Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KD514FD7S 4 Channel H.264 Level CUBE Plus Advanced Face Detection 4 Channel DVR + 4 x 700TVL Cameras (No HDD Included)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Forget about it
Pros: Cheap price
Cons: As I said cheap price, you get what you pay for. Set it up to detect motion and send email and photo. Well I now get about a hundred emails most with no photo and none have any indication of motion. So I tried to call support and spent a half hour listening to music and hung up. Then I sent a support report, as they recommend while your on hold on the phone, that one got no response after 3 days. I tried the phone again and got someone after 20 minutes, this guy I could barely understand. But I did understand when he continually told me he didn't have a solution to my situation, he kept telling me it was a software issue and I would have to contact China to talk to the software developer to solve my problem.
Also the night vision sucks the camera is mounted 10 ft up the wall looking at my car. The distance from the camera to the car is 12 ft. I can't see the car after dark all I see is a jet black screen.
The setup videos are a joke there is only instructions to set your system on your local LAN, if you want to access your system over the internet WAN you are on your own. I f you have a decent knowledge of IP addresses, port forwarding, and ddns services you can set it up but if you don't plan on learning a lot or bring somebody in that has the knowledge.
All in all not worth the aggravation.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this product to others.
Reviewed By:Tom A.,2/4/2016 3:05:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo KHI8-YARUZ8ZN 8 Channel H.264, 960H DVR Security System with 8 x 700TVL Night Vision w/IR Cut Outdoor Cameras (No HDD)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Missing a Hard Drive to Record
Pros: Price is right
Cons: Cameras are a low quaility
Reviewed By:Bart C.,2/4/2016 7:36:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > EZVIZ Inc. > EZVIZ 4 Channel 1080p Analog Security System with 1TB HDD and 4 Weatherproof 1080p Bullet Cameras

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Nice video but thats it
Pros: - video quality
- quick setup
Cons: - notifications on the app don't turn off with set schedule
- app video usually never loads and needs the app to be closed and re-started
Other Thoughts: For me it was easy setup. Just plug cameras in and hookup to internet. Then download the app and scan the QR code and your up and running. However, the app sucks and most of the time the video takes forever to load or just never loads and you must shut it down and reload it. Also there is a cool feature that you can set notification times for each camera so if there is movement during that time it will send you an alert through the app. but IT DOESN'T WORK. It turns on the notifications and never turns them off so if you have a business and don't want your phone dinging every second of the business day then you just have to have the notification feature tuned off or turn it on/off manually every day. When it sends the notification it sends a video (that sometimes loads) of the movement it recorded.
Manufacturer Response:Hi John,

Sorry to hear about your experience with the Notification Scheduler. Something to keep in mind when setting your schedule is that you program each day of the week separately. So when setting a schedule to be on overnight, for example, you have to start the time after you go to sleep until 23:59pm and then have it start at 00:00 in the morning until right before your alarm clock goes off.

We know that you may be feeling frustrated, but please rest assured that our tech support would be more than happy to assist you with the Notification Scheduler setup.
Please contact us: 1.855.MYEZVIZ (693.9849)

Reviewed By:John G.,2/2/2016 12:11:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KNP3988P86D206 Premium High Definition IP Surveillance System 8 Channel NVR + 6 x 3MP Wide Angle Day/Night In/Outdoor Vandal Proof Dome Cameras (No HDD Included)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Decent system
Pros: I got this system as an upgrade to my old one, which was still functioning but didn’t have the image quality available with this system. Super easy to setup and install. The PoE feature makes getting connected up and running a breeze, it’s real plug and play as advertised.
Video quality is good. I wanted to record videos at higher res so the 3MP cameras were just what I needed. Besides being able to zoom in and see stuff more clearly, I feel a lot better knowing that I can produce high quality recordings for police or insurance if I ever needed to prove something.
I put one of the dome cameras in my living room because it looks less obvious and has a way wider viewing angle than my original bullet cam.
I see that other people have been saying similar things, but it’s true that the advanced features really make this system worth the price. As a regular home user, you don’t expect to be getting very sophisticated systems but this offers lots of useful customization options that can be easily turned on and adjusted if you just play around with the software a little bit. It’s good to be able to focus motion detection on certain trigger areas, and within that to be able to tweak the sensitivity so you’re not getting emails every second.
Cons: I’m pretty good with tools, but if you’ve only installed bullet cameras before, you might find that the domes are a bit harder to install. I found some helpful videos on youtube, and it was a piece of cake from there.
There are a bunch of LaView apps out there, maybe outdated or for their other systems. That can be a little confusing, they should definitely organize that more. Make sure you download the right app to be able to see live view and playback from your phone.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/2/2016 11:56:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KN988P84A4 Premium IP Surveillance System 8 Channel NVR + 4 x Full HD 1080P Day/Night In/Outdoor Cameras (No HDD Included)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 So Far So good
Pros: Plug and play.
Cons: Phone Ap not yet working.
Other Thoughts: Setup was pretty easy. Mostly plug and play. Great resolution on cameras. My only issue is I can't get the phone ap to work. Waiting to hear back from LaView customer support.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/2/2016 6:31:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > Q-See > Q-See QTH4-4CP 4 Channel AHD Surveillance DVR with 4 x 720P Day / Night In / Outdoor Security Cameras

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Unit purchased without installed Hard Drive - No instructions for installing / setup
Pros: Can't think of any pros since not able to set up
Cons: No instructions for hard drive installation/setup - No guidance for type of hard drive - Set up instructions given by tech support do not match firmware - Unable to set up hard drive with green hard drive recently purchased and installed.
Other Thoughts: If you purchase it and need to return it, you'll have to pay a restocking fee as well as return label - nearly $50 you will not get back if not satisfied. I would not recommend this product
Reviewed By:Frank B.,2/1/2016 1:23:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo ZM-SS718 8 CH NVR + 8 HD 720P Day/Night Outdoor sPoE IP Camera Smartphone Scan QR Code Quick Remote Access

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Email does not work, and only 2 channels record at 720p! DEAL BREAKER!
Pros: Easy setup, I like the unit over-all compared to many other brands, and most of the menus are pretty straight forward and self explanatory - good work!
Cons: Now the bad! Apparently Zmodo products are known to have alarm snapshot emailing issues. I tried all troubleshooting tips online, and the usual tip that works for some people did not work for this unit (tip about using a foreign yahoo server: plus.smtp.mail.yahoo.com - does not work).

Also, the manufacturer is misleading customers about the 720p recording resolutions. They claim that the unit records at 720p resolutions, but only 2 channels record at 720p 20fps, the rest record at VGA (640x480) 25fps. Also, they claim that the cameras send at 720p, although I'm not so sure that they really are native 720p since they seem a bit too grainy for this resolution, to me they seem like they are scaled up to 720p. I could be wrong, but i'm not impressed. Plus the saturation/contrasts adjustments in the interface do not seem to be sent to the individual cameras as the manf says they are. when adjusted, I still have an over contrasted picture , so i can't fine tune the fine details in the faces like i should be able to!
Reviewed By:Jason F.,2/1/2016 8:01:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > Q-See > Q-See QTH4-4CP 4 Channel AHD Surveillance DVR with 4 x 720P Day / Night In / Outdoor Security Cameras

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 so far so goo
Pros: price
Cons: good video quality and good tech support.
Reviewed By:shui z.,1/30/2016 2:17:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo ZP-KE1H04-S-1TB 4CH NVR + 4 HD 720P Day / Night Outdoor sPoE IP Camera w/ 1 TB HDD Smartphone Scan QR Code Quick Remote Access

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: Good picture
Cons: -Cameras fail, then you have to climb ladder, pull it down, get and RMA, mail it back, wait weeks, climb ladder and replace...
-Cameras disconnect/reconnect from/to DVR, but are still view-able when directly accessed (IP Cameras), can't seem to mak e them reconnect to DVR by reset, so when reviewing footage days of footage is missing almost randomly from different cameras. Then they "sync" up with DVR.
- DVR freezes now and then, have to climb to attic and reset.


Other Thoughts: Overall, just to unreliable to be used for security.
Reviewed By:Isaac U.,1/25/2016 9:50:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KN988P84A4 Premium IP Surveillance System 8 Channel NVR + 4 x Full HD 1080P Day/Night In/Outdoor Cameras (No HDD Included)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good quality, fair price
Pros: Easy setup. Each camera came on and immediately showed up on the monitor. Power and video in one cable.
Don't have to purchase additional app or software to view over the Internet.
Very pleased with this 8 channel NVR 4 camera system.
Great vidio quality.
Cons: none so far.
Reviewed By:Miroslaw H.,1/22/2016 3:28:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.