Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Smart Sensor Alarms > Piper > Piper Z-Wave Smart Switch (RZW-SS-NA)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works perfectly with SmartThings. 15 seconds to set up.
Pros: Works perfectly with SmartThings. 15 seconds to set up.
Cons: Power indicator is blue. Blue is always a bad choice, it's hard on the eyes and tells the brain to stay awake. Fortunately, the blue light is not particularly bright.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/29/2016 11:59:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Smart Sensor Alarms > Netatmo > Netatmo NWS01US Weather Station for Smartphone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Netatmo Smartphone Weather Station
Pros: The NetAtMo weather station is different from the more common stations from Oregon Scientific, La Crosse, etc. It may be considered an example of "IOT." The system consists of 2 small cylinders, a smaller outdoor station and a taller indoor station. The outdoor station uses 2 AAA batteries and broadcasts to the indoor station. The indoor station connects to a wall plug and broadcasts to a WiFi access point. Station readings are available in apps for smartphones, tablets and a web app. The Windows app reports outdoor temperature and humidity. The indoor app reports temperature, humidity, atmospheric pressure, CO2 level and sound level. The Android app reports the same, and includes a reading for pollution, ozone level, and a weather forecast. The web app, www.mynetatmo.com, reports all the above and includes some details on the stations health. The Windows and web apps have very nice graphical displays of historical data - the Android app not so good. Historical data can be downloaded from the web app. Temperature readings can be in either C or F. The atmospheric pressure is reported in millbars in the Windows app and mm Hg in the Android and web apps - it would be nice if the units could be changed in the Windows app.
Temperature and humidity readings correlate, but are not the same, as other weather stations. A La Crosse station reports much lower humidity. Humidity readings from NetAtMo agree with Arcus Weather app readings.
An impressive product. A wind gauge, rain gauge and additional indoor modules are available.
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:William K.,3/22/2016 6:46:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Smart Sensor Alarms > Nest > Nest Protect 2nd Gen Smoke + Carbon Monoxide Alarm (Wired)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product
Pros: Self test and night light
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Highly recommend this product
Reviewed By:Gerhard W.,2/7/2016 6:17:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Smart Sensor Alarms > Nest > Nest Protect 2nd Gen Smoke + Carbon Monoxide Alarm (Wired)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Unhappy Nest customer made happy
Pros: Very nice design, attractive appearance, feels substantial.
Cons: I was forced to rate this product low initially, due to the issues with wifi connectivity. I have a large home that necessitates 2 wireless access points (same SSID/Password). Fortunately, I haven't had the setup issues other people have had. I was able to set up the 10 Nest Protects without too much effort. I was very impressed with everything until day 2. My Nest app showed one of the Protects "offline", which means that while the Protect will talk to the other Protects via their own dedicated network, this particular Protect has lost it's internet connection. This means no monitoring it via the app, no software updates, no "nightly promise", etc. The nightly promise is a green, visual indicator displayed on all the Protects in your network, that everything has been checked and is functioning correctly. If everything is NOT functioning correctly, you get a yellow visual. So left uncorrected, I would have to look at that yellow light every night, telling me something is wrong. Not a good feeling with a device that is supposed to protect your family's life. If it was a one time occurrence I wouldn't be slamming the product, but last night was the 5th time one of my Protects has lost connectivity, and I have owned the product for about a week. This is obviously not an inexpensive product, and given the track history of the first generation you would think that Nest would have made absolutely certain that there would be no issues with generation 2, but that doesn't seem to be the case. I have yet to speak to Tech Support, as waiting in excess of 15 minutes is unacceptable to me. Again, this is supposedly a premium product, I expected better from Nest. My advice to potential buyers would be to Google this issue (ironic, as Nest is a Google company!). You will find plenty of unhappy folks with a similar story.

If it wasn't for this issue, I would be rating this 5 stars, across the board. It feels very "Apple-like" in its ease of use, installation, packaging, etc. As it stands, these are very expensive smoke/CO2 alarms that don't deliver what they promise.
Other Thoughts: I couldn't initially recommend this product, as it didn't work as advertised. Many customers have this same issue, and wait times to talk to Tech Support are excessive. I have been on hold for 20 minutes twice, and gave up each time before being able to get hold of a live person. To be fair, the option is there to have them call you back. I didn't take advantage of this, as I was irritated enough at that point that I probably wouldn't have been a very pleasant person to deal with.


Update 1/23/2016. I was able to get through to Nest Tech Support, and have resolved the issue I was having. I am updating my review to reflect that I am very satisfied with the solution, everything is working as advertised. The solution suggested by Tech Support did not make a lot of sense to me at the time, and I'm still not sure as to why it worked, but it did indeed solve my problem. Due to the size of my home, we require two WAP's (both WAP's wireless network have the same SSID, security settings, and password), each of which is connected to a wireless router in my basement via ethernet cable. The wireless portion of this router is turned off, so this "wireless router" performs routing functions only. The WAP's provide the wireless coverage for our home.
I originally set the Nest Protects up using the wifi provided by each of the WAP's. Everything would set up seemingly correct, but then lose internet connection sometime in the next 24 hours.
The solution: Turn off the WAP's, turn on the wireless portion of the router (again, same SSID, etc), and then set up all the Protects on this network. After they were all set up (14 of them), they were installed and then the WAP's were turned back on. The Protects all connected to the network properly, and have been operating perfectly since. I'm no networking expert, so I can't explain why this worked, but it did and I'm pleased.
Reviewed By:Todd P.,1/23/2016 7:00:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Smart Sensor Alarms > Smanos > Smanos L020 DIY Home or Dorm Burglar Alarm

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Does half of what it says - Disapointed it only does that
Pros: It does work in small areas and while clunky, getting the sensors online was do-able.
Cons: Range is horrible, I have 4 entry doors with relatively open path on the same floor and even with line of site to each I cannot locate the base within range of all four. Looks like the actual range is a max of around 20 feet (which is never stated - anywhere). The Senors that come with are already pared, but adding new ones can be painful. No way to identify or remove individual sensors. Something messed up? You have to delete them all and start again. There is also several mentions of how you can get alerts on your phone and manage from phone which eludes to remote access - wrong. You can manage and get alerts - but ONLY when at home connected to the local wireless, there is NO remote access when gone. That could have been spelled out far better in description.
Other Thoughts: If you live in a dwelling that is no more then 40 feet long and can get a network cable to the middle and don't care if you get alerts when your not home, this will work for you. If you don't meet the above criteria - keep looking.
Reviewed By:David K.,1/18/2016 6:36:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Smart Sensor Alarms > Nest > Nest Protect 2nd Gen Smoke + Carbon Monoxide Alarm (Wired)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Better then sliced bread
Pros: I can logon with my phone an check my house.
Cons: Price.
Reviewed By:Jerome W.,1/17/2016 4:02:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Smart Sensor Alarms > D-Link > D-Link DCH-S160 mydlink Wi-Fi Water Sensor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product! Great investment.
Pros: -Super easy setup. Even a novice should be able to figure this out in no time.
-Tested with a single drop of water and instantly got an alert on my phone.
Cons: -The app is fine but could be more useful
Other Thoughts: -I looked at getting one of these when they came out 6 months ago or so but decided to wait until the price came down. Then, my sump pump failed while I was at work and pumped water into my basement for around 5 to 6 hours until I got home. If I had spent the $50 on this device I would have saved around $10,000 in damage to my basement.
Reviewed By:Gregory R.,1/14/2016 9:14:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Smart Sensor Alarms > Smanos > Smanos L020KIT DIY Home or Dorm Burglar Alarm with 3 x Door / Window sensor, and 1 x Remote Key Fob

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Really Affordable peace of mind
Pros: Affordable, good quality, just what I wanted
Cons: none so far
Other Thoughts: I already have a system in my home but I built a really nice shed that I wanted to monitor and found it more expensive than I wanted to pay to add it onto my existing system. Low and behold I found this over a month ago and it is PERFECT. So affordable and gives me the peace of mind I wanted to know that my new shed was protected. Couldn't have found a better solution in my opinion.
Reviewed By:Connie L.,1/12/2016 11:55:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Smart Sensor Alarms > ASANTE > Asante Combopart Garage Door Opener with Camera Kit + Sensor, Remote Viewing & Controlling Garage Door by App, Receive Notification on Status

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Purchased 2 Asante Combopart door openers with sensors and extremely happy with the product
Pros: Easy to install and excellent technical support.
The cameras give excellent quality images.
Cons: Had trouble with a sensor but was sent a new one right away
Other Thoughts: Definitely would recommend to others to purchase and would puchase again.
Need improvement in sensor technology
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/7/2016 2:49:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Smart Sensor Alarms > Smanos > Smanos L020KIT DIY Home or Dorm Burglar Alarm with 3 x Door / Window sensor, and 1 x Remote Key Fob

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very happy with this item
Pros: found it pretty simple to set up and operate, no additional monthly fees, can take it with me when I move. Very contemporary design.
Cons: I would prefer a little beefier feel but design and finish are good
Other Thoughts: I really like the fact that there are no other contracts or hidden fees associated. I will be buying the camera in the spring as I feel it will make the system even better for me to be able to see inside my apartment if my phone receives an alert.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/29/2015 6:55:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.