Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model UH12NS30

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Work perfectly fine.
Pros: It work as it was intended.
Cons: -None
Reviewed By:N/A,8/17/2014 1:55:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model UH12NS30

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Drive
Pros: This is my second one for another build and no problems with it. Looks nice and it is pretty quiet.
Cons: No Cons.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/16/2014 11:28:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model BC-12B1ST/BLK/B/AS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 asus does not back their product
Pros: None does not work
Cons: disc drive powers on, but does not read any discs. Called Asus technical support, they said only thing that I could do was to install the drivers. However, looking at asus support online, there are no available drivers. Then the guy told me to reinstall windows 7...waste of money and pathetic tech support
Reviewed By:KC,8/13/2014 2:27:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model UH12NS30

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 BD Read dead after 8 months
Pros: Its a fairly fast reader and did its job well while it was operational. I was pleased
Cons: Failed after only 8 months. The drive still seems to be spinning and Windows 7 Home Premium still reads it as being in normal working order. Not even a file explorer can detect that a blu ray is present. I suppose that perhaps the blu ray diode laser went out or who knows. It still reads DVDs perfectly fine. My large ATX enclosure has six 120mm fans (3 intake, 3 exhaust) and the room that my PC is in has temperature and humidity regulation, as well as a standalone air filtration system so the environment is clean and controlled. Quite a bummer.
Other Thoughts: I got this because it was the second-best rated in the blu ray player category. Guess I will get the best rated player in the category now and hope it lives. Will definitely get the three year insurance this time. I trusted LG and they let me down. C'est la vie.
Reviewed By:Jables,8/8/2014 3:47:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model BC-12B1ST/BLK/B/AS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Decent BD-ROM
Pros: Works like a charm, never had a single problem with it in over a year.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Some people seem to be giving low stars because this BD-ROM doesn't play commercial blueray disks, but I guess they don't know anything about computers or blueray discs. You need to install the correct codexes for playback. This isn't hard to, or difficult to find steps for online.
Reviewed By:GeekMasterFlash,8/8/2014 11:45:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model UH12NS30

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 2 stars please read why
Pros: This is a 5 star product as far as performance. I would like to share my complete initial experience with the NE community. Quite the adventure to have this 1 running smoothly. I am writing in 4 screen split screen mode that came as part of my LG 25UM64-S 25" ) Dual HDMI UltraWide screen 21:9 LED LCD Monitor IPS. Finally i am running a blue ray disk as well
Cons: To start off i had freeware to play with. It came with upgrade instructions to add an aacs decoder to the file. A bit beyond my scope and with no guarantees of working. Which TMT has none to speak of either incidentally. After ditching that idea i picked up Arcsofts total media 6. This let me access the disks but payback was choppy. I then turned to another freeware called jriver and with the add on of anydvd(do not use explained later) i verified the choppy nature of theBD playback.
Somewhere along the line i found that extra content played nicely. The start screen and main AV content was slowed up. Getting back to the main theme i thought of why the BD was slow and changed the other end of the sata plug from the MB after realizing that the ide was listed still as the ssd. REcognozied the lg bd rom on start-up and after a reboot i had a bd playing for several dozen minutes. Story over. Afraid not!
Having things in working order i removed my trial jriver as a confict and the any dvd with it. At this point i couldn't load bds at all. I had lost the drives. After appling the #3 fix on http://support.microsoft.com/kb/314060 i had the drives up on my pc agian (after reboot). Then i ran into "Windows cannot access the specified device, path, or file" notice. Another roboot and a different method of access reveal i have a nice bd suite in Arcsoft TMT 6 and a good drive with lg.
I was also trying other graphics and screens during my 20hr ordeal with the setup. Guess its good advice for myself and others to try a more complete solution as this is just one ingredient in a htpc's bd main course
Other Thoughts: .
Here is what you may need to install this drive N82E16832675012 + N82E16812119368 plus 4 small screws. Install in a new sata port to be sure.
This took a good 3 hrs of solid work/research to have in working order
Reviewed By:N/A,8/8/2014 9:49:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model BC-12B1ST/BLK/B/AS

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Maybe I got an especially bad one, but...
Pros: Played DVDs well enough, and does play blu-ray disks if you have the right software to play it (FYI people, this won't play Blu-Ray movies if you don't pay for overpriced software than can play the disk, but it works just fine once you buy the software).
Cons: This thing worked well enough, save for a lot of the issues other people mentioned (the drive refused to stay closed half of the time, and I'd have to press the button to close the disk drive five or six times to make it stay closed). Most of these problems were annoying, but were okay to deal with. However, a problem less easy to deal with is that the drive caught on fire this morning at the place where the SATA power cable plugs in. I realize I may have gotten a bad one, but just an FYI for anyone thinking of buying one of these.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,

I do apologize for the issue you experienced with your drive, do you happen to know your Serial Number for the drive? We do value our customers and take negative customer experiences very seriously. Would you please email me at CL-Scott1@asus.com and write down case # N N140812139 in the subject line.

I'm here to help you and all others with these issues, as our customer loyalty department dedicated to bringing a resolution to all issues related to our products.

Regards,

Scott
ASUS Customer Loyalty

Reviewed By:N/A,8/6/2014 6:54:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model BC-12B1ST/BLK/B/AS

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Does its job
Pros: Its pretty fast, it read it writes.
Cons: The lack of software to actually play Blu Rays is Bull. So you have to pay another 100 bucks for software to do it.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for leaving your feedback.

I am sorry to hear that you are not satisfied with the software that has been included. We value all of our customer’s feedback. If you have any further questions or need further assistance, please contact me through email at CL-Scott1@asus.com. Be sure to place case number N140800706 in the subject line for reference.

Best regards,

Scott
ASUS Customer loyalty

Reviewed By:N/A,7/31/2014 8:45:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model UH12NS30

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Be warned: Blurays cannot be played on analouge
Pros: Overall good CD drive, kinda weird automatic driver install made it hard to finally get it to work, but after I did it works just fine. No problems after install.
Cons: You cannot play Blu-ray disks if your computer outputs to a VGA monitor (legally). This is a Sony "copyright protection" thing that, on (legal) software will refuse to play Blu-ray disks if your monitor uses VGA. This could render your brand new Blu-ray drive useless, so check beforehand.
Other Thoughts: Seriously Sony should be arrested for not warning people about the fact that they block analogue from being used to play Blu-rays. Not LG's fault though, has nothing to do with the drive itself, just Sony's greed.
Reviewed By:Scoman44,7/29/2014 6:47:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > Pioneer > Pioneer Black 8X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 40X CD-ROM SATA Internal Internal Blu-ray Combo DVD & CD Drive Model BDC-207DBK

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Big
Pros: Performance specs are ok. Drive works ok. Hasn't made any coasters.
Cons: Drive is very long. I got it for a small case, media center but the drive is 7" long and hence too big for the case. The depth was not in the specification so I did not know to be concerned about that.
The LG UN12NS30 is about 4.5" long. Just remember to watch for this problem in small spaces.
Reviewed By:Tzinger,7/28/2014 9:19:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau