Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Server Racks / Cabinets > STARTECH > StarTech RK12OD 12U 19in Desktop Open Frame 2 Post Rack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome Desk Rack!
Pros: Can't say enough about this thing. For the price, it is amazing for what it accomplishes.

-Cost-effective solution if you want a rack but can't use lag bolts to screw a full-size rack to the floor (perfect for renters!)
-Once the brace is connected to either side, it is really sturdy
-Nice big rubber feet
-Includes enough cage nuts and screws to mount 5 devices
-Easy to assemble
-Nice finish
-No overly-sharp edges
-Compact, not too tall, not too short, just right!
Cons: -Assembly instructions are very light, but it's self exploratory. 8 screws to secure the posts to the feet/brackets. Simple!
-Cage nuts are easy to get into place...a little TOO easy. While installing things in the rack, keep an eye on them. I had 1 or 2 pop out of place. Had to unscrew and put that back in place. But the cage nuts being easy to insert means you don't need a tool or to get bloody putting them in. So there is a give-and-take to it. I would have preferred them to be tighter, but once everything is tightened down they are solid.
Other Thoughts: For less than fifty bucks, you can't go wrong with this. I mounted a Cisco 2960 managed switch, a Rosewill RSV-Z2600 2U server, a StarTech CABSHELF1U 1U 19" Rack Shelf that holds my modem and an ASA 5505 on it, with at least 1U between each device for airflow, and it all fit together like they were all made for eachother. There is enough room on the bottom between the stands to fit a Synology 1813+ NAS and a Cyberpower 1000w UPS side by side too without touching the lip of the stands on either side. It looks incredible and I couldn't be happier.
Reviewed By:Aaron F.,4/29/2016 8:43:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Racks / Cabinets > APC > APC AR201 45U NetShelter 2 Post Rack 45U #12-24 Threaded Holes Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Strurdy and customizable
Pros: The unit comes made of sturdy metal, so it's solid
The unit is customizable, I had to cut down over one feet, and it's perfect
Cons: None so far
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/19/2016 12:40:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Racks / Cabinets > Tripp Lite > Tripp Lite SRW6U 6U SmartRack Wall Mount Rack Enclosure Cabinet

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Customer service for this line of products is unacceptable, but otherwise the product is OK
Pros: Well constructed.
Cons: - It's a front-post-only enclosure (no 4-post option), which wouldn't be bad, EXCEPT:
- Tripp Lite PDUs do not mount to the front rails without power cords getting totally blocked by the door. No worries; I can just go on Tripp Lite's website and get a second set of rails to mount it at the back, right? Wrong:
- Tripp Lite customer service doesn't sell replacement rails for these enclosures, period. If a part of this unit breaks, I'll have to replace the entire unit. Supply chain fail.

So I have the option of:
- Mounting the front rails back 3-4" into the cage, which is super awkward and limits the available space for the other equipment on the rack, or
- Buying aftermarket 6U vertical rails that may or may not be compatible with this product, or
- Hocking this enclosure and buying a product from a manufacturer that actually cares about customer service.
Other Thoughts: I would NOT recommend this product for personal use; definitely not for business use.
Manufacturer Response:We apologize for the experience you have had with the SRW6U. We offer a wide variety of wall mount racks and have a selection of 4-post options to choose from. Also, this product is backed by a 5-Year Warranty and if you have any issues within that time frame, we would be happy to replace it for you. If you would like to learn more about our selection of wall mount racks, please reach out to our Chicago-based Presales Applications Team at 773-869-1773 (M-F 8AM-6PM Central) or presaleshelp@tripplite.com.

Reviewed By:Nicholas L.,4/14/2016 9:36:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Racks / Cabinets > STARTECH > StarTech 4POSTRACK25 25U 4 Post Server Open Frame Rack

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Pictures are deceptive
Pros: Sturdy and easy to construct.
Holds things up without falling over.... umm... pretty much what any server rack should do + 5 eggs for working
Cons: My MAJOR problem with this rack is that the pictures are a little deceptive. This is a four post rack and it is setup with inside and out mounting points on all four post (this means you have mounting holes on the outside perimeter of the rack and the inside as well, so each post has two different places to mount server rails).
While most enterprise class server rails are designed with this in mind, the problem is this server rack's fixed depth between inside and outside mount points is only 2.5 inches, as opposed to the standard which is almost 5 inches. This makes this product incompatible with most cisco and dell rails that have rotatable mounting points for square and round holes racks (as these compatibly mechanisms are designed to fix in the standard 5 inch opening on normal racks.) Seeing as these rails cost more than this rack, it makes this rack useless to me as I cannot mount any of my servers in it. -2 for not specifying the non standard depth of the mounting points.
Other Thoughts: If you have non sliding rails you may be ok.... but if you use dell or cisco rails, double check that your rails can clear the 2.5 inches between the inside and outside mounting points unobstructed before you buy.
Reviewed By:Scott D.,4/11/2016 6:40:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Racks / Cabinets > STARTECH > StarTech RK319WALLV 3U 3U 19in Steel Vertical Wall Mount Equipment Rack Bracket

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product
Pros: worked well for me
Cons: none
Reviewed By:dmitry k.,3/21/2016 5:55:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Racks / Cabinets > Tripp Lite > Tripp Lite SRWO8U22 8U, 12U or 22U Wall Mount Open Frame Cabinet

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great for the price
Pros: Goes together easy.
Cons: Did not come with down cross supports as pictured so we had to build some.
Manufacturer Response:Christopher, we apologize your SRWO8U22 did not come with the cross support. This product should have had a cross support. It appears you took care of the issue, but please keep in mind we back this product with a 5-Year Warranty and if you ever have an issue, we would be happy to assist you. If you have any questions or need any assistance, please reach out to our Chicago-based Tech Support Team at 773-869-1234 (M-F 7AM-6PM Central).

Reviewed By:Christopher G.,3/8/2016 5:39:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Racks / Cabinets > Norco Technologies Inc. > Norco C-24U 24U Rack Cabinet

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent - Sturdy Rack
Pros: Solid piece of equipment
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I laugh at the reviews that complain about the instructions. Come on folks. It's a box. It has twelve large parts. 20 if you count the casters and levelers. If you can't put this together without instructions, you should be ashamed of yourself.
Reviewed By:joseph b.,3/2/2016 1:09:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Racks / Cabinets > STARTECH > StarTech.com 2U Vented Sliding Rack Shelf w/ Cable Management Arm & Adjustable Mounting Depth - 125lbs / 56.7kg

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Just OK
Pros: - Slides nicely
- Sturdy - no doubt in my mind it can support what it says. My server was probably only 80lbs and it didn't seem to even blink at the weight from it.
Cons: I was quite frustrated on the lack of detailed instructions. there were a couple times I had to undo what I did because all I had was an Ikea level of picture instructions that weren't clear enough to do what you needed to. This I would let slide because it was 2:30am when I was assembling it and was quite tired.
My biggest complaint and the reason I docked it 2 eggs was that the left/right ears that would theoretically let me screw it into the rack to stay fixed if I didn't want someone accidentally pulling it out were bent probably a good 20 degrees. It looks cheap when looking at an otherwise very nicely organized rack because of those two bent side pieces. I tried bending them back but this thing is certainly sturdy and they didn't seem to want to budge.
Other Thoughts: I liked the cable management arm until I realized my server extends 1.5 inches past the back and because of the design of this thing i can't connect the arm to the shelf and still let the server extend past the back.

I have to buy another shelf in the near future and will probably find a different one. It's not a bad shelf, but it's not a great shelf either.

FWIW, I am using a Rosweill 4u RSV-L4500 case on it, thing was too heavy for the rails I had (15 spin disks in it).
Reviewed By:BRIAN J.,3/2/2016 6:50:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Racks / Cabinets > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA WO15AB 15U 4 Post Open Frame Rack

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very sturdy, love the wheels
Pros: - Love that it rolls
- Very easy to assemble
- Very sturdy
- The back wheels lock.
Cons: -- There was a fairly noticeable dent in one side of of the u shaped pieces. It's about quarter inch deep and affects the 4th square hole from the bottom. i don't know that i'll use that spot but if i do i will definitely need to straighten it out. It was well packaged and there are no dents on the outside of the box so i have to assume it came out of the factory this way.

Other Thoughts: - The directions say to be careful how you assemble the rack. In particular make sure that each of the U shaped pieces are facing the right way. If you have trouble figuring out the right way, try to align a rack mountable device and you will see. I didn't understand the direction so i had to redo the construction but it was very easy.
- Without that dent this is a 5 star product for me.
- One of the screws for the bottom seemed to need a slightly bigger bit.
- Using the provided allen isn't a bad idea, but because of the orientation of the tool it might be less frustrating to use your own bit on a wrench or driver
Reviewed By:Jerry A.,3/1/2016 8:37:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Racks / Cabinets > STARTECH > StarTech.com 42U Adjustable Depth Open Frame 4 Post Server Rack Cabinet - Flat Pack w/ Casters, Levelers and Cable Management Hooks

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Simple, inexpensive rack, beware of damaged parts
Pros: - Solid construction / decent gauge steel.
- Easy-ish to assemble
- Inexpensive
Cons: - The instructions show using 4 bolts to mount the casters. 4 bolts are included for each caster, but there are only 3 pre-drilled holes.
- Mine was not in the original manufacturer box when shipped.
- Some pieces were bent, forcing me to "unbend" them to properly assemble.
Reviewed By:Steven K.,2/19/2016 8:07:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.