Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Utility & Backup > Corel > Corel Winzip 18.5 Standard - Product Key Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It's Winzip, plus more...
Pros: I've always liked Winzip, It's a uselful tool for making and dealing with the contents of zip files and other archive types. I've been using version 12 for several years now and it has been wanting to be upgraded.

This deal made the upgrade essentially free, after rebate.

Cool new features involving cloud services: it can connect to them as needed to view what's out there in all the different cloud services (Dropbox, Box, Google Drive, OneDrive, etc.) so I don't have to load their syncing bloatware on my machine to see and work with what I've got stored out there. Really nice new feature!
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: It was essentially a free upgrade for a product I already like but was using a much older version of.
Reviewed By:Randall H.,2/24/2015 9:27:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Utility & Backup > Laplink > Laplink Easy Transfer Cable for Windows

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Worthless for XP64 to anything
Pros: moves files and settings pretty fast.
Cons: all but worthless for XP64 pro to any OS
not very configurable for the money, Plain Jane SW download comes with.
Other Thoughts: Did not try the upgraded version because I was just dealing with XP64 To WIN7 64
Reviewed By:shdbcamping,2/23/2015 4:35:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Utility & Backup > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2015 - 1 PC (CD Sleeve)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not Ready For Prime Time
Pros: Acronis True Image 2014 works fine. I don't want an intrusive, bloated software running in the background. AFAIK, all automated backup routines fit this description. Therefore, I use only the Rescue Media portion of Acronis (I install, activate, create Rescue Media, then uninstall). One of the main benefits of Acronis is that it automatically resizes the image to fit larger or smaller hard drives. I've never had a problem with it in this type of operation. I moved to Acronis when Ghost started having problems some years ago (maybe it's okay now).
Cons: Rescue Media for 2015 does not recognize the same 2TB USB 3.0 hard drive that 2014 had no problem with (does not recognize it as a restore source or a backup destination). Check the forums -- this is a documented problem not addressed by Acronis in their latest update (6525). Until they resolve this problem, the product is unusable. I've gone back to Acronis 2014 which works fine.
Other Thoughts: I realize there are some astonishingly good free cloning software out there. I guess I should investigate if there is an easy, foolproof way to clone and resize. Imaging to a larger drive using free software is a two-step process ... I know of nothing but Acronis or Ghost (and a few other less-known paid software) which can do this in one step, and I know of no free software which can automatically resize an image to a smaller drive.
Reviewed By:panfryd,2/22/2015 4:01:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Utility & Backup > Corel > Corel Winzip 18.5 Standard - Product Key Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product
Pros: Product Installed without issue from the newegg link provided on the card.
Cons: None so far. Just need to wait on the rebate.
Reviewed By:Bargain Hunter,2/22/2015 3:22:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Utility & Backup > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2015 w/ Disk Director 12 Bundle

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not Good
Pros: None. Had to uninstall it.
Cons: I used True Image Backup for several yeas always had a good experience with it. But 2015 Version did not work at all had to completely uninstall it from my acre laptop.
Reviewed By:AM,2/22/2015 3:21:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Utility & Backup > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2015 - 1 PC (CD Sleeve)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Scrambled MBR
Pros: N/A
Cons: Failed system image to DVD+R. Upon reboot, MBR hosed.
Win7 rescue disk repaired MBR.
Reviewed By:KG,2/21/2015 3:44:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Utility & Backup > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2015 - 1 PC (CD Sleeve)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product
Pros: So many backup options! The (pdf) manual explains how they all work and how to choose the best one for your needs.

Linux-based bootable recovery media. The software even looks and operates about the same when booting off of the recovery media. Restores of the system drive (windows) must be done without windows running so this is important.

All the tools I'll need for a full recovery from a disaster or hardware upgrade, provided I have a good backup somewhere.

Enables me to make a universal build that can be transferred/restored onto any (different) hardware configuration.
Cons: REALLY REALLY LONG product key that must be typed in to activate the software. Not big enough an issue to lower the rating but seriously... 64 characters long? Is that really necessary?
Other Thoughts: Documentation wasn't clear about the hassles I would have dealing with the "security features" of the UEFI BIOS on my computer which would not allow me to boot from a non-Microsoft CD or USB device until I disabled that "security feature" manually. This cost me some time but now I understand it. Clear warnings in the documentation would have helped. Not a demerit though since this is not a "feature" of the software, but rather my computer.
Reviewed By:Randy H,2/21/2015 9:10:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Utility & Backup > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2015 - 1 PC (CD Sleeve)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: none anymore
Cons: used to be great years ago,, got way to bulky and unstable,, maybe 50/50 chance of restore would work,,coudnt depend on it working when you needed it and has got way to complicated to use..interface is horrible ,,,,went back to Ghost..
Other Thoughts: gone down hill last 5 years...
Reviewed By:iceman,2/20/2015 2:25:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Utility & Backup > Corel > Corel Winzip 18.5 Standard - Product Key Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 registration problem
Pros: none
Cons: record it and send me message that someone already has registered.You have to download per line. it can not operate
Reviewed By:octavo,2/18/2015 3:24:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Utility & Backup > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2015 For PC & Mac - 3 Devices

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Long history of poor performance
Pros: I had this product several years ago and it worked great!
Cons: the past 2 versions would back up for a few weeks then simply refuse to work. Only way to fix it was to reinstall the product and go thru their cumbersome license mess. Since it was I think 3 months after registering the product, Acronis wanted more money to figure out why it didn't work.
Other Thoughts: Lots of comments about problems with Acronis, and it use to be the best of the best. Very disappointing.
Reviewed By:Chuck,2/17/2015 6:16:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.