Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Limited Time Only! Newegg Premier is now only $29.99/year. Sign up now.
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Multimedia Editing > Nero > Nero 2014 Platinum

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great software
Pros: I always use Nero. Always happy with how it burns dvd movies. I also love how you can customize the dvd menu
Cons: none I can think of
Reviewed By:mfmayes49,7/24/2014 4:57:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Multimedia Editing > Pinnacle System > Pinnacle Studio 17 Ultimate

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Pinnacle Studio 17 Ultimate
Pros: A lot of extra's added. When it works it's worth the money. I have done several 2 hr plus video's for a customer on a DVD+R DL disk. But I keep it simple and don't add a lot of extra's to the video. Rendering is slow, just because it's doing a lot of back ground work. Even the top of the line computers can't do much more. Corel should make this a 64 bit program, but they won't because of the added cost.
Cons: I have been using Studio since version 7 came out back when. Avid had a good product for average user's. Then Corel bought Avid Studio and just added some items from their video editing software and started selling as a up grade to Avid Studio. There is a hard learning curve if this is a the first time buyer. You need to buy a training video to go back to when something doesn't work or your at a loss on what to do. I did and it helps. Unless you use this program a lot you end up forgetting things. Thus the training video comes into play.
Other Thoughts: I have my computer set up with a SSD which I have installed just the OS and Studio 17. I have a WD 1T as my media drive and a 500 Gb WD HDD as my render drive. My MB is a Z77 with a intel CPU and 16 Gb's of ram. A average middle of the line GPU. With all of this rendering is still slow. But you have to remember what is going on in the back ground when rendering. Until they make this a 64 bit program it will always be slow when rendering. Unless you can afford a pro video editing program like MC which costs around $1000 programs like this will be around for some time to come. Compaired to Corel's video editing software this is priced to high. But Corel has to charge more to make up for the cost of buying Studio from Avid. One last thing, are there better editing software out there? I would say yes and no. Do some research and good luck.
Reviewed By:JT,7/18/2014 4:47:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Multimedia Editing > Pinnacle System > Pinnacle Studio 17 Ultimate

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Absolute Trash Avoid At all Costs
Pros: It came in a nice box.
Cons: Everything. The installation failed the first time for no reason. Was able to get it installed on the second attempt, but NGStudio.exe crashes continually. Hardware far exceeds the recommended. Program cannot deal with .MTS files from my Sony HD Camcorder. If there are more than a few media files in the search path, NGStudio crashes. Been working with support for weeks to no avail. And now I have an expensive coaster. I have used this product in the past XP days with great success, the new product is a complete waste of money. I will never be wasting any of my hard earned money on a Corel product again.
Reviewed By:GordonGarcia,7/15/2014 11:35:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Multimedia Editing > Pinnacle System > Pinnacle Studio 17 Ultimate

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Many problems....Don't buy it!
Pros: Lots of nice features.
Cons: Just as slow rendering videos as with Pinnacle Studio 15 by Avid. Even more so, in this one the sound will not match up with the video after each edit until it has finished rendering. It took over one hour to export a rendered 18 minute video.

DEAL BREAKER: Every video has digitized coloring like masking that flickers for a brief second or two over certain images throughout the video.

I recommend a pass on this product as it is not professional quality and Corel doesn't provide a corrective solution for it.
Other Thoughts: Corel has very poor customer support who main answer to any problem is to suggest PAYING for support. They delay, delay, delay until your free 30 day support runs out.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/13/2014 3:26:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Multimedia Editing > CyberLink > CyberLink PowerDVD 13 Ultra

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 CyberLink PowerDVD 13 Ultra
Pros: It does exactly what the company says it does. Honestly, I'm only using it so I can use my Blu-ray drive to play movies.
Cons: There's a picture of a person riding their ski-doo on the front, I can't figure out the marketing angle on that one.
Other Thoughts: With my putting a new comp together, I figured it gave me an excuse to a)upgrade from my version 8 or 9, and b) to get something that'd run my new blu-ray drive.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/9/2014 4:02:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Multimedia Editing > Nero > Nero 2014 Platinum

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great
Pros: I just picked up two of the Nero 2014 Platinum boxes this past week while they were on sale for $37. I had no issues. Install was fairly quick. No extraneous stuff was installed that people had mentioned before. And I had no problem playing back my BDs with full menu support on both of my PCs where I installed Nero 2014 Platinum.
Cons: The only con I've run into so far is the main menu where you choose which program you want to run. It only works in full screen mode so if you only use one monitor it could be an issue.
Other Thoughts: I haven't used Nero in several years. They have certainly improved things from before. It does more than ever and feels solid too. Everything I've tried on both my PCs has worked great so far. For $37 it was well worth it.
Reviewed By:aaronwt,7/6/2014 11:29:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Multimedia Editing > CyberLink > CyberLink PowerDirector 12 Ultimate

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Horrific Support
Pros: ZERO, Free software does a better job
Cons: Horrific

Cyberlink Power Director has an issue with older tapes the internal coding seems to detect static found on older media as copy protection and will abort the process, I sent an email to their support staff figured a simple patch or update would remedy the issue this is their reply
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Cyberlink’s response
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thank you for contacting Cyberlink Technical Support.

I understand your concern related to copyright error when trying to capture home movies using Power Director 12 software.

I would like to inform you that with old tapes, this is a common issue of getting copyright protected error. This error occurs due to weak magnetic field on the VHS tapes.

Please note that this error generally occurs when the source tapes are very old or have physical errors on them. Please try and use a different (new) tapes and let us know if the issue persists.

I would suggest you to update capture card drivers and see if it helps in resolving the issue.

If issue persists then the problem is old VHS tape specific. In that case, you should use new tapes.

I have been an IT pro for 25 years, I am in customer service customers pay tens of thousands of dollars to call us when their systems go down, if I ever dismissed a customer’s issue in the manner Cyberlink dismissed mine I would be fired on the spot,
Can you even find new VHS tapes anymore? Does Cyberlink have a Time machine I can borrow to go back 20 years and reshoot my home movies? And how is updating my hardware drivers supposed to keep an Error in their software that they know about from happening again?
Other Thoughts: Would return this if I could it is a waste of money
Reviewed By:Belezeebub,7/1/2014 8:53:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Multimedia Editing > Bling Software > Bling Software 123 Copy DVD Platinum 2014

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Have to buy newer version, not worth it
Pros: Works ok with 50% errors, have to spend more money to try and make it work!
Cons: Have to buy newer versions to convert newer movies and it might work 50 percent of the time. Keep getting told for over a year "we are working on it"!
Other Thoughts: There are better programs out there like magicripper that offer lifetime updates for cheaper money.
Reviewed By:jerbear62,6/23/2014 11:45:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Multimedia Editing > Corel > Corel VideoStudio Pro X7

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Video Editing 101
Pros: * Entry-level video editing software.
* Use if you're a beginner or a casual editor who just needs something simple.
* Very intuitive and easy to learn.
* Great quality for the price.
* Use it if you prefer PC editing to Mac editing.
Cons: * Not as advanced as its Adobe counterpart.
* Comes with some extra features, but nothing that's AAA-quality.
* If you want to get into higher-level video editing, go with a Mac and Mac-based software instead.
Other Thoughts: Shipping was fast and the package arrived in the condition that was expected. Thanks, Newegg!
Reviewed By:OmuBrosephu,6/22/2014 1:05:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Multimedia Editing > Nero > Nero 2014 Platinum

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 failed to work
Pros: Delivered to my house.
Cons: It requires third party copy rights.
The third party software required to play Blu-rays will not register.
Other Thoughts: Not tried any of the other features as I got it to play my 3D Blu-rays
Reviewed By:N/A,6/6/2014 7:19:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau