Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > DSLR Cameras > Sony > SONY SLT-A58K Black 20.1 MP Digital SLR Camera with 18-55mm Lens

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Just Great
Pros: -LOTS of pros
-I caught it at a cheap price, just $398
-Does every thing I need a DSLR camera to do
-Originally got this for a college class but use it almost everyday
-Very high Iso
-20.1 mp looks amazing in full frame
-Full zoom don't take away from the quality
Cons: -No real cons yet, its been holding up to all the stress I've put it through.
Other Thoughts: It does do auto HDR shooting but that can be over looked. The shipping for it was excellent, it came just in time for my class given that I order it late.
Reviewed By:Dre,2/22/2015 7:19:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > DSLR Cameras > Canon USA > Canon EOS 7D MARK II 9128B002 Black 20.2 MP Digital SLR Camera - Body

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Completely amazing!
Pros: 65 point AF, all cross type.

you can autofocus with a teleconverter down to f8.

20.2MP is good enough for anyone's needs.

ISO usable up to about 10,000 (depending on your needs. just for family gatherings? 10,000 still looks pretty freaking good, but for paid work id say keep it below 6,400.

autofocus while recording videos.

mic and headphone jack.

live view autofocus is infinitely faster than my first camera (1100d)

easy to use controls.



I could go on forever, but these are the points that quickly come to mind. completely blown away by this camera.
Cons: no video autofocus while at 1080 60fps
Other Thoughts: have it coupled with the bg-e16 battery grip and it is quite heavy. about 3 pounds. not a huge deal at all but just something to think about if youre used to cheap, mostly plastic cameras.
Reviewed By:Adam,2/12/2015 9:22:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > DSLR Cameras > Canon USA > Canon EOS 70D (8469B016) Black 20.2 MP Digital SLR Camera with 18-135mm STM f/3.5-5.6 Lens

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not completely terrible, until it died (<1 yr. after purchase)
Pros: I like the wide range of zoom on the lens. It shoots video. It has the standard features of a DSLR in this price range. Overall, it is a functional camera. They claim the autofocus is great, but I can't substantiate that.
Cons: Died stone cold dead after <1 year, during a shoot. Also, not great for video shooting - no headphone output, no AC power supply, only records 30 mins before stopping without notifying you, the WiFi function isn't available in video mode, etc.
Other Thoughts: I am a professional videographer and this was going to be my main production camera. That was a bad idea. It's a photo camera that is capable of recording video with significant limitations, but which is being market for video shooting. The biggest problem, aside from how it died, was a tie between not being able to record audio on the camera (since I can't monitor the audio in any way, even via HDMI apparently), and not being able to record more than 30 mins. That means as the videographer, you have to stop the whole set - interviewer, interviewee who's just broken into tears about how their mother was bla bla bla, and say "Hold on a second - I have to start the camera rolling again. Can you back it up a few seconds and start again?" Overall, working with this camera has generally turned me off of shooting video on DSLRs.
Reviewed By:Ty,2/4/2015 2:38:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > DSLR Cameras > Nikon Inc > Nikon D800 (25480) Black 36.3 MP Digital SLR Camera - Body Only

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Still like Nikon
Pros: High pixel count, great video quality, good battery life even with external gps, works well with inexpensive battery grip if using the live view more. can zoom live view to focus video, face detection focus mode works well for video. Love the controls, that are similar to d300 for me, which I was looking to upgrade. Ton's of features. very rugged. I like that it can take my older "d" lenses that lack motors. the Eye-Fi pro card works well with it and is cheap enough. custom menu!
Cons: Very heavy. especially to carry all day, specially with grip. Size can be intimidating to your subjects but they get used to it. Very difficult to focus hand-held, sharp/without blur compared to D300 due to higher pixels and heaviness of camera and it's more apparent when reviewing later than on camera. I think I would have liked to have the D810 60fps 1080p mode.
Other Thoughts: Could be too much camera for me, but didn't have much choice at time. I do think I like the old-school controls, compared to the newer d750 or 7000. Lots of people seem to be jumping ship to mirrorless makers, for weight and size, but I like the proven Nikon dslr lenses despite having to change them (I seem to favor primes). I bought some cheaper 128gb 1066 komputerbay flash that works great with it, even though its not on the compatiblity list. Transfer software works better with camera (not as fast though), than with usb 3.0 sd card reader on certain laptop/cpus' ... be sure to verify your NEF's opening full view before deleting from card, you may never see error with readers/laptop speed/bitlocker, etc... with all the menus and options, the custom menu is your friend!
Reviewed By:joe_b,2/2/2015 12:37:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > DSLR Cameras > Canon USA > Canon EOS 60D 4460B003 Black 18.0 MP Digital SLR Camera - Body Only

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome first DSLR
Pros: Even after some years, this camera is great, and I have no need of upgrading. It does everything I could ask. All I want now is more L glass.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: If I were ever to upgrade, I would look into the 5D series. Glass>Camera though.
Reviewed By:Adam F.,1/14/2015 5:59:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > DSLR Cameras > Sony > SONY SLT-A58K Black 20.1 MP Digital SLR Camera with 18-55mm Lens

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good luck finding a better camera.
Pros: The camera spells out affordable professional grade DSLR all over it. The frame is robust. Detachable 50mm lense (can be swapped for other types). Provides great manual control for professionals, as well as easy automatic features for novices. Uses a good video codec. Battery life is extremely long (took a two week vacation, tons of videos, no recharge was needed). Picture grade is absolutely amazing (even shots of the sun with proper filters). LCD adjustable for different shot angles.
Cons: The eye piece has a sensor that detects if you are trying to use it. When it detects that you are, it shuts off the LCD. When taking pictures in difficult angles or in the dark, this sometimes gets annoying. Also, the eye piece and the LCD are too level with each other. So, when you use the eye piece, your face is ALWAYS touching the LCD. Using stuff like sun block gets all that oil on the LCD.
Other Thoughts: While the camera does have picture enhancing features, it does support Sony's version of a RAW picture format. Using applications like Photoshop CSx (close source) or UFRAW w/GIMP (open source) will enable you to work with these images.

The eye piece should have an attachment option as dirtying up this high quality LCD screen is a real bummer. Also, Sony should have provided some form of intro attachment catalog for people wanting new lenses, flashes, HDMI attachments. It takes real homework studying to figure out what can be used for a camera, a real money maker opportunity lost for them.

5 stars because a detachable lens 20.1 DSLR with these features and RAW format support under $500 is almost impossible to find.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/12/2015 10:26:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > DSLR Cameras > Sony > SONY SLT-A58K Black 20.1 MP Digital SLR Camera with 18-55mm Lens

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great camera
Pros: This is a really great camera especially for someone just starting out. The pictures I have taken with this are so clear and crisp. The camera has so many features you don't need a photo editing program. I recommend this to anyone who loves taking pictures but doesnt want to spend a few thousand on an expensive camera.
Cons: None so far
Reviewed By:N/A,1/7/2015 8:02:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > DSLR Cameras > Nikon Inc > Nikon - D5200 24.1-Megapixel DSLR Camera (Body Only) - Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Camera
Pros: -Love the swivel screen
-High MP/Resolution
-Takes video and the sound doesn't sound like a cat in a blender
-Feels lighter than the D40
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: I bought this for my wife as an upgrade from her Nikon D40. She absolutely loved it!
Reviewed By:Iveras,1/5/2015 4:45:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > DSLR Cameras > Canon USA > Canon EOS Rebel SL1 8575B003 Black 18.0 MP Digital SLR Camera with 18-55mm IS STM Lens

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Canon EOS Rebel SL1
Pros: - Easy to grip despite the small size, plus the light weight is nice if you are someone who carries a lot of things around
- Awesome pictures (quality kicks ***) + the 18-55mm lens that comes with it is great for starting
- Auto focus is exceptional, but I find myself using MF frequently anyways
- Kicks *** in light areas, does an exceptional job in low light areas
- White balance options are kewlsies
- Records video at 60 FPS which is a great feature if you want to slow down footage
Cons: - Battery life is not that long (about 3-4 hours), had to buy an extra 2 batteries. Battery drains quickly ESPECIALLY when filming.
- Uhh.. idk can't really think of anything else, it does what it camera does!
Other Thoughts: I got into photography couple months, i'm not complaining with this camera it is good, and there are many options you can do with this camera when taking photos or filming.

worth the price, yea, definitely! I recommend this to anyone getting into photography like me, but buy some extra batteries along with this little guy.
Reviewed By:Brandon,12/29/2014 6:56:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > DSLR Cameras > Nikon Inc > Nikon D3300 1534 Gray 24.2 MP Digital SLR Camera with 18-55mm VR Lens

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect entry level camera
Pros: No low pass filter like previous generation models

Speedy performance

Full control of settings

Great low light performance using a quality prime lens

Outstanding video and image quality
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Do yourself a favor and get a good prime lens to use in place of the included kit lens. The image quality is far superior, it unleashes the camera's true potential.

Great entry level model. Includes the same sensor as higher models.

If you plan to be a bit more involved consider the D5300 as it includes more focus points, a few more settings like HDR, and the articulating screen if you need it.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/28/2014 12:50:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.