Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > Pioneer > Pioneer Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner BDR-2209

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice writer
Pros: - No problems at all so far (6 months)
Cons: - None
Reviewed By:Vitaliy K.,7/23/2016 1:59:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner WH16NS40

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 excellent blue ray burner.
Pros: works well with power dvd.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: recommended for sure.
Reviewed By:JERRY M.,7/18/2016 4:41:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner WH16NS40

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I can't speak for blu-ray just yet (maybe i should watch a movie?)
Pros: As I said, I can't speak for blu-ray just yet, I yet do not have software and i don't feel like spending money on software... freeware should come out eventually, it always does. Blu ray or not, this thing is fast, i've burned quite a bit of music CDs and software installation CDs, I have yet to even watch a movie on my extremely awesome monitor.
Cons: Blu ray software not free... not LG's fault, or this drive's for that matter.
Other Thoughts: Since i bought this drive, it appears they have changed the bezel, i loved the brushed aluminum look (is actually plastic but is extremely visually pleasing, I wish they bring that back)
Reviewed By:Charles B.,7/17/2016 9:04:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > ASUS > ASUS Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM SATA Blu-ray Burner BW-16D1HT

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 ASUS Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM SATA Blu-ray Burner BW-16D1HT
Pros: I am very satisfied with this product.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Jean-Francois C.,7/15/2016 10:53:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Electronics 14x SATA Blu-ray Internal Rewriter without Software, Black Model WH14NS40 - OEM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Cheapest Blu-Ray player around!
Pros: Why buy an expensive smart Blu-ray player when your computer is so much more powerful? Works great for playing movies, but I have yet to burn one. Even works good on an older Pentium D with 4GB ram (will be upgrading it to a Quad-Core CPU soon so they should play even better). No firmware update was needed on mine, just plug and play. EDIT: Since this review I bought some 25GB Verbatim Blu-ray discs, and they burn and play great! It's much slower than a regular DVD-R but that's expected.
Cons: Not a con of the player itself but a special program is required to play movies. Fortunately I had Nero 2014 and it can both burn and play movies. Unlike what one reviewer said you don't need an $80 program, as Nero and similar ones are around $40.
Other Thoughts: Would highly recommend if you want to watch HD movies without a TV or can hook your computer to your TV. But to really enjoy it you have to get a nice monitor and decent GPU, which I have. And as this is the older/slower model I wouldn't buy it at full price, but I got it on Black Friday for $35 so you can't beat that! Otherwise I would buy the newer one.

EDIT: I recently upgraded my older Dell computer to an Intel Q6700 with 8 GB of RAM, and the playback is much smoother as well as very little CPU power used!
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/12/2016 3:29:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Electronics 14x SATA Blu-ray Internal Rewriter without Software, Black Model WH14NS40 - OEM

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Half Alive, Half Dead
Pros: I have used LG optical drives since they began manufacturing them and they have been rock solid. I have always replaced my dual optical drive system with each build whether it was needed or not.
Cons: Has something changed at LG? First time EVER having an issue with one of their optical drives. It LED powers, tray ejects however not seen in BIOS nor Windows 10 Pro.
Other Thoughts: My EGG rating will change if I have no further problems with LG BluRay Burner Drives.

Order two of these LG BluRay Burners, one was alive the other dead. You can imagine my twisted face half smiling the other half sad. Newegg will be replacing my DEAD new friend hopefully it won't take a lifetime. Now, I wait and see how long the live one last??? My faith has been damaged, sure I read people claiming issues like this but figured it was their inexperience etc....

LG if you are listening, optical drives are still alive, not everyone is forsaking them. Have you identified the problem or ignoring it? A class action suit may solve everyone's disappointment.
Reviewed By:gary d.,7/9/2016 9:35:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner WH16NS40

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Impressive Stats - BR Functionality Broke Within a Day
Pros: -Great speed
-Good price
-Straight forward install
Cons: The drive worked well for a couple hours in my new build, then it started making clicking sounds while reading all discs, but completed copying the data anyway. A bit later I discovered that much of the data that had been copied from multiple discs had corruption points. Tried them on my previous PC that this build is replacing (on a Pioneer BDR-207DBKS), and there were no issues whatsoever.
Other Thoughts: I've been using my Pioneer BDR-207DBKS for 5 years now and have had zero issues even with a heavy workload. In building a new system I chose this LG drive because I wanted faster speeds, and this was the best reviewed w/faster speed--the price was surprisingly low, too, at $30 less than I paid for my Pioneer in 2012.

I've RMA'd this one, and we'll see how the replacement is, though I'm not optimistic.
Reviewed By:Stephen B.,7/9/2016 8:55:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Black 16X Blu-Ray BDXL SATA Internal rewriter with 3D Playback, Model BH16NS40

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy to setup and use
Pros: Does exactly what it is supposed to do
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: You need to install the software in windows 8 and above to use DVD playback of any kind. Just letting anyone that doesn't know, know.
Reviewed By:Timothy N.,7/7/2016 7:25:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > ASUS > ASUS Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM SATA Blu-ray Burner BW-16D1HT

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 So Far, Loving it.
Pros: Very Quick delivery. Easy install. Using it to backup all my external drives. Already burned over forty 25g blurays and it is still working wonderfully.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: Would definitely recommend this burner .
Reviewed By:Niki J.,7/3/2016 10:20:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > ASUS > ASUS Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM SATA Blu-ray Burner BW-16D1HT

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good product and great price with rebate.
Pros: Works great as reviewed. Writes Blu-ray quicker than expected.
Cons: A bit noisy, but seems like most are.
Other Thoughts: Would purchase again if it was a good price with a rebate.
Reviewed By:Richard E.,7/3/2016 7:10:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.