Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Video Recorders > Aposonic > Aposonic A-S0401R21 4 x BNC 960H Resolution Full D1 Multi-functional DVR, Mac OSX App fully supported

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 AWFUL Manual
Pros: It works once you find the right software. Ignore the manual and install the CMS software. Once you figure it out, you'll be happy.

Motion sensing switches the monitor to the active camera, VERY useful.
Cons: WOW! the manual is AWFUL. The suggested software does NOT work. The IE plugin won't install unless you adjust your security down.

The documented Android connection will not work, use TapCMS.

All software connections lose connection with the DVR at random times. This is especially true of the Android app, even when connected to the same network.
Other Thoughts: The Newegg description says to use TapCMS for android access, the included manual doesn't.

The included CMS software isn't that intuitive but once figured out it works, mostly.
Reviewed By:daChurchPcGuy,9/16/2014 9:47:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Recorders > DVRDeal > DVRDeal 8 Channel DVR H.264 Network Security DVR Surveillance Smart Phone View Real Time Recording 8 CH DVR Video Recorder D1 Resolution BNC VGA Video Output (NO HDD Installed)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Not too shabby!
Pros: Easy setup. Works like it should. No internal fan, but plenty of room for the HD to stay cool.
Cons: Seems there is only plug ins for iPhone and Windows Phones. Android is a no go. But the browser plug in works with IE 11, Firefox and Chrome on your PC.
Other Thoughts: Good product for the price. Easy to work with and install/support. No problems with port forwarding for internet viewing. The instructions are lengthy and somewhat confusing but decent enough to get through it.
Reviewed By:Dollar_Bill,9/15/2014 1:21:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Recorders > OEM > DVR Pen mini Surveillance HD 720P Pen DVR camcorder Voice Video Recorder pinhole Support TF Card Slot+2GB Memory Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Stay Away!!!
Pros: It didn't blow up when I opened the box?
Cons: -the package took almost 3 weeks to get to me.
-contacted Newegg at the 2 week point, which I RARELY have problems with, and they informed me that it was an outside vendor but they would contact them for me and get back to me (still haven't heard back from Newegg for delayed package). I did read it could take upwards of 15 days to ship; however, it shipped on day 6 and still took another 2 weeks to get to me.
-USB cable came damaged internally. It was packaged that way.
-Luckily I had several USB cables available. I have attempted to read the drive using Windows 7 ultimate (2 different boxes), XP and Server '08 but all of them say the drive needs to be formatted. Every attempt fails and the drive blinks as if it is shorting out. That is 4 boxes 3 versions of windows.
-I have also attempted to contact the vendor but I have to hear back from them either.
Other Thoughts: I have again attempted to do an RMA through Newegg, again RARELY have problems with them, but still yet to hear back from them on either the delayed packaged or the RMA. I’m sure I’m going to eat the money I spent on this item.

The delayed packaged actually showed up 6 days after I called them. It was the principal behind the fact that they said they would attempt to contact the provider and get back to me. EVEN if on day 6 they knew I had received it, they should have contacted me beforehand.

I will take part of the blame. If I would have noticed it was an outside vendor, I would have passed on this time. It’s a shame Newegg lets outside vendors use their site with little follow-up.

STAY AWAY!!!!!
Reviewed By:N/A,9/13/2014 6:43:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Recorders > Q-See > Q-See QT4532 32 x BNC Supports 8 SATA HDD up to 16 TB 32 Channel H.264 Professional-grade Network DVR with D1 Recording

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: The Price and number of cameras/ drives the unit will handle
Cons: Within a month the board for the HDMI cable melted causing smoke to come out of the unit along with a bad smell. Q-See wanted the entire unit sent back instead of sending a part out which was easily replaceable. The unit was installed at a commercial site and the owner consider it to be a mission critical piece of equipment and could not be removed from service so the failed board was removed as the HDMI port was not being used. The unit at about 13 months now has a failed power supply. The customer support is horrible, you stay on hold for long periods of time, I spent 45 minutes on hold September 2014 and the web chat says you are 1 in the que but lets you stay there for about 20 minutes and disconnects you. Going back to Speco for all future DVR installs, the extra cost is worth the money for the quality and support.
Other Thoughts: I have installed, sold, and used various brands of DVR systems but this one is the worst.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/8/2014 4:05:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Recorders > Spy Tec International > G1W-C 1080P HD CAR DASH CAMERA WITH NT96650 + Aptina AR0330 AND Capacitor Model for Improved Operating Temperature

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very Good Video, missing parts
Pros: Very good video, small size, viewing screen, relatively low price given the high quality of the video
Cons: Video sometimes shaky, missing HDMI cable, poor Chinese to English translation instructions and descriptions in manual
Other Thoughts: For the price, it's hard to beat if you can figure out the initial setup. Check Youtube and reviews on dash cam review sites for help.
Reviewed By:Luv2Tinker,8/18/2014 5:24:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Recorders > Shenzhen Yunzuo Electronics Co., Ltd. > 2.5" HD Car Vehicle Dash Dashboard Camera IR DVR Cam CCTV Night Vision Recorder

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Moderate car cam
Pros: Night Vision works, Records driving. Records at night. Inexpensive.
Cons: It takes a while to find the "English" setting. 1280x720 records as 640x480. Audio recording only works sometimes. Night Vision is only a little better then regular video cam at night. Video quality is out of focus. Over all, I wasn't impressed.
Other Thoughts: I guess you can't ask for much when it's so inexpensive, although I would have preferred some warning it wouldn't work as advertized.
Reviewed By:Nicholi1120,8/17/2014 4:59:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Video Recorders > Shenzhen Anni Digital Technology > SANNCE D1 P2P HDMI 8Channels H.264 DVR Smartphone Remote Monitoring/Viewing Surveillance Record DVR for CCTV Home Security System

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Somewhat ok
Pros: Works as a local DVR
Cons: email, poor, no remote viewing of recorded video, no link to company for firmware upgrade. The remote uses same codes as other devices and I had to block the IR sensor and only use the mouse.
Other Thoughts: The email uses only poor camera motion, sends one frame of feet as they enter the frame. No way to contact Sannce. Locks up often during programming.
Reviewed By:weston1968,8/7/2014 7:05:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Recorders > OEM > Mini Spy DV Sports MINI DV DVR Video Recorder Hidden Camera MD80 Camcorder TIG-MD80

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 what you paid is what you got
Pros: It is good price for what you paid for.
Device works as it said
Cons: Hard to reset the date
Button some time not make good contact
Other Thoughts: I would buy it again
Reviewed By:man,7/20/2014 8:18:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Recorders > OEM > CarKey #808 Hidden Cam DVR Micro Camera 808 Portable Car Keys Spy Keychain camcoeder TIG-808

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Spy cam key fob
Pros: Cheap. Seems fairly well made, all things considered. It works, and it does as good a job as you have a right to expect given the price.
It's quite small and feather-light.
Will take both video and stills.
Cons: Orange LED stays on when it's in still-photo mode.

The micro-SD slot is double thick; it has a tiny metal tray that the card slides onto BUT there is room to slide the card in below the tray whence it can fall into the interior of the device. I know this because it happened to me; I had to open the body of the device to retrieve my SD card (two very tiny screws gave me access).

Instruction sheet that came with mine was written in Engrish and with poor photos to illustrate the features of the device. It took a small amount of Engrish-to-English translation and some trial and error to understand the instructions. Even then they were a tad incomplete.

You will not get usable videos or stills while this camera is in motion while taking them so keep it very still.
Other Thoughts: I have used the device twice (besides playing with it at home) and found that it saves video in 10-minute increments thought it doesn't seem to miss a beat in doing so. A half-hour video will be saved in three 10-minute files.

Low-light performance was poor as might be expected but under good lighting conditions it takes acceptable pictures and video (again, all things considered). Microphone also does an adequate job.

I saw a bit of video that I didn't recognize at first but it was from the inside of my shirt pocket. I dropped it in my pocket while still taking video and it actually seemed I could see the inside of the pocket as it looked up toward my face.

Surface of device is matte black and sort of rubberized. It looks like an ordinary car-key-fob that unlocks doors and turns alarms on and off thought there are no labels or icons on the device at all. I would like to see a plug, or cover over the USB port as such car-key devices don't have USB ports. There are 4 buttons on the top of the device; the back pair are just dummies but they contribute nicely to the overall impression of the device.

Mine shipped from China and took two weeks to arrive which is about right for standard China-USA parcel service. It also came with a USB cable but no wall-wart. It charges off the computer or you can use another standard little wall-wart I suppose.
Reviewed By:Jake,7/18/2014 8:04:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Recorders > D-Link > D-Link DNR-202L mydlink Camera Video Recorder

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Easy to install, easy to use
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,7/9/2014 12:43:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau