Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Server Racks / Cabinets > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA WD-1045 10U 450mm Depth Simple Server Rack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Wow
Pros: Super Easy to construct sturdy as hell. This thing went together in no time at all and is awesome. Wheels are great and glides smoothly even on carpet as they are pretty low friction. Holds loads of switches and other heavy equipment. I really can't say enough good about it.
Cons: Use the right Phillips Screwdriver! There are a LOT of screws to put this together (36-40 to hold it together, 12 for the corner bumpers, and 16 for the casters). Torque down the screws evenly with a hand screwdriver. The head of the screws can strip if they encounter too much resistance. There is a jam nut welded to the inside of the case for the screw to thread through. If you put too much pressure on it because you tightened up one side of the panel and moved linearly from one side to the other, you risk breaking the weld and the jam nut just spinning with the screw having nothing to thread into. Overall though if you did this to one or 2 like I did; it's still fantastic.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/27/2015 6:23:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Racks / Cabinets > STARTECH > StarTech.com 1U 19in Adjustable Vented Rack Mount Shelf - Heavy Duty Fixed Server Rack Cabinet Shelf - 250lbs / 113kg

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good strong shelf
Pros: Not really too much to say. It is exactly as pictured and is a nice strong vented shelf that can easily support non rack mountable equipment.
Cons: Would be nice if it also included some alternate screws/nuts for different style racks instead of just the M5 screws as noted by another reviewer. I have plenty on hand, so no problem for me.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/23/2015 11:47:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Racks / Cabinets > Norco Technologies Inc. > Norco R4-15U 15U 4 Post Open Frame Steel Rack

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great mini-rack
Pros: STURDY- this thing can hold a LOT of weight and the overall "fit and finish" of the rack really impresses me, especially for the price. Love the option of wheels or leveling feet. I'm only using the wheels which roll pretty well even on carpet. Included SOME bolts and cage nuts (see Cons)
Cons: Very heavy, although it's not wasted weight as the unit is every bit as sturdy as it is heavy. Supposedly can't use rails with this, but I generally prefer shelves for support anyway. Also, as others have said, more nuts and bolts would be nice.

Only issue I've had has been the bottom rack space. Due the weld at the bottom of the vertical supports sticks out about 1/4 inch causing anything in the bottom 1U to sit too high and/or misalign the holes. So until I used a file and dremel to clean up the welds, I basically had a 14 and 1/2 U rack.
Other Thoughts: This rack is holding a 4U file server loaded with HDDs, a PDU, a rack shelf, a couple of rack drawers and a bitcoin miner. Perfect for a home work or project station.
Reviewed By:RAH,2/21/2015 8:33:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Racks / Cabinets > Tripp Lite > Tripp Lite SRWO8U22 8U, 12U or 22U Wall Mount Open Frame Cabinet

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Poorly tapped holes, poor quality control
Pros: Cheap, other cheap open-frame or wall-mount racks have worse problems if you read the reviews
Cons: I've purchased two of these, the first one which was not purchased from Newegg was perfectly fine. This one which I just purchased and assembled Feb, 2015 has a couple problems. The screw-holes for mounting equipment are poorly tapped, screws will turn very easily into some but are difficult to screw into others. If you're mounting a lot of equipment it's best to use a screw gun or you'll find yourself with a worn-out arm.

Another problem I had was in the assembly. There were two holes in the bottom of the base which just would not line up with the holes in the vertical rail on the left side. Rather than spend 1/3 of what I paid for this to ship it back or to Tripp Lite to likely receive another defective one I drilled the holes out a bit larger. I was VERY annoyed.
Other Thoughts: Would still purchase again.
Reviewed By:Groupers,2/19/2015 11:33:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Racks / Cabinets > STARTECH > StarTech.com 42U Adjustable Depth Open Frame 4 Post Server Rack Cabinet - Flat Pack w/ Casters, Levelers and Cable Management Hooks

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Lots of extras
Pros: Great sturdy rack that comes with lots of extras.
Cons: Poor packaging for transit. Top hole on one post was slightly bent.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/13/2015 1:31:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Racks / Cabinets > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA WM645B 6U 450mm Depth Wallmount Server Cabinet

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Just what I was looking for
Pros: I wanted a small ~6U case for mounting my video surveillance server on the wall. This case was perfect. Many reviews scattered across the internet claimed it only had 15.5" of space behind the rack mounting surface. I needed 15.75" with my 90-deg power cord. It fits with 0.25" to spare. It truly has 16" of space. I'm not sure what other people were measuring.

The quality is fairly good. I have no complaints. I like that it's mostly enclosed, as my garage is pretty dusty. It has many knock-out panels if you wish for more ventilation or adding of fans or cable routing.
Cons: I had to do some modifications on the lock. It was very loose and could easily be pried open. The metal latch was bent to much. So I unscrewed it and smashed it almost flat in my vice. Now the door is much more tight when closed, and the latch overlaps the frame more so wouldn't be able to be pried open. Granted a robber could always smash the glass or even open the side panels, but it provides a little bit of security. Also, I wish it would have come with more mounting bolts and nuts.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/12/2015 2:13:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Racks / Cabinets > Tripp Lite > Tripp Lite SR42UB 42U Rack Enclosure Server Cabinet

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Sturdy 4 post rack
Pros: I ordered 3 of these for my new server room. These are great compared to the rack that I had before. Very easy to setup and move into place. I like the full door on the front and the split door in the back. I also like that you can adjust the 4 posts to where you want them in the rack.
Cons: none that I can think of.
Other Thoughts: Nice racks for my server room.
Reviewed By:SHANE S.,2/9/2015 7:54:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Racks / Cabinets > Norco Technologies Inc. > Norco W-609 9U 450mm Depth Wallmount 19" Cabinet

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid Cabinet
Pros: Great Construction.
Cons: A little difficult to assemble with instructions but, I didn't find it as difficult as others made it sound. Only instructions are a image of the assembled cabinet. I simply separated each screw into a separate pile and its fairly straight forward.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/4/2015 6:25:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Racks / Cabinets > STARTECH > StarTech.com 42U Adjustable Depth Open Frame 4 Post Server Rack Cabinet - Flat Pack w/ Casters, Levelers and Cable Management Hooks

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: This rack is made of very heavy gauge steel. It is very rugged and very easy to assemble. It may help to have a second set of hands to put it together. I love that StarTech included some cable management hooks! Very helpful! The price is excellent. Would buy a second rack if needed. I looked at other open frame racks and StarTech's was the only one that came with everything I needed and then some. Plus it is a full size 42u rack.
Cons: NewEgg says it's 77.6" tall under specs, and it is, but without the casters. With the casters installed, it comes in at 80.5" - Not a huge deal to me, I over came the height issue. I had to have the casters on it as I use it as a lab rack and need to move it frequently. Packaging was mediocre at best. Box showed up pretty banged up, some bags were open, but everything else was a-ok.
Other Thoughts: I use this rack my home IT lab and have it in my basement, for the price, you cannot beat it and I have nothing but praise for StarTech and this rack. Very easy to assemble, great quality, great price. Only reason I could get a 42u rack was the fantastic price NewEgg offers on this unit.
Reviewed By:achubbard,1/3/2015 3:23:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Server Racks / Cabinets > STARTECH > StarTech RK619WALL 6U 19in Wall Mount Server Rack Cabinet w/ Acrylic Door

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good wall mount for the price
Pros: For the price this small wall mount rack fit the bill. I was able to mount it right below several other mounted items like the phone boxes, and stuff. Not so big as to take a bunch of space up, good for needing only some items.
Cons: In my setup I reversed the door to the opposite side but the spring holding the door is horrible, It really is weak and the door almost falls off. I am going to replace with some springs I get locally. For the price though I kinda expect an issue of two.
Reviewed By:carnini,12/29/2014 7:15:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.