Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > E-Book Readers > Pandigital > Pandigital Novel 7" Color Multimedia e-Reader/Tablet Running Google Android 2.0 + Wi-Fi - White

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 absolutely worthless
Pros: it turns on. it has a little wifi card that can be removed and used on your pc.
Cons: flimsy glass screen that cant take even the slightest drop. terrible slow interface and hardware, even when flashed of the terrible software that it comes with. the wifi card included is absolute trash. expect 56k dialup type speeds.
Other Thoughts: completely worthless. steer clear of anything by this company, its all low grade knock off garbage.
Reviewed By:TetraDigm,3/13/2014 5:39:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > E-Book Readers > ECTACO > Ectaco 5" High Resolution e-Book Reader (jetBook-Lite)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good purchase for a beginner
Pros: Can not complain based on the price. I never owned an e reader and wanted to try one without having to spend a small fortune. Pretty simple and straightforward
Cons: Does not have much memory for the books I purchase because of the stuff already loaded on it (but I guess I could always delete that stuff). Very dim back light, might as well not even have one
Reviewed By:RM,2/19/2014 3:28:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > E-Book Readers > Barnes & Noble > Barnes & Noble NOOK Color Wi-Fi eReader BNRV200

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good e-reader, but locked down and low battery
Pros: It's color, works as a great e-reader, supports apps that connect to my local library for e-book checkout, ergonomic, and lightweight.
Cons: Not very fast, but I don't know if it's supposed to be. Low battery life (about 4-hours between charges). Locked down on B&N's system. The Nook HD has an open Android system, allowing you to use apps from the Google Play store. But then again, it's a color e-book reader, not a tablet computer.
Other Thoughts: This product falls in the middle of liquid ink readers and tablet devices. The unfortunate part of compromise is that no one gets what they want. You don't get the readability of eInk in direct (sun) light, ease on eye strain, and long battery life. You don't also get a great tablet device capable of much more.

If you are looking for a dedicated e-book reader, I suggest e-ink versions of the Nook or competitor device. Or save your money and get the better versions.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/10/2014 6:14:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > E-Book Readers > ECTACO > Ectaco 5" High Resolution e-Book Reader (jetBook-Lite)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great old tech
Pros: Uses AA batteries ( a dead Li-ion battery does not cause this to be trash)
Can use a separate Li-ion battery pack with the usb cord. (hint turn both the batter pack and the reader on after connecting the cord)
Can carry hundreds, maybe thousands of books in a SDHC card (up to 32 gig) most other wannabe e-book readers can't.- makes it an effective pocket library.
Can use Nimh rechargeables
Not certain if a Li-ion pack will recharge Nimh batteries on board though it looks likely (possible danger of overcharging be careful).
This reader has been utterly reliable so far, I use it at lest several hours up to 6 nearly every day.
No Wi-Fi or wireless B.S.
Can read self made EPUB files
Cons: Slow boot after battery change; confusing the first time Some think the reader is defective- hold the power button in for 5-6 seconds.
Has a bit of trouble with self scanned pdf files (turn the reflow off to navigate)
None of these are significant to me.
Other Thoughts: I'm going to get another as a backup since it looks like ECTACO is just draining/selling old stock. and nothing else on the market looks as good.

If you want a Li-ion with audio, the aluratek?? looks like a similar reader without the replaceable batteries.
Reviewed By:Happy Joe,12/14/2013 9:02:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > E-Book Readers > Kobo > Kobo Glo eReader Pink - N613-KBO-P

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Kobo Glo
Pros: light, compact, night light,
Cons: small (though that is a personal preference-my wife likes it that way)
Other Thoughts: Bought this for my wife-she loves it. Very light, compact, easy to use. I personally think the screen is too small, but she tells me it is the same size as a regular Kobo.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/17/2013 6:39:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > E-Book Readers > Kobo > Kobo Mini eReader Black - N705-KBO-B

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice. Small. Reader.
Pros: I was an old Borders fan and had picked up the Kobo program on my phone years ago. I wanted something that didn't eat up my phone battery and had a better contrast so I could read with less glare. This is perfect for all those things. It is a nice paperwhite screen, it fits in a pocket and it has the awesome Kobo program that I love not to mention the battery lasts a long time. Love it.
Cons: None that I can speak of as of now. The navigation was a little tricky at first especially since I was used to handle Kobo on a smartphone but once I figured it out it was easy.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/18/2013 9:12:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > E-Book Readers > Kobo > Kobo eReader Touch Edition - Lilac (Lavender) N905-KBO-L

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Do not buy
Pros: great battery life, responsive screen.
Cons: very easily broken screen. Customer service is pretty bad. After a year just about everyone's fails to turn on from failed software and hardware.
Other Thoughts: Don't buy such a low quality product. Look at kindles or nooks or something else.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/3/2013 7:05:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > E-Book Readers > Barnes & Noble > Barnes & Noble NOOK Color Wi-Fi eReader BNRV200

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Barns & Noble Nook
Pros: Worked great for me. I ordered this for my wife, but she did not like it- No problem with the nook just too hard for her to read at her age. Asked for refund & they promised it.
Cons: Writing a little small for old eyes
Other Thoughts: Maybe a 9" unit would be better for my wife
Reviewed By:tvman2,5/20/2013 3:21:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > E-Book Readers > Barnes & Noble > Barnes & Noble NOOK Color Wi-Fi eReader BNRV200

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Seller
Pros: Did not keep mdse, but they were very helpful in the return process. The nook was too complicated for my wife to use!
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Seller called me to let me know he was issuing a refund. Good communication.
Reviewed By:tvman2,5/17/2013 9:16:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > E-Book Readers > Amazon > Amazon E-Book Reader Kindle Touch (with special offers)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Superb Value, Great Performance
Pros: This Kindle Touch was a pleasant surprise. It came in mint condition, the books read wonderfully with crisp text, and unlike many e-book readers it has text to speech and an MP3 player onboard. This was my first purchase with NewEgg and I am now quite a fan. Thanks!
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: Keep the Kindles coming !
Reviewed By:TheVoice777,5/4/2013 6:49:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.