Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Dehumidifiers > Frigidaire > Frigidaire FAD704TDP 70-Pint Dehumidifier (White) White

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 just doesn't work!
Pros: It worked for the 1st year
Cons: hooked up to sump pump and doesn't do a thing.
Other Thoughts: I would not buy another frigidaire. My old stand by Kenmore still works with a hole in the tank and it has to be propped up to work...but it works! Only problem with this one is it does not have the hook-up for the sump pump. for the Frigidaire price...it should work, but doesn't
Reviewed By:N/A,5/31/2015 4:58:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Dehumidifiers > Haier America Trading > Haier HM70EP 70 Pint Dehumidifier with Built-In Drain Pump

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Worked well, when it was working.
Pros: Price, 1 year warranty
Cons: Non-brand name (I don't consider Haier a common appliance manufacture), longevity, reliability.
Other Thoughts: Have owned since July '14. Didn't use it from December till April '15. Compressor is no longer cycling. Fan is running, but no signs of condensation being extracted from the air. Humidity is high in the basement, so it should be pulling out pint's by the hour. Will see how Haier stands behind the warranty. Will post an update if their customer service and warranty are exceptional.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/26/2015 8:32:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Dehumidifiers > Frigidaire > Frigidaire FAD504DWD 50-Pint Dehumidifier, White

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 bob
Pros: Works good. One and a half years, going strong. What a difference down in my old basement. I chose this unit after some careful consideration.
Cons: None besides that they all obviously cost you to buy and to run.
Other Thoughts: If you have a place to drain, then you can leave it running as I do in my basement without much thought. Newegg is the best.
Reviewed By:blueflash 1,4/8/2015 1:21:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Dehumidifiers > Frigidaire > Frigidaire FAD704DWD 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terrible Experience
Pros: None worth mentioning.
Cons: NEVER BUY A FRIGIDAIRE / ELECTROLUX PRODUCT – THEY DO NOT HONOR THEIR WARRANTY!!!
I bought the Frigidaire FAD704DWD dehumidifier from A in September largely based on the numerous positive reviews online. So I’m rather surprised and extremely disappointed to now be writing this 1 star review, which would frankly be zero stars if that was possible. The unit arrived in a damaged box that looked like it had already been opened and then stapled back together. The unit itself wasn’t visually damaged, so I set it up in our finished basement (with a hose to the drain) and let it do its thing. A few weeks to a month later, while it was running I could hear a very high pitched whine. It ultimately got to the point where it was audible and bothersome from all the way across the house. I stupidly didn’t jump right on it and return it to A before their 30 day window was up, so had to go the route of contacting Frigidaire. This was a many hours long nightmare on the phone just to get through to a human. When I finally did, the lady was helpful. I explained the problem, and she said that I would get a call back in the next day or two with instructions to take it to Lowe’s or somewhere like that to get it changed out. That was fine with me. So when I got the call back from Frigidaire/Electrolux I was dumbfounded by what I heard. This lady, who wasn’t polite at all, said that my request was denied as dehumidifiers are designed for hot and humid climates and are seasonal devices so they aren’t processing any claims during the “cold and dry winter months”. (I live in Indiana, and it definitely hasn’t been dry… or very cold in the time since I bought the unit, and it has never been operated outside of the guidelines set forth in the use & care manual.) I am truly stupefied by this response from Frigidaire/Electrolux. To me it smells of trying to keep warranty claims off the books until the New Year or something like that. This is a brand new dehumidifier that is clearly faulty and they won’t replace or repair it. Well, actually, she said that if I call back in the spring when it isn’t a “winter month” then they would re-consider the case, and I should just go by another one in the mean time. Really???!!!! This sort of customer service from a company as long-standing as Electrolux is beyond inexcusable. My family will never buy another Frigidaire-Electrolux product, ever! And in the mean time I’m still out $223 for something that doesn’t work. Don’t make the same mistake I made; go with another brand.
Reviewed By:MTMLG,12/5/2014 1:28:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Dehumidifiers > Friedrich > Friedrich D70BP 70 Pint Dehumidifier, Built-in Drain Pump

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Product arrived unusable
Pros: None yet, see cons
Cons: As with other reviews, the box arrived with a large dent and rip in it. The difference with my product was that the unit itself sustained some serious damage. The power cord was ripped with bare copper wire exposed. The unit is made of a heavy plastic material, and there was a corner that had the plastic ripped (It appears that this box was seriously abused during the shipping process) . There was also a scratch on it.

Needless to say, I did not plug this unit it to try it.
Other Thoughts: Repairing the wire may not be a hard task, but looking at the damage to the outside of the unit and judging by the force it took to take gouges out of the hard plastic, I imagine the insides of the unit are damaged.

I requested a replacement. Newegg's return process is a breeze so far.
Reviewed By:Owen,9/23/2014 4:19:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Dehumidifiers > Soleus International > Soleus Air TDA70E 70 Pint Dehumidifier, 24 Hour Timer and Hose Connector for Continuous Drain, New

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 No good luck for me
Pros: This unit works great, when it works.
Cons: The unit we have stop working less than 2 month.
We have to pay $33 shipping for a replacement unit.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/15/2014 2:09:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Dehumidifiers > Soleus International > Soleus Air TDA70E 70 Pint Dehumidifier, 24 Hour Timer and Hose Connector for Continuous Drain, New

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Could use some improvements
Pros: It does remove a lot of moisture. Compressor is pretty quiet.
Cons: Fan, though advertised as quiet, is no more quiet than others I have used. The bucket fills almost to the rim and is very difficult to remove without spills. The humidity setting is almost meaningless- the unit tends to run almost continuously regardless of the setting. The compressor may eventually shut down at some level far below the setting (maybe from overheating) but the fan, instead of running for a few more minutes will run for hours, or possibly never stop until the bucket is full..
Other Thoughts: This is my third small dehumidifier, other two were also made by Soleus (China) but marketed by other brands. Neither of the other two had an especially impressive lifetime- beig about 4-5 years under moderate use. This unit is excellent at removing moisture but much inferior to the others in usability and other functions. The documentation is very poor. The timer might work, but it is essentially impossible to figure out how to set it. If the unit would actually honor the humidity percentage settings it would be at least 4-star.
Reviewed By:Jackhappens,9/9/2014 6:54:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Dehumidifiers > Soleus International > Soleus Air TDA70E 70 Pint Dehumidifier, 24 Hour Timer and Hose Connector for Continuous Drain, New

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not impressed
Pros: Nice controls. Looks good.
Cons: It never got the humidity below 63% running on the 55% living room mode. Blowing HOT air out. Not warm, very hot, so much so the room became uncomfortable.

Not quiet at all. As loud as my previous unit.
Other Thoughts: I unplugged it and put the old one back. Not sure what I'm going to do with it, "hope" it's not working as intended. Will contact someone for advice.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/8/2014 4:48:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Dehumidifiers > Friedrich > Friedrich D70BP 70 Pint Dehumidifier, Built-in Drain Pump

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 D70BP - Powerful, effective dehumidifier with many features
Pros: Very well built, attractive looks, easy to use, does its job really well.
Quickly reduced relative humidity (RH) in my 15'x10'x10' living room from 55% - 60% to low 40s, and below 40% within an hour (Note: RH above 55% starts to become a risk factor for mold).
It's rated at 70 pints per day for moisture removal, with the capacity also rated as 70 pints, but I had to empty it more than once per day when running it continuously.

Features are quite extensive, and include the following:

- LEDs on top of unit indicate room temperature and current RH, the latter briefly showing the desired RH when you set it via up/down buttons.

- Timer can be set from 1-24 hours for automatic shutdown - default is to run continuously until target RH is reached or until the large internal water receptacle is full.

- Water receptacle is easy to remove without spillage and has a built-in carrying handle. When full, it beeps to alert you, and shuts the unit off.

- There are also two external drainage methods: one via an internal pump using a 15' hose, the other via gravity feed using a short, wide hose to a lower drain point. If you have a nearby drain, either will save you the inconvenience of manually emptying the receptacle.

- Pre-installed casters are very handy as this model weighs fifty pounds due to its hefty internal components.

- Two fan speeds, low and high (noise at both speeds is also a Con though).

- When the target RH is reached or shortly after, the unit shuts itself off. It will turn on again after RH is 5 or so points above target. In my opinion the delay is about right so that on/off is not cycling too frequently.

- Easy to remove and clean air filter
Cons: Fan noise - Both fan settings are loud, much louder than my HEPA air filter at its highest setting. In addition, the low setting on my unit causes some kind of whine. I believe it is caused by the air flow through the vents on top since if I disrupt it (without blocking the vents) with my hand it disappears. Because of this, the high setting, though louder, is less annoying.

Due to the way dehumidifiers work, it naturally produces heat - enough to raise my room temperature five degrees or more, to around 80F at time of writing. This may not be a problem for everyone, of course.

Plastic protective cover on control panel is starting to bubble up very slightly around the buttons after two weeks use. Apart from that, the unit is attractive and sturdy.

Drainage pump has a 15' limit on height/distance between unit and drain location.
Other Thoughts: Due to its noise, the D70BP is best suited for use in an unoccupied room, eg. if you have a damp cellar, or want to dehumidify a bedroom during the day. Or any room when you are out for work, etc.. As another reviewer mentioned, it would be nice to have an extra low fan setting that could lessen the noise to an acceptable level.
It's incredibly effective though, and I was surprised how much moisture it sucked out of my living room in just a few hours.

I tested all three drain methods. The internal bucket filled up in 6-8 hours in my somewhat drafty apartment, in a fairly humid area. The gravity drainage was least convenient, as the unit has to be higher than the drain with the somewhat short hose running horizontally or downward, with no upward incline. I tested the drain pump method by draping the 15' hose over a shower curtain rail in my bathroom and it worked as expected. The drain pump noise was quite acceptable and low, especially compared to the fans.
If you don't have a convenient drain, you could use a large external bucket, but there's a risk of overflow. I would stick with the internal receptacle in this case.

I measured power usage with my Kill-A-Watt meter, and it averaged around 650-685 watts on either fan setting (the drain pump added maybe 5-10 watts, if my meter is to be trusted). So it's costly to run 24/7 - not unexpected due to its powerful motor.

In terms of build quality, looks, and functionality, the D70BP is a great product and easily worth 5 eggs. I'm deducting an egg only because it's too loud to use while I'm in the same room.
Reviewed By:Peter L.,9/5/2014 5:31:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Dehumidifiers > Haier America Trading > Haier HM70EP 70 Pint Dehumidifier with Built-In Drain Pump

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Haier Dehumidifier
Pros: Easy to setup and operate. Removes humidity in my basement completely. Bought it for $179.00. No shipping cost. Quick delivery.
Cons: NONE
Reviewed By:xmayoman,8/31/2014 7:41:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.