Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Robotic Vacuums > iRobot > iRobot Roomba 880 Vacuum Cleaning Robot with AeroForce Performance Cleaning System

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Does a decent job but can't justify the price, Still has same flaws from original 2002 release
Pros: Slick Looking
Easy to set
Amazing job picking up dirt, dust and hair
virtually maintenance free
bin full alert notice
lighthouse feature
quiet
Cons: scratches easily
still a dumb robot and bumps into anything
emptying the filter/bin is pretty messy.
does not work on black carpet or carpet with black patterns
carrying handle seems flimsy.
Other Thoughts: Let me start out by saying I'm a big fan of Irobot, I even own some stock in them. I bought the original Roomba when it first came out in 2002. I had also owned one of the Discovery Models (4XX series) , I also owned a 5XX model as well as a 6XX model. Obviously they never were good enough to be a replacement for my regular vacuums but they were great for weekly maintenance when I didn't want to vacuum. Also they were a great topic of conversation (back in the early days before they were so wide spread). Unfortunately they never seemed to last and while Irobot had good customer service, after the year warranty you were pretty paying expensive repair bills. The last few models I owned I purchased from BBB or and a big name Warehouse due to their amazing return policies.

Now fast forward a bit, in 2013 I started seeing reviews for the Neato vacuums., while I didn't know much about the company I was impressed that they map the room rather then just bumping around like the Roomba. I ended up purchasing a Neato XV-21 and sold my 6XX series Roomba.

Over the course of the last 2 years I actually came to really like the Neato, the suction was pretty much on par with the Roomba and it seemed to hit every spot on the carpet. I also liked how you could add new features by doing a firmware upgrade yourself.

Now fast forward to a few weeks ago. The Neato was starting to have issues, and when I purchased it, it came with an extra 3 year warranty, of course the company who sold it went out of business so I figured I would look into upgrading to one of the newest generations of robotic vacuums.

It came down to the Neato Botvac 85, The Roomba 790 or the Roomba 880.

I ended up going with the Roomba 880, because I was intrigued by their claim of maintenance free and the new non-tangle brushes. (I have a Shiba Inu and there is dog hair everywhere). Also there was a Mothers Day sale going on so the price was lower, as well as I had 2 nice credits where I had purchased it, so in the end I only paid about $360 for it. There is no way I would pay over $400 for this product, especially with the puny warranty they come with.

Now that I'm done rambling on with the back story let me get to the actual product review.

* First of all, the Roomba 880 looks very sleek and cool looking, unfortunately when it comes to a vacuum this isn't always great. In just 1 week there are scratch marks all over the glossy top.

* Iadapt technology? - This is my biggest beef, Irobot has had 13 years since the original roomba was released and they still haven't added mapping technology to this thing? As soon as I used this new model for the first time I immediately missed how the Neato rarely bumped into anything. The 880 bumps into everything, I know they list it as a soft touch bumper, but if its so soft why are there already scratch marks on the bumper.

This is just a decent robotic vacuum. In my opinion it is not worth the $600+ price tag.
Reviewed By:Howie,4/30/2015 8:07:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Robotic Vacuums > iRobot > iRobot 560 Roomba Vacuum Cleaning Robot

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Won't work on dark surfaces
Pros: Color
Cons: Me : My Roomba 560 won't work on my black carpet.
iRobot Rep : Yes - that's a feature called the cliff sensor , when the sensor sees a dark color it believes it's about to go over a cliff and stops - Just in time !
Me : So, you have a 'feature' that tells your unit that my black carpet is a cliff ?
iRobot Rep : Yes.
Me: In my business we call that a bug.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/29/2015 7:33:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Robotic Vacuums > iRobot > iRobot® Braava™ 380t Floor Mopping Robot

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Cleans floor with a little help from the human...
Pros: I have mainly used the quick mop setting and the battery lasts from 2-3 hours! So it can do several rooms on a charge. You just need to reset the laser navigation position. I am also impressed that it does a good job on rather uneven slate tiles.
Cons: Even with a relatively clean floor, you'll need to pause the bot and wash out the micro pad every 30-40 minutes as it gets quite dirty. Also, you need to create a barrier near stairs as the sensor can fail, resulting in a tumble.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I do like this machine and use it lots. As far as recommending any changes-If there was a way to add some spinning action that would assist with dirt build up. Certainly having it increases the likelihood that the floor gets washed, so I would recommend the product .
Reviewed By:MaryEllen,4/28/2015 12:17:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Robotic Vacuums > Neato Robotics > Neato XV-21 SD Pet & Allergy Automatic Vacuum Cleaner, Colors May Vary, Manufacturer Refurbished (Scratch And Dent)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Non starter
Pros: Dont know. It never worked for more than a minute
Cons: Did exactly what the sparse instructions asked one to do. IT worked for one minute and then said it was low on battery (after 12 hours of charging), so charged it for another 12 hours. Same story. Stopped working after one minutes.

While it was fine that New Egg was nice enough to send a RMA who is to repay me for a weekend of aggravation.
Other Thoughts: Please TEST a refurbished product before shipping it
Reviewed By:onemilen,4/27/2015 8:47:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Robotic Vacuums > iRobot > iRobot 560 Roomba Vacuum Cleaning Robot

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Beware of Pet Hair, Noise, Maintenance
Pros: Automatic operation, simple to set up and use. There's something to be said for having a machine that does a boring, drudge of a task like vacuuming. The house does stay cleaner.
Cons: Poor design and material choices, high maintenance, noise.
In operation, Roomba is noisy, not only with its cheerful beeps but fan whines, brush noise, etc. Maybe no louder than a traditional vacuum but a traditional vacuum doesn't run for hours at a time. If you are home all day, whether working from home, retired or raising a family, this will eventually get on your nerves.
After living with the Roomba 560 for several years, I finally gave up. The time saved by automatic vacuuming is lost with the amount of time it takes to keep the silly thing clean. In a home with pets, the pet hair destroys the brush mechanism and the smallish air filters clog easily. After every use, I had to swap the filter (I bought a spare so I could wash one while using the other) and spend 15 -20 minutes unwinding pet hair from the brush unit. Even with religious servicing, hairs would find their way into the clockwork gearbox that drives the brushes, wrapping around the turning bits. This, in turn, caused the plastic gears and housing to heat up, melt and necessitate full replacement of the gear/brush unit. The first was replaced under warranty; others carried a high out of pocket cost. A search of the internet found DIY solutions that replaced bushings with sealed bearings to eliminate the problem. IMO, this is a fundamental design flaw that has never been successfully addressed by the manufacturer. Why would they? The replacement parts are a great ongoing revenue stream. In the end, our Roomba went to the closet and ultimately to an electronics recycler.
iRobot was the first to address the issues of logic and operation; their robotics skills are not in question. At the end of the day, though, a robot vacuum must function as a vacuum, not just a robot; in this, Roomba is lacking.
Other Thoughts: I still like the *idea* of a robot vacuum. I may check out Miele, Dyson and even Neato, but I'll pass on iRobot products from here on out.
Reviewed By:Tigerdog,4/26/2015 6:53:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Robotic Vacuums > iRobot > iRobot 560 Roomba Vacuum Cleaning Robot

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Buy
Pros: does what it is supposed to. Picks up dog hair very well. Great Price on sale.
Cons: small dust bin.
Reviewed By:Will,4/26/2015 4:34:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Robotic Vacuums > iRobot > iRobot Roomba 790 Vacuum Cleaning Robot for Pets & Allergies

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 It works OK!
Pros: It really does improve environment for allergy sufferers. When the floors and carpets are clean, Vacuuming under the beds is so welcome. I am inspired to do the dishes, dust, empty the trash, and power through the unrelenting torrent of mail and email. The Roomba is inspirational and we will buy a 2nd for our condo in Malaysia when a 790 is again on sale at 26% off,
Cons: Does not handle sequences of rooms very well despite 3 "lighthouse and wall" gadgets. It tends to work its battery to death in the center room of a 3 room sequence. A 620 - 770 might be just as good with or without the external signals.
Other Thoughts: While it will circle chair and table legs, the Roomba likes a clear path. To get best job job move chairs to table top or to a room not on the schedule. It seems to not like the carpet dents made by chair legs. The Roomba appears to grind away on them with a few extra passes.
Reviewed By:Omar,4/19/2015 5:41:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Robotic Vacuums > Neato Robotics > Neato XV-21 SD Pet & Allergy Automatic Vacuum Cleaner, Colors May Vary, Manufacturer Refurbished (Scratch And Dent)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 No support without registration
Pros: It works as a robot vacuum
Cons: It is sitting in a corner of my home, but I'm at work and found out about an update that is supposed to increase battery life and such. Neato demands serial numbers, purchase information, and the rest before you can get to their support site. I have no idea what the serial number is. All I want to do is update it and they won't let me unless I jump through a bunch of hoops. This isn't support, it's tracking and marketing.
Reviewed By:tz,4/16/2015 8:50:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Robotic Vacuums > Neato Robotics > Neato XV-12 Automatic Vacuum Cleaner, Colors May Vary - Manufacturer Refurbished

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA
Pros: Nothing, it is dead!
Cons: item arrived with no user manual, after turning the unit on the lcd shows it is charging even when it is away from the charging station, it shows two errors, bumper error and battery error!
Reviewed By:n,4/9/2015 9:42:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Robotic Vacuums > Neato Robotics > Neato XV-21 SD Pet & Allergy Automatic Vacuum Cleaner, Colors May Vary, Manufacturer Refurbished (Scratch And Dent)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love it
Pros: Convenience
Cons: Battery life
Reviewed By:N/A,4/5/2015 7:38:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.