Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer Chromebook C720-2848 Intel Celeron 2955U 2GB RAM 16GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Trackpad issues
Pros: Long battery life, stays cool
Cons: When connected to some power outlets the trackpad stops functioning properly --due maybe to electro-magnetic interference--reducing the chromebook to a paperweight. The only solutions I've found is to only use it when charged (if I know I'm going somewhere that causes this issue), or to use a usb mouse.
Other Thoughts: Everything should have a backlit keyboard, this doesn't.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/20/2015 1:55:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer C720-2827 Chromebook Intel Celeron 2955U (1.40GHz) 2GB Memory 16GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice little web book
Pros: Lightweight, instant on when you open the lid, long battery life of about 8 hours
I appreciate the higher speed "n" wireless adapter as it greatly increases the speed of browsing the web.
Cons: Slower than most laptops, small storage space, and not enough apps to replace a full laptop
Other Thoughts: It does what it is supposed to do...namely get you on the web to view web pages. However, do not think that you will be able to do all the things you might be able to do on a full laptop, because it will not do it.
Reviewed By:Smith Computers,1/19/2015 9:36:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > ASUS > ASUS C300MA-DB01 Chromebook Intel Celeron N2830 (2.16GHz) 2GB DDR3 Memory 16GB eMMC SSD 13.3" Chrome OS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 It is a good tablet for the price.
Pros: Screen not too small or too large.
It is much faster than the previous models of Chromebooks including some of the earlier Samsung Chromebooks when it comes to speed and weight.
No issues so far so good.
Cons: The display is more like the old LCD models that where a bit more grainy when compared to a samsung Chromebook which is more clear.
It is more matte which probably helps with glare but I do like a crisp and clear screen!
Also, keyboard is not lit like some of the other keyboards when compared to Samsung Chromebook which makes it harder to find the keys when in dim light.
Other Thoughts: For the price, functionality, speed and weight it is it your average good functional Chromebook.
Reviewed By:Mr Obvious,1/18/2015 7:29:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > SAMSUNG > Samsung XE303C12-A01US 11.6" LED backlight Chromebook, Exynos 5 Dual Processor 1.70GHz, 2GB DDR3, 16GB SSD, Google Chrome OS.

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Chromebook
Pros: Light, fast, non-windows anti-virus target, google docs and drive
Cons: non-windows, small storage on board
Other Thoughts: present was compared to tablet (I pad) and phone
Reviewed By:Bill,1/17/2015 11:30:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Hewlett-Packard > HP 14-x010nr (J9M84UA#ABA) Chromebook NVIDIA Tegra K1 2.3GHz 2GB DDR3L Memory 16GB eMMC SSD 14.0" Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worth it
Pros: This Chromebook is remarkable good for this price. It is the ideal laptop for university students. Very long battery life. Very fast boot up and smooth running. Nicely designed, looks like an expensive laptop similar to Mac Book air
Cons: Some of the cons are : the OS is still in his primitive form. Sometimes, it will due stupid thing such as forcing to download the file from Google drive to your chromebook in order to read it. Very low storage (9.1 Gb left when it's empty) on the computer so it's a better to have a portable hard drive or flash drive. The white skin will show some signs of dirtiness but it can be easily removed with some water and soap. Google will push their services on your neck.
Other Thoughts: More storage would be highly appreciated as well the reappearance of a right click button on the mouse pad. At the end of the day, it's worth it. Best chromebook until now.
Reviewed By:Superdebator,1/16/2015 7:18:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > SAMSUNG > Samsung XE303C12-A01US 11.6" LED backlight Chromebook, Exynos 5 Dual Processor 1.70GHz, 2GB DDR3, 16GB SSD, Google Chrome OS.

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Battery bad out of box.
Pros: Unit works really well as long as you have the charger/power supply plugged into it.
Cons: Battery bad. Would not charge.
Other Thoughts: Don't they check these things????
Reviewed By:JoeS,1/15/2015 1:43:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer C720-2827 Chromebook Intel Celeron 2955U (1.40GHz) 2GB Memory 16GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 amazing unit
Pros: solid build quality, very light, CPU is VERY snappy
system boots 'instantly'
runs quietly, does not get hot even with watching full netflix movie
keyboard is decent so long as 'missing keys' won't bug you (delete, page up-down, etc)
Cons: I find the way the trackpad:mouse buttons (no dedicated buttons - you click the left or right bottom edge of track pad for a L or R click) - and how the trackpad behaves in general - makes it very hard to do quick-easy-precise copy-paste-cut type of text edit:manipulation work. I bought this unit with hope of using as a primary work laptop where I do extensive text prep work. For this role it isn't so well suited for my personal taste. Others may find that text is fine for their use (ie, basic email, URL navigation, basic doc typing without too much fiddley cut-copy-paste work).
Other Thoughts: after much angst decided to return unit after 1 day of testing. Newegg was awesome as always with prompt and efficient RMA service.
Reviewed By:Mr.TDC,1/15/2015 6:26:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer C720-2827 Chromebook Intel Celeron 2955U (1.40GHz) 2GB Memory 16GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Makes a decent Linux box, with some problems, after some modding
Pros: -Perfectly capable of running Debian
-Easy enough to reflash firmware to plain Coreboot+SeaBIOS, which *might* allow it to run Windows (I haven't tried that)
Cons: -Only 16 GB SSD, however this is upgradable (requires opening the machine)
-Touchpad is very difficult to use, and most distros don't support it yet (not a problem if you stick with Chrome OS)
Other Thoughts: I reflashed the firmware (to remove the Google firmware), then installed Debian sid with Fluxbox. It's a much more useful computer now.
Reviewed By:cheapie,1/14/2015 9:59:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > SAMSUNG > Samsung XE303C12-A01US 11.6" LED backlight Chromebook, Exynos 5 Dual Processor 1.70GHz, 2GB DDR3, 16GB SSD, Google Chrome OS.

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great when it works
Pros: Light weight
Stylish
Fast
Cons: I have bought three for my kids (all refurbs) two of the three worked right out of the box. The third had a defective battery. It would not hold any charge. It stayed at 1% no matter how long I tried to charge it for. The charging light kept blinking green/amber constantly. I tried all the tips and tricks to restore, reinstall chrome OS to no avail. Not this particular unit is making its way happily to the NewEgg storehouse in CA. Very disappointed that such a defect was overlooked.
Other Thoughts: I would buy it again but hopefully will be more lucky next time.
Reviewed By:Adwan,1/9/2015 12:27:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > ASUS > ASUS C300MA-DB01 Chromebook Intel Celeron N2830 (2.16GHz) 2GB DDR3 Memory 16GB eMMC SSD 13.3" Chrome OS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 as said in the other reviews good for school
Pros: My old college laptop finally died after all these years so it was time to get a new one. After spending an excessive amount of money on my desktop build I thought it would be best to get something simple for school. I figured a chromebook would fit my needs best. Something that I can just take notes on, read emails and powerpoints/pdfs.
Cons: Runs a bit slow from time to time. As stated above this is for simply reading emails, writing notes, and looking at powerpoints/pdfs for school. That is really all this simple machine can handle. Sometimes I watch netflix/youtube on it and the video glitches ahaha maybe too much memory is being used. who knows. The only other things I did not like was 1 the finish on the material the laptop is made with. even the slightest fingerprints will look like a greasy mess which will annoy those who are OCD. Finally I just noticed this but when the laptop is shut i think that it is still secretly on running updates. You can hear this very quite high pitch ringing which is very annoyign since I leave this on my nightstand when i sleep.
Other Thoughts: regardless of the cons it is still a cheap reliable machine (so far). I would of given this machine 3 stars but i remembered how little i paid for it. REMEMBER YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR. :)
Reviewed By:Shadow698,1/7/2015 1:04:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.