Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV- KD1884Y Complete 8 Channel 960H Security DVR System w/ Easy DIY Four 700TVL Infrared Surveillance Cameras (No HDD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Not Bad
Pros: Easy Install, Camera Quality Better than expected, Love the App for Android you can easily scroll through recorded video and playback with the App (very nice)
I got this system on sale at $40 off the $199
Cons: none so far
Other Thoughts: It took me 30 minutes to install this system, I got a 1TB NAS HDD, I have had no issues with this system at all. I plan on buying more of these as I need them
Reviewed By:Neatlights,9/16/2014 1:16:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo KDB8-CARQZ8ZN 8 Channel H.264 DVR Kit (No HDD), 8 X 600TVL, 3.6mm Wide Angle Lens, 24 IR LEDs for 65ft Night Vision

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not bad, but requires ActiveX
Pros: Decent quality for the price, 8 cameras, video quality is pretty good
Cons: Requires ActiveX, which limits you to Internet Explorer
Other Thoughts: I really wish this noted that you have to run ActiveX. As a Mac household, I have to run a Windows VM just to view these cameras on the network. Not good, not to mention how insecure IE remains.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/16/2014 6:29:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > KGuard > KGuard TC401-4FW426A 4 Channel DVR Touching Cloud Security System & 4 cameras 480 TVL with SmartPhone and Tablet Remote Viewing (No HDD)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not good at all.
Pros: None
Cons: The cameras are low quality.
Persistently doesn't detect hard drive.
Forces you to use external.
Remote viewing doesn't work like it should.
Guard's warranty is non existent.
They are incredibly unresponsive in email and phone calls.
They've ignored me for more than 3 months and still haven't sent me an RMA form.
Other Thoughts: Don't buy this cheap system. Spend a bit more money and save a lot of time and headache.
Reviewed By:Mike,9/15/2014 8:12:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV- KDV1404B6BP Complete 4 CH 960H Security DVR System w/ 500GB HDD Easy DIY 4 Infrared Surveillance Cameras

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good System for the Price
Pros: Easy to set up and get running in no time. ( running cable through the attic is another issue altogether, though )
I plugged in all four cameras and verified that everything worked before deciding on exact placement locations. Pretty much plug and play.
Cons: Setting up the phone app did require a call to customer support. ( AT&T U-verse support is worthless ). Problem was worked out quickly though and remote viewing works great.
Don't expect high resolution from these cameras, it's standard 'convenience store' video quality.
Other Thoughts: This is a good basic system for the price. Don't expect 'Dropcam' video quality but, on the plus side, I don't have to pay a fee to record timeline video from my home security system. I can always upgrade the cameras later if I need higher quality video.
Reviewed By:two labs,9/14/2014 7:23:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KD3484B Complete 8 CH HDMI Security DVR System w/ Easy DIY Four 520TVL Infrared Surveillance Cameras (No HDD) - Retail

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Perfectly!
Pros: We bought this because our boat keeps getting it's speakers stolen. And there isn't enough room in the garage. The cameras are clear. Was very easy to set up.
Cons: Decent nighttime viewing, the distance isn't as far as it says. Definitely helps to have some artificial light to help.
Not wireless so you have to connect Ethernet cable to connect to internet.
Other Thoughts: *Notice* You must connect this device with an Ethernet cable to be able to take advantage of the online features. Using iPhone/Android etc. to view cameras away from home.
One more thing, I called the support to ask a simple question and had a very strange support rep. He seemed... slow. Still helped though.
Reviewed By:Laugh,9/13/2014 2:54:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KD3484B Complete 8 CH HDMI Security DVR System w/ Easy DIY Four 520TVL Infrared Surveillance Cameras (No HDD) - Retail

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Poor at best
Pros: Easy setup, cameras are good quality for price, everything included.
Cons: DVR is low low quality and quite a poor performer. Remote viewing of cameras from any device including the DVR itself is sketchy at best, at times some cameras don't even load without rebooting the unit a time or two and that's if your on the same network as the DVR, outside viewing is next to impossible. Could just need a firmware upgrade which the manufacturer does not make available from their website. I have 2 similar units of different brands in my office that are of the same overall price range and style that work flawlessly. Sure wish I would have bought one of those brands.
Other Thoughts: For my money I will replace this unit with a different brand and avoid LaView 100% from now on.
Reviewed By:serwin68,9/13/2014 8:01:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > KGuard > KGuard KG-OT401-4FW426A-500G 4 Channel DVR Security System & 4 Cameras 480 TVL with Smartphone and Tablet Remote viewing

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dont buy this product
Pros: DVR went bad on 4 months. Call in for replacement nobody pick up the phone, email 5 times finally they answer 1 month later. Has the replacement DVR and went bad in 2 months again. I will never buy this product or brand again.
Cons: Bad Product.
Reviewed By:Phong,9/11/2014 11:30:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KD3542B Complete 4 CH D1 HDMI Security DVR System w/ Easy DIY Two 520TVL Infrared Surveillance Cameras (No HDD) - Retail

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great
Pros: Web Interface works Good, Extremely Easy to install. I have not tried to make it work on the App, just Internet Explorer. Installing the hard drive was a snap with no problems. We did not use the cameras that came with it so I can't comment on those.We also ran a microphone to to camera are and it is clear as a bell on the Web Browser.
Cons: The BNC connectors on the back are really close together making it difficult to put them on, but it could have been the ends I was using.
Other Thoughts: I would definitely buy this again. For an inexpensive but robust system you can not beat the price.
Reviewed By:Entech,9/11/2014 2:09:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo ZP-KE1H04-S-1TB 4 Channel H.264 Level 4 Channel All-in-One sPoE NVR Kit w/ 1TB HDD

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Price and Quality for a 720p system
Pros: 4 camera 720p complete system for a great price.
- Good picture quality
- pretty easy to setup
Cons: User interface is a bit lacking, would like the ability to add one or 2 more cameras over the network even if I was forced to buy zmodo. Like to be able to use cameras with other monitoring software.
Other Thoughts: Some helpful installation tips for future buyers.
- remote into each camera via IE and change password, assign a static IP address
- setup high quality resolution and make sure camera is set to auto sensing.
- update firmware via IE browser interface for all cameras and nvr system.
- I would recommend upgrading the packaged cat5 cables to a higher quality cat5e or cat 6.
- IR nightvision may appear little cloudy/chalky when you first set it up. Just shine a bright light at each camera to reset the IR LEDs and everything should work great after.

A lot of people will complain about viewing cameras remotely. The app works great while at home, however you have to use website service to view them remotely+app. The problem with this you need to open up ports on the router and upnp etc.. . I would highly recommend not doing this due to vulnerabilities to network intrusion. Better off buying a small hidden ip camera and set it up to alert you by email.
Reviewed By:rahjr,9/11/2014 2:09:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KDV2404W1 4 Channel H.264 Level 960H 4 CH HD Security DVR System w/ Easy DIY 4 x 1000TVL Infrared Surveillance Cameras (No HDD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice Security System
Pros: Very good DVR kit for the money
Cons: To view the DVR video streams remotely from a web browser requires the installation of a Windows basedplugin. I primarily use Linux, so this is something of a pain. The DVR can be accessed from any browser (including Chrome/Linux Mint), so configuration tasks, log viewing, etc. can be accomplished. However, to view the actual video streams requires the plugin to be installed.

Tip: Download the plugin from your browser, then stop the browser before installing the plugin. The plugin works with IE, Firefox, and Chrome.
Other Thoughts: I have one of these installed at home, two installed at work, and two more on order. I've installed/maintained several low-end DVRs over the last seven years, including Night Owl (decent) and Zmodo (absolute junk) These are definitely the best DVR kits I've worked with.

Even though I need 16+ cameras to cover our entire building, I opted for the four-camera DVRs. This means I will need multiple 4-camera DVRs to cover the building, as opposed to one or two 16-camera DVRs. My reasoning for this decision is three-fold. First, I've been told by a tech at LA-view that only the first four ports of the DVR can record at 960H due to limitations on being able to process and store multiple images. Any higher port records at a degraded level. I want all of my video streams to record at the highest level possible. Second reason is that with multiple DVRs, I increase my storage capacity. I can store 4x times the amount of data with four 4-camera DVRs than I can record with one 16-camera DVR. Third reason is that because of the way the kits are bundled it's actually cheaper to buy four 4-camera kits than the kits with more ports.

BTW, the cameras sell separately for $79 each, so the entire 1TB kit is cheaper (at $250) than just buying the four cameras.

The night vision on the cameras is amazing. I have eight of these mounted on the roof of our business (24' high), and they capture detail out at to least 100' with very minimal background lighting (we back up to a nature preserve). They perform much, much better than the 400 TVL cameras they are replacing.

The DVR has HDMI and D-sub out, which is a nice option, although the HDMI will only display 1080P, so it will won't work on older monitors/TVs, and only 1920x1080 or greater resolution.

To get this to work through your firewall, you will need to port-forward ports 8000 and 8554 (RTSP). Since I'm running multiple DVRs, I changed the 8554 port on each of the DVRs (configuration screen), and also used different ports at the firewall for port 8000 (what the mobile app uses to initially connect).

Mobile App -> firewall:8001 -> dvr1:8000
Mobile App -> firewall:8555 -> dvr1:8555

Mobile App -> firewall:8002 -> dvr1:8000
Mobile App -> firewall:8556 -> dvr1:8556
Reviewed By:N/A,9/11/2014 8:47:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau