Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Xeon X5460 Harpertown 3.16GHz LGA 771 120W Processor BX80574X5460A

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 f*n Ay!
Pros: OVERCLOCKS HIGH without much voltage
STABLE like a granite statue
FAST as in why get an i7K

4.3 ghz on air, 1.38volts/max 65C (dfi-p35 t2rs mobo)
Cons: no fruit cup
Other Thoughts: this chip is 40 bucks on "the bay"
a 2 dollar sticker makes it compatible with LGA 775 pins (need to mod the socket a little)
Reviewed By:N/A,7/11/2014 1:42:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Processors - Servers > AMD > AMD Opteron 8431 Istanbul 2.4GHz 6 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket F 115W Server Processor OS8431WJS6DGNWOF

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 AMD Engineering Sample (Opteron Istanbul)
Pros: I have the Tyan S8212 mobo with two of these on it. Although the clock speed is slow, the amount of cores makes up for it (12 total cores). Good for overclocking! I pushed mine up to 3 Ghz with no problems. When overclocked....o my gosh they are fast.
Cons: Clock speed could be a little higher, but not a huge problem, still fast.
Other Thoughts: My system: (Server motherboard set up, but I use it as a PC)
Tyan S8212 Mobo.
16 GB (8 GB per CPU) of 800 Mhz ECC RAM.
Asus AMD Radeon HD 6670 Graphics Card (1 GB vid mem)
Segate 2TB 7200 RPM HDD.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/7/2014 11:17:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel E3-1226 v3 3.3GHz 8MB L3 Cache 84W Server Processor BX80646E31226V3

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Working great!
Pros: I used this in a server build for a small office with 7 computers and it is working nicely. Much faster than their last server and when working on the server itself, it flies...
Cons: None that I can think of...
Other Thoughts: I would recommend buying this product...
Reviewed By:ANDRE G.,7/7/2014 9:37:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Intel Xeon E3-1230V3 Haswell 3.3GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1150 80W Server Processor BX80646E31230V3

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great i7 Alternative
Pros: This is a good alternative to an i7 if you want to get one on the cheap. No issues after about a month. Rock solid and fast, fast, fast.
Cons: Had to flash the motherboard to get it past the boot screen. Probably not related to the Xeon.
No video but if you're a gamer you know what you need.
If you're not a gamer buy a cheap video card and you're still saving money.
Other Thoughts: MSI B85M-G43 mobo
Team Dark Series 8GB DDR3 1600 memory
Gforce GTX 660 video
other stuff
Reviewed By:Flash,7/4/2014 6:50:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Intel Xeon E3-1230V3 Haswell 3.3GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1150 80W Server Processor BX80646E31230V3

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Better than I7
Pros: Better value than Intel Core I7. I run this processor with large aftermarket air cooler and never hit temps above 53C. Happy with performance. Coming from an AMD 1090t x6.
Cons: Check Motherboard compatibility and BIOS support.
Reviewed By:Uphill,7/3/2014 7:57:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Intel Xeon E3-1230V3 Haswell 3.3GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1150 80W Server Processor BX80646E31230V3

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Performer
Pros: This is an Excellent chip. I have been an AMD Fanboy for years but after much research I decided to jump ship and switch platforms. I am very happy I did. This chip blows the AMD FX-8350 out of the water. Even on old games like Civilization 4 BTS, there is a clear difference in performance. It also runs 45W lighter which is very nice.

If you have no interest in overclocking then I think this chip is worth the money. It is classified as a Server CPU but don't let that put you off if you are a beginer builder. It can but put into any LGA1150 motherboard and you can use regular RAM.

I will buy this chip again for future builds.
Cons: None that I can see so far
Reviewed By:DHF,7/2/2014 6:41:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel E3-1231 v3 3.4GHz 8MB L3 Cache 80W Server Processor BX80646E31231V3

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 i7 performance and features at an i5 price
Pros: - Fast
- Hyperthreading
- Inexpensive compared to i7
- Lower TDP than i7
- Decent operating temperatures (~70C load with Noctua NH-L9i + AS-5 in mini-ITX case)
Cons: - No integrated GPU
- Locked multiplier
- Not supported by all desktop motherboards
Other Thoughts: The E3-1231v3 is essentially a i7-4770 without the integrated GPU at an i5 price. Definitely the best price/performance ratio if your motherboard supports Xeons (usually works even if not officially supported).

Xeons are also supposedly binned for stability, which is great for a non-overclocking CPU.
Reviewed By:Dan,6/27/2014 12:20:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Intel Xeon E3-1230V3 Haswell 3.3GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1150 80W Server Processor BX80646E31230V3

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works in H81 Motherboard
Pros: Works in low cost H81 motherboard.
Probably uses less watts and has lower temps than i7 as it is a server chip.
intel decided to round the edges of the stock heatsink fan which previous design sliced and diced my fingers
Cons: didn't buy one with integrated graphics.
not unlocked as far as I can tell.
only Turbos 4 cores to 3.5 GHz on my MSI H81M-P33.
can only change memory timings- running DD3 2133 CL 9 at 1600 CL 7.
insulation of wires for the included heatsink fan tore easily when snagged/inserted into the plastic wire guides.
Other Thoughts: bought this for gaming; CPU frame times in BF3 64 player large maps average 16 ms.
@ 76 F room temp idles 45 C. under full load 83 C with stock heat sink, TDP 55W.
Reviewed By:jrazor247,6/24/2014 11:35:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Intel Xeon E3-1230V3 Haswell 3.3GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1150 80W Server Processor BX80646E31230V3

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Intel Xeon E3 1230 Haswell 3.3Hz
Pros: Lower Cost i7 without graphics
Minor differences compared to 4770
Can be used for gaming and video editing
depending on motherboard can be overclocked
can unpark the cores
stable
workhorse
cooler
less watts usage
hyperthreading
excellent value per dollar spent
not a consumer product - business oriented
Cons: Xeon cannot do everything that an i7 can - so it depends on what you need or don't need
Xeon is not unlocked
Not compatible with all 1150 motherboards - research
No integrated graphics
not promoted for consumer use
not oriented for consumer use
Other Thoughts: If you do your research - this processor will work for you, Get the right case, motherboard, cooling system, ram etc.In technology there is always something new - get what you need at the right price. You don't need overkill. With this processor, you have something for now - raw strength and something for the future - hyperthreading.
Reviewed By:viper1867,6/23/2014 6:34:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Intel Xeon E3-1230V3 Haswell 3.3GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1150 80W Server Processor BX80646E31230V3

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent processor
Pros: This processor is great for gaming! But it really shines for video rendering, and workstation tasks, since it is after all, a Xeon. For those of you who want a 4770k without the ability to overclock, or don't plan to overclock, with no integrated graphics card, for $100 cheaper, buy this immediately.

My old Core i7 920 @ 3.6GHz took 1 hour to render a 1080p 30 minute video. This thing takes 29 minutes.

I saw my performance jump up in games by 50fps. But the real time it shines is when i'm streaming. When i'm streaming i've noticed gains of up to 70%.

Is it great for gaming? Absolutely. Is it great for workstation tasks? absolutely. Would I buy this again? You're darn right i would!
Cons: The only thing I can think of, would be the lack of overclocking power. Though you should know that since it's a Xeon. So I can't dock an egg for something i already knew i wasn't going to be able to do.
Other Thoughts: This thing is just phenomenal. I can't wait to unlock it's full potential when i upgrade to a GTX 780Ti.
Reviewed By:Spunky117,6/17/2014 8:52:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau