Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Retro Video Game Console > Hyperkin > Hyperkin RetroN 5 Gaming Console - (Black)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Great While it worked, Better get that extended warranty!!!
Pros: Plays all your older games on your flat screen via and HDMI output and looks great!
Cons: Cheaply constructed, Stopped working in 6 months.
Other Thoughts: If your been looking to play your old cartridge based games on your new flat screen TV this is it. Stopped working 6 months in called Hyperkin and they sent out a replacement, The replacement didn't have any screws in the bottom of the unit and didn't read games. Called again they sent a second replacement unit, this one turns on but none of the inputs work, clearly a refurb as well the case is heavily scratched. When it works its great, spent the last 6 months trying to get a working one from Hyperkin. now that factory warranty is out contacting Newegg. You had best spend the extra cash for the 3 year warranty, this thing wasn't built to last and trying to get Hyperkin to just send you a new unit is like pulling teeth.
Reviewed By:Matthew P.,4/8/2016 1:48:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Retro Video Game Console > Hyperkin > Hyperkin RetroN 5 Gaming Console - (Gray)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product
Pros: Nine different cartridges you can play on this device, plus it will read USA, Europe, and japan famicom. easy to update firmware plus you can buy the controllers if you don't like the wireless controller it brings.
Cons: Not really a con but the buttons on the wireless controller are some what flimsy, Read the forums on the retron 5 concerning the death grip since theirs a updated version. this does not impede operation. works fine for me.
Reviewed By:Eduardo N.,2/3/2016 3:48:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Retro Video Game Console > Hyperkin > Hyperkin RetroN 5 Gaming Console - (Black)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Outstanding product
Pros: Absolutely amazing product. The front end is easy to use and has many configurable options. All the games look insanely good via HDMI. Firmware updates are constantly flowing in and easy to apply via SD card. You insert the SD card into the Retron 5 and get a key file which you upload to their site when retrieving the latest firmware. Once downloaded you just stick in the SD card slot in and it asks to start updating. I mainly use the Retron 5 for Sega Genesis games, but also have been playing Gameboy Advance carts.
Cons: The controller that comes with it is a bit sensitive and cheap feeling, but it works good enough. I mostly use the original Sega Genesis controllers.
Other Thoughts: Hyperkin is continuously updating this product with firmware updates. Nice!
Reviewed By:N/A,12/10/2015 10:09:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Retro Video Game Console > Hyperkin > Hyperkin RetroN 5 Gaming Console - (Gray)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Retro gaming at it's finest..
Pros: -HDMI video is crystal clear on large TVs
-Booted up and worked great on the first 10 or so games I threw at it. (Mostly NES/SNES)
-Video options are a nice like adding filters.
-It has the ability to save game states with just a push of the button on the controller.
Cons: -The controller's movement stick is a bit wonky at first. The box has the ports to plug in the original controllers.
-The controller seems a bit cheap but it works pretty well.
Other Thoughts: I've heard some negative reviews about updating the unit since you have to use a SD card. The unit has been working straight out of the box so I'm going to update not unless needed in the future.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2015 5:54:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Retro Video Game Console > Hyperkin > Hyperkin RetroN 5 Gaming Console - (Black)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Far Better Than Expected!
Pros: The Retron 5 has capabilities well beyond that promised by the manufacturer. Search Youtube for these extended features.
Cons: Although the included wireless controller works fine, I prefer the more-comfortable SNES controller.
Parts of the instruction manual could have been written better.
The system only has HDMI output. I would have liked to have composite as well to use with older TVs.
Other Thoughts: When reading reviews about the Retron 5, it’s important to note the year when they were written. The vast majority of negative comments were submitted in 2014. The first released model-version of the Retron 5 had some issues. There were problems with the cartridge connector-pins (known as the “death grip” that is often experienced with cartridge-based console clones), the plastic top was too thin and flimsy and there were several games that would not play.
With the latest version, currently sold by retailers, Hyperkin has effectively addressed these issues. The cartridge connectors have been improved and seem to work fine (keep in mind that I’ve only had the unit for a short time). Note: If you remove the cartridges by first lifting on one side, as shown in a video on the Hyperkin website, they come out without a problem. The plastic top has been re-designed to be sturdier and Hyperkin has released multiple system-updates that, among other system enhancements, have enabled the Retron 5 to play games that previously did not work. Also, Hyperkin has encouraged owners to let them know of any games that pose a problem so that a fix will be included in future updates. Hyperkin has stated that they are striving for 100% compatibility. All of the games, I tried, worked without any problems.
As mentioned previously, the Retron 5’s capabilities far exceed those listed in the product description and instruction manual…and without any modifications or hacking (Again, search YouTube). It was these extended features that convinced me to make the purchase…and I’m very glad I did.
I’m having lots of fun with my new, highly versatile, retro system.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/25/2015 7:23:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Retro Video Game Console > Hyperkin > Hyperkin RetroN 3 Gaming Console 2.4 GHz Edition - NES / SNES / Gnensis - (Laser Red)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good system
Pros: It's nice to play all my old games again. Works well with all my old controllers.
Cons: The wireless controllers had a slight delay at first. Not sure why, but on the next day they worked fine. New batteries were installed from the start. It was a bit tough to get the cartridges in the system, but after a few times they were no problem.
Other Thoughts: Got it with a promo code and it was a great deal.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/18/2015 5:36:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Retro Video Game Console > Hyperkin > Hyperkin RetroN 3 Gaming Console 2.4 GHz Edition - NES / SNES / Gnensis - (Laser Red)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Garbage
Pros: none - zero
nice concept i guess? but the unit is the cheapest plastic with cheap construction and just flimsy overall.
Cons: The unit is cheap. the included controllers are cheaper still and hardly worth unwrapping. The interface includes both an s video and av cables so your tv must have them or a converter. and...you must use both in order to use all three systems. the slots for the games are incredibly tight and feel as if they are ruining your precious games. in addition, it just plain doesnt work. best video we could get was a rolling, messy colored scratchy picture. total garbage.
Other Thoughts: IF youre craving playing some old games then either pick up a classic working system or download some emulators and roms on your pc, get a few usb converters so you can use your own controllers and you can pretty much play anything you want and it feels like the classic. way better at least then this product.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/10/2015 1:51:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Retro Video Game Console > Hyperkin > Hyperkin RetroN 5 Gaming Console - (Gray)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice, but ...
Pros: - HDMI (720p only!)
- Snes, megadrive, famicom ports controller..
- Cheat code (w/ SD card)
- Video Enhancement and interface options
- Sound Enhancement
Cons: - System update is CRAZY.
- Game not compatible at 100%
- All flash card NOT supported.
- Controller very cheap.
Other Thoughts: Good ...
Reviewed By:Prout,7/5/2015 4:58:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Retro Video Game Console > Hyperkin > Hyperkin SNES/NES RetroN 2 Gaming Console (Gray)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!! THE COMPANY DOESN'T EVEN BACK THEIR OWN PRODUCT!!!!
Pros: NONE! NOT WHEN THE SYSTEM DOESN'T WORK AND THE COMPANY WILL NOT BACK THEIR OWN PRODUCT. THIS IS A WASTE OF MONEY!!!
Cons: DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!!!!! I have had two of these systems, I took back the first system because it wouldn't recognize the controller. Now the second system is doing the same thing. I called the company with in 30 days of receiving the second system (past the return time with the store which is 14-days for electronics) and they do not stand by their product. I was told if the store would not exchange it, then there is nothing Hyperkin can do. THIS IS THE COMPANY WHO MANUFACTURES THIS MACHINE. I find it absolutely ludicrous that they do not give any kind of warranty on their product for ANY amount of time. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!
Reviewed By:Classy,10/24/2014 4:57:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Retro Video Game Console > Hyperkin > Hyperkin RetroN 5 Gaming Console - (Black)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Seems Awesome?
Pros: - Nice custom interface to play all those classic carts at a moment's notice.

- Great support for original input devices. Didn't try any light guns though.

- Plays SNES and NES games (even those weird unlicensed NES carts) pretty flawlessly from what I can tell.

- The cheat database is awesome, but you might put on too many cheats at once and lock up your game.

- Great to be able to connect to a modern TV without worrying about converter boxes and whatnot.
Cons: So, this is where the "seems" part comes in to play. I think I got a bad unit and I couldn't really keep and enjoy the Retron as a result.

- I could not play ANY Genesis game I owned for a significant amount of time. I was able to play maybe 5 minutes of one game one time - Every other time, the Retron would: recognize the cart, load the game, and lose contact with the cart before I could get to the play menu. I tried a series of games ranging from Sonic 2 to Chakan. All did the same thing, except Shinobi 2, which is what played for 5 minutes, but then had the cart detection problem going forward. If I touched the cart or bumped the Retron, the system would try to read the cart once more, but lose it again like before.

- Customer support via e-mail was lacking and then basically non-existent. I sent one support email and got a reply more than a week later telling me that it doesn't seem like a hardware problem since the system isn't reporting that it's a hardware problem and that I should upgrade the system software. Despite being dubious that my issue was s/w related, I gave it a try. Still didn't work. Wrote support again (I work during their support hours so I couldn't call) and never got a response (approaching 3 weeks now). In the absence of a response from support, I tried a newer firmware with equally disappointing results.

- I get why the do this, but software upgrade process is awful. You can't just download a patch to an SD card and load it on the system. First, the system needs to generate a request file that is saved on the SD card. Then, you need to upload said request file via PC to their site. Next, download the update on your PC, and copy/save it to SD. Then you need to put the SD card back in your Retron and TRY to load the SD card.

- I ran into a few instances where the Retron would not detect my SD card without completely restarting the unit.

- The bundled controller is kind of awful. If you have any classic controllers, use those and remap the buttons if you have to.
Other Thoughts: Despite some of the system's quirks, getting what seems to be a defective unit, and being unable to get timely support, I still really like the idea of the Retron. So I've RMA'd my device with Newegg and am hoping to get it replaced. If I do get a replacement in a decent time frame, I'll try to come back and update my review, if possible.

I feel kind of bad leaving a review rated this low since I really like the product and think it has all sorts of potential; however, I was/am pretty disappointed in the whole thing and I wanted to let other people know how the Retron 5 experience went for me.
Reviewed By:Kris,7/11/2014 9:18:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.