Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > RC Vehicles, Robots & Toys > Parrot > Parrot ROLLINGSPIDERRED Red MiniDrone Rolling Spider

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 HORRIBLE BATTERY
Pros: Worked for few months
Cons: Battery does not hold flight charge for more than 20 sec.
Worked fine for initial few weeks only; wish i realized earlier why kids stopped playing with this, early to return this product; wasted purchase
Reviewed By:sabamit,5/9/2015 1:19:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RC Vehicles, Robots & Toys > Parrot > Parrot BeBop Drone 14 MP Full HD 1080p Fisheye Camera Quadcopter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Learning to love my drone
Pros: Quality design, and great value
Cons: a bit of a learning curve, and while the battery is good, I'd love to get one that can keep the drone flying for an hour.
Other Thoughts: Everyone has a superpower. I have two.

My first is that I'm able to determine spice combinations by taste. This was very true in my youth, but as I age, my ability to discern subtle differences in spices has diminished. Fortunately, I developed a second power: I get free drones. I've won five of them so far. The latest is a Parrot BeBop Drone and SkyController.

When I first received the package, I was blown away. the obvious quality is tremendous. Everything is seemingly well thought out. The controller is striking and rivals those I've seen in rigs costing thousands of dollars. My second thought was that I was overwhelmed and very intimidated. Where do I start?

I already had Free Flight 3 on my iPad and I thought to try the drone without using the SkyController. I'm sure it works, but, frankly, I was never able to get it to work. I lost connectivity a lot, and I never succeeded in taking her up without the SkyController.

I decided to take the plunge and just try the awesome looking controller. Let me say that I was wrong to be intimidated. The whole BeBop-SkyController-Tablet set up was a breeze. video tutorials walked me through everything. I could hardly stand it as I took the drone outside to try. I set it on the ground, calibrated the drone, then took her up. For 10 seconds I hovered like I knew what I was doing, then it started slewing to the left. at the 39 second mark, the drone all but flipped over and I landed (crashed) it into the ground. the iPad let me know in very unfriendly print that there was a problem. The engine had stalled. And there was nothing I could do. Oh bother.

I contacted Parrot and they sent me a label to return the drone for replacement. I figured that they would just send me a replacement motor, but they wanted the unit. I'm hoping that my misfortune will be used to prevent this sort of thing in the future. a day after my drone was listed as "in transit" to Parrot, I received a notification that a replacement was on its way back to me.

My replacement arrived, I charged it up, and I gave it a whirl. This time, it worked! So far, I have logged a half hour in the air without an issue. After the 8 minute flights of the mini-drones, having a very responsive, stable drone in the air for 30 minutes is exhilarating. The platform makes it look like I actually can competently fly a drone, which I cannot. Parrot has created a thing of beauty.

Even considering the "stalled motor", this drone is well worth the price. I am fortunate for my super power, so I did not have to purchase it myself. Had I paid full retail, I would have been very, very upset. Despite this, after seeing multi-thousand dollar drones, I can say that this one is a bargain, even if you have to live through the motor issue.

On the up side, I know that the BeBop can survive a thirty foot drop onto concrete without even a scuff. I hope that Parrot resolves the motor issue quickly and includes spare motors in future bundles, but otherwise
Reviewed By:N/A,4/20/2015 9:44:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RC Vehicles, Robots & Toys > Parrot > Parrot BeBop Drone 14 MP Full HD 1080p Fisheye Camera Quadcopter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 How high can you go?!
Pros: Have you ever had that feeling that a particular experience can’t be topped? Well I’ve had that feeling multiple times while piloting the Bebop with the skycontroller. All I can say is incredible.!

I’ve been a parrot pilot since 2012 and this company has never ceased to amaze me. The wealth of ideas that comes out of their lab is nothing short of amazing.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: When it’s all said and done, Parrot really knows what they are doing when creating fun products. If anyone wants to fly the horizon without ever getting in a hang glider or if you just want to see how it feels to view the world from the sky or if you just want to zip a quad copter around the park, the Parrot Bebop Drone with Skycontroller is the tech for you. Now if you excuse me, I must be getting back to flying.
Reviewed By:Ninjasblade,3/29/2015 8:19:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RC Vehicles, Robots & Toys > Parrot > Parrot BeBop Drone 14 MP Full HD 1080p Fisheye Camera Quadcopter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Flying high and your in control
Pros: Have you had enough with in door helicopters, then this is for you.
Fisheye camera and 14mp resolution recording at 1080p video.
Cons: Only about 8-10 minutes flight time with one battery.
Other Thoughts: Nicely packed in the box, with two batteries and spare propellers plus special key to remove them, side protectors and a USB cable for PC connection.
Only problem is the UK mains plug that fits on the charger unit, when plugged in to a wall socket the charger is upside down meaning the charge light is underneath and difficult to see plus the battery can drop out of the charger as the retaining plastic lug is not strong enough to hold the battery firmly in place.
The Bebop itself is nice and compact with a lens cover on the front, the lens itself is a fisheye meaning it has a wide field of view and as such the lens is convex, so don't crash it in to the ground to hard and always put the cover back on when not in use.
Connecting the battery is easy using the little pull cord to pull the plug from its recess, the battery and the lens sit on a suspended carriage above the main frame of the drone, this help cut down any vibration through the body from the propellers, something the old AR drone suffered with.
Wi-Fi connection unfortunately has no security as of yet in software so the drone could be hacked buy someone else standing closer than you to the drone, especially if you are at one side of a field and they the other.
This little beast has a powerful processor on-board and as such needs cooling so there is a little fan inside attempting to do that unfortunately this is also a drain on the battery, I have seen others reporting it gets very hot and there is even a warring notice on the side cover, but flying mine for 6-7 minutes got warm but not too hot to handle.
That brings me to the next point flying time, this really all depends on your flight.
The higher you go the more power you use, I have flown at 50m and lasted the best part of 8 minutes, there is a spare battery and this is a good point with the new Bebop as my old AR 2 Drone only came with one so I had to buy more 4 in all as there did not seem much point in carrying the drone to a fantastic scenic point for ten minutes of flight.
I don't have the Sky-controller but will almost defiantly be buying one when they are available on their own, My IPad mini did a good job at about 200-250m but I would not trust it any more distance than that.
With a Sky-Controller you get 1.2 miles, yes the is 1.93 Km and the only way you are going to fly at that range is via the Video link because you will not see it in the sky, brining me to another point.
On a test flight I flew at about 3m high in a park to a distance of 100m and looked down at the IPad to see the video shot, looking back up again I could not see the drone from the bush line alongside the park, I had to change its altitude up and down to spot it, I know this would be more of a drain on the battery but a high intensity White flashing LED at the front and a Red LED and the back would make the drone easier to spot. This could easily be an add-on that will probably appear soon on E-Bay.
There is no USB socket for you to plug in a me
Reviewed By:Greg,3/21/2015 3:22:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RC Vehicles, Robots & Toys > DEWALT > D55167 1.6 HP 15 Gallon Oil-Free Wheeled Air Compressor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very suprised
Pros: Quiet, Builds air fast, Easy to read gauges, Easy to adjust air regulator, Long cord, Handle design will hold a air hose, Lightweight, Rolls easy, Space saving design
Cons: None with compressor
Other Thoughts: When I received it, it was upside down in the UPS truck, driver said they loaded it that way, he gave me enough time to open the box and inspect the compressor for damage.
The extra cardboard that was in the box to keep the sides of box from collapsing helped to protect the compressor while it was upside down, and having a oil less pump saved me a big mess.
Reviewed By:Big Ed,2/13/2015 3:15:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RC Vehicles, Robots & Toys > Parrot > MiniDrone Rolling Spider

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 entertaining
Pros: It flies very well, setup was simple, the wheels are good protection for indoor fun. Very stable so far. Being able to set a max altitude good for keeping you out of trouble.
Cons: Of course battery life but that is with most all drones. Setting up the controls properly can take a little extra effort.
Other Thoughts: Locations with a lot of signal traffic and cause some slight instability but not so much as to cause any crashes yet. Learn the basics of controlling it before you take it out into the wind. It is still controllable even when the wind is at moderate levels with a few gusts. I have not figured out the camera yet so nothing to report there.
Reviewed By:Dogzila1969,12/26/2014 11:19:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RC Vehicles, Robots & Toys > Parrot > Parrot ROLLINGSPIDERBL Blue MiniDrone Rolling Spider

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Waste of money!
Pros: It flies.
Cons: - Battery lasted a total of 20 seconds after a full charge.
- Does not take videos as stated in the description, rather you can take a video with your phone while controlling it.

This is a horrible device. I bought it during the black Friday deals for $89, worst purchase I've ever made. Do your self a favor and avoid this one.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/21/2014 9:50:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RC Vehicles, Robots & Toys > DGL Group > HYPE RC Crash-Proof Sphere Robotic UFO

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: I am totally satisfied with the product, it's source, delivery and price. It operates as advertised, and is an overall good exchange of value.
Cons: There is nothing to complain about.
Reviewed By:Superbuyer,12/7/2014 2:47:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RC Vehicles, Robots & Toys > Parrot > Parrot JUMPINGSUMOBK Black Jumping Sumo

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 A lot of fun
Pros: I was up and running in minutes. Controls are very intuitive and easy to adjust to your preference. FPV is excellent and compared to other FPV devices they have the focus and angle dead on.
Cons: Overall I am very pleased with my Sumo but it appears to me like the app needs some work. It does have disconnects and app freezing but I expect them to be resolved rather quickly.
Other Thoughts: I’ve had my Jumping Sumo for about 2 weeks now and it’s been a lot of fun. I was up and running in minutes on my iPhone 5s running IOS 8.02. I’ve sent it out on “missions” to see what the dog is barking at, is my son still playing Xbox late at night and just to harass the rest of my family. The controls are pretty straight forward and with the adjustments in the app it will allow you to fine tune it to your liking. The average battery life for me has been about 15 – 20 minutes. I felt the amount of time you got on each charge was acceptable and once the new chargers come out you can always purchase another battery to get twice the time. I run mine on a combination of wood floors and low carpet. I did notice it doesn’t move to well on thick carpet. The biggest issue I have been having is with disconnects. Although it’s frustrating I am sure it will be something easily fixed with an update to either the app or firmware to the Sumo. I am able to get it to reconnect after a hard reset but that can get annoying.
In general I think the Sumo is a lot of fun and I am sure the connectivity issue will be fixed pretty quickly. Once the SDK is released I am looking forward to see what other developers do with it.
Reviewed By:Pig007,10/21/2014 9:54:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RC Vehicles, Robots & Toys > Parrot > Parrot ROLLINGSPIDERRED Red MiniDrone Rolling Spider

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 An Underrated Delight!
Pros: for this cute little drone. I’ve been a long time fan and owner of it’s older and larger brother, the AR Drone (both the 1st gen and 2.0), so I was pretty excited for this miniaturized version.

When I first got the AR Drone a few years back, the first thing I tried to do was fly it around my office to impress and frighten my co workers. While this kinda worked, it didn’t work well -- the AR Drone just isn’t designed for the indoors. Changes in elevation (tables and staircases) could cause serious malfunctions -- and my “sorties”, as I’ve dubbed them, were limited by the AR Drone’s large size and the room you were flying in. But this is where the Rolling Spider shines. It is meant for the indoors, and for messing with your coworkers (if you work in an office where that kind of thing is encouraged).

Flying the larger AR Drone, I really disliked using the accelerometer-based control scheme on my iPhone and vastly preferred the video game-style controller of the nVidia Shield due to the fact that using the accelerometer just didn't feel responsive. But with the Rolling Spider, I LOVE LOVE LOVE the accelerometer control on my iPhone using their FreeFlight 3 app. I think part of the reason I like it so much is because the small size of the Spider allows it to be extremely responsive -- I can fly at full speed forward, and stop on dime. It moves as quick as my hands can rotate my iPhone to control it.

I also really like the wheels as a form of protection for the blades. It ensures that when it lands it always stays right-side up (even when it crashes), and it makes it much easier to use indoors when it bounces off the walls, the ceiling, the floor, and your friend’s forehead.
Cons: I have only two gripes with the Rolling Spider. First is that it really can’t be used outside if there is even the slightest breeze. It is extremely light and is basically at the whim of anything that mother nature throws at it. This is an indoor toy. It might work on a totally still day, but I haven’t been fortunate enough to get weather like that yet. And lastly, the battery life. It’s not good. It doesn’t last long at all. You might be able to get about 10 to 15 minutes tops from one charge, but I suppose this is to be expected given how small the battery is and how it’s creating the miracle of flight by spinning 4 blades extremely fast. I would suggest purchasing a second battery. The good thing is, at the end of the day, this is a fun toy -- not a hobbyist’s device. By the time both of your batteries run out, I think you’ll find that you’ve gotten your fill for the day.
Other Thoughts: All in all, I’ve been having a lot of fun with the Rolling Spider!
Reviewed By:Steve,10/19/2014 5:09:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.