Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Extenders & Repeaters > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GUCE64 USB 2.0 4-Port BoostLinq Ethernet - 164ft, 4-Port USB Extender over Cat5/Cat5e/Cat6 Ethernet Cable

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works like a boss
Pros: Very easy to hook up. I'm using UTP Cat6. My run is 60ft over solid UTP cat6, and then I have my own patch cable (cat6, about 12-18in in length) going to each interface. It doesn't even take a moment to initialize. If you unplug the cat6, it'll work again as SOON as you plug it back in. I'm currently using this with two USB devices, an IR receiver for Windows Media Center and Kodi, and also a wireless Lenovo keyboard/mouse (the handlheld type). Works great.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Sorry, I didn't test USB speeds as I don't need to hook anything else up to it. I may try a flash drive, but right now I watch all movies over the network to a XFS file server.
Reviewed By:Garo S.,6/1/2016 11:05:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Extenders & Repeaters > INSTEN > Insten 1846909 HDMI to Cat 5/6 UTP AV Extender

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Does not Work at advertised distance
Pros: Works at 30 feet
Cons: Does not work at 60+ feet. Say it is rated at 100 ft.
Other Thoughts: If it only works at 30 ft. you might as well get a 30 ft HDMI cable. I will be returning this to newegg.
Reviewed By:Rocky G.,5/5/2016 1:42:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Extenders & Repeaters > INSTEN > Insten 1668030 1 x HDMI F/F Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 connect 2 short cables to make 1 long cable
Pros: I have many HDMI cables laying around and all just a little short of making it to the receiver/ TV so using this coupling I was able to use existing cables to do job.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:John M.,3/21/2016 6:25:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Extenders & Repeaters > ATEN > ATEN VE066 Mini Cat 5 DVI Extender

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works as advertised
Pros: Works as advertised. Cat6 cable length is 25' and the image on screen is solid.
Cons: None so far.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/21/2015 7:59:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Extenders & Repeaters > INSTEN > Insten 675686 2-pack VGA Extender to RJ45 Adapter

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Some tips for use
Pros: I am sorry to say that I have not bought this product, yet!
I built something similar and only recently discovered these, but they are certainly going on my list now.
Cons: there are some limitations to this, namely the higher the resolution the shorter the distance.
Other Thoughts: it would really be nice if the included this schematic of the wiring.
many years ago I created something almost identical and I still use them to this day.
it makes setting up a projector quick and easy.

using unshielded cable my acceptable distance was 50 feet with a good quality cable.
using a shielded cable that I purchased here, I was able to achieve 100 feet with really good results.
now keep in mind that this is at 1024x768.
it will definitely not do HD.

to get around the fact that the tabs get in the way, I cut mine off and hot glued the connections in. every so often I might have to re-glue them but that works for me.
an easier thing would be to find a HD-15 port saver, it has a mail connection on one end and a female connection on the other end.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/20/2015 2:43:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Extenders & Repeaters > INSTEN > Insten 675686 2-pack VGA Extender to RJ45 Adapter

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works!
Pros: Manageable cable and decent distance for displays
Cons: the tabs on the back can prevent connections to some displays or computers. We just filed them off.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/9/2015 12:11:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Extenders & Repeaters > Tripp Lite > Tripp Lite B202-150 USB over Cat5 Transmitter Receiver Extender Kit, USB 1.1 Extension

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worked for me
Pros: Small and worked for me...My run was about 120ft for this job
Cons: none
Reviewed By:illone,9/4/2014 11:15:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Extenders & Repeaters > GWC Technology Inc. > GWC AR2510 USB 2.0 Active Repeater Cable

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great
Pros: I even have a hub on the end of it and it still works great. We use it in a shop where we need to keep the peripherals out where the guys can get use them, but still keep the actual computer tower somewhere clean. This repeater saved the day when a wireless keyboard and mouse just kept losing signal.
Cons: it's not USB 3.0 but that would be a different product!
Reviewed By:N/A,8/25/2014 4:30:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Extenders & Repeaters > STARTECH > StarTech VSEDIDDVI DVI DDC EDID Ghosting Emulator with EDID Copy

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Spectacular !!!!
Pros: When you have 3 or more monitors with Win7, booting up with the monitors off or switching them off then on with a booted system, is a nightmare. Windows doesn't properly restore your desktop. It seems Microsoft couldn't care less about it.
There are a handful of programs designed to help but none can solve all the problems.
The only complete solution is an EDID Emulator. The concept is to introduce a device in line with each monitor to convince the graphics card & the OS that the monitors are on when they are off. However, all EDID emulators are not created equal. I tried the Pi Manufacturing brand which looks EXACTLY like the Connect Pro unit (probably re-branded ) and the unit was a horror show. It requires SO much power to operate that many "wall warts" fail to work with them. As a result they behaved erratically.
If you have 3 or more monitors you will need 3 EDID units. Ouch ! Kinda expensive !! But, if you prefer NOT to waste your time, get solid performers, these StarTech units are absolutely the way to go ! Flawless operation (so far :) and they are NOT power hogs !
Cons: NONE !!
Other Thoughts: When you spend hundreds on a graphic card, it would be nice if these MFRs added this feature to them rather then ignore the problem.
ALSO:
EVERY graphics card has DVI outputs. Who in their right mind buys actual monitors when LED/LCD TVs look SPECTACULAR and are cheap.
However, Graphics card MFRs do not have real HDMI outputs. As a rule the HDMI output(s) will not work with a 3rd monitor. You need ANOTHER dongle! A mini display port to HDMI adapter, but MANY of them are unreliable !

WAKE UP GRAPHICS CARD MFRs !
Get with the program !

Undoubtedly, some will argue that Monitors have better image quality. To that I submit, I am using three 50" LCD monitors right now. I do 3D CAD design and graphics work. They are razor sharp and look fantastic. All 3 cost $1,200. Try that with monitors $$$.
Reviewed By:Frank Russo EE,8/24/2014 4:37:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Extenders & Repeaters > Tripp Lite > F-F HDMI Over Cat5 Active Extender Wall Plate Kit - White

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Worked great for a wile.
Pros: It was easy to set up and connect the cat 6. Had no issues at all with the setup. Says it extend up to 150ft but I only needed to go 35ft and it was perfect.
Cons: I had one issue with it. From day one of use every time the ac in my house kicked on I lost a picture on my tv for a second or 2 then come back on. Every time I turned the fan or light on or off it would lose a signal. When there was a storm outside and lighting would strike it would lose a signal. Now using this for close to 2 years it stopped working. For no reason at all it would lose a signal and stay out for about 5 min then kick back on. Then a few days ago it just stopped working all together. I dont know if it was something with the cable I'm using or something with my house.
Other Thoughts: The setup was easy, and the picture was great. I'm using 24Awg, Solid Wire Cat 6 cable as recommended. I have my security camera system in my closet in my game room and I ran the 2 cat 6 cable to my 47 inch HD TV. The picture was perfect and clear. If you have a computer like my security camera system that can handle HD then it works great. I dont know if it was something with the cable I'm using or something with my house but it does work.
Manufacturer Response:I apologize for the inconvenience you experiences with your P167-000. Please reach out to our Chicago-based Tech Support Team at (773)869-1234 so they can troubleshoot the signal loss issue you described.

Reviewed By:N/A,5/15/2014 3:52:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.