Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > USB Converters > Rosewill > Rosewill RCW-608 - USB 2.0 Adapter for IDE / SATA Device, Protective Case Included

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Lasted all of 30 minutes
Pros: Simple to use
Cheap (not cheap enough, but still cheap)
Shipped quickly
Nice power supply with in-line switch
Cons: Lifespan (about 30 minutes)
Other Thoughts: Well, that was quick.

Lasted all of 30 minutes. Had barely enough time to transfer my stuff before it died (the adapter, not the HDD).

I heard the Windows doing-doing-doing sound, which means something is crapping itself out. That was the last time this adapter worked. I had to go back to my 10X-cheaper fleeBay adapter to finish the job. Tried it out on a different machine with Linux too, completely dead.

Threw it into the trash, but kept the power adapter since it was the only nice (and still working) thing in that box.

Will definitely NOT buy again.
Reviewed By:TopperCNC,7/31/2015 3:18:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > STARTECH > StarTech USB2SATAIDE USB 2.0 to SATA IDE Adapter

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Outstanding Adapter for old hard drives
Pros: - USB interface
- Three different types of hard drive connections, 40 pin, 44 pin, and SATA
- 4 pin MOLEX and SATA power connectors
- Power conversion kit with plugs for US and European outlets
Cons: It is a USB 2.0 interface, so if you are transferring large amounts of files, it will take a while.
Other Thoughts: I had 6 old hard drives of various types and was excited to find an adapter that could accommodate all of them. It worked perfectly and was easy to use. One of my drives had around 40 GB of files and it took between 2-3 hours to transfer, but what do you expect...thats a lot of data.

Great product.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/31/2015 6:17:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > Vantec > VANTEC CB-ESATAU3 NexStar eSATA to USB 3.0 Adapter

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 WAITING FOR REPLACEMENT
Pros: NONE. I would give it negative stars if it let me, but I required that I give it one star, which it does not deserve.
Cons: I ordered the esata to usb 3.0 adapter. I got the sata to usb adapter. I am not sure how they expect me to use an internal SATA adapter: the bare drive is just supposed to lie on my desk? At any rate, I have a lot of Vantec and other esata enclosures, so I need the ESATA adapter and no other. I am STILL WAITING without a response.
Other Thoughts: I DO NOT KNOW IF I RECEIVED A REFURBISHED PRODUCT "MISTAKENLY" OR IF THE NEWEGG OR VANTEC SHIPPING DEPARTMENT HAVE THEIR HEAD UP THEIR A__, SO THEY PUT THE WRONG PRODUCT INTO THE ESATA package box, and I do not know what is taking them so long to confirm, after they received my return, that the sole, small adapter in the small box was really the wrong product: i.e., it DOES NOT EVEN MATCH THE PICTURE IN THE FRONT OF THE BOX! Look. At. The. Front. Of. The. Box! Meanwhile, they succeed in delaying my work by weeks and aggravating me more.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/30/2015 8:24:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > SIIG, Inc > SIIG JU-NE0611-S1 SuperSpeed USB 3.0 to Gigabit LAN Adapter, - USB to RJ45- usb 3.0 gigabit adapter - usb 3.0 to Ethernet - usb 3.0 adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works
Pros: Fast, was able to get > 900mbps in testing
Good construction, feels high quality
Plug and play on Windows
Cons: Will interfere with 2.4GHz, don't plug this in near your Logitech/other wireless accessory's adapters. Affected both my Logitech and IOGear devices. Not a big issue, just a 2-3" USB extension I found negated issues, but may perhaps still affect range a little; didn't bother testing.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/30/2015 4:16:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > Vantec > Vantec 2.5"/3.5"/5.25" SATA/IDE to USB 2.0 Adapter - Model CB-ISATAU2

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Vantec SATA/IDE to USB
Pros: Works Great! Used on both SATA and IDE drive I took out of a dead pc. Able to recover all the files I needed with not 1 problem.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2015 7:55:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > VCOM International Ltd > VCOM VC-USBSATA USB 2.0 to SATA/IDE Adapter

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Burned up two hard drives
Pros: -0-
Cons: The power supply is out of specification and pushes too-high voltage. It overheated and destroyed two notebook hard drives, and began overheating a much larger, heavier drive but I noticed and disconnected in time. Obviously poor quality control.
Other Thoughts: Maybe it would work well if it wasn't defective. I can't know.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2015 12:22:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > Vantec > Vantec 2.5"/3.5"/5.25" SATA/IDE to USB 2.0 Adapter - Model CB-ISATAU2

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Handy tool while it worked
Pros: -very simple to use
-wide range of applications
-worked reliably for a couple months
Cons: -easy to plug in IDE port off center or backwards
-my unit failed after a few months
Other Thoughts: I work on and build PC's as a side business in addition to my day job. I wouldn't exactly call myself a professional but I test a few old IDE hard drives a day in the background while gaming and this was a great little tool to format drives before selling them. This adapter was just what I needed while it worked. I formatted somewhere around 25 older hard drives with capacities between 20-250GB over a couple months. I also used this adapter to burn a few CD's on older IDE CD/DVD drives and that worked fine as well. Yesterday I had a drive fail half way through formatting and I figured it was just the drive so I tossed in in the reject pile to take apart later for magnets and other fun bits. The next drive the same thing happened... and the next.... then I tried to burn another CD and iTunes would say there had been an error after a couple seconds. I tried a known good drive and a couple other PCs just to be sure. It's definitely dead. I would say I got my use out of it but I wish it would have lasted longer than a couple months. I'll look for a similar adapter of a different make.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/27/2015 4:27:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > SIIG, Inc > SIIG JU-NE0611-S1 SuperSpeed USB 3.0 to Gigabit LAN Adapter, - USB to RJ45- usb 3.0 gigabit adapter - usb 3.0 to Ethernet - usb 3.0 adapter

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Plug-n-Play and VLAN ID not supported
Pros: VLAN supported, thus PVID supported switch needed
Cons: Plug-n-Play not supported
VLAN ID not supported
Reviewed By:Jonathan Q Le,7/26/2015 10:29:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > Vantec > Vantec 2.5"/3.5"/5.25" SATA/IDE to USB 2.0 Adapter - Model CB-ISATAU2

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 When in a pinch, this thing works.
Pros: Convenient alternative for accessing hard drives, whether IDE or SATA.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I have had this model for over four years and it has been very useful. I bought it originally to help recover information from family and friend's hard drives. However, I use it more at my job now than anything. I build servers, rack and tower style, and this adapter works like a champ when testing drives coming back from customers or when someone needs a new drive tested because it failed when being used in a Raid configuration.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/26/2015 3:55:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > MUKii Technology INC. > Mukii TIP-Q120U2SI SATA or IDE to USB 2.0 Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Still kicking
Pros: Use it to transfer live files from dead to dying disk drives and works like a champ when i dont have a dock handy.
Cons: Na
Reviewed By:N/A,7/25/2015 9:12:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.