Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Limited Time Only! Newegg Premier is now only $29.99/year. Sign up now.
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s TLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great
Pros: JUST AWESOME!
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I originally bought this for my laptop. Worked blazing fast!
I have now switched it to my desktop. Works awesome still. Cant complain at all
Reviewed By:Smokyngordo,7/25/2014 7:18:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250KW 2.5" TLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) With Desktop Bundle Kit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Converter images misled
Pros: The kit includes a 3.5" to 2.5" drive converter, for ONE drive and ONE drive only (see cons). Includes transfer software and USB to SATA dongle and cable.
Haven't installed/powered up the drives to try them out yet, I'm sure they're fine.
Cons: The images I saw of the kit showed that the 3.5" to 2.5" drive converter could hold 2 SSD's. They have since changed the images to show that it only holds one drive. It could be modded to allow one drive above and below by drilling holes closer to the side edges. Mounting would have them offset from the other. Probably not worth it though, as the SATA connectors would not be in the same orientation.
Other Thoughts: Apart from my drive bay gripe, the kit was worth it as it was on sale and a promo code on top of that made it cost less than just the drive by itself.
Reviewed By:LarryK,7/25/2014 6:05:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > Kingston Technology Corp. > Kingston SSDNow V300 Series SV300S37A/120G 2.5" 120GB SATA III Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 well...
Pros: It's reads are somewhat fast compared to a hdd
Cons: So i had his for a little while and installed windows 8 on it for a new pc and it seemed pretty fast but then i decided to take it off this new pc and wipe the drive to use it in my main pc and use the windows 8 on a different drive. So i hooked it up to my sata 3 connection and compared to my WD Black 1tb it's reads were about 20MB/s higher but it's writes were at 60MB/s slower.. It didnt come close to it's fastest speed and infact it was slower... Than a harddrive! How is that even possible.. So i am going to try and rma but this was a bit annoying when this was my first ssd. I dont recommend it but it is cheap and works decent (if all you wanna do is read files and not write)
Reviewed By:N/A,7/25/2014 5:03:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > HyperX > Kingston HyperX 3K SH103S3/120G 2.5" 120GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) (Stand-Alone Drive)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 It Died ...
Pros: Great fast speeds.. Great easy RMA ..
Cons: Died after 2 years so much for s.m.a.r.t. technology feature there was no warnings about the ssd dieing .. I lost everything I had on it .. YOU MUST PAY FOR RETURN SHIPPING ON RMA ... I dont like that ..
Other Thoughts: I have a crucial C300 for 4 years now and its still working fine .. If you are going to warranty an Item for 3 Years they should make sure it would last ...
Reviewed By:Larrylove,7/25/2014 1:43:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > Mushkin Enhanced > Mushkin Enhanced MKNSSDCR120GB-7 2.5" 120GB SATA III Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Pretty Great
Pros: So Far running perfect. This little baby is handling a few of my virtual servers. So Speed is very important. This ssd gives my rig full potential, and the only speed limitations are coming from the other hardware.
Cons: Nothing is wrong so far
Other Thoughts: Great price too
Reviewed By:RockinLoud,7/25/2014 1:38:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > Crucial > Crucial MX100 CT256MX100SSD1 2.5" 256GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 crucial mx100 250gb SSD
Pros: It's a 256 GB SSD at a fairly decent price for today's standards and pricing. Unbelievably fast boot times and load times. A true must have for overclockers. If you overclock you will love the boot times.
Cons: Only 256gb, but it was fairly inexpensive compared to most and its today's market not newegg's fault. Haven't had it long so I'll report back if anything changes.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/24/2014 10:07:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 840 Series MZ-7TD250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA III Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Worked Good While it lasted
Pros: fast
2 years of reliability?
easy install
Cons: corrupted after 2 years - for the price it doesnt seem like a sound investment.

slower than my 128gb m4 crucial.

samsung magician software with it seemed buggy
blue screened the bajeezus out of me on its final stages of life.
Other Thoughts: Thank goodness for the 3 year warranty, i use this for my ladies computer just annoyed i have to use my backup ssd to install windows for now..
Reviewed By:gomerpyles07,7/24/2014 9:30:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > OCZ Technology > OCZ Vertex 450 Series VTX450-25SAT3-128G 2.5" 128GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dead after 3 months
Pros: No "Pros" when the drive is dead.
Cons: The drive is dead
Other Thoughts: Don't be stupid like me and waste your money on this drive.
I purchased the OCZ Vertex for a customer of mine. The drive worked well for about 3 months then died. The Dell T5400 would not see it anymore. I put the drive in a StarTech SATDOCK22RE Hard Drive Duplicator Dock (which I love). It does not see the drive. I contacted OCZ customer support. I was told to update my bios and not to use the StarTech dock. But after a few more emails OCZ gave an RMA #. The turn around was very fast. OCZ sent back my original drive with a note stating "No fault found". So now I have a drive that 4 computers will not see. I understand that everything can break but OCZ's customers support is useless.
Reviewed By:FixedByAGeek,7/24/2014 9:16:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > Kingston Technology Corp. > Kingston SSDNow V300 Series SV300S37A/240G 2.5" 240GB SATA III Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good
Pros: Advertised speeds met at an average. Peaks at 525MB/s, rare dips as low as 290MB/s.
No issues with file or partition corruption (yet).
Decent price for a good amount of storage.
Performance/dollar ratio is slightly better here than on Samsung's EVO 840, but not by much. Would go with the EVO if willing to spend the extra cash.
Same repetitive pros everyone else lists for any SSD.
Cons: Price has slowly crawled down another $30 since purchase. How dare it be a better deal now!
Why don't I have two after paying for the one?
Other Thoughts: Purchased to replace 2 stripe RAID SSDs that had poor write speed. I was getting 800MB/s average read, but that didn't matter much when I was copying to the drive and only getting 80MB/s. Trading that for a single drive that does 450MB/s and freeing 2 drives to put in my laptop and PS3 was worthwhile. I'd consider a second to RAID if storage ever becomes an issue.

The whole "it takes X seconds to boot now" is dumb if you base it on the first few boots. Run Windows Update, get your system secure with antivirus, then get a rough idea of how long it takes to boot. You're likely looking at 20-35 seconds from a cold boot with Windows updated.

Technically faster is worthless if you aren't utilizing it. Stop measuring specs. Get proficient with the tools at hand.

Realize you are the slowest component, so find a way to take the human element out of repetitious tasks.

Linux.

Enjoy the small things.

Read a book.

Talk to your kids.

Find a hobby that takes you outside.

Be happy.

I'm out of "other thoughts" to share.
Reviewed By:Inverse Ion,7/24/2014 7:37:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 850 Pro Series MZ-7KE256BW 2.5" 256GB SATA III Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Samsung 850 Pro
Pros: Definitely seems fast
Cons: Can't get Magician software to enable RAPID mode. Just hangs while trying to enable "Enabling RAPID mode in progress..."
Reviewed By:Superhuge,7/24/2014 6:52:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau