Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Server Racks / Cabinets > STARTECH > StarTech.com 42U Adjustable Depth Open Frame 4 Post Server Rack Cabinet - Flat Pack w/ Casters, Levelers and Cable Management Hooks

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: This rack is made of very heavy gauge steel. It is very rugged and very easy to assemble. It may help to have a second set of hands to put it together. I love that StarTech included some cable management hooks! Very helpful! The price is excellent. Would buy a second rack if needed. I looked at other open frame racks and StarTech's was the only one that came with everything I needed and then some. Plus it is a full size 42u rack.
Cons: NewEgg says it's 77.6" tall under specs, and it is, but without the casters. With the casters installed, it comes in at 80.5" - Not a huge deal to me, I over came the height issue. I had to have the casters on it as I use it as a lab rack and need to move it frequently. Packaging was mediocre at best. Box showed up pretty banged up, some bags were open, but everything else was a-ok.
Other Thoughts: I use this rack my home IT lab and have it in my basement, for the price, you cannot beat it and I have nothing but praise for StarTech and this rack. Very easy to assemble, great quality, great price. Only reason I could get a 42u rack was the fantastic price NewEgg offers on this unit.
Reviewed By:achubbard,1/3/2015 3:23:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Racks / Cabinets > STARTECH > StarTech RK619WALL 6U 19in Wall Mount Server Rack Cabinet w/ Acrylic Door

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good wall mount for the price
Pros: For the price this small wall mount rack fit the bill. I was able to mount it right below several other mounted items like the phone boxes, and stuff. Not so big as to take a bunch of space up, good for needing only some items.
Cons: In my setup I reversed the door to the opposite side but the spring holding the door is horrible, It really is weak and the door almost falls off. I am going to replace with some springs I get locally. For the price though I kinda expect an issue of two.
Reviewed By:carnini,12/29/2014 7:15:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Racks / Cabinets > STARTECH > StarTech CABSHELF1U 1U 19" Universal Fixed Server Rack Cabinet Shelf

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Shelf
Pros: Extends the side of the rack in a convenient manner and is just the right size without over extending and obstructing movement around the rack
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,12/21/2014 3:40:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Racks / Cabinets > STARTECH > StarTech.com 1U 19in Adjustable Vented Rack Mount Shelf - Heavy Duty Fixed Server Rack Cabinet Shelf - 250lbs / 113kg

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Shelf
Pros: Solid with scratch resistant paint - works and fits great
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,12/21/2014 3:39:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Racks / Cabinets > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA WG-129 12U 900mm Depth Rack-mount Server Cabinet

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 19" Rack
Pros: Very well made. Perfect for what I got it for.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Some have said it doesn't fit some of the larger servers but as I'm not using them I can't say. It has way more room in it than I need.
Reviewed By:Jeff,12/21/2014 7:07:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Racks / Cabinets > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA WD-1045 10U 450mm Depth Simple Server Rack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice underdesk rackmount cabinet
Pros: Very solid construction, lots of hardware
Cons: No manual
Other Thoughts: I never put together a rack before, so I just put everything together using my best judgement. It was easy and I did it correctly, The website has a detail showing the procedures, should you need it. My next problem was to figure out how to mount my equipment. Thankfully, YouTube had a video showing how to put the mount and screws together, So, no problemo.
Reviewed By:GardenerBob,12/20/2014 6:06:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Racks / Cabinets > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA WO22AB 22U 4 Post Open Frame Rack

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Poor Quality
Pros: None
Cons: Metal was bent and scratched. Took significant effort to bend back into place. No wheel locks, missing screws and poor documentation. Generally, a terrible rack.
Other Thoughts: I would strongly recommend any other product but this one. The quality was appalling.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer:

Due to the size of the packaging, the product does get beat up a bit during transit.
Please open a tech ticket with our tech support and if necessary, we'll replace/repair your damages.


Thank you,
iStarUSA Group

Reviewed By:Hacir,12/12/2014 10:54:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Racks / Cabinets > STARTECH > StarTech.com 2U 16in Universal Vented Rack Mount Cantilever Shelf - Fixed Server Rack Cabinet Shelf - 50lbs / 22kg

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It's a shelf!
Pros: There's not much to say about this thing. It's a shelf and it does what it says.
+ The manufacturing quality appears to be top notch.
+ Arrived in a well packaged box with the nice triple thick corrugated exterior.
+ Came with 4 very sturdy looking screws and cage nuts.
+ Lined up perfectly in my rack and doesn't appear to have any bends or dents in the metal.
+ One of the better prices for products in this range.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I doubt I will ever get close to the 50 lb weight limit on this item. I'm using it to hold my home networking gear that isn't rack mountable. So far it's a modem, MyBook Live, and a router.
Reviewed By:Logarr,12/11/2014 12:57:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Racks / Cabinets > Tripp Lite > Tripp Lite 4POSTRAILKIT1U SMARTRACK Series 1U Universal Adjustable Rackmount Shelf Kit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Adequate utility rails, with a caveat
Pros: Easy to install
Adequate strength for a server
Relatively easy to install
Highly adjustable

These are certainly adequate rails for my needs, mounting a generic 2U server in a rack for a client. They are pretty easy to install, but their biggest benefit is that they are infinitely adjustable for depth. They are reasonably strong, stout enough for the generic Dell 2950 clone that my client had, but I rather doubt they would stably support more weight than that. I wouldn't use them for a large rack mount battery backup for instance.
Cons: Goofy installation screws.
Don't front rail mount flush

This gets to why I only rated at 4 eggs. They require that you use the included screws to mount to the front of your rails and the screws don't flush well enough to allow for a truly solid attachment of your rack-mount unit (eg. server or whatever). There may be workarounds for it, but I was under a time crunch for my client and was hoping that they would be a seamless, drop-in installation. Not so much. The countersunk screws provided LOOK like they will sit flush enough to allow your rack ears to screw down solidly, but they do not.
Other Thoughts: As a side observation, there are no screw holes for mounted device side attachment. Depending on your intended use, this could be a plus or a minus, but you need to decide that based on your application. You can drill holes yourself, but due to the slide-together design you are going to have some fun getting the holes to all line up properly. Personally, I wouldn't try it without a tape measure and a sharpie to get the measurements right and a Dremel close at hand to clean up the holes and probably hog them out a bit to make it all work.

All in all these are decent enough rails, but if you are used to Dell's "Ready Rails" or something like that you are going to be rather aggravated. That said, I still recommend them for what they are, a "Universal Rackmount Shelf Kit" that can be used as passably decent rails.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/7/2014 8:29:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Racks / Cabinets > STARTECH > StarTech.com 42U Adjustable Depth Open Frame 4 Post Server Rack Cabinet - Flat Pack w/ Casters, Levelers and Cable Management Hooks

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: This is a great rack. Easy to assemble, very heavy construction, well finished and with a large supply of high-quality black hardware. The rack is really well-priced given all the accessories that are included... 50 rack screws and captured nuts, heavy castors and screw-down feet, cable organizers, etc. When compared with other bare racks where all of this needs to be bought separately, it really is a fantastic deal. I bought it for a new office I am outfitting, but would like to get one for home as well. A very professional piece.
Cons: The only issue I had was with the packing. It came in a rather lightweight, elongate cardboard box. Due to it's weight, it got knocked around pretty badly by the shippers and so it suffered a dent (hard to believe given how heavy the material is). Some of the hardware bags broke open and some washers were missing. Pretty easy to replace, and in my case, they weren't even needed, but it's a shame that the manufacturer doesn't spend a little more on better packing to ensure that it gets to its destination complete.
Other Thoughts: I also bought two StarTech cantilever shelves for this rack. Both are very well made from the same very heavy gauge steel and finished (powder coated?) the same as the rack. Actually, it seems that all the StarTech stuff I have is pretty nice. I would definitely recommend this line.
Reviewed By:Samloops,12/2/2014 3:33:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.