Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model UH12NS30

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Disappointed
Pros: None
Cons: No issues with this drive for six months and then it quit reading DVDs. Not even heavy usage and the laser quit working. LG drives come highly rated and then I wind up with this dud.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/17/2014 9:11:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > Pioneer > Pioneer Black 8X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 40X CD-ROM SATA Internal Internal Blu-ray Combo DVD & CD Drive Model BDC-207DBK

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Oh what do you know..
Pros: Worked (somewhat) for a few months when I first bought it. That's it. Never watched a single bluray on it.
Cons: Everything. The drive from the getgo was much, much slower at burning any CD/DVD media than my previous DVD burner. I thought maybe it had to do with bluray being with it. Anyways I didn't have to use it so I left it unhooked when I swapped cases. Just a few weeks after the warranty was up... I had to use the drive and what do you know.. 9 minutes left on a dual layer and the drive is completely frozen up. Worthless and a waste of $50. Very regretful, oh well.
Other Thoughts: Go with LG instead
Reviewed By:N/A,9/17/2014 5:52:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model BC-12B1ST/BLK/B/AS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DIED ON ME
Pros: When working, worked as good as any other
Cons: Worked great, until just under 2 years and it died on me.
Love when things break just after the warranty is up. Won't be buying asus again. smh
Reviewed By:drk9ght,9/17/2014 7:38:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal 12X Blu-ray Combo Drive Model UH12NS29

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worst case scenario....
Pros: It's quiet, fast read times when it works
Cons: It consistently will start seeking for no reason (with no disc in) when you boot up the PC and will not stop until you pull the power from the drive itself, shutting down the machine will not stop it (will start again when you power back up)
After updating to the newest firmware, it doesn't even work half the time, the BIOS doesn't even see it. Have to rollback to original firmware to get the original issue back.
Other Thoughts: I always trusted LG to make good products but this one was a dude from the beginning.... I wish I would have RMA's it from the start but now it is way past too late and I am stuck with a some thing just better than a paperweight....
Reviewed By:tentaro,9/14/2014 3:57:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model BC-12B1ST/BLK/B/AS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Somewhat loud
Pros: Plays Blu Ray
Recognized Windows 8.1 immediately (if anyone was wondering)
Cons: Not the quietest computer part ever
Other Thoughts: Works great! Loads fast, no problems whatsoever. I do have to say that this is the loudest component in my HTPC when its running, but it doesn't really bother me since I didn't set out to build the quietest computer ever.

Also - you will need to buy blu ray software so don't throw a tantrum when you cant play your blu ray redbox as soon as you install it
Reviewed By:Hay,9/12/2014 9:48:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model BC-12B1ST/BLK/B/AS

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Stutters on most Blue-Rays
Pros: - Cheap
- Fast
Cons: - With the latest version of PowerDVD and Windows 8.1 it stutters on all but 1 BR I have played. It starts after about a half hour and then happens every 10min or so.
- ASUS site has no firmware updates
Other Thoughts: I rip every movie I own for my media server. This works fine for that. I have an older Samsung drive that I have swapped back to for playback from disk in my HTPC. It is much slower though, which is why I bought this one.
Reviewed By:Tree Dude,9/7/2014 6:15:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model BC-12B1ST/BLK/B/AS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Easy to install and does exactly what its supposed to do.
Cons: it wont play vinyl or 45's. Actually quite disappointed in that fact.
Other Thoughts: it plays DVD and CD no problem but you have to buy a Blu-Ray program to play blu-ray. I already knew that when I bought this so I was ready. Its a good player.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/7/2014 5:29:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model UH12NS30

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Keeps things cool looks clean inside case not gonna get much over clocking out of it unless you get some nicer fans probably
Cons: Included fans are kinda noisy might be a bad batch of fans but above 50% they start buzzing.
Reviewed By:Brad,9/6/2014 3:28:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model BC-12B1ST/BLK/B/AS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Works perfectly. Decently priced. Asus rarely disappoints.
Cons: Would have liked some Blu Ray playing software included, but I understand why it wasn't. That software is pretty expensive on its own.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/5/2014 9:47:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model UH12NS30

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very nice drive
Pros: LG is the only brand that does Dual layer DVD and tripple and Quad layer BLU-ray.

And they make some very functional drives that last a very good long time. I have a Dual Layer DVD drive still in use from 2006 no firmware updates needed as of yet.
Cons: There not free :P
Other Thoughts: Lucent and Goldstar merged back in the day and made a great company. But if you google it you won't even be able to find that.

LG's own explanation of there name is now some hippie trash trying to be people/world friendly................ it is the only thing I don't like about the company.
Reviewed By:GmsCool,9/4/2014 9:05:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau