Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Cooling > EVERCOOL THERMAL CORP. LTD > EVERCOOL HD-F117 Aluminum HDD Cooling Device

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 hdd cooler
Pros: cheap
Cons: loud, I thought it was one of my case fans making all the noise. Took this off and threw it in the trash.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/13/2016 10:34:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Cooling > Scythe USA > Scythe SCIT-1000 Slim Hard Disk Cooler

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Home User
Pros: Quiet
Effective
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Unit comes with four screws for mounting onto bottom of a 3 1/2 inch hard drive. With side mounted adaptor brackets on the HD it all slides into a spare 5 1/2 inch drive bay. Or it should work with drive mounted in top of a dual bay 3 1/2 inch using up both bays.
I have a hot running 500 GB HDD with a 64 MB catch. Would overheat causing locked up computer. This fan cured all ailments. Can’t hear it run at all over the noise of the CPU fan. Very satisfied with the unit.
Reviewed By:Michael M.,3/20/2016 11:11:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Cooling > EVERCOOL THERMAL CORP. LTD > EVERCOOL HD-F117 Aluminum HDD Cooling Device

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 JUNK
Pros: NONE
Cons: Worked ok for a few hours then would work off and on then one fan started making loud grinding noise
Other Thoughts: Its not even worth the price. JUNK
Reviewed By:Gary E.,3/17/2016 7:39:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Cooling > Scythe USA > Scythe SCIT-1000 Slim Hard Disk Cooler

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 quiet
Pros: quiet and work as advertised
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,1/31/2016 2:41:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Cooling > EVERCOOL THERMAL CORP. LTD > EVERCOOL HD-F117 Aluminum HDD Cooling Device

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 loud but leeks cool
Pros: price, keeps hdds cool
Cons: loud, I have 2 and both had 1 of the fans die at some point. not sure how long they lasted because I only found out when I went to pull the hdds out of the case.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/31/2016 2:40:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Cooling > Vantec > Vantec Hard Drive Cooling System with 80mm Fan - Model HDC-800A

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Only 2-bay / multi-disk HDD cooler I'm aware of
Pros: + Converts 2 5.25" bays into multiple 3.5" drive slots. I don't feel like opening up my computer to check, but I believe if you have clearance you can fit 4 drives in there, but that nullifies the purpose of the fan. If you're using 2.5" drives, you could comfortably fit 4 (with single slot adapters) or 6-8 (with double 2,5" adapters)
+ Fan is quiet and has a foam air filter.
+ Does actually reduce your HDD temps if you use it right. Space is cramped between each HDD slot, so you need to stagger 3.5" drives with 2.5" drives (or use all 2.5" drives) if you want good airflow. I used it with 1 HDD and 2 SSD's and the HDD stays around 10-20C cooler than two HDD's I have in a fanless cage. You need to make sure you aren't blocking the airflow with your drives if you want optimal cooling.
Cons: - Not full length 3.5" specification. If you have any drives that don't have middle-holes you won't be able to screw them in (while you could settle on only screwing in the front holes, that would be a bad idea). It looks like it will work if you remove the fan and reverse the bracket, but it still doesn't (I checked).
- If you fill it with standard 3.5" drives, you'll block your airflow, and you won't see any cooling benefit. I personally consider this a pro, but others seems to consider it a con. If you use this, the best way is to populate it with a variety of 2.5" (with converter brackets) / 3.5" drives so you're leaving gaps for the air to get through, and then rearranging any other drives you might have to alternative locations you may have in your case.
Other Thoughts: The strength of this cage is that it will allow you to install a number of drives in 2x 5.25" bays. The drawback is that you need to know what you're doing if you want to see any cooling benefit while doing so.

I'm disappointed that they stopped making this as it filled a niche for users with limited bays and / or who needed to remove other hard drive cages to make space for fans and the like. Would love to see them revamp this model with full length 3.5" slots instead of half-length. That was my only criticism.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/21/2016 12:34:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Cooling > TITAN Technology Limited > Titan TTC-HD12 Deluxe HDD Cooler

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Titan TTC-HD12 Deluxe HDD Cooler
Pros: Nice color, installs easy. No problems and I been using it for over a month.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Glen M.,12/18/2015 9:45:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Cooling > EVERCOOL THERMAL CORP. LTD > EVERCOOL HD-F117 Aluminum HDD Cooling Device

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Evercool HDD Cooler
Pros: The metal fan holder looks nice, was machined well, and there are no sharp edges. The design is pretty well thought out, though I'd rather have a SATA power connection, since most PSUs these days have multiple SATA power taps in proximity than molex connectors. The prettiness of the unit, doesn't make up for the budget fans contained in the cooler (see 'cons/other thoughts'.
Cons: One of the cooling fans won't spin, DOA on plug in, not even a twitch to the touch. The plastic tray the cooler shipped in was open/apart/not sealed, so there's no real way to tell whether the plastic had come apart while being smacked around by the larger items during the semi ride cross-country (which actually is the probably cause), or whether it was a return from some other person, put back into the system by mistake. Having been a customer with Newegg since they began, I just can't imagine Newegg would, even if it would be possible, ship one with a problem back out, without marking it as an 'open box' item. Newegg gets all the credit for shipping a replacement (below) and not making me go through a hassle returning the old one. Having Premier status, a call tag would have had to be done, since the nearest hub or store is 25 miles away for us. We're in a really rural area, and driving 50 miles round trip for a small item like this would make me think unkind thoughts about the whole process; thankfully, not a chance of that!
Other Thoughts: I let Newegg know the details of the poor DOA fan in the cooler, and they arranged to ship a new unit pronto, out via our Premier 3-day UPS business class shipping There's a good chance the replacement will arrive in a box by itself, be well-padded, and will work (both fans); what a nice Christmas present that will be! I offered to go through the RMA process, but was thankfully told to throw the defective one away. My first impression was to do just that, but perhaps I mayl hold off until the replacement is in, just in case, not that another one would have the same problem, but if it did, at least I could make one working cooler from two. Though I fought doing it for a long time, Premier pays for it selft, and really is the way to go; just to be able to call Newegg during a heavy sales seasons (and get through to someone), but mostly for the competent 3-day UPS business class shipping. Having purchased from Newegg for many years, the people there know we're loyal customers, and that the little bumps like this aren't something we're going to worry too much about, since they will replace it. Being 1300 miles from the coast, it really makes a difference! Will re-review on the replacement unit, Thanks guys!
Reviewed By:N/A,12/14/2015 1:56:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Cooling > EVERCOOL THERMAL CORP. LTD > EVERCOOL HD-F117 Aluminum HDD Cooling Device

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 works
Pros: from what i can tell it works fine
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,12/7/2015 8:24:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Cooling > Vantec > Vantec EC-HK-3F Hard Disk / CD/DVD/CDRW Drive Cooler, for 5.25 bay. 3 fans

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Cools Well but Noisy
Pros: Cools Well.
Cons: Noisy. Difficult to fit in some PC drive bays.
Other Thoughts: In my computer, this cooler would not install in the same 5.25" bay as my hard drive. This is because of the design of the bracket holder in my Dell computer, not necessarily a deficiency in the design of this cooler. You can also install this cooler in the drive bay above the drive where your hard drive is located and it will do a good job of cooling. That's how I installed it. I did notice a 3-5 degree Celsius drop in hard drive temperature versus no fans running at all in this cooler, so the fans really do help. You may want to consider instead simply putting a perforated drive bay cover on the drive bay where your hard drive is located. This alone may give you enough cooling. But it's always the case that cooler is better in terms of preserving your hard drive. One thing I was disappointed with in this cooler is the noise. It generates an unacceptable amount of noise at full speed in my opinion but I do have sensitive hearing and others may disagree with me on this. You may want to consider using a 12v to 7v power adapter to lower the noise while still getting a good amount of cooling from the fans.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/5/2015 3:50:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.