Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Hard Drive Cooling > XIGMATEK > XIGMATEK HDC-D802 Aluminum Hard Drive Cooler for HDD Bay

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 breeze to install (pun intended)
Pros: (part of this review is lifted from my complaints about the MASSCOOL 4B02S4 Hard Disk Cooler , if you look that up here on another popular retailer.. named after an angry warrior woman :P , newegg review bots won't let me put the actual name in - you'll see my reviews for it - if you look it up on newegg you'll see people posting reviews with similar complaints about that hard disk cooler too re: fans making horrible screeching noises and being next to impossible to install onto a hard drive - stay away from it and stick with the Xigmatek instead ! )

....In contrast the Xigmatek Computer Case Cooling Fan HDC-D802 was a breeze (pun intended) to install, fans on it work straight out of the box ... I foolishly did not record the temps on my hard drives before installing the fans on them so can't give you stats on how much cooler the hard drives are running, but I am very good about coming back and updating my reviews (even years after the first review) if a product turns out not to be so great after all.. if I don't update this even years from now assume my Xigmatek fans are still humming merrily along. I installed two of them, one per PC, about a month ago and no problems whatsoever, fans are working, quiet (again if I don't update this review assume even years after this review was initially posted the fans are still working great... I will also update this review if I suffer any hard drive failure, if I haven't posted an update then assume the fans have done their part far as keeping my hard drive alive, cool and happy ! :) ) ..
Cons: No cons whatsoever!
Reviewed By:N/A,7/11/2015 12:30:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Cooling > MASSCOOL > MASSCOOL 4B02S4 Hard Disk Cooler

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worked great for a year and a half...
Pros: Probably brought the heat down on the hard drive (uncertain?) .. I use my SSD drive as the main "C" hard drive and the non-SSD hard drive this fan is attached to in order to store data on (data gets stored on the non SSD drive) so it gets a lot less use..
Cons: I guess you get what you pay for - sure it's cheap but the fan on this only lasted a year and a half, not sure if I got a bad one? (seeing other reviews stating their own lasted 3 or more years)..

Furthermore.. and I admit this is completely my fault but.. this indirectly contributed to.. one and a half centennials worth put it that way (not sure if newegg will let me post actual dollar figures in my reviews... $150 of damage let's see if that appears in the review) in damage for a replaced CPU and motherboard put it that way..

After a year and a half the fans started to produce a horrible shrieking sound.. I mean REALLY awful.. of course I had no idea it was coming from this enclosure.. so first I tried replacing the power supply... then I thought oh no, maybe the CPU fan is going and I should replace the CPU heatsink/fan... primarily my fault for THINKING I did the proper research on how to perform this operation, which I didn't, destroyed my CPU in the process and ended up replacing that plus my motherboard (wasn't sure if I destroyed motherboard socket as well) ... very, very costly mistake.
Other Thoughts: Please learn from my painful mistake! If you hear a horrible squealing noise coming from your PC try detaching the power supply for the fans for this enclosure and see if that makes the noise stop.. if so, then arguably you could simply leave the fans non-functional and keep this attached to your hard drive as a big heatsink.... I'm not ordering a replacement either, I'm afraid the replacement's fan will die after a year and a half too..
Reviewed By:N/A,6/17/2015 12:28:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Cooling > EVERCOOL THERMAL CORP. LTD > EVERCOOL HD-F117 Aluminum HDD Cooling Device

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Putting in work at the moment
Pros: When i received these fans i didn't expect much, i mean i mostly bought them because they were cheap and boy do they look pretty cheap, but let me tell you these things have put in work since i've used them. My hard drive used to be sitting idle at 40+ on hot days and 42ish on normal days (i live in cali btw). Since i've installed these fans my idle heat has been at 30 at it's lowest and highest being 35. *I have yet to test them under heavy load but will definitely update once i do*.
Cons: The colors dont really mesh well together. They look like something someone may have built from an array of different colored parts. they would of looked much cooler with black fans and a white case or something that collaborates together better than peach pink and blue.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/1/2015 10:16:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Cooling > MASSCOOL > MASSCOOL 4B02S4 Hard Disk Cooler

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Added in RV refrigerator
Pros: Light, low power draw, easily reworked to fit need.
Cons: Other than blue-none
Other Thoughts: Installed 4 years ago as interior refrigerator fans in camper.
They create constant air flow thru condenser fins, helps with cooling, helps minimize frost build up, helps in uniform air temp thru-out inside of refer. Same as sold for for my use (RV refer fans) at half cost.

Obviously not installed as hard drive cooler fans so run time less but 4-6 hours daily, 4years still working, no issues.
Reviewed By:AnEv942,3/30/2015 10:12:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Cooling > MASSCOOL > MASSCOOL 4B02S4 Hard Disk Cooler

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Seems worth it
Pros: Well, it keeps the disk cooler, and it is cheap.
Cons: It doesn't fit! You have to bend it a little - gently - with your hands to get it to fit on the bottom of a 3.5" disk.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/26/2015 4:03:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Cooling > MASSCOOL > MASSCOOL SYTRIN Kuformula SHF1 Ultra HDD Cooler – BK

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3
Pros: Worked great....
Cons: didn't last over a year before fans began to make noises and give out
Reviewed By:N/A,2/22/2015 3:49:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Cooling > Vantec > Vantec Aluminum Hard Drive Cooler with Dual Fans - Model HDC-502A

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good heat dissipator
Pros: Flows warm air out of hard drive area efficiently.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:INFERNAL1986,2/10/2015 1:13:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Cooling > MASSCOOL > MASSCOOL 4B02S4 Hard Disk Cooler

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Too loud
Pros: keeps hard drive running cooler
Cons: very loud and obnoxious. you would be better off mounting an intake fan near it to keep it cool and it isn't as big of a deal like a cpu or gpu cooler. would not recommend
Reviewed By:N/A,1/30/2015 9:39:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Cooling > EVERCOOL THERMAL CORP. LTD > EVERCOOL HD-F117 Aluminum HDD Cooling Device

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Junk
Pros: There aren't any pro's .......
Cons: At least one fan will make grinding noises within 40 hours. At least one fan will fail after about 100 hours. There are no rubber vibration dampeners .....All vibrations are absorbed by the HD. Can't believe this device is still on the market. It's complete junk. Would have given this piece of junk zero instead of one if that was available......
Other Thoughts: Instead of this unit, buy the unit listed at this link.....
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835233080
Reviewed By:Kyphosis,1/24/2015 8:12:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Cooling > EVERCOOL THERMAL CORP. LTD > EVERCOOL HD-F117 Aluminum HDD Cooling Device

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 it good
Pros: It works well and looks good, but gets loud sometimes.
Cons: none, but get loud
Reviewed By:N/A,1/7/2015 9:36:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.