Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Chromebooks > Hewlett-Packard > HP NE5-1198 C Grade Chromebook 11 Samsung Exynos 5250 (1.70 GHz) 2 GB Memory 16 GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works as Expected
Pros: First Chromebook I've owned, and it works just as I expected it to be. Definitely won't be a work horse computer, but it is a computer that needs to have an internet connection.

Being a refurbished device, I was a little worrisome about the condition, but the price was worth it. The small blemishes are nothing to worry about. A little smudge on the screen that wouldn't rub away entirely, and a few spots on the casing were all I found. Took a rag and some screen cleaner and wiped it down and it looks great.

Battery life is amazing. Used it all night and the next morning after fully charging it, and the battery didn't drop below 25%.
Cons: Small. I never knew how small an 11" computer would be until I had it in my hands. One of my hands nearly covers the screen, and you have to be very precise when typing.

Somewhat slow. Framerate issues when watching some online videos. Boots really fast, but takes a little time for apps to open and for the next screen or page to load. Not a network issue, because my Windows laptop loaded the same pages at the same time but much faster.

No expandable storage. Not like you would need to store much on a Chromebook, but just know it isn't there.
Other Thoughts: Will be great for use in my classroom. Great price, and with Google constantly updating Chrome OS and even expanding in Android support, I expect it will last a few years. So long as Newegg has them for sale at such a low price, you should make sure to buy them up while they're here.
Reviewed By:Charles D.,4/28/2016 9:18:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer CB3-111-C8UB Certified Refurbished Chromebook Intel Celeron N2830 (2.16 GHz) 2 GB Memory 16 GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 completely died after a hour of use
Pros: Pluged it in to charge and it worked awesomely right out of the box it for about a hour
Cons: completely crashed after a hour of light use will not turn back on
Reviewed By:J MILLER,4/28/2016 9:01:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer C710-2856 B Chromebook B Grade (Scratch Dent) Intel Celeron 847 (1.1GHz) 2GB Memory 16GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Basically a brick
Pros: Nothing to recommend it...
Cons: When I got this, I tried to use it. But found out it was set up for one, and only one, OS: Windows XP. Unfortunately, this OS is no longer supported by MS, so the computer would not work; nor could I install any other OS. So, essentially, I bought a brick.
Since it would have cost me a 'restocking fee' (i.e.; they make their profit and get to resell it to some other sucker). So, I took the lose (caveat emptor) and parted it out for the usable components, and recycled the rest.
Reviewed By:John C.,4/27/2016 12:47:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer C740-C4PE-US Chromebook Intel Celeron 3205U (1.50 GHz) 4 GB DDR3L Memory 16 GB eMMC Intel HD Graphics 11.6" 1366 x 768 Chrome OS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 New Egg Won't allow me to use the adjectives I've chosen. You get what you pay for.
Pros: Cheap.
Cons: Cheap.
Other Thoughts: Purchased for my ten year old son with is birthday money. After three months of light use by a child, the SSD soiled the bed.
Reviewed By:James C.,4/21/2016 5:19:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer Chromebook 13 CB5-311-T1UU Certified Refurbished Chromebook NVIDIA Tegra K1 2.10 GHz 4 GB Memory 13.3" Chrome OS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good Inexpensive Chromebook
Pros: - Great for web navigating, especially if you use Google products a lot
- 1920x1080
- 4GB ram
- Fantastic battery life, I've been browsing with multiple tabs open and youtube/videos streaming to my TV and it's easily lasts 6+ hours, without the videos streaming it's lasted much longer.
The specs are decent for the price range.
Cons: - Screen could be better, color range isn't so great.
-The matte-ish finish kind of ruins the full HD experience. It almost looks like there is a weird film on the screen, especially if there is lots of white space on the screen. I think if they went with a glossy screen it would have been a beautiful little notebook.
- You'll notice the speed and performance drop after the 4th-5th tab, having multiple windows open will also cause this.
Other Thoughts: Works awesome paired with ChromeCast, I would highly suggest getting one.
Does what it's supposed to do well.
If not for the weird screen finish I probably would have given this 5 stars.
Reviewed By:Alex V.,4/19/2016 8:05:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Chromebooks > Toshiba > Toshiba CB35-B3340 13.3-Inch Chromebook 2 Intel Celeron N2840 (2.16GHz) 4GB DDR3 16GB SSD (Full-HD 1920x1080 Screen) Chrome OS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great alternative to a Microsoft laptop or tablet
Pros: This Chromebook has a beautiful display, is lite weight and compact. The keyboard is very responsive and the battery life lasts a very long time on a single charge. A great value for $300.
Cons: I occasionally have an issue connecting to the WIFI at my gym with this device. I get a "Network is out of range" error. Sometimes it works... sometimes it doesn't. Not sure why. My Laptop and Android device never have this problem with the gyms WIFI.
Other Thoughts: I love being free from Microsoft and all their stupid OS upgrades, patches, malware and virsuses.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/17/2016 3:45:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer C910-C453 Chromebook Intel Celeron 3205U (1.50 GHz) 4 GB Memory 16 GB SSD 15.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Laptop sized chromebook providing good value
Pros: Screen size; speakers; fast modem protocol; clean layout; long battery life; price.
Cons: Heavy; no 'home', 'end', 'delete' or 'caps lock' keys (like other chromebooks); 'free' offers from vendors to hook you in, then you must pay to continue - i find this annoying.
Other Thoughts: The 'clean layout' as i called it wastes space for those missing dedicated keys, but i understand this is mostly a web appliance, and as such, i appreciate it for what it is. With my new FIOS connectin (100/100) I actually achieve 100 up and downstream WIRELESSLY with this machine, something COX never did for me. Also, I'm in my late 50's and with my eyesight, I need the large(ish) screen. It's a great machine.
Reviewed By:Michael M.,4/15/2016 4:22:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer Chromebook 11 CB3-111-C4HT Intel Celeron N2840 (2.16 GHz) 2 GB Memory 16 GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Pretty great!
Pros: - Lightweight
- Very easily portable
- Easy to use
- Convenient
- Super fast start-up
- Great for travelling/basic blogging
- Good volume output
Cons: - Power cord set up is a bit bulky
- The one I got was a refurb and there's a tiny bump on the trackpad that I can feel when I use it
- Gets dirty easily due to white color
- Colors not very vibrant and washed out, even with brightness at a lower setting
Other Thoughts: I wanted something small, light, and portable in place of my MacBook for when I travel to Korea this summer. My main purpose was to check email and blog throughout my trip. This is perfect for that - and is an excellent on-the-side device to my main computer.
Reviewed By:Maryalice S.,4/11/2016 6:21:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Chromebooks > Lenovo > ThinkPad 11e (20DU0009US) ChromebookIntel Celeron N2940 (1.83GHz) 4GB Memory 16GB eMMC 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good hardware, but not upgradeable. Held back by Chrome OS.
Pros: I shopped around for a couple days before deciding on the Thinkpad 11e chromebook. The reason I chose this is because it has the most hardware for your dollar. If you work off the cloud, you won't need internal storage, and so this laptop will be more than enough.

The quad core chip turbo boosts up to 2.25GHz, and the 4GB of memory is plenty for daily tasks and even some gaming.

The backlit LCD screen is very bright, and the picture is pretty brilliant. I've definitely had worse screens in a laptop before.

It's a little heavy, but that's a downside to being durable with it's reinforced rugged construction.

Battery life is stellar. I am getting 6-8 hours of use on a charge even with screen brightness up and streaming multimedia content.
Cons: Cannot upgrade the hardware... cannot add an HDD or change out the embedded eMMC flash drive. Cannot add or replace the memory.

No LAN port on the chromebook version of the Thinkpad. I didn't realize this until after I received mine :(

No caps lock key? Okay, google...

No backlit keyboard.

No rick-click on the touchpad. Must hold alt, and then click.

Very difficult to replace Chrome OS with another flavor of Linux. I was able to get an Ubuntu desktop to run in parallel with Chrome OS, but never in replacement.

Windows? Forget it!
Other Thoughts: I bought this Chromebook to replace an older HP Mini 110. The Mini has been great, running anything from Windows 7 Pro to Ubuntu to Kali Linux. However, it's just too under powered with it's little Atom single core HT chip. Also, being maxed at 2GB of memory, I was pretty limited on the applications I could run.

The Thinkpad 11e has plenty more horsepower, but being that it's built for Chrome OS, Lenovo took several steps to water down the hardware, as mentioned above.

I would definitely recommend this for someone that lives off the cloud. But for an IT professional like myself, who is looking for an ultra portable yet fully capable device, this is not the droid you're looking for.

If you found my review helpful in your search, please check Yes below. Thanks!
Reviewed By:William F.,4/8/2016 8:50:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer Chromebook 13 CB5-311-T1UU Certified Refurbished Chromebook NVIDIA Tegra K1 2.10 GHz 4 GB Memory 13.3" Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Wonderful second computer
Pros: 4GB RAM
Good wifi signal even through multiple walls
Keyboard and touchpad feel great
Battery Life is superb 11 hours or so
1920 X 1080 resolution
Cons: The screen isn't the sharpest and the viewing angles aren't so great
Proprietary charging cable
Chrome OS doesn't have very good text scaling have to adjust the font manually
Other Thoughts: Picked this up for just over 200$ refurbished and it is much more responsive than our 4 year old Toshiba unit that was around $700!
Was able to seamlessly connect to our laser printer via wifi and performs great for a chromebook. I feel like 2GB RAM just doesn't cut it these days.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/2/2016 10:57:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.