Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Black November
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Specialized Scanners > Ambir > Ambir TravelScan Pro PS600-AS 48bit Mobile Document & ID Scanner

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love this scanner
Pros: Very portable, easy to travel with, scans pages pretty quickly. Works very well with small receipts and thicker items. Have used this scanner for almost 2 years. Travel often and do audit work so no need to transport cumbersome and/or confidential documents.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I believe the airlines dropped my checked bag from the top of the plane and actually broke the scanner which was inside. Ordering another. Can't work without it!
Reviewed By:Shelly,11/22/2014 8:46:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > Plustek > Plustek OpticFilm 8100 35mm Film and Slide Scanner with LaserSoft SilverFast SE Plus 8 Software

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Expensive scanner. Poor quality
Pros: Compact. Nice design.
Cons: Bought a $200 epson flatbed scanner after scanning about 1600 of my mother's slides from the early 60's. 80% of the scans came out VERY dark - almost to the point of them being unviewable. The corrections (auto and manual) in the software result in overexposed, bleached out or red shifted pictures. The flatbed scanner was faster and produced 1000x better quality pictures. I called tech support about this and they provided zero help. This was an expensive purchase for me dedicated to one purpose which is does not do.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/15/2014 4:25:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > Plustek > Plustek SmartPhoto P60 Portable Photo Scanner for PC/Mac (SmartPhoto P60)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Easy, Effective, Imperfect
Pros: Small, Quick, Easy, Works, Cheap, USB powered (draws 400mA).
Cons: Unfortunately there are several cons. The calibration function doesn't work, all photos are slightly distorted. The results are stretched and make everyone look fat. The scanning element isn't very high quality. Scans of photos taken on a bright sunny day come out looking drab and bland (over-saturated?). The rotation algorithm frequently misfires and twists an image quite severely. For me worst of all is that it cuts off about 3/16" of an inch from the long sides of the photos, top an bottom. It is limited to a maximum scan size of a 4x6 photo: it will not scan a panorama photo (remember Kodak Advantix?).
Other Thoughts: I've only had experience with flatbed photo scanners. As harsh as the cons I've listed are I still like this thing, it's quick, easy and I can digitize photos from a laptop while on the go visiting family. I was really hoping to be able to scan long receipts with this; the 4x6 limitation is very aggravating: I just don't see the reason for it. Someday I hope to find a document and photo scanner that I will fall in love with; this definitely isn't it, but for the cost and convenience of it - it's pretty good.
Reviewed By:fEsTiDiOuS,11/10/2014 11:58:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > Ambir > Ambir PS667-AS 48bit CIS Simplex 600 dpi A6 ID Card Scanner with AmbirScan

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Exactly what we needed!
Pros: Installed easily and quickly. Makes seamless work of scanning insurance cards at the front desk of a medical office.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,10/20/2014 9:31:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > Brother > Brother DS-720D 48 bit int./ 24 bit ext. (color) 16 bit int./ 8 bit ext. (monochrome) Dual CIS Mobile Up to 600 x 600 dpi (Optical) Up to 1200 x 1200 dpi (Interpolated) Scanner

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Can duo front and back scanning
Cons: Can only feed 1 sheet at a time.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/17/2014 11:27:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > PenPower > PenPower WorldCard Pro Business card scanner for Mac/Win (WCUPRO1EN)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good product
Pros: It's pretty good, Don't read everything, but help a lot with the data entry. Easy to install, easy to use, easy to modify.
Cons: Can't install the software on more the one PC
Reviewed By:Backstage PC,10/13/2014 8:45:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > Neat > NeatReceipts Mobile Scanner and Digital Filing System - Mac

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very handy and unobtrusive
Pros: I use this for scanning receipts at work for expense reporting and for scanning spec sheet supplied by vendors. It will scan those annoying super long receipts that are becoming so commonplace now; 3 feet of paper for purchasing 2 items...seriously!?!

I tried other brands and found out they maxed out at 14 inches; those got returned less than an hour after un-boxing. Admin assistant in my department showed me her NEAT scanner and I decided to give it a try.

I really like the small size, doesn't clutter up my desk.
Cons: The software was a little annoying on the install...fill this out, fill that out, online activation; UGH! I really miss the days of simply installing the software, not having to fill anything out and using the widget right away.

Constantly pushing the cloud storage is ANNOYING. My company likes to keep its network very secure; cloud storage is a big no-no. The constant pestering to use NEAT'S cloud system is bothersome.
Other Thoughts: The NEAT scanner's software package is a database system (!) and does not just simply scan and drop your images into a folder (although it will if you specifically tell it to). This took a bit of getting used to. Took me a couple hours of tinkering but I think I got it figured out. The auto populating for record keeping is so-so, it gets about 85% of the data fields right, a bit of editing is needed after but not that big of a deal (considering the price). The database is nice for searching scanned docs.

Cool product with decent software suite.

RECOMMENDED
Reviewed By:JR,10/1/2014 10:56:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > Neat > NeatReceipts Mobile Scanner and Digital Filing System - PC

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Software is horrible
Pros: Nice Scans
Cons: Everytime I use this product the company finds a new way to irritate me.
Other Thoughts: I have the previous model of this scanner though it uses the same software package. It might be OK if you live in the software such as a bookkeeper. Otherwise the supplied software is too slow and buggy. Unlike any other scanner I have ever used they do NOT provide a standalone driver, you have to install the whole package. I thought this would be a good product to take to tradeshows for scanning business cards and various pieces of printed literature. Not possible as there is not driver for the computer in the booth so it's not possible to scan with any computer but mine. If I use my computer I cannot do anything else. I have a Samsung Series Nine with a core i7 processor and 8GB yet this product can make my laptop beg for mercy. Also no way to export to RTF or other common formats. This thing lives for the database and it's that or image or pdf. If you have casual scanning needs do not consider this product.
Reviewed By:quielo,10/1/2014 6:13:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > Fujitsu > Fujitsu ScanSnap SV600 Contactless Scanner

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Impressive...
Pros: - Small Footprint (Can put it anywhere!)
- Quality of Scans!
- Adobe Acrobat XI Standard Included (This will cost you $200 alone)
Cons: Not many, but could use some tweaks to the Software and Surface Mat.

The Software is impressive overall, but it seems to have this "Apply to all" aspect to it. For instance I was scanning a Magazine publication and it assumed the one page rotation. Well, rather then letting me turn that one page it wanted to apply the rotate to them all. There was a workaround for it, but coudl have been made simpler.

With the Mat, the area is large, you can scan multiple items or as I am using for a Magazine or Book, and the detection is fantastic, but the Mat is Black and if there is a page with Black on the Corners / Edges, then it falls short. I would recommend stopping at a craft store and picking up a couple pieces of the Fluorescent Green Foam Matting. Will cost you only a couple bucks, but will make the edge detection MUCH easier.
Other Thoughts: NewEgg has this for almost $200 cheaper then most other sites. I have worked with Fujitsu Scanner at work for years and they are built for Quality and Volume. I had been looking for a Book / Magazine Scanning solution for some time, but did not want to spend $3000 on one. This fit the bill!
Reviewed By:Scott Sliwinski,7/15/2014 7:38:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > Hewlett-Packard > HP X4000 Wireless Mouse

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Customer Service is very helpful
Pros: Need some help with the product and the customer service answered my question and I have my item shipped next day I ordered.
Cons: Not much
Reviewed By:N/A,5/27/2014 3:13:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Low and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.