Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG XP941 MZHPU256HCGL-00000 M.2 256GB PCI Express MLC Enterprise Solid State Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great drive and Love it
Pros: -wow... it is fast, so small that i thought they were messing with me by sending me wrong thing.

-it was recognized by ASRock Fatal1ty x99x killer board. see notes below.

- it loads web pages so fast i had issue adjusting it to (no i am not kidding).

-it loads my stock/futures charts instantly. thought think or swim stinks as a software.

-i highly recommend it if your MoBo can fully support it.

Notes:

1. the Asrock Fatal1ty Mobo does not recognize USB3 port until an OS is installed. Meaning if you plug in your mouse or keyboard to the blue USB ports before installing an OS then they wont work post Bios Boot.

2. You have to install all of drivers from the ASrock CD for this drive or you will have performance issues. these are Intel Rapid Storage drivers.

it took 30 mins to install windows at most.


here is what i bought in case it helps:

1. Cooler Master HAF X case
2. AsRock Fatal1ty x99x mobo
3. corsair hx 750 W power supply
4. intel i7 5820 haswell
5. noctua nh-d14 14mm and 120 mm sso cpu cooler
6. evga gtx 760 2gb gddr5.
Cons: so far none
Other Thoughts: ensure you are gentle when installing this drive.
follow the instructions otherwise you will surely mess it up.
Reviewed By:rajc144,11/23/2014 7:25:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG XP941 MZHPU128HCGM-00000 M.2 128GB PCI Express MLC Enterprise Solid State Drive

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Awesome drive... if you can use it
Pros: Super fast. Probably the fastest SSD on the market at this time. PCI-E x4 and SATA compatibility. Small. Invisible on most motherboards as the connector is on the back side.
Cons: Compatibility. There is one motherboard out there at this time that supports booting from this drive, the Asrock Z97 Extreme 6. There may be a few more from Asrock, but I can't verify that. I have an ASUS Z97I-Plus that somewhat recognizes it. I cant boot from it, but I can use it as a storage drive, with the OS on a different drive. Hopefully this will change as new boards are released and older boards BIOSs are updated
Other Thoughts: I did not do a thorough job of researching these issues before I bought it. Make sure your motherboard has a PCI-E x4 M.2 slot on it. There are plenty of boards with PCI-E x2 slots, but these boards will not use this drives full potential. Be sure of what you're buying and what you want/expect out of this drive before you buy
Reviewed By:N/A,11/15/2014 5:20:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > Intel > Intel 310 Series 80GB mSATA mSATA (mini PCIe form factor) MLC Enterprise Solid State Disk SSDMAEMC080G2C1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Little SSD
Pros: Lightning Fast, Doesn't use my HDD bay.
Cons: Intel SSD Toolbox isn't Linux compatible.
Other Thoughts: Bought this drive to use as a boot drive, which it performed flawlessly. It is now hosting my primary linux distro+data, while a larger SSD takes care of Windows+data.
Reviewed By:RIALFE,11/8/2014 2:34:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG XP941 MZHPU256HCGL-00000 M.2 256GB PCI Express MLC Enterprise Solid State Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing SSD!
Pros: Superior speed to any other drive currently on the market.
I'm seeing >1GB/sec read speeds and close to that for write speeds on an MSI x99s XPower AC m/b.
Cons: It does seems to run a bit warm - certain reviews also mention this. A good side case fan is wise to ensure it has good airflow.
Other Thoughts: It probably won't appear directly as a device your EFI bios, so you'll just have to trust the OS installer to find it. After initial install, the bios will show it as a choice to boot from (on the hard disk boot order) because it can then see the UEFI boot record on the media.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/5/2014 9:47:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG XP941 MZHPU256HCGL-00000 M.2 256GB PCI Express MLC Enterprise Solid State Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 All bow to the greatness
Pros: 1) Fastest anything on this side of the Mississippi
2) About as big as a stick of gum (no exaggeration)
Cons: None. Nada. Zilch.
Ok fine i'll find one. If you drank heavily the night before then the alcoholic shakes will make it difficult to put the tiny screw in but thats more of a motherboard fault
Other Thoughts: If the hole was bigger i would make sweet sweet love to this drive
Reviewed By:KCizzle,11/4/2014 7:36:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG XP941 MZHPU256HCGL-00000 M.2 256GB PCI Express MLC Enterprise Solid State Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Just a tad bit slower than warp speed
Pros: 1) It's fast
2) Enterprise class
3) It's fast
4) Small form factor
5) It's fast
6) Eliminates the need for ugly sata cables
7) Did I mention that it's fast?
Cons: 1) Doesn't make me breakfast
2) OEM drive, so no drivers are available
Other Thoughts: As far as I know, these Samsung XP941 drives are oem drives, which means no third party drivers are available to install Windows using an optical disc. The only way I know around this is to create a bootable Windows installation flash drive. It worked for me, but it may not work for everyone. Either your motherboard supports this drive or it doesn't.
Reviewed By:Ghee Buttersnaps,11/3/2014 1:29:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG XP941 MZHPU256HCGL-00000 M.2 256GB PCI Express MLC Enterprise Solid State Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fast but not Perfect
Pros: I was happily surprised at the speed of this drive when used on my ASROCK 990FX Killer Fata1ity motherboard. The M.2 slot is a great idea and increases the gaming speed substantially. I like the idea of being able to put it into a laptop when reasonably priced laptops start to include the M.2 adaptor. Currently using this drive as a secondary to an OCZ Vertex 3. Transfer speeds between the two drives is insanely fast (I thought 75,000 IOPS was fast!) The 120,000 IOPS this tiny drive pushes is great! Though, I have yet to fully benchmark my system, I am looking forward to seeing how fast it can go when it's OC.
Cons: Apparently I found out from the ASROCK tech support that because this drive doesn't include any POST firmware, it can't be used as a bootable drive with the AMD series chipset, or at least, not until they figure out a BIOS update to allow for it. After updating the BIOS, it was recognized by the MB but the BIOS won't allow you to select it as a bootable drive. Tried to install windows7 ult. 64 on it and it caused an error.
Other Thoughts: I know there are faster drives than this out there in the market, but I don't believe any of them eliminate as many bottlenecks as this drive does. And who wants to pay 600-1,000 bucks for something like an OCZ revodrive x3 that will force you to shell out more bucks for a memory and CPU upgrade as well. This is a great deal for the price, if you've got a motherboard that has the M.2 slot. Wouldn't want to purchase it in the PCI-E version since I read that on this specific motherboard, the insanely fast increase in data transfer speeds only come when it's connected to the M.2 slot. Not that purchasing this chip with the PCI-E adaptor won't speed up your system, just not at double the SATA 5GB/S speeds that this MB is supposed to (10 GB/S on MB box). Not that this chip can go 10 GB/s,but I'll be content with 1 GB/s, for now :)
Reviewed By:RUGANATOR,10/24/2014 12:04:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > Intel > Intel Fultondale 10 DC P3700 2.5" 800GB PCI-Express 3.0 MLC Solid State Drive

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 What is pictured is not what you get!
Pros: NA
Cons: This may be the best SSD I have ever expereinced, but we accidentally ordered this 2.5" version at work not realizing that the AIC HHHL form factor wasn't the only form factor available. Stupid on our part, but the image on this product shows the AIC HHHL form factor, not the 2.5" form factor, and so it will not fit in our machine. We will have to swap it out, but this page needs to be modified to accurately reflect what is being sold.
Reviewed By:MasterShogo,10/22/2014 10:53:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG XP941 MZHPU256HCGL-00000 M.2 256GB PCI Express MLC Enterprise Solid State Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 WOW!
Pros: Wow this drive smokes anything on the market! (See below for my benchmark). Boot to your OS Install CD through UEFI to install it properly, my OS installed on it just fine with no issues.
Cons: Cow Cookies!
Other Thoughts: I got tired of using a mechanical hard drive, went to an SSD and have been on the search for speed ever since. I got it with this drive, now I'm using it as a boot drive for my X99 build in an M.2 slot.

Crystal:
SEQ: 978.8 MB/s Read | 827.0 MB/s Write
512K: 661.7 MB/s Read | 693.5 MB/s Write
4K: 284.0 MB/s Read | 101.0 MB/s Write
4K QD32: 284.0 MB/s Read | 190.7 MB/s Write
Reviewed By:James W.,10/21/2014 6:34:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG XP941 MZHPU128HCGM-00000 M.2 128GB PCI Express MLC Enterprise Solid State Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Not Bootable "YET"
Pros: The ADDONICS ADM2PX4 adapter and this Samsung M2 Drive deliver 1170MB/s Read, (as storage). ASUS Sabertooth FX990 R2 (AMD). It will not show up as Boot device in Bios, Legacy or UEFI. Rumor has it ASUS is going to update firmware to support M2 booting with UEFI.
Cons: Not the SSD's fault MOBO aren't ready.
Reviewed By:Bill,10/20/2014 4:46:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.