Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Specialized Scanners > Fujitsu > Fujitsu ScanSnap SV600 Contactless Scanner

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Impressive...
Pros: - Small Footprint (Can put it anywhere!)
- Quality of Scans!
- Adobe Acrobat XI Standard Included (This will cost you $200 alone)
Cons: Not many, but could use some tweaks to the Software and Surface Mat.

The Software is impressive overall, but it seems to have this "Apply to all" aspect to it. For instance I was scanning a Magazine publication and it assumed the one page rotation. Well, rather then letting me turn that one page it wanted to apply the rotate to them all. There was a workaround for it, but coudl have been made simpler.

With the Mat, the area is large, you can scan multiple items or as I am using for a Magazine or Book, and the detection is fantastic, but the Mat is Black and if there is a page with Black on the Corners / Edges, then it falls short. I would recommend stopping at a craft store and picking up a couple pieces of the Fluorescent Green Foam Matting. Will cost you only a couple bucks, but will make the edge detection MUCH easier.
Other Thoughts: NewEgg has this for almost $200 cheaper then most other sites. I have worked with Fujitsu Scanner at work for years and they are built for Quality and Volume. I had been looking for a Book / Magazine Scanning solution for some time, but did not want to spend $3000 on one. This fit the bill!
Reviewed By:Scott Sliwinski,7/15/2014 7:38:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > Hewlett-Packard > HP X4000 Wireless Mouse

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Customer Service is very helpful
Pros: Need some help with the product and the customer service answered my question and I have my item shipped next day I ordered.
Cons: Not much
Reviewed By:N/A,5/27/2014 3:13:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Low and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > Neat > NeatReceipts Mobile Scanner and Digital Filing System - PC

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Research it for yourself
Pros: Small, light weight, does good for what it is. Good for backing up thermal paper receipts that fade and are unreadable. You know, like the ones you need for warranties.
Cons: I do have to say, the software is a love hate thing. The database is great but it can be a pain with the stuff that's not really needed. IMO
Other Thoughts: Please read reviews from actual owners, and ignore the other non-owners. they shouldn't be allowed to leave reviews of any kind.

I got this in a lot of computer stuff from someone getting out of the repair business. I have yet to fully utilize all it's abilities. It's handy for receipts, especially the ones printer on thermal paper that fades and become unreadable. But it's handy for what it's made for. People should realize that this is not a full blown $500 document scanner with a ADF.

For anyone reading reviews, good for you doing your research. To all the people that leave reviews that don't even own the item, but don't like the commercials or advertisement for the item, well they just need to go away. To be polite!
Reviewed By:Scooter,4/25/2014 7:12:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > Neat > Neat Desk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System - PC (Refurbished)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: None! Don't bother buying this scanner it's not worth your time mine was defective as soon as I tried to scan with it. I tried contacting NEAT and I told them what it was doing and the agent was very quick to tell me that they would email me a solution to the problem, I did everything they said in the email and nothing worked. They have very poor customer service the NEAT agent couldn't wait to get rid of me or pass the buck. They act like they don't know a thing about there product, all she said was to reset it,try a different USB port that was it. Good thing Newegg has great customer service and allowed me to return the item and Newegg even paid for the return shipping. I will definitely recommend Newegg. Thank you Newegg great customer service.
Cons: This is not worth wasting your time. Was defective as soon as I tried turning it on. Comes on and has flashing red lights on the front and every time I try scanning the software keeps saying paper jam.
And there's no paper even in the scanner and it says that.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/24/2014 2:22:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > Plustek > Plustek 8200i SE CCD Film Scanner

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great hardware, but...
Pros: Hardware seems solid and well-designed. It weighs about as much as a brick and kind of feels like one with your eyes closed.
Cons: No serious manual comes with it, nor is one available on the Plustek site. Essential information is missing. Example: does one scan with the emulsion side up or down. Not in the "manual." I found it on a printed sheet that came with the film strip holder.

SilverFast 8 is bizarrely designed. I like software whose use is so obvious I only occasionally have to turn to the manual, but especially for someone who is new to fixing up photos, they're likely going to be stumped. I'm a professional photographer who has been using digital (not film) cameras for well over a decade now. It's been that long that I have not even got my film negatives and slides out even to look at. However, I regularly fix up my digital photos so I understand a lot of the terminology and techniques. I can imagine a beginner being totally floored the many dimensions of fixing up available and, if they use it at all, only using a small subset of those options.

I used SilverFast 8 to fix up the first negative I wanted to scan. The software crashed! I won't repeat what I said about the 45 minutes of time I spent on the photo being lost.

I did a little research and discovered VueScan. I downloaded the trial and right away realized that it is a big improvement over SilverFast 8. On top of that, its licensing is much more generous. The normal version is only $39.95 and will probably do for amateurs very nicely. The Pro version is $79.95 and offers lifetime updating, creating RAW files, and several other features including IT8 color calibration, which will essentially turn your 8200i SE into an 8200i Ai.

NewEgg's price for the Plustek 8200i SE is very reasonable, but if I were you I'd figure in the extra $39.95 or $79.95. I'd say go for the more spendy version of VueScan or you may end up wishing you had.

You can download a serious user guide for VueScan, The VueScan Bible: Everything You Need to Know for Perfect Scanning, on Kindle for $10.49. I'd figure that in as well.
Other Thoughts: Reasonably-priced support for negative/slide scanning is waning. The top-o-the-line scanners are from Nikon and they are going for $2000 on up to about $7000. The Plustek OpticFilm line is the best you're going to do under $2000. Remember, film deteriorates over time, so now is the time to get going on scanning your favorite images as digital files. Why not all of them? Because no digital scanner is fast, especially if you're using the dust/scratch removal technology. Even without it, if you are paying attention and adjusting some of the parameters and scanning the photos in at maximum side and as TIFF or RAW photos with dust/scratch removal, you'll be lucky to get off with much less than a half hour per frame. I have ab out 20,000 images on film, so I won't live long enough to scan them all in if I also want a life away from the scanner. Its forcing me to be selective about which shots to digitize, and that's probably good.
Reviewed By:Unseen,4/5/2014 9:49:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > PenPower > PenPower WorldCard Pro Business card scanner for Mac/Win (WCUPRO1EN)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 This is the Card Scanner You Want!
Pros: Scanner is very well built, has a cord attached that folds in back as well as a carrying cover. Self feeding, will read both sides of cards. Very Fast. Software is great. it will export the card info in any format you wish, Outlook, Vcard, Excell, CommaDelimited, DB Formats, ect.... The software is great to edit from, actually easier to edit from this software than from Outlook. Software also imports existing contacts as well. Recognizes Cards formatted from China, foreign countries. Reconginzes graphics, all in all Im rather impressed. No licensing restirctions, and you are not forced to register. They have a network version which is fantastic. Again, this is so much better than CardScan, Do Not Purchase anything from Cardscan! They are done. PenPower is the way to go. You will not be disappointed. Great piece of hardware and software.
Cons: None, very happy with this!
Other Thoughts: Put your money in PenPower WorldCard Pro Business card scanner. They have a single user with no forced registration and they also have a network multiuser version both products are great.
Reviewed By:Jack Miove,3/28/2014 5:12:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > Epson America > WorkForce DS-30 (B11B206201) 24bit CIS 600 dpi Portable Scanner

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great.
Pros: Very easy to use. Very good copies. Good document feed. "Just works" on my Mac. (An extra click is required to start up the driver.) No issues whatsoever. I thought the price was quite good, considering how good this device is.
Cons: Really, I've not encountered any.
Other Thoughts: I wanted a small scanner that I could carry around, but didn't need it to be battery -powered, and I didn't want it to record to an SD card. I wanted to plug it into my computer, power it by USB, and have it just work, downloading scanned docs directly to the computer. It had to work on Mac OS X. I wanted to use it for documents and for sketches of GUI mockups, which might have some color.

That sounds simple, but there aren't a lot of options. This scanner does the above very well at a reasonable price, requires no separate power supply, and "just works".
Reviewed By:hopfrog,3/17/2014 12:50:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > Visioneer > Visioneer RW3-WU 24bit CIS Sheetfed 600 dpi Scanner w/ travel bag

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Very Disapointing Scanner
Pros: Small and compact
Cons: Unit right out of the box would scan pdf documents poorly i could not reprint the invoice and have the department store scanner reader pick up the upc. When trying to set the quality, program keep crashing. The scanner programs are so complicated that it would take a profession computer wizard to make them work. We just wanted a scanner that would scan good quaintly pictures and pdf file. This scanner does not have user friendly software and my mother in law is a computer programmer and she said send it back.
Other Thoughts: Make a simple software program that is user friendly. And make you updates so a computer expert does not have to uninstall every thing to up date what a joke. I do not recommend this software but the scanner is very nice.
Reviewed By:Tom,3/16/2014 1:11:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > LG Electronics > LG LSM-100 (MCL1ULOGE.CH3MAC) 1200dpi Laser 5 Button Smart Mouse Scanner

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 FIRST DAY
Pros: Easy setup
Good mouse
Good scanner with slick software!
Cons: None, yet.
Other Thoughts: I have never before submitted a review before using tech product for a couple of months, at least. But this works just as advertised. A local genealogy society is pushing a 4" by 6" battery powered flatbed scanner for document research -- at $250 and up, depending on the package you choose. I bought this mouse/scanner on sale for $46 from NEWEGGFLASH, and it is not limited to that 4x6 bed. It should scan an A3 doc with my 8GB, i7 laptop. I tried it out with the shipping invoice, which had a variety of fonts, font properties, and both paragraph and tabular layout. It scaned flawlessly. I pasted into three Apache OpenOffice 4.0.1 Writer files. In the first, a JPG looked exactly like the original invoice. In the second, I used the drop-and-drag. It pasted in a read-only section. Some lines and the barcode were missing, there were minor font and formatting errors, only two spelling errors, and a table that was somewhat misaligned. All content but the barcode were there. The text in two straightforward paragraphs were spot on. OpenOffice allowed me to remove the read-only restriction and I was able to clean up the spelling and some formatting. In the third doc, I used the Paste button on the menu bar at bottom of the software window. It pasted unformatted with fonts the word processor chose and the barcode was missing. Some content needed rearranging, but it was otherwise there. Bottom Line: the scanner works well and the software is key. Even at the regular $80 price on NewEgg, if you want a very portable scanner with your laptop, give this strong consideration. I simply didn't find anything close. Afterword: Be aware that for some old, light-sensitive documents, libraries may not allow you to use any scanner to copy info. Best fallback is a digital camera without flash.
Reviewed By:Riverman,3/8/2014 10:07:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > Brother > Brother DS-700D 24bit CIS Duplex 600 dpi mobile Scanner

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Tricky to feed; uneven software
Pros: * duplex scanning
* small, portable, no power brick required
* easy to use
* works well on photos
Cons: * tricky to feed sheets in straight
* using plastic sleeve reduces contrast of scan
* included software can be confusing
* does not auto reverse upon jam
* grey scale scan quality only so-so
Other Thoughts: Need to practice to get the sheets to go in straight. Smaller than full-size sheets are even trickier; smaller items (like receipts) are impossible unless you use the plastic sleeve. I noticed that the sleeve made my scans look dull and gray; this can be corrected by adjusting the contrast and brightness. But even after adjustment, I find the gray-scale scans to be inferior to the inexpensive HP all-in-one that I use to use.

Another caveat: Beware that this scanner does *not* auto-reverse itself when the paper jams! This despite the fact that the motor is capable of back-and-forth motion (as seen during calibration). I had to resort to pulling the plug on the thing to fix a jam. Not very good.

Scan speed is very good for single sided; not bad for duplex scanning. Quality of scanned photos is very good. Hard to use the scan preview mode because, unlike a flatbed, the paper may go in slightly different each time.

As for the software: I found the Presto Manager package comprehensive, but unintuitive and hard to use. Features are scattered everywhere. And for some reason, it started to OCR all my scans, but that resulted in only *fragments* of my scanned image showing up! Haven't resolved that one. I recommend sticking with the simple DS Scanner software from Brother. It works well and works as expected.

Overall, I'd rate this 3.5 stars, but gave it 4 because it really does a nice job when everything works.
Reviewed By:Centauri27,3/5/2014 1:18:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau