Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Sensor & Accessories > Belkin > Belkin F7C043fc WeMo Maker - Home Automation for the Tinkerer & DIY'er, Wi-Fi Enabled and WeMo App Controlled

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Sorry - just not worth it
Pros: - Wifi and phone app integration
- Simple

For someone with money to burn this can be an interesting device to get your feet wet with some real-world interfacing and simple "coding" (if you call IFTTT actually writing code). Not much you can get wrong with this thing since it is so darn simple
Cons: It's way too limited for doing anything productive beyond turning lights on/off or opening/closing a garage door, etc. Way too expensive for the ROI, as well. You'd need a small collection of these things to do anything useful.

There is no user's guide and forget finding anything about the internal architecture. The phone software is buggy and the device works sometimes and sometimes it doesn't. I would not trust it with anything more important than turning a light on.
Other Thoughts: It's sad that they could have had a winner her and this thing comes up so lame. For this price, it should have two channels of A/D inputs -- then we could do some interesting things. For example, it would make a neat foundation for environmental monitoring, or even a way to experiment with creating your own remote car starter (you need A/D feedback to test engine RPM or alternator voltage).

Even Belkin's online 'community' discussing this device is lethargic and the best that end users could come up with are things like water level sensing or remote launching a model rocket. Really?

Anyone spending this money would be better suited looking at something else for more bang for their buck. Sorry to sound so harsh but this device is really not worth it.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/29/2015 6:28:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Sensor & Accessories > Belkin > Belkin F7C043fc WeMo Maker - Home Automation for the Tinkerer & DIY'er, Wi-Fi Enabled and WeMo App Controlled

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Endless possibilities, but a little flakey…
Pros: Really cool when it works. I was able to turn pretty much anything that could utilize a relay-like connection. Lights, my garage door opener, door sensor, etc... Really cool that you can use IFTTT (If This Than That) coding; this will make it even more fun in the future and being able to do more with it (simple program scripting to allow you to do more with the unit). Nice to have the button right on the front of the unit for testing purposes (to make sure that it will work before you try it with your phone or tablet). I was also able to test it with a touch lamp, and it worked great for that device. Each press of the button on my phone would set the lamp to "LOW-MED-HIGH." Really cool! The actual device seems to be built well and I also like that it has a mounting option. (note, I've had this product for about one month)
Cons: This device really did not offer a friendly first time experience. The instructions are down-right inexistent and the unit would not work properly for me until I performed two hard resets and a firmware upgrade. Make sure you upgrade the firmware straight away! The Phone interface (app) is a little clunky and seemed to work better on my phone than on my tablet. This was on an Android device. Seemed to fare better on my wife’s iPhone 5, but still a clunky experience, sometimes it would work and sometimes it did not. Really bummed that it can only control ONE DEVICE, for the price, it would be nice to see this thing control more than one, maybe 4? That would be nice! The device seems to be pretty sensitive to location; when I had it in my garage, there was some kind of interference, so I had to make sure that it was moved far away from my garage door opener. I then had to make long cable runs to the WeMo to get things going. I also had to extend the power supply, since the brick and cord they give you are on the short side. Testing of the remote access features took time, there was quite a bit of Lag, sometimes only 5 seconds, but other time it could be more than 30 seconds. Maybe it was my cell network or maybe had something to do with the WeMo…? Teething issues with the device?
Other Thoughts: PLEASE, PLEASE, realize that this device is for someone that likes to “tinker” and has a decent understanding of networking and electrical ability. YOU CAN GET HURT with electricity if you do not know what you are doing. Make sure that you have someone around that knows a few things about setting this thing up with AC power that could hurt you. Having said that, REMEMBER that this thing is designed for LOW-VOLTAGE devices… And, low voltage devices CAN interact with high(er) voltage devices, like a garage door opener, so you really need to know how and what you are doing to set this up, I cannot stress this enough. Also keep in mind that the this thing is pretty much a single relay that can handle 1 AMP of current at a maximum of 24 volts (DC). The instructions are pretty bad with this device, but luckily there is a GREAT community of folks on Belkin’s forum. GO THERE FIRST! (Google it) There are some really nice guides and plenty of posts on there that will get you started or answer any lingering questions that you may have. This thing really is a good first start, and I’m sure that they will improve on it. Stuff like this is not going away any time soon, If anything, we’ll see more and more devices that can be controlled over a home network / internet. IF, you have experience and like to work with Raspberry Pi and / or Arduino then I think you will like what the WeMo has to offer. Just take a hard look at the forums and maybe YouTube to get some more ideas. Having said that, if you just want to turn on your lamp so that kitty can find his way to the liter box, just get the Belkin WeMo Switch… So, ultimately, this thing is going to appeal to a limited audience, but the people that understand what they can do with it, will enjoy it. (even with the slight issues) There is still a LOT of room to grow and it will be interesting to see what other connected devices Belkin can think of. I’m going to knock off a few eggs, mainly for the out of the box experience (lack of instruction and firmware issue).
Reviewed By:Max F.,1/26/2015 12:48:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sensor & Accessories > D-Link > D-Link DSP-W110 Wi-Fi Smart Plug, Control/Schedule Your Devices From Anywhere

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 great idea but still needs work
Pros: Small size only takes up the top outlet.
Easy to use, once up and going (see cons)
over-ride button
full power outlet can handle up to 15 amps (120 volts AC)
reset button
schedules are easy to set and change... keep in mind that you have to set the schedule from the schedule button on the home screen prior to selecting a schedule on the device's screen
Cons: I'm actually glad that I waited to post this review. The device is easy to setup the first time. The issue came when my internet cut out unexpectedly. That caused the D-Link to somehow forget how to reconnect. I'm not sure why because if you unplug the D-link and then plug it in again there's no problems. When I reset the D-link and went through the setup again in the app the device could not be found on the network (last step of setup). I ended up having to change the ssid on my range extender (check my other Eggxpert reviews for the 2 range extenders I use). After changing the ssid it connected just fine. I reset the D-link and went through this process again to see if it was a fluke or not. And unfortunately the result was the same. In order to reconnect after a glitch or reset you have to change your ssid. I have updated to the current firmware and app version. D-link... you can probably fix this with a firmware update. Could you please get on that? Feel free to contact me with any questions or if you would like me to test a fix for this issue.


(separate issue, more of a gripe than an issue)
There needs to be more than 5 selectable schedules so that if somebody has several of these they aren't limited by the number of selectable schedules.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a really cool idea. I have this connected to a space heater in the bedroom. I have it cycling the heater on in the evening and off in the morning.

With some firmware updates to fix some of the issues this could be a really useful device. But having to change your router's ssid just to reconnect after a glitch is not just annoying, it's ridiculous.
Reviewed By:cstmcomps,1/22/2015 9:12:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Sensor & Accessories > Belkin > Belkin F7C043fc WeMo Maker - Home Automation for the Tinkerer & DIY'er, Wi-Fi Enabled and WeMo App Controlled

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Niche product for a somebody that likes projects
Pros: • Simplistic design and ease of setup with Android app
• Fun project for the DIY person
• Comes from a reputable company with a long history of quality products
• Informative community forum
Cons: • Expensive for what it offers
• Included instructions are worthless
• Needed to do some internet research to really understand how to setup the hardware
• Doesn't come with any screws for a wall mount
• Challenging to make the install look “neat” (thick USB power cable)
• If you are not a DIY person, then I don’t see the value here

My notes will start here:

The Wemo Maker is a tough sell for me. I think you need to really be excited about DIY projects to enjoy the “benefits” that a product/project like this can deliver. From a hardware standpoint, it has a clean design that loses its tidiness once you start installing the thing. This is not something that will look neat on a wall in your house. It’s meant to be hidden, as you’ll have exposed electrical leads, and a thick USB cable to deal with.

I honestly didn't know what to “control” with the device. We already have garage door openers in our cars. We have a nice coffee pot with a timer that we set for each morning to brew. And the Wemo devices that you can buy (lights, crock pots, etc.) are all pretty expensive, and added to the $80 cost of the Maker itself, just doesn't seem sensible from a spending standpoint.

Once I figured out that the install wouldn't be very attractive, I went for the garage door opener option. After taking apart our perfectly working existing controller, I immediately saw what Belkin meant when they said that the installer should have a decent understanding of electrical wiring. I was pretty lost, as I had more wires to work with than ports on the Maker. We have two garage doors (explains the extra wiring) and I wasn't able to figure out how to make both doors work for this. I chose the main door that we park both of our cars in…which left me with a situation that had me using my phone to open one door…and the existing remote for the other…so less than ideal here. I’m guessing that if I had a better understanding of wiring and electrical current amounts, I could have tried to wire both doors in, but I didn't want to fry anything – and I didn't want to spend more money on another unit for the other garage door.
Other Thoughts: Once installed, setup with the phone app was pretty easy. I was having issues finding our home network, but some reading in the Wemo forum pointed at SSIDs with underscores in them sometimes being problematic. I went in and changed our SSID (which had an underscore), rebooted the router – app found our home network just fine. I went ahead and kept this setup for a few days, and outside of a couple of app crashes, everything worked as it should. Garage door opens/closes when you want it to, and while I was semi-interested in an article I read that added a magnetic strip into the equation to send a signal to your phone when you left the door open, it just seemed like more expense and ugly wiring to me.

So you’re probably guessing I wasn't too terribly impressed with the Wemo Maker – and you would be right. For what it does, I think this is an extreme niche product for a pretty specific user, and that user wasn't me. While I was happy enough that I could figure out how to make it all work, I just didn't “get” the excitement out of what it does. Not to be condescending, but “wow, I can open the garage door with my phone”…just doesn't do it for me. And looking at the mess of the install, it would take a lot of creativity and patience to make it all look neat and tidy.

The Wemo Maker is probably great for somebody that grooves on home projects, or likes to do things “their” way (as opposed to the status quo). It just wasn't great for me.
Reviewed By:Eric R.,1/22/2015 8:25:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sensor & Accessories > D-Link > D-Link DCH-M225 Wi-Fi Audio Extender

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 UPDATE: Works Great ! D-Link Tech Support 5 Eggs
Pros: See 8/15/2014 review
Cons: See 8/15/2014 review
Other Thoughts: While reviewing a similar item I spent more with my tablet and the DCH-225, for comparative purposes. Previously I had not been able to make the audio extender function. I attributed this to my tablet. Today I know it was not the tablet but the software I was using. ShareON DLNA WiFi Music Player app made it easy to connect an inexpensive pair of speakers to the DCH-225 and kick out my tablet jams.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/22/2015 2:13:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sensor & Accessories > D-Link > D-Link DSP-W110 Wi-Fi Smart Plug, Control/Schedule Your Devices From Anywhere

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Marriage Saver
Pros: Has worked well so far. Looks nice and the lights are not too bright. Able to schedule for 7 days and is fully customizable. Pretty quick setup. If used in the top outlet things are still able to use the bottom outlet. Communication between the app and the device has been flawless and with minimal delay.
Cons: It’s a little too big, but not by much. I think it’s priced a little high for what it does. While it has worked great so far this device provides a pretty basic function of “ON/OFF”. I think if it was a little cheaper, then I would have no issues using these all around my house for multiple tasks. Poor to almost no instructions in the box. There was a 3”x2” card in the box with a QR code and some very basic instructions (that’s it). While I was able to figure it out, I immediately felt that if someone bought this with limited tech skills, they may be frustrated. You have to set it up with a phone only, and can only use it via a phone with the app installed and no web access for management.
Other Thoughts: This product has caused me to write more in the “CONS” section than I have ever done before. The weird thing is that I really like the product and it serves a very, very, extremely important, life saving and marriage saving issue…. Keeping me from driving home to shut off the straightener that my wife left on before going to work. For those of you understand what I just said will also understand how awesome this is for me to turn it off at any time. The reason for all the cons is well… there is room to improve.

Setup: If you have a WPS capable router then this step should be relatively easy. You must use a cell phone or tablet to setup the device and to continue to use the device. I chose not to set it up via the WPS and chose the manual option to see how it would function. This is where it was a lot easier than I expected. At the time of setup (if you chose manual) you then connect to the device via an open WIFI network being broadcasted from the unit itself. The info for this Is on the card in the box. After you connect to the default SSID, then you configure the settings for your settings for your wireless network. Once this is complete, you then leave the default SSID from the device and join your home WIFI and finish the setup. After the setup is complete the default SSID will no longer broadcast from the device. After that your pretty much done and its very simple to use after this.

As far as using the app is concerned, I found it to be very easy and very intuitive. The options are very straight forward and very easy to navigate. It was very easy to schedule manually and just as easy to use a default schedule or none at all.

Overall this is a very nice device and I would recommend it to a friend for sure. But it’s not perfect and they could do a better job on a few things. But in the end, this is a device that is supposed to auto turn on and off a device and allow you to control it manually from anywhere, and it does that great. The only thing that keeps me from buying 10 of these for my home is the price, I think if the price comes down some more the option to use these in multiple areas around the home will become realistic. Right now I can only see this for a specific purpose.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/20/2015 12:56:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Sensor & Accessories > D-Link > D-Link DSP-W110 Wi-Fi Smart Plug, Control/Schedule Your Devices From Anywhere

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Pretty decent smart plug for the price
Pros: - Attractive Design

- Simple, Easy Functionality

- The D-Link Home app is simply and easy to use

- Low Power Consumption

- Attractive Packaging
Cons: None really, see 'Other Thoughts' section.
Other Thoughts: This smart plug has a very attractive design and is very Apple design inspired (there's even an iPhone on the packaging). After set up this thing was very responsive to my commands from the Android app I installed on my HTC One. There is about a 1-2 second delay, but this should be expected.

The app I installed on my smart phone has a pretty simply interface and isn't difficult to use. You can assign and name multiple devices (other smart plugs, IP cameras, motion sensors, etc) so you know what you are powering on or off. You can also schedule a time frame of when you want the smart plug to supply power to your connected device.

I connected a lamp to the smart plug and have it turn on about 15 minutes before my wife gets home. She gets home before me and liked the idea of coming home to a lit house.

I gave this device 4 eggs because of two reasons. I could not get the WPS button to work with my Netgear router. I generally don't use this function but figured I would try setting the smart plug up the simplest way. I tried multiple times and it would not find the network. Finally I set it up manually by connecting my phone to the smart plug's wifi connection. I preferred the manual setup and felt it was not difficult either. Another reason I deducted an egg is because you have to enter a pin number provided on a card to activate the device. It took 5 times of me entering the pin number (which was always correctly entered) to finally accept and activate. I don't know if there was a problem with the software, but I even considered calling D-Link's tech support line. Luckily it finally took the number and I was able to activate it.
Manufacturer Response:We appreciate the review and want to thank you the input. We are also happy to hear that you satisfied with the product. If you ever encounter any issues feel free to contact our technical support team for assistance by calling 1-877-453-5465. Thank you for being a D-Link customer.

Reviewed By:Chad,1/18/2015 7:42:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Sensor & Accessories > D-Link > D-Link DSP-W110 Wi-Fi Smart Plug, Control/Schedule Your Devices From Anywhere

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Underwhelmed
Pros: Can control device from anywhere my phone has an internet connection. Setup was pretty easy with the WPS.
There is a manually/off button
Cons: Slow reaction times to turn on and off from the app.
Both ones that I installed are within 15ft of the router and frequently disconnect.
No power monitoring functions.
Glitchy app that forgets my preferences
Other Thoughts: Kinda regret buying this, I had higher expectations, and was excited to have plugs that had a lot of functionality to add to the dlink cameras that I had enjoyed for years. Save your money on this one. They look much cooler than they are. Had to do a firmware update upon initial install. My garage door opener has Internet connected switches that work multitudes better than this product.
Manufacturer Response:We appreciate the feedback as we value the input greatly and we are sorry to hear that you are encountering issues with the DSP-W110. D-Link would suggest that you factory reset you device and then upgrade the firmware again. The issue you have mentioned about the app forgetting preferences can be solved simply. Please note that because of the newest firmware update,, older schedules residing in the device will continue working, but will no longer be available for editing after upgrading to this new version of the App. If a change is require under the new app, you will have to recreate the schedule and assign the newly created schedule to your device in order for those changes to take effect.. We apologize for the inconvenience but hope you understand that this will be beneficial in the long run. Lastly, regarding the slow response time you are experiencing, make sure that your router and plug is placed away from any items that can degrade their signal. These include objects that contain metal, glass, concrete, and water. If you still continue to experience issues with the product we would advise that you contact our technical support team for assistance. By calling 1-877-453-5465(24/7 support), one of our agents will be glad to assist you resolve the problems you are encountering. Thank you for choosing D-Link.

Reviewed By:N/A,12/8/2014 3:32:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Sensor & Accessories > D-Link > Mydlink Wi-Fi Motion Sensor

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: Potentially a very useful device.
Cons: Defective
Other Thoughts: Two hours with tech support on the phone. Two hours of my time wasted. The sensor is defective. Waiting a whole week for instructions on how to return to D-link for replacement. Everything I ordered from D-link required a firmware upgrade.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/16/2014 9:32:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Sensor & Accessories > D-Link > D-Link DCH-M225 Wi-Fi Audio Extender

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good idea, needs polishing
Pros: - Obviously the ability to listen to music anywhere is paramount. Otherwise, why buy this? :)
- Easy setup, even in manual mode (see other thoughts below)
- Nice exterior design
- Easy to read/follow instructions
- Had success playing music via various DNLA methods as well as Apple Airplay. All in all everything worked fine for me. I know some have had issues with Android. The app that seemed to work well for me was Streambels AirPlay Chrome DLNA on the Google Play store. Has a nice interface too. Be sure you select the DNLA connection though as it shows multiple ways to connect to it. DNLA was the most stable.
Cons: I would have given this 3 1/2 eggs if I could have and here is why.

First and most importantly: why in the world can't I disable the wireless extender function? I have multiple access points in my house with everything fine tuned and I don't need nor want this function as it only creates extra congestion on the already congested 2.4 GHz band. This should be a no brainer. If someone from DLINK reads this, please consider making this an option. Leaving it on by default is fine for most I suppose, but for those of us who require this option, please give it to us.

Secondly, and this isn't just a complaint to DLINK but to all manufactures out there: please please PLEASE include 5 GHz radios in your products. The 2.4 is congested and slower than that 5 GHz band. I get that for compatibility 2.4 is desired because not all users will have 5 GHz, but if we are to all adopt 5 GHz as we should, we really need to start including it in more and more devices.
Other Thoughts: Ok so here's a bit of instruction for those of you who are complaining about wireless extender speeds. Since this is what I do for a living (IT and wireless deployments), let me impart some wisdom.

2.4 GHz speeds at 20 mhz widths which is the standard is 150 megabit, not 300 megabit. It is POSSIBLE to achieve 300 Megabit on 2.4 with 40 mhz wide channel selections, however due to 2.4 ghz congestion and interference 20 mhz widths or 150 megabit is 99.9% of the time more desirable.

Now that that's out of the way, and we understand that 150 megabit is really what the device is connecting at, here's another thing you should be aware of: when speeds are advertised, pay close attention to the fine print. Because of overhead, interference, and a lot of other technical reasons, wireless connections tend to only achieve about 33% or 1/3 of advertised speeds. That means that a 300 megabit connection maximum expected speeds should be around 100 megabit and 150 megabit connection maximum expected speeds should be about 50 megabit.

Now some of you may be saying, "well hey now, I'm not even getting THAT with my DLINK device on the extender speeds." That is true. So here's the last piece of the puzzle. When you "extend" a wireless signal your speeds will be cut in half. So that 50 megabit that we had before turns into 25 megabit now (sound about right for the speeds you are getting?). This goes for ANY device that extends wireless. This is because now your extender device has to connect to the primary router or a nearby access point and then repeat that signal for you. This creates double the wireless overhead/traffic load.

I hope all of this makes sense. Don't blame DLINK for the poor wireless throughput for extending wireless connections. It's just plain, old radio signal physics. :)

I hope you now realize why before I suggested to DLINK to allow that feature to be turned off. It's much more advantageous to purchase a separate access point or router that has an access point mode (Asus routers do this) and plug it into a dedicated line so you don't have signal degradation. Wireless extenders really should only be used as a last resort.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/30/2014 9:34:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.