Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Compact Mirrorless Cameras > Sony > SONY Alpha a6000 ILCE-6000L/S Silver 24.3MP 3.0" 921.6K LCD Mirrorless Interchangeable-lens Camera w/ 16-50mm lens

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Sony A6000
Pros: Great Picture quality
Customizable function buttons
Cons: The Camera strap is a bit messy
Other Thoughts: I received the camera with no lables, no tags. You tube vidoes (unboxing) shows camera with labels and tags attached. Did i get a "return" or "a floor model"?
Reviewed By:Ave,1/21/2015 7:39:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Compact Mirrorless Cameras > FUJIFILM > Fujifilm X-M1 Mirrorless Digital Camera with XC 16-50mm f/3.5-5.6 OIS Lens (Black)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Quite a camera!
Pros: I have been quite pleased with the quality of the photos from this camera. The sharpness is breathtaking, particularly with a prime lens. The color registering is very good. When I use this camera, I am reminded of the old Canon AT-1 and FTB I used to shoot with. It operates smoothly, even in cold temperatures, and lets me easily make the changes I want for exposure, depth of field, and shutter speed. Although this camera doesn't have the latest video features, it takes reasonable video in a useful, if limited, format. The tiltable lcd has been helpful, particularly in taking candid shots of family members unobtrusively, and in taking shots above and below eye level. It's kind of fun sometimes to shoot from waist level like an old twin-lens reflex.
Cons: My only negative on this camera is the lack of a viewfinder--I knew this when I bought it, and chose not to spend the $100 or more extra for the next level camera. So far it has not interfered with my shooting.
Reviewed By:Simplismic,1/18/2015 9:13:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Compact Mirrorless Cameras > Panasonic > Panasonic LUMIX DMC-GF5K Black 12.1 MP 3.0" 920K Touch LCD Digital Interchangeable Lens System Camera w/ 14-42mm Lens

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 better than black friday
Pros: this camera was succeeded by a newer model long ago but this is for those who may happen find this.
i bought an open box gf5 taking the chance that it wouldn't be included with the battery, charger or even the lens. when i got it everything was there, like it was brand new other than the seal on the box was cut. it was $200 and for that price it was the deal of the year($400 off!!). this was in august and even then the new gf6 had already been out, still a no brainer. sure it has "only" 12 megapixels but compared to any other camera around $200 even with higher mp, it blows them out of the water.
mega pixels aren't everything, its the size of the image sensor that matters(more than twice the size of pointandshoot. this is what makes the image so clear. that with a big lens you will get more light coming in and hitting the sensor which is needed for darker shots. so far out of a couple hundred pictures taken, there were only a dozen i wasn't happy about. the rest came out great, and didn't have to re-shoot. video is not perfect, doesn't have all the functions a camcorder does but you can get good quality footage.

i'm very happy with this camera and don't plan on upgrading anytime soon. the focus is superfast and it always autofocuses the way you want it to. dark shots are pretty good. it has to be really dark to get grain in the picture. the processor on this camera is very adaptive and can compensate focus for multiple objects, like i said before, i've never had to set it to manual mode. it shoots video just fine, better than most camcorders.
sure this isn't even close to dslr's or some of the other better compact mirror-less camera's but this is exactly what i need in a camera. its a bit bigger than a point and shoot but can still tote it around in a small case.

can take multiple shots in 1 sec

so consider this camera if you want better quality pictures than point and shoot cameras. you will be happy with it. you can still find these from some outlets, and they go for pretty cheap.
Cons: the lens that came with it is about 4" long. i keep the lens off of it to store it in my case. so if you need to use it in a hurry to snap a pic of that ufo ect it takes 5 seconds to take the 3 dust caps off and get the lens mounted. also the zoom is manual.
zoom is only 3x
manual zoom
lenses are expensive
Reviewed By:N/A,12/11/2014 6:52:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Compact Mirrorless Cameras > SAMSUNG > Samsung NX300 20.3 Megapixel Mirrorless Camera (Body with Lens Kit) - 18 mm - 55 mm - White

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Samsung NX300
Pros: Great Pictures, Wireless connectivity through direct link, auto backup, email, social media, and apps. Go auto or lots of settings, still haven't used them all. Simple dial moves between several modes of aperture, shutter, or lens priority. As well as Program mode with numerous pre-programmed scenarios. Saving to RAW or JPEG. Interchangeable ois lenses and filters. full HD video. touchscreen viewfinder.

Great Samsung customer service experience for me.
Cons: If left in auto, Don't be surprised if you sometimes get blurry action shots. When someone else picks up this camera to, say take a picture of family group at thanksgiving, in auto it is sometimes blurry. It has face recognition or touchscreen tap to focus but, it wasn't used. Some cons on this camera might be traced back to this operator, as I still haven't tried or needed all the manual settings.
Price has dropped since my purchase, as usual :)
Other Thoughts: Before buying I did research and some reviewers noticed image quality lagged behind other cameras. I like taking landscapes, and I Love the results.
At first I missed a viewfinder, but the touchscreen has become like second nature now.
Had an issue with screen not coming on. Contacted Samsung to see about repair. after initial contact to go through test and confirm. there was some confusion and phone tag. The experience turned out to be great. I sent in my camera and got it back like new. They cleaned it inside and out. No charge, thanks Samsung. No problems since.
Reviewed By:bear,12/11/2014 7:05:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Compact Mirrorless Cameras > Sony > SONY Alpha a6000 ILCE-6000L/B Black 24.3 MP 3.0" 921.6K LCD Mirrorless DSLR Camera w/ 16-50mm Lens

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 No lens caps, really?
Pros: So now I've had the camera for about two weeks. I love the resolution and quality of the photos. The auto focus rocks as does the continuous shooting. It's really top-notch, I'm very happy. I'm also happy with the functions, menu, ability to customize buttons and so forth. And thanks Newegg for including a nice memory card that Sony left out of the bundle.
Cons: I'm still miffed about the lack of a body cap and rear lens cap with the 16-50mm lens bundle.

Also, Sony should include a memory card. (It was nice that Newegg provided one for free.)

Lack of a DC style car charger was a negative too. I had to buy one aftermarket.

And the big negative was when I bought an FE 70-200mm lens and mounted it to the a6000. I noticed it had some rotational play, of about .002-.003". Not cool. It was then that I mounted the lighter FE 28-70mm lens and noticed the same rotational play as well.

The OEM E mount consist of two parts, one metal ring over a plastic inner ring to which the lens locks. This is true of the a7 and a7r as well. The newer a7s, Iv'e read, has a single piece all metal E mount ring.

As it turns out, someone decided this rotational play was such a problem that there is now an aftermarket single piece all metal E mount replacement. So I bought one, a "Tought E Mount" by fotodiox, and now my lenses click into place nice and tight.
Other Thoughts: So, overall, I'm very happy with the camera. But because it's kind of a "kit project," meaning I had to purchase bits and pieces, as well as an aftermarket 'performance' part, Sony only gets three eggs on the a6000 16-50mm lens bundle.
Reviewed By:BobT,11/30/2014 11:02:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Compact Mirrorless Cameras > FUJIFILM > Fujifilm X-M1 Mirrorless Digital Camera with XC 16-50mm f/3.5-5.6 OIS Lens (Black)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Sharp pix, shoots well
Pros: Sharp photos, good controls, compact, good manual controls. Manual focus fringing is effective and helpful.
Cons: It would be better with an electronic viewfinder. Video color balance could be easier. No dedicated video mode. Limited video formats: only 30 fps, and only mpeg files.
Other Thoughts: I really like the sharpness of still photos, and the ease of using the manual controls. It makes reasonable videos, though video color balance is limited, and video formats are few.
Reviewed By:Simplismic,11/28/2014 12:58:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Compact Mirrorless Cameras > Sony > SONY Alpha a6000 ILCE-6000L/B Black 24.3 MP 3.0" 921.6K LCD Mirrorless DSLR Camera w/ 16-50mm Lens

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 No lens caps, really?
Pros: I've only had this camera for a little over a day now. What little I've learned so far, it seems very nice. I will append this review at a later date with my overall user experience once I get the camera into the field. Also, so far it's fully compatible with Linux under digicam, Gwenview, and GIMP. Darktable will be able to process the RAW files by the end of the year, they say.
Cons: For now, I'm ***very*** disappointed that I was forced to immediately get online to buy a camera body cap and a rear lens cap--and I can't remove the lens until they arrive. It's really pathetic that a relatively expensive mid-range interchangeable lens camera would be packaged and sold without a full set of protective caps. Also missing, a full instruction book which must be download from the Sony website.
Other Thoughts: I sure hope I'm not making an expensive mistake buying into the Sony ecosystem which generally is marked by overpriced products, manufacturer penny pinching (lack of caps and a complete printed instruction manual for example). Of course, the quality is very good, but Sony seems to prefer to pinch pennies and have "satisfied" customers rather than loose a penny or two and have happy customers. It's a fine line they walk for a tiny extra profit. I'll update this review with a full user experience at a later date.
Reviewed By:BobT,11/20/2014 1:56:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Compact Mirrorless Cameras > Sony > SONY Alpha A3000 ILCE-3000K/B Black Interchangeable Lens Digital Camera with 18-55mm Lens - Retail

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 it's a great buy
Pros: Let's face it, anyone who has used a higher end camera will be disappointed in this product because it has an odd ball menu system and it's missing the bells and whistles some people have come to expect. But if you are coming from a point and shoot or just want a simple camera that takes great pictures without taking out a mortgage, this is the perfect camera.

Giant sensor
Decent lens quality
Nice handy size/format
Great low light performance
Fairly low noise pictures at high ISO settings
Light weight
Great bokeh
Cons: Menu system feels clumsy
Weak flash
Other Thoughts: My previous camera was a Panasonic gf2 and I would still be using it if it didn't get wet when a bottle of water let go in my bag. The picture quality of this Sony is much better.

Remember Sony makes these sensors to go into the big expensive cameras so the a3000 is like the backdoor approach to pictures that look like you spent twice what the camera cost
Reviewed By:pickandpray,10/7/2014 6:45:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Compact Mirrorless Cameras > Canon USA > Canon EOS M Black 18 MP Compact Mirrorless System Camera with EF-M 22mm STM Lens

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Shipped with wrong lens in kit (2 lens) box, opened.
Pros: Shipped with the wrong lens - 18-55mm zoom, but advertised with 22mm. I wanted the 22mm because this is a present for my gf who travels and would be using it as a nice little compact camera. I'm listing this as a pro, because eventually I'd probably end up getting this lens for her, and it's more expensive and a zoom. So, dumb, but okay.
Cons: Shipped with the wrong lens. And also, came in the kit box listing it as the eos-m with BOTH lenses, so they basically just opened the box, and took out the 22mm. Dumb.
Other Thoughts: This seller is straight up amateur. Photo-4-Now didn't even give me any indication when they were shipping until I emailed them several days after I was charged, then on top of that sent the wrong item. Well, thanks for the nicer zoom lens, I'll be keeping this one and buying the 100 dollar less 22mm this kit was supposed to come with from a different seller.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/18/2014 11:56:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Compact Mirrorless Cameras > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG NX3000 EV-NX3000BOHUS White 20.3MP 3.0" 460.8K LCD Mirrorless Digital Camera with 16-50mm Lens

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 LOVE this Camera
Pros: Moving from a Canon Rebel DSLR system, this camera is TINY. The lenses are smaller than the EF-S lens lineup also. The images are insanely sharp. The price is unbeatable for what you get. If you sometimes shoot studio like I do, this is by FAR the smallest APS-C system with a hotshoe.

I am selling my whole Canon system ($2500 of lenses and bodies). I can carry this thing anywhere. I always found myself leaving the DSLR at home.
Cons: The contrast based AF is too slow to deal with a high-speed child. Really needs to have Phase Detection. A viewer would be nice, as long as it didn't impact the size/weight (best part of this camera)
Reviewed By:N/A,8/20/2014 2:36:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.