Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > USB Display Adapters > Tek Republic > Tek Republic TUA-300 USB 3.0 to HDMI / DVI Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent product
Pros: I've had this adapter for a bit over half a year now. The drivers were found and automatically installed flawlessly as any plug-and-use is supposed to do. I pretty much got everything set up and running in under 2 minutes. This thing is small, feels pretty durable and light, fits well in my laptop bag, or even in my back pocket, so I'd say it's pretty portable. But the most important thing is that it works great with my win 8.1 dell laptop.
Cons: Nothing is broken or malfunctioning so far.
Other Thoughts: If you plan to use a hub on this device, I'd recommend getting a powered one.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/18/2014 5:35:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Display Adapters > Sabrent > SABRENT USB-1612 Multi-Display USB 2.0 to DVI/VGA/HDMI Adapter 2048x1156 / 1920x1200 High Resolution Windows/MAC

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 The Best
Pros: I have used it on several computers and it has never failed me. I am now using a Gigabyte Brix mini computer. I paired it with a Acer Touch screen. Doesn't even warm up the Brix.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Stubb,8/15/2014 3:29:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Display Adapters > Diamond Multimedia > Diamond Multimedia MDS3900 USB 3.0/2.0 to HDMI/DVI Mini Ultra Dock, Dual Head Multiple Display Monitors up to 2560 x 1600

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Works, but don't get your hopes up...
Pros: This is a very compact solution if you're looking to add multiple monitors to a laptop. The price is reasonable, and the multi-display support is pretty good.
I have no complaints for the graphics performance. Note that it's not meant for gaming, but for general use, it's fine.
Cons: The network port is not reliable. There are a multitude of messages in the DisplayLink support forums for flaky behavior of the network interfaces on a number of docs using similar chipsets, and the problems are usually blamed on the user plugging the port into an older hub or switch that doesn't support proper negotiation. The port doesn't seem to work on anything other than 100mbit/full duplex when connected to a NetGear ProSafe 5-port Gigabit switch, and even then it only works sometimes. I end up having to use a usb-gigabit adapter because the mini-dock port just doesn't work reliably.
Other Thoughts: Diamond Multimedia's tech support is pretty much non-existant. I opened a support ticket back on 7/29/2014, updated the ticket on 8/7/2014, and I have yet to receive any kind of reply from Support.
Because of this, I'll likely never purchase any Diamond Multimedia products again, and I'd strongly urge everyone else not to do so as well.
In hindsight, I should've picked up a Targus or similar product; after all, they're all using the same DisplayLink chipset, only the packaging is different.

Really, stay away from anything made by Diamond if you think you may need support later on.
Reviewed By:Paul S.,8/11/2014 6:37:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Display Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech USB32HDE USB 3.0 to HDMI / DVI External Video Card Multi Monitor Adapter – 1920x1080

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Too choppy for movies
Pros: Convenient form factor. Would be wonderful for the new Mac Pro when you need more screens than it supports... if it worked. It outputs HDMI sound information just fine from the Mac.
Cons: Any HD movie or HD youtube video that I'd like to watch is unwatchable. The picture tears and shears and is completely unacceptable. It's not a matter of degrading over days, it was this way from first attempted use.
Other Thoughts: This would be great for multi-monitor programming or spreadsheet tasks except that if that's what you want this for, buy a UHD screen for $399 with 4 times the pixels rather than more HD screens, which is the max that this supports. I wanted to use it for the projector for my home theater to watch movies on since that's the only screen size it can handle but HD movies are the one application it can't handle.
Reviewed By:Pandemonica,8/10/2014 5:54:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Display Adapters > Tek Republic > Tek Republic TUA-300 USB 3.0 to HDMI / DVI Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It works
Pros: This thing is really small so it definitely not going to cause wire-routing issue. I have this for my computer for additional 24" monitor. It worked perfectly for a few months now.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I didn't want to upgrade my old computer.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/3/2014 7:23:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Display Adapters > INSTEN > Insten 1088403 1X Micro USB to HDMI MHL Adapter compatible with Samsung Galaxy S4 SIV

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Did not work on either of two devices
Pros: none
Cons: Did not work on either my Samsung S5 or LG G Tablet. neither device even registered the USB was connected.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/31/2014 10:48:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Display Adapters > SIIG, Inc > SIIG USB2.0 to VGA Pro External Video Card Display extender JU-VG0012-S1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome!
Pros: Works as intended. Have not had any lag.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:jwingate,7/31/2014 11:44:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Display Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech USB2VGAE2 USB to VGA External Video Card Multi Monitor Adapter

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Doesn't Work With Linux/Ubuntu
Pros: Don't know, can't get it running
Cons: Doesn't work with Ubuntu. I even tried recompiling a kernel module to no avail.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/30/2014 11:19:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Display Adapters > j5create > j5create JUA350 USB 3.0 to HDMI/DVI Display Adapter

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 works but not great
Pros: The device works as advertised and works on both Windows/Mac with relative ease.
Cons: I use the device on a latest-generation Macbook Pro in conjunction with 2 other external monitors plugged in through HDMI for a total of 4 monitors. The monitor with the USB to HDMI adapter on it lags and has visual distortions of both the top-left Apple button and the bottom dock bar. These seem to be issues with OSX 10.9 and OSX 10.10 and it doesn't seem like j5create is actively developing or maintaining their driver/kernel extension.

If you're using on Mac with more than 2 monitors I would suggest looking elsewhere as the performance is not the best.

Also doesn't support rotation mode on Mac and that's kinda lame
Reviewed By:Dan,7/30/2014 9:42:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Display Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech USB32HDES Slim USB 3.0 to HDMI External Video Card Multi Monitor Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Update to my last review
Pros: It works great... again
Cons: Revision of my last review
Other Thoughts: So I uninstalled the software (trigger) and reinstalled it. I plugged in the adapter that was unresponsive and it worked. It's strange that the other adapter has worked all along while the second one stopped working until the uninstall/reinstall.
The same went for the Unitek USB 3.0 3 port gigabit ethernet adapter. Once I unistalled the driver and plugged the device back in, it also worked again. Glad I did because they were both sitting in my trash as victims to high tech failure.
Reviewed By:dburkinshaw,7/29/2014 5:28:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau