Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Limited Time Only! Newegg Premier is now only $29.99/year. Sign up now.
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA850RE 300Mbps Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender. Wi-Fi Booster

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Setup and running within half hour.
Pros: It was easy to setup as I followed the instructions. I went to the website tp-link.us to download recent firmware updates. After completing firmware updates, I finally connection the extender to the wireless router which took less than 2 minutes. Pretty easy and simple. So far no connection dropping. It brought the signal to the other part of the house where it was usually 40% or less (dead). Now it is 90-100%.
Cons: None that I have noticed.
Other Thoughts: I have read other reviews and I still decided to buy this.

As for those who complain about dead domain for sale. You MUST connect to range extender device itself (TP-LINK_XXX), not on your usual internet/wifi. When you connect to the device (TP-LINK_XXX), it will open the login box. If nothing happen, hit the RESET (little hole) button.

I am not IT and yet I understand enough to do what I needed to do. I mostly do web design / programming. Not computer tech stuffs like opening pc and changing parts.
Reviewed By:mudo,7/25/2014 2:17:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius ERB9250 IEEE802.11b/g/n Wireless-N300 Smart Repeater

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Update to Previous Review
Pros: This has now been up and running for almost a month without a single disconnect. Maybe I got the good one off the assembly line.
Cons: None at all.
Other Thoughts: I can't explain the problems others have had, except for maybe some compatibility with other hardware?
Reviewed By:N/A,7/25/2014 11:50:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Linksys > Linksys WUMC710 Wi-Fi Wireless AC1300 5GHz Universal Media Connector Bridge Adapter 802.11ac with 4-Port Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great
Pros: Fast speeds without the extra wire(s). What more could you ask for?
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,7/24/2014 4:27:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > D-Link > D-Link Wireless N Dual-Band MediaBridge (DAP-1513) Wireless N300, Fast Ethernet

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DAP-1513 JUNK
Pros: Small box
Cons: Simultaneous dual band is a lie in advertising. Band selection only.

No wireless access to setup page most of the time. NTP time setting signals will not pass through this device.
Device hangs and reboots randomly. Almost all 15 Wi-Fi devices in my home complained of IP clobbering when this device is running on either band. Manual is on CD only and suffers real bad of English translation. Manual states not much more than webpage selections. Not much to configure if you wanted to. This device has been out there for years and yet there is no forum on Dlink's website despite many mentions of it. No support intelligence could be fund in the forum either except for the same complaints for years and no solutions. Terrible device. STAY AWAY!
Other Thoughts: Will be returned or garbaged. Read reviews elsewhere. This came with v1.01 = latest version. (2014)
Reviewed By:Larry A.,7/23/2014 8:34:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA854RE 300Mbps Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender, Repeater, Wall Plug design, One-button Setup, Smart Signal Indicator

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not what I hoped
Pros: Does connect and extend range.
Makes a great hallway night light with the 5 out of 5 bar connection with my router
Cons: Get a better throughput when connecting directly from my wireless TP-Link 300N adapter to my wireless router than when utilizing range extender even though the extender is about half way between the two and has an excellent connection to the router.
Other Thoughts: I was hoping that using this range extender would help my wireless throughput (~4-5MB/sec). The WA854RE is located about half way between my 300N TP-Link wireless adapter (TL-WN822N) and my 300N router. The extender gets a 5 out of 5 bar connection with my router and I get a better connection between my wireless adapter and the WA854RE than I do when connecting directly with my router but the throughput when going through the extender is 50% to 75% (~2-3MB/s) of what I get if I connect directly with the router. Very disappointing and wasted money for my particular application
Reviewed By:N/A,7/23/2014 1:05:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA854RE 300Mbps Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender, Repeater, Wall Plug design, One-button Setup, Smart Signal Indicator

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: Cute
Cons: Does not work
Reviewed By:Kiks,7/23/2014 12:58:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TEW-737HRE N300 High Power Easy-N-Range Extender

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worked for about a month...
Pros: When they worked, they worked well. And they do extend the range, they do a good job at keeping wireless settings. Cheap (but you get what you pay for).
Cons: I bought two of these to extend a wireless signal through a large space. After a while, they constantly drop connection to main wireless router. The light is still green and shows a solid connection, but when I connect using a Macbook, I show no internet connectivity. I've updated the firmware, to no avail. Thankfully I bought these on sale, but it was still a waste of money.
Other Thoughts: I've purchased other TrendNet products in the past and have nothing but success, but these are now paperweights. As a brand, I would still give TrendNet a shot, but these have made me wary of range extenders in general, I'm in the midst of replacing with true wireless access points (which obviously cost significantly more than these). And I'm not going with TrendNet APs either, going to use a different brand.
Reviewed By:Dan,7/23/2014 7:41:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > EDIMAX > Edimax EW-7438RPn V2 300Mbps Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender, Repeater, Wireless Bridge, Access Point, Wall Plug design, Smart LED Signal Indicator, Easy iQSetup by Smart Phone (No CD Required)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 I am satisfied
Pros: Has been working for about 7 months without issues. My garage was a dead zone, now I have an average connection to my router. Have not tried to stream videos yet, but have no issues streaming music.
Cons: I thought the connection was going to be much better, but is just average.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/22/2014 10:15:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > STARTECH > StarTech Wi-Fi Wireless Range Extender - Access Point / Repeater / Signal Booster - Create or extend the range of a Wireless-N (300Mbps) WiFi network - wifi range extender - wireless repeater - wifi signal booster - access point repeater

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 works great
Pros: had to plug it into my computer for initial set up to wireless. Once I did it worked perfectly. I saved my settings and moved it to another outlet in the house and boom it came up wirelessly and really made a difference in my range.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Rob,7/22/2014 9:07:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Amped Wireless > Amped Wireless SR10000 High Power Wireless-N 600mW Range Extender and Smart Repeater

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Pleasantly Surprised
Pros: Works out of the box
Decent price
Quick Setup
Amazing performance
Current firmware out of the box
Runs cool and silently
Vertical or horizontal orientation options
Included performance app for smartphones (simple, but free/effective)
Discreet design (small and invisibly black without sleep-disrupting LED levels)
Cons: Long Reboots
Not multi-band (this model, anyway)
Flimsy feel (no egg deduction)
Other Thoughts: After throwing my THIRD NetGear wireless repeater in the scrap bin, I took a chance on the Amped brand, with little prior knowledge of them. I've also all but given up on chasing the dream of extending 5 Ghz Wi-Fi, but with one or two devices in the house out of 12 wireless gizmos, I figured I could let that go and run with a 2/4 only repeater. So, this little thing is small, light, a bit "cheap feeling", but after going through their setup wizard (save yourself the grief and set up these things with a network CABLE), I was up and running and outshouting my neighbors in less than 15 minutes! I'm NEVER going to trust a wireless repeater that is A) From NetGear (sorry guys, I've tried!) or B) Doesn't have real, external antennas. I've taken apart all my prior failed repeaters, and the crummy internal radios are clearly inferior to a real "rubber duckie". And this one has TWO. I've been sunning this for over a week, with more Wi-Fi bars in the struggling areas of my property than I have ever seen using other brands. I didn't use it, but the response to Amped's tech support seems favorable based on other reviews. Although fairly brainless to set up, I can see room in some of the advance options where you might need to watch what your clicking, or even consult Amped support for some fancier configurations. (Determining to keep DHCP on by default or not was one of those areas that gave me pause). As another reviewer best put it "finally something with overkill!"

A final word to the wise - take the time to learn which wireless channels you can REALLY use in your country, get a good survey of your competing neighbor signals, and let this device do the rest. I'm really pleasantly surprised and satisfied with my purchase.
Reviewed By:Nemowho,7/21/2014 3:48:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau