Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Chromebooks > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG XE303C12-A01US Chromebook Samsung Exynos 1.70GHz 2GB Memory 16GB SSD 11.6" Google Chrome OS

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3
Pros: Portable. Lite weight. Usable.
Mouse not required, but it helps in navigation; I always use one.
Cons: Restrictive compared to PC's.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/2/2015 6:04:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Toshiba > Toshiba CB35-A3120 13.3" Chromebook with Intel Celeron 2955U Dual Core 1.4Ghz CPU, 2GB DDR3L RAM, 16GB SSD, Bluetooth 4.0, HDMI Out, Google Chrome OS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worked once and died. Toshiba voided warranty
Pros: Uh... case looks nice.
Cons: It turned on once and when the battery died it never turned on again. The Newegg warranty doesn't take effect until the manufacturer warranty expires. Toshiba says this is the second sale of this notebook as a refurb and they refuse to do anything to fix it. So my Mother's Day gift for my wife sits in the Toshiba service depot until I can figure out what to do with it.

Also, the warranty I bought was for 1 year replacement. The Service Net site says I have a 3 month warranty. Guessing I'm out $300.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/1/2015 10:49:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > ASUS > ASUS C300MA-DH01-RD Chromebook Intel Celeron N2830 (2.16GHz) 2GB Memory 16GB SSD 13.3" Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Chromebook
Pros: Easy to use, quick, lightweight, cute
Cons: Nothing yet.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/1/2015 6:58:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer CB3-111-C670 ChromebookIntel Celeron N2830 (2.16GHz) 2GB Memory 16GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 hooray
Pros: crazy cheap and worth well over the price, functionality good, super light and portable
Cons: very slightly buggy, the screen dimmer function is not great
Reviewed By:N/A,6/1/2015 5:45:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Hewlett-Packard > HP Chromebook 14 (F7W51UA#ABA) Chromebook Intel Celeron 4GB Memory 32GB SSD 14.0" Chrome OS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 great system
Pros: We have had this Chromebook for just over 1 year. Love it. SSD is fast. Nice screen size, wife loves it. Google Chrome OS is awesome, we are big Google product users. I love not having to maintain another computer in the house. This thing generally rocks. If you know what you are getting into with a Google Chromebook then I recommend this system.
Cons: The unit does have an odd slight hum. Reason for knocking off 1 star. Is probably a glitch in our particular laptop's hard drive.
Other Thoughts: Will probably be buying another Chromebook in near future. Hope it does not have the hum that this one does.
Reviewed By:garec,5/28/2015 3:11:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Toshiba > Toshiba CB35-A3120 13.3” Chromebook Celeron 2955U 1.4Ghz, 2GB RAM, 16GB SSD

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Sweet little computer for the right uses.
Pros: Picked this thing up for a song on shell shocker. Its a great little package. For the money, I'm very pleased. Great battery life, very light, and certainly snappy for what you should be using it for. Namely browsing, watching netflix, and working in the google apps sphere. The keyboard is nice, it's a great size overall and does just what I wanted it to do. I'm very pleased with my first introduction to the Chrome OS. It is what I expected.

I also added a 32GB SD card into the side, that I've loaded with files, from Text documents and PDFs to Movies that were ripped from a variety of sources. There have been some quirks, but overall it works just fine.
Cons: The screen is pretty terrible compared to what I'm used to. The viewing angle is pretty awful, and the screen is INSANELY blue.

Really blue. I'm a photographer and work from color calibrated screen. I'm not a snob about this stuff but I'm sensitive. My wife commented however. She noticed how blue it was immediately, so it is indeed quite noticeable. From what I can tell, there are some pretty crummy workarounds, and apps that'll change the color of an open window, but nothing to actually change the screen colors. If you can live with it, its fine, you kinda sorta get used to it, a month later. If you like a nice white display, and a great viewing angle, and excellent blacks, or want it to look akin to your retina macbook screen, you are gonna be disappointed. When you keep in mind how cheap the entire computer is however, you can give it a pass.

The whole rig feels plasticy. Because it is. You get what you pay for here.
Reviewed By:davidiam,5/24/2015 2:08:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > ASUS > ASUS C300MA-DH02 Chromebook Intel Celeron N2830 (2.16GHz) 4GB Memory 16GB SSD 13.3" Chrome OS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 A good laptop replacement, but leaves a little to be desired
Pros: I got this chromebook to replace my wife's aging MBP. Now that she's out of school we didn't we needed to drop 2 grand on a Facebook machine. As a Facebook machine, this computer does an excellent job. It's thin, light, has awesome battery life, and doesn't get hot, despite not having a fan as far as I can tell. The low wattage parts definitely lend to a nice experience. It had pretty much everything we needed right out of the box. Log on with your Gmail account. Sync your bookmarks and chrome extensions, and you're ready to go.

As far as using the device goes, it's reasonably responsive. It boots up from sleep in only a couple seconds. It cold boots in about 15. The keyboard is alright, for a laptop keyboard, although it is not something I'd want to type on every day. The trackpad is subpar, compared to a macbook trackpad, but it works. My wife hasnt gotten fed up enough to plug in a mouse.
Cons: But the screen is pretty bad. At 13", 1366x768 isn't too bad. It's a little old school feeling to me (I use dual 2560x1440 monitors) but anything higher density would feel a little tiny. But the other monitor aspects, color saturation, viewing angles, contrast, all kinda suck. I get that this whole computer cost substantially less than even one of my monitors, so I can't knock it too hard, but it's easily the worst part about using this laptop.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/24/2015 8:48:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer Aspire C720-3605 Chromebook Intel Core i3 4005U (1.7GHz) 4GB Memory 32GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great little machine
Pros: This little soldier is amazing. The i3 and amount of RAM just chew through anything I throw at it - conventional or not. The battery life is upwards of 8+ hours. The trackpad isn't at all hateful, I don't mind using it once I got used to the odd right-click (two-finger tap). It is reliable, fast, lightweight, the perfect laptop in all but 1 thing.
Cons: Ungh, the screen. Viewing angle is rough if you are trying to show someone else the screen - on the other hand, ChromeOS does a great job w/ a 2nd monitor. Just hard to watch movies in bed with spouse. I find an 11.6" screen hard to do any serious work on, it's just too small. Honestly though, I didn't buy this little rig for a work machine. The fact that I could do graphic work on it is amazing in and of itself.
Other Thoughts: I bought this with the sole intent to try ChromeOS for a couple days, then nuke it and install linux. I wanted a solid, reliable linux laptop. What I've done instead is keep ChromeOS on there and install linux into a chroot via crouton. I can't tell you how amazing this little machine is. I love it. I spend 80% of my time in Chrome and 20% in linux - most of the time playing minecraft with my kids. Let me tell you, this is an amazing little minecraft machine. I am blown away by how well it handles the game. Not only Minecraft, but it also does well with Blender, Gimp, Audacity, Inkscape, and anything else I throw at it. I'm hard on computers - I like to squeeze them for what they're worth and then push them farther. This guy holds up, I can't believe how well it holds up. I had serious concerns about it being as limited as my recently deceased netbook, but this thing is nowhere near as bothersome or as sluggish. 5 eggs and I have the best little laptop I've ever used. Completely satisfied with it!
Reviewed By:MarkH,5/19/2015 11:57:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer CB3-111-C670 ChromebookIntel Celeron N2830 (2.16GHz) 2GB Memory 16GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing little gizmo
Pros: It's light, compact, looks nice, was delivered quickly, and has enabled participation in a traveling script-reading workshop. The keyboard is actually typable. Bigger screen than the tablet I'd planned to buy. Works well at the library.
Cons: Had some gaps around the display. A friend pinched the frame in the right place and the gaps went away. Scariest thing was the battery would go to 0% overnight. Eventually realized it was turning itself back on when closed. Fix: hold down the off button and count slowly, watching the blue on-light. Let up on the button on the count of twelve when the blue light has gone off and stayed off. I can't find this fix in the on-line manuals I've seen, but they're hard to find at best.

The Google Drive is still problematic for many of us in the workshop. Not an Acer problem; just not a user-obvious operating system. The help pages are not optimum, yet. I found a really good file system video but can't find it again. I can't find the User Manual reliably, either. I've seen it; just can't get back to it.

And the screen magnifier is wonky. Have to turn the magnifier off to read and navigate important menus, then turn it back on. Or memorize the menus and work blind with the cursor keys (touch pad scrolling doesn't work for those menus, for some reason.) I had to turn off the tap feature for the touch pad--too goosey for me.
Other Thoughts: I probably will add a mouse, maybe a shell. Simple to operate once I get it all figured out one of these days. Good decision.
Reviewed By:Jorgekafkazar,5/17/2015 3:11:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer CB3-111-C670 ChromebookIntel Celeron N2830 (2.16GHz) 2GB Memory 16GB Internal Storage 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Crash Machine
Pros: None.
Cons: Crashed right out of the box. Spent nearly three hours with Google tech support. Flash player crashes over and over. We tried everything - resetting, clearing, and even reloading the OS. Nothing worked. It just can't play online videos for more than a few seconds. And oh, Google tech support is really tough to get a live person too.
Other Thoughts: Maybe Asus Chromebooks are better - Acer is a lower quality company.
Reviewed By:bditman,5/15/2015 11:00:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.