Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 512GB PCI-Express 3.0 x4 Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) MZ-V5P512BW

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It's working great
Pros: Nice and small - AND FAST
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Mary G.,7/25/2016 7:34:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > Crucial > Crucial MX200 2.5" 1TB SATA 6Gbps (SATA III) Micron 16nm MLC NAND Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) CT1000MX200SSD1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I had no major problems restoring a disk image to it and booting from it
Pros: Crucial has a good reputation and their SSDs are affordable. See "Other" comments below about restoring existing boot disk image to the new SSD when it is to be a boot drive.
Cons: None yet, but it I just installed it.
Other Thoughts: I replaced the electromechanical boot HD with the SSD in an HP Envy laptop with Windows 8.1, UEFI BIOS, and a GUID Partition Table (GPT) disk. I restored the HDD disk image to the SSD from one of my weekly Acronis True Image backups.

I installed the SSD at the laptop SATA connector. Before restoring the original laptop disk image to this new SSD drive, the SSD had to be prepared by placing certain GPT standard partitions onto it (Windows Recovery Partition, EFI System Partition (ESP), hidden MSR partition, and the usual OS and other primary partitions), so that Acronis can know where to restore each partition image to. This involved using DISKPART utility on the WinPE boot disk. See Acronis forum 101550 "Guide to Restoring a UEFI/GPT Windows System to a New Disk with True Image 2016", and forum 61358 "Cannot select 1MB offset at ATI WinPE" for instructions. Acronis wrote the partitions onto the SSD and I was able to boot from it and behold how fast these things really are. They are right: after an SSD there is no turning back. Now I hear the M.2 drives at PCIe speeds are even faster. Let me catch my breath!

The Storage Executive software from Crucial made it very easy to update the firmware, and test the "health" of the SSD. The "chat" from Crucial was very helpful in helping me understand the space that the SSD sets aside for itself for housekeeping. They said you do not need to specify free space on the drive ("overprovisioning") for housekeeping or garbage removal as the drive is manufactured to keep some space separate for the firmware. Still, people seem to be in the habit of leaving some space unallocated for use as overprovisioning.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/25/2016 7:10:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > PNY Technologies, Inc. > PNY CS1311 2.5" 240GB SATA III TLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) SSD7CS1311-240-RB

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Plug and play
Pros: Going from HDD to SSD extended my overall battery life on my laptop by over 2 hours!
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: SSD's are so cheap now that it's a must have. Laptop boots in 5 seconds. Running Linux Ubuntu and runs flawlessly.
Reviewed By:Michael G.,7/25/2016 6:13:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > SK hynix inc. > SK hynix SL308 2.5" 500GB HFS500G32TND-N1A2A

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Samsung evo killer for sure
Pros: just on par with the samsung pro seires and you cant beat the buy my load time are just wow i use win. 10 pro 16gb of ram and it just flawless no problems insane speed and height wise it half your traditional ssd
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: only if they made a terabyte ssd
Reviewed By:George P.,7/25/2016 1:37:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > Crucial > Crucial MX200 2.5" 1TB SATA 6Gbps (SATA III) Micron 16nm MLC NAND Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) CT1000MX200SSD1

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Good hardware, included software doesn't get the job done
Pros: I believe that Crucial / Micron flash technology is as good as what you will get from any other manufacturer, if not better.
Cons: The Acronis Software that comes included with the SSD will not correctly clone. If all worked as it is supposed to, this would be a very quick and easy upgrade from the 256 GB SSD that came with my laptop. Instead, the Acronis software will not expand the partitions so the Crucial drive will only show as the same size of my old drive. And Acronis does not provide any support for the version of their software that ships with the Crucial drive.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/24/2016 11:02:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 850 PRO 2.5" 512GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) MZ-7KE512BW

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 SAMSUNG 850 PRO 2.5" 512GB SATA III 3-D
Pros: Boots up windows 10 in less than 10 seconds.
Also loads GTA 5 really fast. Everyone who has played GTA 5 knows how much of a pain it is to load GTA 5 on a standard HDD. But on the 850 PRO it loads in no time also makes a major difference in game performance.
Cons: Non
Other Thoughts: My Specs
Fractal Design Define R5 Titanium with window
i7-6700K 8M Skylake Quad-Core 4.0 GHz
MSI Z170A SLI Plus LGA 1151
CORSAIR Hydro Series H75
HyperX Savage 16GB DDR4 2400
CORSAIR RMx RM750X 750W
SAMSUNG 850 PRO 512GB SATA III 3-D Vertical + 4TB HDD
EVGA GeForce GTX 970 4GB FTW+
TP-LINK TL-WDN4800 wireless adapter
Reviewed By:James L.,7/24/2016 10:36:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > PNY Technologies, Inc. > PNY CS1211 2.5" 120GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) SSD7CS1211-120-RB

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 nice for you notebook
Pros: quiet
cool
impact resistant
nice price
Cons: have yet to encounter any
Other Thoughts: I bought this to use in a Lenovo x200 tablet notebook I also bought here at newegg. I was looking for something solid state to stand up to the sometimes rougher treatments tablets get over notebooks. It came with Acronis software, which has been pretty useful now that I've gotten used to how it works. There is one thing I find odd, the drive is not silent -- I put the machine to my ear while it was loading the OS, and could hear a faint chirping coming from the drive. Odd, I know. As far as speed goes, it seems to run faster than the original rotational media, but I've not actually run a benchmark on it. The drive also comes with a small plastic rectangle should you need to make the drive thicker for your mounting hardware. I chose this drive, because the fastest USB memory stick I have is a PNY, so I figured their SSDs should be pretty quick too. So far I haven't been disappointed.
Reviewed By:William B.,7/24/2016 9:19:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > OCZ Storage Solutions > OCZ TRION 150 2.5" 120GB SATA III TLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) TRN150-25SAT3-120G

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fast and perfect for boot drive and a few games
Pros: Very fast than what I am used too. easy to setup, it's really just plug and play.
Cons: Doesn't come with any disk cloning software, which you don't really need though.. just google it and use clonezilla or something. Kinda wish I would of bought the 240GB version of this when the sale was still going on because after a clean install of windows 10 there is about 78GB of free space left on the drive but I don't really care much about that, I just wanted my pc to boot faster and load other windows stuff faster.
Other Thoughts: Got this for a cheaper price because of a sale. This is my very first ssd ever and I am very pleased with the ease of setup and the speed of this ssd. I just did a clean install of windows 10 rather than use a disk cloning software.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/24/2016 8:38:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 512GB PCI-Express 3.0 x4 Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) MZ-V5P512BW

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing Performance
Pros: -Performance is exactly what you would expect, it's silly fast
-Load times almost non existant
-Painless to install
-Software to clone your OS drive is breeze and its automatically set as your default boot drive
Cons: -Samsung Magician software benchmark is low compared to stated performance, Crystal Disk benchmark put the performance right where Samsung stated, their software is decent for setting up and updating firmware, other than that you are locked out of most features.
Other Thoughts: Highly recommended, do not neglect your hard drive when doing an upgrade or new build. Traditional drives are great for storage, SATA SSDs are great for extra program space... but you NEED this for your OS and core programs, the difference is unbelievable.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/24/2016 6:26:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > HyperX > Kingston HyperX SH100S3/120G 2.5" 120GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) (Stand-alone Drive)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great drive lasted a long time just died today
Pros: Bought the drive 4/27/2012 lasted nice and long only just bit the dust today 7/24/2016. Ran fast quick boot times. it was in my first build ever, and was a welcomed part compared to a WD Green SSD i was using in a previous system. But over 4 years from a SSD isnt that bad.
Cons: not something that really was a on but something to look out for. My full ATX case has hot swap drive cages for full sized HDD (as was the norm of 2012) and when i put this drive on an adapter for 2.5 drives to full sized drives, the SSD wouldn't slide into the hot swap bays. It still would work fine i would just need to use a regular cable connection.

Also i paid about $180 for this back in 2012. DO NOT BUY an ssd for more than a $1/Gb NO WAY! Times have changed and there are WAY better deals out there.
Other Thoughts: it was a good long lasting drive that didn't give me any trouble or problems. 120gb is a bit small for the drive that you run the OS on or the C drive for more hard core users. but in a casual case like with a laptop or a low data storage device it would be fine.

RIP My Kingston Hyper X 120gb SSD you served your duties well. *sad bag pipes plays in the distance*
Reviewed By:Anthony L.,7/24/2016 2:55:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.