Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Acronis Inc. > Acronis Disk Director 12 - 3 PCs

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DON'T BUY!!!!!! Will NOT clone GPT disks!!!!!!!
Pros: None
Cons: Will not clone GPT partitioned disks, only MBR.

Software is so bad, the icon doesn't even show up in my Start menu after installing it. It's just the default icon.
Other Thoughts: Wast of money. I will not buy another Acronis product again.
Reviewed By:Jarred S.,4/26/2016 5:14:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2015 For PC & Mac - 3 Devices (CD Sleeve)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Gets a lot of unfair reviews - A great product
Pros: A monkey with an IT background would have no problem with this software. I've tested several, and this is the only one that just works well. It has saved me multiple times. I have it backing up to a network drive, so thankfully it's very easy to relocate a backup for purposes of restoration. It has never failed me.
Cons: Their support people are shall we say, less than Rhodes scholars. Before you call them, imagine yourself driving behind an 88 year old lady smoking a cigarette, using her cell phone, and driving with her feet. That's about how the experience will make you feel. They should rename their support team to "The Department of Mental Anguish".

I say this because I had a licensing issue caused by a piece of hardware being replaced, and it took the better part of 3 hours to get through it with them. This should have been a 10 minute call. I wish these idiot companies that use web activation schemes would learn how to use those systems. ....or don't use them.
Other Thoughts: I would buy this software again and again and again. I'll gladly take the lousy support because when you compare it to the other options it's a superior product. It's cheap, and it just works. I'm not going to say you won't beat your head against the wall if you need support, but at least when you're done with that misadventure you'll have a usable product. Buy it.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/26/2016 1:28:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Laplink > Laplink PCmover Ultimate - Includes High-Speed Transfer Cable

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Marginally better than just reinstalling everthing
Pros: About 50% of applications where successfully transferred
Cons: Half of applications did not transfer successfully; data files had to be transferred manually (without using PCMove); technical support is the worst in the buinsesss
Other Thoughts: I bought PC Mover Professional to transfer applications and files from an old PC to a new PC, both running Windows 10. The old PC had a 512 GB hard drive, the new PC had a 256 GB SSD (C:) and a 1 TB hard drive (D:). My goal was to transfer the OS to the SSD and the data files (documents, pictures, music) to the HD. PC Mover moved most of my applications (it said it was unable to move a few), but only about half of them worked on the new PC. This meant uninstalling the faulty programs and cleaning up the Registry before reinstalling them from the original media, which took longer than it would have to just install them on the new PC.

When I went back to PC Mover to move the data files to the HD (D:), PCMover ignored the configuration changes and kept trying to put the files on the SSD (C:), then would error that there wasn't enough room on the C: drive. I contacted LapLink tech support by phone and was told this is a "known" problem and that I should contact "level 2" tech support the next day (level 2 tech support only works M-F, business hours). I contacted level 2 support by chat the next day and they kept telling me to do what I'd already done to configure PC Mover to use the D: drive. Then they told me I had to call a number so that someone could remote access my PC, and gave me the number of level 1 tech support. I called them again and then gave me yet another number to call level 2 tech support, Level 2 tech support told me only level 1 tech support could use remote access, which is just bizarre, but I could submit a level 2 support ticket to receive support by email. I did, and later that day received a reply telling me to use the configuration settings that I explicitly said had not worked. I finally gave up and used network sharing and Windows ability to change the location of files to transfer my data files.

The PC Mover app is half baked, the tech support is completely useless (they just keep reading from the same script, even when you tell them that did not work), and level 2 tech support apparently does not know about what level 1 tech support described as a "known issue". I would give PC Mover a lower rating except that it did successfully move half my applications. However, I'm not sure it was worth the money or the aggravation.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/26/2016 7:52:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Global Marketing Partners > Laplink Pcmover Ultimate With Safeerase High Speed Transfer Cable

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 MONEY WASTER - NO RESULTS
Pros: NONE - WASTE OF TIME
Cons: It does not send programs that will work on to your new computer. It was a waste of time. Programs that were sent, do not function properly . Its claims were mostly false as this is not a good program. I have to reload all of them and start from scratch. It did not even send all my files over so I have to start over. ( This program using Wi-Fi took me about 30 hours to complete )
Other Thoughts: Some people may have luck with this program depending on what you want transferred over to your new computer. If you have hard to get at files or programs that require keys and serial numbers, IT WILL NOT WORK. To me this was just a waste of money and that is the reason for a 1 star review. You could easily put your files on an external hard drive and copy them and send them to your new computer yourself. They always say, that when it sounds to good to be true, stay away from it and I should have listened. I will regrettably try and appeal to New Egg for a refund and hope they are nice enough to oblige.
Reviewed By:Joey L.,4/24/2016 4:51:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2016 - 1 PC (DVD Case)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 ACRONIS DOMINATES
Pros: I don't often take the time to write a review - but this worked ridiculously well. I purchased this and installed it on my comp. Cloning a disk was ridiculously easy. It took under 10 minutes and I have flawlessly updated my SSD on my carefully nitpicked organizational wise PC (windows 10).
Cons: 0
Other Thoughts: Get it.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/20/2016 3:14:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Acronis Inc. > Acronis Disk Director 12 - 3 PCs

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Don't waste your money
Pros: I bought this product thinking that acronis software are all good, but not this one, this software will give you error msg when you clone, and if you manage to clone OS drives windows does not boot. waste of time and money
Cons: cheap software, need to be tested before selling it,
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/19/2016 6:55:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Corel > Corel Winzip 18.5 Standard - Product Key Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Activation code already used
Pros: Nothing
Cons: I'm even able to use this software because it insists that the activation code is already in use. There was a glitch when I used the activation process from within the installer. And it said the activation code was already used when I retried.
Other Thoughts: Waste of money and learnt my lesson: never buy a key card. This thing doesn't make sense because the activation code is directly printed on the card without any sort of cover.
Reviewed By:MINGZHE Z.,4/1/2016 9:25:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2015 - 1 PC (CD Sleeve)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Program Is Broken
Pros: Worked for 4 months.
Cons: The first annoyance was the automatic nagware. Popups randomly disturbing me and taking foreground control of my screen. I had to contact Acronis support directly to have them remotely turn the nagware off.

Second, the program is broken after 4 months of use. The scheduled backup begins, does nothing and never stops doing nothing. It prevents other schedules from running. Each day I start my PC, Acronis begins the first backup and does nothing else. The backup does not occur and the remaining scheduled events never start due to the first backup never ending. The software will not allow me to stop the backup and there are no options to delete the scheduled backup until it stops. Since it never stops, I cannot delete it or do anything at all with the software anymore. The program is completely useless. I was forced to uninstall it.
Other Thoughts: I started back with Acronis True Image 2006. I've witnessed the program getting worse as I replaced with it several newer versions over the years. Finally, 2015 is completely broken and the worst version I have used. This is the last time I will purchase Acronis software.
Reviewed By:Mark M.,3/29/2016 2:39:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2015 - 1 PC (CD Sleeve)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terrible Product - Does Not 'Restore' Anything!
Pros: Got the 3 PC version for a discount
Easy to install
Cons: Does not restore anything - nothing but errors
Other Thoughts: Lost my Win10 Pro 64 bit, i7, with a 500 GB SSD shortly after installing this product. Did the recommended upgrade to 2016 and it seemed to install OK. Did the backup and created the rescue disc. After the SSD crashed and was replaced with a correctly formatted primary drive, the rescue disc was installed and we went into recovery mode. Didn't work the first time (the recovery drive is an eSATA drive recognized in BIOS and in the recovery interface). The app kept telling me that it couldn't read from a sector of the recovery drive. Ran checkdisk on the recovery drive - no issues. Ran IBM drive fitness - no issues. Tried it again and got the same error message. This was several days ago and, after trying everything I could think of, finally just formatted the replacement drive and reloaded Win10 and as many apps as I had on hand (plus some from the net). This app is not worth the money - go for Aomei free. Works just fine.
Reviewed By:Joe S.,3/26/2016 10:32:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2016 - 1 PC (DVD Case)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 No Worries
Pros: Nice to have a program that give me a mirror image of what I have on the PC - gives peace of mind.
Cons: Serial number is good for only 1 PC. Had to buy upgrade for the rest.
Reviewed By:Meloni B.,3/20/2016 5:53:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.