Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > ASUS > ASUS RP-AC52 AC750 Repeater / Access Point / Media Bridge

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 It's alright, but not the best in the price range
Pros: For what it is, the AP looks pretty good. In fact, it looks better than most of the gigantic wall wart style wifi repeaters that I’ve recently tested (looking at you TP Link, beige is kind of out as a color for electronics). Relatively small size compared to most similar products. For those who care, it has a nightlight built in that you can turn off with the touch of the front face. LED activity lights on the front are relatively dim so as not to light up your entire living room with flashing blue.

If you happen to have local music stored on your phone or at home on your network, the Ai Player is pretty neat. The Android version of the app is relatively easy to use and it picked up the AP on my network in about three seconds (can’t complain there). Alas, you’ll see me mention this in the cons as well since there are some drawbacks to this feature.

Overall, the web interface is very easy to navigate and intuitive. I would imagine that even most networking novices would be able to just plug this in and get it going in little to no time at all. If you’re really wanting easy, there’s the option of WPS though I’m not a fan of this technology.

The AP has a decent automatic channel optimization mechanism. For AP Mode, it managed to find the channel (11) farthest away from the master AP in the house (3).

I’ll say that the speeds aren’t terribly good (see cons). However, they seem to remain consistent and reliable over the week that I’ve been testing. Having multiple devices connected to it doesn’t seem to make the speed for each device any worse so I suppose there’s something positive in there. If you don’t have a terribly fast network behind the scenes or you really just need some wifi coverage in the garage (my scenario) this should suit your needs well enough.
Cons: The speeds aren’t really that great in repeater mode. I’ve tested a few other devices that do better along these lines. You can see what I mean down below in the Other Thoughts section.

This wouldn’t be all bad if one could get really good speeds by switching to AP mode. However, you’re hitting a hard limit there due to the 10/100 NIC that this device uses. Once again, if you’re not running a full gigabit network behind the scenes, this may not be a noticeable issue. However it really pales in comparison to my NetGear WAPs used in the house.

I think the takeaway from this is as follows. If you’re looking for a quick and cheap repeater to just extent wifi for a couple devices, this would work just fine. However, there are a ton of these products in the same price range, some of which are better and many of which are worse. That being said, if you’re looking for a WAP, I’d recommend steering clear in favor of an actual WAP with a 10/100/1000 port for ethernet on it, or modifying a cheaper router to perform the same function for less money. It’s also waaaay easier to hide these kind of devices as these wall wart things are really limited in where they can reside.
Other Thoughts: Speed tests all averaged over three runs

Bridge/Repeater Mode:

Google Nexus 6P:
5GHz: 12.9 mbps
2.3GHz: 20.6 mbps

Dell Latitude E7440:
5GHz: 18.7 mbps
2.3GHz: 19.5 mbps

AP Mode:

Google Nexus 6P:
5GHz: 30.5 mbps
2.3GHz: 20.9 mbps

Dell Latitude E7440:
5GHz: 32.5 mbps
2.3GHz: 24.7 mbps

The backbone of my network is a gigabit switch into a gigabit router all of which are connected to Google Fiber.
Reviewed By:Justin E.,5/27/2016 4:29:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Linksys > LINKSYS RE7000 Max-Stream AC1900+ Mu-Mimo W-Fi Range Extender

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Latest in wireless technology for a range extender. This unit has 4x4 or quad stream MU-MIMO for simultaneous multiple client connections. This means it is implementing wave 2 which can be faster than more expensive and higher bandwidth wireless implementations.
Very flexible placement due to the high range of the wireless connection. Wireless n range is also significantly boosted by new wave 2 implementation. Signal can be good up to two floors below you such as in the basement.
An Ethernet port is included as with all wireless range extenders starting with the wireless-ac standard.
The design needed to implement this is much more involved as there is more hardware and antennas needed. Therefore, this unit is much heavier and bulkier than others.
You might run into problems using wireless-ac routers with older wireless-n range extenders. This unit would be the best replacement for that.
LED's used on the unit is simple but yet intuitive. The parent company is Belkin which is also American. This unit is made in Taiwan.
You simply press the WPS button on both the router and extender after you plug this in. There is no CD or bulky user manual included nor needed, which is the norm nowadays with many other types of products. Firmware updates are available on the easy-to-use Linksys website.
Cons: I could not think of any cons other than reminding you about the WPS vulnerability if used outside of your living space. Anyone would be able to use your connection otherwise.
Other Thoughts: Recommended to use with latest wave 2 standard wireless router. Wave 2 is more about wireless range beamforming and MU-MIMO than brute force closer range bandwidth. This wireless range extender is definitely on the expensive side but is very well worth its price tag. With the acquisition by Belkin, Linksys is now much more innovative than before and had become a leader in the industry instead of only a follower. Wireless range extenders are finally worth to consider as an alternative to landline range extenders which has no wireless. You can access the settings wirelessly at http://extender.linksys.com as expected with all wireless ac range extenders.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/26/2016 5:18:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > ASUS > ASUS RP-AC52 AC750 Repeater / Access Point / Media Bridge

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works well
Pros: I use a dual band asus router in my home. my wireless range extends out into my yard on both ends of the house. but not much further. i get about 20 feet into my backyard before streaming video becomes problematic. if i plug this range extender in on the back of my house i get a good connection on the 2.4 Ghz band but not on the 5Ghz band. and this allows me to get about another 50 feet further into my yard before getting buffering issues.
It is a bit slower going through multiple wireless devices but it's only noticeable when moving files off my NAS. I did not notice any differences browsing the web. I only see about a 6ms ping increase in gaming, this ping increase happens from using the range extender in general and is not entirely dependant on signal strength.
overall the asus RP-AC52 AC750 is good looking, feels durable and gets only mildly hot from use.
It feels well made. You will not break it from dropping it. It is rated at 100-220 volts 0.25A. which would mean it can draw up to 17.5 watts. under heavy activity, my killawatt meter is showing that it is consuming less than 5 watts.

If your router does not have a WPS button you can still configure it and set it up manually.
using my phone i was able to connect to the "ASUS_RPAC" wireless network, then type 192.168.0.1 into the web browser and make it to the asus setup page. The first thing it asks you to do is create a administrative user name and password. Then it asks which networks you want to connect to. Once you connect your repeater to your network the network name will change from "ASUS_RPAC". it will now clone the name of your original network then add RPT and RPT5Ghz as the repeater network names.
Overall i have no real complaints, i have been using it for over two weeks now and it has been rock solid.
Cons: Headphone jack sounds dull. It might be ok for the garage or patio but do not expect to get high quality audio out of the headphone jack, it's preamplified anyways and not compatible with most home theater receivers and preamps.
The lights are not overly bright, but it does have a white light that shines on the bottom, which is intended to be a night light.
Other Thoughts: The best use for this would be as a access point. it has a Ethernet port which you can use to connect manually to your router. This is more stable and faster than using the wireless alone. if lots of devices are all sharing the 2.4 or 5Ghz bands it can cause too much wireless traffic and congestion and slow down or become unstable. this is often seen in places like restaurants or business where they have public wifi and lots of people are trying to use it at once. but using a Ethernet cable and setting it up as a access point can avoid those problems and leave you and your customers with a rock solid connection.
Reviewed By:john m.,5/24/2016 10:50:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > EDIMAX > EDIMAX EW-7438RPn Mini N300 Mini Wi-Fi Extender/Access Point/Wi-Fi Bridge

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Simple setup .
Pros: Setup very simply and worked .
Cons: none that I can see .
Other Thoughts: Easiest extender I have installed ,I used it in a very problematic NY apt. with wire lath
walls and it took care of the problem without any drama .
Reviewed By:David C.,5/24/2016 8:45:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Linksys > LINKSYS RE7000 Max-Stream AC1900+ Mu-Mimo W-Fi Range Extender

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Absolute top-of-the-line range extender with AC Wave 2 Mu-MiMo
Pros: By far the simplest setup of any range extender I have ever used, works with all brands of routers equally well, installation in minutes using two bindings (2.4GHz & 5GHz radio bands) simply by WPS, absolutely no input required for standard wireless range extender mode. CrossBand technology to allow free radio selection between base router and this unit regardless of which radio band is being extended, beamforming technology for accurate delivery of signal and data to attached devices. 4×4 Mu-MiMo built in now for 4× throughout with capable devices, "set and forget" setup, you never need to revisit nor adjust the basic parameters due to the simple WPS bonding with the base router. I recommend setting this unit to a fixed IP as opposed to the DHCP default for easy administration. You can either let it duplicate the base station's beacon names (SSIDs) and passwords for simple 802.11r easy handoff or specify different beacon names for ease of administration and troubleshooting, but cloning the base router's settings is the default. "Site survey" function shows available wireless beacons, and there is one gigabit wired port that can be dedicated to a UHD (4k) TV, for example.

Beyond question the easiest and quickest range extender I have ever used, and covers a total of 10,000 sqft (930+ sqm / m2) when properly placed with SpotFinder built in technology.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Nothing could be simpler than to plug this unit in and then use two cycles of WPS to clone the base router's AC Wave 2 settings.
Reviewed By:Mike R,5/24/2016 6:04:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA850RE 300Mbps Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender. Wi-Fi Booster

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good product for low price!
Pros: works great. I can go into my back room and still connect.
Cons: none.
Other Thoughts: The price can't be beat. i just wanted to extend my wireless connection.
Reviewed By:Jerome M.,5/23/2016 5:32:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > ASUS > ASUS RP-AC52 AC750 Repeater / Access Point / Media Bridge

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Outstanding product
Pros: I've used a few wireless extenders/repeaters in my day and this one is by far my favorite

-One button setup (seriously just WPS and your good to go!)
-2.4ghz AND 5ghz or BOTH for simultaneous
-Signal strength meter is handy for placing device
-The face of device is a touch button that you can configure to do a few things.
-Stream music via an app all you do is plug speakers into device
-You can turn off all LED's or even turn on a nightlight led
-Repeater and access point modes. (Repeater does what it says it takes your routers signal and extends it, access point allows you to make a wifi signal from a LAN or wired connection aka turns it into a router)
-Roaming assist automatically connects to the strongest wifi signal(between your router and the repeater)
Cons: Asus AiPlayer is required to stream music. Not a terrible app, but having to go through yet another app to play some music just makes me not want to use this feature.
Other Thoughts: Speeds are not terrible but it's not going to give you the same speeds as your router. Your ping will be slightly higher and since this device can only send OR receive and not both at the same time, speeds are generally half as fast as you would see on your router. Not a big deal, unless your internet is super slow the speeds are not noticibly slower and all your left with is a slightly higher ping which is suitable for even light gaming.

A few things you will want to do after setting up the device is to enable roaming assist. This will automatically switch between your router signal and your repeater signal as you move throughout your house or even go outside. It will choose based on signal strength and once the strength gets low enough your device will automatically switch. Pretty handy.

You can also change what the front face touch button does. By default it will turn the backlight on and off but you can configure this to change the WiFi led's on and off(both 2.4 and 5ghz but seperately) and even to control the music on/off if you happen to use that feature.

Overall this is definitely the easiest and most favorite repeater i've ever used and it's made by Asus who make quality products and this one is no different.
Reviewed By:Joseph C.,5/23/2016 2:14:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > EDIMAX > EDIMAX EW-7438RPn Mini N300 Mini Wi-Fi Extender/Access Point/Wi-Fi Bridge

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very Satisfied with Device
Pros: Very easy to set up. Instructions were easy to follow. I am using it as a Access point upstairs (mainly to keep grandkids (teenagers) off my home wifi network). My main router is downstairs and wanted to boost my WiFi network and add access points. It works great and price is right.
Cons: None -- Am buying another for use at rental vacation home to accommodate all wifi devices that will be there.
Reviewed By:Thomas D.,5/23/2016 9:57:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Linksys > LINKSYS RE7000 Max-Stream AC1900+ Mu-Mimo W-Fi Range Extender

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Max-Waterfall
Pros: No fuss, No muss, packaging gets my approval every time. The Max-Stream was super easy to set up using the WPS button on my Linksys router and on the extender as well and I was up and running. The included directions are also a nice touch. These days your most likely going to get a card insert with a URL address for the directions, not this extender. Another plus the extender does NOT block the top plug leaving it free for use. I am getting 5 bars upstairs on the 2.4 ghz and the 5 ghz channel. This is a great extender and it pairs nicely with Linksys routers.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: If your looking for a range extender then look no further.
I would highly recommend this router.
Reviewed By:Edward S.,5/21/2016 4:00:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > D-Link > D-Link DAP-1650 Wireless AC1200 Dual Band Gigabit Range Extender

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Works OK when finally set up. Setup is difficult and buggy.
Pros: Dual band output, decent range on 2.4 once it's working. Less so on 5.
Cons: Setting this thing up took HOURS. I am experienced with setting up networking devices, wired and wireless, and this thing is in a class all its own.

On the first go around, I got it mostly configured and it said it had to reboot to finalize settings, which is normal. I clicked "OK", and it sat there for a minute, then threw up a cryptic error message about why it would not be able to reboot, and stalled. When I power cycled it, it acted like it was the first time I'd turned it on. Nothing I'd entered was there. So I started over.

Second go around, I started re-entering the info, and found that it would kick me back to the login page if I didn't do anything with it for 10 SECONDS. That's it. 10 seconds of inactivity, and back to the login page. Not useful. Took much longer to enter the info, of course. Once I was done, it did reboot, then hung before finishing its initialization.

Third go around, it wouldn't boot after a power cycle, so I went to the PDF manual to find the 'factory reset' procedure. The manual said there's a recessed Reset button on the back of the thing. If by "on the back" they meant "on the bottom", then yes, there it was. I pressed and held it, and it rebooted.

Fourth go around, I once again entered the info (getting sent back to the login page about six times while doing so), and miracle of miracles, it rebooted, retained the settings, and began working.

Way, way more work than it needed to be. The firmware on it was the same firmware it originally shipped with when launched, no updates at all in over a year according to the D-link site. And I had to go to the site to check because the link inside the setup program to check for updates returned a "Can't connect to the server" message.

Once it was running, it has decent range, and extends my ASUS TM-AC1900 router's signal to the far ends of the house moderately well. My experience with ALL 'wi-fi extenders' has been, shall we say, tepid at best, and this is no exception.

Although I have had some success with the Engenius line, this was on sale and I thought I'd try it.


Other Thoughts: I wouldn't buy it again.
Reviewed By:Robert K.,5/20/2016 9:01:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.