Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Server Racks / Cabinets > STARTECH > StarTech.com 42U Adjustable Depth Open Frame 4 Post Server Rack Cabinet - Flat Pack w/ Casters, Levelers and Cable Management Hooks

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Amazing Quality - Missing parts, will re-review when I can assemble it
Pros: All of the parts look top notch and high quality. I can't wait to build it.
Cons: I am missing 1x Center Section, 2x Corner Sections, and 1x Top Bracket. I have not checked to see if all of the required screws are included but the rest of the parts are accounted for. StarTech and/or Newegg please contact me via email.

The box it came in was pretty much destroyed when it arrived. The internal packaging was solid. I cant ship this back to newegg without finding another person with a pickup truck to help move and lift it, a giant box that can fit and stand up to shipping without falling to pieces, and proper packing padding... I am sorry but returning this to get a replacement isnt going to happen. Please contact me so you can ship me the missing parts, Thanks!!!
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/25/2016 6:09:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Racks / Cabinets > Tripp Lite > Tripp Lite SR2POST13 13U 13U 2-Post SmartRack Open Frame Rack - Organize and Secure Network Rack Equipment

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Rack
Pros: Great open rack. Very storng and sturdy.
Cons: I felt like rack numbers were in wrong order from top to bottom or bottom to top... but that is just me.
Other Thoughts: Setup instructions were a little tricky (all diagrams that were very small) but if you are handy I would just say figure it out.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/22/2016 6:53:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Racks / Cabinets > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA WO15AB 15U 4 Post Open Frame Rack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great for the price
Pros: Very solid build quality
Cons: Don't have any complaints so far.
Reviewed By:Tristan C.,5/20/2016 1:13:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Racks / Cabinets > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA WM1260B 12U 600mm Depth Wallmount Server Cabinet

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Really good rack for home/office with lot of space and good looking.
Pros: I got this Case as a replacement for my old noisy 10U Rack, It feels spacious and good build up.
I will wish to have extra fan holes on the floor for extra air intake, but is fine.
- Good Price.
- Acceptable finish.
- Lot of space for small server applications.
- Easy access from sides.
- Rack columns are ajustable.
- Wall mount easy.
- Feels strong.
- Two insertion rails.
- Fits small to medium size cases.
- square holes on racking columns.
- brings some screw and extra hardware.
Cons: Be careful with deep cases close to the limit they maybe fit but without any plugged wire on the back, and removing the handlers on the front.
- I think that extra holes for fans in the floor like the ones in the top will be a plus.
- The insertion rails only fit one size but adding a re-sizable one may increase the price.
- No grommets, if you need to insert wires from outside through any of the holes you will need to get something to avoid wire damage.
Other Thoughts: I really recommend this rack if you need a small (12U or less) rack
If you have a lot of stuff to rack, you will need to get extra hardware, the bag that comes with the product provides only few screws, but is not a contra.
You will need fans if you have lot of heat generating elements but careful there is only two designated holes for 120 mm fans.
Reviewed By:Patricio R.,5/13/2016 6:56:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Racks / Cabinets > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA WM945B 9U 450mm Depth Wallmount Server Cabinet

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Really good rack for home/office with lot of space and good looking.
Pros: I got this Case as a replacement for my old noisy 10U Rack, I feels spacious and good build.
I will wish to have extra fan holes on the floor for extra air intake, but is fine.
- Good Price.
- Acceptable finish.
- Lot of space for very small server applications.
- Easy access from sides.
- Rack columns are ajustable.
- Wall mount easy.
- Feels strong.
- One insertion rail.
- Fits small size cases, less than 15".
- square holes on racking columns.
- brings some screw and extra hardware.
Cons: - The description displays a maximum deep for server cases of 16", this is not true, If you move the rails to the maximum possible size, then you will be unable to plug stuff on the back of the rack because there is no space left, not even low profile stuff, also you will need to remove the frontal handling hardware because the door will not close.
I tried to insert a 15" case and found it doesn't fit.
- I think that extra holes for fans like the top ones in the floor will be a plus.
- The insertion rail only fit one size but adding a re-sizable one may increase the price.
- No grommets, if you need to insert wires from outside through any of the holes you will need to get something to avoid wire damage.
Other Thoughts: I really recommend this rack if you need a very small (9U or less) rack with elements no deeper than 13"-14" (15" doesn't fit at all).
If you have a lot of stuff to screw, you will need to get extra hardware, the back that comes provides few screws but is not a contra.
You will need fans if you have lot of heat generating elements.
Reviewed By:Patricio R.,5/13/2016 6:48:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Racks / Cabinets > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA WO15AB 15U 4 Post Open Frame Rack

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Nice rack but not for all rails
Pros: great price on sale
sturdy wheels
Cons: This rack will not work for the 2 servers that i bought the rack specifically for. between each of the different mounting square holes on each post there is metal that protrudes into the path of the rail, forcing the rail to bend inward and making it impossible to connect at the other side. Even when i tried mounting with screws it is still being pushed inward and prevents the server from sliding into the rack. my friend has the same exact rack but his do not have the same rails and so there was no problem. i however, bought this, assembled it, and then threw away the packaging as i do not have much space, and when my Proliant DL180se G6 arrived yesterday along with the rails for my older dell Poweredge 2950, i was unable to mount either because of this metal in the way. i do not know if this is a flaw or i received a defective one, but i have not heard back from iSTAR yet about this issue.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this rack to anyone unless they can test out their rails first to make sure they fit.
I would not buy this again unless i had specific equipment that i already knew would work.
If you do buy this save the box in case it doesn't work for you. i had to get rid of the box since i do not have storage and when my server and other servers rails arrived in the mail i only found then it would not fit.
Reviewed By:Derek A.,5/6/2016 1:22:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Racks / Cabinets > STARTECH > StarTech RK12OD 12U 19in Desktop Open Frame 2 Post Rack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome Desk Rack!
Pros: Can't say enough about this thing. For the price, it is amazing for what it accomplishes.

-Cost-effective solution if you want a rack but can't use lag bolts to screw a full-size rack to the floor (perfect for renters!)
-Once the brace is connected to either side, it is really sturdy
-Nice big rubber feet
-Includes enough cage nuts and screws to mount 5 devices
-Easy to assemble
-Nice finish
-No overly-sharp edges
-Compact, not too tall, not too short, just right!
Cons: -Assembly instructions are very light, but it's self exploratory. 8 screws to secure the posts to the feet/brackets. Simple!
-Cage nuts are easy to get into place...a little TOO easy. While installing things in the rack, keep an eye on them. I had 1 or 2 pop out of place. Had to unscrew and put that back in place. But the cage nuts being easy to insert means you don't need a tool or to get bloody putting them in. So there is a give-and-take to it. I would have preferred them to be tighter, but once everything is tightened down they are solid.
Other Thoughts: For less than fifty bucks, you can't go wrong with this. I mounted a Cisco 2960 managed switch, a Rosewill RSV-Z2600 2U server, a StarTech CABSHELF1U 1U 19" Rack Shelf that holds my modem and an ASA 5505 on it, with at least 1U between each device for airflow, and it all fit together like they were all made for eachother. There is enough room on the bottom between the stands to fit a Synology 1813+ NAS and a Cyberpower 1000w UPS side by side too without touching the lip of the stands on either side. It looks incredible and I couldn't be happier.
Reviewed By:Aaron F.,4/29/2016 8:43:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Racks / Cabinets > APC > APC AR201 45U NetShelter 2 Post Rack 45U #12-24 Threaded Holes Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Strurdy and customizable
Pros: The unit comes made of sturdy metal, so it's solid
The unit is customizable, I had to cut down over one feet, and it's perfect
Cons: None so far
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/19/2016 12:40:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Racks / Cabinets > Tripp Lite > Tripp Lite SRW6U 6U SmartRack Wall Mount Rack Enclosure Cabinet

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Customer service for this line of products is unacceptable, but otherwise the product is OK
Pros: Well constructed.
Cons: - It's a front-post-only enclosure (no 4-post option), which wouldn't be bad, EXCEPT:
- Tripp Lite PDUs do not mount to the front rails without power cords getting totally blocked by the door. No worries; I can just go on Tripp Lite's website and get a second set of rails to mount it at the back, right? Wrong:
- Tripp Lite customer service doesn't sell replacement rails for these enclosures, period. If a part of this unit breaks, I'll have to replace the entire unit. Supply chain fail.

So I have the option of:
- Mounting the front rails back 3-4" into the cage, which is super awkward and limits the available space for the other equipment on the rack, or
- Buying aftermarket 6U vertical rails that may or may not be compatible with this product, or
- Hocking this enclosure and buying a product from a manufacturer that actually cares about customer service.
Other Thoughts: I would NOT recommend this product for personal use; definitely not for business use.
Manufacturer Response:We apologize for the experience you have had with the SRW6U. We offer a wide variety of wall mount racks and have a selection of 4-post options to choose from. Also, this product is backed by a 5-Year Warranty and if you have any issues within that time frame, we would be happy to replace it for you. If you would like to learn more about our selection of wall mount racks, please reach out to our Chicago-based Presales Applications Team at 773-869-1773 (M-F 8AM-6PM Central) or presaleshelp@tripplite.com.

Reviewed By:Nicholas L.,4/14/2016 9:36:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Racks / Cabinets > STARTECH > StarTech 4POSTRACK25 25U 4 Post Server Open Frame Rack

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Pictures are deceptive
Pros: Sturdy and easy to construct.
Holds things up without falling over.... umm... pretty much what any server rack should do + 5 eggs for working
Cons: My MAJOR problem with this rack is that the pictures are a little deceptive. This is a four post rack and it is setup with inside and out mounting points on all four post (this means you have mounting holes on the outside perimeter of the rack and the inside as well, so each post has two different places to mount server rails).
While most enterprise class server rails are designed with this in mind, the problem is this server rack's fixed depth between inside and outside mount points is only 2.5 inches, as opposed to the standard which is almost 5 inches. This makes this product incompatible with most cisco and dell rails that have rotatable mounting points for square and round holes racks (as these compatibly mechanisms are designed to fix in the standard 5 inch opening on normal racks.) Seeing as these rails cost more than this rack, it makes this rack useless to me as I cannot mount any of my servers in it. -2 for not specifying the non standard depth of the mounting points.
Other Thoughts: If you have non sliding rails you may be ok.... but if you use dell or cisco rails, double check that your rails can clear the 2.5 inches between the inside and outside mounting points unobstructed before you buy.
Reviewed By:Scott D.,4/11/2016 6:40:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.