Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All Ultrabooks > ASUS > ASUS Transformer Book T100 - Intel Z3740 Quad Core 2GB RAM 32GB SSD + 500GB HDD 10.1" Touchscreen Tablet w/Dock, Windows 8.1 (T100TA-H1-GR)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Wonderful first laptop, with some quirks.
Pros: Touchscreen laptop, and is a shiny new toy. I love having a laptop now, and use it mostly for college notes and such. Haven't had many of the docking problems that previous reviews have mentioned. I rarely use it as a tablet, just because I find it to be a bit too large to comfortably hold like that.
Cons: It definitely has some quirks to it. Within the first month of having it, perhaps even the second week, the battery became hit or miss. It went from charging really fast, to barely holding a charge at all. Even when it was plugged in, it would be discharging battery. Only solution I found was to change chargers, and not use the one that was included with the computer. I started using my phone charger, which has the same size port, and it worked for a little while. However, over time, the laptop has killed that charger too. On the third charger now, hoping it holds out longer. The battery seems to be fine now, although I have to completely shut the laptop down overnight if I don't have it plugged in, or else I will find it dead in the morning.
- Has a bit of trouble starting up after being shut down. I have to hold the button down for the 3 seconds to get it to try and boot like normal, it starts booting, then shuts back down. Then have to hold the power button down for an additional 10 seconds before it finally comes back. Not necessarily a problem, just a quirk.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Annabeth,

It's great to know that you love the Transformer Book. I certainly understand your concern regarding the battery charging issue. Please verify if the unit is runing with the BIOS v227 or later. The shutdown issue can be a WINDOWS related. Please install all recommended WINDOWS Update to resolve this. If you need further assistance, please email me at cl-rodel@asus.com and write down service# N140962135 on the subject line.

Thank you for choosing an ASUS product.

Rodel
ASUS Customer Loyalty

Reviewed By:Annabeth,9/29/2014 6:32:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Ultrabooks > Lenovo > Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro 13.3" Multimode Laptop with Intel Core i5-4200U 1.6Ghz (2.6Ghz Turbo), 4GB DDR3L RAM, 128GB SSD, WQXGA+ QHD+ 3200x1800 IPS 10 Point Multi Touch Display, 360 Degrees Hinge

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent laptop
Pros: Perfect multi-purpose laptop. Great middle point between performance, size, weight and features.
The convertible feature of this laptop is no gimmick, the touchscreen works flawlessly, the stand mode is useful and the regular laptop mode is obviously useful as well.
The screen quality is also fantastic.
Cons: Keyboard and mouse pad takes getting used to. The trackpad is a bit hard on the button press.
Reviewed By:feelingeasy,9/26/2014 10:56:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Ultrabooks > Hewlett-Packard > HP Pavilion x2 13-p110nr Detachable 2 in 1 Ultrabook - Intel Core i3 4GB RAM 128GB SSD 13.3" Touchscreen Windows 8.1

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Has Memory Leak in Touchpad Driver
Pros: powerful enough to run strategy games like civilization 5
Cons: Minor things: the delete button isn't directly to the right of the backspace button like I'm used to, and the touchpad doesn't always register clicks at the very corner, you need to be in a bit
**MAJOR PROBLEM: has a memory leak in the touchpad driver, fills up memory after about 7-10 hours of touchpad usage. Can be seen in non-paged pool section of memory.
Other Thoughts: I've contacted HP support about the memory leak, the computer was sent in for repair, but came back in the same condition. After calling the special american tech support number they contacted engineering. This was two weeks ago. I called again today for an update and there was no update. I will change this review if their is any progress with HP support, but as it stand now I have a computer that if you use the touchpad needs rebooted every few hours to get the memory back.
Reviewed By:Arry,9/26/2014 4:29:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Ultrabooks > ASUS > ASUS Taichi31 Dual Screen 2in1 Ultrabook - i5 4GB Memory 128GB SSD 13.3" Touchscreen w/Active Digitizer Windows 8 (Taichi31-NS51T, Rev2)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Computer
Pros: Great Keyboard, Screens have great resolution, Fast, and allot of interfaces, SD card, 2 USB, 2 video and it looks good. The price was great.
Cons: needs Touch screen on back and front.
Other Thoughts: I wanted larger hard drive but I am too impatient to wait for it to come out. Make sure you update the drivers (2) before you upgrade to Win 8.1. For 2 screens it runs a while on battery power.
Reviewed By:Pete,9/26/2014 2:20:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Ultrabooks > ASUS > ASUS Zenbook UX32A-DB31 Intel Core i3 2367M (1.40GHz) 4GB Memory 320GB HDD 24GB SSD 13.3" Ultrabook Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Stay away from this laptop!
Pros: Sleek & Light design
Cons: Screen broke twice. The laptop spent most of its first year at the manufacturer getting fixed. Then it was returned again, and the bios crashed. It was completely dead. Unfortunately the warranty I purchased separately was not extended during the time it was being fixed for falty hinges where the screen and laptop meet. (This took over three months to get resolved) Anyhow, ASUS has the worst tech support, and the Newegg extended warranty is a waste of money. STay away from both.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,

I apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you and your dissappointment with the quality of the warranty service. All ASUS products undergo intensive quality control testing and inspections, these are isolated cases. If you have issues, concern or question regarding the recent warranty service and need further assistance, please email me at cl-rodel@asus.com and write down service# N140962154 on the subject line.

Thank you for choosing an ASUS product.

Regards,

Rodel
ASUS Customer Loyalty

Reviewed By:N/A,9/26/2014 2:19:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Ultrabooks > ASUS > ASUS Taichi31 Dual Screen 2in1 Ultrabook - i5 4GB Memory 128GB SSD 13.3" Touchscreen w/Active Digitizer Windows 8 (Taichi31-NS51T)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Love/hate relationship
Pros: • I have had this laptop for a while now and it has served me well so far.
• 1080p screens
• tablet ability without any kind of weird hinge or disconnecting base
• sleek, aluminum build
• specialized support
• back-lit keys
• chicklet keyboard with a quality feel to it
• proprietary button for screen switch without the requirement to close lid
• has a single headset jack, which is great for use with skype when only cellphone style earbuds are available
• dual cameras(I use the tablet cam to record video of my teachers lectures)
• pretty good battery life
• reasonable speakers for a laptop. pretty good sound in my opinion
• has an external power switch, volume rocker and a switch to disable the tablet/touch screen
Cons: It took days to get this laptop working semi-perfectly on 8.1 and even right now I am still having to restart once or twice per day. I shut down my computer out of habit each night, but it still has its problems.

When switching screens, I occasionally, the tablet screen flips sides and then disables the rotation lock. Even in the windows charms menu, it will only display the ability to change the brightness and the rotation lock will be missing.

WiDi compatibility:
I have spoken to support and set this feature up, but when I switch to the widi receiver, it disables the screen, rendering the connection disabled. I have installed all software to asus support spec. I can connect, but it immediately disables the screen.

display compatibility glitch
When hooking up a display through the included Display port to VGA adapter, it will occasionally switch through by itself and on other occasions, require manual setup of the screen through 'screen resolution' in windows

C-c-c-combo maker!
As a combination of the WiDi and VGA adapter problems, if I attempt to set the connected screen as a standalone, disabling the laptop screens, it will quickly revert to using the laptop screens. I suspect this to be a VGA driver issue and with all the correct drivers installed, nothing changes. Asus hasn't fixed much

HDMI and bluetooth
when attempting to use a bluetooth speaker while using the onboard HDMI adapter into a TV with built in sound, windows will glitch between the bluetooth sound option and the sound through HDMI option.

The fan runs constantly
I can be doing anything from streaming to having 4 basic webpage tabs open and the fan will spin up like it's ready to take off for a 10 minute flight. I sit behind people in lecture hall and I will get looks from them when the paratroopers start jumping out the the USB ports.

The enter key
It's like one of those miniature skate-boards you used to get as a kid. If I lightly push down on the right side of it, I can pop a mini wheelie. I got used to pushing down on the left half of the key only after a while, but it is annoying for the first month of use.

Again with the second/tablet screen glitches, but sometime after switching into laptop mode, the touch screen will still be active, but not show an image. I can use it in laptop mode like normal, but if I go to adjust the angle of the screen, I get a slew of random touches on that part of the screen. Fixed by a restart, but happens occasionally.

Wish I had the i7/256gb version of the Taichi 31.
The price, I guess? I mean, you get your money’s worth.
Other Thoughts: Like I said, I love and hate this device. I would buy it again for its convertibility, but at the same time, I would sell this for something better.

People complain about the touchpad location, but I raise my wrists when I type, and there is enough space to the left and right to rest my wrists, so I am quite pleased with the touchpad and its durability.

The battery is good enough to do web surfing/typing or even movies for hours on end. I just finished up a movie steams from online and I'm only at 60%!

Honestly after having problems trying to raid on my crossfire V in my desktop and having all the issues with this laptop, I will NEVER buy ASUS again.

Okay, maybe that was too harsh. I might buy USB adapters and SATA disk drives from you guys.

I wouldn't recommend ASUS to a friend unless I had a direct line to their developers and a refund button that dropped the money into my account and replaced it with a sorry note. Software issues, BSOD popups, Bios issues, driver incompatibility, slow to fix problems.

When I called their "VIP support" I got a guy who had NO clue what to do about anything at all. Spoke to management and instantly made a connection with the guy and was able to use tech jargon without a "what do you mean" after each sentence.

I give it two stars because I can use it, but there are to many problems for it to be practical.
Reviewed By:Ron Burgundy,9/26/2014 1:53:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Ultrabooks > ASUS > ASUS Transformer Book T100 Intel Z3775 Quad Core 2GB DDR3 RAM 64GB SSD 10.1" Touchscreen 2in1 Tablet w/Dock, Windows 8.1- White (T100TA-C1-WH(S))

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Does what i expected. nothing more
Pros: people complain about sticking the keyboard to the tablet but it works fine for me. mqybe theyre used to the surface pro and etc. this thing is perfect for students who dont plan on installing games on this. they say the screen is weak but ive eithet been very careful or mine just turned out durable.
Cons: lags sometimes. feels slow to my desktop but then again, i invested a lot in my desktop. battery tends run out fast and it takes a while to charge it. doesnt matter if im browsing the internet or watching movies. tne battery tends to die at a fast yet steady pace.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/25/2014 1:22:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Ultrabooks > Vulcan Electronics > Vulcan EXCURSION XA 2-in-1 Tablet Windows 8.1 - Intel Quad Core 2 GB Memory 32 GB Flash 10.1" Touchscreen Tablet with Keyboard Case

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 you get what you paid for
Pros: Cheap tablet for a Full win 8.1
Cons: -Cheap quality tablet
-keyboard keys are very hard to press
-you can NOT do a factory reset
-the cover folds into a stand is a great idea, but can only be used on a flat surface or it would tip over.
Other Thoughts: I really wanted to like this tablet, for the price is a great bargain. But the keyboard is just horrible. very hard to press on some keys. like the "backspace" key, which is kind of important. Newegg was great and tried to exchange it a new unit for me. but same thing.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/23/2014 11:21:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Ultrabooks > DELL > Dell XPS 12 Intel Core i7 8GB 256GB SSD 12.5" FHD Touchscreen 2in1 Ultrabook- Windows 8 (XPSU12-8668CRBFB)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 still working out the bugs
Pros: specs well
Cons: sometimes it will not boot. dell has sent someone to fix but I dont have time to continue down that path. now the screen flip upside down while I am typing.
Other Thoughts: I will not spend big bucks again.
Reviewed By:Jimmy,9/23/2014 7:50:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Ultrabooks > Lenovo > Lenovo Flex 2 14 (59418275) Intel Core i7 4510U (2.00GHz) 8GB Memory 256GB SSD 14" Touchscreen 2-in-1 Ultrabook Windows 8.1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: The laptop is beautiful, responsive, and robust. I purchased it for my wife to replace her aging MacBook Pro, and although she liked her Mac very much, this laptop has made her reconsider her loyalties.

--Light.
--Beautiful HD screen.
--Boots in 5 seconds.
--Touchscreen is responsive and intuitive.
--Screen hinge is tight and works very well when switching between "modes."
--Keyboard is laid out well (and is backlit).
Cons: --Windows 8.1 does take some adjustment coming from a Mac or Win7 environment.

--I can't help but feel the laptop could be just a bit lighter. It's not "heavy," but I can see how carrying it around all day (class, commuting, etc.) could wear you down.
Other Thoughts: In my opinion, this model is one of the best deals for a strong general-use laptop on the market today.
Reviewed By:psycholocution,9/23/2014 6:56:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau