Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > USB Converters > Vantec > Vantec 2.5"/3.5"/5.25" SATA/IDE to USB 2.0 Adapter - Model CB-ISATAU2

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Facile a utiliser et performant pour le prix !
Cons: aucun
Reviewed By:lestoques,7/11/2014 12:30:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > Vantec > Vantec 2.5"/3.5"/5.25" SATA/IDE to USB 2.0 Adapter - Model CB-ISATAU2

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy
Pros: Works as intended
Plug and Play
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,7/10/2014 3:23:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > Sabrent > SABRENT USB-DSC5 2.5"/3.5"/5.25" SATA/IDE to USB 2.0 Converter Adapter With Power Supply & LED Activity Lights

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 I always thought it worked ok, but not anymore!!!
Pros: It worked with IDE and 2.5" laptop SATA drives.
Cons: ...but absolutely refuses to work with any of my WD Caviar Black SATA drives. Power is still there, but no desktop size SATA drives will work with it. They don't even spin up, although they are recognized as a drive, these have data on them and there is no way to format it even if I wanted to. It's like it does need a driver or something, because the drive shows up as just "Disk Drive" with no known driver and no manufacturer's name or model. The properties are all blank, and when I plug these SATA Caviar drives in, only the USB light comes on. The SATA light does nothing, unless I'm using a laptop drive with it.
Other Thoughts: Do yourself a favor...spend a bit more money on a different, better brand. This one is hit and miss, for no apparent reason. I think Sabrent should find me a fncking driver, since this obviously is not recognizing full size WD SATA drives at all. GRRRR!!!
Reviewed By:SloppyGoat,7/9/2014 10:24:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > Corsair > Corsair CSSD-UPGRADEKIT SSD & HDD Cloning Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Simple, and Worth it !
Pros: Does what it says and more.
Simple to use, and does most everything for you.
Cons: Cable could be longer, but that's not really a problem.
Other Thoughts: Life can be so complicated....get this and make it easy for once.
Reviewed By:P,7/9/2014 5:56:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > Syba > SYBA SD-CM-UAUD USB Stereo Audio Adapter

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Money wasted
Pros: none
Cons: It doesn't do anything at all. The drivers install and the little light comes on, but no audio comes out the headphone jack.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/9/2014 9:23:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > Apricorn > APRICORN ASW-USB3-25 USB3.0 to SATA Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worked well for me
Pros: Worked
Cons: None for me
Other Thoughts: I bought this in January when I discovered the drive cloning hardware/software combination I had been using for years did not work on my Dell Latitude 6520 with UEFI bios. Who knew? A tech I know recommended the Apricorn system and it has worked to clone 2 drives to Samsung SSDs. I had no problems with either the hardware or software, either with USB 2.0 or USB 3.0 ports.
Reviewed By:MDExTX,7/8/2014 6:54:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > Syba > SYBA SD-CM-UAUD USB Stereo Audio Adapter

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works With Debian/GNU Linux
Pros: Simple, inexpensive (got it from a Newegg sale), relatively small, no drivers needed, works with Linux, better sound quality than expected, responsive customer support (though the information was not helpful).
Cons: So wide that it partially blocks adjacent USB port, no useful instructions included for set up (for any compatible operating system - it is plug and play but you have to configure the operating system's sound settings to make it work optimally (if you don't know how to do this, you will need to do some research or get help).
Other Thoughts: I bought two (in case one was defective or failed quickly) of these from Newegg for use with my non-Linux friendly HP Dv7-4170us (also from Newegg) because I could not get the internal microphone to work with Debian-Wheezy. After several days of research, I learned how to make it work as desired.

If you want to change the load order of your sound cards:

As root, edit: /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf

To make this USB device secondary to the internal sound card (this what I use so the system sounds continue to play through the internal speakers):

# Keep snd-usb-audio from being loaded as first soundcard (default)
options snd-usb-audio index=-2

# Load USB soundcard second (internal card loads first by default)
options snd-usb-audio index=1

**********

To make the USB sound card primary and the internal sound card secondary (I use this when an application does not allow choosing audio devices):

# Keep snd-usb-audio from being loaded as first soundcard (default)
#options snd-usb-audio index=-2

# Load USB soundcard first then internal sound card second (use when USB is needed as default soundcard).
options snd-usb-audio index=0
options snd-hda-intel index=1

Insert this USB device in a port then restart your computer.

Open a terminal as root and as a user. In each, respectively, run alsamixer. Use F6 to choose the C-Media soundcard. Make sure that the desired controls are active (press 'm') and use the up and down arrow keys to set their levels. You can have Audacity or some other record/playback app running to test your settings as you change them, with a microphone and headset plugged into this USB device.

Some applications (in Debian, at least) let you choose your input and output audio devices, like Audacity and SMplayer. Other applications require that your desired sound device loads as the primary soundcard. There may be better ways but this works for my purposes.

This is a nice USB audio device with decent sound quality for basic purposes, once you get it set up.
Reviewed By:MustBcrA-Z,7/8/2014 6:30:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > Apricorn > APRICORN ASW-USB3-25 USB3.0 to SATA Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good software for cloning
Pros: Cloned drive in my Dell Latitude 6520
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I bought this system when I discovered that the software I had been using to clone drives did not work for UEFI drives. Who knew? I have used this hardware/software combination to clone 2 hard drives to Samsung SSDs and both times it has worked flawlessly. A computer tech I know that works for one of my clients uses Apricorn exclusively as well.
Reviewed By:MDExTX,7/8/2014 6:17:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > STARTECH > StarTech USB3SSATAIDE USB 3.0 to SATA or IDE Hard Drive Adapter Converter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works with 3TB Drives
Pros: Works with 3TB drives
Works with OS X.6.8
Cons: USB cable is a little short
Other Thoughts: After trying several different USB / SATA adapters I finally found one that supports 3TB drives. The others that I tried did not support anything larger than 2TB. This adapter might support drives larger than 3TB but I do not have any to test with.
Reviewed By:Eric,7/6/2014 8:20:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > Vantec > Vantec CB-U300GNA USB 3.0 to Gigabit Ethernet Adapter - USB to RJ45- usb 3.0 gigabit adapter - usb 3.0 to ethernet - usb 3.0 adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 The Best
Pros: It does what it says. Connecting to USB 2.0 still makes it ~300Mbps transfer rate = ~30mbps while transfering files between computers, instead of using 10/100 ethernet port, which makes it ~10mbps
Cons: Have to install driver from CD before actually using it. What if you don't have CD? Have to find other means to get the driver.
Other Thoughts: All in all, it's really good.
Reviewed By:Z,7/6/2014 7:24:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau