Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR WN3500RP-100NAS N600 WiFi Range Extender

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 didn't work ... but does now
Pros: None...now that it works, it's a very good device
Cons: Sadly, this device doesn't work and stalls when setting it up. I'm not sure why, but after repeated attempts, I give up....gets very hot.
Other Thoughts: It took a while, but I finally got it to work. To be fair it works well but it gets super hot very quickly. Have edited my rating to reflect this.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/23/2016 6:39:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > ASUS > ASUS RP-AC56 AC1200 Wireless Dual-Band Repeater / Access Point/Media Bridge

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not a bad device, but shop around
Pros: Asus is in my top brands of peripherals, both inside and outside of my PC case. The Asus router I had used in the past was a let down, however, and I was excited to see if this could redeem it.

The device was generally pretty easy to set up – WPS is always a plus. For the purposes of testing, I tried using WPS, but also reset the device and manually configured it with a new SSID (so I knew where I was connected). The user interface is generally pleasant and isn’t too difficult to use. The body of the device features two large antennae, though who knows if they really have much of a positive effect on the bottom line. At least they look technical…

When placed properly, the device does extend your wireless network strength – I saw an extra 3-6 db of strength, depending on the device and what side of the wall I was on. That was on 2.4 GHz; I generally don’t bother with the 5 GHz unless I need to.
Cons: The device isn’t particularly small, and without a power pass-through, it eats up both outlets on a standard duplex. You could always get a power extender (1 foot cable) but now it is either dangling haplessly or laying on the floor, neither of which are ideal. Long story short, at this price point, it definitely should include a power pass-through.

Also, the price. There are lots of choices out there and paying this much seems like a stretch, when you could just bite the bullet and buy some Cat6 and wire yourself a jack so you can put a proper wired access point in. At the current price, my improvement is somewhere around $19-$33 per dB signal strength increased. Quite frankly, that seems a little steep to me, especially considering you are losing half of your throughput capacity in the process (see below).
Other Thoughts: The concept of a range extender is simple – it connects to your existing wifi network (somewhere well within the reach of your existing router) and pumps out essentially a matching signal, allowing you to extend your network a little further. The downside of this is that by being wireless in and out, your maximum throughput is only 50% of what it would be connected directly to the router (because the repeater has to wireless send data back to the router over the same channels). What this means that for data-intensive tasks such as streaming 4k on Netflix or downloading large files, you’re better off just moving closer to the router or wiring in.
Reviewed By:Dean M.,9/23/2016 4:45:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > D-Link > D-Link Wireless Range Extender (DAP-1320), Wireless N300, One-button WPS set-up

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Garbage Product
Pros: Great way to throw away your money.
Cons: Plugged unit in, got red light on unit. Never able to access to set up. Instructions indicate red light means defective unit. Newegg won't take back.
Other Thoughts: Save your money and buy a Netgear extender. Both Newegg and Netgear support Netgear products better than DLink supports theirs.
Reviewed By:Gary M.,9/22/2016 2:23:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > EDIMAX > EDIMAX EW-7438RPn Mini N300 Mini Wi-Fi Extender/Access Point/Wi-Fi Bridge

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 No problems.
Pros: Using as an access point to stream to a Roku TV. Works great with no hiccups, no issues, no buffering.
Cons: None about the device.
Went on sale 4 days after purchase, but isn't that always the way?
Other Thoughts: Little bit of a bother to set up. Plugged it into wired network, had to connect to it via wireless laptop; change configuration to access point; it works perfectly for my needs.
Reviewed By:Brian M.,9/21/2016 12:25:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Linksys > LINKSYS RE6500HG Dual Band Wireless AC Range Extender

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works very well, simple to use
Pros: 1. Set up is easy
2. Works well
3. Simple
4. Has Ethernet ports
5. Works on 2.4 and 5.0 GHz bands
6. No problems so far

This range extender works very well. You plug it in. It finds your wireless network. Enter the password in the extenders address and you are on line. That is it. The rear Ethernet ports are probably not that useful, but they are still there and work.

The manual is one page. Follow the directions and you are on your way.
Cons: 1. Not living room/wife friendly.
2. May have to set up with network address on internet page
3. Costs are a little high

My wife saw this thing and definitely did not want it the living room. I have hidden it behind a desk.
Other Thoughts: There are two variables on speed with this device. The first is how close you are to the wireless network. The second is how close you are to this device. Since this device is boosting a single, you need to expect some degradation in speed. Yet, it takes care of problem, it does it well and fast.

I had this set up on my phone including unboxing in about 2 minutes. It has worked ever since. I have had reset our router three times. This device has worked like a trooper without fail. It must not get very hot. It has been running continuously for two months now.

I like that there are Ethernet ports. It gives the device some interesting functionality that most extenders do not.

This device is meant to be very simple. It is. So do not expect a lot of fine controls. It is meant to fix a problem. It does and does it well.
Reviewed By:Patrick H.,9/21/2016 7:34:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-Link > TP-LINK TL-WA860RE-E 300 Mbps Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender / Repeater with Power Outlet Pass-through, Dual External Antennas, One-button Setup, Smart Signal Indicator (Easy-open package)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy to use extender TP-LINK TL-WA860RE-E
Pros: The TP-LINK TL-WA860RE-E is box shaped and the outside is a smooth white plastic. An Ethernet cable and mini CD, along with instructions is included. The grounded pass though outlet is a unique feature and means a power outlet is not lost when the extender is in use. Getting up and running is a matter of a few minutes. It was simple to plug in, connect to the autogenerated TP-Link_Extender_randomnumbers wireless network, open a browser window to the web management page and enter the default admin login and password. A few options are available and select the extended network name and password to connect to the primary network. In a few moments, the LED went from blinking green to solid green and all was ready to go. Always change the default login password for good security.

The extender has two antennas that are adjustable to obtain the optimum coverage. A handy smart signal indicator has LEDs that indicate if there in a good connection, or if the extender is too close, too far away from the router, or no connection. A single Ethernet port is at the bottom of the extender to connect any type of wired device such as another computer, Blu-ray player, console, DVR, TV, etc. This is a 10/100 Mbps connection.

It is rated up to 300 Mbps, but one should not expect that in a normal use situation where the signal passes through walls in a house. In my use, it was consistently in the mid 30 Mbps at the furthest location I would use it, which was fine for my typical usage. In a few weeks of use, I never needed to do anything to the extender and it was reliable in everyday use.
Cons: It is not designed to, but note this does not extend a 5 GHz network.
Other Thoughts: It is not a slim device, but the color is unobtrusive and blends in well when plugged into an outlet. The on/off switch on the side is useful in that it does not require it to be unplugged to turn it off.
Reviewed By:Michael L.,9/20/2016 6:15:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-Link > TP-LINK RE580D AC1900 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Range Extender

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Restarts for no apparent reason
Pros: -Great internet speed (while on)
-easy to setup took me about 2 minutes
Cons: -Restarts for no apparent reason in mid use.
-If I didn't have this problem it would be a great product
(if you have any idea what the problem is please tell me)
Manufacturer Response:Hello Sawyer,

Thank you for your feedback of our range extender.

Our support team would appreciate an opportunity to assist you with your connection concerns.

At your earliest convenience, please send an e-mail including your contact details to our Support Team at the address below so we may have a Support Agent follow up with you for assistance.

Please reference case number 160922-031475 in your response.

We thank you again for your feedback and certainly hope this experience will not discourage you from checking out more of our great networking products in the future.

Best Regards!
TP-LINK Support Team
(866) 225-8139
ussupportteam@tp-link.com

Reviewed By:Sawyer M.,9/18/2016 8:17:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Amped Wireless > Amped Wireless SR10000 High Power Wireless-N 600mW Range Extender and Smart Repeater

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 worked fine for 3 months
Pros: easy setup
Cons: worked fine for 3 months and just quit
Other Thoughts: 2nd Amped product to fail this past year, going to try another brand
Reviewed By:Dennis S.,9/18/2016 8:06:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Linksys > Linksys RE4100W-4A Wireless N600 Pro Wi-Fi Dual Band Range Extender with Built-In Audio Speaker

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 A good choice if you are in the market for a range extender
Pros: Competitive Pricing
Once setup the RE4100W-4A quickly (~40sec) restablishes connection to the router which allows for movement as and when needed.
Very well written downloadable PDF is quite complete covering everything a normal user might ask.
The setup IP has a help page for each and every page. In the upper right corner is a HELP clicking on it explains all the settings available on a page
Ethernet Port
DLNA streaming
Cons: Unless you go into setup and rename the RE4100 extender network you might not even know you are connected to the RE4100.
Do that first.
Ethernet 10/100
Sometimes I notice the green go light is amber for a few seconds, as I pass by, which means weak connection to the router. Maybe the microwave is running
Other Thoughts: Overview of range extender states "Wi-Fi range of up to 7,500 square feet". While possibly true, a search asking the question: What's the radius of a 7500 square foot circle the answer is 48.86 feet. Which means the network can be extended 48.86 feet max from the RE4100W-4A. I am sure these are line of sight ideal condition numbers. I would like data on ideal line of sight...How far can I place this from the router and still get the 7500 sq. foot coverage

I tested this with Win 7, 8.1, 10, Android Kit Kat and Linux Mint using multiple brands of network adapters (Qualcomm Atheros AR5B93, Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6205, Edimax Nano USB, TP-LINK TL-WN722N USB and a TL-WN881ND Wireless N300 PCIE) on three laptops: Acer (2), a Dell and a home brew desktop. All variant connections were tested with a TP-Link Archer 5 AC 1200 router. Once I had the RE4100W-4A setup I had no issues connecting in any combination I cared to try except for the Linux Mint would would not connect to the Edimax Nano USB (the only adapter I tried). I don't know why and didn't care to look into it


Audio output with DLNA streaming: I used my Kit Kat Hisense Sero 7 Pro and an app called ShareON DLNA WiFi Music Player to stream music from my primary computer to some Logitech powered, 3.5 mm plug speakers. The RE4100W-4A gave me good sound and no hiccups.

I can confirm that the ethernet port works. I wish I knew the reason it is limited to 100Mbps. Maybe cost.


Range Extender or Signal Booster? I placed the RE4100W-4A in the house as close to my unattached garage as possible. I took my Acer laptop with an Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6205 chip out to the garage to see what signal strength would be like. I found that hitting off the RE4100W-4A gave me essentially no more signal strength then hitting off the Archer 5 AC router. The RE4100W-4A was about 30 ft closer to me then the router. To further develop this test I moved 30 ft further away. Even at this greater range the RE4100W-4A did not give me a stronger signal (according to the tools provided by Windows 7). Tests like this lead me to conclude the RE4100W-4A is really a booster not an extender. It may also be just the arrangement of my house rooms. If I lived in a long ranch style house or some massive loft I can conceive my results would be more along the lines of an extender. Finally, along this line of testing, the RE4100W-4A would NOT connect to the router when plugged in in the garage. It's about 50 ft through several walls so that's really no surprise.

If I place the RE4100W-4A in a bedroom about 30 feet from the router and then test my signal strength I get 300Mbps as opposed to 150Mbps. That is a 100% increase using the RE4100W-4A but the question then becomes what how does that increase actually provide a benefit for what I do while in the bedroom? The answer is nothing I can perceive. At 150 Mbps I can do everything with the same results as I can with 300 Mbps. I downloaded an Android app and a PC program that may be more precise regarding Wi-Fi signal strength both indicated and 15% improvement in signal strength when I hit off the RE4100W-4A

I wouldn't mind a switchable bright light on this device. Think about it. I have mine placed on a landing 3 steps up from the family room. Since this device is always plugged in why not include a white LED that could be used as a night light, of course there would need to be an option to turn the light off and the light would no doubt provide interference.

In conclusion: If you need an extender and I think most people don't or want a stronger signal even if it makes no noticable difference in your internet experience then the RE4100W-4A is as good a choice as any I have used in this price range. The added bonus of DLNA and an ethernet port make the package more attractive. If you live in a large OPEN area with many lines of sight then the RE4100W-4A is an excellent choice to boost your Wi-Fi. Recommended
Reviewed By:jan p.,9/17/2016 4:47:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-Link > TP-LINK RE355 AC1200 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Range Extender

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Another home run with this one
Pros: Most importantly it actually works well and stays connected.
Extremely easy to use. Like other TP-Link extenders just link the routers using the WPS buttons and you're off.

Ethernet port came in handy more than I thought. I was able to plug my printer on the opposite side of the house with better throughput. Very noticeable when printing larger documents or images.

Like the ability to turn off the LEDs and Power with a single push button. (could be a con if you have kids that like to touch things)

External antennas seem to help quite a bit when positioned up so they are not just for show.

Stays very cool and uses very little power.

Able to stream 1080P movies from network to Fire TV using Plex with no issues and no hiccups. (I don't usually like to post Mbs/sec since they are not a true test of what you're trying to use a device for and can vary depending on the day and interference that occurs throughout)

Xbox One still playable but PC games I can notice a delay in play. (using: Black Ops3, Titan Fall, and BF4)

Up for a week with never touching it.

Like using the extender over a linked router due to the ease of use, lower power consumption, and reliability (think it's due to the complexity of some of the rounters, but many of the routers I've used as a wifi extender are flaky and need resetting on a regular basis)
Cons: Cannot think of a con, but I with it was in black to match my decor a little better.
I wouldn't play games on this though, but that goes for all extenders. The latency from router to router to modem is noticeable when playing a 1st person shooter, but only barely.
Other Thoughts: Lately I've been really happy with everything I've used and tested from TP-Link. They really stepped up their game with their products in quality, reliability and overall aesthetically pleasing designs.

By far the best extender I've ever used, and I've tried and tested many. Even using another router as an extender.
Reviewed By:christopher c.,9/16/2016 10:33:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.