Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > OCZ Storage Solutions > OCZ Deneva 2 R Series D2RSTK251E19-0400 2.5" 400GB SATA III eMLC Enterprise Solid State Drive

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great deal
Pros: - Much faster than a mechanical drive (Windows 10 boots under 6 secs)
- Small (but little bigger than standards SSD)
- Big capacity for the price
- eMLC (in theory should last longer than traditional MLC SSD)
Cons: - SMART Data was probably wiped
- 82% Health after firmware update (again, this is a refurb unit, I wouldn't expect 100% health out of the box after the update)
- Not as fast compared to newer SSD (5 years old tech)
Other Thoughts: It's my first SSD and I can say that I was blown away by the speed. Even if it's slower than newer SSD, it's fast enough for me.
It looked new out of the box but you could clearly see that it had been used at the contact points. For updating the firmware use the OCZ SSD utility.

I took a chance and installed it as my main drive. So far I've had no problems with it and the SSD Health stayed at 82% even after 2 month of daily use. How long it will last? I have no Idea. If you buy this, be sure to get the extended warranty and check SMART data sometimes just to be sure.
Reviewed By:JOEL C.,7/25/2016 8:46:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > OCZ Storage Solutions > OCZ Deneva 2 R Series D2RSTK251E19-0400 2.5" 400GB SATA III eMLC Enterprise Solid State Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Pretty Good Refurbished Games SSD
Pros: - Cheap
- Still relatively fast
- Build Quality is solid
- OCZ SSD Utility is nice and simple to use
Cons: - Thick... this might not fit in your laptop if you were looking for large cheap SSD storage for on the go.
- Refurbished - so everyones mileage may very
- I did notice after the firmware update the exact same thing others said. 81% life left. But we aren't buying a new drive so we can't complain to much can we?
Other Thoughts: I ran several benchmarks to verify speed and overall performance. I used this drive to replace my generic FaSpeed 250GB drive as my Steam library had quickly filled that drive up. Also, as it's refurbished and thus little recourse should it die I figured as a games drive it's perfect. If it dies... no worries, just re download all my games to a replacement and keep the save files backed up from time to time. No worries.

Samsung Magician: 554 MB/s Read 516 MB/s Write 60,344 IOPS Read 46,855 IOPS Write

ATTO Disk Benchmark: 530 MB/s Read 440 MB/s Write

Crystal DiskMark 5.1.2 x64: 547 MB/s Read 313 MB/s Write

AS SSD Benchmark 1.8.5: 487 MB/s Read 230MB/s Write

Anvil Storage Utilities 1.1.0: 494 MB/s Read 270 MB/s Write

Oh, and to add more confusion the OCZ Software states sequencial speed @ 524 MB/s Read & 120 MB/s write!!! What?!!
Random speed 203 MB/s Read & 94 MB/s Write!! This drives write speeds are all over the place. We can comfortably say that Read speeds are 500 MB/s confirmed. Which honestly makes it ideal as a games drive, mostly reading not writing taking place. For fast non critical data I'd go vote for it. As a primary OS / Programs drive, thought the price is attractive and I'm sure performance would be fine. I just trust it more with non-critical data. As a Steam games drive it's great! And I'll recommend it.
Reviewed By:Michael W.,7/24/2016 11:22:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > OCZ Storage Solutions > OCZ Deneva 2 R Series D2RSTK251E19-0400 2.5" 400GB SATA III eMLC Enterprise Solid State Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great for the price and reliable(Why complain about life shown below 100% on a REFURBISHED ssd)
Pros: Consistent performance
Reliable
Great price for the size
Easy to install
Easy to update firmware
No bad sectors or reserved space used despite showing 81% life (People who left the negative reviews should look up what ssd life is based off of before complaining)
Highly over provisioned
500+ MBps ATTO benchmarks (They based their claims off of ATTO so don't use crystaldisk as a reason to claim slow speeds)
Cons: Not the fastest drive
Other Thoughts: I purchased this a few months ago unfortunately while not signed in so can't get the verified owner for this review. I felt obligated to leave this review because of all the negative reviews about ssd life being in the 80% range. IT IS A USED SSD. These are also very old models and have been heavily used. Even without having any bad sectors the stated life will be below 100% after a lot of use despite everything being 100% fine. Mine has been at 81% life with no change and is heavily used. If you pay attention to the so called high error rates with this drive you can see that the software is not reading the info correctly and has the data read and error numbers swapped. If you watch the numbers while accessing the drive you will see the error number increase while the data read number stays at 0. It's pretty obvious you can't open and run programs on the drive without it reading any data. The software is not intended for this drive. Those complaining about speed should also read what they used for their benchmark. ATTO is used and with ATTO this drive matches or exceeds the claimed speeds. Unfortunately so many rely on crystal disk mark and this drive has very poor write speeds using that tool. This drive has very high compressible data speeds but not so much with uncompressible data which cdm uses. I have the 200mb version of thia has my os drive and two of these for games and a 512gb samsung 850evo. In general use I notice no difference at all between them. The 850 evo loads gta v two or three seconds faster and sustains a slightly higher write speed copying very large files and 10gb+ folders. If you don't expect this drive to do things it never claimed to do and understand the smart info is reversed in the ocz software for this drive I highly recommend buying one. I really find it funny how harsh those reviews are based on info they know nothing about despite not one having a failed drive or any instability issue. You would think a problem free experience would cause someone to wonder why they are seeing so many errors. I guess it is easier to get mad when you buy refurbished and don't get a brand new product.
Reviewed By:Michael H.,7/24/2016 2:11:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > OCZ Storage Solutions > OCZ Saber 1000 SB1CSK31MT570-0480 2.5" 480GB SATA III MLC Enterprise Solid State Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 OCZ Saber 1000 SB1CSK31MT570-0480 2.5" 480GB SATA III MLC Enterprise Solid State Drive
Pros: Works very well and I just bought a second one.
Cons: None yet.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/24/2016 12:27:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > OCZ Storage Solutions > OCZ SSD IT3RSK41ET330-0100 Intrepid 3600 Series 100GB 2.5" SATAIII MLC 9.2mm - Certified Refurbished

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Drive failed after two months of use
Pros: OCZ SSD Utility recognizes this drive and offers drive status and firmware updates.
Drive contains a supercapacitor so in-flight data is protected even in the event of a power outage. This feature is not commonly found on client level SSDs.
Cons: Drive worked without incident until a few days ago. Windows kept on freezing and resetting. Went to Event Viewer to investigate and noticed hundreds of entries logged a few seconds apart stating the drive has a bad block. Curiously, the OCZ SSD Utility still lists the drive in good health.
Other Thoughts: While very cheap, these refurbished drives are just not worth the risk. I purchased two and one has already failed. Since it has been more than thirty days since my purchase I now have to ship the drive at my expense back to OCZ for warranty service.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/19/2016 7:10:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > OCZ Storage Solutions > OCZ SSD IT3RSK41ET5G0-0960 Intrepid 3700 Series 960GB 2.5" SATAIII eMLC 9.2mm

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Two Died Within 30 Days
Pros: Good price *** IF *** performance doesn't rapidly degrade.
Cons: Both this OCZ 3700 Series and an OCZ 3600 series rapidly deteriorated and died within 30 days of purchase. At time of installation health for each drive was rated 90 per cent. I don't think that 90% health is acceptable, even if price discounted as refurbished. The error count for each steadily accumulated until they became totally unresponsive -- dead.
Other Thoughts: I definitely would not recommend any hdd/ssd refurbished -- OCZ or any other name. Fortunately for me, Newegg honored their refund policy, but have since withdrawn their replacement/refund options for these items.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/18/2016 4:38:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > OCZ Storage Solutions > OCZ SSD IT3RSK41ET5G0-0480 Intrepid 3700 Series 480GB 2.5" SATAIII eMLC 9.2mm

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Not a consumer drive. Understand what you're getting.
Pros: - Inexpensive
- eMLC gives reduced chance of bit errors and greater write endurance
Cons: - I have never gotten close to the specified maximum read speed out of this drive. 400MB/sec is about where I topped out.
Other Thoughts: If you're just trying to get cheap SSD capacity, this drive will work fine. But it will be a little slower than similar capacity consumer drives, because it's designed for enterprise use, and in particular it's designed for very long write endurance. Typically 3-10 times as long as normal MLC, and even longer compared to TLC. This drive excels in applications where it is being written to heavily; if that describes what you're doing then this is the drive you want.

In a consumer setting, this drive would make a great Intel Smart Response SSD cache for your hard drives. It would also be good for developers, scientists and others who work with and write large datasets on a regular basis.
Reviewed By:MICHAEL H.,7/17/2016 11:24:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > OCZ Storage Solutions > OCZ Deneva 2 R Series D2RSTK251E19-0400 2.5" 400GB SATA III eMLC Enterprise Solid State Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Good price, but potentially faulty
Pros: - Cheap.
- Enterprise grade, so you'd think it'd be more stable and last longer.
Cons: - Slow. OCZ's own benchmark states that it's write speed is 1/5 what's stated!! On an EMPTY drive.
- Upon updating the firmware, the SSD now shows 89% life. I saw this with other people, hoped I wouldn't have the same issue. Guess I was wrong.
Other Thoughts: AVOID THIS PRODUCT.
Yes, I understand it's a refurbished unit, but that doesn't mean it should already be dying. Refurbished should mean that it's back to fully working condition, not something that's already on its way out.

AGAIN AVOID THIS PRODUCT. Spend a little more and get something of better quality.
Very disappointed, and will look into returning it.
Reviewed By:Darin B.,7/16/2016 4:00:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > OCZ Storage Solutions > OCZ SSD IT3RSK41ET5G0-0480 Intrepid 3700 Series 480GB 2.5" SATAIII eMLC 9.2mm

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Just what I expected
Pros: Haven't run any benchmarks, but seems to be quite snappy. Boots Windows 10 in less than a minute (hibernate is turned off) and Linux a little quicker.
Cloned from disk image of fresh Windows 10 install on previous hdd (just before it failed completely), rebooted and was up and running
Cons: It's not a new SSD with a full warranty (but that's not what I paid for).
It doesn't have infinite storage :>)
Other Thoughts: Second OCZ refurb I've bought (1st was before Toshiba bought them). Still happy with the first (going on 3 yrs.). Would recommend.
Reviewed By:Robert D.,7/13/2016 11:10:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > OCZ Storage Solutions > OCZ Saber 1000 SB1CSK31MT570-0480 2.5" 480GB SATA III MLC Enterprise Solid State Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Outstanding! Installed like a dream.
Pros: great storage for the price
Cons: none noted
Other Thoughts: Solid state drives are so fast and reduce heat/friction. That's a big advantage
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/10/2016 4:22:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.