Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR EX2700 N300 WiFi Range Extender Essentials Edition

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Did not get the $10 rebate that was promptly submitted.
Pros: Works as advertized.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Prashant D.,2/4/2016 1:45:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA850RE 300Mbps Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender. Wi-Fi Booster

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Don't spend more money on other boosters
Pros: Easy install, reliable service and very reasonable purchase price
Cons: I can't find fault with this unit
Other Thoughts: I had a wifi extender for approximately 18 months that cost 3 times as much and continually needed resetting (unplugging to reset). I've had this unit for over two months and haven't touched since I installed it. My recreation area is in the basement and this unit does a great job with Netflix and Chromecast apps. I highly recommend it.
Reviewed By:Arno P.,2/2/2016 5:27:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > D-Link > D-Link DAP-1120 N300 Wi-Fi Range Extender

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Not the greatest (and I say that with reservation), but it does the job at my house.
Pros: Nice to have in a low reception area that need boosting around the house.
Cons: There is bigger and better out there but none that I can think of at this price.
Reviewed By:Victor H.,2/1/2016 9:16:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA850RE 300Mbps Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender. Wi-Fi Booster

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works fantastic, but where is the security?
Pros: I am very impressed! Now it may be simply because this is my third try with a TP Link range extender that I am so impressed. I tried their low end 150Mbps model and it kept cutting out, and I tried a model very similar to this one. The TL-WA854RE which I believe the only difference is it does not have the Ethernet Port.

I am very grateful for the Ethernet Port! I was able to plug in my Pioneer receiver and now I can use our iPads as remote controls for it! (Held off on buying a well over $100 wireless dongle to make this happen)

Not only was the range impressive, the connection has been stable and strong for the last few days! I am confident it will remain that way! I would like to say it is extremely easy to use, but being my third time round with one of these, one could say that I have gotten familiar with the way it works is all!

Had this thing not had a default user name and password of admin, I would say this is PERFECT! It works perfect, functions like it supposed to and out performs the other two TP Link extenders I’ve tried by far! Lucky, you can change it if you know how, but you got to make the effort. If you do not, then your network can be hacked. I gave a speedtest on my iPad and where I would have speeds cut in half, were still hitting max. Where I couldn’t sit before were still hitting max. Too cold outside to take a field trip to see just how far I could go. I’m impressed it’s working like I wanted in the first place! I am very impressed because I did not get this on my old cable modem with the nighthawk router that prices at 300 bucks or a dual band TP-Link router. The new xfinity cable modem and this extender gives me 185Mbps everywhere in the house! 13 to 14ms on the ping and 12 on the upload. Consistent all the way around! I’d love to give it five stars, but that security flaw just hits my stomach hard! For that oversight, I must take a star. Even if I am able to protect myself, I just cringe at all the unprotected extenders out there!
Cons: The wee ity bity, tinsy winsy, tiny winy, wittle Ethernet cord that came with it is my first con with this. It is working as one expects it would once you get one that reaches where you want it. (Unless 3 and a half feet is long enough for you. Please remember that the device performs best when plugged into a wall socket. It is not recommended to plug into a power strip. I am certain I read that somewhere!)

The biggest con is the horrible and I do mean HORRIBLE security on this! The change the user name and password should be the first step requested in the automated setup process that I went through from the wegGUI. If you follow the steps, you leave your extender vulnerable to hacking, and to protect yourself may require extra steps. Most users will not take these steps. Especially if they choose the WPS push button setup method! If you want to make sure your protected, read my other thoughts as to how and why. While TP Link does great with their products for the most part, they should jump on this and make it their highest priority. Just like the routers are doing these days, you should be supplying random passwords with each unit so users can still hit their WPS buttons and have their easy install. Go through the webGUI’s automated setup without having that fear of someone getting into their network later if they fail to find that password change option! In fact, I just picked up a TP-Link TL-WDR3600 router and I see the precautions were taken there! Why your routers, but not your extenders? Are you unaware of the security flaw? I would find that hard to believe!
Other Thoughts: The previous extenders I’ve tried have been tried on multiple routers. This one was only tried on the Comcast Xfinity one. They play SO very well together! I used the webGUI to set the extender up and BAMN. That was it. Selected the network, put in the password and that was it! It disappeared and I placed it in the other room to see how it would work. I had no problems except I was not comfortable with the default user name and password.

It was hackable. And I don’t mean “Get this guy to the pentagon” type hack. The scary hackers with nothing better to do than drive around and try to hack into people’s unsecure networks kind of hack. I knew from previous setups that I was able to change the user name and password from admin. However, once you set it up, it’s not easy to get back into it. And I already set it up in the other room. Lucky for me, the Comcast router does a fantastic job giving the information you need! I did my 10.0.0.1 to access the webGUI and needed to put in admin and the password I set for our router, selected view connected devices and seen the TL-WA850RE and knew that was the extender. I clicked on it and it showed the IP address it was on! Typed that in and I was back in the webGUI for the extender and was able to change the user name and password! Unlike the router where I was only able to change the password!

You may not have to do this and can get away with tplinkextender.net if you still have the lan cord plugged directly into a computer or laptop. Unless you do the setup manually, and you know what the link of the extender will be, you may have to check your router to see what IP was assigned to the extender for you to access it once again. Why is this important? It is about as difficult as checking all the windows in your house for an unlocked one as it is to guess the IP your extender may be on. If they guess it and you didn’t change that user name and password, they can get your password for your main router. Your MAC address, everything! You do NOT want a stranger having this kind of access to your network! Protect yourselves!

If your home ip is 192.168.0.1 is your extender IP less than 50 digits away? Home ip 192.168.1.1? 10.0.0.1? A little thought can show you how easy it may be to hack this if the user name and pass is not changed to something more secure. A majority of the users that check into this will see just how easy it is and think of all those reports of folks hacking into those nanny cams. It’s not that they are extremely smart, they just know how weak the security is and they take advantage of it!
Reviewed By:Kenith H.,1/31/2016 1:52:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA850RE 300Mbps Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender. Wi-Fi Booster

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: TP-LINK has made a great reputation for itself for solid innovative networking devices at a very competitive price point that are also aesthetically pleasing. This Extender is no different.

+Great packaging and presentation. As always, TP-LINK devices look great and not gaudy in any home. The box itself is semi-glossy with embossed silver logos and a pull-away fitted box. The Extender unit is sleek and stylized, very neutral and sophisticated although the LED is a bit bright for my tastes.

+Easy to Set-Up and excellent documentation! I used the Wifi Protected Setup with my Verizon Actiontec Router and set-up using default method went off without a hitch. It was so fast I wasn't sure it had already connected successfully.

+Included a Cat5 cable underneath the plastic molding.
Cons: -This is still Wireless N speeds, so if you want AC or even Gigabit Ethernet, you will need to shell out for one of the much pricier AC units.

-Unfortunately the Ethernet jack is on the bottom of the unit, so if you use it, you will effectively block both outlet plugs. If this unit wasn't priced so well and so effective, I would dock an egg for this. If the Ethernet port were on either side or on top, you would be able to use the plug below freely.

-The LED lights are brighter than I would like. I am not sure if they can be dimmed or not.

-The markings on the front are slightly confusing at first and maybe a bit misaligned. Maybe a line or dot to each one would work better, also the "WiFi Bars" are just decals and do not illuminate at all.

-The molded packaging of the unit itself is plastic, would be nice if TP-LINK went a bit greener here with recycled cardboard.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this Extender to anyone who doesn't need the latest and greatest speed and connectivity. I've plugged it in on the other side of the house and it seems to be working well, but I also plugged in an AIO PC that was connected wirelessly that had trouble reconnecting after waking up from sleep. Now, with this Extender directly plugged in with Ethernet, it is always connected.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/30/2016 8:42:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK RE580D AC1900 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Range Extender

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Wireless Range Extender
Pros: - Looks nice
- speeds are what i expected
- User interface for setup is very good
- overall no problems yet
Cons: You have to manually update the firmware yourself but i guess if you know what your doing its no biggie
Other Thoughts: overall i had no problems so far and ill update if something happens

its a good product
Reviewed By:Joseph S.,1/30/2016 9:32:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR EX2700 N300 WiFi Range Extender Essentials Edition

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product
Pros: Easy Setup
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Joey S.,1/27/2016 4:24:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA850RE 300Mbps Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender. Wi-Fi Booster

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy, sleek looking, works perfectly.
Pros: Total setup time took about five minutes.
Extremely easy to set up, and configure. Why can all devices not be this simple to set up? Where my router is housed is in one corner of the home, we have a sunroom, where the signal just does not reach. The only dead spot in the home and it’s a nice space to sit. The range extender plugged in an outlet halfway between the room the router is in.
-The instructions were clear, and concise.
-In the event of problems they offer 24/7 support for their products.
-Linking it to my network was a breeze
-Delivered as anticipated, the repeated network signal.
-Tested on wifi logged in with Ookla, speeds were acceptable as advertised.
-Well priced for what it is. I looked for a range extender not long ago, most of the brands and companies I trusted offered similar products at a much higher price.
-Excellent packaging, when I opened it up it was like opening an iPhone box, if that helps give definition to what I mean. (Thick card board, nice plastic, nice pocket holding the information)
Cons: Unless something largely negative happens with the device within an unreasonable time, I have nothing in particular right now. I’m only on day one with it, time will tell but I do not anticipate it causing me problems.
I would have said the lack of an Ethernet cable, but I tested both steps and they are equally as easy, you should not need one.
Other Thoughts: Surprised at how easy to set up and get going it was.
With two very easy ways to set this device up, one being to use a direct line Ethernet between a laptop and the device, I would recommend they include a small three foot Ethernet. If you can spend a little extra to make your box look nice, go one step further and see that your end user has everything they need for either set of instructions. I would recommend this to people who have large spaces to cover that just need increase their range a little. It is nothing overly fancy and gets the job done. Works well and is easy to set up.
Reviewed By:Matthew C.,1/27/2016 12:26:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Netgear Inc. > Netgear PR2000-100NAS Trek N300 Travel Router, Range Extender, Ethernet Bridge, Access Point 4 IN 1

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 It stinks! This thing makes more work for me.
Pros: I had high hopes for it, but...
Cons: It only works for about 1 day at a time. Then it just loses connection to the internet and has to be rebooted. I'll be in the middle of doing something like watching a video and poof! It just quits and I have no internet. I have to switch my device over to my router or get up and reboot this thing. so frustrating. I have owned it for a year and it has been this way all along. have tried tweaking all the settings, firmware update etc.. nothing helps.
Other Thoughts: would not recommend buying. this has ruined netgear for me. will not be buying any of their stuff again.
Reviewed By:john v.,1/25/2016 7:55:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK RE450 AC1750 Wireless Dual Band Range Extender (Wall plug)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Decent but limited product
Pros: - Fantastic range
- Easy to set up
Cons: - Limited configuration
- cannot choose channels
- can't be used as an access point or router (why even implement a DCHP server?)
- cannot set BSSID
- You must use high speed mode if you have wireless NAS, backup and/or cache proxy servers, there is absolutely no other choice.
Other Thoughts: I was nearly ready to return all three of these things until I enabled high-speed mode. High speed-mode means you connect the extender to the router on one bandwidth and your devices connect to the extender on the other bandwidth (this is not a smart capability, you must set this up on your own). If you do not enable high speed mode, what happen is your extender will connect to the router with 2 mac addresses for each respective bandwidth but will only use 1 network IP address (even if you set up DCHP reserve clienting) - so 1 IP with 2 MAC addresses - this creates a lot of problems for devices that need to communicate with each other through the local network. I literally was unable to SSH into any device that was not connecting through the same extender as I was, nor could I administrate extenders of this model on the network of which I was not directly connecting to. This of course had no effect on internet access, so if all you want is to get online, use spotify, etc. you would never have issues with using the extender with high speed mode disabled. However, when I enabled high-speed mode all said issues were resolved.

Here's the thing with high speed mode: it's only feasible to connect to the router on 2.4Ghz, because 5Ghz in comparison has a terrible range - so then the repeater is broadcasting exclusively on the 5Ghz channel. So, if you have a device that is 2.4Ghz only, it will have to connect directly to the router or some existing access point - it will not be able to use the extender.



There is a way of "tricking" the extender to use different channels than the router. First temporarily connect the extender to router on both frequencies, then enable high-speed mode, and change the channel on the router respective to which frequency the extender is broadcasting - voila your router and extender are broadcasting on different channels. You will need to redo this if the device is restarted ever.

Another irritating factor was a lack of a "connect to BSSID" feature. Because of that, if you are using multiple extenders of this model (or some other), you may have to go into each one and blacklist all the others, so that the extenders aren't relaying through each other which causes tremendous slow downs of speed - which can be a very tedious process, but seemingly avoidable if you use high-speed mode.

It feels a little limiting that you can't use the Ethernet port on the device to use it as an access point or even a router... which makes literally no sense because the extender has a built in DHCP server - so it's obviously capable of routing... just not with a connection through the Ethernet port - truly a "wireless only router" capability. I'm really confused by this design. If I can can suggest one thing to TP-Link it's to rethink the point of the built in DHCP server, given the current abilities of the device.

Now for some positivity: High-speed mode has yielded pleasing results. Using 2.4ghz to connect to the router and 5Ghz to broadcast, I've noticed that even in remote parts of the home, as long as connecting devices are very near the extender (as they should be using 5G) and they have the proper interfaces, you can expect speeds of 90Mbps across the network, which is around 4 times what I experienced before without the extenders. Speeds slightly higher than this can be achieved by connecting to the ethernet port. If you want to see results closer to 300Mbps you would need a more capable router.

Overall, I would highly recommend this product to the home user just surfing the web, single console gaming and media streaming. I highly recommend enabling high speed mode to reap the benefits of this product. I would however, steer the more sophisticated user to something more option rich.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/25/2016 4:13:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.