Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Portable Generators > Durostar > DuroStar DS4000S 4000-Watt 7.0 HP Air-Cooled OHV Portable RV Gas Engine Generator

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great generator
Pros: We had big storm , power went out for 3 days. Ran 8 hours constantly. Once it ran out of gas stops which I like very much. Connected Refrigerator, microwave, light, computers no problem. When I ran sump pump , I have to disconnect Microwave , can't take that much of load. I was thinking of going for a sump pump battery backup system. But eventually gave up and bought this generator. Just keep feeling gas and once in a while oil this beast keep you going. Overall I am extremely happy with the price I got less than $300.00 with free shipping no dent new product during Dec 14. Can't beat that deal
Cons: Should have come with wheels. We had old hand truck . Let it sit on it in garage . When required we pull it out to our back padio and run.
Other Thoughts: It should come with wheels , for that charging few extra bucks should be considered.
Reviewed By:Dev,8/12/2014 2:13:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable Generators > Powerland > POWERLAND PORTABLE TRI-FUEL GASOLINE PROPANE NATURAL GAS GENERATOR 10000 WATT 16 HP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Addendum to above review
Pros: See comment below regarding previous review
Cons: See comment below regarding previous review
Other Thoughts: My "mislabeled" comment was wrong. After conferring with PowerLand, I determined that the gas flow was too HIGH. Using the correct setting for NG and reducing the flow valve to about 1/4 open, the thing ran perfectly.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/2/2014 7:40:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable Generators > Powerland > POWERLAND PORTABLE TRI-FUEL GASOLINE PROPANE NATURAL GAS GENERATOR 10000 WATT 16 HP

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Pretty good generator
Pros: This thing is really pretty quiet and very solid. Everything seems to work well, although I haven't given it a full-load workout yet. Can barely hear it inside my home, even in the room where it is just a few feet from the outside wall.

Heavy as hell, though. Luckily, the truck driver agreed to use his pallet mover to get it into my backyard and put it on the base I had prepared.

Started right up and ran smoothly, once I had taken care of the glitches outlined in "cons."
Cons: The manual's English translation is horrible. So are some of the stickers on the machine itself. And a valve was mislabeled with a sticker causing me hours of frustration as I tried to start it using natural gas. (The bottled gas setting worked.)

Be warned, you may have to upgrade your gas meter and/or regulator if you plan on using NG ... my upgrade cost $350. Requires 6 inches of water column and 160,000 BTU.

It's also very heavy. No way to just lift it out of the box ... had to cut it out. I suggest leaving it on the pallet to put the wheels on. Once they're attached, one person can maneuver it around.
Other Thoughts: The manual's Chinese translation to English is difficult to understand. Powerland should spend a few dollars and have a professional (like me) rewrite it. An inexpensive booklet printed on a photocopier would cost pennies per unit and be a real service to customers.

I can't address its operation on propane or gasoline, since I likely will never use it that way and haven't tried those fuels.

For the moment, I plan on using extension cords, but eventually I'll have a switch installed with a sub-panel. Its 10k should power most of my important circuits.

I leave it in place outside, covered tightly with a tarp.
Reviewed By:Jon,7/26/2014 9:19:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable Generators > Durostar > DuroStar DS4400E Watt Quiet Portable Electric Start RV Gas Powered Generator

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best in its Class
Pros: There is a lot to like about this generator. Before making this purchased I looked at several competitive models, did a little research and this one had the others beat especially since I found it on sale. One greatest features that a lot of other units do not have is the 120/240 switch that allows you to place this in the 120v mode. When in this mode you have one 120v 30 amp circuit rather than two 15 amp circuits and do not have to worry about trying to balance your load between two circuits. The wheel kit is pretty nice and so is the electric start. It just arrived today so I assembled the wheel kit, added the oil and gas and it fired right up. I did have to charge the battery. It does come with a good size muffler so the noise level was not too bad. I was also pleased with how quickly it was shipped considering the shipping was free and it weighs over a hundred pounds. I ordered it late Sunday night and it arrived on Thursday.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: It appeared to come with a little oil already in the crankcase. When I added the recommended amount it spilled over. I would add about a pint then check it first before adding more. If you have a small amp battery charger I would probably charged it first before using it. I could not imagine getting a generator this size and not having a wheel kit. If you decide to buy, don't forget to order a cover.
Reviewed By:David,5/15/2014 8:59:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable Generators > Durostar > DuroStar DS10000E 10,000-Watt 16.0Hp Portable Gas Generator with Electric Start and Wheel Kit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 NE gets a -1
Pros: Well Made
Fair Price
Cons: Newegg Iron Clad price guarantee
No cables
Other Thoughts: Unit is large and heavy. Assembly was easy. Started like a dream. Don't forget you need cables and a hook up to your house. I give Newegg a -1 for their lack of websites in the Iron Clad price guarantee program. This unit is $100 less at a MAJOR website, but since it's not on the list NE will not honor the price. Boo Hiss :-)
Reviewed By:mydogaragon,2/17/2014 10:39:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable Generators > Generac > Generac 5981 Portable Generator

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Displeased with Power Tool Store
Pros: Good price, other than that I wouldn't know.
Cons: Seller is Power Tool Store.
Other Thoughts: The Power Tool Store, a division of Bay Verte Machinery, Inc. which sells this though Newegg called me five days after I exchanged money for this product and told me that they could not give me the product until March because they sold me a product they did not have. They told me I could buy a way more expensive product if I wish. I told them to give me my money back. I wont do business with them again.
Reviewed By:Q,2/12/2014 9:02:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable Generators > Durostar > DuroStar DS4400 4,400-Watt Portable Recoil Start Gas-Powered Generator

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Like it
Pros: Wheel Kit, power options and price
Cons: Don't know yet. Waiting for the lights to go out
Reviewed By:Don,12/4/2013 11:50:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Portable Generators > Durostar > DuroStar DS4400 4,400-Watt Portable Recoil Start Gas-Powered Generator

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Weekend warrior`
Pros: Honda-like OHV engine, same design I've seen on power washers, etc...
Small, tight package. Durable quality.
Runs quiet!!!! A+++
Cons: Does not make breakfast or clean my boots
Other Thoughts: This thing will run an small room air conditioner if required. I plan to use it in case power goes out in the winter to run special needs equipment for our child. Also will be the perfect weekend warrior for my property down south. Will run a space heater no problem, plus ample lighting, entertainment, cooking, etc... Very happy with this genny.
Reviewed By:Beachbum,9/3/2013 3:02:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Portable Generators > Durostar > DuroStar DS4400 4,400-Watt Portable Recoil Start Gas-Powered Generator

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Quiet Generator
Pros: Quiet
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I received this model generator as a Christmas gift. It was easy to assemble. It is quieter than other budget generators I've used.

I can't attest to much about it as I've only fired it up once after assembling the wheels, but I was very impressed with how quiet it was.
Reviewed By:evanrevans,8/19/2013 5:18:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Portable Generators > Duromax > DuroMax 10000 Watt Portable Gas Electric Start Generator RV Home Standby Camping

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: This generator was a steal for the price. neighbor helped wire directly to breaker box and it worked great. The 50 amp plug is a nice bonus. Fairly quiet operation. The day installed, power went out...it was our sign that we made right decision. But after comparing what you get with this product to other generators, it's almost a no brainer.
Cons: Not very good instructions to put together. for instance, battery for electric start does not come hooked up and it want easiest locating the negative terminal wire. Shipping was free, but it was a nightmare dealing with fed ex...had to take a day off work to manage it on my end.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/31/2013 10:24:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau