Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > PS3 Systems > PlayStation > Sony PS3 CECHG01 (160GB)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Minor wear, but the controller is bad.
Pros: The system seems to run just fine, and I haven't had any problems with the drive.
Cons: The controller looks right, but I'm worried it may be a fake. The plastic feels less rigid than it should, and if pressure is put on it (by gripping tightly, or by twisting your grip) the controls go wild. Sometimes it will get in this state of sending awful random signals from every control for a while. Squeezing and twisting the controller can sometimes get it back to a good state. When it's good again, you're afraid to use it properly: Squeeze a little bit and it might stop working again.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/1/2016 9:54:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > PS3 Systems > PlayStation > Sony Playstation 3 (CECHA01) 60 GB Game Console Backward Compatible with 1 Dual Shock Controller

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Good when it actually worked
Pros: Was awesome for backwards compatibility with PS1 and PS2 games
Cons: only lasted maybe 9 months then the graphics card went up. Screen froze then when turning it back on it powered on but no picture or signal, and tried other devices to make sure it wasn't my HDMI cable, definite PS3 issue.
Other Thoughts: Don't ever buy refurbished!!!! Learned my lesson on this one.
Reviewed By:Peter H.,3/15/2016 3:04:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > PS3 Systems > PlayStation > Sony PS3 CECHG01 (80GB)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA
Pros: Came double boxed.
Cons: Dead. Blinking red power light. Sticky R2 button on remote.
I doubt they even powered the thing one when they "refurbished" it.
Big waste of my time.
Other Thoughts: Run away as fast as you can.
Reviewed By:Paul H.,1/15/2016 7:41:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > PS3 Systems > PlayStation > Sony PS3 CECHG01 (160GB)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Buyer beware!
Pros: - Worked for one day
Cons: -Ate my disk, I tried all of the online fixes, no luck.
-Worked for only one day.
-These systems are dropping like flies! The internet is rife with redneck fixes to keep them running for one more day (seriously, taking a hairdryer to the heat sync?!!)
Other Thoughts: Bought this system, worked for one day. I also bought Grand Turismo 6. That came the day after. Inserted the disk, and that was the last time it worked. YLOD. Can't eject the disk, and disk isn't returnable, and isn't any use to me since I don't have an operating console.
Waited on hold for two and a half hours to speak with someone who couldn't understand that the disk was stuck in their defective product. I finally got the message across. Finally got her to say that Newegg would "try" to get the disk back to me if possible. Then it turns out that Newegg doesn't refund shipping on items even if it is their screw-up. Had to argue with the lady for another 20 minutes, she kept offering me coupons, not understanding that I have no intention of ever using Newegg again. Finally got my shipping refunded. What a mess! I bought from Newegg because I heard that they had great customer service. Not at all. I am out the money from the disk, but I guess I have made more expensive mistakes than this. Stay away from this item and probably Newegg as well, from what I have seen of them.
Reviewed By:Philip E.,1/2/2016 4:22:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > PS3 Systems > PlayStation > Sony Playstation 3 (CECHA01) 60 GB Game Console Backward Compatible with 1 Dual Shock Controller

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I am a very happy PlayStation fan!
Pros: -Plays PS2 games flawlessly
-Refurbished in perfect working condition! The controller looks and feels brand new!!!!
-I seriously believe they included a brand new controller with this thing.
Cons: -This system does run warmer than a slim model.
-This system requires more effort to maintain.


-Not really a con but the people who got bad systems from Newegg and posted bad reviews scared me, but the system I got was absolutely fantastic. I sure it has some scuff marks like the chrome on the PlayStation 3 logo was coming off a little bit and there are tons of little scratches from dust but it has been cleaned out. It is refurbished to the very definition of the word!
Other Thoughts: -This is the premium 60gb PlayStation 3 that launched in 2006, so it's old. You really have to baby these bad boys to ensure a long life!!

-Seriously, I highly recommend replacing the thermal paste at least once a year and dusting often with canned air.
If your system feels really warm on the top of the system, then you may want to look into replacing the power supply. Certain models were released with a PSU that draws more power than the PlayStation 3 can use. So the left over power is just generating extra heat. Unfortunately the PSU is located in the top layer of the console which has no air flow. The fans are only in the bottom layer cooling the various motherboard components. I've already done all the research, if you need to replace the PSU, get the APS-231.

I play PlayStation and this is the perfect system for any fan. :)

I also installed a TOSHIBA 1TB 2.5" hard drive. Works like a charm!

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822149377
Reviewed By:Bradley D.,12/30/2015 3:58:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > PS3 Systems > PlayStation > Sony PS3 CECHG01 (80GB)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Initial reaction is not good
Pros: The price was good and it arrived faster than expected.
Cons: Unboxed and let sit out for 30 minutes or so. Connected to the TV and plugged it in. On power-up, we get a red flashing light. All searching tells me is that the unit probably needs to be sent back.

Other Thoughts: There's no apparent dust in any of the vents. I pulled the hard drive and boy does it look beat up. Wondering if that's the issue (BTW, this is the first Playstation of any kind that I've ever touched).
Reviewed By:Michael E.,12/30/2015 1:04:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > PS3 Systems > PlayStation > Sony Playstation 3 (CECHA01) 60 GB Grade B Game Console Backward Compatible with 1 Dual Shock Controller

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great technology.
Pros: It's simply a nice piece of non-Obsolete technology. It runs smoothly and does everything I need it to.
Cons: If you are looking for the best there is, you're probably looking for PlayStation 4 or newer models yet to come out.
Other Thoughts: Just beware, there have been known cases of overheating issues and cd drive problems.
Reviewed By:Joel M.,12/28/2015 12:23:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > PS3 Systems > PlayStation > Sony PS3 CECHG01 (160GB)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Absolutely Filthy
Pros: The console works
Cons: The top of the console had several deep scratches and other lesser scuff marks. What really turned me off was the controller was FILTHY. Dirt and grease ground into every crease. The triggers barely pulled and the buttons were unresponsive due to built up grime.
Other Thoughts: This is the first out of many newegg purchases that have arrived in such a deplorable condition.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/26/2015 9:08:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > PS3 Systems > PlayStation > Sony PS3 CECHG01 (160GB)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Broken out of the box
Pros: None
Cons: Defective out of the box.
Other Thoughts: Bought this for my mom and dad for xmas, wouldn't power up out of the box. Unbelievable that it wasn't even tested before being sent out, YLoD right out of the box first time turning it on.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/26/2015 11:15:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > PS3 Systems > PlayStation > Sony Playstation 3 (CECHA01) 60 GB Game Console Backward Compatible with 1 Dual Shock Controller

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 What are they complaining about?
Pros: Works as advertised, I guess.
Cons: The (2nd player) generic (high end) controller I ordered separately does not work in ps2 mode. Just ordered an official ps3 controller to see if it resolves issue (the controller that came with it works perfect)
Other Thoughts: I do not use this system heavily. It was meant as a second system to play my PS2 games and get some new games for my kids. Will be getting Lego Dimensions for this and anticipate to see how well that works.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/13/2015 11:07:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.