Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 850 EVO MZ-75E250B/AM 2.5" 250GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Kept freezing
Pros: It is fast when it works.
Cons: I couldn't use it for a long time it just kept freezing the computer.Moreover, I tried to clone and it kept freezing the computer, so I did a clean install and it was still freezing. I guess it is not compatible with my computer, and I googled the freezing problem, and others are having the same problem.
Other Thoughts: This Money for this item is non-refundable, so what am I going to do with it if I can't use it?
Reviewed By:smith,4/20/2015 4:33:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 850 Pro Series MZ-7KE128BW 2.5" 128GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great
Pros: This SSD works fantastic out of the box. Make sure to install the Samsung Magician software & enable RAPID (real-time accelerated processing of I/O data) mode for peak performance.
Cons: No complaints, would recommend.
Other Thoughts: Magician software works nicely & isn't a hindrance at all.
Reviewed By:WhiteGoblin,4/20/2015 4:06:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > Intel > Intel 730 Series SSDSC2BP240G4R5 2.5" 240GB SATA 6Gb/s MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Intel FTW
Pros: Finally, I could afford a quality SSD with enough storage capacity for 3 different Linux distributions! Five separate partitions; after more than 4 months of active use ("Power-On Hours"), this baby shows no sign of wear/tear. Though, obviously, if you buy an MLC SSD you expect nothing to go wrong after a few months of use. :p
Cons: None so far
Reviewed By:ILMostro,4/20/2015 4:04:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > OCZ Storage Solution > OCZ Vertex 460A VTX460A-25SAT3-240G 2.5" 240GB SATA 3 6Gb/s MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA
Pros: Nice looking, appears to be well built. Great price and shipping.
Cons: DOA, was not recognized on two different computers. Returned for credit. Replaced with Samsung 850 Pro 256gb, working flawlessly.
Reviewed By:papa,4/20/2015 3:29:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 850 EVO MZ-75E500B/AM 2.5" 500GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Incredible SSD
Pros: Bought this when it was on sale for $170. One of the best purchases made for my build. Absolutely incredible read speeds. Mirrored my Windows install from an old Intel 530 in ~5 minutes. My bios splash screen takes longer to boot than Windows. Pushing the power button until Windows boots to desktop takes about 10-15 seconds.
Cons: Does not come with SATA cable. As others have mentioned, the software isn't that great, but that's not worth docking any eggs since that's not the SSD fault. All I used it for was mirroring the old SSD. Nothing wrong with the SSD itself, though.
Other Thoughts: Not really too important, but this hovers at 35.0c for me, which is ~7.0c warmer than my Intel 530 and ~5.0c warmer than my Silicon Power S60.

I am not interested in the RAPID mode as your data will be lost if a power outage happens due to it being stored in RAM at the time. The speeds from it are great in benchmarks, but there is very little difference actually noticed in typical computing.

As I stated before, it does not come with a SATA cable, but they're cheap so it's not a big deal.
Reviewed By:scrable,4/20/2015 12:28:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > Mushkin Enhanced > Mushkin Enhanced Chronos MKNSSDCR120GB-7 2.5" 120GB SATA III Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A Decent Economy SSD
Pros: Cheap
Solid State
Good Customer Support
Cons: There may be some drives out there experiencing premature failures but this happens to every manufacturer. It probably also isn't the fastest SSD out there even in this price range but it's still faster than a regular platter disk and works well enough for a basic OS drive. The 3-year warranty period is also a bit less than some other manufacturers.
Other Thoughts: I had owned this drive for a little over a year and one day Windows, upon booting, warned me one of my drives was failing. I was in shock once I found out it was this SSD (my OS drive) that it was referring to. At first I thought it must have been some kind of error so I checked on the SSD with Crystal Disk Info (SMART info utility) and the drive life was reported to be near the failure threshold. I couldn't believe it but I opened a support ticket on Mushkin's support website and received a prompt reply asking for my invoice from Newegg. Once I gave them a copy of this they immediately issued me an RMA with clear instructions and all I had to do was pack up my SSD and send it out. Once they received the defective drive I was sent another, no questions asked. Can't ask for better support than that.

It is important to remember everyone makes mistakes. What is really important is how they handle those mistakes and it seems to me Mushkin knows this. Please keep up the good work in your support department.
Reviewed By:DBones,4/20/2015 10:43:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 850 EVO MZ-75E500B/AM 2.5" 500GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fast and Reliable
Pros: Very Fast drive, maxes out SATA 6Gb/s bandwidth in most cases.

I use the drive for booting Win 8.1 and gaming. Boot time is below 10s, and I am in the first few to load into levels in games.
Cons: 0 issues so far.
Other Thoughts: Please make sure if you are installing a fresh copy of windows on ANY SSD (that will be your boot drive) to ensure that all other drives are unplugged, as windows put an entry onto my other disk's boot sector, so I can't boot without the otherdrive unless I re-install.
Reviewed By:Mike,4/20/2015 8:58:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 850 EVO MZ-75E500B/AM 2.5" 500GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 GREAT SSD bad software
Pros: The price point for this drive it on point with other drive s out there and isn't overly expensive.

R/W speed is immense and just amazing. My computer generally booted from a HDD in about 25seconds. with this SSD it boots completely in 10 starting the count from the login screen. add 2-3 if you want to count the windows logo screen.
Cons: Software!

The software provided for cloning your original disk image is by no means reliable. looking through the event logs after cloning many errors relating to file locations appear. Restore points will no longer be created automatically because the software doesn't remove the old drive from its listings. those are a few examples for problems you will face.

The biggest and hardest to diagnose is one that I faced and that was on initial boot up sometimes the bio's wouldn't find the boot manager and would fail to boot. After a reset/reboot it would work perfectly fine. If this issue occurs its with 95% likely hood that its the image clone and NOT a defective drive. Re-image the drive with another cloning tool and see if it fixes the issue or try a fresh install if possible.
Other Thoughts: Though the SSD diagnostic tool works well DO NOT use the cloning software provided.

I recommend:
Acronis True Image
Macrium Reflect - Free edition

These programs i had successful images created and none of the original issues presented with Samsung's magician software.

Nothing against Samsung they make one hell of an SSD but they need work on the software side.
Reviewed By:Jon,4/20/2015 8:45:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > Kingston Technology Corp. > Kingston SSDNow SM2280S3/120G M.2 2280 120GB SATA 6Gb/s Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Monster in a jar
Pros: Amazingly fast and reliable. After installing all the necessary software, drivers, updates, games, etc... my Win 7 Ultimate still loads in 10-12 seconds from start.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Great solution for operating system and for heavy load software such as Adobe Suite Collection.
Reviewed By:Gerzson,4/20/2015 6:26:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > Kingston Technology Corp. > Kingston SSDNow V300 Series SV300S37A/60G 2.5" 60GB SATA III Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great for Windows 7
Pros: I got this to put on my new PC build. It is really fast and has been dependable so far.

Windows 7 and 8 have the functionality to detect, format, and install without any extra drivers.

With an SSD this size, you can fit the Windows 7, all the windows updates, ability to hibernate, and 8 gigs of page filing with no problem. I still have 20 gigs left over.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: This is the 2.5" size. Older PC cases like mine only have 5.25 and 3.5 slots, so you may also want to purchase a 2.5 to 3.5 conversion.

Also, if you are building a new machine, just drop the OS on this drive. As I stated earlier, after all the updates, you are left with about 15 - 20 gigs. That is enough to continue updating going forward, but not for adding a lot of extra programs
Reviewed By:Jordan E.,4/20/2015 5:16:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.