Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > LED TV > Changhong > Changhong 40" Class 1080p LED HDTV - LED40YD1100UA

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Not bad at all
Pros: Looks nice.
Roku controls on TV Remote are convenient.
Stereo sound is not bad - crisp and clear. Can get loud.
Picture is bright and crisp.
Image brightness and color are reasonably consistent across the panel.
Upsamples standard definition content well.
MHL port.
Coaxial digital audio out is handy.
Inexpensive.
Cons: Off-axis viewing -> washed out image.
Color tends to be oversaturated (otherwise fine).
Tough to get to video inputs.
Minor issue with remote (see below)
Some crushing in the blacks.
Built-in sound is bass-free.
Is it Enhanced Motion Rate?
Other Thoughts: First of all, this is a surprisingly good TV for the cost. I really like the picture and the sound. The remote is simple and easy to use. Setup was not tough at all. All of the complaints below are relatively minor, since I'm very happy with the TV overall. To me, the upsampled image from the composite outputs of my old DVD player looks great. Turn on the anamorphic feature on the DVD, set the TV to Zoom 1, and the DVD image proportionately fills the screen and doesn't look bad at all. It doesn't have that razor-sharp feel that HD content has, but I feel good about watching my DVDs on this TV.

Someone said that HDMI input 1 defaults to 720p. Mine did not. The Roku streaming stick defaults to 720p, but that is a known fact that is mentioned by other Roku users online.

I'm a photographer and was a full-time graphic designer for 15 years, so I have some experience and knowledge about color accuracy and LCD panel types. I think this probably has a TN panel, based on the off-axis image quality. You really have a 45 to 60 degree window within which saturation and luminosity shifts are not distracting. If you watch straight on, the color and contrast are great.

I find the color to be a bit oversaturated, but not bad. You can tweak this if you want, but turning down the saturation makes off-axis viewing more troublesome.

It's not too tough to get to the HDMI inputs, but it's really difficult to get to the other inputs (component, digital audio, coax). You have to lay the TV down flat on its front to get to them. I imagine this is a problem for most LCD TVs.

The remote is great, but there is a minor problem with Roku. (Aside: You need the model 6400 streaming stick to use the "Roku Ready" features.) If you need to push the directional buttons multiple times in a row (like when you're entering characters for the search in Netflix), you have to wait a bit between each button push, which can be tedious. Fortunately, the Roku smartphone app is easier to use.

Being sensitive to image subtleties, I find that there is some loss of differentiation in very dark portions of the image. In other words, parts of images that should be close to black are just black.

There's no bass from the built-in speakers. This isn't surprising, and I think it's a smart choice by the manufacturer, since nothing causes small speakers to break up like trying to put out bass. I hook the TV up to my old, pre-HDM receiver via RCA digital audio out. It works like a champ. I've only got a stereo setup right now; I haven't tried Dolby Digital, so I can't tell you if it puts out all of the channels or just a digital stereo signal.

I don't know about the "enhanced motion rate" feature. There is no option in the setup menu to turn this on or off, so I have no way to know if it's there. If it is there, there's no way to turn it off. I haven't noticed anything weird when watching action scenes, and it doesn't have that soap-opera feeling that some 120-Hz TVs yield.
Reviewed By:transfigure,1/30/2015 10:39:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > LED TV > Changhong > Changhong 50" 1080p LED HDTV - LED50YC2000UA

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 1080p reolution lost
Pros: I've had the tv over a year now and has been a decent product so far. I was able to repair a power issue myself with little difficulty (explained in a previous review). I use it a lot plugged into a computer to view computer media on the extended display in high def.
Cons: After giving this product a decent rating previously I have to withdraw that one. I subsequently needed to reinstall the computer operating system I use to hook into the tv. Same OS and version (Windows 7 sp1). Same computer and same video adapter. Nothing different with anything other than a simple OS reinstall. When hooking the tv back up it came up all of a sudden in 720p resolution. It had been for a year running 1920x1080p. I tried to adjust it but it was stuck in the 1280x720 as "recommended" and would not change or even carry a signal if any higher resolution was selected. I've tried everything and it remains stuck in 720p. I've tried changing video adapter, cables, etc., searched all Internet sources for a possible Windows driver or any tech forum or discussions for a clue on what to do. I tried contacting Changhong on their website contact page. No response so far after a couple of weeks waiting.
Other Thoughts: If I can't resolve this soon I'm dumping this set and shopping for some other brand. The one positive aspect-- it was cheap-- allows me to dump it with less pain felt. I withdraw my earlier positive, good-natured and open-minded review. I won't buy another one or recommend it if I don't hear from Changhong on a solution soon.
Reviewed By:portlandia60,1/30/2015 9:19:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > LED TV > Changhong > Changhong 40" Class 1080p LED HDTV - LED40YD1100UA

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 honestly very satisfied
Pros: Very Large
Very Cheap
Surprising the picture quality is also very clear, looks better than my 27" samsung which I paid more for when i bought it than the cnahnghong
Looks really fancy, much more expensive looking than it is
The base stand swivels a lot which is convenient
Cons: honestly cannot think of anything atm
Reviewed By:eric,1/30/2015 6:43:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > LED TV > Changhong > Changhong 40" Class 1080p LED HDTV - LED40YD1100UA

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It does it's job
Pros: Projects in 1080p
Is a TV
Remote works
Speakers are good
Cons: Permanently affixed power cable?
Reviewed By:Luke,1/28/2015 3:37:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > LED TV > Changhong > Changhong 49" Class 4K Ultra HD LED TV - UD49YC5500UA

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Changhong
Pros: None
Cons: Sounds not good, back light already out after month. Right after newegg 30 day return policy funny.
Manufacturer Response:Your TV is still covered under Changhong warranty. Contact Changhong service at http://www.changhongusa.com/support/ and fill out the support form. Make sure you include contact information so a dialogue can begin.

Reviewed By:N/A,1/28/2015 11:37:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > LED TV > Changhong > Changhong 40" Class 1080p LED HDTV - LED40YD1100UA

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Who wouldn't buy a TV named Changhong
Pros: The price was right.

It has 3 HDMI ports (1 for the cable box, 1 for my Roku stick, and1 1for my computer.) They can be used for whatever you want of course.

It also has RGB,USB, and other I/O ports

The remote FITS My hand perfectly,
Cons: None yet.
Other Thoughts: I've Only had the TV a few months, however
I'm extremely happy with it.
Reviewed By:Ant,1/27/2015 7:17:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > LED TV > Toshiba > Toshiba 50L3400U 50" Class 1080p 120Hz LED Smart HDTV

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Toshiba LCD tv
Pros: Works great wife very happy what more can I say
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Matts,1/26/2015 9:25:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > LED TV > Changhong > Changhong 40" Class 1080p LED HDTV - LED40YD1100UA

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Changhong 40" Nice Price
Pros: This TV has very good picture, sound and easy setup menu. The stand allows for the TV to swivel. The remote is not as bad as I have read compared to other remotes used. Has every connection needed for a nice home entertainment center. Fast and courteous delivery! I would purchase another hopefully soon!
Cons: Didn't purchase 2 of them!
Other Thoughts: I ordered 1/18/2015 Monday was a holiday they delivered it Wednesday 1/21/2015 and brought it right in the house. I could get them to setup but hay it works!
Reviewed By:PanskiKow,1/26/2015 3:13:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > LED TV > Changhong > Changhong 40" Class 1080p LED HDTV - LED40YD1100UA

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 excellent value
Pros: Value is great, delivered quickly, two business days, was easy to set up. Thin and not at all heavy or bulky. Worked fine out of the box. Colors were vivid and accurate. Chromecast was accepted and worked fine. Very good viewing angles. I can see it clearly from the extreme side. I turned off the energy saving and increased transparency.
Cons: Not much in fine tuning controls, antenna and auxillary connections are located in a very difficult area to use facing downward in the back. Surprising for an otherwise very nicely engineered unit. Not much in the way of an instruction booklet.
Other Thoughts: Beat the NE blizzard with UPS. Still a keeper because of price.
Reviewed By:luee,1/26/2015 2:03:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > LED TV > Changhong > Changhong 40" Class 1080p LED HDTV - LED40YD1100UA

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Go Figure! Changhong 40" TV
Pros: Decent Screen Size, Decent Picture Quality after Adjustments.
Reasonable Price!
YES! It can be used as PC Monitor just fine, as long as you use HDMI Ports 2 or 3 and Make Adjustments.(See Other Thoughts)
Cons: Originally I did as anyone & first used HDMI Port-1. This Port is defaulted at 1366x768 I believe and makes for a Truly Unwatchable, Blocky, Watery, Contrast Confused Picture...Yikes!
HDMI Port 1 is a Shared MHL Input for Mobile Devices!
Sliding into upset-ville, I decided to try HDMI Port 2... Whew!
OK, now we're getting somewhere. Boots into Default 1080p.
Much Better! Still Not Great!
Not As Advertized! IS 60Hz. Not EMR120 (Enhanced Motion Rate 120Hz) as Stated on its own box and Quite Frustrating as I wanted 120Hz for a Reason!
Enough to Send Back for False Advertisement Alone.
(Not Your Fault Newegg) Newegg Can Only Provide The Info Given to Them by a Manufacturer...Shame on You Manufacturer!

With Energy Mode ON, the Entire Back light Flickers Up & Down According to Scene but is Very Noticeable and Un-Acceptable! A Novel Idea but Not Worth Implementing!

Plastic Smells of Heavy VOC's (Volatile Organic Compounds) Hopefully Will Dissipate Quickly?
Many Claiming Short Life of Internal Boards, like 2 Months!
A Bit Spooky Ya Might Say.
Yet Another Fine Example of Corporate Trickery!
Bells & Whistles that Don't Even Rattle or Make Noise!
Other Thoughts: Now, everyone has there own tastes in Picture Quality but Most Know Good From Bad so these are the Settings I Found to get (What I Consider) The Best Picture from This Particular TV.
Keeping in Mind, Mine IS Being Used as PC Monitor. (Proof of Concept)
Default Settings Are Overkill IMHO.

Picture Mode=User
Contrast=80
Brightness=50
Sharpness=44 <---=(Sweet Spot) (Not Blurred-Not Grainy)
Saturation=60

Color Temp=User
Red=46
Green=47
Blue=47

Aspect Ratio=Full
DNR=Middle (Noise Reduction)
Energy Mode=Off <---= (Important)
Back light=60

Bottom Line, if You want a Perfect Picture and 120Hz, Look Elsewhere!
On a Scale of 1-10 After Making Adjustments, I'd Probably Throw a Six at it.
I Found The Setting Above Good Enough to Keep Me From Returning This TV.
I Do Hope This Review Helps Other Owners!
Now I Just Hope it Lasts.
Reviewed By:Rational Sceptic!,1/26/2015 11:03:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.