Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 500GB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Don't buy this drive if you use OSx
Pros: Nice looking form factor, but if it doesn't work right out of the gate, it really sucks!
Cons: Requires Samsung software for it to work and even after loading the Kernel level software (which is bad) it will see the drive but then the drive will disconnect about 30 - 60 seconds after starting a single large file copy to the SSD. You can't boot from this device either on Mac. This is a horrible product just because of the software on Mac OSx.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/25/2015 6:16:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 250GB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 The external hard drive has shrunk
Pros: Not only is this thing tiny - it's about the size of a Zippo lighter, and holds 250GB. And this thing is blazing fast, more than just about any other external hard drive out there. Also has Samsung build quality, 3-D NAND, and reliability. Depending on the connection being used - USB 2.0 transfers data at approximately 32MB/S, and on full USB 3.0 can transfer data at approximately 55 MB/s, and can copy a 2GB iTunes file in just under a minute, where on a mechanical hard drive, you can expect that to take just about under 10 minutes. The added encryption is extra nice - with the size of the drive anyways, you don't want to take a risk on losing it, but in the off chance that you do, your data is secure.
Cons: The only downside is the included cable that is very short. Either have a built in USB connector or include a much longer cable. One time setup program doesn't allow you to easily change the password or give you the option of setting up one later on, should you change your mind and decide that you want to add a password and encryption later on.
Other Thoughts: Samsung is known for quality SSDs, and the external drives are no slouch compared to their internal counterparts. As someone who owns three of them (one 830 and two 840 Evos) it's easy to get excited over an item like this where you can have that speed and quality just about anywhere. I have also owned lots of external hard drives of various shapes and sizes, but nothing compares to the pocket size of this Samsung drive. The only downside is the cord and the software, but those are just minor inconveniences.
Reviewed By:G-Unit1111,4/20/2015 4:30:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > Transcend > Transcend ESD400 128GB USB 3.0 MLC Portable Solid State Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Small size and comes with a sleeve to protect it. Solid State!...what more do you have to say?
Cons: I cannot blame this drive for any of the problems I am experiencing with my save operations. It is simply limited due to the USB 2.0 I am using. All in all this drive performs as I expected.
Other Thoughts: I bought this because a 500GB drive I was using took so long to complete a save operation when modifying a picture saved on that drive. I felt that the fact that it was both a 'spinner' and not a SSD and that it was having to swap the picture out to the computer to perform the function I was doing at the time and then return it down the same 'pipe' to save it all the while the program doing the modifications was on the same drive, was the bottle neck. SO I bought a second drive and transfered the program to the second drive. Now the only thing the first drive does is hold the pictures. Not much of a change in speed. So now, I have to say that it is the limitations of the USB 2.0 that is slowing everything down. I have noticed that after performing one modification, the subsequent operations take a much shorter time to complete.
Reviewed By:Otto56,4/20/2015 12:29:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 250GB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Change Boot Order
Pros: This is message for Deborah B. daddy viewer on March 21
Cons: please change the boot order of your computer, after that you will have no problem . Your computer will boot normally as before and this SSD will not interfere. I think the boot order in your computer is set for first priority USB attached drive
Reviewed By:h***oa,4/16/2015 5:12:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 1TB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Extremely fast
Very small
Light
Seems to be well built
Strong AES 256 encryption
Cons: Short USB cable
Sticker shock
Other Thoughts: In order to use the drive, you have to run the setup utility included on a small startup partition. You can name

the drive and set a password for encryption or choose to not encrypt the drive.

The included USB cable is short, but seems to be pretty tough.

The drive itself is about the size of a credit card, but 5 or 6 cards deep.

Wow this thing is fast. It's almost as fast as my internal SSD and with the capacity seems great for backups or

video use. The limiting factor on it's speed seems to be the USB 3.0 interface, but if you need a USB drive,

this is one to have!

I had some solid performance over USB 2.0 as well, however if you don't have USB 3.0, this drive would be a

waste of money in my opinion.

Enabling encryption can really hurt performance depending on usage, so if speed is a top concern leave the

encryption off.

The drive also gets warm to the touch. I hope this won't affect longevity.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/13/2015 9:16:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 1TB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 ultra fast yet win 8 problematic before format
Pros: Lightning fast. Small blue led. Opted not to use the encryption, but drive set up easily. Just clicked on the icon.

In my win 8.1 computer, came upon errors with the file system while trying to copy files, continued to receive error messages. Seems a problem on the microsoft end.

I had to format this using a Windows XP computer then it worked like a charm.

Speed is comparable to my crucial 16nm ssd. This drive has a faster read than my Kingston 120gb budget ssd.

This is a great drive for backing up your music, movies and multiple pc recovery images.

If you can afford it, for music and movie editors, it is a must have. Will save you a lot of time and energy when moving files. No need to lug around or plug in a power adapter.

As a prospective buyer, you have to weigh if you want the capacity, small footprint, Samsung name at a price premium.
Cons: cable is a bit short and it is not a micro usb so tracking down a replacement cable could be problematic.
Reviewed By:Spring,Summer,Fall,4/12/2015 7:22:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 1TB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love it except for one problem
Pros: +Its a Samsung, which is my opinion is the best brand of SSD drives, right up there with Intel. From what I read its also based on the Samsung 850 line of SSD drives.

+Incredibly small and light weight. Its like half the size of a regular SSD drive.

+Its fast. Very close to the same speeds as my internal sata ssd drives, even though this is running off of USB 3.0.

+Nice looking with nice packaging. The status LED is a small blue led that is not the annoyingly bright kind.

+The USB 3.0 cable is short and feels like high quality. I know some don't like a short cable, but to me its just the right size. I would not want some long cable on a tiny device like this, it would look ridiculous. Its intended to be portable. The cable is thick enough that it easily can hold the ssd without the ssd even resting on anything.

+Supports 256bit encryption if you choose to use that option. If you use this though and forget your password, then they have no way of recovering it. Not knowing you password would require Samsung service to reset it for you, or their faq makes it sound like they would send you a utility to reset the device but everything will be gone that was on it.
Cons: -It works great on my Windows 8.1 desktop computer. However I have tried it an older Toshiba P775 laptop that supports usb 2.0 and has one port for usb 3.0. It is not able to detect this drive on any of its usb ports. That laptop is running Windows 7, however I can see the drive in the laptops bios, so I can only assume its a Windows 7 problem. This is a little disapointing because I love the drive on my desktop which runs Windows 8.1, which is an MSI Z97 motherboard.

-The manual would have been better with larger print. Although you can download the manual off their website which is easier to see.

-The high price. Although in reality its not much higher than the typical 1TB SSD drives are. Plus its a Samsung and you are getting the latest technology with it, which costs more.

-I originally had trouble finding the software off their website to download, but finally found it here:

http://www.samsung.com/global/business/semiconductor/minisite/SSD/global/html/portablessdt1/support.html

When I first installed it, and wasn't able to find that file at the time, I copied it off the drive before setting up the drive, because it will disappear once the drive is set up.
Other Thoughts: ***Normally I don't read SSD manuals, but its definitely worth it to read the tiny manual, it has a lot of important things you need to be aware of***

I do like this compact ssd drive a lot. I was surprised that USB 3.0 can get close to the same speeds as my internal sata ssd drives do. There are a lot of different uses you can have for a drive like this. I have tried it on my Desktop, plus my Xbox One, and it could even be used for a media drive hooked up to a media player, I tried it with my Minix x8 media player and worked great using Kodi. Just don't use a password if you use it for other devices than your desktop/notebook, as it won't work then.

I tested this on my Windows 8.1 desktop PC (MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard with an i7-4771 cpu) using USB 3.0.

Here are some benchmarks I recorded using CrystalDiskMark (MB/s):

Seq READ: 433.9
Seq WRITE: 391.3
512K READ: 390.9
512K WRITE: 375.0
4k READ: 25.39 iops: 6197
4k WRITE: 40.91 iops: 9988
4kQD32 READ: 140.7 iops: 34350
4kQD32 WRTE: 156.6 iops: 38238

My ATTO benchmark recorded maximum read speeds of 453MB/s and maximum write speed of 413MB/s.

I do own an Xbox One also, and tried this drive connected to the Xbox One side USB 3.0 port. Just remember though if you do use it for your Xbox One external storage, that once the Xbox formats the drive, so you can't read the drive in Windows again until you use a utility called "Xbox One Drive Converter". That utility has the ability to make the drive readable again. Do a Google search for directions on it.

Here are some results for a couple of games I tried on the Xbox One. Whether its worth the difference to you or not is obviously your own opinion. Each game will be different also. Comparing it to the Xbox One internal drive vs this SSD drive.

Dragon Age (Time to the game menu):

Internal Drive: 52 seconds
Samsung SSD: 35 seconds


Destiny (Time to the character select screen)

Internal Drive: 1 minute 28 seconds
Samsung SSD: 1 minute 0 seconds


RYSE (Time to the menu)
Internal Drive: 47 seconds
Samsung SSD: 34 seconds

Despite the drive not working on an older laptop that we own, I was tempted to give it a 4 star rating. But I love it so much on my desktop, and it works just fine with my Minix Media Player, plus works fine with my Xbox One, so I will still give it a 5 star rating. I'll post an update if I come across a fix for my problem with the laptop I have. I need more time to test this.
Reviewed By:Timothy_C,4/10/2015 3:31:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 250GB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Samsung 250GB SSD T1
Pros: Small and very light. It weighs mere ounces. 250GB is plenty of extra space as media on the go. I did a couple of real world test with a 1GB file. 268MB/s write from SATA3 HDD to the USB3 SSD T1. 467MB/s Read. So basically 4 seconds to write a 1GB file and 2 seconds to read it.
Cons: It would have been nice to have a built-in USB connection. Right now its hanging out of my desktop by the supplied 2 inch cable. The cable is short and mainly made for a portable solution like a laptop. Other than the cable it came with, the only thing I could possibly complain about is the price. It's understandable why its expensive... it's top-of-the-line for sure. But there are cheaper solutions.
Other Thoughts: This little drive is pretty awesome. Ultra fast read and write. So small and light it can be carried in almost anything, even a wallet (although I would not recommend putting this type of precision device in a wallet). Perfect for video media and gaming on the go.
Reviewed By:G-man,4/7/2015 6:25:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 1TB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Speedy little thing
Pros: First big positive is the speed. Samsung in their disclaimer on the 450MB/s rate says the speed will vary based on hardware and software factors. This is very true and has lead to some interesting results.

Running a benchmark on windows 8.1 with UASP, I was able to get a read speed of 410MB/s and a write speed of 83.1 MB/s.

Running the same test on a windows 10 tech preview computer lead to a read rate of 330 MB/s and a write rate of 264 MB/s. Both of these tests were with unencrypted drives. In either case, these speeds are better than my computers main SSD.

Other pros:
- LED
The LED indicator is not bright and annoying like some, but rather subtle and easy on the eyes.

- Small and portable
The drive is very light and almost feels cheap. It can hang off the included cord without concern of becoming disconnected or wear the cable to heavily.

- Encryption
The security feature is rather un-obtrusive (only lowered the read/write rates by 15-20MB/s). The software is easy to use. When you plug a secured drive into a computer, it mounts a ~128 MB partition with the Samsung utilities. Simply run the utility, enter the password, and it causes the drive to unmount and remount the data partition. However, the utility is being discretely installed on the computer and running from your main disk (C:\ProgramData\Samsung Apps). The installation is very lightweight and invisible to the user. Additionally, switching between password protection and not does not require all the data to be processed, the change is instantaneous.

- USB cable
The included USB cable is about the right length, not too long, not too short. I am glad it does not use an integrated USB connector as it would block many ports and possibly not even fit.
Cons: My biggest beef with this was the fact the included USB cable seems to have a short in it. Some of the time I plugged it in, it would only enumerate at USB2.0. And if the cable was disturbed during a file transfer, I would get an I/O error and the drive would disappear from my computer. I ended up using another cable for my testing.

Other downsides include:
- Software
It is difficult to find the software needed to manage the drive online as of yet. Make sure that if you choose not to encrypt the drive, you copy out the utility files to the desktop so you can run them later on and encrypt the drive if needed.

- Documentation
While the drive comes with a manual, it is lacking. Nowhere in the documentation does it tell about the behavior of the LED. (Yes, it is blue and flashes with activity, but it can also turn orange). Additionally, it would be great if their documentation stated what configurations allow for the best transfer speeds. Nowhere in the documentation did it mention UASP or anything else that would contribute to the speed. You would hate to live with say 300 MB/s when a simple change could add another 150MB/s.

- Recovery
They say there is a utility for recovering the drive from a lost password (erasing the drive in the process of course). But such software I could not find. The included utility didn't seem to advertise how that is done. So don't forget your password if you set one!


Combined, these cons only take off 1 egg. It is a great product, but can be made better in the future.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a great drive. You can fit just over 900GB of data in your pocket/purse/backpack easier than a pack of gum.

The transfer rates on USB 2.0 is about 32 MB/s. Speeds on USB 3.0 will vary, but overall if you are using Windows 8 or newer with USB 3.0, you can expect some great transfer speeds. As with any storage medium, best speeds are achieved with large files. So small files will still suffer a performance hit.
Reviewed By:Kunzy,4/7/2015 8:49:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 1TB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing Little Portable SSD
Pros: Fast.
Very Secure.
Build Quality.
Highly Portable.
3D V-NAND.

External storage is something I have a lot of, every system in my home has one or two USB 3 external HDD's connected to it, some connected 24/7, some not. That's in addition to the home NAS. Most of this drive space is used for backups and redundant data storage.

However there are two 1TB HDD's that I use when I want to travel with data, both have always been reliable and have done their jobs as expected. Both are USB 3 and are basically 2.5 inch laptop HDDs in portable enclosures. So they are relativity small and "fast enough" for most tasks.

After benchmarking (see "Other thoughts") I decided to use this Samsung T1 as a replacement for one of those two HDDs. I wanted to really see where that extra speed paid off.

The first and most obvious is the saved time coping/moving files to and from the T1. Especially large files, or large groups of files, that normally take quite a long time when using an HDD.

These speeds also make it possible to stream media and other content from the drive. You can use it to stream HD+ videos or to run a presentation without having to copy the data to a local drive. No slowdowns, no hiccups.

Secondly, you can easily install software and games to the drive and have them run just as good or better than if they were installed on an internal HDD.

I installed a couple DRM free games on the drive, took it to a friends, and was able to load them up on his PC with ease. On my own system I copied over my Battlefield Hardline installation ran the game from the T1, and it ran wonderfully. Much faster load times than via HDD, nearly as fast as the internal SSD the game sits on normally.

So while the speed benefits of using a portable SSD like the T1 are pretty obvious, what makes this drive any different than other options?

For me this comes down to two points. One being the fact it's a Samsung drive, a tried, true, and trusted world leader in SSD technology.

The other being the AES 256 bit encryption, no software installation is required. I really like having this amazing feature available to you right out of the box, taking only a few moments to setup.

Connecting the drive to your PC will prompt you to name the drive, and choose if you wish to enable the encryption or not. Once done, your data is password protected and secure.

The level of protection is such that forgetting your password will make the T1 unusable, requiring you to use a factory reset tool to reset the T1 back to it's out-of-box state. This will allow you to use the drive again, but data recovery is not possible. I really like this feature, just be sure you don't forget your password.

Overall I am impressed with the Samsung T1. It's fast, secure, and so easily used. It's much more portable than most other options. I really like this drive.
Cons: Short USB3 cable, about 4.5 inches.

Other than that, I didn't find any other cons with the T1.
Other Thoughts: Benchmarking the T1 consisted of two different main systems, one AMD 990FX based, the other Intel Z97, both running Windows 7 Ultimate 64. The software tools used were the latest versions of CrystalDiskMark 64 and ATTO, with queue depth of 10. 1000MB file size on CDM 64 and all default settings on ATTO.

The AMD 990FX based system was running an FX-8350 on the ASUS Sabertooth R2.0 motherboard.

Both CDM 64 and ATTO gave nearly identical numbers, these are the averages.

Sequential Read: 351.5 MB/s
Sequential Write: 335.3 MB/s
512K Read: 315.6 MB/s
512K Write: 313.4 MB/s

If you're experiencing slower than average speeds, about a max of 250 MB/s, on the ASUS Sabertooth (or any other supported ASUS board), you should install the included USB 3 driver, as well as the AI Suite "USB 3.0 Boost" software and enable UASP (USB Attached SCSI Protocol). Once UASP is enabled, you do not have to leave the software installed, but you're speed boost will remain.

The Z97 based system was tested running the i5-4690K. The motherboard was the ASRock Fatal1ty Killer. Again, average speeds between CDM 64 and ATTO since they got nearly identical results.

Sequential Read: 421.1 MB/s
Sequential Write: 403.5 MB/s
512K Read: 374.2 MB/s
512K Write: 378.5 MB/s

Note that using encryption seems to have little to no noticable impact on performance, at least it didn't in my testing, less than 2 MB/s on average between the two.

You may have also noticed that the there is a performance gap between the AMD FX and Intel Z97 systems, up to 70 MB/s on the high end. This actually happens a lot on FX based AMD systems. The older chipset, hardware, and even the drivers can cause this to happen.

I ran CDM 64 on a friends brand new 7850K and MSI A88X-G45 GAMING based build, running Windows 8.1. On that system the numbers much more closely matched the Z97 system.

In closing, this drive is fast, pure and simple. No matter what hardware you're using it with, it's going to be much faster than portable HDD options. The data encryption feature is simple to setup, very effective, and something I really enjoy.

If you're looking for a sleek, stylish portable SSD, that's also blazing fast and secure to store your data on the go, or to just add external storage to your system, then these Samsung T1 drives should really be at the top of your list.
Reviewed By:Robert H.,4/6/2015 1:28:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.