Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 500GB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Great at first, now useless
Pros: Looks and feels great, worked great for about 3 months.
Cons: Suddenly "write-protected" - tried cleaning that through registry and command, nothing works. Can no longer write to / delete from disk. Will have to download everything and then try to re-format the disk. 250 dollars down the drain.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/25/2015 12:03:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 1TB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great as bootable Mac backup
Pros: Size and Speed
Cons: Takes a bit of technical knowledge to use as a bootable Mac backup device
Other Thoughts: Despite dozens of purchases from Newegg over many years time, this is my first review.

The record needs to be set straight regarding some very negative reviews stating that the T1 won't work as a bootable Mac backup device using programs such as Super Duper and Carbon Copy (or even Time Machine).

1. Run the setup app that comes with the T1.

2. Open Disk Utility and reformat the drive Mac OS Extended (Journaled), also click Options...and select GUI.

Samsung certainly didn't help themselves with their cookie cutter responses to the negative reviewers, possible another free T1 is in order for me...:)
Reviewed By:N/A,6/19/2015 7:36:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 250GB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Exceeded my expectations
Pros: Bought this to pair with my A m a z o n fire tv. Fast! Able to dl my shows from KODI just fine. Couldn't be happier. I was a little worried the fire tv wouldn't power this SSD but no problems. I've been using this drive every day for the past 2 months. Solid Samsung drive, would buy again.
Cons: Not a fault of the SSD but FAT32 for fire tv bites. I personally would like a longer cable, really not that big of a deal though.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/18/2015 2:48:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 250GB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 This thing is fast
Pros: This thing is fast. Really fast. It is about 15 times faster than a portable hard drive I own.
Cons: none that I can see
Other Thoughts: It can sustain 200 MS/s. Yes, about 10 seconds for a 2 gigabyte file. The hardware connection uses something I never heard of until now, UAS – USB attached SCSI. Apparently this is faster than the standalone USB drive specification. Windows 8.1 had no problem recognizing this drive.
Comparison hardware:
Surface Pro 2 - 8 GB memory + 256 GB SSD
WD 500 GB My Passport (about 2 years old) USB 3.0 Part WDBACY5000ABL-01 sustains about 15 MB/s during file transfer.
Capacity:
- 250,047,234,048 bytes
- 232 gigabytes according to companies that make software
o (1024 bytes = 1 kilobytes, 1024*1024 bytes = 1 megabytes, 1024*1024*1024 bytes = 1 gigabytes)
- 250 gigabytes according to companies that make hardware
o (1000 bytes = 1 kilobytes, 1,000,000 bytes = 1 megabytes, 1,000,000,000,000 bytes = 1 gigabytes)
Reviewed By:N/A,6/1/2015 1:13:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 1TB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Drive
Pros: This drive is incredibly fast. I ran Blackmagic disk benchmark utility on it and got around 361.7 MB/s write and about 361.2 MB/s read. This was with encryption turned off. I got about 1 MB/s slower result with encryption enabled. It's very light and has a nice form factor. The small size and rounded edges make putting and removing it into/from your pocket pretty easy.
Cons: Price is pretty high, but it IS an actual hard drive and not just a flash drive.
Other Thoughts: The encryption software that come with it is handy, but some of the features don't work on OS X Yosemite, like being able to turn encryption on and off. The utility just completely disappears as soon as you input the password and it mounts the main drive, and there's no way to get back to it once it does so. Also, you cannot use the drive as an OS installer drive if encryption is on, since there's no way to enter a password if you're booting an installer from it. This applies to ANY OS installer you wish to put on this drive.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/19/2015 1:38:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 1TB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect SSD
Pros: The pros are a lot. It's fast, small and compact. The amount of space is awesome..
Cons: The only con is the price.
Other Thoughts: I use it to run my iMac. I use it as the main boot drive. Gives a lot of new life to my iMac. I use the internal 1TB hard drive for OneDrive. I the price is high but well worth.
Reviewed By:Jackamus,5/17/2015 9:53:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 1TB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Samsung Portable SSD T1
Pros: Extremely small for a 1Tb portable..
Solid build quality and very nice looking..
Very easy to set up and secure..
Super fast when working correctly, practically internal SSD speeds..
Decent price point for what you get, a portable SSD the runs through USB 3.0 nearly as fast as an internal SSD through Sata III.
Cons: The only real con was that I had to unplug and replug a couple of times to get the true speeds. The 1st time I plugged it in it was acting like a portable HDD through USB 2.0. Transfer speeds were 10 times slower.
Other Thoughts: Once it was working at full speed I was pleasantly surprised.

Cystal disk Mark #'s...

Seq. - Read 521.8, Write 499.2
512k - Read 486.9, Write 154.3
4k - Read 32.86, Write 105.3
4k QD32 - Read 319.7, Write 177.5

Transfer speeds max...

Down 1.7 Gb from HDD - 123
Up w/ same file from HDD - 109

Down 1.7 Gb from 840 Evo SSD 251
Up w/ same file from 840 Evo SSD 220

I tested my Samsung Evo with the same file back and forth from the 21 TB HDD and got just slightly better results than this portable USB drive. Extremely impressive but 1 egg gone for having to reconnect it to the PC more than once to get these speeds.

If you need a high capacity portable solution and want truly fast speeds this is your unit right here. It puts even the highest capacity flash drives to same in my opinion.
Reviewed By:Bart Hollar,5/13/2015 4:23:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 250GB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Where have you been all my life?
Pros: Construction is durable, this is a QUALITY product! I bought this on a gamble that this drive would be able to function as a Windows to Go device and not only has it paid off, it's performance as a Windows drive has exceeded my expectations. I'm getting 4 second boot-ups with windows 8.1 compared to 3.5 seconds with my internal 840-PRO While running the benchmarks, I am getting about 420 meg/s reads and about 350 writes but that is with NTFS partition which tends to be slower than FAT32 IOPS are roughly half of what an internal SSD runs but I don't even think it would be noticeable for 99% of the users out there.

Don't even think about getting this drive, JUST GET IT because you won't be sorry.
Cons: Samsung did not come up with this device sooner. I've tried a number of external enclosures claiming to have internal SATAIII but all were complete junk. They would either overheat or they would just stop working after a few hours. The Samsung runs cool as a cucumber.
Other Thoughts: Why haven't you bought one yet?
Reviewed By:Marko,5/12/2015 9:56:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 1TB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 SAMSUNG 1TB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1
Pros: excellent-fast-tiny- love it
make a 2TB model!
Cons: what not to like- it's small it's fast - love it
Reviewed By:N/A,5/9/2015 7:26:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 500GB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Don't buy this drive if you use OSx
Pros: Nice looking form factor, but if it doesn't work right out of the gate, it really sucks!
Cons: Requires Samsung software for it to work and even after loading the Kernel level software (which is bad) it will see the drive but then the drive will disconnect about 30 - 60 seconds after starting a single large file copy to the SSD. You can't boot from this device either on Mac. This is a horrible product just because of the software on Mac OSx.
Manufacturer Response:Ray D.:

Thank you for purchasing the Samsung T1 500GB Portable SSD.

I am sorry to hear that you are having difficulties with this unit.

To better assist you, please contact Samsung Customer Support toll-free at 1-800-SAMSUNG and a representative will gladly help you.

You can also email Samsung Customer Support at: samsungmemorysupport@sea.samsung.com

Support hours are from 9AM to 9PM EST, Monday through Friday.

Please know that the T1 Portable SSD Series is intended for external use, not as a boot device. The security features on the unit will not allow it to be a primary boot device. If you are looking for a primary boot device, please consider the Samsung 850 PRO or 850 EVO Series Internal SSDs.

Reviewed By:N/A,4/25/2015 6:16:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.