Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > USB Converters > STARTECH > StarTech USB3S2SAT3CB USB 3.0 to 2.5” SATA III Hard Drive Adapter Cable w/ UASP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Works exactly as advertised, reliably and dependably.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Other websites sell this item a lot cheaper (as in $10 or $11) than Newegg. Newegg's customer service has gone down hill over the last couple years.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/1/2015 3:20:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > Sabrent > SABRENT USB-STP3 USB 2.0 to SATA 1.8"/2.5"/3.5"/5.25"/SSD Hard Drive & CD/DVD-RW Adapter

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Failed after 6 months
Pros: i like the layout: quick plug into a sata drive, versus having separate connectors for power and data.
Cons: Does not recognize 3tb drives. Short life span.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/1/2015 2:01:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > APEVIA CORP. > Apevia CVTUSB32 USB 3.0 to USB 2.0 Converter Cable

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Does what it should
Pros: Good quality
wires are covered up to end (almost) with black sleeve
It works " . "

Does not stand out in windowed case
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I don't own any 3.0 devices so wanted a simple NO hassle way to avoid any issues with the USB ports in my new build which has only USB 3.0 ports in front.

Are 3.0 ports backwards compatible? I am not plugging a $150 pair of headphones in to find out, even if they are.
Manufacturer Response:USB 3.0 ports are compatible with older formats, including 2.0, so you should be fine with using any plug-and-play devices.

Reviewed By:N/A,6/27/2015 6:15:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > Rosewill > Rosewill RCW-618 USB to IDE / SATA Adapter - Supports Windows 7

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Doesn't work on old WD drives
Pros: Comes with power supply and rubber HD cover.
Cons: Doesn't work with older Western Digital Caviar 31200.
Other Thoughts: Found several others examples on internet that had same problem. Older Western Digital drives don't seem to work with this unit. I can only speak to the Caviar 31200. HD works fine when I plug it into the mobo IDE port... doesn't work when using this device's IDE port. Set drive as a master, plug it in, I get lights, I hear usb connecting... then it drops and I get a drive failure error. Well... drive works fine on the mobo IDE port. Giving it two eggs because I got it to work on a newer drive.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/25/2015 9:17:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > STARTECH > StarTech USB3S2SAT3CB USB 3.0 to 2.5” SATA III Hard Drive Adapter Cable w/ UASP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 works well
Pros: I use this a lot for imaging / and also backing up drives, it works very well, runs fast -- seems sturdy (travel with it stuffed in a bag every day).
Cons: none really
Other Thoughts: am a little worried about it wearing the connectors out on the ssd I have attached to it from constant plugging / unplugging, though I guess it isn't really designed to be an external drive bay replacement though
Reviewed By:N/A,6/24/2015 8:10:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > Vantec > Vantec 2.5"/3.5"/5.25" SATA/IDE to USB 2.0 Adapter - Model CB-ISATAU2

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Poorly informed
Pros: Works like charm without cooling fan ... if you don't anything about PC
Cons: There can be IRQ conflict happening using USB (external drives) or IDE or SATA cables (internal connection not using this product). When the copying time is like crazy due to IRQ conflicts, stop the copying or the HDD will be fried! It fries more quickly when there is no cooling fans.

IRQ conflict happened alot with USB slots, when it happens you need to unplug the device and reboot PC and connect the USB device into another USB slot. There is no instruction telling you to do this! and the HDD will be fried if you don't know that the copying time shown is crazy and you shouldn't copy over 40GB at a time and by every 40gb sized copying the HDD needed to be cooled for 1 hour.

Usually it's the HDD installed in your PC (and between it and the OS) that has IRQ or psycho-cyclinic reading issues and not ALL due to the USB device connected (more like OS to USB device conflict differently per boot of OS and per change of USB device), making the copying time go crazy! It's the OS and USB slot that works at one time and not at another time, you may need to installed a second boot OS to fix this as well as connecting the USB device to another USB slot! F Bill Gates the ret8rd who gives so little information on using PC! totally a noob! 8 = a @

Imagine to copy mere 2 MB and it shows a copy time of over 2 hours! What kind of OS is that?
Reviewed By:N/A,6/21/2015 4:28:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > Vantec > VANTEC CB-ISATAU3 NexStar SATA/IDE to USB 3.0 Adapter - 2.5"/3.5"/5.25"/SSDs

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Poorly informed
Pros: easy to use itself, but not when IRQ locked up USB slot
Cons: There can be IRQ conflict happening using USB (external drives) or IDE or SATA cables (internal connection not using this product). When the copying time is like crazy due to IRQ conflicts, stop the copying or the HDD will be fried! It fries more quickly when there is no cooling fans.

IRQ conflict happened alot with USB slots, when it happens you need to unplug the device and reboot PC and connect the USB device into another USB slot. There is no instruction telling you to do this! and the HDD will be fried if you don't know that the copying time shown is crazy and you shouldn't copy over 40GB at a time and by every 40gb sized copying the HDD needed to be cooled for 1 hour.

Usually it's the HDD installed in your PC that has IRQ or reading issues, making the copying time go crazy! It's the OS and USB slot that works at one time and not at another time, you may need to installed a second boot OS to fix this as well as connecting the USB device to another USB slot! F Bill Gates the ret8rd who gives so little information on using PC! totally a noob!
Reviewed By:N/A,6/21/2015 4:14:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > INSTEN > Insten 1044560 2X USB to Dual PS/2 Adapter

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 downgraded review
Pros: worked for a while
Cons: I initially gave this adapter a 5 star review. It worked connecting various keyboards to 2 different Thinkpad docks.

After about a half year, the adapters became intermittent - USB connections were lost and found, seemingly at random, then the adapters failed completely.

I replaced these Insten adapters with ones made by StarTech and GWC, and keyboards are working reliably again. So pretty clearly the Insten adapters failed.
Other Thoughts: Reviewer Jan R. noted that wires became exposed and broke. While I didn't see any exposed wires, internal breakage would explain what I saw.

I've revised the rating to 2 stars. It worked for a while.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/19/2015 11:52:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > Syba > SYBA SD-CM-UAUD USB Stereo Audio Adapter

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Does Not work with Win7 x64
Pros: N/A.
Cons: Windows 7 pro x64(64 bit) has no drivers and can't DL one either. My guess it won't work on all x64 Windows including Win8x and 10.
Other Thoughts: I can mount an WinXP VM and does work with XP default drivers so product does work. I didn't buy it for VM or XP....
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We apologize for the issues you have experienced with this adapter.

This device has been tested and verified to function with Windows 7 & 8 systems.

Please note that Windows 7& 8 carry drivers for this device natively in both x64 and x32.

Our tech support team may also assist you with installing and configuring this device for your system.

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.

-Regards SYBA CST 06192015

Reviewed By:N/A,6/17/2015 7:52:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > INSTEN > Insten 1044560 2X USB to Dual PS/2 Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Two sets, worked right out of the box. Needed two PS/2 for old keyboard and mouse.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,6/17/2015 9:56:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.