Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Specialized Scanners > Plustek Technology > Plustek Technology - 783064636704 - Plustek eScan A150 standalone network document scanner - Built-in 7 LCD touch screen

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 good but could be better
Pros: Positive

After receiving the email to review this for Newegg.com I went online and found an iPhone app and installed it. Not much to it. No settings no options in the app. Only a page to report problems and the main page.
When I received the scanner I found it to be very well packaged for shipment. After unpacking and looking over everything I plugged it in and it booted in seconds. Very nice. Also the scanner feels very solid and not like many others I've seen.
Setup: Ethernet very simple just plugged it in and your set. WiFi super simple too, touch a few screen buttons ,enter your wifi info and your done. Email also very simple to setup and connected first try. You will need to enter your email provider server and port information but don't worry, they give a cheat sheet with the more common providers.
I tried to send to my iPhone and no problem if you have the app open on your phone otherwise it does not see the device.
The computers on your network take a little more time to setup. You receive a cd with your scanner, put it aside and get yourself a USB flash drive and do a quick format with default settings as the scanner will only recognize it that way. Then install in USB port on the side of the scanner and download the correct client, only windows and Mac is supported. Take the drive to each computer and install it, rebooting when done. Now get the cd and install the software and register them. Pick your preferred options, enable OCR if you need it and the correct folder to save to.
I don't have a FTP account so no review on that. I'm sure it's as easy as the cloud setup which was super easy too. Just add your account info and done. When you look for your documents, I used Dropbox , they will be in a folder named apps/scantocloud.
The scanner itself is very well built and so far no paper mis-feeds. It comes with an extra pad module and a cloth to clean the screen. It has a small foot print and can be placed anywhere for ease of use. There is a button on top left to release the front cover and release tabs on either side under the cover to install and release the paper feed. The lower tray pulls out and retracts for smaller foot print.
Cons:
Negative:

App has to be open on mobile device to receive documents. This should be able to work in the background.
There should be more options or instructions on setting up cloud storage to company servers or home cloud drives.
Price is a bit high
Reviewed By:GaryBe,4/25/2015 5:37:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > Plustek > Plustek OpticFilm OF8200i Ai (0783064365338) Up to 7200 dpi USB 35mm Film and Slide Scanner

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Impressive results!
Pros: Scan quality
Software
Size
Value
Cons: Software and hardware are from different manufacturers.
Learning curve.
Other Thoughts: I have been obsessive about image quality since the days when I would use a grain magnifier to focus my darkroom enlarger. I am completely satisfied with the results scanning b&w negatives from the 1950's, a glass enclosed slide from 1941, and many Kodachromes from the 1970s. The scanner is good enough to pull enough dynamic range from the Kodachromes to produce images that look better than the originals! The learning curve is pretty steep to get good results. My favorite work flow for the Kodachromes is to scan to a .dng file and open in Photoshop (usually just Adobe Camera Raw).
Reviewed By:mmreview,4/23/2015 3:02:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > Veho > Veho VFS-002M 3MP CMOS lens Film Scanner

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome!!
Pros: Does 110, 135 and slides, color, black and white, and it does it really fast. I am 100% happy with this purchase,
Cons: Does not load the film itself?? There are no cons
Other Thoughts: If you want your old film digitized this is a fast way to do it. Very happy
Reviewed By:Tom B,4/15/2015 4:42:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > Ambir > Ambir DS687-AS 48bit CIS Duplex 600 dpi A6 ID Card Scanner

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product, durable, low maintenance.
Pros: Have several of these units at front desk locations. They are rugged and low maintenance. They are fairly quick unless doing full color high resolution scans. Easy to install and setup. These units are also TWAIN compliant or scan to a folder.
Cons: They are a little pricey considering they scan only ID and business card size objects.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend to anyone looking for ID or business card scanning products.
Reviewed By:Talt B.,3/29/2015 1:08:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > VuPoint > Vupoint Solutions PDS-ST420-VP 600 dpi USB Color Portable Scanner

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3
Pros: Has good options as far as color/mono, jpg/pdf, and resolutions of low, medium, or high. Is easy to program the options desired. Scans relatively quickly. Is easy to use. Nice clean and crisp images. Affordable price. Includes a stabilizing pad that can be placed under the scanner to keep it from sliding on slick surfaces. Includes carrying case.
Cons: Must be disconnected from computer to scan, so scans cannot be immediately viewed. Cannot reset defaults to preferred settings. Each time it is powered off, or connected to computer, settings return to factory defaults, requiring settings to be programmed with every use. Only the scanner itself fits comfortably in the carrying case. Case needs to be stretched a little to be able to include stabilizing pad which is difficult and then makes it difficult to remove. There is little room left for the USB cord in the carrying case.
Reviewed By:girlsyk01,3/17/2015 8:49:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > VuPoint > Vupoint Solutions PDS-ST470-VP 600 dpi USB Color Portable Scanner

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Magic Wand PDS-ST470-VP-BX2
Pros: Scanner works and is intuitive to figure out and operate. Being intuitive to operate was great because I had to scan the manual so i could increase the size enough to read it on my Laptop screen.
The Engineers did a great job. If the Customer support was as good, they would have gotten 5 eggs.
Cons: 1) Manual is tiny with very fine print and hard to read. Also, there is no PDF manual to download from the VuPoint web site. I had to scan the micro manual with the Magic Wand to increase the size enough to read on my laptop.
2) Warranty registration on web site does not exist. Major issue!!

3) The PaperPort 14 download web address that came with the Magic Wand goes to a site run by OfferActive that has a 404 error stating that the web site does not exist. Nuance does not state on the Paperport 14 download offer any expiration date. I am not a Contract Lawyer, but the Contract Lawyers I know would at least roll their eyes over not having an expiration date. Since I did not get a chance to try PaperPort 14, I can not comment on Quality, only the Bait and Switch stunt.
Other Thoughts: VuPoint better get their Customer Support up to the Level of their Engineers who developed the Magic Wand or their Engineers will walk.
Reviewed By:Steve,1/30/2015 5:01:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > Ambir > Ambir DocketPort 687 DP687 48bit CMOS Duplex ID Card 600 dpi Optical Scanner

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 No duplex printing for x64
Pros: Single-sided scanning is fast, good resoultion.
Cons: Unit is expensive.

Scanner will not work properly for duplex (double-sided) scans in an x64 windows 7 pro OS. Tried included drivers, drivers from manufacturer's website, troubleshooting, alternate PC. Nothing worked - 64-bit drivers appear to only support single-sided scanning.
Other Thoughts: Customer support from Docketport is non-existent. No reply from phone or email contact.
Reviewed By:Aaron,1/29/2015 3:59:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > Epson America > Epson Perfection V370 48bit MatrixCCD Photo 4800 dpi Scanner

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: This scanner does everything I have even scanned old 110 negatives with it. It is the best scanner I have ever owned.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: If you want a scanner that does it all this is the one.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/21/2015 3:45:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > Visioneer > Visioneer RoadWarrior Lite CIS Sheetfed Portable Scanner – Windows Only

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Product works great but annoying drivers and software
Pros: Excellent quality scanner, very portable, USB powered so you don't need powercord, comes with Nuance OmniPage 18, PaperPort 14, and PDF Converter Professional 7.
Cons: Documentation I received was for wrong model and contains inaccurate information, extremely difficult to work with drivers and software included (not including Nuance software). I have good tech skills and it took me forever to figure out how to use this and even after I did it is still difficult to work with compared to the wonderful software I got with my Canon scanner.
USB powered which causes problems with underpowered USB ports like those on windows tablets.
Other Thoughts: If you don't need to use the default software bundled with this device but instead have your own software then this is an excellent portable scanner.
Reviewed By:James H,1/19/2015 3:33:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > VuPoint > Vupoint PDS-ST480-VP Magic InstaScan Pro with Color LCD Panel

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Frustration in a box
Pros: Quickly makes unusable scans.
Cons: I thought I'd hit the jackpot with this. I have shoeboxes full of pictures. I used this and made like 200 scans in about a half hour while watching Netflix.

When I opened the files, the first two or three looked OK, then these little vertical stripes started creeping in to each picture. Turns out that any dust gets caught on the scan glass, and they accumulate. You pretty much have to do a full cleaning after each scan to prevent it.
Other Thoughts: I contacted VuPoint, and the only thing they suggested was to 'calibrate' it. That means running through a specially printed card included with the device. It does nothing for the accumulation of the stripes.
Reviewed By:OrionRed,1/16/2015 9:26:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.