Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Document Scanners > Brother > Brother ImageCenter ADS-1000W 30 bit int.(24 bit ext.) Dual CIS 600 x 600 dpi Duplex Document Scanner w/ Electrostatic TouchPanel display

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Reduced my work load greatly.
Pros: Makes scanning much faster than your typical printer/scanner combo. I am able to do huge stacks of papers in a small fraction of the time it took before for a small business.

Very light/small. Fit's in drawers easily when not in use. Wireless or hooks up to USB.
Cons: If you don't load it properly it sometimes likes to eat several papers at a time, and if you're not watching it like a hawk you might miss a few scans.

Can probably consider the brother program crapware, it's not that bad but its probably bigger than it needs to be. My other scanning program didn't play nice with the scanner so I had to learn to use theirs. Many options, most of which useless to me. Some of which are pretty vague and they don't tell you what they do.
Other Thoughts: Works great all around, pretty low price for the amount of boredom it has saved me from.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/23/2015 3:38:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Document Scanners > Fujitsu > Fujitsu fi-7180 (PA03670-B005) 24 bit CCD 600 x 600 dpi Duplex Image Scanner

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Eggcellent
Pros: The Fujitsu fi-7180 is a refreshing upgrade. Many improvements and options. For examples, it will automatically switch to duplex and scan the back pages. It automatically saves pages that have print Landscape view switching to Portrait view which is nice. Of course, it's super fast including in color pages. Well worth the money. Newegg price and service was excellent as usual.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,7/14/2015 5:27:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Document Scanners > Canon > Canon imageFORMULA DR-M160 Office Document Scanner

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 , December 12, 2011 Edit Review
Pros: easy processing
Image Quality
Cons: crinkled a bit
Other Thoughts: In a world where digital is overtaking print, it's becoming ever more important to get those paper documents transitioned over. A single fire or theft could ruin years of painstaking work, or even worse, take away documentation that can never be replaced. With digital copies, there are countless ways for them to be backed up. From RAID controllers to external hard drives to backup tapes to Cloud storage, the biggest problem businesses face is finding efficient ways to convert their physical files to digital ones. Especially when hundreds, even thousands of records are involved.

Enter the Canon DR-M160 Document Scanner.

The first thing that went through my mind when I opened the box is, "Wow, this scanner is super compact!" My next thought went along the lines of, "Awesome quality, I love this thing!" And that's before I plugged it in. Once everything was hooked up and working, I was able to discover what this device is capable of. Here are some important things to know:

Software:

Comes with drivers, CaputureOnTouch (for quick scans), CapturePerfect (for more advanced scanning), User Manual, Kofax VR (which wasn't supported by my OS (which is Win7 64-bit)), and a license for eCopy PDF Pro Office (for modifying, merging, and managing your PDF documents).

Hardware:

As mentioned, the hardware is of good quality and the unit is very compact: 11.02"(W)x6.77"(D)x7.01"(H)--when closed. Four buttons appear on the top along with a blue-glowing power button: Job Select, Start, Stop and DFR (Double Feed Retry). Clicking "Start" will activate the software on the computer even when the program is not open, which makes for quick and easy processing (both computer and scanner need to be on).

The device plugs into your computer's USB port, which supports USB 2.0. For the price, I'd liked to have seen USB 3.0 support, but from what I can tell it's still pretty fast.

Paper:

Paper sizes the device holds are LTR, A4, B5, A5, and can go down small enough for business or ID cards (2" to 8.5"). You can scan documents from 2.12" to 14" in length, and it can even go up to 118.1" (3,000 mm) when using Long Document mode (note: it is recommended to feed one sheet at a time for documents longer than 14").

Image Quality:

The Canon DR-M160 Provides a maximum of 600 dpi optical resolution, which, by default, is automatically determined/set by the document when scanned. It uses 24-bit color and 256-level (8-bit) gray scale, and according to the technical specs, the Primary and Secondary Scan Lines are (in dpi): 150x150/200x200/300x300/400x400/600x600. Basically, this just means the scanner is more than capable of producing printable worthy copies of your documents.

Scanning:

It says you can scan folded documents, but when I did they got bunched up on the output tray (and crinkled a bit). This affects anything that comes in an envelope (such as bills, statements, and handwritten letters). In these cases, I recommend feeding them one at a tim
Reviewed By:N/A,7/9/2015 9:16:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Document Scanners > Fujitsu > Fujitsu FI-7160 Duplex 600 dpi USB Color Image Document Scanner

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Paper Guide
Pros: Fast - Good Quality. OCR is almost error free, even with mathematical symbols and formula.
Cons: Major complaint is input document guide width adjustment is sticky and often requires two hands to adjust properly. This is very annoying as I scan odd size documents frequently.

Software is less than intuitive. It frequently turns images upside down or 90 degrees left or right, even when they are fed right-side up. I haven't figured out how to turn this feature (bug) off.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/30/2015 6:03:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Document Scanners > Hewlett-Packard > HP Pro3000 s2 48 bit (internal) 24 bit (external) CIS 600 dpi Sheet Fed Document Scanner - Retail

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great scanner for this price range
Pros: Works great for low to medium use in our healthcare clinic. Twain driver works great with our EHR system. Small footprint is a plus for check-in staff that have limited desk space. I've purchased 6 of these and staff love them. We stick with Fujitsu for heavy scanning but that's not a nock on this unit as it was never designed for heavy workloads.
Cons: None, just don't forget to turn off auto power off if your staff is using this all day long.
Other Thoughts: Great scanner and does what it was designed to do.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/18/2015 9:17:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Document Scanners > Brother > Brother ADS2500WE Sheetfed Scanner - 600 dpi Optical

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very good product, Easy to setup and use
Pros: Limited footprint, simple controls, TWAIN complaint which is very important. Software easy to install, very intuitive. Well desgined feed tray. Has an exit tray rather than one of those "U-turn" exits. Hasn't jammed on me yet. Scans both sides at the same time. Fast. Clear results. Reasonably priced compared to competitors, ie, the big names.
Cons: It's sort of light weight and plastic. I'm used to something a bit more solid but this is hard to find in this price range these days.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend to a friend. I would buy it again. I researched all of the units in this general price range and this was the best one for the money, and probably also for units that were slightly more money.
Reviewed By:Mitchell S.,6/14/2015 6:15:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Document Scanners > XEROX > Xerox DocuMate 4440 Sheetfed Scanner

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Good scanner, lacking Warrenty
Pros: Fast, nice size.
Cons: After few months of use, plastic part on paper tray broke. Was informed that part was not covered by warrenty. I could not get a clear answer on what parts are or are not covered. $40 later it is working again.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/10/2015 8:27:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Document Scanners > Fujitsu > Fujitsu ScanSnap iX500 Duplex 1200 dpi USB/WiFi Color Document Scanner

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 The best, but with issues
Pros: The sheet-feeding mechanism in the Fujitsu is simply the best in the industry -- they're known for it. The space-saving design is good, as is scanning to portable devices using WiFi.
Cons: The software flips pages arbitrarily, often when content is short. The in and out feeds could be larger/longer as legal pages often fall on the floor.
It would be nice if it could scan "unattended" so that mail could be scanned into PC-based client without intervention at the computer end, and sorted later.
Other Thoughts: It would be great if software could "learn" or be taught common media, like the pattern of a phone bill vs. credit card bill. I wouldn't even mind being up-sold better document management software. That and barcode location and decoding would be a great feature that is common in commercial scanning systems.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/4/2015 9:12:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Document Scanners > Fujitsu > Fujitsu ScanSnap iX500 Duplex 1200 dpi USB/WiFi Color Document Scanner

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic Scanner!
Pros: Easy to install and setup
Very easy to use
Wife approved!
Cons: Nothing major at this time, doesn't like receipts occasionally.
Other Thoughts: Wish it came with a management software for my PDFs - I have this scanner setup on a table at home with a spare PC. My wife and I throw our mail and receipts that we want to keep track on through it. Any mail or paper we want to keep a record of but not actually keep goes through it as well and then right into the shredder/recycle pile. It has helped us reduce the amount of paper clutter in the house.

We have probably 15-20 of these units at work and they work fantastic and that is the main reason I went with the iX500 for my home.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/26/2015 11:26:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Document Scanners > Plustek > Plustek eScan A150 Sheet Fed Document Scanner

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Alright scanner, unintended features, possible security risk
Pros: This scanner scans documents (one or two sided in single-pass) without issue, is small and compact, and looks nice.
Cons: It won't write to the FTP server on my Seagate NAS (claims there's no write permissions, which isn't true).

If you know what you're doing, this scanner can also wreak havoc on network security (see other thoughts).
Other Thoughts: I feel this scanner is better-suited towards a more consumer-friendly atmosphere mainly because of the looks, but businesses shouldn't have any issue with it regardless.

This scanner is a bit more than meets the eye though. The scanner at it's core is running Android 4.2.2. It appears to be using a Rockchip-based board (RK30SDK). The scanner comes pre-rooted. There is no Play Store, and signing into a Google account doesn't help much at all.

As-is, you can only get as far as System Settings with just the scanner itself (by going into the Input configuration section). If you plug in a USB keyboard, you can easily break out of the scanner app by pressing Alt or Super Key + Esc (this takes you to a blank homescreen).

As for what you can do, you're free to install an alternate Homescreen (like Apex), you can play games (One Finger Death Punch (in guest mode) and osu!droid work great), and can update the su binary (by installing SuperSU).

But with great power comes great responsibility. On a more concerning note, you could also use the scanner for more "nefarious" things such as network hijacking and session spoofing, or any number of other root-only things, and if your network administrator doesn't know any better, this can be done pretty discretely on this scanner, and even be done remotely (after initial local access). So in-short, if someone has a long enough access to the scanner with a USB keyboard, you should probably expect the scanner to be compromised from a network security standpoint.
Manufacturer Response:Hi Sean R. Thank you for choosing Plustek. We greatly appreciate your comments on both Newegg and Amazon. The Plustek eScan is design as an all-in-one (AIO) scanning device that is solely meant for scanning purpose; we strongly recommend not to install any third party software without being certified by Plustek. Warranty is subject to void, in such cases. The Plustek eScan, without connecting to a PC, the PC-less form, tells between others and is great for workgroup daily processing. Scanning to NAS is simple, the key is to enable the SMB or FTP feature on your NAS, the complementary custom apps (Save2Share and Save2FTP) design by Plustek will seamlessly get connected with your NAS making it easy to send the scan files in a breeze.

Reviewed By:Espionage724,5/11/2015 6:28:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.