Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Mobile Hot Spots > CradlePoint, Inc. > Cradlepoint Mission-Critical Broadband Router (MBR1400)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very reliable product
Pros: I got the MBR-1400v2 with the MC200LE side attachment and swapped out all the antennas with high gain counterparts.

I've been using that setup paired with unlimited 4G data on Verizon for nearly two years now.

So far, the device has not let me down... Any disruptions are on the carriers end. You can set up many fallback connections as backups in case a connection fails.

The device itself is very sturdy and modern/robust in appearance, absolutely love the design.

Feature wise, it has everything AND the kitchen sink.

All sorts of graphs, specific data, system level logging, etc.
There are quite a few tunnels, VPN, BGP, Proxy type connections/protocols.

Updating the firmware for the device and attached devices is extremely easy, just click a button and it automatically downloads and installs it for you. They provide very nice release notes with every update, and it seems to be actively and regularly updated.

You can even SSH into the device. It seems to run some sort of lightweight version of linux... Not sure. I prefer the web interface. Top notch.

The amount of features is so chalk full, this hands down beats any consumer router I have ever used. (This is far from regular consumer grade gear!)

As I just said, this is definitely not something you would run down to your nearest box store to buy...


I live in an area where the local cable company refuses to offer any service too me, even though they have a 10 Gig fiber line running a few feet in front of my house. Politics... (Charter Cable...)

The only option for service was DSL, and that is not going to cut it for what I do. I run a business full time and require a reliable high speed connection 24/7.

So I managed to get a hold of an unlimited data account with Verizon, and bought this device directly from Cradlepoint.
(Was about $800 with the modem! Newegg definitely is the way to go nowadays.)
A small investment, but it has definitely payed off.

So far I have pushed well over 10 terabytes through the device and the attached 4g modem... I know, Verizon hates me.

I upload and download very large files on a regular basis, stream HD movies, play FPS games... Latency and bandwidth is no problem. (<50ms usually).

Now I can laugh at the DSL provider, as I get around 50/15 mbps.
(They keep sending me spam mail begging me to sign a contract with them.. Too funny.)
Cons: Not much to put here really...
A few compromises with this device over other, more consumer/niche devices.

I really wish they had included an RJ45 connector, not for DSL/etc, but for using any phone capability that comes with the attached modem (More specifically the MC200LE, also made by Cradlepoint specifically for this device). It's a shame that the plan with my carrier gives me text/talk ability, but I cannot use it on that line. It would have been a good feature.

I believe the device can receive SMS, but not send.. (If you can it is very convoluted.)

That's the only thing that I really wanted from this device but it didn't have. But it's no big deal, provided I basically have a mobile connection that is much better than your average permanent cable connection.
Other Thoughts: Overall, very happy with this device.

Every other mobile router with the capability to use 4G as a means of WAN has been absolutely terrible at it. (Yes I am looking at you, Netgear MBR1515, MiFi Hotspot 4620L)

Other means of connectivity before I found this router was using the hotspot feature on many, many smartphones.
I eventually settled on the Galaxy S3's hotspot mode, was decent at it, but I eventually pushed so much data through it (Terrabytes) that it failed presumably from heat. (Device was too hot too touch during operation, ruled out battery failure).

So, please excuse the length, backstory and scattered writing behind this review...

I just can't imagine where I would be without this device, as it has spared me 2 years of pain and suffering.
Reviewed By:Joannou1,10/28/2014 6:48:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mobile Hot Spots > CradlePoint, Inc. > Cradlepoint Wireless N Portable Router CTR35

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 works well with clear dongle
Pros: compact
can be powered from usb with an additional cable
works with a clear dongle
Cons: doesn't seem to power the clear base on usb power
Reviewed By:mej,2/20/2014 8:38:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mobile Hot Spots > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 4G LTE Mobile Hotspot Verizon SCH-LC11

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 A VERIZON 4G LTE SIM CARD IS REQUIRED TO USE THIS DEVICE (NOT INCLUDED).
Pros: Absolutely None. WARNING- DO NOT BUY THIS USELESS, EXPENSIVE DEVICE. Only to find that even the Verizon Sales or Customer Service agents do not know how to get you the right sim card or service plan to use it!
Cons: It is not "Universal" as stated in the Specification information under "Compatible Phone Manufacturer". In order to use this device with any other service provider you must change the APN which this device does not allow you to do. Verizon does not allow you to use any prepaid plans for it. You must apply for a contract service plan that charges more for the sim card service which is just data than their share all plans which offer Unlimited minutes, text and data. It is not a phone so you can not take advantage of those offers, you must order a Hotspot or Jetpack Sim that only incldes data limits 4GB ($30), 5GB ($40) and so on plus a line fee of $20 a month.
Other Thoughts: By the time I got all the right information about this device my 30-day return had expired. I actually ordered service for this device from Verizon only to receive a call 10 days later stating that the plan I ordered is not available for this device!!! TWICE! This can only be done by calling their 18009220204 number and having them order the wrong or unavailable service plans for it. You can not order it on line nor at the local Verizon stores!
Reviewed By:mlucero67,2/5/2014 12:51:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mobile Hot Spots > Netgear Inc. > Netgear 3G /4G Mobile Broadband Wireless-N Router (MBRN3000)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 4g lte device beware
Pros: No comments.
Cons: I bought this router after checking that it works with my Pantech ULM290 device, but didn't connect to Verizon at all. After spending numerous technical support with Netgear, they said it's not compatible. Bummer.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/23/2013 4:21:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Mobile Hot Spots > CradlePoint, Inc. > Cradlepoint Small Business Mobile Broadband Router MBR1200B

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic Small Business Router
Pros: Wireless WAN using USB data stick, wifi-as-WAN, automatic failover/failback, ability to turn DHCP off for main wireless network and on for guest wireless network; WAN load balancing, GRE and VPN tunneling, and lots of other enterprise-grade features in an economical package.
Cons: None that I have found so far.
Other Thoughts: Simply the best small business router that I have come across. The ease of use for setting up the wireless WAN and failover alone makes it worth the price. Excellent help menu that pops up when you hover the mouse over a setting that you don't understand, AND it's all grammatically correct! There have been two firmware updates released since I've owned the router, so it's nice to know they support their products. I'm a big Cradlepoint fan now, and I'd buy this thing again in a heartbeat.
Reviewed By:flanigan,3/5/2013 11:39:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mobile Hot Spots > Zoom Technologies Inc. > Zoom 3G Wireless-N Travel Router (4506)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Fantastic, except for one glaring security problem
Pros: Works like any other router except for the 3G settings, which were automatic. It's small, light, battery is EXCELLENT when used in context of a laptop thats also battery powered. No external antenna to break off when used portably. I dont want long range, if I did, Id put a DD-WRT-ed router in the system, so an internal antenna is actually a benefit - also it wont broadcast a signal as far down the street as a device with an external antenna, which adds a couple dB gain.

I had to download firmware for my 3G device but the process was easy.

This 4506 is basically plug and play, unless you want to set security features.
Cons: 1. Zoom has made a SERIOUS security hole in this firmware. The Status page (the HTML page the router displays when the computer accesses it via wireless or ethernet) DISPLAYS THE SSID.

What the (expletive deleted) is the point in a security option for "do not broadcast SSID" when the Status page, that ANYONE can access if they know, or can find, the IP, gives it away? All a hacker needs is an IP address scanner that anyone can download, then go to the router and SEE the SSID, that is two out of three (or two out of two if you havent set a router password) to getting access to your computer.

***The field for SSID on the Routers Status page should be blanked out when 'do not broadcast' is selected.****

Newbies- a routers SSID is sort of like the number on your house. A burglar (hacker or bored neighbor) has a more difficult time finding your house without a house number on the mailbox, then needs a key (password) to get in (or a brick...)

A hackers job is much easier if the SSID is broadcasted. If it isnt, it has to be found and there are millions of combinations. Making it easy for a hacker is NOT security.

2. LAN cable defective. Plugged in, wouldnt see the router.
Fortunately I had another one that was quality.
Other Thoughts: Dont buy it (until they fix the firmware) if you need/want the 'do not broadcast SSID' function. If you are setting up a network to play on the internet, then fine, but especially if you need security such as running a business (on line or not), have personal data on the computer (take it off immediately) etc, then you want security settings, and **this router is NOT the one for security until Zoom fixes this giant security hole.**

There's a way around this problem, but Im SURE not going to post it, its one of my tricks after 30 years in computers and it does not help my security if I give tricks away...

As to Newegg, their SERVICE ABSOLUTELY, POSTIVELY ROCKS !!!!! Except for the merchandise being shipped to KY (thanks, UPS) and back, which raises the possibliity of ESD to the merchandise, service was great. But, thats why we buy from the Big Boys like Newegg and TD, right? (Ill be nice and not spell out the name of Neweggs competitor)

Seriously, it's very risky to ship static sensitive devices to KY and back on an airplane, which is a giant, flying mega-volt static electricity generator, plus it wastes time and fuel. Ive seen entire, packaged, encased electronic devices destroyed from shipping when not being packed in ESD proof containers ( I iused to be a Tech in consumer electronic repair for Sears) and this router is not in static safe packaging.

That the device itself is in an ESD bag is NOT sufficient, they can only withstand fairly low ESD voltages.
Reviewed By:daveca,11/21/2012 12:37:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Mobile Hot Spots > CradlePoint, Inc. > Cradlepoint Mission-Critical Broadband Router (MBR1400)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very capable and easy to configure
Pros: Easy to configure, and works great with USB modems for providing quick-delivery of remote internet services for small offices. I have 5 of these so far and they beat the others hands-down.
Cons: Haven't found any yet
Reviewed By:Itguy,10/29/2012 7:09:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mobile Hot Spots > Zoom Technologies Inc. > Zoom 3G Wireless-N Travel Router (4506)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great!
Pros: Works great with my VZW Moto Droid Bionic smart phone. The Zoom Tech helped with necessary upgrades to the VZW Android "Zoom Tether" app and the droid. Once setup the modem/phone combo has operated flawlessly for months.
Cons: At first I had a problem with the phone discharging, but then discovered is was the cable from Zoom to phone that was bad. This was not really a Zoom problem, but easily fixed once the Tech said the modem 'should' keep the phone charged.
Other Thoughts: VZW 'hotspot' subscription not needed. Of course a phone data plan is, and with 4g speeds you can use up bytes fast. Because I travel in an RV, I restrict the phone to 3g so it does not go in and out of service as frequently. The Zoom Travel Router is definitely on my recommended list. If you are in doubt I suggest calling Zoom Tech and ask if it will work with your configuration.
Reviewed By:BobH,10/10/2012 7:17:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mobile Hot Spots > CradlePoint, Inc. > Cradlepoint Wireless N Portable Router CTR35

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works well for what I use it.
Pros: Ease of configuration
Cons: None that I have run across, thus far**
Other Thoughts: **I use this for only one reason - to secure a shared WiFi service. For that, it works well. I have no use for it other than that so I cannot account for any of the other features. It'd be nice if there was a DD-WRT ROM for it so I wouldn't have to use two routers.
Reviewed By:kevlar68,9/21/2012 11:34:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Mobile Hot Spots > Netgear Inc. > Netgear 3G /4G Mobile Broadband Wireless-N Router (MBRN3000)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Great Paper Weight
Pros: I could not say there are any pro's. Without a compatible 3G device you cannot even configure the device!
Cons: I have two 3G devices, one of which is listed on the Netgear site as compatible and the router still would not recongnize the modem and therefore refused to let me configure the router. So, I cannot even use the device as a switch because I cannot get passed the 3G device configuration page.
I have tried upgrading the firmware and same results.
Other Thoughts: Save your money.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/21/2012 4:50:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.