Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer Aspire C720-3605 Chromebook Intel Core i3 4005U (1.7GHz) 4GB Memory 32GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Overkill??
Pros: VERY fast -- handles anything you can dish up. If you have ever used a chromebook that felt sluggish this is the cure. If you want to run Linux, THIS is the chromebook for you.
Cons: The only negative thing I can say is that the screen is not great. It's almost not 'good enough.'
Other Thoughts: This notebook is smaller than I had ever owned. EXTREMELY portable. If you want to take something from room to room this is great. If you want to go to class or work all day and don't bring your charger you will be just fine. It's a great chromebook but it's not the one FOR ME. I need a bigger sized screen and I need a better quality panel. If you hooked this up to a monitor, projector, etc. then you would be all set.
Reviewed By:cameronDB,4/18/2015 4:17:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer C720-2848 ChromebookIntel Celeron 2955U (1.40GHz) 2GB Memory 16GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Acer C720-2848
Pros: Fits into my backpack, my shoulder bag/purse. 11.6" size is great, screen is decent for everything. Almost as fast as an i3 in processing ability.
Cons: Motherboard on some of the earlier models had issue and could not start when lid was opened or power button pushed. Most of the issue was a faulty connector on the motherboard for the power jack.
** This above con was for previous models, does not apply to this model**
Other Thoughts: I have been using this for about a year now. After 4 months I bought about 4 more (work). I have used this everyday since I bought these. They work beautifully. I can do everything I need to. Anyone who tells you that you can't edit videos, or play 3D games ...well, they are misinformed.
Look at Kingsroad for the game, then check out WeVideo for editing video's.

I use Google Drive, Docs, et al., as my main source of communication tools, business stuff etc. I have yet to find or, be told that they are missing anything or that a staff member couldn't do something for the business.

My 81yr old Dad uses this model. He loves the fact that he can use Google Hangouts to do a video call with me, or his friends and family all around the globe (cousins in Italy have Google Hangouts too). If he doesn't understand something, or if it does something he is concerned about... he closes the lid, waits ten seconds, re-opens the lid, and continues on doing what he wants. No issues.

I use mine in the coffee shop near work every morning. Business or pleasure; everything is there. There is nothing I cannot do with this piece of hardware.
I have had other laptops with Windows, and I was always frustrated with 'what I didn't know', or apprehensive to try something because I might freeze it up or something. Then I got the Chromebook, and it took less than 4 weeks before I dumped Windows.
I haven't looked back and honestly... I don't think I am missing anything.

All my friends want to know why I can get stuff done quickly and easily... from the coffee shop, where as they have to do it from their office computer. I tell them it is about choice. Companies make software choices for good or for bad, and they have to pay for them.
I use a SaaS (software as a service) online for my business. I can connect anywhere, at anytime.

Don't be afraid of Chromebooks people; everything is there. It's just simplified.
Reviewed By:Bicycle Shop Manager,4/16/2015 6:59:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > ASUS > ASUS C300MA-DB01 Chromebook Intel Celeron N2830 (2.16GHz) 2GB DDR3 Memory 16GB eMMC SSD 13.3" Chrome OS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 P Good
Pros: This is a wonderful little computer, especially for the price. I bought this to use for school, and had originally intended to replace ChromeOS with a linux distro (more on this in the cons). It easily has a 10hr battery life, but I often find that I get upwards of 14. It's light, stylish, and simple to use, and would be ideal if one wanted it for school, or perhaps travel. Just keep in mind the limitations of the system.
Cons: This computer does not have the option to boot from USB, and along with no disc drive this means you cannot replace ChromeOS. I'm pursuing a degree in Computer Science, and bought this computer to use my programming classes. Unfortunately, ChromeOS does not support any of the development environments that I need, so I needed something else on it. The only solution I was able to find was using a chroot environment known as Crouton, which works quite well. I can easily switch between the two, and I have all the development capabilities of a common linux distribution, with the more common uses of ChromeOS (which is compatibility with the online homework service that my school uses, flash, etc....) Another thing worth mentioning, but only hardly, is that whilethis computer is very smooth, and for the purposes I've previously mentioned, along with browsing the web and watching videos, it works flawlessly... except on a certain image-sharing website that loves giraffes. This site is such a CPU hog that it consistently causes the browser to crash. Again, not a big deal, unless said website is your life.

One other issue I feel I need to note is that, while the compute does feels as if it's ofquality, the case gives way when pressure is applied. What this means is that I often find that my computer has been turned off while in my backpack (even in the laptop-sleeve), due to the weight of the books. This issue isn't as annoying as it could be due to the fact that this laptop can be up and running from entirely off in less than thirty seconds.
Other Thoughts: Keep the small amount of HD space, lack of a disc drive, and inability to boot from USB, in mind.
Reviewed By:Mag,4/3/2015 5:56:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer Aspire C720-3605 Chromebook Intel Core i3 4005U (1.7GHz) 4GB Memory 32GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 My Replacement Rocks!
Pros: Amazingly light weight and thin. Powers up in seconds - it makes the Microsoft start-up time look like a cave man's computer. I use this as sort of a thin client, to connect to my office machine that has the full WIndows suite and all of my development software, using the chromebooks remote connection.
Cons: It is so light and thin, I feel like if I accidentally dropped it, it would be all over. The keyboard takes a little getting used to, also. During remote connections using the Chrome remote desktop, if you accidentally hit the search key, you'll have to end and start your connection again to continue working unless you disable the search key in "Settings", which I've done.

The top row of keys have a number of redundant or useless keys that I would be thrilled to exchange for a "Home", ""end", or "delete" key, but one can live with this, and you can get used to dealing with it.

Printing with Google cloud print can be a little buggy. Sometimes printers show off-line when you're sitting right next to them and they are ready to go, until you start up a windows machine nearby and open up a chrome browser session.
Other Thoughts: If I were to have any trouble with this, I'd love to know what the warranty situation actually is. The item description only says "Limited Warranty agreement applies." That's kind of lame. Is there a manufacturers warranty? Is there a new egg warranty? Why is it a big secret? Somebody got lazy there. How about a link to whatever that really means in the product description, if it takes up too much space? I replaced a $1200 Vista laptop that has always sucked, with this $360 that I can use to accomplish the same work (remote connections to the computer where I do my actual work). It's a no-brainer. We have reached an age of disposable computers. When this breaks, for that price, I can just buy another one, and maybe the top row of useless keys will be replaced with more important ones by then.
Reviewed By:Frank P,4/3/2015 5:17:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer C720-2844 (NX.SHEAA.004) Chromebook Intel Celeron 2955U (1.40GHz) 4GB Memory 16GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 An alternative for the school or writer
Pros: Processor is pretty snappy for only being a 1.4GHz
Lightweight, extremely portable
Affordable for the college student looking for a dedicated documents machine
Great Battery life
Cons: Only 2 USB Ports
Speakers are pretty weak
16GB is a little small for my tastes
Limited app selection
Other Thoughts: I bought this chromebook just in time for starting school last september. I had an old laptop that was a pretty heavy beast that was an overheating nightmare. Many people are gonna slam the Chrome OS for being essentially a glorified chrome browser, but for someone who wants the least amount of distractions for college work.
Reviewed By:Enni,3/31/2015 4:04:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer C720P-2661 Chromebook, B Grade Intel Celeron 2955U (1.40GHz) 2GB Memory 32GB SSD 11.6" Touchscreen Chrome OS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great little machine
Pros: For the price this thing is great. It'll output 1080p from the hdmi port just fine, which I love.
The touchpad, keyboard, and touchscreen work quite well.
Just make sure you understand the ChromeOS before you buy it! I've seen some negative reviews because people buy it not realizing it isn't a windows pc.
Great for students though!
Cons: On the refurbished model the battery is not what is generally advertised. It lasts a long while but if you're watching videos or doing anything remotely data-intensive this thing will die in a few hours. I'm a student and it lasts me most of the day on campus, but I usually bring the charging cable just in case.
The viewing angle of the screen is terrible but what do you expect for the price?
Reviewed By:G,3/30/2015 9:02:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > ASUS > ASUS C300MA-EDU Chromebook Intel Celeron Dual-Core N2830 (2.16GHz) 4GB Memory 32GB eMMC SSD 13.3" Chrome OS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Love it
Pros: Fast Wake Up
Good display for the price
Runs Linux with Crouton very well
Chromebook OS
Great battery life
Cons: A little slow
Resolution is a bit lower than I would like (but good for the price)
Other Thoughts: Love this laptop. Works perfectly for me. I run Ubuntu with KDE via Crouton on it and it works very well. Scrolling through websites sometimes skips around and ins't terribly smooth. That is why I took away one egg. All in all, I would definitely purchase again.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/27/2015 8:04:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > ASUS > ASUS C300MA-DH01-RD Chromebook Intel Celeron N2830 (2.16GHz) 2GB Memory 16GB SSD 13.3" Chrome OS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Better than expected
Pros: *Runs smoothly on most websites
*Fastest boot up I've ever seen from a computer
*Quick start-up (only took me one minute)
*Free stuff! (view in other thoughts)
*okay audio quality and okay video quality
*convenient controls on keyboard (refresh, tab out, fullscreen, lower brightness, raise brightness, raise and lower volume.
*smooth feeling cool look
*lightweight
*battery was forged by the Daedric prince Sheogorath and is capable of breaking all concepts of battery life
*small convenient charger
*links to Google profile
Cons: *No caps lock? really not too big of a deal
*power button right next to backspace button... tons of accidents have been caused by that but fortunately whenever you turn this off it goes into sleep mode so it opens right back up to what you were doing
*No Skype compatibility
*small backspace button
Other Thoughts: *The free stuff includes 100 GB of Google drive space (which you'll need if you're going to be downloading files as this has only 16 GB worth of Solid State Memory) 60 days of Google Play music and some in flight service good for 12 flights (not much of a flyer so i didn't look much into it)

*there is a bit of a learning curve if you've never used a mac but if you are a mac user then you should feel right at home with the touch controls
Reviewed By:Sir Mortimer,3/26/2015 10:43:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > ASUS > Asus Chromebook C300MA-DB01 13.3" Notebook - Intel Celeron N2830 2.16 GHz - Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Chromebook for my son
Pros: It is fast and efficient and it protects him from anyone installing garbage, bloatware, trojans, or viruses onto his computer.
Cons: There are some programs he does want that can't be installed either.
Other Thoughts: For a young person and this is their first computer to OWN I think it is good, being that it is >99% safe from hacking, worms, and other malware. BUT you would still need to guide your child so they don't wander into adult sites. So don't think it is an autopilot safe computer.
Reviewed By:Brainybear,3/17/2015 2:57:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer C720-3404 Chromebook Intel Core I3 4005U (1.7GHz) 4GB Memory 32GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great!
Pros: Great batter life, Light, Fast
Cons: A little bit too small. I wish it was 13 inches I think that would have been the perfect size and all the same specs.
Other Thoughts: Loving the chromebook so far! It does everything I need it to as a college student. Chrome OS has come far. It's not the best but it's getting there. You could always install Linux if necessary. I haven't gotten around to it cause I don't seem to need it yet. Great battery life it last all day, It's also very light and easy to carry around campus. It's also a lot faster than I thought it would be. I'm very happy with the purchase. I totally recommend getting this if you already have a fast PC at home or laptop and need something light. You can type things in google docs and transfer over to microsoft. Worth every penny
Reviewed By:tech,3/15/2015 4:33:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.