Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2015 w/ Disk Director 12 Bundle

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Acronis True Image 2015
Pros: Price
Cons: Everything. Pure garbage. The most frustrating software I ever tried to use. Cost me a lot of wasted time. Finally was able to restore my drive with a windows backup.
Other Thoughts: I've used Acronis True Image 2010 for years and really loved it. It saved my bacon many times. The 2015 version is worse then useless. When the time comes for you to need to restore a disk image you don't want to be depending on this product.
Reviewed By:Ronald C.,5/27/2016 7:16:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup & Utilities > AVG > AVG Performance 2016 - Unlimited Devices / 1 Year (Product Key Card)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Had a lot of trouble activating the licence.
Pros: Good performance
Cons: Took 2 hours speaking with customer service to be able to activate the license.
Many people use this software without paying. It's a shame paying customers are the ones having a hard time.
No offline installer.
Reviewed By:LUIS R.,5/22/2016 10:34:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image Cloud 2016 - 1 PC & 3 Devices

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good Personal Backup Solution
Pros: I have owned a couple of iterations of Acronis TI over the years, and I think this is one of the better ones. It is nice having Cloud backup in addition to all of the local backup and tools TI offers.

The Cloud backup is MUCH faster that "?"Drive which is was using before. Acronis ran between 30-85Mbps on my 100Mbps upstream FiOS and averaged in the neighborhood of 70. The other cloud backup I used before uploaded barely at 5Mbps on the same internet connection.

There are not a ton of configurable options (thinking more enterprise, here), but there are plenty for your average individual user.

1 Year of UNLIMITED cloud storage at a good price with newegg sale price (even newegg's regular price is 1/2 off the price at the manufacturer's website).

Stable on Win10 x64; Acronis TI 2013 was not stable.
Cons: The product serial key enclosed in my sealed box was for True Image, only...not the cloud. There was no free way to call Acronis, so it took a couple of chat sessions and 4 days to get this resolved (I uploaded my newegg invoice and pictures of the box and UPC). Pain in the buttocks, but I did get it resolved; chat help was polite and kind, even as it took longer than I think it should have to fix.

Hopefully this was a one time mistake when Acronis was boxing this thing up and put in the wrong serial number sheet. If it happens to you, at least it is fixable with some pain.
Other Thoughts: Good local and fast Cloud uploading backup solution.
Reviewed By:Scott S.,5/10/2016 8:15:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2016 - 1 PC (DVD Case)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Backup
Pros: not a 1,all i got out of it was a totally messed up computer that won't boot.
Cons: the whole disk is a con there are no pros period,will never use their software again
Reviewed By:William W.,5/9/2016 5:11:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2016 - 3 PCs

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Backs up quickly to external drives
Pros: Easy to use
fast! Only the first run takes hours; incremental updates afterwards are much quicker
Works drive to drive perfectly, whether the target is external usb, external Esata, or internal Sata
Cons: Start up screen implies you can't use the software without an Acronis cloud account
Acronis tries repeatedly to convince you to buy their cloud services
Other Thoughts: I got this to back up hard drives to hard drives. I have several computers that need backing up, so I bought the 3 license box for 79$, I considered this reasonable. The backing up was almost painless -- the software implies you cannot backup anything without an Acronis account. You can easily bypass the Acronis Cloud Login page, but it's not obvious where to click. I created the Acronis account, but I don't bother logging in when I back up the computer.

The reason Acronis implies you must have a cloud account is that they want you to back up to their cloud services. They'll even give you a free month of it. But said cloud account is 149$ for 3 computers! It's unlimited data, yes, but I can't imagine how long it would take to throw 3 x 500G UP my cable network. I also can't imagine Comcast not flipping out with its datacap nonsense. Fortunately if you are just backing up drive to drive, you don't have to use an Acronis Cloud account to run the software - just skip the Cloud login step. You'll then be able to back up drive to drive like you want to do.

The first backup takes about 4 hours to back up around 500G. But future backups will be incremental, only recording what has changed since the last backup. That takes only minutes. Be patient. It's worth the time spent.

Another worry I had was how to restore a drive in the event of failure. This is simple. You boot to the Acronis DVD in the computer, and do a RESTORE operation. This let's you restore from the backup to the new drive. This again will take hours. But this is the least painful restore I've ever encountered.

Overall I was delighted with my purchase. My only complaint is Acronis trying to sucker me into getting a Cloud subscription I don't want or need at more than double the original price on top of what I already paid. 79$ to back up 3 computers is fair. 79$ + 149$ more and having to upload for weeks, is not fair.
Reviewed By:Allen K.,5/5/2016 7:00:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2015 w/ 250 GB Cloud Storage

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Works as expected
Pros: Easy setup and works fine
Cons: bogus cloud storage
Reviewed By:Anthony P.,5/5/2016 6:21:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Acronis Inc. > Acronis Disk Director 12 - 3 PCs

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DON'T BUY!!!!!! Will NOT clone GPT disks!!!!!!!
Pros: None
Cons: Will not clone GPT partitioned disks, only MBR.

Software is so bad, the icon doesn't even show up in my Start menu after installing it. It's just the default icon.
Other Thoughts: Wast of money. I will not buy another Acronis product again.
Reviewed By:Jarred S.,4/26/2016 5:14:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2015 For PC & Mac - 3 Devices (CD Sleeve)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Gets a lot of unfair reviews - A great product
Pros: A monkey with an IT background would have no problem with this software. I've tested several, and this is the only one that just works well. It has saved me multiple times. I have it backing up to a network drive, so thankfully it's very easy to relocate a backup for purposes of restoration. It has never failed me.
Cons: Their support people are shall we say, less than Rhodes scholars. Before you call them, imagine yourself driving behind an 88 year old lady smoking a cigarette, using her cell phone, and driving with her feet. That's about how the experience will make you feel. They should rename their support team to "The Department of Mental Anguish".

I say this because I had a licensing issue caused by a piece of hardware being replaced, and it took the better part of 3 hours to get through it with them. This should have been a 10 minute call. I wish these idiot companies that use web activation schemes would learn how to use those systems. ....or don't use them.
Other Thoughts: I would buy this software again and again and again. I'll gladly take the lousy support because when you compare it to the other options it's a superior product. It's cheap, and it just works. I'm not going to say you won't beat your head against the wall if you need support, but at least when you're done with that misadventure you'll have a usable product. Buy it.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/26/2016 1:28:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Laplink > Laplink PCmover Ultimate - Includes High-Speed Transfer Cable

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Marginally better than just reinstalling everthing
Pros: About 50% of applications where successfully transferred
Cons: Half of applications did not transfer successfully; data files had to be transferred manually (without using PCMove); technical support is the worst in the buinsesss
Other Thoughts: I bought PC Mover Professional to transfer applications and files from an old PC to a new PC, both running Windows 10. The old PC had a 512 GB hard drive, the new PC had a 256 GB SSD (C:) and a 1 TB hard drive (D:). My goal was to transfer the OS to the SSD and the data files (documents, pictures, music) to the HD. PC Mover moved most of my applications (it said it was unable to move a few), but only about half of them worked on the new PC. This meant uninstalling the faulty programs and cleaning up the Registry before reinstalling them from the original media, which took longer than it would have to just install them on the new PC.

When I went back to PC Mover to move the data files to the HD (D:), PCMover ignored the configuration changes and kept trying to put the files on the SSD (C:), then would error that there wasn't enough room on the C: drive. I contacted LapLink tech support by phone and was told this is a "known" problem and that I should contact "level 2" tech support the next day (level 2 tech support only works M-F, business hours). I contacted level 2 support by chat the next day and they kept telling me to do what I'd already done to configure PC Mover to use the D: drive. Then they told me I had to call a number so that someone could remote access my PC, and gave me the number of level 1 tech support. I called them again and then gave me yet another number to call level 2 tech support, Level 2 tech support told me only level 1 tech support could use remote access, which is just bizarre, but I could submit a level 2 support ticket to receive support by email. I did, and later that day received a reply telling me to use the configuration settings that I explicitly said had not worked. I finally gave up and used network sharing and Windows ability to change the location of files to transfer my data files.

The PC Mover app is half baked, the tech support is completely useless (they just keep reading from the same script, even when you tell them that did not work), and level 2 tech support apparently does not know about what level 1 tech support described as a "known issue". I would give PC Mover a lower rating except that it did successfully move half my applications. However, I'm not sure it was worth the money or the aggravation.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/26/2016 7:52:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Global Marketing Partners > Laplink Pcmover Ultimate With Safeerase High Speed Transfer Cable

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 MONEY WASTER - NO RESULTS
Pros: NONE - WASTE OF TIME
Cons: It does not send programs that will work on to your new computer. It was a waste of time. Programs that were sent, do not function properly . Its claims were mostly false as this is not a good program. I have to reload all of them and start from scratch. It did not even send all my files over so I have to start over. ( This program using Wi-Fi took me about 30 hours to complete )
Other Thoughts: Some people may have luck with this program depending on what you want transferred over to your new computer. If you have hard to get at files or programs that require keys and serial numbers, IT WILL NOT WORK. To me this was just a waste of money and that is the reason for a 1 star review. You could easily put your files on an external hard drive and copy them and send them to your new computer yourself. They always say, that when it sounds to good to be true, stay away from it and I should have listened. I will regrettably try and appeal to New Egg for a refund and hope they are nice enough to oblige.
Reviewed By:Joey L.,4/24/2016 4:51:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.