Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR EX7000 AC1900 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Range Extender

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Netgear EX7000
Pros: AC1900 speed
Cons: Performance is no better than predecessor, the EX6200, and simply cost a bit more.
Other Thoughts: The 3 antennas that came with this product were only 3dbi each just like the EX6200. You would expect at least 5dbi instead. The new interface is not that bad once you get used to it. Otherwise this product works fine.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/21/2015 5:38:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Netgear Inc. > Netgear WN3000RP Universal N300 Wi-Fi Range Extender IEEE 802.11b/g/n, IEEE 802.3/3u

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 it does what it says
Pros: for the price i took a chance
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Secret,5/21/2015 3:20:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA850RE 300Mbps Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender. Wi-Fi Booster

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Waste of $$$
Pros: GREAT-LOOKING device!
Sleek design w/ pretty LEDs on the front.
Simple, hassle-free setup.
Cons: DOES NOT WORK!!! Router is in an upstairs bedroom closet. I bought this device to extend coverage down into my master bedroom. After pairing with router in the same room upstairs, I noticed signal degradation by over half! Was getting 50-60MBps without extender upstairs, less than 20MBps WITH extender (all within 10ft of the main router). Unplugged the extender, back to 50-60MBps. I moved the extender all over the house in an attempt to locate a stronger signal with no success. Only got 4-5 lights w/ extender < 10ft from router. Anything > 10ft away and the signal on the extender dropped to 2 lights. I've been buying from Newegg for YEARS and have RARELY been disappointed with any products I'd bought. But this one is downright terrible! Even if a product does it's job well HALF the time, I keep it and maybe gift it to someone. But I want my money back on this one.
Other Thoughts: If you're on the fence with this product, DON'T waste your time or coin. I bought this device to extend coverage into my downstairs master bedroom from upstairs bedroom and the signal quality is WORSE with extender connected. Wireless range from router to extender is terrible. Only get two "lights" on extender with any distance > 10ft from the router. I was better off without this device. Would be a waste of $$$ if it only cost $5. Returning for refund ASAP.
Reviewed By:Skawpio,5/21/2015 1:39:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > EDIMAX > EDIMAX EW-7438RPn Mini N300 Mini Wi-Fi Extender/Access Point/Wi-Fi Bridge

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great little device
Pros: Good value. Can be configured as an extender, access point or bridge. Works great so far.
Cons: Only 10/100.
The Edimax setup software does not have an option for ONLY the DNS to be obtained automatically. It is bundled with IP and Gateway so either IP and DNS is automatic or static. This is a short coming with the Edimax setup software as other access point brands allow only the DNS to be obtained automatically while allowing the IP to be static.
Other Thoughts: I have a wireless router upstairs and have the EW-7438 downstairs configured as an access point. The range is very good and have not had any dropped connections. Works great for the money. Wish it was a gigabit devise.
The setup software is a bit limiting. In addition to the con mentioned above, the firmware flash process is very manual and dated.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/20/2015 1:54:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR EX6100-100NAS Wireless AC750 Dual-Band Gigabit Range Extender

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great range and performance! Dual band!
Pros: After using a TP-Link extender with internal antennas, I was hesitant to test another extender. However, this device performed much better and had other great features as well.

The external directional antennas are a great touch.
Setup can be done multiple ways.
Extended range much farther than others.
Supported both 5GHz and 2.4GHz.
Easy to place out of the way and still have great range boosting.
Cons: None, maybe a little pricier than other options.
Other Thoughts: This is a great device for extending your router's range.
Reviewed By:Josh Arnold,5/20/2015 11:38:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA854RE 300Mbps Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender, Repeater, Wall Plug design, One-button Setup, Smart Signal Indicator

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Mediocre performance, decent price
Pros: Lower price makes it a good entry point. Small form factor, easy to place out of the way. Performance was ok while it worked.
Cons: Overly simplistic setup was almost too simple that it made it hard to really know when the device was working.

Range was not much better than the router without the extender. That and the signal would drop off or the device would freeze every few days and require a reboot.
Other Thoughts: If you need an extender, keep looking.
Reviewed By:Josh Arnold,5/20/2015 11:33:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK RE210 AC750 Universal Wi-Fi Wall Plug Gigabit Range Extender with External Antennas

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best Range Extender I've Seen
Pros: Quick & easy setup
Good range and signal strength
Retained settings when moved to another location, no need to reconfigure it
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I had the opportunity to test the TP-LINK RE210 AC750 Range Extender when I received this unit as a sample for feedback. The RE210 seup was a breeze, I personally like the web-based method but for those who prefer it there are equally easy wired and WPS setup options. I completed the setup in less than 10 minutes, and I was able to move it to other locations for testing the range without any problem reconnecting to my router. I also liked the RE200, a similar range extender from TP-Link, but found several improvements in the RE210 over that model. The RE210 now has external antennnas that are well-placed on the unit to allow something else to be plugged in to the second plug of a double receptacle. While I could get a medium strength signal to my "dead zones" with the previous model, the RE210 gave me a stronger signal within a greater range. I had noted some warmth to the touch with the previous model, and that is not an issue at all with the RE210. I liked the placement of an ethernet port on the bottom, where I attached my Seagate Central storage drive and transferred files from several computers with good speed and no errors.

I had previously attempted to reach the "dead zones" in my house with similar products from other manufacturers, but they didn't provide enough increase in range or signal strength and were more much difficult to set up. In fact, every time I lost power or moved my Amped SR-10000, it had to be completely reconfigured only with a direct ethernet connection.

I like the compact design of the RE210, and while the LEDs are bright and easy to see, the unit is flat against the wall and inconspicuous.
Reviewed By:Bev R,5/19/2015 2:57:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Amped Wireless > Amped Wireless REC10 High Power 600mW Compact Wi-Fi Range Extender

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 This thing is completely unusable
Pros: Once you set it up, which may take days of troubleshooting... it has decent range.
Cons: I thought the price ensured I would be receiving a hassle free experience but I was wrong. This is probably one of my worst gadget purchases I have ever made, and one that cost me about $80. Should have gone with a much cheaper alternative with reliable brands like netgear. Setup on this device is an absolute nightmare. The provided default ip is not functional and neither was WPS which seems to work on all my other devices except this one. I had to stop the setup page immediately after connecting just so it would try to forward to some non-existance website. Once I figured out the trick, I figured the worst part was over, but I was wrong. This thing couldn't just request unused ip address on my network, but instead stole my pc ip address and bumped me off. I then spent the next few days trying to figure out how both devices could coexist on the network until I finally caved and just changed my pc address to a static ip. How the heck is someone with little knowledge of networks and ip addresses supposed to set this thing up. Amped really needs to clean up their act or at least price their products like cheap brand name knockoff from China because I really feel like I was swindled into buying a half-baked product.
Reviewed By:Abel,5/19/2015 1:06:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK RE210 AC750 Universal Wi-Fi Wall Plug Gigabit Range Extender with External Antennas

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best wifi extender out there
Pros: The installation of the TP-LINK RE210 was even easier than I expected. I did both the RE button connection and the web interface. The RE button push took less than a minute to do and the web interface took less than 5 minutes to do. The web interface will allow you to rename your extension for both the 2.5 GHz and 5 GHz band, as well as password protection. I like the fact that once connected you can plug it anywhere and you are able to get rid of your dead zone. There have been no connection issues or drops while connected. I am proud to say that this product is by far the best extender I have used and tried. This is a must buy if you are in the market for a wifi extender, especially if you're looking for a dual band extender with fast and easy setup.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Anish,5/18/2015 7:10:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > EDIMAX > EDIMAX EW-7438RPn Mini N300 Mini Wi-Fi Extender/Access Point/Wi-Fi Bridge

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Exactly as expected
Pros: Very inexpensive, small size, easy setup. Worked as advertised.
Cons: Web interface isn't incredibly customizable, but it does everything I needed it to. Once you set the thing up in extender or bridge mode (can't speak to AP...) the config is locked and needs a "factory reset" (which is as easy as pressing a button) to be able to set things up. Not really a con, but worth noting.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/18/2015 6:34:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.