Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Audio Video Converters > STARTECH > StarTech MDP2DVIW Mini DisplayPort to DVI Video Adapter Converter - White

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works fine
Pros: Works with my MacBook Pro and HP monitor.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: very fast shipping
Reviewed By:RP,7/10/2014 3:59:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Audio Video Converters > Coboc > Coboc CL-AD-DP2DVI-6-BK DP DisplayPort to DVI Passive Video Adapter Converter

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 5 of 6 work great
Pros: Dongle-style allows for compact installation. Screw terminals availible for the DVI connection. As noted, the DP++ port is required. Plugs stay connected despite the weight of the DVI plug at the end of the dongle. (This concern is also mitigated by proper cable organization.)
Cons: Because this is passive, don't expect to be able to use adapters to change this to VGA or HDMI. Expect it to only work with DVI. Get the proper DP/++ for the proper connection: if you need VGA, get the VGA version. If you need HDMI, get that. If you need DVI, you're in the right place. Of 6 ordered, 5 worked perfect. 6th just failed to render. It's getting trashed and we're ordering 6 more. -1 egg for the DOA part (issue discovered outside newegg return policy, and these are inexpensive anyway.)
Other Thoughts: Regular DP ports will probably not work, in which case I suggest finding an active DP adapter. Also pay close attention when searching Newegg. There are many adapters that are mini-DP rather than full DP. These are full DP++ only.
Reviewed By:TLP Admin,7/8/2014 11:12:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Audio Video Converters > Nippon Labs > Nippon Labs AD-DPM-HDMIF Displayport Male to HDMI® Female Adapter

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Broke after a few months
Pros: Small
Cons: It fell apart after a few months. I had it in my laptop bag, pulled it out to use about 2 or 3 times a week, and it lasted about 6 months. One day I was hooking it up and it fell apart.
Reviewed By:firemanf29,7/4/2014 9:17:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Audio Video Converters > VisionTek > VisionTek 900341 Mini DisplayPort to DVI-D Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Product
Pros: Plug and Play. No drivers required. Plug seats firmly at both ends.
Cons: DVI was a little stiff to plugin. Most people will be afraid they are going to break it if they push that hard. I happen to have an entire crate of DVI cables so I just crammed it on in there not caring.
Other Thoughts: Seems to be made sturdier than other brands I've ordered for other systems recently. Will most likely stick with this brand for now.
Reviewed By:wired32312,7/2/2014 1:31:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Audio Video Converters > STARTECH > StarTech DP2HDMI2 DisplayPort to HDMI Video Adapter Converter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works good
Pros: Does what its supposed to do. Zero issues of yet. Comes in a Star-tech ziplock bag.
Cons: Nada
Reviewed By:N/A,7/1/2014 11:24:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Audio Video Converters > PowerColor > POWERCOLOR Active Mini DisplayPort to Single-Link DVI-D Adapter

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DANGER
Pros: When it works, it's great.
Cons: DANGER: I read here in the New Egg blog, someone else & perhaps others have experienced a failure of this device that blows out your HDMI monitor input. I run three 50" monitors. The last thing you want, is to blow a monitor input. This catastrophy set me back quite a bit, scrambling to repair the damage. I contacted PowerColor tech svc and they blew me off by insulting my intelligence. They suggested the monitor may have blown first and taken out their adapter!
Sorry, I've been a board level technician in Consumer Electronic Service for 35 years and have yet to see the input of ANYTHING take out another device !
Other Thoughts: This device runs warm / hot. To me this means there's a bit of current running through it....While a failure of this nature may be non typical, if it happens to you, your head will explode.
There are a few identical looking devices out there but they may be the same unit by a different brand label. I can't speak to the reliability of any other unit different or not.
I suspect PowerColor may be aware of this and choose to ignore it as it might open up a liability to repair damaged monitors. Didn't GM do that for 10 years with defective ignition switches?
Manufacturer Response:Hello,

We apologize for the issue that you are faced with. However, the likely hood of our adapter taking a monitor input is very unlikely. Please investigate your system for other possible electrical issue.

Best Regards,
Raymond

Reviewed By:Frankie,7/1/2014 3:23:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Audio Video Converters > BYTECC INC > BYTECC HM-CV14 HDMI to YPbPr + R/L Audio Converter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works with PS4 after a setting change
Pros: Works as advertised, once setup
Cons: PS4 setup change not specified
Other Thoughts: Must set this on PS4 for it to work at all:
Settings > System > HDCP > Disable

Without the setting does not work on 720 or 1080. With it set it works on both.
Reviewed By:AndyP,6/29/2014 10:44:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Audio Video Converters > PowerColor > POWERCOLOR Active Mini DisplayPort to Single-Link DVI-D Adapter

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Died after a few months
Pros: Worked great while it it\\did
Cons: Stopped working after a few months. Tested with multiple monitors.
Manufacturer Response:Hello,

This is Raymond from PowerColor. We apologize for the issue that you are faced with. Please go to our website and submit a RMA, we can get a working replacement for you.

Best Regards,
Raymond

Reviewed By:N/A,6/28/2014 3:55:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Audio Video Converters > STARTECH > StarTech MDP2VGA Mini DisplayPort to VGA Video Adapter Converter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great
Pros: Just plan works
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I purchased this converter to run an older monitor on a Gigabyte Brix PC. It works great and I would purchase another one in a second.
Reviewed By:Jim,6/28/2014 6:29:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Audio Video Converters > Cirago > Cirago DPA1011 DisplayPort to VGA (HD-15) Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very nice!
Pros: -Cheap
-Feels Sturdy/Professional
-Looks Clean/Professional
-Is able to do what is expected
Cons: Unless you want the cable part to be a bit longer (which is only a personal preference anyway), I can't find anything wrong with this adapter.
Other Thoughts: At the time of writing this, I've had it for 2 days, and it can easily handle 1280x1024 @75fps without so much as a tiny bit of warmth.
Now I need another one of these, but with HDMI so that I can use my third monitor with my GeForce 660 and use 'em all for gaming.
Reviewed By:CKalis,6/27/2014 7:03:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau