaneously. Then after unplugging and plugging back in the USB port to power cycle, it just clicks now and no longer mounts!! This is unbelievable.
Other Thoughts: I use this drive to provide Time Machine backups for the 3 Macs in the house. Two of my Macs have USB2 ports, so these ports dominate the write speeds to the disk. Even though the TM backups took 20 or 30 min each, these were the first time backups which amounted to 60-90GB. Incremental backups will be much quicker. Pretty good drive, prefer WD over Seagate. And the price was right. :o)
Update(2016/Jan) As I stated in the cons section, it started to act up when running TM. TM first calculated a backup size of 10GB, then after it auto-unmounted and plugging back in, the second time TM calculated 110GB for the backup. Strange. Then unmounted and clicking proceeded. This is the 2nd Western Digital HD that has failed on me, and I dont even use them very much. Ridiculous.
Reviewed By:Michael P.,1/6/2016 10:14:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book Studio 2TB Desktop External Hard Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 So far, so good!
Pros: A beefy 2tb at a good price. I use it mostly for backup but I keep/watch movies from it too. It has performed well for over 2 years now.
Cons: I can't remember if this had pre-installed software but if so I wiped it and use it as a basic disk.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent brand and it looks great on my desk. The high-quality aluminum enclosure perfectly matches my iMac.
Reviewed By:Jason P.,12/30/2015 10:37:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate GoFlex for Mac 1TB 2.5" Thunderbolt Ultra-Portable External Hard Drive with Thunderbolt Model STBA1000104

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 junk
Pros: 0
Cons: It didn't take long for my computer to "not recognize this device" there are no drives to download to solve the problem either. Sometimes it works, most the time not. Bought a new USB cord for it, still didn't help.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/14/2015 12:58:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 3TB My Passport for Mac Portable External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBCGL0030BSL-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 As it always is
Pros: No Mac set up required, and works as described
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Buy it
Reviewed By:N/A,11/29/2015 2:50:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > LaCie > LaCie Porsche Design P'9233 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive for Mac Model 9000479

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice External Drive
Pros: Appears well designed, works right out of the box. I am using it for a backup drive for servers/users in a small business.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,11/20/2015 5:45:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > G-Technology > G-Technology G-DRIVE mini 1TB 7200 RPM USB 3.0 / 2 x Firewire800 High-Speed Portable Drive Model 0G02576

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Fast shipping..product arrived quickly and in perfect condition.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,11/12/2015 3:47:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > FANTOM DRIVES > Fantom Drives GreenDrive Quad Interface 2TB 3.5" USB 2.0 / eSATA / Firewire 400/800 External Hard Drive w/NTI SHADOW 4 Backup Software Model GD2000Q

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product
Pros: Did a lot of research before i jumped on this. I have owned it a couple years and purchased it for a back up of my wifes computer, she works in billing out out of the home.

Set up with easytodo back up software and hardly even know it's there. quiet and cool, I just need to remember that I have it mounted to the underside of her desk and blow it out when ever i open the computer cases and clean the innards.
Cons: The only con is that i have not bought another one. It's time to purchase 2 more one for my system and one for the church media pc for redundancy.
Other Thoughts: want a very simple solution for backing up stuff you do not want to lose or additional storage. This is it.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/25/2015 6:05:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 4TB My Passport Pro Portable External Hard Drive - Thunderbolt - WDBRNB0040DBK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worked
Pros: Fast, worked, used in many different countries for 2 weeks and never failed
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,9/17/2015 6:08:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > LaCie > LaCie Porsche Design P'9233 3TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive for Mac Model 9000302

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid unit
Pros: Solid, reliable, good design.
Cons: The enclosed software package is not explained well. It tries to take over my other LaCie devices.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this product. It has proven well over the past year (I own another identical unit). Trash the software preloaded or reformat to suit your setup.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/13/2015 8:09:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport Studio 500GB Portable Hard Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 3 Years and going
Pros: -This is very durable, even after a couple drops on hard floor, it has surprisingly still functioned great.
-The firewire ports makes data transfer very very fast and convenient, great for moving and storing hundreds of GB's at once if that's what you need.
Cons: Price may be costly, but it has been worth it thus far for me..
Other Thoughts: The fact that it's mac compatible makes it very easy to transfer between mac and windows.
Reviewed By:mike,9/1/2015 8:41:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.