Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Limited Time Only! Newegg Premier is now only $29.99/year. Sign up now.
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Pro A/V Extender & Repeater > STARTECH > StarTech HDMI Over Cat5/Cat6 Extender with IR - 100 ft (30m) Power Free ST121SHD30

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 They work...with my laptop only
Pros: Cheap and high quality
2 Year Warranty
Plug and Play right away
Any computer will still be able to pick up the TV info as if it were hooked up with a straight HDMI cable. Sound works too.
Cons: Be sure to check the power coming in from the source. If it is too low, the output receiver will glow dim. If it does, you need the more expensive active powered version of this unit (The 165' ST121SHD50).
Other Thoughts: We bought these with the intent of extending HDMI to several outdoor TVs because they were outside the safety range of HDMI cables with repeaters, over 50'. We were direct cabling these from the cable box. The Cable box does not deliver enough power to drive these units. You can tell because my laptop is able to display to the TVs outside without any problems. However, this means I need to buy the more expensive powered active version. It was my mistake to not consider the signal power out on the HDMI from the cable box.
Reviewed By:ScottySeng,7/6/2014 7:56:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Pro A/V Extender & Repeater > TOMTOP > Wireless-n Wifi Repeater 802.11n/b/g Network Router Range Expander 300m 2dbi Antennas Signal Boosters

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 From buyer
Pros: Good buy
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Seller is pro active in following up on feed back throught email.
Reviewed By:Tanyag,6/9/2014 7:48:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Pro A/V Extender & Repeater > STARTECH > StarTech HDMI to CAT5 Extender W/ Optional Repeater Functionality and Audio ST12MHDDC

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great
Pros: Really works without any setting changes and right out of the box! would buy and have bought again and have recommended to others!
Cons: Mounting hardware was a bit lacking, but still 5 stars for performance
Reviewed By:runningace,5/20/2014 12:35:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Pro A/V Extender & Repeater > STARTECH > StarTech HDMI Over Cat5/Cat6 Extender with IR - 100 ft (30m) Power Free ST121SHD30

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great
Pros: This thing works great. I was able to setup my security camera system in the closet and I ran the 2 cat 6 cables to my 47 in hd tv to view my security cameras.
Cons: NONE. I dont see how James C. took this for something else. He did not know what he was doing at all.
Other Thoughts: This works great right out the box. Its nice to be able to view my security cameras in another room now on my tv.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/15/2014 11:21:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Pro A/V Extender & Repeater > STARTECH > StarTech VGA Video Extender over Cat5 ST121UTPEP

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Poor support for high resolution
Pros: - Product images accurate
- Monitor ID was correctly passed through the device.
Cons: - 1920x1080p support completely unacceptable

My usual setup is a laptop/monitor, so I had tested this device on it before risking installation. While the monitor was correctly identified, the signal that came out the receiving end was 1920x1080i 30hz, down sampled from 1920x1080p 60hz. This also had the effect of reducing the brightness by about half and caused eye strain when viewing the monitor reminiscent of old CRT monitors.
Other Thoughts: This device is not alone in this shortcoming. I have yet to find a device by any manufacture that transmits a quality image at a resolution higher than 1024x768. Convert your entire system to HDMI if possible.
Reviewed By:Melikoth,5/12/2014 11:22:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Pro A/V Extender & Repeater > Tripp Lite > Tripp Lite VGA over Cat5 Extender Kit ( Transmitter + Receiver ) B130-101-2

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Got a dud
Pros: Sorry, none. Only thing I can say is that it worked, albeit very poorly.
Cons: Video was blurred using only a 100 ft. Cat6 cable.
Other Thoughts: I've used a couple of similar products in my 25+ years in tech support. This one failed to make the grade
Manufacturer Response:I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with you B130-101-2. Please reach out to our Chicago-based Tech Support Team at (773)869-1234 so they can troubleshoot your issue and/or send you a replacement unit since the B130-101-2 comes with a 1-year warranty.

Reviewed By:N/A,5/4/2014 5:21:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Pro A/V Extender & Repeater > IOGEAR > IOGEAR Wireless Mobile and PC to HDTV GWAVR

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Doesn't work with Samsung tablet
Pros: Looks good on paper
Cons: 1. Does not work with Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014.
2. Really lousy customer/tech support. Worked with three support engineers, only one of them knows the product. Other two are clueless and only waste time and gave bad info.
Other Thoughts: The product can be a great product, and the technical issue might be an easy fix, but the tech support unfortunately does a disservice to the customer, as well as to IOGEAR itself due to their incompetence.

I have never come across support engineers who are this clueless about their own product.
Reviewed By:techGuy,5/2/2014 5:27:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Pro A/V Extender & Repeater > IOGEAR > IOGEAR Wireless 3D Digital Kit GW3DHDKIT

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great unit
Pros: Easy setup, consistent performance, great alternative to running wires. Controls other devices through one remote.
Cons: Sometimes it is slow to respond to remote, but this could be related to the Comcast X1 as I see delays from it in other rooms not using the IOGEAR
Other Thoughts: Setup was easy. I was able to mount the sending unit on the back of the TV. I'm using it in a single room, essentially line of sight, and its works great. I do see a delayed response from time to time, but I am using it with the Comcast X1 and I see delays from those units in other rooms. I will definitely get at least one more of these units when I upgrade the next room to a wall mounted LCD.
Reviewed By:Spyderman,4/24/2014 8:19:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Pro A/V Extender & Repeater > SIIG, Inc > SIIG VGA & Audio CAT5 Extender CE-VG0N11-S1

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 I had high hopes
Pros: Nice layout. Solid metal cases not plastic. Transfers audio signal as well as video (rare at this price point.) Both the transmitter and the receiver are amplified (not always true.) The receiver has adjustments for Gain and Peak (not seen elsewhere).
Cons: Unfortunately I could not get this device to work. The computer sending the signal would detect the transmitter unit when it was plugged in but then could not recognize it. The remote LCD project behaved the same way when the receiver unit was plugged in. No signal was ever received on any video resolution (even 800 x 600) or over any of 3 Cat 5 cables (two of which were only 3 foot long). All cables used (VGA from PC to transmitter, Cat 5 from transmitter to receiver, and VGA from receiver to LCD projector) were physically tested and shown to be working correctly. The Gain and Peak settings were also varied. But nothing worked.
Other Thoughts: These units had nice layouts, solid feel, good features. I was impressed and really wanted them to work. Perhaps my experience was just a case of bad luck.
Reviewed By:Dan,4/19/2014 1:00:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Pro A/V Extender & Repeater > IOGEAR > IOGEAR Wireless 3D Digital Kit GW3DHDKIT

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 It does work with pcs, laptops etc.
Pros: Easy setup, easy to use. We use this at work and the non techies have no problem connecting their laptops for presentations.
Cons: The source swap is a tad slow. Having each source called HDMI1 and HDMI2 confuses some users when the tv has HDMI1 and HDMI2. Not really a big deal.
Other Thoughts: Despite what other reviews have said, this does work with desktops and laptops. We have tried a variety of connections. As long as the laptop/pc has a digital output you should be fine. HMDI, Display Port ( DP to HDMI adapter needed) works. It will NOT work if using an analog output like VGA. At least from our tests...
Reviewed By:Jonny G,4/16/2014 11:23:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau