Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Home Automation > AIPHONE > New Aiphone PS-18c DC Power Supply for Intercom 18V 2.0 A

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 UL Power Supply
Pros: 18 Volts DC, 2 Amp. The wall outlet cord is detachable, if you need to use it in another country, it will handle up to 220v AC, all you do is buy the appropriate wall cord, the rest is an 18 AWG 2 conductor wire.
Cons: Large.
Other Thoughts: Comes with its own wall mounting bracket.
Reviewed By:Russ,7/28/2014 8:01:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Automation > AIPHONE > AIPHONE Model IER-2 Chime Extension Intercom Speaker

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Optional Device for Aiphone products.
Pros: Receive a call tone in another room of the house or office.
Cons: Your aiphone needs to have two terminals on the back of your master station labeled S/S (Call Ext?). If your Aiphone master doesn't have this, then this IER-2 is not compatible.
Other Thoughts: This is not used to talk to a door station or master, all it does is forward the call tone or chime to another room of the house or office that is normally too far to hear.
Reviewed By:Russ,7/28/2014 7:54:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Automation > D-Link > D-Link DCH-M225 Wi-Fi Audio Extender

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Confused Identity
Pros: A decent wireless cloning repeater. Or, a decent media bridge for any DLNA source and client.

Small and can be used in any outlet. No bigger than some of those stink-hider products that plug into a wall outlet.

Simple and very portable once configured.
Cons: If cloning a wireless AP, this can create a dead zone when source signal and repeated signals are equal strength. When I changed the name and channel, I had better coverage than when in clone mode.

In order for this device to be both a repeater and media bridge, you will have to be one of the rare people who want their music player to be somewhere in between the furthest extended wireless requirement. By its usage nature, the person wanting extended wireless will place this device in zone already covered with wireless, so the need for a media bridge there is probably already satisfied, e.g., you can hook your phone to the speaker and play your music already. The reality for most people, self included, is that the wireless coverage does not extend to the zone where media playback is desired, and placing this device in proximity to the speaker just makes it another wireless device that can't pick up enough signal to have a reliable stream transport.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent 4-egg brand name repeater. Or it is an overpriced media bridge. Don't waste your time or effort trying to make it both.
Reviewed By:Cporter,7/26/2014 1:00:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Home Automation > D-Link > D-Link DCH-M225 Wi-Fi Audio Extender

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Solid Music Streamer, Nothing More.
Pros: + This is a decent way to stream music to older legacy speakers/receivers that don't have a proper digital connection option. Remember, you plug your speaker into the unit, not your phone or media player.

+ Plays equally well with DLNA and Airplay. Also has QRS app support on iOS and Android.

+ Remembers your settings even if you unplug it.

+ Music quality through Spotify, Sony Unlimited, Prime Music, iTunes, and PC network offered no perceptible quality loss from the streaming.
Cons: - As a wi-fi extender this is pretty terrible and my main concern with this unit since it's advertised. (I have 100MBps down, 50MBps up cable) The signal is too weak, too short to be considered viable for much of anything besides music streaming. It was so unstable I couldn't even stream videos while connected to it and about 15-25 feet away. Due to this I won't even list data rates as it was that unstable and unreliable from a practical standpoint.

While YMMV, I don't suspect it will too greatly since it seems to be a common theme with it being a poor wi-fi extender. In fact, it never literally extended my wi-fi signal to a greater range than the router itself or of a better quality over 10 feet away from the unit itself. The signal degraded to such an extent at such short distances that it was equal to my router at the fringe, except the router was farther away.

- A bit bulky. Given the reality that it is very likely to share an outlet with a powered speaker, this can be quite the annoyance, especially if that speaker isn't a straight, two prong plug. It's just barely big enough to present problems depending on your outlet setup. For instance, I couldn't even connect a tiny Samsung USB charger next to it.

- There's a 2-5 second input delay when changing playlists, hitting the next button, etc. Not a huge issue but worth noting.

- ONLY works with DLNA or Airplay supported devices/apps. Which encompasses a good fair bit but still worth noting.

- WPS seems hit or miss. Very hard to reliably connect through IP Browser at times as well. But once a stable connection is created, it stays connected.

- I tested this at three different households and one has a modem/router combo that the Cable company says you cannot hook up another router to. It seems this qualifies as I could not, through any means, make it work with that setup.

- I contacted D-Link about a variety of problems and I haven't received any personal response besides canned, non-helpful responses. Disappointing.
Other Thoughts: Since it's been 10 days and with no real meaningful communication through D-Link I don't know if my unit is defective or if the device is really this finicky.

If you need a music streamer for a very specific setup AND short distances this will likely suit your needs. If you also want a reliable, moderate data friendly wi-fi extender or anything more, look elsewhere.

It's also worth noting is that given the nature of this product there is no power saving modes, which makes perfect sense, but if that matters be aware that it pulls 1-10 watts depending on what it's doing, 5 Watt average.

I was torn between giving this two or three eggs but I went with two largely because of the unusually poor customer service from D-Link and the fact that this is also advertised as a wi-fi extender. If this didn't include wi-fi extender as a feature and was ONLY touted as an audio streamer, it'd easily be a 3 or 4 egg device.
Reviewed By:MJ,7/26/2014 12:27:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Automation > D-Link > D-Link DCH-M225 Wi-Fi Audio Extender

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Simple and effective
Pros: truly extended range for audio,all Audio kept the sound sprectrum
Cons: I had a few problems with channels not working well but is that really a problem when you can just choose another channel? Answer is no.
Other Thoughts: I used this strictly for audio streaming from Android,apple and even windows mobile after finding compatible software and was able to use it through "Boom Box" or my stereo from any room in the house and then for fun I decided to try it out in the back yard from far office in house and the only hitch is for that distance I had to use channel 2 and was great not having my phone in the sun. I must say I was not expecting much out of this as far as an extension but it did well as I /my kids can now roam w/o blotchy audio and my youngest daughter is already attempting a full takeover of this product and she will probably win.
Read the directions and relax and you will be extending your music in no time.
Reviewed By:Dean,7/26/2014 8:21:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Home Automation > D-Link > D-Link DSP-W215 Wi-Fi Smart Plug, Thermal Protection, Energy Management

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Product after Updates!
Pros: -Easy to use app
-Setup is simple:
1: plug into wall
2: install app
3: set up wifi
-Make life easier
-Shows overall energy use
Cons: If technologically challenged, you will be confused in the setup process.
Other Thoughts: After reading through comments on here with frustrated people I took a shot at this because the similar product by belkin(WeMo) really isn't much of a step up from reviews on that as well. Overall, follow the directions that the app says and you should be good to go.
Finding the app on the android market was a bit of a pain, but once you download it and get it running it will automatically detect a new wifi plug in your area(as long as it is plugged in). Setup through the app takes a minute or 2, it will detect the wifi plug, ask you to fill in a password then ask you for your wifi network that you use to connect to the internet, fill that in then that's it! Refer to my notes bellow to help better understand the "speed bumps" in the setup process.

Notes:
Registration:
You can always register through the website. But if you want to go through the app try this:
If you app wont let you register, give it a minute, there are background processes still running. If you have a newer phone and have waited approx. 3-5mins and it still doesn't work hit the back button/home button and reopen the app. If that doesn't work, CLOSE THE APP completely, no don't just hit the home button(back button) or whatever your phone has to leave application, go into your setting or app manager and stop the process.

App Won't connect to device:
Your app might not pick up the device at all after it's been setup. Frustrating? Yes I know, I was pretty bent out of shape when it didn't pick up the device immediately(the light should be green on the device and what ever you have plugged in should be on if you hit the on button). Guess what there are 2 things that need to be done. First, you need to restart the app again. Yes I know, it's crazy. After you start the app again, there should be a firmware update available for the device, that takes about 5-10 mins to install. After the install is complete it will take another 3-5 mins to go through the firmware update on the device. If you have something plugged into the device, it will be shut off then will turn back on once the firmware update is done. After that you should be able to select the device, if you cannot, restart the app.

I know this all sounds like a lot, but when in doubt restart the app. My total set up time was about 15 mins, not too bad from a wifi product. Overall great product, I would give it 5 eggs but the setup was not as seamless as it could be.
Manufacturer Response:We appreciate the feedback greatly and want to thank you for being a D-Link customer. Please note that if you ever need any assistance, our support team can be reached by calling 1-877-453-5465.

Reviewed By:MyCodeOne,7/26/2014 7:38:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Automation > ON-Q LEGRAND > On-Q/Legrand Enclosure with Hinged Door, 20 In.

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid Enclosure worth the $$
Pros: Solid encasement, plenty of space for electrical box, snap out holes for future use
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Sturdy construction and not flimsy, has places to screw the box into the 2x4's on both sides to hold it in place and give it rigidity. I'll buy another one for use when we build our main house.
Reviewed By:Kevin,7/25/2014 8:23:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Automation > GE > GE 15086 7-Day Digital Timer, White

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 short lifespan
Pros: cheap, compact, esthetic design
Cons: invariably fails in short time. sometimes days or couple of years in the best case scenario.
Other Thoughts: Avoid it. Check other reviews if you don't believe me.
Reviewed By:jack,7/25/2014 5:23:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Automation > Skylink Technologies > Skylink Universal Garage Door Opener Visor Clip Remote Transmitter

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not so Nice
Pros: Shipped Fast
Cons: To configure this device is easy ... IF YOU ARE USED to the process! For me, the jumper technology was something else to learn and carry out. The little teeny tiny devices which need to be manipulated called for a magnifying glass which called for extra hands which were too big to easily manipulate the tiny transistor sized jumpers. In the end, the product does not work at all.
Other Thoughts: Canadian Tech help emitted an arrogant feeling. I felt like I was asking for directions in Paris. Better to order your remote from the manufacturer, AND less expensive.
Reviewed By:jiva,7/24/2014 12:15:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Automation > D-Link > D-Link DSP-W215 Wi-Fi Smart Plug, Thermal Protection, Energy Management

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Atrocious setup, works OK after that
Pros: It works, and somewhat reliably. As long as you keep dlink's android app open in the background everything will be smooth. But if you close the app (or if it crashes), you'll have to wait a minute while it reestablishes a connection with the smart plug. Worse, if you decide to use your phone for something else during that minute while the connection is reestablished, it will NEVER reestablish a connection with the smart plug. You have to force close the app and relaunch it, being very careful not to switch away from it, if you ever want to connect to your smartplug again. Not good design.

On the plus side, actual commands are processed quickly. No need to suffer through X10 command lag; the commands are executed nearly instantaneously, though for some strange reason it takes 3-4 seconds for the app to register that the action is complete.

Includes options for automatic operation (on/off) of whatever you have plugged in, which is nice. Schedules can be customized. Also includes automatic off if the smartplug gets over temperature, but I'm not sure how that would be useful. If you're connected to an iron then the smartplug shouldn't be getting hot or it's already on fire. Seems like a marketing gimmick rather than an actually useful feature. More to the point, the room the smart plug is in is approximately 72F, while the smartplug reports that it's 96F.
Cons: Very difficult to set up. Nearly no documentation included, and the QR code they include bizarrely doesn't go to either app store but instead leads to a *marketing* page. Complete fail as far as ease of setup goes!

If you surf to the IP address of the smart plug its default page generates a literal 404. Nice.

Can only be set-up and controlled by smartphone app; no computer set-up or control is possible whatsoever.

Can only sign up for mydlink through smartphone app.
Other Thoughts: Once you puzzle out how exactly to get it set up it seems to work decently well. Haven't had the actual smartplug crash on me so far, which is more than I can say for my X10 devices!


I tried uploading a video review but newegg's video review uploader is broken (I asked). Search for it on youtube, it goes into much MUCH greater detail!
Manufacturer Response:We want to thank you for the feedback as we greatly appreciate the input. Please make sure you have downloaded and installed the latest firmware on the smart plug. We will pass on the information you have provided to our Product Management team for consideration. If you ever encounter any issues with the product we advise you contact our technical support team for assistance by calling 1-877-453-5465. We thank you for being a D-Link customer.

Reviewed By:George V,7/23/2014 12:56:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau