Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Chromebooks > ASUS > ASUS C300MA-DH01-RD Chromebook Intel Celeron N2830 (2.16GHz) 2GB Memory 16GB SSD 13.3" Chrome OS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Better than expected
Pros: *Runs smoothly on most websites
*Fastest boot up I've ever seen from a computer
*Quick start-up (only took me one minute)
*Free stuff! (view in other thoughts)
*okay audio quality and okay video quality
*convenient controls on keyboard (refresh, tab out, fullscreen, lower brightness, raise brightness, raise and lower volume.
*smooth feeling cool look
*lightweight
*battery was forged by the Daedric prince Sheogorath and is capable of breaking all concepts of battery life
*small convenient charger
*links to Google profile
Cons: *No caps lock? really not too big of a deal
*power button right next to backspace button... tons of accidents have been caused by that but fortunately whenever you turn this off it goes into sleep mode so it opens right back up to what you were doing
*No Skype compatibility
*small backspace button
Other Thoughts: *The free stuff includes 100 GB of Google drive space (which you'll need if you're going to be downloading files as this has only 16 GB worth of Solid State Memory) 60 days of Google Play music and some in flight service good for 12 flights (not much of a flyer so i didn't look much into it)

*there is a bit of a learning curve if you've never used a mac but if you are a mac user then you should feel right at home with the touch controls
Reviewed By:Sir Mortimer,3/26/2015 10:43:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > ASUS > Asus Chromebook C300MA-DB01 13.3" Notebook - Intel Celeron N2830 2.16 GHz - Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Chromebook for my son
Pros: It is fast and efficient and it protects him from anyone installing garbage, bloatware, trojans, or viruses onto his computer.
Cons: There are some programs he does want that can't be installed either.
Other Thoughts: For a young person and this is their first computer to OWN I think it is good, being that it is >99% safe from hacking, worms, and other malware. BUT you would still need to guide your child so they don't wander into adult sites. So don't think it is an autopilot safe computer.
Reviewed By:Brainybear,3/17/2015 2:57:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer C720-3404 Chromebook Intel Core I3 4005U (1.7GHz) 4GB Memory 32GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great!
Pros: Great batter life, Light, Fast
Cons: A little bit too small. I wish it was 13 inches I think that would have been the perfect size and all the same specs.
Other Thoughts: Loving the chromebook so far! It does everything I need it to as a college student. Chrome OS has come far. It's not the best but it's getting there. You could always install Linux if necessary. I haven't gotten around to it cause I don't seem to need it yet. Great battery life it last all day, It's also very light and easy to carry around campus. It's also a lot faster than I thought it would be. I'm very happy with the purchase. I totally recommend getting this if you already have a fast PC at home or laptop and need something light. You can type things in google docs and transfer over to microsoft. Worth every penny
Reviewed By:tech,3/15/2015 4:33:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > ASUS > ASUS C200MA-DS01 Chromebook Intel Celeron N2830 (2.16GHz) 2GB DDR3 Memory 16GB eMMC SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Good Bye, you won't be missed!
Pros: Light weight device, boots fast
Cons: Playing videos, device not usable as it will not wake from sleep.
Other Thoughts: Worked great for 1 day! closed the lid and when I opened it back up it would not wake from sleep.

The only way to get it going again was to let the battery drain completely then charge it to full, then power it back on, but as soon as you close the lid, it does the same thing.

Trying to play movies on it is a joke as it has issues playing AVI and MKV file formats with the default video player, I could not find a video player in the Chrome Store that would work. Why no VLC? That would solve the issue.

Very aggravating device
I have a RMA in and shipped it back to the manufacture, just give me my money back and I'll never try a Chromebook again.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Chris,

I apologize if you were having issue waking up the system from a sleep mode. Please try to press the power button to wake up the system and if you are using it on battery mode, without the AC adapter connected, please make sure it has ample charge life. If the problem persists, please try to update the Chrome OS under Settings. In regards to the issue with the video player not playing AVI and MKV file format, a new player is under development and this will support more file format. Should you need further assistance, please email me at cl-rodel@asus.com and write down service# N150354604 on the subject line.

Thank you for choosing an ASUS product.

Regards,

Rodel
ASUS Customer Loyalty

Reviewed By:Chris,3/13/2015 10:44:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer CB5-311-T1UU Chromebook NVIDIA Tegra K1 2.10GHz 4GB Memory 32 GB Internal Storage 13.3" Chrome OS

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Substandard screen for above average chromebook
Pros: Fast boot
Program load times very low
Feels very solid
Lightweight
The overall feel and responsiveness of the product were fantastic.
Cons: I only have one knock: Despite the promised resolution, the matte screen gives a much lower quality appearance. As someone who has astigmatism, but does not normally need to wear glasses for computing I found the screen very difficult on my eyes. White backgrounds (Word, Excel online, etc) were nearly illegible.

The range of visibility was also very slim. Trying to show a presentation from monitor rather than projector took a lot of fiddling and adjustment and inevitably someone viewing was missing out.
Other Thoughts: I was intrigued, and wanted to be an early adopter of the NVIDIA chips. For a company that made its bones in the graphics world, the screen limitations of this particular product seem like a major oversight. Inevitably, it was was too much for me.

I was pleased with the performance aspects, but the screen is no where near what is offered in the Samsung stable of chromebooks.
Reviewed By:Brian B,3/10/2015 11:38:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer C720P-2661 Chromebook, B Grade Intel Celeron 2955U (1.40GHz) 2GB Memory 32GB SSD 11.6" Touchscreen Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice netbook
Pros: Fast start up and shut down. Also snappy online.
Good keyboard, nice feel to the keys, good size.
Touch screen is a plus!
Like the white color!
Cons: did not have access to the 100 GB from Google (1st owner took it)
Other Thoughts: All and all I am glad I purchased this chrome book.
Reviewed By:WGH,3/4/2015 2:47:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer C720-2827 Chromebook Intel Celeron 2955U (1.40GHz) 2GB Memory 16GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Warranty screw up, Acer no warranty 3 months
Pros: Nice cheap refurb chromebook, works very well, 7 second startup, good for surfing the web & watching YouTube videos
Cons: Botched warranty
Other Thoughts: Refurb unit, I bought 1-year extended warranty & needed warranty service after 1 month (LED screen died). The 3rd party warrantor (Service.net) told me NO, must get mfg service since it's less than 3 months old. After hassling with them and Acer Service, I finally chatted with Acer and gave them my Newegg order #. They said I had a 1 year warranty! After sending it to them, I got a call from Acer service saying it's the WRONG UNIT and not under warranty, and they would send it back or charge me for the repair. I concluded that Newegg or Acer messed up: I think I had only given Acer the Newegg order #, and Acer derived the 22-digit serial number from that. The serial number is wrong, it is not the number on the unit (off by 2 digits). The SNID is also different. That may be why the 3rd party warrantor (Service.net) also has incorrect info: they told me I had a 30-day mfg warranty, but Acer only has one if you buy refurb from their website. Finally, however, Acer agreed to repair it for free.
Reviewed By:Pete,3/4/2015 11:05:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Hewlett-Packard > HP 14 G3 (K4K78UA#ABA) Chromebook NVIDIA Tegra K1 2.10GHz 4GB Memory 32GB SSD 14.0" Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love It
Pros: I had a laptop...hated it. The builtin mouse made it impossible to use, so I had to drag along a keyboard and a mouse. Defeats the purpose. Bought a netbook. Too small..and again I had to drag along the keyboard and mouse. This works great. All I have to do is plug in my wireless mouse and I can type as fast as I do on my desktop.
Cons: none so far
Reviewed By:ssn_royal,3/2/2015 10:27:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer Aspire C720-3605 Chromebook Intel Core i3 4005U (1.7GHz) 4GB Memory 32GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 AWESOME
Pros: THIN
LIGHT
i3, 4GB Ram
Chrome OS
Cons: Screen Resolution
Other Thoughts: I installed a 128 GB SSD I picked up for $55. Ram can't be upgraded, soldered to the board. I found a way to dual boot Chrome OS and Linux Mint. This thing rocks!
Reviewed By:DTOP Computers,2/28/2015 8:39:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer C710-2856 11.6” Chromebook Intel Celeron 847 1.1Ghz 2GB RAM 16GB SSD Google Chrome OS Manufacturer Recertified Grade B

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love it Wow
Pros: Fast Easy to use very good screen good battery looks new
run's like new one of best gift I bought my wife very good Wi-Fi reception Did I say Fast, Buy one, it run's Ubuntu Very well. Plays Netflix Perfect
Cons: None At all
Other Thoughts: My wife wanted a laptop she could use anywhere in the house for emails and all that and this does that and more
Reviewed By:T2,2/27/2015 5:00:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.