Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > USB Display Adapters > Diamond Multimedia > Diamond Multimedia BVU3500H USB 3.0/2.0 to HDMI/DVI Adapter, Multiple Display Monitor up to 2560 x 1600 including 1080P (Display Link DL-3500)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Mac, USB 2.0, 1920x1200
Pros: Video content plays smoothly. Not much impact on CPU usage. USB 3.0 cable detaches (so you can use any).

The adapter correctly identifies the connected display to the OS so os OS X it acts like a regular display in system preferences. Seamless (after drivers are installed)
Cons: Requires drivers. Booo

Laggy and unpleasant for interactive tasks. Moving the mouse, moving a window, interacting with any kind of app.

I use mine as a 3rd display mostly to keep mail and iTunes on. I could never use this as a primary display. Even if you turn the resolution down to 1024xwhatever it's still laggy.
Other Thoughts: The driver seems to handle buffered content like video well. Transitions like mission control are a mess. On some combinations of OS X and the drivers it actually crashes finder. This is great as a supplemental monitor but that's about it. You couldn't use this with a USB dock on your macbook as a primary display, at least I couldn't.

Overall I am happy. Didn't have to get a new Mac yet because of this. Mine is connected to a USB 2.0 port on a mac mini 2011 quad core i7 @ 2.0GHz. The display is 1920x1200.

Tried latest drivers and latest beta drivers on 10.9, 10.10, 10.11 Beta. I also tried the adapter on a USB 3.0 port with no change in lagginess or performance on a 2013 MBPr.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/24/2015 12:32:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Display Adapters > j5create > j5create JUA210 USB to VGA Display Adapter

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great for quick video extensions.
Pros: Works well.
Cons: Video res could be higher but for standard USB, you get what you get.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/24/2015 1:32:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Display Adapters > EVGA > EVGA UV Plus+ 39 USB VGA DVI/HDMI/USB3.0/Supporting 1920x1200 or 2048x1152 Resolutions (100-U3-UV39-RX)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love it so much, this is my second
Pros: Small, stack able, reliable, multi connection types.
Cons: It would work better if it had a GPU but then it would be a different product...lol.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/23/2015 6:13:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Display Adapters > TRITTON Technologies > TRITTON SEE2 Xtreme - USB to DVI Adapter W/DVI-VGA ADAPTER, TRIUV-200

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Do Not Buy
Pros: There are no Pros
Cons: Every time the computer goes to sleep, hibernate, or screen saver this device crashes the computer. I have reinstalled multiple times and tried multiple different versions of the driver. if you want something that works, do not buy this product.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/18/2015 9:49:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Display Adapters > EVGA > EVGA UV Plus+ 39 USB VGA DVI/HDMI/USB3.0/Supporting 1920x1200 or 2048x1152 Resolutions (100-U3-UV39-RX)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Installing
Pros: Haven't connected a display yet. Review is just initial reaction from opening the box.
Cons: Box is 12" X 7.75" X 2" Contents 2.5 X 2.5 X .75 and the USB connection cable. No driver CD, DVI to VGA adapter or USB extension cable as listed in the manual.

Online driver download
http://www.evga.com/support/download/default.aspx

Select Other Products
Category UV+
Part # All
Type All


Manual:
http://www.evga.com/support/manuals/

EVGA Support Manual for 100-U3-UV39

http://www.evga.com/support/manuals/files/100-U3-UV39.PDF

From user manual:
A DVI to VGA Adapter is provided to allow a VGA connection
to the UV Plus+ DVI connection. A USB Extension cable is
also provided to allow for optimum placement of your UV Plus+.
Other Thoughts: Just some links to help others find drivers and manual
Manufacturer Response:Dear Frank D.,

The EVGA UV39 adapter purchased was a recertified model. As with most recertified models, not all accessories are included as with a new retail unit. I would encourage you to contact our 24 hour Technical Support team by phone 1.888.881.3842 and pressing option 1 or by email: Newegg@EVGA.com so that we can further assist you.

Sincerely,
EVGA Customer Support

Reviewed By:N/A,8/13/2015 12:44:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Display Adapters > Tek Republic > Tek Republic TUA-300 USB 3.0 to HDMI / DVI Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great
Pros: The department has 10 or so of these and they all work great. It doesn't matter if it is USB 2 or 3.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: While I don't personally own this little device where I work has plenty of them.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/5/2015 12:23:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Display Adapters > GWC Technology Inc. > GWC USB2.0 to VGA External Video Card Multi Monitor Adapter - 1920x1200 P

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works for me!
Pros: Works out of the box. It takes windows about 30 seconds to start installing the drivers. Just wait; it'll happen.
I upgraded to Windows 10 and the drivers needed to be reinstalled, but again, it did so on it's own.
This device also works on my sisters laptop with Windows 8, on both a monitor and 40" TV.
Cons: Many other people stated that they had laggy video and problems seeing all their elements. I'm using a Lenovo G500 laptop with a Lenovo ThinkVision monitor, and I'm having NO cons whatsoever.
Other Thoughts: I'm about to purchase a second adapter, since the first one was for my sister's work-from-home computer.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/31/2015 6:27:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Display Adapters > Hightech Information System Ltd. > HIS HMV2-MAC-PC Multi-View II External Video Card Video Adapter (Mac & Window 7 compatible version)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 3rd order
Pros: Works right out of the box
No issues in over 2 ½ years of almost constant use
Cons: Would rather have a straight USB cable with it (non-retractable)
Other Thoughts: I've used this for going on 3 years every day at work and I have yet to have an issue with it. I just ordered this again for the 3rd time for home use. Very pleased!
Reviewed By:N/A,7/27/2015 7:43:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Display Adapters > LAVA Computer > SimulCharge USB 1 Port Tab4

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Intermittent Problems - Not recognized
Pros: OTG adapter has worked fine for approx. one month.

Have had no problems and it worked as advertised.
Cons: Now it's having problems. It worked good for the first month.

More often then not, my Galaxy Tab S 10.5 doesn't even know it's plugged in. I have to repeatedly power down and start the tablet again in order for it to recognize that it's plugged in.

If it does recognize it and it connects to the internet, then the OTG size does not allow a power cord to charge the tablet at the same time, which completely defeats the purpose of having an OTG adapter.

I'm half tempted to purchase another OTG adapter to compare then and see if it the 1st one I got really is faulty now. But that will require shelling out more cash and if the 2nd one does the same thing I'll have 2 dead adapters.

Use with caution but don't expect much.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/23/2015 9:23:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Display Adapters > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GUC34DP USB 3.0 to DisplayPort 4K External Video Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Just plain doesn't work!
Pros: Looks like a great product, if it worked...
Cons: It doesn't! (At least not on a Dell m6700 Precision Mobile Workstation)
Other Thoughts: As notes in my earlier review, Larry at IOGEAR was a real gentleman and was diligent is escalating my case to the product manager. So a definite thumbs up for Larry's professionalism.

But through no fault of Larry's, IOGEAR's answer is basically "Sorry, we have no solution, we have no clue why it doesn't work, and all we can suggest is that you return it for a refund before your 30 days is up". As it turns out I had traveled to another country since the purchase and returning it would cost more in international shipping than the refund, so I wound up with two of these things as expensive paperweights.

During the diagnosis process I did install them on another desktop computer and it appeared to work fine. So the issue seems to be compatibility with the Dell USB3 host controller. But the Dell system works fine with all my other USB3 devices, and passes full diagnostics with flying colors.

Looks to me like this thing just plain won't work with some (but not all) USB3 controllers, and IOGEAR admits they have no clue which ones or why.

Hey, it's a brand new product as USB to 4K is still bleeding edge stuff, so this is to be expected. I have little doubt NewEgg would have graciously accepted the return had my circumstances permitted me to return it.

My strong advice is only to order this thing if you're ready/willing to accept the possibility that it MIGHT not work with your USB3 ports. If it doesn't, IOGEAR's answer is going to be "Sorry, we have no solution", and you'll have to return the darned thing.

Sure would be an awesome product if it worked!
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for choosing IOGEAR and we apologize for the inconvenience. This is currently under investigation. Once again, thank you for choosing IOGEAR.

Reviewed By:N/A,7/11/2015 9:58:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.