Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Black November
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All Tablets > ASUS > ASUS Transformer Pad Infinity TF700T-B1-GR NVIDIA Tegra 3 1.60GHz 10.1" 1GB DDR3 Memory 32GB Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) Gray Tablet PC

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Repair is unforgiving and expensive
Pros: Great screen resolution and competitively priced at the time.
Cons: alleged quirkyness with freezing, and shut downs
Other Thoughts: I bought THREE of these in 2012 along with keyboards, two for my two adult daughters and one for me. I never really got to use mine as it finally stopped working. First the connection with the keyboard started getting flaky then the tablet wouldn't turn on at all. Tries lots of help through tech support, but no help, they recommended sending it in. Though it was hardly used, they wouldn't give any free repair. This is the problem, they're systematic on repairs.

They gave me an RMA in Oct, I sent it in, and didn't hear from them for weeks, and four weeks later it arrived in the mail alleging they tried to contact me by email and phone, and not response so sent it back. Called tech support, and they said I was contacted by phone and email, and I verified they had the right email and phone. Never got any response. Why would I ignore? Was told the estimate was $55. I asked if I could just pay the $55 and send the tablet back in. No, they had to issue a new RMA, and a new estimate had to be issued. Told me to track the package and call if I didn't get estimate within 3-5 days after it was received.

Got an estimate yesterday. Said it would be $184 to replace the motherboard - most expensive repair I was told. Now I'm trying to decide if it's worth paying $184, and only a "90 day warranty" . . or go buy a new one on line for $199 with a one year warranty, or buy a refurbished one for similar cost. Can't evaluate if the table is "worth" the $184 because I didn't get much change to use it, before it failed. Am I throwing $184 after something that's going to fail again? Reading the reviews concerns me about another repair and the quirkyness of the wireless and GPS. Dilemma.
Reviewed By:Keith,11/26/2014 1:21:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Tablets > Vulcan Electronics > Vulcan Challenger II VTA080I Intel Atom 1 GB DDR3 Memory 16 GB eMMC 8.0" Touchscreen Tablet Windows 8.1 + Free Keyboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Only for those with Above Average Windows 8.* Skills
Pros: I was fairly impressed when I first opened the box. It would look really Nice under a Christmas tree, but looks can be deceiving. If You already have a USB to micro USB adapter cable for a phone or camera, You're in good shape since it only has one that's far too short and You'll need two. One for the Tablet and one for the keyboard. The charger isn't capable of charging the batteries while in use, only maintaining the charge, and since both arrived with around 5% capacity, charging overnight is advisable.
Cons: I'm not sure if a USB adapter will work for a regular mouse, so that's why I recommended using one that's Designed to Work with the Built-In Doggle. Just be forewarned that having both WIFI and Bluetooth enabled will decrease the battery life to under three hours.
Other Thoughts: The included instructions are minimal putting it kindly and You'll need it to read them as well as the screen later until You're finished with the setup. I'd suggest that anyone who hasn't done multiple Windows 8.* setups on a regular size screen find someone who has to help them through it.
If You have large fingers that'll also be a problem since the things You'll need to access are so small and don't always work. After the first install of over 60 updates it'll get a little easier, then after the second batch of another 40+ updates, Well, You'll probably still have problems if Your mouse hasn't arrived yet. I'll order one after I finish this.
.
Windows 8.* isn't a OS designed to work on a small screen. It also has a Steep Learning Curve. I've spent over 12 hours a day using it for the last Two Years and I'm still learning. To get The Privacy and Security Settings correct it's easier to work in desktop versus metro mode. Once I get a mouse and learn how to get the magnifier to move around the screen, My rating May go up, I'm just warning People Not to expect plug and play
Reviewed By:Not 2 Happy,11/26/2014 10:52:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > All Tablets > Digital2 > Digital2 10" PAD Platinum D2-1061G_MS with Quad Core 1.0 GHz, 1 GB DDR3, 16GB internal Storage, Google Android 4.1 Jelly Bean with Cameras

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3
Pros: Quad core, pretty easily rooted, google play store pre-installed, can charge with adapter or USB. Youtube vids play pretty nicely.
Cons: Very narrow viewing angle, weak wifi, kernel doesn't support CIFS, slow, runs hot. Heavy. Fingerprint magnet.
Other Thoughts: I'm reluctant to give this item 3 stars, but I'm taking into account that you get what you pay for and that Newegg's shipping and service are, as usual, stellar.

I bought this tablet primarily as a comic book reader. It is completely useless for that purpose.

First, the viewing angle on this tablet is horrible. There is really only one very small sweet spot so even when using in portrait, you have to kind of hold it at an angle to not get reverse images or shadowing. Forget about reverse landscape. Adding a matte screen protector makes it even worse.

Second the wi-fi. I have six wireless devices on my LAN including three other budget tablets from other manufacturers. All of them get wonderful signal from my AP. This tablet only gets over 2 bars if it is within 3 feet of the AP. Most of the time it is struggling for one bar and frequently disconnects while another tablet sitting right next to it has 4 bars.

The kernel doesn't support CIFS / Samba. And I can't seem to find a CIFS.ko that works with it and it's just not worth trying to figure out how to build a custom kernel. This ties into my wanting to use it as a comic book reader since my comic book files are centrally stored on my NAS. Even if the screen was beautiful (which is isn't), I would have to either copy them to an SD card or use something like WifiDroid or AirDroid to copy them to the device before I could use them. I know...it's common for stock kernels to not support CIFS, but I'm just comparing them to my other budget tablets (iView) which natively support CIFS / Samba.

I am very surprised at how laggy and slow this tablet is. I expected a quad core to scream, but it doesn't. My iView tabs are all single core (granted, at 1.2GHz) and they run circles around this one. Apps that run fine on the iView frequently stop responding on the Digital2.

Oh, and boy is it heavy!
Reviewed By:N/A,11/26/2014 9:40:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Tablets > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG Galaxy Tab S 10.5 - Exynos 5 Octa Core 3GB Memory 16GB 10.5" Touchscreen Tablet Android 4.4, Titanium Bronze (SM-T800NTSAXAR)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent tablet
Pros: I bought this as a laptop replacement. I am not disappointed. I also purchased the Samsung keyboard cover with this. The tablet is thin, light and fast. Not optimal for play store games, but not why it was purchased. I also believe the reason is due to the games not being programmed for this tablet, not the tablet itself. Time will tell on that. However, if you are looking for something light weight to take with you while you travel, this is it. The screen is amazing. I use this to watch videos and work and I have not used anything better,
Cons: Waiting for play store to catch up to this tech.
Other Thoughts: I have used windows 8.1 and other android tablets. This is far superior in every way.
Reviewed By:Jim,11/26/2014 8:42:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Tablets > ASUS > ASUS MeMO Pad ME170CX-A1-BK Intel Atom 1GB Memory 16 GB eMMC 7.0" Touchscreen Tablet Android 4.3 (Jelly Bean)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 BATTERY !! everyone was right!
Pros: Excellent overall, Poor picture quality but that's because ASUS made room for their proprieties. I am so happy to own a tablet that is not 50 pounds heavy with resource gobbling bloatware!! thank ASUS for that..It unwrapped and appeared to be brand new...uh uh uh
Cons: MAN everyone was right, the battery is killing me, I got it, and put it straight on charge, from about 2 ish til 9 last night, ok i'm a night owl, 2 hrs later the batt is dropping like New Chinese banking system. ((POOF))) ok, 10 back on, I been up all night snagging deals, some really good ones out there, Wish i would say , DANG!! ANYWAY Off charge around 4 this time, Same diddly Doo, 2-3 hrs depending and whoop, GONE! What's funny is nothing is running, no bloatware, OK thats that, NEXT...WHERE IS MY USB CHARGER! Ok suspicious now. The pamphlet says it comes with one, AND was very clear to use only the one provided that i may void warranty, so what's up ? No direct contact with my Smart TV or Computer then? WAIT A MINUTE ...I'm a funny guy, I need to RMA based on 2-3 hr battery life. My buddy told me he opened up the back and just disconnected his Samsung Galaxy when it had calibration issues, something about a red X, My buddy is also nuts if he thinks i'm risking my RMA, OK, Off to RMA
Other Thoughts: OK RMA AND UPPING TO THE 16 GB But it really is slick!
Reviewed By:Pangaea,11/26/2014 5:12:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Tablets > iVIEW > iView SupraPad i700 Tablet - Intel Dual Core 2 GB RAM / 16GB Flash Memory 7.0" Touchscreen Android 4.4 (KitKat) with Case, Google Certified - GMS

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 above average for price
Pros: Fast
2 GB Ram
16 GB Nand as main storage
Price under $60 "what more can i say"
Cons: Android 4.4.2 "will it ever update ?????"
Bad display resolution its useable but not crisp
Small battery last about 4 hours at Max use
Ram is DDR2 "well the processor supports only DDR2 don't know why the posted it as DDR3 "
No IPS
NO stereo
Weak WIFI
No HDMI "Even the cheapest tablets have that "
Can't cast screen to Chromecast "It detects it if i reset the tablet as soon as google do updates after connecting account it refuse to see chromecast" Casting from apps work fine.
My biggest concern will be support for firmware updates I think its highly unlikely as i have seen from all china tablets .
the folio is not that good .
Camera on this tablet is a joke
Other Thoughts: This tablet is created by the same company who make ipad for apple.
Think i might return it and just get a nexus even the older model are superior then this in terms of quality.
Reviewed By:aliG,11/25/2014 10:50:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > All Tablets > Ematic > Ematic EGQ307BL ARM Quad-Core Processor 1GB Memory 8GB 7.0" Touchscreen Tablet PCAndroid 4.2 (Jelly Bean)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Device...
Pros: HARDWARE:
This is a great little tablet for it's price point! It runs an ARM Cortex-A7, Allwinner A31 1.2 GHz 32bit Quad-Core CPU and a Dual-Core PowerVR SGX 544MP GPU by Imagination Technologies. It has 1GB of RAM and 5.25GB of usable flash storage split into 1GB for system and 4.25GB for data. All of this is packed behind a 7' multi-touch screen running 1024 x 600 @ 160 dpi. Which is a pretty nice resolution for a tablet in this category. It also comes equipped with a fairly standard 0.3 MP (640x480) front facing camera and a 4085 mV LiFe battery.

SOFTWARE:
It runs a pretty much stock version of Android 4.2.2. I know some people like to have a flashy software package pre-installed but I'm not one of 'em. This is actually a plus in my book because there is very little "BloatWare" for me to have to rip out later.

PERFORMANCE:
It scored a 14740 using Antutu 5.3 and it scored 273(single) / 928(multi) using GeekBench 3.0.., But since I don't benchmark a lot of random tablets this didn't tell me a whole lot. So I tested it myself by playing Angry Birds, Vector, Clash of Clans and Kill Shot. To my surprise all four games played great. I expected Angry Birds and Vector to play well but when the smooth playback continued with the 3D games I was very happy. This has been a big problem with other "Entry Level" tablets I have tried in the past.

VERDICT:
For only $50 you can't beat it. This would be a good choice as an entry level tablet for the average user.
Cons: CONS:
The specs on this tablet are not exactly as they are advertised., All the websites say that it has a 1.5 GHz CPU but it actually has a 1.2 GHz CPU. They also say that it has 8GB of storage when it actually has just 4.24GB.

Aside from that I dont really have any Cons...
Reviewed By:N/A,11/25/2014 6:00:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Tablets > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG Galaxy Tab 4 7.0 Quad Core Processor 1.5GB Memory 8GB 7.0" Touchscreen Tablet Android 4.4 (KitKat)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Just don't even.
Pros: Power connector feels solid (most of these low-cost tablets, the micro-USB feels all wiggly, and those ALWAYS come loose after a few months of use).
Cons: Stopped charging a week after I bought it. Looking around a bit on the 'net reveals that this is an extremely common problem for Samsung tablets. It's just not worth the gamble, stay away from these.
Other Thoughts: A generic Android tablet without too much bloatware.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/25/2014 9:49:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Tablets > Microsoft > Microsoft Surface RT 64 10.6” Tablet PC with Nvidia Tegra 3 1.4Ghz Quad Core, 2GB DDR3 Memory, 64GB Storage, Windows RT (Upgradable to Windows RT 8.1)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Simply an amazing deal!
Pros: The best deal for a Surface with Windows 8.1 RT anywhere! Keep in mind this is not the full Windows 8...it is Windows RT. If you only need Office and can do without installing custom programs then it is perfect for you. I am a Freelance Writer and I purchased this for with Word, Excel, Outlook and web access in mind. The display is crisp. The processor is fast and the size is perfect.
Cons: Must purchase keyboard seperately. If you don't want to spend $100 on a MS keyboard, just go generic. I got one here on Newegg for $32
Reviewed By:Ketti,11/25/2014 8:03:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Tablets > iVIEW > iView SupraPad i700 Tablet - Intel Dual Core 2 GB RAM / 16GB Flash Memory 7.0" Touchscreen Android 4.4 (KitKat) with Case, Google Certified - GMS

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good value but know what you are getting
Pros: Amazing bang for your buck. The value on this thing gets five stars. So if you are looking for a cheap tablet for the kids or really basic tasks, this might be a perfect fit.

Comes with a case (cheap but hey you'd didn't have to buy it) and a screen protector (if you wanted that).

Can be charged by both USB or separate power charger. Don't know if that is really a pro or not, but hey you have options if you wanted them.

Has 16gb of space instead of 8gb you'd often see in cheap tablets and 2gb of ram instead of 1gb (but ddr2 instead of ddr3, see first con).
Cons: This listing is labeled incorrectly. Says that it has 2gb of DDR3 ram but it is actually DDR2 ram listed on the actual item received.

The rest of these items you already knew when buying the tablet:
Battery life is low side with only a 3000mAh, so don't expect 7+hrs of continuous usage out of the tablet.

The screen resolution is not HD level and it is noticeable even on this form factor. You can definitely stream content and enjoy it if you aren't picky (I'd be fine) but the colors are more washed out and definitely not even as close to as crisp as the $150 tablets.
It comes with a screen protector on, so I'm not sure how much that effects the experience. I do know that it makes the screen feel much more tacky/sticky than other tablets, but since this will be used for kids, I've just left the protector on instead of taking it off to check the difference. Also it is sometime a little less responsive to touching on the screen than my other tablets.

This is not an IPS screen so don't expect great viewing angles.

Mono-sound, so don't expect much, but it is fine at arms length in a normal setting.
Other Thoughts: I also have a Nexus 7 (2nd gen), arguably one of the best android tablets until recently, so that I'm comparing to. Most of the cons are things that you would expect when comparing this tablet up against tablets that cost double the amount. If you compare this tablet to similar tablets in its price bracket, I'd probably lean more towards 4/5 stars.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/24/2014 10:11:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.