Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • | Wish List
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All Ultrabooks > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkPad Yoga 2in1 / Ultrabook - Core i3 4GB Memory 500GB SSHD 12.5”Touchscreen Windows 8.1 Pro (20CD00BDUS)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 BUYER BEWARE: NOT 8.1 Pro!
Pros: The Yoga itself is pretty nice. Solid, sturdy construction, nice bright screen, great trackpad/keyboard. Everything seems high quality. I don't want to give it 0 eggs for just one critical problem as it is not a fault with the hardware... Read on!
Cons: The critical problem is... this unit is NOT Windows 8.1 Pro even though it is labeled as such. I ordered it, received a unit with 8.1, sent it back, got another unit, and it is also Windows 8.1. Two weeks of my time (and the employee this unit is meant for) completely wasted. Not sure if this is an issue with Lenovo mislabeling it or Newegg, but it needs to be corrected.
Reviewed By:SSmart,4/17/2014 10:45:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Ultrabooks > ASUS > ASUS B400A-XH52 Intel Core i5 3317U (1.70GHz) 4GB Memory 256GB SSD 14" Ultrabook Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not so good.
Pros: None
Cons: I received the laptop damaged so I had to get an RMA and send it back. I received the 2nd laptop and it made a lot of fan noise every time I opened an application. Sometimes it just started making a lot of noise on its own when I didn't do anything. I called ASUS tech support and they had me try a couple of different things which didn't make any difference. So I got a 2nd RMA and am now waiting for a 3rd laptop. If this one is bad I will call them and tell them to keep it and give me a refund.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/17/2014 5:45:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Ultrabooks > Lenovo > Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro 13.3" Multimode Laptop with Intel Core i5-4200U 1.6Ghz (2.6Ghz Turbo), 4GB DDR3L RAM, 128GB SSD, WQXGA+ QHD+ 3200x1800 IPS 10 Point Multi Touch Display, 360 Degrees Hinge

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Impressive Laptop!
Pros: - Thin and Light chassis
- Touch screen
- Fast processor
- Foldable to fit any need
- Amazing resolution!
Cons: - Keyboard layout
- Screen and trackpad can delay on inputs
Other Thoughts: This ultrabook is hard to beat. It comes with a 4th gen Intel processor, QHD screen, updated integrated graphics, a small, lightweight form factor, very sturdy build quality, all in package that prices for 30% less than the competition. My two cons are the keyboard, which has a slightly different layout from my previous laptop, so that will take some getting used to. Second, sometimes gestures on the touch screen and track pad can take 2-3 tries before the proper action is performed. Minimal bloatware makes for a fast and enjoyable experience right out of the box. Overall, I'm very happy with my purchase.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/15/2014 6:22:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Ultrabooks > ASUS > ASUS Taichi31 Dual Screen 2in1 Ultrabook - i5 4GB Memory 128GB SSD 13.3" Touchscreen w/Active Digitizer Windows 8 (Taichi31-NS51T)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Hybrid. Windows 8.1 possible but not easily installed.
Pros: I love this hybrid laptop. I wanted a laptop that can act as a tablet as well. This is a near perfect fit.
Unit is fast and responsive.
Not a lot of bloat-ware installed.
Battery life is descent.
Small and very lite power brick
Cons: Comes with windows 8 not 8.1
Upgrading is possible but difficult.
Unit is a little heavy (wish it was .5lbs lighter)
Unit had screen flickering problems but I manage to resolve it by securing the connector better. (Disconnect, reconnected and secured it with electrical tape.)
Other Thoughts: How to upgrade to windows 8.1 (don’t do this unless you are pretty technical)
(Download the windows 8.1 apps from Asus site. They don’t have much, at the time of this writing only 3 apps were found (BT, VGA, and Bios.)
Use macruim Reflect to backup the unit. (Free and works great on this unit.) Backup while in windows or from a cold boot. The software also lets you create a flash boot drive for cold backups and/or restores.
Copy the Asus/eDrive folder from the C: (Contains all required apps and drivers, which you will need later) I didn’t see all the apps listed on their site.
*Disable the dual screen switch (below the power button). We don’t want windows to see the 2nd (touchscreen) monitor for the steps below.
Upgrade: run the setup.exe file from your windows 8.1 media
Fresh/clean install: Create a UEFI Windows 8.1 boot flash drive. I used rufus and a windows 8.1 iso.
Remove all partitions and preform a clean install.
After windows 8.1 is installed. Keep the dual screen switch disabled and install the windows 8.1 apps found on Asus site. (restart if prompted).
Enable the dual screen switch now. (make sure you have already installed Intel Display drives)
Start installing all the apps from the eDrive\software folder we copied before.
After all the apps are installed you should not see any unknown devices in Device Manager. If you do, reinstall the apps from the eDrive>Software>Intel folder.

• In the power options I set the power button for shutdown, not sleep. (sleep is broken for me)

Good luck.
Reviewed By:techguy,4/15/2014 6:22:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Ultrabooks > ASUS > ASUS Taichi 21-DH51 Intel Core i5 3317U (1.70GHz) 4GB Memory 128GB SSD 11.6" Touchscreen Ultrabook (Grade A) Windows 8

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: It's a great laptop all around, as long as you can live with some cons.

The keyboard is outstanding. I type a lot, all day long really, and the keyboard couldn't be better. And this coming from a Thinkpad owner of 10 years.

The touchpad is flawless, it works like a charm. I've never used a touchpad this good. I think it's pretty on par with mac touchpads, both on desktop and modern areas of Windows 8.

The build quality seems top notch and it's a gorgeous piece of hardware. Sure, you have to handle it with care because of the screen on the lid but overall it's a great build.

The 1080p Screens are top notch, the viewing angles are great, the colors look great, the text is sharp, a lot to like there.
Cons: If you have both screen on. And you're thinking about doing some work while your kid plays a game on the other side. Forget it. This isn't possible. It is a single laptop with a single mouse pointer. Every time your kid touches the outer screen your mouse will move to his screen and you have to drag it back into your screen. The two screens simply work like any extended display, if you used a system with 2 screens before you'll know how this works.
Other Thoughts: The bezel around the inner screen is as big as it is around the outer screen. It's kinda big on the side and looks unusual for laptop screens.

Battery life, 3 hours of heavy use.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/14/2014 7:01:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Ultrabooks > Lenovo > Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro 13.3" Multimode Laptop with Intel Core i5-4200U 1.6Ghz (2.6Ghz Turbo), 4GB DDR3L RAM, 128GB SSD, WQXGA+ QHD+ 3200x1800 IPS 10 Point Multi Touch Display, 360 Degrees Hinge

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Sometimes, great deals do exist
Pros: Great value (I don't think you can get a better deal for $730 buying a notebook, unless you plan on gaming), High performance (except gaming graphics but you know what you're getting in an ultrabook IGP), No scratches or dents, great wifi, 1 year warranty as advertised, beautiful high resolution display (and yes yellow coloring issues you hear about is fixed)
Cons: Battery life isn't as high as expected (4-5 hours), some bloatware, some minor signs of previous ownership/usage.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/13/2014 1:31:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Ultrabooks > Lenovo > ThinkPad YOGA 2-in-1 Ultrabook - Intel Core i5 4GB RAM 128GB SSD 12.5" Full HD Touchscreen Windows 8.1 (20CD0032US)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 ultimate road warrior tool
Pros: Everything. Battery life, keyboard, size, speed
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I love this machine. I've owned at least thirty laptops in the last ten years and this one does it all for me. Boots to login screen in five seconds. Screen quality is excellent. Video quality is also excellent. Touchscreen is very responsive. Keyboard is the best I've ever typed on. Battery life is solid; I sent even take the Ac adapter with me when out for the day. Ac adapter plug is similar to a USB plug and stays solidly connected when plugged in.

There's nothing I don't like about this machine. Much better build then the similarly designed IdeaPad yoga and a little more portable

No brainer purchase!
Reviewed By:MarkR,4/13/2014 8:42:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Ultrabooks > Sony VAIO > SONY VAIO Duo Core i7 8GB 256GB SSD 13.3" FHD Touchscreen 2-in-1 Ultrabook Windows 8 Pro (SVD13225PXB)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Sony Vaio Duo
Pros: Easy to use, easy to switch between laptop and tablet mode, nice keyboard, long battery life
Cons: Windows 8 has a bit of a learning curve, some motions are not intuitive
Other Thoughts: One thing that I wish had been more clear to me before purchasing this laptop was that is no way to close it, so the screen is not facing out. It literally has only two modes -- tablet or laptop. This means you have to also purchase the case or risk damaging the tablet screen while traveling.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/13/2014 8:10:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Ultrabooks > Acer America > Acer M5-583P-6637 i5-4200U 1.6GHz 6G 500G 15.6in

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product
Pros: AMAZING BATTERY LIFE
Great touchscreen
Nice backlit keyboard
Huge trackpad with gestures
Cons: Average screen resolution (but I can barely tell)
No SSD cache
Wouldn't connect to my home router until I updated the Wi-Fi drivers.
Other Thoughts: Only thing I can really mention is the Wi-Fi driver didn't work on my home router until after I updated the driver, but it works flawlessly now.

Battery life is outstanding. I get 6-7+ full hours of streaming music and video, and Web browsing and doing office tasks.

Picked this laptop up refurbished and on sale, can't beat the value!
Reviewed By:N/A,4/13/2014 5:26:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Ultrabooks > ASUS > ASUS Taichi31 Dual Screen 2in1 Ultrabook - i5 4GB Memory 128GB SSD 13.3" Touchscreen w/Active Digitizer Windows 8 (Taichi31-NS51T)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Asus takes on 'Air-book' and wins - with one big warning
Pros: Targeted to the user who wanted everything in one device, the Taichi is ASUS design creativity as its best. If you have accepted Windows 8 as your tablet platform then this ultrabook with satisfy your desire to do away with a separate tablet. The Taichi is a beautiful combination of power, versatility, efficiency, posh, and utility. Specifically:

- Both screens offer vivid color and brightness
- backlit keyboard is well executed and sized
- touch pad is huge and very responsive
- Sound is outstanding! Better than anything I have heard from a notebook.
- cooling design is not only visually pleasing, but quiet and effective. No hot laps here.
- styling is very upscale. Compares admirably with an 'Air-Book'
- touch screen is atypical tablet responsiveness.
- storage, ports, extras are all what you expect at this caliber product.
- Tablet mode- laptop mode switching is as simple as closing/opening the lid. Switching performance is not instant but quick.
- VIP support was responsive and knowledgeable.

For what you would pay for a Surface Pro or Pro 2, this is an excellent way to go.
Cons: The below list of cons are nitpicky suggestions for improvement, accept for one which I will address in the 'Other thoughts' section.
- SD card slot leaves card sticking out about 1/2. Not ideal. If you want to expand storage get one of the USB drives that are the size of a Bluetooth dongle (virtually flush)
- I find myself hitting the touch pad with my palm occasionally when typing. But there is a function key to disable it.
- No touch screen on interior. Having well known this at time of purchase it is not a deduction. Do I find myself touching the screen occasionally? : Yes. But, I have learned to use the touch pad swiping very effectively as well.
.
- Screen switching : See pros for tablet mode - laptop mode switching. Other modes require the ASUS desktop app to launch which ASUS supplied a dedicated key on keyboard for. It works fairly well, but would be better served by being able to toggle through the modes without the app.
- Weight : For an ultrabook this right on par and not heavy at all. My only reason for mentioning it is for those of you looking to use this as a tablet first. You will not be holding this in one hand, like an e-reader, for very long. With this in mind I find it very comfortable to use as a tablet and especially like the large screen.
- Small design flaw: Bottom of laptop has four decent rubber feet. However, when in laptop mode (screen open) the hinging of the screen causes the edge to protrude past the bottom of the laptop, so that it is longer resting on the back rubber feet, but rather the screen edge. Asus did recognize this and put to very small rubber dots on the screen edge but I fear this is not adequate and I will be curious to see how this wears over time.
-Case options : I haven't found the nice ASUS case they designed for the Taichi21 available for the 31. Without that you are out of luck aside from a slip-in case.
Other Thoughts: WARNING : Do NOT upgrade to Windows 8.1 or Windows 8.1 update 1 without preparation. These updates from MS do not play well with the 'dual screen' of the Taichi. IMO, ASUS has yet to publicly address the issue because given the 'VIP treatment' this product is supposed to receive I have not found any evidence of a announcement saying this was resolved. There are numerous posting about this issue but no conclusive solution. Unless you a tech savvy and patient, I suggest you wait on this upgrade. Having tried this upgrade without warning, I spent over an hour with ASUS VIP support trying to resolve and ultimately return my Taichi to the factory install. I have yet to prove that it is possible until I can hook up a backup drive to get a full backup of my current configuration. (I don't want to have to go through installing my apps and all the windows updates again). I will say VIP support was excellent.


- My Taichi is not my workhorse, given I have a nice Lenovo from work. I do use it for frequently for everything personal though aside from the most demanding gaming and it performs flawlessly.

- Battery life : so far I am well served having only to plug it in overnight to charge for the next day. Someone using this as an 'all-day' device will likely have charge it sometime midday.
Reviewed By:dan596,4/12/2014 10:19:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau