Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Mobile Hot Spots > CradlePoint, Inc. > Cradlepoint Wireless N Portable Router CTR35

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 works well with clear dongle
Pros: compact
can be powered from usb with an additional cable
works with a clear dongle
Cons: doesn't seem to power the clear base on usb power
Reviewed By:mej,2/20/2014 8:38:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mobile Hot Spots > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 4G LTE Mobile Hotspot Verizon SCH-LC11

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 A VERIZON 4G LTE SIM CARD IS REQUIRED TO USE THIS DEVICE (NOT INCLUDED).
Pros: Absolutely None. WARNING- DO NOT BUY THIS USELESS, EXPENSIVE DEVICE. Only to find that even the Verizon Sales or Customer Service agents do not know how to get you the right sim card or service plan to use it!
Cons: It is not "Universal" as stated in the Specification information under "Compatible Phone Manufacturer". In order to use this device with any other service provider you must change the APN which this device does not allow you to do. Verizon does not allow you to use any prepaid plans for it. You must apply for a contract service plan that charges more for the sim card service which is just data than their share all plans which offer Unlimited minutes, text and data. It is not a phone so you can not take advantage of those offers, you must order a Hotspot or Jetpack Sim that only incldes data limits 4GB ($30), 5GB ($40) and so on plus a line fee of $20 a month.
Other Thoughts: By the time I got all the right information about this device my 30-day return had expired. I actually ordered service for this device from Verizon only to receive a call 10 days later stating that the plan I ordered is not available for this device!!! TWICE! This can only be done by calling their 18009220204 number and having them order the wrong or unavailable service plans for it. You can not order it on line nor at the local Verizon stores!
Reviewed By:mlucero67,2/5/2014 12:51:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mobile Hot Spots > Patazon > Dual SIM Card Adapter Converter For iPhone 4 4G 4S

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice Upgrade
Pros: 1. Not only supported regular phone connection but also 2G, 3G, 3.5G (HSPA+), and LTE data connections.
2. it said For iPhone 4..., but it actually work on all GSM phone that takes Micro sim card. (Mine is an android), or if your phone takes mini sim, you can always get a Micro to Mini adapter, it'll work too.
Cons: Not so far
Other Thoughts: Use it's app to switch the phone provider without turning off the phone, but it takes a full minute to complete the switching. I auto-forward my phone call from one to another, so I don't switch that much, except the text messages can't be forwarded.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/8/2013 3:50:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mobile Hot Spots > Patazon > 3 in 1 Fisheye Lens +Wide Angle +Micro Lens Photo Kit Set For iPhone 4 4S HTC Samsung i9100

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 PLEASED
Pros: I had no knowledge of these even in existence, but what a great idea! The fisheye & macro work great & made some cool shots already. Easy to instal & functionality too! Im a photographer & the quality of the product appears good...
Cons: The wide angle is a bit worthless, looks the same if zoom in a little with the fisheye. The lens caps are awkward to remove!
Other Thoughts: Totally worth the price, will buy these for Christmas gifts...
Reviewed By:GradyG,12/3/2013 12:49:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mobile Hot Spots > Netgear Inc. > Netgear 3G /4G Mobile Broadband Wireless-N Router (MBRN3000)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 4g lte device beware
Pros: No comments.
Cons: I bought this router after checking that it works with my Pantech ULM290 device, but didn't connect to Verizon at all. After spending numerous technical support with Netgear, they said it's not compatible. Bummer.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/23/2013 4:21:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Mobile Hot Spots > CradlePoint, Inc. > Cradlepoint Small Business Mobile Broadband Router MBR1200B

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic Small Business Router
Pros: Wireless WAN using USB data stick, wifi-as-WAN, automatic failover/failback, ability to turn DHCP off for main wireless network and on for guest wireless network; WAN load balancing, GRE and VPN tunneling, and lots of other enterprise-grade features in an economical package.
Cons: None that I have found so far.
Other Thoughts: Simply the best small business router that I have come across. The ease of use for setting up the wireless WAN and failover alone makes it worth the price. Excellent help menu that pops up when you hover the mouse over a setting that you don't understand, AND it's all grammatically correct! There have been two firmware updates released since I've owned the router, so it's nice to know they support their products. I'm a big Cradlepoint fan now, and I'd buy this thing again in a heartbeat.
Reviewed By:flanigan,3/5/2013 11:39:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mobile Hot Spots > AGPtek > 180° Fisheye Lens +Wide Angle Lens +Macro Lens 3-in-1 Black Kit for Apple iPhone 5 5G - Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works as advertised
Pros: The lens works as advertised and you get exactly what you pay for. The three lens work surprisingly well. This is my first attempt at using iPhone lens adapters. There are some pricier alternative, which probably offer pro level lenses, but these guys do the trick. I was impressed with the macro lens.
Cons: The only downside is that I have to take my case on and off to use them.
Other Thoughts: Great buy if you're looking for some iphone lens to have a little fun with. I recommend this for most amateur photographers. If you're a professional that wants top quality, I'd look in a different price range.
Reviewed By:AG82,1/14/2013 12:39:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mobile Hot Spots > Zoom Technologies Inc. > Zoom 3G Wireless-N Travel Router (4506)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Fantastic, except for one glaring security problem
Pros: Works like any other router except for the 3G settings, which were automatic. It's small, light, battery is EXCELLENT when used in context of a laptop thats also battery powered. No external antenna to break off when used portably. I dont want long range, if I did, Id put a DD-WRT-ed router in the system, so an internal antenna is actually a benefit - also it wont broadcast a signal as far down the street as a device with an external antenna, which adds a couple dB gain.

I had to download firmware for my 3G device but the process was easy.

This 4506 is basically plug and play, unless you want to set security features.
Cons: 1. Zoom has made a SERIOUS security hole in this firmware. The Status page (the HTML page the router displays when the computer accesses it via wireless or ethernet) DISPLAYS THE SSID.

What the (expletive deleted) is the point in a security option for "do not broadcast SSID" when the Status page, that ANYONE can access if they know, or can find, the IP, gives it away? All a hacker needs is an IP address scanner that anyone can download, then go to the router and SEE the SSID, that is two out of three (or two out of two if you havent set a router password) to getting access to your computer.

***The field for SSID on the Routers Status page should be blanked out when 'do not broadcast' is selected.****

Newbies- a routers SSID is sort of like the number on your house. A burglar (hacker or bored neighbor) has a more difficult time finding your house without a house number on the mailbox, then needs a key (password) to get in (or a brick...)

A hackers job is much easier if the SSID is broadcasted. If it isnt, it has to be found and there are millions of combinations. Making it easy for a hacker is NOT security.

2. LAN cable defective. Plugged in, wouldnt see the router.
Fortunately I had another one that was quality.
Other Thoughts: Dont buy it (until they fix the firmware) if you need/want the 'do not broadcast SSID' function. If you are setting up a network to play on the internet, then fine, but especially if you need security such as running a business (on line or not), have personal data on the computer (take it off immediately) etc, then you want security settings, and **this router is NOT the one for security until Zoom fixes this giant security hole.**

There's a way around this problem, but Im SURE not going to post it, its one of my tricks after 30 years in computers and it does not help my security if I give tricks away...

As to Newegg, their SERVICE ABSOLUTELY, POSTIVELY ROCKS !!!!! Except for the merchandise being shipped to KY (thanks, UPS) and back, which raises the possibliity of ESD to the merchandise, service was great. But, thats why we buy from the Big Boys like Newegg and TD, right? (Ill be nice and not spell out the name of Neweggs competitor)

Seriously, it's very risky to ship static sensitive devices to KY and back on an airplane, which is a giant, flying mega-volt static electricity generator, plus it wastes time and fuel. Ive seen entire, packaged, encased electronic devices destroyed from shipping when not being packed in ESD proof containers ( I iused to be a Tech in consumer electronic repair for Sears) and this router is not in static safe packaging.

That the device itself is in an ESD bag is NOT sufficient, they can only withstand fairly low ESD voltages.
Reviewed By:daveca,11/21/2012 12:37:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Mobile Hot Spots > CradlePoint, Inc. > Cradlepoint Mission-Critical Broadband Router (MBR1400)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very capable and easy to configure
Pros: Easy to configure, and works great with USB modems for providing quick-delivery of remote internet services for small offices. I have 5 of these so far and they beat the others hands-down.
Cons: Haven't found any yet
Reviewed By:Itguy,10/29/2012 7:09:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mobile Hot Spots > Zoom Technologies Inc. > Zoom 3G Wireless-N Travel Router (4506)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great!
Pros: Works great with my VZW Moto Droid Bionic smart phone. The Zoom Tech helped with necessary upgrades to the VZW Android "Zoom Tether" app and the droid. Once setup the modem/phone combo has operated flawlessly for months.
Cons: At first I had a problem with the phone discharging, but then discovered is was the cable from Zoom to phone that was bad. This was not really a Zoom problem, but easily fixed once the Tech said the modem 'should' keep the phone charged.
Other Thoughts: VZW 'hotspot' subscription not needed. Of course a phone data plan is, and with 4g speeds you can use up bytes fast. Because I travel in an RV, I restrict the phone to 3g so it does not go in and out of service as frequently. The Zoom Travel Router is definitely on my recommended list. If you are in doubt I suggest calling Zoom Tech and ask if it will work with your configuration.
Reviewed By:BobH,10/10/2012 7:17:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau