Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Black November
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Document Scanners > Fujitsu > Fujitsu ScanSnap iX500 Scanner for PC and Mac (PA03656-B005)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Tops
Pros: Scanning speed is great but more importantly it feeds the pages into the scanner efficiently and doesn't jam all of the time.
Cons: None Yet!
Other Thoughts: I have had two Canon scanners and even the one I "thought" was good doesn't compare to the Fujitsu. My first scanning job with the Fujitsu took only about 1 hour for 2 yrs of financial statements. I had spent two days with the Canon CR-130 scanner and didn't get half way through with all of the misfeeds and "no document present" errors before I finally gave up on it.
Reviewed By:fuzz,11/24/2014 7:49:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Document Scanners > XEROX > XEROX DocuMate DocuMate 3125 24 bit CIS 600 dpi Duplex Document Scanner

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Lots of paper jams
Pros: The software is easy enough to use, and installs with a nice file plan to get you started with document management.
Paper Jams are easy to clear.
Cons: Attempts to scan more than 6 pages at a time resulted in paper jams.
The software doesn't seem to handle parallel processing easily. I.E when one batch of scanned documents are being processed, you have to wait before you can execute another scan job.
Switched the ADF read with the spare that was shipped, but paper jams continued.
Other Thoughts: Would be a great product if wasn't for the paper jams. As clearing the paper jams took away from the efficiency of the digitization workflow.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/19/2014 3:50:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Document Scanners > Fujitsu > Fujitsu FI-7160 24 bit CCD 600 x 600 dpi Duplex Image Scanner

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Another Great Fujitsu Scanner
Pros: Fast, Efficient, Reliable
Cons: A bit pricey.
Other Thoughts: I am a tech who works primarily with medical offices and these Fujitsu scanners are great. The offices that I work with tend to do a high volume of scans, so they need fast, reliable scanners and this model has been another win for this product line. I am supporting them in a number of offices and so far haven't had even one hiccup. Installation is quick and easy, particularly if you just need the TWAIN driver to work with your software. Highly recommended.
Reviewed By:Angw,11/19/2014 8:26:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Document Scanners > Neat > NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System - PC

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Unstable Software
Pros: Great size for your desk. Fast scanning.
Cons: Worst organization software as it constantly crashing. If you scan more than 3-5 pages at a time the program crashes for analyzing to many scans. Also scanning to PDF instead of Neat format the software crashes after scan and never saves the PDF. Tried this on 3 desktops to see if something caused a conflict with something as well as a fresh install of Windows 7 and all updates installed.
Reviewed By:waoonetwork,11/12/2014 8:38:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Document Scanners > Brother > Brother ImageCenter ADS-2000 24 bit Dual CIS 600 x 600 dpi Duplex High Speed Desktop Document Scanner

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 works well
Pros: has been working 5 days a week for more than 2 years w/o problems. software (paperport) enough for my needs, will order another soon.
Cons: will have problems scanning a large amount of documents like > 20.
Other Thoughts: doesn't like staples
Reviewed By:N/A,11/11/2014 5:22:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Document Scanners > Fujitsu > Fujitsu ScanSnap iX500 Scanner for PC and Mac (PA03656-B005)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Can't beat it for the price
Pros: 7:59 AM

SUPER FAST double sided multi sheet scanning!
High quality searchable PDF and JPG scans fairly easy to obtain
Includes $400 worth of Bundle Adobe Acrobat and ABBYY software, so hardware is essentially free.
Cons: No TWAIN Support - need to use the bundled Fujitsu software which has limitations. Fujitsu says this is to make scanning easier for non-tech savvy users but their software is still very complicated with many levers to pull.
Has problems scanning pages that aren't perfectly flat or have ragged edges
Can't scan to lossless image (TIFF or PNG)
OCR with ABBYY is painfully slow and not that accurate
Other Thoughts: I purchased this to have a better way to digitally archive hundred of personal finance documents than a flatbed. I also wanted to preserve a group of old paperbacks, magazines, and comic books which were falling apart and coming unbound. I am about 2000 pages in and generally happy. I had no problem scanning 25 (or even 30) pages at once provided they all had clean edges. I did tests on multiple media and settled on using the "Best" quality setting 300 dpi color/gray // 600dpi B+W) in order to not notice loss of detail.

The two major pitfalls I found-

The Auto-Feed does not like creases and wrinkles. A common scenario is I had a 10 page letter from a financial institution, with the typical letter fold creases. No matter how hard I tired to flatten the creases, trying to scan this in bulk would make the rollers pull twist and mangle certain pages, There is a sweet spot of how thick each sheet can be. Really thin paper like your typical register receipt or newsprint can easily get creased by the rollers. Thicker sheets cause jams. Nothing worse than an archiving tool that destroys what it's meant to preserve!

OCR is slow and not that accurate. Its not too bad if you choose searchable PDF format - maybe 5-10 minutes for a 300 page book, however I could not get these to convert to EPUB in Calibre. I also tried scan to Word .DOC using ABBYY to convert to EPUB afterwords. This OCR was orders of magnitude slower, like 30-45 minutes for a 30 page book, and with the highlight errors option on, I saw 30-50 character errors per page even on clean white pages with crisp large normal font text. This is on a business class laptop 2nd gen Intel core CPU. I am by no means an expert at OCR and digital books but I was surprised at this since ABBYY is the tool of choice among the ebook scanning devotees.

Despite these flaws I'm still giving it 4 stars because as long as you know the limits going in, for most use cases, and with some care, you can get outstanding results which are well worth the costs when you consider the bundled software.
Reviewed By:Crash McGee,10/29/2014 5:32:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Document Scanners > Canon USA > Canon DR-C225 (9706B002) Grayscale: 8-bit Color: 24-bit CIS 600 dpi Office Document Scanner Document Scanner

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Pretty smooth
Pros: Just bought this one to check out the Canon Scanners after having used Xerox for years and so far so good!!!!
Cons: None so far.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/26/2014 6:59:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Document Scanners > Canon USA > Canon DR-C225 (9706B002) Grayscale: 8-bit Color: 24-bit CIS 600 dpi Office Document Scanner Document Scanner

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 This line of scanners has a great history.
Pros: I see that this is the next in the line after my C125...highly recommend this one based on my experience with the C125 and the previous models Canon has had in this line. Have been using them for a number of years and they are workhorses.
Cons: Possible Con....another site lists the Nuance E-Copy software with this machine...albeit at a higher price which is often the case...yet Newegg doesn't show it as coming with it. Important consideration as the software is a significant plus.
Reviewed By:Mike,10/25/2014 11:55:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Document Scanners > Canon USA > Canon imageFORMULA DR-C125 Office Document Scanner

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Super machine!
Pros: Top of the line every day scanner for a small to mid size business.

Had a similar Canon in my previous office and based on my experience with them I bought two for my new office. Neither have let me down so far.

As for the software...the E-Copy alone Is reason enough to choose this scanner over one that doesn't have it.
Cons: Won't load itself.
Other Thoughts: While the Ecopy is great, I kind of liked the earlier versions that were simpler.
Reviewed By:Mike,10/25/2014 11:43:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Document Scanners > Fujitsu > Fujitsu ScanSnap iX500 Scanner for PC and Mac (PA03656-B005)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Will not power on
Pros: Fast, quick, great scanner
Cons: Used very minimally and suddenly will not power on.
Reviewed By:Scan ND,10/18/2014 1:15:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.