Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > 2 in 1 Laptops / Ultrabooks > Lenovo > Lenovo Flex 3 80R40007US Ultrabook Intel Core i7 6500U (2.50 GHz) 1 TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce 940M 15.6" Touchscreen Windows 10 Home

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Laptop When you get over the starting hurdle
Pros: Very fast and smooth interface, accomplishing everything it was set out to do.
The 8GB of ram is perfect for me.
The nvidia graphics card is a plus.
Overall the best laptop I have had so far (after the starting problems, See CONS)
People have said the battery life was not that good, but I found that I could use this laptop for 5 hours of programming, using AutoDesk, and typing on Word with life to spare (20mins projected time left)
Cons: When I received the laptop it kept shutting down the screen randomly for no reason.
After a week of Updating Drivers (constantly) and finding a work around for the screen problem which includes installing 3rd party power management software. (though fixing the problem involved many hours of commitment)
Running very strong now and has not given me a problem so far. (A week and half without it shutting down every 30min of use)
Other Thoughts: If you would invest the time to solve the problem I faced then the laptop is great for you.
Searching around not that many people get this problem anyways.
I also liked the challenge of fixing the laptop somehow.
I will not rate the product badly just for a major issue that I fixed, of course if it comes back then I would.

I do NOT recommend for people who don't want to even try to fix their problems before returning the item.
Every piece of technology has its cons but they usually can all be fixed.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/26/2016 7:13:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > 2 in 1 Laptops / Ultrabooks > ASUS > ASUS Transformer Book T100HA-C4-GR 2-in-1 Laptop Intel Atom x5-Z8500 (1.44 GHz) 64 GB SSD Intel HD Graphics Shared memory 10.1" Touchscreen Windows 10 Home 64-Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 I cannot express my hatred for this device.
Pros: Sometimes it works.
Cons: I bought this thing b/c I had the old Windows 8 version and I loved it. This device is in every way worse than my old Windows 8 version. I really wish I had that one back, but I gave it away to a friend who needed a computer to work on.

Every day, I contemplate violently bashing the thing into bits.

It crashes CONSTANTLY. The only programs I have installed are Windows & Chrome. I use google drive for everything else.

Windows 10 is just worse in every way than Windows 7, and 8.

The sound quality on this thing might be the worst I've ever heard. The speakers are like listening through a can on a string
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/26/2016 7:04:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > 2 in 1 Laptops / Ultrabooks > Hewlett-Packard > HP EliteBook Folio 9470M Ultrabook Intel Core i5 3427U (1.80 GHz) 256 GB SSD 14" Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Laptop!
Pros: It's fast with a 256GB SSD.
Comes with Windows 7 Pro.
8 GB should be enough RAM for most uses.
Very easy to replace parts, even the screws stay attached to the cover so you can't lose it.
It has a mSATA add on slot, so I added a mSATA SSD for extra storage.
Very light weight for travel.
Cons: I think the screen could have been better, but it's decent for Microsoft office and web browsing.
Windows 7 Pro. never updated even after 10 hours, but if you google, you'll find a downloadable patch to fix that.
I'm not sure if this model has the "whitelisted" hardware list in the BIOS (which basically prevents you from replacing the Wi-Fi adapter to a faster one in the future), although you can still buy a USB one.
Other Thoughts: Mine came with the rubber feet missing, but the reseller is very responsive. They responded to my e-mails within hours, and got (used) rubber feet within a week.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/26/2016 2:23:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > 2 in 1 Laptops / Ultrabooks > Acer America > Acer Aspire Switch 10 E SW3-013-1566 2-in-1 Laptop Intel Atom Z3735F (1.33 GHz) 32 GB eMMC Intel HD Graphics Shared memory 10.1" Touchscreen Windows 10 Home

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not a good value/performance ratio
Pros: Small + Compact
Magnet attachment works well
Full Windows 10
Some had bad reviews of the case, but I actually liked the feel and texture.

Meh- had to go out on limbs to search for those.
Cons: Hardware doesn't really support Windows 10 well
Slow and incapable of running Windows 10 like you'd expect
Performance for price is terrible
Wifi card is super weak
Not a full USB port without keyboard
Typical Bloatware- very disappointing Acer

Overall, not worth it. Might be ok for a 10yr old to keep them off your phone for a bit. But I bought this expecting mostly functional Windows 10 features, and it doesn't deliver. Multi-tasking is a no-no, switching between apps is slow and not smooth. It's relatively heavy for it's size. I had to use an otg adapter and a wifi dongle as the wifi card on the board is terrible. After doing that awhile, I realized I couldn't charge the tablet as the mirco-usb port is it's only way to charge and there are no other ports on the tablet.

Don't think it' normal, and overall the screen detail and size was good, but mine had a red-stuck pixel right in the middle of it that I just couldn't get over after I found it.

Requesting an RMA through newegg.
Other Thoughts: Wouldn't recommend this to anyone. You can get much better for the price.
If you want a full windows 10 capable tablet, get a surface.
If you don't need windows, there are tons of other options.
This does have windows, but after a day of trying to do anything on your tablet, you will either be sweeping it's bits off your floor, or mailing it back.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/25/2016 8:14:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > 2 in 1 Laptops / Ultrabooks > ASUS > ASUS R554LA-RS71T Convertible Laptop Intel Core i7 5500U (2.40 GHz) 1 TB HDD Intel HD Graphics 5500 Shared memory 15.6" Touchscreen Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 This computer came with some type of malware or remote access software
Pros: I would not recommend anyone to purchase a refurbished computer from this company, or even from newegg. I have had this computer for just under 90 days. The only things i have done is download the free windows upgrade, i installed firefox and use the web browser. Since day 1 i found weird tabs opened up. Tabs i never opened, dozens of duplicate skype windows opened and many times on account recovery. in the first week one time i heard the computer making noises, I opened it up and there were almost 100 windows opened, tons of windows about networking access and recovery stuff. Things i have never looked up. The breaking point for me is when I left to go to dinner today, when i got back from dinner there were roughly 10 tabs opened to different sections of Chase.com online banking. I do have a Chase account but I never have the site save my log in info.
Every time these weird tabs and pages open I find that when i start closing them out etc there is always issues with the network
Cons: I literally bought this computer for simple needs, web browsing, basic social media etc. I dont download anything sketchy or go to any sketchy sites. From day one this computer has had some sort of software compromise but i have all the windows security options enabled. I actually dont know if it is just a glitch or a bug. But i would NOT recommend buying a refurbished from this seller. I am very concerned about the security of data on my computer
Reviewed By:Nathan S.,9/25/2016 7:48:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > 2 in 1 Laptops / Ultrabooks > ASUS > Asus Transformer Book T100TAF 10.1" 2-in-1 Tablet with Dock, Quad Core Intel Atom Bay Trail Z3735F 1.33 GHz (1.83 GHz Burst), 2 GB Memory, 32 GB Storage, Windows 8.1, Certified Refurbished

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Simple Solution if ASUS is near by
Pros: I have nothing negative to say. I bought 2 at a great price. I knew the batteries sucked. Instead of calling the 800 number and getting the run around. I drove them over to ASUS Canada Head Office. They were great. The took my receipt and the 2 units. Called me 3 days later and they have been awesome ever since. Thank you ASUS Canada.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: If you live in the GTA and you're willing to drive to Markham. It's worth ever penny. ASUS Canada You Rock. 800 customer service 50/50
Reviewed By:R. H.,9/25/2016 4:05:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > 2 in 1 Laptops / Ultrabooks > ASUS > ASUS Transformer Book T100CHI-C1-BK 2-in-1 Ultrabook Intel Atom Z3775 (1.46 GHz) 64 GB SSD Intel HD Graphics Shared memory 10.1" Touchscreen Windows 8.1 32-Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 so disappointed I paid for a 64 gig ended up with the 32 gig
Pros: like really what can you do with 32 gigs.and a whole bunch of bloatware. I returned the first one, for Newegg to send me back the same one. I've bought many products from Newegg in the past but this is the first time I've ever had a bad experience with newegg... I think this is the last. what a waste of time & 3 weeks.... I should have went to my local Wmart and bought a $79 dollar 32 gig 2 gig RAM tablet . cause for this price, it's a total rip-off
Cons: the resolution is nice but that's about all..........
Other Thoughts: no way, would I recommend this to someone after the experience I had.​ having to send it back and receive the same one in return, it made no sense, I should have stayed with the first one. I ordered... PS: newegg needs to fix the typos on this product, so no one else gets ripped off like I did .....
Reviewed By:alda j.,9/25/2016 2:15:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > 2 in 1 Laptops / Ultrabooks > ASUS > ASUS Transformer Book T100TA-H1-WH(S) 2-in-1 Tablet Intel Atom Z3775 (1.46GHz) 2GB Memory 500GB on Keyboard Dock HDD 32GB SSD Intel HD Graphics Shared memory 10.1" IPS Touchscreen Windows 8.1 + Office

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 I really loved this, at first ...
Pros: I bought this (along with 2 similar Transformer models as gifts, see my review at http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834232207 ) for myself in December 2014 for Christmas. I loved the main (selling) feature of being able to use as a tablet OR a netbook with keyboard, and was excited about the other features (MS Office cloud, etc.) and the ultra light, ultra-portable design. Liked the fact that the power cable had USB so that it was interchangeable with other USB chargers (i.e., Android phones or another laptop).
Cons: However...This model developed terrible battery and power button issues (as did at least 1 of the 2 gifts purchased at the same time; see that review), so I'm guessing it's an ASUS design flaw and possibly poor materials/workmanship.

I have an ASUS gaming laptop that has faithfully served me for my high graphics usage (photography and other creative projects). I was expecting the same rugged quality from all three ASUS Transformers that I purchased.

This Transformer, which I purchased to use for travel so that I didn't have to take my bulkier/heavier gaming laptop on a plane, crapped out on me during it's first real test! Since purchasing it in December 2014, I used it only about once a month, for a few hours at a time. In June 2016 (just 18 mos. after purchasing & less than 30 one-to-three hour uses), I took it on an international trip to South America and the battery died after about 3 hours of use. It took about 30 hours to regain a full charge (and yes, I used an expensive power converter/surge protector unit).

It has not gotten better. Worse, to replace the battery requires a skilled technician to open and replace it! Further, the power button often gets "stuck" and sometimes will not even glow red or green to indicate the power is on (or not).

Of course, by the time this happened to me in June (it's now September and I can just begin to write about it, I was so upset), it was out of the 1-year warranty.

And lastly, another terrible feature was the impossibly SHORT length of the power cord!
Other Thoughts: As much as I wanted to like these Transformers because of my prior happy experiences with ASUS, I would never recommend them to someone else. Two out of the 3 purchased are virtually unusable after less than 18 mos.? Speaks volumes about poor manufacturing/parts. I'll be in the market soon for another gaming laptop, but I doubt I'll consider ASUS. :(
Reviewed By:DEBRA T.,9/24/2016 6:58:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > 2 in 1 Laptops / Ultrabooks > ASUS > ASUS Transformer Book T100TAF-B1-BF 2-in-1 Tablet Intel Atom Z3735F (1.33 GHz) 32 GB SSD Intel HD Graphics Shared memory 10.1" Touchscreen Windows 8.1 32-Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Lots of potential, but....
Pros: Loved the main (selling) feature of being able to use as a tablet OR a netbook with keyboard. I got very excited about the other features (MS Office cloud, etc.) and the ultra light, ultra-portable design. Liked the fact that the power cable had USB so that it was interchangeable with other USB chargers (i.e., Android phones or another laptop).
Cons: However...I bought two of these as Christmas gifts for my adult sons/daughter-in-laws in December 2014. I will only comment on one of the 2 purchased, as one of my sons traded theirs with a friend for something else, so I have idea how it has performed :/.

The other one, however, developed terrible battery and power button issues (as did the one I purchased for myself, a slightly different model with more storage capacity).

After about 7 months of daily reasonable use (3-4 hours of email, web surfing and basic word processing), the Transformer would NOT stay charged. Got worse and worse over time, and the power button simply would not come on (it gets "stuck"). That problem occurs occasionally still, but the biggest issue is the poor battery performance. It HAS to be plugged in to be used :/

By the time I knew there were that many problems, it was out of the 1-year warranty.

The other terrible feature was the extraordinarily SHORT length of the power cord!
Other Thoughts: I purchased these Asus Transformers based on my excellent experience with an ASUS gaming laptop and monitor purchased in 2013. I was stunned at the poor quality of this line (see my review of my other purchase of a Transformer for myself (item link: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834232315).
Reviewed By:DEBRA T.,9/24/2016 6:32:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > 2 in 1 Laptops / Ultrabooks > Acer America > Acer Aspire R 14 R5-471T-50UD 2-in-1 Laptop Intel Core i5 6200U (2.30 GHz) 256 GB SSD Intel HD Graphics 520 Shared memory 14" Touchscreen Windows 10 Home

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice for the price
Pros: Decent specs for the price point, construction feels reasonably solid. Very quiet, runs cool.
Ubuntu 16.04 boots and recognizes all major hardware (touchpad, touchscreen, wifi) but see cons below.
Keyboard feel is good for a chiclet style keyboard
Touchpad works well, supports multi-touch.
Battery life seems good, but I have pushed it too far yet.
Decent number of USB ports
Cons: Keyboard uses half size keys for arrows, and puts home and end under fn combos.
Screen shows a little bit of bleeding around the edges on a black background, but not enough to be a major annoyance. Not super bright, but fine for indoor use.
Charger plug seems pretty vulnerable, very skinny plug with block that sticks out.
Comes with a moderate amount of bloatware, but a windows 10 clean install from media creation tool was pretty painless.
In ubuntu dual boot setup, going into the UEFI BIOS seems to corrupt the Ubuntu UEFI entry (removing ubuntu from the description of the shimx64.efi entry and removing it from displayorder) and reset to booting windows, even if you don't change or save any settings. This can be reset on the windows side using bcdedit. In a single OS install, you might need a live USB, but I don't know if it happens when there's no windows install.
No storage activity LED, can make it hard to tell if a program is busy or not.
Battery and storage not meant to be user-replaceable.
Other Thoughts: Cons list above may look long, but they are all pretty minor to me. Overall, I'm very satisfied, and would recommend to people who want a relatively portable but not tiny laptop for non-CPU/GPU intensive work. You can get better specs or cheaper, but it's a nice mid-range option.
It's bit big and heavy to use like a tablet: you wouldn't want to hold it up to read a paperback, but it would be fine for viewing media on an airplane. I don't count this as a con since it's what you'd expect from a 14" laptop.
Reviewed By:Reed M.,9/24/2016 12:09:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.