Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > CPU Fans & Heatsinks > Phanteks Company > Phanteks PH-TC12DX 120mm PWM CPU Cooler

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good and bad
Pros: Aesthetically very pleasing, put this in a white and black build and think it looks killer.
Quiet in idle
Keeps my cpu nice and chilly, room for overclocking
Cons: Fans are pretty loud underload, especially since there are 2 running.
Other Thoughts: I might be just over sensitive to fan noise, but these fans are driving me crazy. i might go back to my Noctua fans even though they don't look nearly as nice. If sound doesn't bother you or your case has sound dampening material you should be fine. If noise bothers you this is a 3, if not this is easily a 4-5 egg product. Sorry Phantek, just not for me.
Reviewed By:Will,4/24/2015 1:13:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > CPU Fans & Heatsinks > Zalman Tech Co., Ltd > ZALMAN CNPS9900MAX-B 135mm Long life bearing CPU Cooler Blue LED

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Working great for 3+ years now
Pros: Works well in keeping my CPU cool under heavy and/or continous use. It's been over 3 years now since I installed it and it's still going strong with no problems, no fan issues/noise problems, or other issues. Looks cool with a nice blue light.
Cons: None. Installation was a bit of a pain due to the use of allen/hex screws that are smooth on the sides of the heads, making it hard to grip to turn (because it's easier to install by turning by hand at least until initially). One tip is to bend/push down the "arms" that attach to the screws so that you can hand turn them until they get secured, as that is very painful and slow to do using an allen wrench.
Other Thoughts: Not cheap but worth the price. It is quite large so it won't fit all cases. Make sure you put it on the right orientation so you don't have to remove it and put it back on in reverse (I believe the air blows from the side with the power cable to the side without the cable)!
Reviewed By:Phil,4/24/2015 1:01:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > CPU Fans & Heatsinks > Zalman Tech Co., Ltd > ZALMAN CNPS9700 LED 110mm 2 Ball CPU Cooler

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 So far not so good
Pros: Looks solid, good design, this thing has some weight to it.
Cons: It doesn't work. First off it appears the wrong fan mount bracket was used. The fan is off center. The top of the fan is wedged against the cooling fins. Like others here the package arrived undamaged and well packed. Also the fan was dead on arrival.

Upon contacting zalman support they immediately blamed newegg saying they must have not have packed it right and it got damaged/warped, which it clearly was not. I have been building computers for 20 years i know the difference.

Poor quality control don't know how anyone could have assembled this and not seen a problem.
Other Thoughts: Dealing with zalman support at the moment, will see how they handle the situation and update the review.
Reviewed By:Rick D,4/24/2015 9:55:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > CPU Fans & Heatsinks > Zalman Tech Co., Ltd > ZALMAN CNPS9900MAX-R 135mm Long life bearing CPU Cooler Red LED

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Seriously Cool
Pros: Extremely Cool Looking
Easy to Install
Performs well
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth your money.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/24/2015 8:00:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > CPU Fans & Heatsinks > ARCTIC COOLING > ARCTIC Freezer 7 Pro Rev. 2, CPU Cooler - Intel & AMD, Multi-Directional Mount, 92mm PWM Fan

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy install, works great (Socket 1336)
Pros: Easy installation, much better than stock cooler.
Cons: None that I can think of.
Other Thoughts: I have had my Socket 1366 (ASRock x58 Supercomputer/Core i7 920 CPU) system for six years and it has been great, but the stock cooler has been giving up the ghost. I noticed about six months ago I was idling around 65 Celsius, and recently I've been in the 90s when busy. So I knew I'd need a new cooler. Problem is last time I tried one I nearly broke the mobo because I could not get the bolts to latch in the four mount holes around the socket. Needless to say, even though I've been building computers since the 90's processor cooler installation is always my least favorite part. Maybe my hands shake too much. Maybe I just haven't had the best luck with it. Either way I usually hate it.

This cooler is the easiest I have ever used. There's literally only two screws you have to bolt down, the rest of it are plastic bolts to put in. Thermal paste is included on the cooler and many want to clean it off and provide better paste or different brand, I used the paste that is applied. Now that it is installed I idle at or around 40 Celsius and peak just below 50 Celsius. Quick, inexpensive, easy fix. Took me less than 45 minutes to remove old stock cooler, remove old thermal paste from CPU, and install new cooler.
Reviewed By:Jacob B.,4/24/2015 7:28:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > CPU Fans & Heatsinks > Cooler Master > Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler with 120 mm PWM Fan

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great improvement over stock
Pros: My AMD Phenom II X4 925 with stock cooler, load temp reaches 57° C. I upgraded cpu to a Phenom II X4 975 BE with this 212 EVO cooler, load temp is 50° C. The sound is also relatively quieter at load than with stock cooler.

I also intend to checkout the be quiet! Pure Rock and Cryorig H7 in the near future which are in the same price range. I read they outmatch this EVO
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: Three full turns on each screws is all I needed to secure the heatsink. I didn't want to tighten it all the way down since the motherboard tends to bend from the force. I didn't want issues down the road.

Fits my Antec Nine Hundred Two case without the side case fan. I modified the case side fan to make the clearance.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/23/2015 8:15:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > CPU Fans & Heatsinks > Cooler Master > Cooler Master Vortex Plus - CPU Cooler with Aluminum Fins and 4 Direct Contact Heatpipes

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nifty
Pros: Nearly everything. This unit has outperformed my wildest expectations in balance between MB and CPU temps to keep stable. With the CPU fan cut down to 65% it keeps my athlon 2 x4 860 (95W TDP) at a stable 37 Celsius and Motherboard only a few Celsius hotter at any given moment in load testing. It fit perfectly in the low profile case and is probably my favorite low end cooler now.
Cons: Install was quite tough with wires in the way and getting the end of the AMD bracket that is under the heatsink may require some working. Mine had some severe dings in the bottom that led to poor contact and needed considerable amounts of ArcticSilver5 to make full contact. I am talking visible impact pockets not just scratches. The fan clips stick out over what would otherwise be plenty of RAM clearance, as it is use LP RAM
Other Thoughts: Slightly better QC and fan mounting. this cooler has allowed me to build an M-ITX system with cooling better than all of the Mid ATX builds I have done in the past.
Reviewed By:Brad,4/23/2015 7:15:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Low and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > CPU Fans & Heatsinks > Thermaltake > Thermaltake Frio Silent 12 150W Intel/AMD 120mm CPU Cooler CL-P001-AL12BL-B

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent CPU Cooler
Pros: * Very quiet fan
*150W of cooling power!
* Backplate has a layer of black foam to provide a good, cushy fit to the motherboard.
* Design incl. both heatsink and fan
* Quality
* Parts / Accessories
* Price
Cons: * None, unless you find it a hassle to take out the motherboard of a PC in order to install the backplate of this CPU cooler
Other Thoughts: I feel I got more than what I paid for. This is a high quality CPU cooler. I still can't believe this cooler doesn't have more popularity. I had to do a lot of my own searching to discover the Thermaltake Frio Silent 12. I had originally ordered a Noctua but then canceled the order and looked further for other cpu coolers.

The build and quality of the heatsink and fan are very good. Also, a handy Thermaltake thermal paste dispenser is included as an accessory.

The heatsink is larger than I expected it to be, its a beast a structure in a good way. At first I was worried it wouldn't fit in my Corsair 250d mini ITX case but nonetheless, it did fit and I was pleased.

The fan is designed in a way that it will fit in tight spaces without intruding ram or any other hardware. The fan is whisper quiet. The "Silent" Frio 12 holds to its name.

I'm pleased with this CPU cooler and like I said, the price its offered at is a steal at least to me when comparing it to other cpu coolers.
Reviewed By:JK1131,4/23/2015 7:04:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > CPU Fans & Heatsinks > Cooler Master > Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler with 120 mm PWM Fan

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: The bottom line? Does it's job like a champ. I'm using this cooler, with Arctic Silver 5, on an AMD FX8350 and everytime I've checked with EasyTune it keeps CPU temps within 2°C of system temps. At idle, my MB runs the fan at under 1200 RPM and I immediately noticed how much quieter it is than the stock cooler.
Cons: Weirdly difficult instruction manual. I hate to take an egg off for it, because I think the trouble is largely part of the package being able to be used on a wide range of CPU sockets, but I was pretty frustrated at least once during the install. If your team always wins at Charades, you'll be fine. However, if you think of "Instruction Manual" and expect words arranged in a description of the method of using the product, then you're in for a rough ride getting there. The actual physical complexity of the installation isn't that bad, but good luck figuring the unlabeled "E" standoff from the "F" standoff based solely off of pictures that only vaguely correlate to the actual hardware.
Other Thoughts: I like the inclusion of hardware for adding another 120mm fan to the other side of the heatsink. It also comes with it's own TIM, which is probably just as good, but I went with the Arctic Silver 5 I already had.
Reviewed By:Travis,4/23/2015 6:19:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > CPU Fans & Heatsinks > Cooler Master > Cooler Master V8 GTS - High Performance CPU Cooler with Horizontal Vapor Chamber and 8 Heatpipes

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Looks sexy
Pros: I had a decent Cooler Master heatsink for around 25$ for my I5 4570.
Well lets say this does a much better job.
It looks fantastic in my side-view window.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: This cooler is quite large, and it's a good thing I upgraded to a full tower before I got this cooler.
Most Mid-Towers will NOT fit this cooler.
Reviewed By:SirRadget,4/23/2015 3:01:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.