Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer C720-2827 Chromebook Intel Celeron 2955U (1.40GHz) 2GB Memory 16GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Stopped in trackpad
Pros: Boots up quick. Easy to reinstall / recover. Decent price.
Cons: Track-pad quit working in the first two hours of use. Would expect even a refurbished unit to last longer than that.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/24/2014 12:13:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer C720-2827 Chromebook Intel Celeron 2955U (1.40GHz) 2GB Memory 16GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Like brand new
Pros: - The unit that I got had no scratches whatsoever.
- Battery life as advertised
- faster than I expected
Cons: - didn't come in the original packaging but that's to be expected.
Other Thoughts: - Best $ I have spent in a while
Reviewed By:edc,12/23/2014 3:10:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > ASUS > ASUS C300MA-EDU Chromebook Intel Celeron Dual-Core N2830 (2.16GHz) 4GB Memory 32GB eMMC SSD 13.3" Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 ASUS C300MA-EDU
Pros: This is my first experiance with chrome book and so far it is great. I am still in the learning curve and best i like is its simplicity.

I am sure more & more offline apps.will come for chrome book in the days to come.

By the way I have a regular Win 7 Desktop also. I plan to use this for my travels etc. apart from checking mails etc.

This ASUS Chrome book is good. ASUS is a good brand with good quality. I am thinking of buying a ASUS Tab also soon.
Cons: No Cons still. Knowing what I shall get when I went for this I do not think there will be any cons.
Other Thoughts: I would have liked more if the battery is user removable for future replacements. They could easily designed a compartment and cover for it.
Reviewed By:SARMA,12/21/2014 8:14:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer CB5-311-T1UU Chromebook NVIDIA Tegra K1 2.10GHz 4GB Memory 32 GB Internal Storage 13.3" Chrome OS

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 NEEDS TOUCH SCREEN
Pros: great over all design, best CPU and GPU for any chrome book.
Cons: Not built for business or travel as MS office side lacks significantly from online version only and you spend a lot of time trying to connect to stuff instead of getting things done.
ADOBE FLASH not full version.
•Adobe Connect in presenter mode will not work with this version of the Flash Player.
•Installing Adobe AIR Desktop applications from the web will not work. This includes applications such as Pandora’s Desktop music player, Tweetdeck, Flickr Desktop Search, Twhirl and Music Downloader.

Needs better screen with viewing issues and has no touch screen and no delete key.
Other Thoughts: Built for surfing and facebooking, not business person orientated.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/21/2014 7:12:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer C720P-2661 Chromebook, B Grade Intel Celeron 2955U (1.40GHz) 2GB Memory 32GB SSD 11.6" Touchscreen Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Quite happy.
Pros: Very fast. Price. Light. Touchscreen. Easy to use.
Cons: Software limitations: No desktop icons. Cannot change DPI.
Other Thoughts: I was not sure what to purchase for my grandmother. She wanted a laptop, but I knew a full operating system would be way too complicated for her. I stumbled upon the Chromebooks and couldn't be happier. In the end, I am glad I went with the touchscreen. She took to it far easier than the mouse.
Reviewed By:Artificial,12/21/2014 7:00:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > ASUS > ASUS C300MA-DH02 Chromebook Intel Atom N2830 (2.16GHz) 4GB Memory 16GB SSD 13.3" Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 asus chromebook
Pros: its the best ,works as good any laptop
Cons: there no cons
Reviewed By:Ray,12/21/2014 5:39:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer C720-2844 (NX.SHEAA.004) Chromebook Intel Celeron 2955U (1.40GHz) 4GB Memory 16GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Linux Machine!
Pros: - Snappy 64 Bit Intel dual core CPU allows this laptop to run any software you would want (even Windows, although not recommended). It's miles better than any Chromebooks with ARM SoC.
- It uses an SSD, meaning very fast boot and app launching times. (MUCH faster than typical Hard Drives). My Manjaro install boots up in about 7-8 seconds.
- The 4GB is plenty and allows for great multitasking.
- Excellent Battery Life. it charges very quickly too. (~2 hours)
- It's very quiet, even though it has active cooling.
- The display, although only 1368x768 in resolution, looks great in the 11.6' screen. I find colors to be fairly accurate and good looking. It's Matte too, so you won't have any glare.
- Usable Keyboard and track-pad, not amazing but I use them well.
- Chrome OS, although not meant for everything, can still power 90% of what you daily do with your computer. It's lightweight and very simple to use. It's perfect for elderly people, or anyone who has no knowledge in computers.
- It has an option for Coreboot with SeaBIOS, so you can boot Legacy storage through it. A MUST for anyone wanting to run Linux. I was able to boot a Manjaro live USB and install it.
- Price is unbeatable for these specs
Cons: - It has only 1 USB 3.0 and 1 USB 2.0 ports, which can be lacking if you use them up (I use the 3.0 port for additional storage and the 2.0 for a mouse occasionally).
- The screen isn't very bright, viewing in direct sunlight can be hard without cranking brightness to max. The viewing angles are pretty bad too.
- The whole Chromebook is made of plastic, giving it a cheap feeling. The touch-pad took getting used to and is a pain to get working in Linux.
- The webcam, although capable of HD video, shoots it in only 10 FPS which is disappointing. You can sacrifice resolution for FPS if you want to (in Linux at least). The quality is good enough for Google Hangouts/Skype.
- Only 16GB of internal storage means no real space for alot of video or music. You can upgrade to a bigger SSD (up to 256GB!) but you need to first buy one, and then open up the Chromebook to replace it with the old one. I personally use a 64GB USB 3.0 Flash disk for that.
Other Thoughts: I followed some guides on the internet for installing Linux distros on this Chroembook. The easy way is to use Crouton or Chrubuntu, while the slightly more technical way is to use the SeaBIOS (Although for both you need to turn your Chromebook into developer mode). I used the SeaBIOS method to install Manjaro 0.8.10 64bit (Note: I couldn't boot the 64bit 0.8.11 installer for some reason, 0.8.10 works though). Then, I updated the system, the kernel to 3.17.4 and added the standby and touch-pad fixes. Works like a charm now! Now I got the power of Linux to do anything, with the great hardware of the C720. Definitely recommend trying Manjaro out on your Chromebook.
Reviewed By:SirYar,12/17/2014 4:25:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG Chromebook 2 XE503C12-K01US Chromebook Samsung Exynos 5 Octa 5420 1.90GHz 4GB Memory 16GB eMMC SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Returned Them Both
Pros: These are Ok if you just want to surf the internet in front of the TV or write a couple letters but other than that the Chromebook is far from a laptop
Cons: It should not be in the same category as a laptop or tablet. The experience is very limited to web surfing, GMail and Google apps. Other than that it's as useless as an Apple iPad
Reviewed By:N/A,12/12/2014 9:12:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer C720-2827 Chromebook Intel Celeron 2955U (1.40GHz) 2GB Memory 16GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 doesn't run on battery power
Pros: cheap, fast for lightweight use
Cons: doesn't run on battery, I've had it serviced by Acer twice under warranty and they, first, replaced the battery and, second, "repaired the mainboard". I unplug it and the display doesn't stay on for no more than 2 minutes.

clearly, Acer's repair department is clueless about how to fix their defective products.
Other Thoughts: yeah, I don't normally write reviews.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/6/2014 9:50:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG XE303C12-A01US Chromebook Samsung Exynos 1.70GHz 2GB Memory 16GB SSD 11.6" Google Chrome OS

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Folding plastic portfolio.
Pros: Its a Chromebook. Cheap. Decent screen. Portable. Battery life is great.
Cons: Its a Cromebook.
Pain to open when closed: you will need two hands to pry it open.Very top heavy: if you even so much as poke the screen it will fall over. Everything about it fells cheap. The keys, screen, ports, and touch pad all feel like what they are: cheap, low density plastic. The casing the monitor is in bends so much that if you arent carefull the screen will snap in half. Some models have a touch pad that dont dipress and act more like a touch screen. This makes it incredibly difficult to drag-and-drop things like moving documents and navigating maps. If you can at all afford a better one: quickly pass this one up.
Other Thoughts: Our school has orderd many of these and they have woroed very well for what we do. They are a pain to use thogh for said reasons.
Reviewed By:NuggetX3,12/4/2014 11:27:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product more than 1 year.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.