Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG XP941 Series MZHPU512HCGL-00004(0) M.2 512GB PCI-Express 2.0 x4 MLC Enterprise Solid State Drive

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Fun while it lasted
Pros: fast and easy to install
Cons: expensive and failed after 9 months of use
Reviewed By:N/A,8/1/2015 4:10:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG XP941 MZHPU128HCGM-00004(0) M.2 128GB PCI-Express 2.0 x4 MLC Enterprise Solid State Drive

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Peculiar Object
Pros: $120.00 for 120GB of SSD memory, ok.
Now this is not SATA I,II,III or mSATA it is PCIe Gen 2 using a M2 socket.
So I'm continuing to work our how to get it to use x4 lanes and be the 10Gb/s it could be.
I would estimate it works as fast as SATA III with my MSI Gaming 5.
Cons: Getting bandwidth pipelines between CPU / RAM / Mass Memory to be extraordinary takes extraordinary knowledge of tech.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/31/2015 6:01:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG XP941 MZHPU128HCGM-00004(0) M.2 128GB PCI-Express 2.0 x4 MLC Enterprise Solid State Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fast, fast FAST!
Pros: Awesome SSD! Very fast and works perfectly in a MSI Z97A Gaming 6!
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,7/14/2015 7:29:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > Intel > Intel Pro 2500 SSDSC2BF240H501 2.5" 240GB SATA 6Gb/s MLC Enterprise Solid State Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Drives
Pros: Fast Drives, great warranty, so far no problems. Running them in Dell poweredge server. I mirrored them for our gaming server.. running them on a VM. Running like a champ..
Cons: Wish I had more of them :)
Other Thoughts: I will buy more as soon as the price drops a little. :)
Reviewed By:N/A,7/13/2015 5:04:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG XP941 MZHPU128HCGM-00004(0) M.2 128GB PCI-Express 2.0 x4 MLC Enterprise Solid State Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Super Fast
Pros: Super fast SSD! Stable and no problems whatsoever.
Cons: Didn't work as a boot drive for my system. My fault so I can't really ding this drive.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/1/2015 8:37:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG XP941 Series MZHPU512HCGL-00004(0) M.2 512GB PCI-Express 2.0 x4 MLC Enterprise Solid State Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Samsung XP941
Pros: -Great for a OS Boot Drive.

-Great for a Storage Drive

-Equivalent to 2-3 SATA SSDs in RAID0.

-It is blazing fast and will leave you in awe.

-Speechless.......
Cons: -Heat. These things can get very hot if they are used to move large amounts of data over time. I purchased some high quality thermal pads and some heat sinks to take care of any heat issues as that will greatly improve its longevity as well.

-Warranty. Buyers need to be aware that this is an OEM product as the manufacturer, Samsung in this case does not and will not be in charge of any RMA's. This is up to the buyer to make sure they include the warranty Newegg sells as I did. I purchased a plan to insure my very premium priced product.

-Price but that is a given since I'm an early adopters to M.2 on the desktop platform but was caught by surprise when I had to fork over more cash just to strap a warranty to this product. I was quite disappointed but after a few benchmarks those feeling went away.
Other Thoughts: For the gamers out there, this drive will decrease your load time substantially. It will make file transfer great as well. Only problem is if you're moving anything from a SATA SSD to a PCI-E SSD, well unfortunately you will be capped to SATA's transfer rates. You're able to see this thing shine when benchmarking, installing and transferring between two PCI-E SSDs.

Again, I will say you won't be disappointed but make sure your MB supports form factor M.2, size 8022 before purchasing.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/25/2015 3:51:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG XP941 MZHPU256HCGL-00000 M.2 256GB PCI-Express 2.0 x4 MLC Enterprise Solid State Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 LUDICROUS SPEED
Pros: From power button to Internet 4.6 seconds...no joke....buy this. If you install this, be warned, some PC mobo's will load Windows so quickly with this drive you will NOT have time to hit DEL or F8 to enter bios. Space saving and small - too many pros to not have it.
Cons: I bought this item for $249. Obviously, the demand has gone through the roof. Don't know about the value over $400, but at $250 it's simply amazing.
Other Thoughts: Quite a challenge to find the right bios and jumper settings to get the unit to work, but it will work (and work well) with ASRock Z97 OC Formula LGA motherboard.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/12/2015 3:44:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG XP941 Series MZHPU512HCGL-00004(0) M.2 512GB PCI-Express 2.0 x4 MLC Enterprise Solid State Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very fast performance. Boots on asrock z97.
Pros: Very fast drive. I bought this not knowing when to expect it's successor, the SM951. I have since purchased that as well and am running both the XP941 and SM951 in my asrock z97 extreme6/ac motherboard. The XP941 is very capable, fast, bootable on this motherboard. I recommend moving to the SM951 if your system will support it. Asrock supported it after a bios update to v1.60. I got about 1100MB/s read/write sequential on this drive and about 1700MB/s on the SM951 on same system (same slot apples/apples). Either drive will destroy anything you can plug into a SATA 6gbps interface due to bus limitations. I also have a Samsung evo850 on this system for media storage and it is about 60% the speed of the XP941 and about 35% as fast as the SM951.
Cons: none, get the SM951 if your system will support, it is about 30% faster.
Other Thoughts: Complete system spec: asrock z97 extreme6/ac, evga supernova p2 1000w power supply, 32gb g.skill 2400mhz DDR3 ram (4x8gb), evga 780ti, i7-4790k OC to 4.5ghz, corsair h110 cpu cooler, samsung sm951 512gb m.2 boot drive, samsung xp941 512gb m.2 app/swap drive, samsung evo 850 1tb sata 6gpbs media drive, corsair carbide air 540 case.
Reviewed By:texcs,5/24/2015 8:47:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG XP941 MZHPU256HCGL-00000 M.2 256GB PCI-Express 2.0 x4 MLC Enterprise Solid State Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worth every cent if you can get it working
Pros: This thing is the best product on the market, it's the fastest, made by one of the most reliable companies for SSD's, and when properly installed, will make your computer feel as responsive as a desk lamp.
Cons: Not simple to install software. After hours of scouring the web I finally found out, in order to install an OS you can't do it from a disc for reason's I don't care to find out. two methods that both SHOULD work are installing the OS to a separate drive then duplicating the drive onto this ssd, or creating a bootable USB using online tutorials and downloading free software onto a separate computer.

Many different settings and options will most likely need to be changed and adjusted inside your bios before your motherboard even recognizes the existence of the drive, and for me it required much troubleshooting.

It's not compatible with many motherboards, and even some it is "compatible" with can't utilize the full potential of this ssd, the ssd has four compatible lanes but some motherboards don't support the infrastructure to make use of those lanes, so the ssd maxes out before hitting it's benchmark limits, this is also dependent on the type of CPU you're using as the speeds are relative to the capability of your CPU.

Also it's not compatible with samsung SSD software like samsung magician, and other SSD related software like intel rapid storage.

Lastly it gets much warmer than most people are usually comfortable with components on their motherboard getting, and could potentially cause damage over time.
Other Thoughts: This is not a negative review, I really do love it.

This product was not designed to be particularly user friendly. It's not something I would recommend to the majority of consumers as it's definitely more for the advanced user, who knows what their system is capable of and compatable with, a user who is capable of properly configuring both the bios and OS, to run and install.

The speeds it's capable of are mindblowing, but this was an update for me from an older 840 Evo I use on my other computer, so I as a user was already used to only a thirty second boot time and never waiting for a program to load. The difference was apparent to me considering that experience, but if you're looking for SSD performance with ease of access and user friendly tools, I whole heartedly recommend the samsung 850pro or evo series instead.

If you're familiar with top grade SSD performance and are looking for the next step in the chain, this SSD is absolutely it. at 1$ a gig it seems pricey, but with compatible hardware it is unmatched in it's field, and I would buy it again in a heartbeat.

Last small note, it's much smaller than you're probably expecting, it's almost exactly the same size as a stick of gum, and I was all but certain I'd been sent the wrong package when it arrived, it's that surprising, quite delicate, and I personally feel it looks gloriously elegant on my motherboard.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/23/2015 10:40:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG XP941 MZHPU256HCGL-00000 M.2 256GB PCI-Express 2.0 x4 MLC Enterprise Solid State Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome system disk
Pros: Small, fast, and boots Windows 8.1 when installed in a Gigabyte GZ-Z97X-Gaming 3. It is super nice not having a single SATA cable plugged into my board. It saves a lot of space by not having any hard drives.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,5/11/2015 8:39:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.