Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Extenders & Repeaters > Tripp Lite > Tripp Lite B202-150 USB over Cat5 Transmitter Receiver Extender Kit, USB 1.1 Extension

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worked for me
Pros: Small and worked for me...My run was about 120ft for this job
Cons: none
Reviewed By:illone,9/4/2014 11:15:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Extenders & Repeaters > GWC Technology Inc. > GWC AR2510 USB 2.0 Active Repeater Cable

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great
Pros: I even have a hub on the end of it and it still works great. We use it in a shop where we need to keep the peripherals out where the guys can get use them, but still keep the actual computer tower somewhere clean. This repeater saved the day when a wireless keyboard and mouse just kept losing signal.
Cons: it's not USB 3.0 but that would be a different product!
Reviewed By:N/A,8/25/2014 4:30:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Extenders & Repeaters > STARTECH > StarTech VSEDIDDVI DVI DDC EDID Ghosting Emulator with EDID Copy

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Spectacular !!!!
Pros: When you have 3 or more monitors with Win7, booting up with the monitors off or switching them off then on with a booted system, is a nightmare. Windows doesn't properly restore your desktop. It seems Microsoft couldn't care less about it.
There are a handful of programs designed to help but none can solve all the problems.
The only complete solution is an EDID Emulator. The concept is to introduce a device in line with each monitor to convince the graphics card & the OS that the monitors are on when they are off. However, all EDID emulators are not created equal. I tried the Pi Manufacturing brand which looks EXACTLY like the Connect Pro unit (probably re-branded ) and the unit was a horror show. It requires SO much power to operate that many "wall warts" fail to work with them. As a result they behaved erratically.
If you have 3 or more monitors you will need 3 EDID units. Ouch ! Kinda expensive !! But, if you prefer NOT to waste your time, get solid performers, these StarTech units are absolutely the way to go ! Flawless operation (so far :) and they are NOT power hogs !
Cons: NONE !!
Other Thoughts: When you spend hundreds on a graphic card, it would be nice if these MFRs added this feature to them rather then ignore the problem.
ALSO:
EVERY graphics card has DVI outputs. Who in their right mind buys actual monitors when LED/LCD TVs look SPECTACULAR and are cheap.
However, Graphics card MFRs do not have real HDMI outputs. As a rule the HDMI output(s) will not work with a 3rd monitor. You need ANOTHER dongle! A mini display port to HDMI adapter, but MANY of them are unreliable !

WAKE UP GRAPHICS CARD MFRs !
Get with the program !

Undoubtedly, some will argue that Monitors have better image quality. To that I submit, I am using three 50" LCD monitors right now. I do 3D CAD design and graphics work. They are razor sharp and look fantastic. All 3 cost $1,200. Try that with monitors $$$.
Reviewed By:Frank Russo EE,8/24/2014 4:37:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Extenders & Repeaters > Sabrent > SABRENT HDMI Extension cable over Cat5e RJ45 Extender adapter (Up to 200-Foot) HDMI-EXTC

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect Device
Pros: I've had this device for over a month now. I haven't had any problems at all. I have a 1080P signal running at 60Hhz over 150 FT with perfect quality.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Totally worth the money. I've tried cheaper extenders where the signal would cut out. I haven't had a single problem with this one.
Reviewed By:Lance.,4/22/2014 11:28:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Extenders & Repeaters > INSTEN > Insten 675686 2-pack VGA Extender to RJ45 Adapter

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 barely usable
Pros: Does what it says and it is one of the only devices that does it on a budget
Cons: Barely usable on a 4 port USB KVM switch over 100 ft of Cate 5e cable.
Reviewed By:Cyber2lz,1/27/2014 3:23:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Extenders & Repeaters > INSTEN > Insten 675686 2-pack VGA Extender to RJ45 Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great!
Pros: works perfectly with 30ft coboc 5e patch cable from newegg
Cons: the connecter on the vga plug is restricted by the black housing. making not possible to use on some laptops because it cannot slide onto the laptops recessed vga plug
Reviewed By:N/A,1/23/2014 6:39:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Extenders & Repeaters > BYTECC INC > BYTECC USB-RJ45 USB to RJ45 Extension Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Works as advertised. Great price.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,1/1/2014 2:39:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Extenders & Repeaters > STARTECH > StarTech ST121UTPMINI Mini VGA Video and Audio Extender over Cat5

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: These were simple and reliable during the course of the temporary exhibit we used them for. USB power on the transmitter side made cabling cleaner, and having the receiver attached right to the remote display meant less loose stuff to secure to the ceiling.

I noticed no video quality problems.
Cons: I became suspicious that these things presented their own EDID information instead of passing it through from the remote device. I can't say for sure that this is the case because I didn't put enough time into investigating, since it wasn't important for my application.
Other Thoughts: As you can see from the pictures (and is to be expected with this style of extender), the transmitter sticks out quite a bit. Attached to a DVI-I to VGA adapter, the assembly seemed a little wobbly, but that's not this product's fault.

The grooves on the receiver-side piece with the knob and power connector were just the right size to accept cable lacing tape.

I can't evaluate long-term reliability, as these were for a temporary installation. I haven't tried running these at the full claimed resolution because it's more than my projectors support it, and I haven't seriously tested the sound quality because we ended up putting the speakers somewhere else.

I'd choose these again in any installation where the video source has USB for power and I don't need a local monitor at the sending end or RS232 and VGA over the same cable.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/30/2013 11:22:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Extenders & Repeaters > INSTEN > Insten 675686 2-pack VGA Extender to RJ45 Adapter

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Ghosting on 50" Cat 6
Pros: It technically works
Cons: It Leaves after images (Ghosting) of icons on the screen.
Other Thoughts: Good if you do not need to use the monitor daily.
Reviewed By:Ace,12/10/2013 2:38:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Extenders & Repeaters > Kingwin Inc. > KINGWIN USB-04 USB Extension Cable with Intergrated Repeater

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works on computer, not with wall charger
Pros: I plugged in an iPhone 5 through one end through a USB hub through my desktop computer and it was detected and charging with no problems.
Cons: I tried this with a charger to charge an iPhone 5 and when plugged to the wall, there would be no activity on the iPhone.
Reviewed By:zeta,12/5/2013 11:14:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau