Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > 2 in 1 Laptops / Ultrabooks > DELL > Dell Latitude XT2 12.1" Recertified Tablet PC - Intel Core 2 Duo SU9600 1.6 GHz, 5 GB, uSATA 1.8" 120 GB HDD, Win 7 Home 64-Bit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 starter budget pc
Pros: I saw the low price and rebate being offered, and I wanted to give it a chance. I wanted a computer to take on the road and not worry about it being lost, stolen, or smashed. Needed tablet weight with a keyboard. This tab/lap is light. No qualms about carrying it around. My dad has a newer Dell model, and the form factor and mobility of this unit is easier to take around with you.

The unit I received came with a decent battery. It doesn't die when unplugged like a previous reviewer's. I lucked out, but max battery life you will probably get is 2.5 hours. If you buy this, plan on keeping it plugged it half the time.

I started the upgrade process to Windows 10, but I cancelled. I didn't want to lose the functions of the FN key, especially the brightness control. Sound and ethernet worked fine, and there's a switch to turn off the wireless which is a godsend. I didn't try bluetooth, I don't need it. This pc has a 4gb stick of ram installed which is plenty even for win64. I opened the back after removing two screws, and there is a connection for a wwan card.

Keyboard is decent, better than most older Acers.

The unit I received looks decent but not totally new. You can tell it was used lightly which is fine. There were no scratches or dents and no dead pixels on the screen. Screen quality is what you would expect.

Screen rotates.
Cons: usata magnetic hard drive makes this a bit harder to upgrade but the location under the battery is easy to access.. will buy a ssd usata drive for about $30 to give myself a performance boost and cut EMFs from the hard disc.

sometimes there is a slight electronic noise, very slight, like an electric squeal which is part of most older computers. don't expect complete silence. nothing hugely grating.

gets a bit warm and you can hear the fan, but no big deal.
Other Thoughts: refurbished by a company named Shivnet.

would buy another if I had a friend just needing a basic windows pc and keyboard and prefers to use a mouse.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/11/2016 5:17:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > 2 in 1 Laptops / Ultrabooks > ASUS > ASUS Zenbook UX301LA-DH51T Ultrabook Intel Core i5 4200U (1.60 GHz) 2 x 128GB SSD SSD Intel HD Graphics 4400 Shared memory 13.3" Touchscreen Windows 8 64-bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 ASUS SSDs and batteries never hold up
Pros: Form, peripherals, and display are fantastic.
Cons: 8 hour battery? Turn off the radio, dim the screen to the lowest setting and hope for 5 hours if you're lucky.

One of the 2 SSDs failed shy of 2 years. The warranty is only 1 year, but since when did it become OK to expect your data to not last two years?!
Reviewed By:Sujeet A.,2/11/2016 5:30:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > 2 in 1 Laptops / Ultrabooks > ASUS > ASUS Taichi 31 Dual Screen 2in1 Ultrabook - i5 4GB Memory 128GB SSD 13.3" Touchscreen w/Active Digitizer Windows 8 (Taichi31-NS51T)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 [Updated] Well, here is thing
Pros: Definitely two side monitor. unlike Lenovo yoga, you don't have to put your keyboard on the bottom when you use it as tablet mode. you will get attention everywhere when people see it first time. heat distribution is fine. it does get hotter period of time, but it doesn't slow the system down that much. Speaker is interesting. really loud and clear. it has surrounding feature so it actually feels that music hit your ears. Battery time is decent. I use it for internet and watch movie, around 3-4 hours? LED backlit keyboard is pretty.
Cons: two side monitor. it takes time to change the monitors. sometimes it recognizes touch from outer monitor when you are using inner one. also sometimes it automatically memorized the touch from outer monitor when you hold it. so after you turn on your system, it keep clicking screen until the time you turn it on. Also I got it on June 2014, I don't know how i did it but video graphic card and monitor got damage while I was updating the system. I had to send it to A/S center for repair.
Other Thoughts: [Updated 2/10/16]
Well, I did not read what I wrote back then, but here are few things I want to point out. After update to windows 10 from 8.1, I am not no longer able to use ASUS dual monitor software. It doesn't auto-tilt anymore, I have to set it up manually. Screen bezel is now falling off from monitor, it really doesn't effect the performance. Speaking of performance, it's slow. it takes time to load up the Google chrome from cold boot. Also it has some weight compare to other ultrabooks. So, (even though this is now discontinued) if you are considering to buy one of this series, you might wanna think again. I want to give this laptop 2.4/5.


With system, they provide pen but, honestly it's really useless. don't expect too much on it. you can only use it on outer monitor and really hard to write due to thickness of it. Charger is small and compact. I like it. it only has two 3.0 USB ports so you have to have usb hub for more connectivity. you have to do some research to use Windows 8.1 on this system. it took me awhile to make it happen.
Reviewed By:Sung J.,2/10/2016 1:39:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > 2 in 1 Laptops / Ultrabooks > ASUS > Asus Transformer Book T100TAF 10.1" 2-in-1 Tablet with Dock, Quad Core Intel Atom Bay Trail Z3735F 1.33GHz (1.83GHz Burst), 2GB Memory, 32GB Storage, Windows 8.1, Certified Refurbished

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not a good product!
Pros: - The size and functionality of the tablet and detachable keyboard was good.
Cons: - Battery was always draining, never held a charge for long and recently has stopped working altogether. I have purchased a new power supply and while the light shows white the tablet will no longer power up. This was a refurbished unit but I expected it to work beyond 45-days from purchase. No option to get any help so buyer beware.
Other Thoughts: - This model seems to have a lot of power issues and there appears to be almost no options to get it running again.
Reviewed By:John P.,2/10/2016 12:06:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > 2 in 1 Laptops / Ultrabooks > DELL > DELL 6430U Ultrabook Intel Core i7 3667U (2.00 GHz) 8 GB Memory 256 GB SSD Intel HD Graphics 4000 Shared memory 14" Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Laptop
Pros: We have recently purchased 5 of these units - all were clean Grade A units - powered right up - we upgraded each to Windows 10 pro with no issues. Nice lite business grade laptops - most are showing battery live of 6 plus hours. We have several E7440 and 7450 units and for the price these are great units. I plan on ordering one for home also.
Cons: None so far.
Reviewed By:System A.,2/10/2016 9:56:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > 2 in 1 Laptops / Ultrabooks > DELL > DELL 6430U Ultrabook Intel Core i7 3667U (2.00 GHz) 8 GB Memory 256 GB SSD Intel HD Graphics 4000 Shared memory 14" Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great latop, great price, almost looks new
Pros: Laptop is very clean and looks new except for some scuffs by the VGA and USB port. Laptop set up was very easy and it runs great. The keyboard and trackpoint are good better than most laptops I have had except for my previous thinkpad. After doing a lot of comparing this laptop fit all of my needs and it is a great value. I would highly recommend buying it.
Cons: Battery right now is showing 100% with 3 hours of life. I hope that over time and some charging that the battery life gets better, but if not I will be replacing the battery at some point. The laptop was not packaged well for shipment. The laptop was shrink wrapped and then shrink wrapped to a piece of cardboard. The charging cable was sitting separate in the box not wrapped at all. There was not any cushioning in the box. Though the laptop had no damage and traveled well.
Reviewed By:Jonathan S.,2/9/2016 2:06:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > 2 in 1 Laptops / Ultrabooks > Acer America > Acer Aspire M5-581T-6024 Ultrabook Intel Core i5 3317U (1.70 GHz) 500 GB HDD 20 GB SSD Intel HD Graphics 4000 Shared memory 15.6" Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid Ultrabook, Doesn't Break the Bank
Pros: Backlit keyboard is a huge plus for me. This is a premium feature, and can be a lifesaver if you're doing work at college and need to work in a dark environment, or if you're trying to finish up a project while a significant other sleeps nearby.
The speakers are also fantastic, especially for being down-firing. They easily pump music and movies with the best laptop speakers I've heard...even better than my last Dell Studio, a $1,400 laptop with a tiny subwoofer in its base.
The finish is what you'd expect from a higher-end laptop, which is a pleasant thing.
Having most of the ports on the back makes it aesthetically pleasing, even if it's a little less convenient.
This can actually handle light gaming like LoL and Portal 2. Definitely a pleasant surprise if you're into gaming.
Cons: The screen should be at least 1600x900 on an ultrabook of this size.
The SSD+HDD offers no benefit in speed over a normal HDD...I would swap this combo out with just an SSD since they aren't too pricey these days.
Fan can get whiny, and constantly seems to be spinning up.
Power button is in a very bad place at the front edge of the laptop. Prepare to hit it several times as you pick up the ultrabook before you remember where it is.
Other Thoughts: For $1,000, you can get a better Ultrabook these days. With an SSD upgrade, this would make an excellent $700-800 ultrabook. Overall, this is a solid computer, and I've been glad to have it.
Reviewed By:Stephen P.,2/8/2016 9:00:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > 2 in 1 Laptops / Ultrabooks > ASUS > ASUS Zenbook UX305CA-EHM1 Ultrabook Intel Core M 6Y30 (0.90 GHz) 256 GB SSD Intel HD Graphics 515 Shared memory 13.3" Windows 10 Home 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Wonderfully portable laptop
Pros: -Small size and weight, this laptop is perfect for students and professionals who have to lug a laptop around everywhere.
-Processor is very capable for everyday tasks and light gaming
-Solid state hard drive causes the computer to boot up very quickly. Same goes for opening programs.
-Screen is very sharp and crisp with very wide viewing angles
-Computer stays cool, even under intense loads
-I have been biking to school with this computer in my shoulder bag and I haven't noticed any scratching or smudges. It is more resiliant than I was expecting.
Cons: Any cons I have are just nit picking, so none of these were bad enough to remove eggs
-The trackpad can be very difficult to double tap. Usually when I have to double-click something, I will actually have to use the left mouse button. This isn't a huge problem as the whole trackpad is clickable, though.
-While its very difficult to double tap, single tapping is too easy. Where your hands would rest on the keyboard, your left hand hangs over the trackpad and can cause some accidental cursor jumps. It would be nice to have a way to turn off the trackpad while typing.
-The finish on the inside of the computer smudges easily.
Other Thoughts: This computer has been a wonderful purchase. There are some cons, but they are pretty easy to overlook. If you are looking for a fairly good performance computer in a very slim package, I would reccommend this one. While it can handle some popular games from just a year ago, I wouldn't recommend this computer if you're looking to play anything too intense (like current first person shooters or open world type games).
Reviewed By:Eric M.,2/8/2016 4:49:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > 2 in 1 Laptops / Ultrabooks > ASUS > ASUS Zenbook UX305CA-EHM1 Ultrabook Intel Core M 6Y30 (0.90 GHz) 256 GB SSD Intel HD Graphics 515 Shared memory 13.3" Windows 10 Home 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Well-designed and Reliable
Pros: It's beautifully thin, and everything has worked well so far. Moving from a 15" laptop to this, and being a student who writes a lot, I was a bit worried about whether two 8.5x11 word documents could comfortably fit side-by-side. It turns out the the increase in screen resolution between my previous laptop and this one more than makes up for the slight decrease in screen width. I can zoom out on a Word doc more and still read the text, so I don't need as much space to fit two side-by-side.
Cons: No big cons yet. As others have pointed out, there's no backlit keyboard. Also, the wide margin around the screen can be a bit annoying. Furthermore, when I took off some of the stickers that came with it, they left some glue on the plastic. I've yet to get up the guts to use acetone or mineral spiritis on it, since I'm not sure how whether they would damage the screen.
Other Thoughts: A great product for the businessperson or student looking for a very portable and reasonably powerful laptop.
Reviewed By:Naji A.,2/7/2016 10:38:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > 2 in 1 Laptops / Ultrabooks > DELL > Dell Latitude XT2 12.1" Recertified Tablet PC - Intel Core 2 Duo SU9600 1.6 GHz, 5 GB, uSATA 1.8" 120 GB HDD, Win 7 Home 64-Bit

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 It is a good machine, only if the battery is good
Pros: portable, fast, light.
Cons: A really bad battery. You cannot use the machine as a mobile. It will die in less than 30 min. And this battery is almost impossible to get nowadays... Upgrading to Windows 10 does not work well either because Dell does not upgrade the driver for Windows 10.
Other Thoughts: If a new battery can be obtained, it is a good machine for the price.
Reviewed By:Hiroko A.,2/7/2016 10:14:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.