Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > RC Vehicles, Robots & Toys > Parrot > Parrot ROLLINGSPIDERRED Red MiniDrone Rolling Spider

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 HORRIBLE BATTERY
Pros: Worked for few months
Cons: Battery does not hold flight charge for more than 20 sec.
Worked fine for initial few weeks only; wish i realized earlier why kids stopped playing with this, early to return this product; wasted purchase
Reviewed By:sabamit,5/9/2015 1:19:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RC Vehicles, Robots & Toys > DJI-Innovations > DJI Quadcopter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Be Careful!
Pros: Great quad! It's extremely hard to crash. I love the fly home feature when it is low on battery.
Cons: IMPORTANT NOTE:
The Phantom 2 comes in 3 versions: V1, V2 and V3.

This version is V1 and does not come with the upgraded controller (rechargeable batteries, gimbal switch, and trainer port), props, motors, and compass.
Other Thoughts: Buy from a reputable dealer or DJI to get the newest version of the Phantom 2. I'm returning mine to get the newest with all the upgrades.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/13/2015 8:20:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RC Vehicles, Robots & Toys > Parrot > Parrot ROLLINGSPIDERWT White MiniDrone Rolling Spider

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 entertaining
Pros: It flies very well, setup was simple, the wheels are good protection for indoor fun. Very stable so far. Being able to set a max altitude good for keeping you out of trouble.
Cons: Of course battery life but that is with most all drones. Setting up the controls properly can take a little extra effort.
Other Thoughts: Locations with a lot of signal traffic and cause some slight instability but not so much as to cause any crashes yet. Learn the basics of controlling it before you take it out into the wind. It is still controllable even when the wind is at moderate levels with a few gusts. I have not figured out the camera yet so nothing to report there.
Reviewed By:Dogzila1969,12/26/2014 11:19:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > RC Vehicles, Robots & Toys > Parrot > Parrot ROLLINGSPIDERBL Blue MiniDrone Rolling Spider

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Waste of money!
Pros: It flies.
Cons: - Battery lasted a total of 20 seconds after a full charge.
- Does not take videos as stated in the description, rather you can take a video with your phone while controlling it.

This is a horrible device. I bought it during the black Friday deals for $89, worst purchase I've ever made. Do your self a favor and avoid this one.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/21/2014 9:50:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RC Vehicles, Robots & Toys > Udirc Toys Co., Ltd. > UDI U818A 2.4GHz RC Quadcopter with Camera - 4 Channel, 6 Axis Gyro

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome for the price!
Pros: If you're looking for a entry quad to learn to fly or just a toy to play around with this model is perfect. It controls great and the quad itself is very durable. I've wrecked it 15+ times and zero damage. Flight time is average for a model this price, about 7 mins if you go easy on acceleration and about 5 if you're being aggressive.
Cons: Instruction manual isn't so great but it's not really needed.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/7/2014 6:02:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > RC Vehicles, Robots & Toys > DGL Group > HYPE RC Crash-Proof Sphere Robotic UFO

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: I am totally satisfied with the product, it's source, delivery and price. It operates as advertised, and is an overall good exchange of value.
Cons: There is nothing to complain about.
Reviewed By:Superbuyer,12/7/2014 2:47:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RC Vehicles, Robots & Toys > Parrot > Parrot JUMPINGSUMOBK Black Jumping Sumo

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 A lot of fun
Pros: I was up and running in minutes. Controls are very intuitive and easy to adjust to your preference. FPV is excellent and compared to other FPV devices they have the focus and angle dead on.
Cons: Overall I am very pleased with my Sumo but it appears to me like the app needs some work. It does have disconnects and app freezing but I expect them to be resolved rather quickly.
Other Thoughts: I’ve had my Jumping Sumo for about 2 weeks now and it’s been a lot of fun. I was up and running in minutes on my iPhone 5s running IOS 8.02. I’ve sent it out on “missions” to see what the dog is barking at, is my son still playing Xbox late at night and just to harass the rest of my family. The controls are pretty straight forward and with the adjustments in the app it will allow you to fine tune it to your liking. The average battery life for me has been about 15 – 20 minutes. I felt the amount of time you got on each charge was acceptable and once the new chargers come out you can always purchase another battery to get twice the time. I run mine on a combination of wood floors and low carpet. I did notice it doesn’t move to well on thick carpet. The biggest issue I have been having is with disconnects. Although it’s frustrating I am sure it will be something easily fixed with an update to either the app or firmware to the Sumo. I am able to get it to reconnect after a hard reset but that can get annoying.
In general I think the Sumo is a lot of fun and I am sure the connectivity issue will be fixed pretty quickly. Once the SDK is released I am looking forward to see what other developers do with it.
Reviewed By:Pig007,10/21/2014 9:54:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RC Vehicles, Robots & Toys > Parrot > Parrot ROLLINGSPIDERRED Red MiniDrone Rolling Spider

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 An Underrated Delight!
Pros: for this cute little drone. I’ve been a long time fan and owner of it’s older and larger brother, the AR Drone (both the 1st gen and 2.0), so I was pretty excited for this miniaturized version.

When I first got the AR Drone a few years back, the first thing I tried to do was fly it around my office to impress and frighten my co workers. While this kinda worked, it didn’t work well -- the AR Drone just isn’t designed for the indoors. Changes in elevation (tables and staircases) could cause serious malfunctions -- and my “sorties”, as I’ve dubbed them, were limited by the AR Drone’s large size and the room you were flying in. But this is where the Rolling Spider shines. It is meant for the indoors, and for messing with your coworkers (if you work in an office where that kind of thing is encouraged).

Flying the larger AR Drone, I really disliked using the accelerometer-based control scheme on my iPhone and vastly preferred the video game-style controller of the nVidia Shield due to the fact that using the accelerometer just didn't feel responsive. But with the Rolling Spider, I LOVE LOVE LOVE the accelerometer control on my iPhone using their FreeFlight 3 app. I think part of the reason I like it so much is because the small size of the Spider allows it to be extremely responsive -- I can fly at full speed forward, and stop on dime. It moves as quick as my hands can rotate my iPhone to control it.

I also really like the wheels as a form of protection for the blades. It ensures that when it lands it always stays right-side up (even when it crashes), and it makes it much easier to use indoors when it bounces off the walls, the ceiling, the floor, and your friend’s forehead.
Cons: I have only two gripes with the Rolling Spider. First is that it really can’t be used outside if there is even the slightest breeze. It is extremely light and is basically at the whim of anything that mother nature throws at it. This is an indoor toy. It might work on a totally still day, but I haven’t been fortunate enough to get weather like that yet. And lastly, the battery life. It’s not good. It doesn’t last long at all. You might be able to get about 10 to 15 minutes tops from one charge, but I suppose this is to be expected given how small the battery is and how it’s creating the miracle of flight by spinning 4 blades extremely fast. I would suggest purchasing a second battery. The good thing is, at the end of the day, this is a fun toy -- not a hobbyist’s device. By the time both of your batteries run out, I think you’ll find that you’ve gotten your fill for the day.
Other Thoughts: All in all, I’ve been having a lot of fun with the Rolling Spider!
Reviewed By:Steve,10/19/2014 5:09:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > RC Vehicles, Robots & Toys > Parrot > Parrot ROLLINGSPIDERRED Red MiniDrone Rolling Spider

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Short but fun flights
Pros: The Rolling spider is a quad-copter slightly larger than the palm of my hand and comes with an optional set of oversized wheels and a nice set of “mouth stickers” which are used to diferentiate your drone. The wheels make the drone since I am unable to pilot a drone to save my life. When you have the wheels, you can race across the floor or the ceiling, or along walls. Really, you can race anywhere. No more slamming four spinning rotors into things, instead I have two large wheels to protect the drone!

Controls are via cell phone or tablet. The app is free and needs an instruction manual. The app instructs the Rolling spider to perform some pretty nifty tricks, which I can pull off at random, and you can take photos, but I don't yet know how. (Maybe I should watch the on-line instructional video.) The most awesome thing is that the minidrone will hover in place and maintain its altitude without a single adjustment as well as automatically land safely. As I said, I'm an incompetent drone pilot, so these are welcome aspects.
Cons: Now for the down sides... The battery lasts only 6 minutes with the wheels attached (8 without). This is far, far too short. Eventually spare batteries will be offered, as well as a dedicated recharger. The drone is so well constructed and the battery so snug, I am reluctant to remove it in fear of breaking something; certainly once I get more batteries I will learn the trick. I wish that the Rolling spider came with 3 extra batteries and the charger, but that would severely increase the price. I guess for now I will just have to live with my very short mini-drone sessions.
Other Thoughts: Drones love me. However, it is not in the way you expect. If a drone is a door prize, I will win it. If a company chooses a customer out of the blue to send a new drone free of charge, I will be selected. As long as I do not intentionally try to win a drone, I will win a drone. For some reason, Parrot chose me to have one of their Rolling Spider Minidrone.

Overall, this is a great item. I believe that it is best for the office when you want to annoy the person in the next cubicle. On Monday I will be giving away my last door prize drone and replacing it with the Rolling Spider. Now I just have to figure out how to get the Jumping Sumo...
Reviewed By:R S Maxwell,10/11/2014 4:26:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > RC Vehicles, Robots & Toys > Parrot > Parrot PF721000 Black / Green / Orange AR Drone 2.0 Remote Flying Drone w/ HD Camera - Green/Orange

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Fun!
Pros: I've really had a blast with this thing! The drone market is on the cusp booming in a major way, so it's important to note that this drone is purely for hobbyists. With that said, I used my nVidia Shield Portable as my controller, and after switching between that and my iPad, I can't imagine using anything else. If you plan on getting one of these bad boys, seriously consider investing in an nVidia Shield Portable as well -- it makes a massive difference. It is SO much fun.
Cons: The AR Drone can be a bit finicky at times. DO NOT plan on using it in a confined back yard. You need a wide open space with PLENTY of space to fly.
If you're a videographer, this probably isn't the right drone for you. Parrot is starting to see serious competition from DJI's Phantom Vision 2 in that department. But they are different beasts -- the AR Drone is for piloting and having fun, and the Phantom is purely for videography. Their price points also reflect that.
If you pilot the AR Drone in windy conditions, it can become a bit unstable and nonreactive to controls.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed my time with the| AR Drone 2.0. This is a drone for hobbyists looking to have fun with piloting. If you plan on purchasing, you should seriously consider getting an nVidia Shield Portable with it -- it makes a massive difference in the controls.
Reviewed By:Steven Dry,8/5/2014 4:12:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.