Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Black 12X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 12X DVD-RAM 10X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA Super Multi WH12LS30 LightScribe Support

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 4 years
Pros: it was the perfect burner when it was functional
Cons: It stopped working after, exactly, 4 year - each disk I try to burn now is getting errors at some point
Reviewed By:N/A,7/26/2015 4:16:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Black 14X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA BDXL Blu-ray Burner, Bare Drive, 3D Play Back (WH14NS40) - OEM

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Stop Complaining About "No Software!"
Pros: Decent drive at a great price.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Please, for everyone whining and complaining about the lack of software and "I had to buy extra software to play blu-ray movies":

Of course you do!!!!!!!

You're buying a piece of hardware. The software you use with it is up to you. Same thing for the SATA cable. Use your own, cuz this one doesn't ship with one!

I have two of these drives, and they've worked flawlessly for more than a year. Use Verbatim BD-Rs (not LTH, but real BD-Rs) and you'll be on your way.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/24/2015 1:03:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Black 14X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA BDXL Blu-ray Burner, Bare Drive, 3D Play Back (WH14NS40) - OEM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Does what it needs to do.
Pros: Price
Functionality
Easy install
Cons: None Yet
Other Thoughts: It's worth noting that Windows 8 does not come with a dvd or blu-ray reading software, download VLC at first boot for new builds.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/22/2015 10:15:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Black 14X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA BDXL Blu-ray Burner, Bare Drive, 3D Play Back (WH14NS40) - OEM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Does what it needs to do.
Pros: Price
Functionality
Easy install
Cons: None Yet
Other Thoughts: It's worth noting that Windows 8 does not come with a dvd or blu-ray reading software, download VLC at first boot for new builds.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/22/2015 10:15:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Black 14X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA BDXL Blu-ray Burner, Bare Drive, 3D Play Back (WH14NS40) - OEM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great bluray drive
Pros: Great price, & capabilities. Expected much higher price for what you get, it's 3D to boot! Has worked flawlessly outta the box
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Put it into my new Intel build

Intel i7 5690x @ 3 ghz
ASUS Rampage V Extreme (open box)
64 gigs of DDR4 G Skill 3000 MHz ram F4-3000C15Q-32GRBB
1 terabyte Mushkin Reactor SSD
LG 3D bluray/DVD/CD reader/burner
Logitech K800 keyboard & Performance MX mouse
1300 watt EVGA PSU
Antec 1200 unbeatable gaming case full tower
32" Vizio smart tv as the monitor
Dual - VGA 06G-P4-4995-KR GeForce GTX 980 Ti 6GB 384-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 SLI Support SC+ w/ACX BP Video Card
Windows 8.1
Reviewed By:N/A,7/20/2015 5:22:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > Pioneer > Pioneer Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner BDR-209DBK

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Pioneer BDR-209DBK
Pros: Blacked out faceplate is great for stealth look
Cons: Slow access speed, lacks features/capabilities found in most other models in same price range, and poor Blu-ray playback (artifacting at regular intervals regardless of software used or disc played - as if a hardware buffer issue).
Other Thoughts: If it weren't for the fact that I bought this drive as a means of providing built-in CD/DVD (Blu-ray not needed) disc access while maintaining a stealthy blacked-out look on a custom build, I would have returned it for refund. This is the most disappointing drive I've encountered in 15 years.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/15/2015 8:26:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Black 16x Blu-Ray BDXL SATA Internal rewriter with 3D Playback, Model BH16NS40

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 BH16NS40 Blu-ray Writer
Pros: It works. It worked when I fired it up. It accesses discs very fast, so no long initialization time.

It is really quiet. I don't understand why people complain about the noise, unless they just received one from a bad batch.

It has what I need.

Blu-ray is awesome.
Cons: None so far. I hope it stays that way.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this product to my friends and family, who are needing or wanting a Blu-ray Writer and player.

Enjoy all.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/13/2015 6:32:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner WH16NS40

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Frustrating, but works now
Pros: From purely a specification point of view, this is one of the best Blu-Ray BD-R drive you can purchase. Also, as a photographer who likes to archive his photo files on M-DISC this the main reason I purchased this drive.
Cons: Praises aside, this is most frustrating experience I have had with this drive. I am so mad because I thought I did everything correctly. Let us begin with that I contacted LG support "prior" to purchase. I asked if this drive will work as a boot drive in UEFI motherboard. The reason is because I want to install Windows 8.1 Pro on a new machine and need this drive to work. It does not. I updated the Motherboard Firmware, I tried every BIOS configuration on my Asus X99-Deluxe motherboard that I can think of and posted on several technical forums. ABSOLUTELY nothing worked. I finally gave up. I used the USB Key to install Windows 8.1 Pro but only after wasted about 20hrs fighting the problem. Technical Support was ZERO help.

If that was not bad enough, the reason I purchased this drive was to use M-DISC DB-R. Again, as a photographer I want to archive my photos.

4 expensive M-DISC BD-R disc's ruined -- again, Technical support was useless!

I threw my hands up and finally found a firmware update. My drive had Firmware 1.00 -- From what I read, M-DISC BD-R compatibility is in firmware 1.02. Arrgh! Why? A simply sticker on the drive that says, upgrade Firmware to 1.02 before using M-DISC BD-R -- how hard is that?

And absolutely nobody from technical support could tell me this. Was the fact I repeated dozens of times that I wanted to use M-DISC not understood? They could have had me download and start the firmware utility. It tells me straight away what firmware is installed.

Painful! I am wonder how many bad experiences are being had because poor communication, poor documentation and poor technical support.

So, very frustrated! Someone owes me 4 new working M-DISCs, but I will not hold my breath!

If it does not work with UEFI firmware, then I suggest that information also be noted so users can prepare alternative ways of installing Windows without first failing many times.
Other Thoughts: I am happy with the drive, I am very frustrated and tired of the experience. Things should not be this hard. Yep, it is 2015, it should be easier to figure out this problems without frustration.

Anyway, I just wanted to warn others. I would still recommend the drive, but beware of the issues which are not fully documented.

I went back and forth if it should be 2 or 3 stars. I ended up with 3 because when it works, it is fabulous. I am still however mad at the experience.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/12/2015 8:27:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Black 14X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA BDXL Blu-ray Burner, Bare Drive, 3D Play Back (WH14NS40) - OEM

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: it works, price
Cons: The metal housing came with one of the front corners bent at a 90* angle. I had to forcefully bend it back as flush as I could to get the drive to slide into my case. It seems to be working fine for now, but I am disappointed I paid so much for a damaged item that if caused by abuse could easily show other signs of damage later.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/10/2015 7:47:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Black 14X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA BDXL Blu-ray Burner, Bare Drive, 3D Play Back (WH14NS40) - OEM

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Solid drive, but unexpected additional costs
Pros: Drive looks sleek. Reads Blu-rays, DVDs, and CDs. No problems reading anything so far.
Cons: Took about 6 minutes to rip an Audio CD to Foobar. Seems rather slow. in that regard.
Other Thoughts: If you're expecting a $50 Blu-ray player out of the box, keep looking. This drive, like many Blu-ray drives, doesn't come with the necessary software to play it. The drive gets the information off of the disc, but at the end of the day, Sony puts the Blu-ray reading codecs and licensing behind a pretty big paywall. There are some ways to "hack" VLC and other players to read Blu-rays, but it's not always effective. Blu-ray DRM is constantly changing, meaning the hack you found doesn't always work for newer Blu-rays. I ended up giving up and paying $80 for Blu-ray playing software. Yup, you heard right. Expect to shell out $60-80 (or a subscription) to the necessary software to play Blu-rays. You can buy a $30 Blu-ray player from the grocery store that works as is, but if you want that functionality on your PC, it's a lot more expensive. This is ultimately the fault of Sony.

Take this as a warning: You will not be able to play Blu-rays out of the box with this, or any other drive. (Most PC's that come with Blu-ray players will come with the software, but not when buying single parts)
Reviewed By:N/A,7/10/2015 10:00:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.