Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Sound Bars > KINYO > Kinyo SB-033D Home Theater Sound Bar

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Very disappointed
Pros: Good housing design

Good and common connections (RCA and 3.5mm)

No problems with setup or remote
Cons: Poor sound

Buzzing at a specific frequency that happens to be a typical frequency of spoken voice (so it happened a lot)
Other Thoughts: I really wanted to like this sound bar. I have been shopping for a cheap sound bar for about a month, and wanted to avoid the ubiquitous refurbished Vizios. I got it on Newegg Flash for $40, and for the specs (six speakers, Including built in mini-subwoofers) this price seemed very low. I went for it, figuring that with that many speakers, it could only be so bad. Unfortunately, it is so bad.

I was impressed with the packaging and design of the product. The housing is good; no loud logos, no weird shapes, just two rubber feet on the bottom of a rectangle with mesh on the front. The remote is small and basic, but functional.

When I hooked it up, I was very disappointed with the sound. Weird frequencies are way louder than others, and it's just not balanced. Also observed strange fluctuations in sound; I've watched a lot of the office lately and found that the theme song was way louder than the rest of the episode (as in I had to turn it down several notches just for the song), a problem I haven't had on any other system. I would prefer this to the TV speakers, as the sound bar is still a bit better quality wise, but there is a buzzing at very common midrange frequency that just gets distracting. It's not worth the better sound quality for the buzz, so it will continue to sit on my shelf unused until I can pawn it off on someone.
Reviewed By:Daniel,8/15/2014 6:24:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Bars > VIZIO > VIZIO VSB211 2.1 CH 32" Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not what was ordered
Pros: So far it works but with less features than manual states.
Cons: Vizio VSB211 Received today, not in original packaging, no manual or instructions, controller seems to have been used, I think I paid for new but received refurbished! I saw the same item on line refurbished? Downloaded manual from Vizio, it showed more features than the one I received. Notified newegg, got no response.
Other Thoughts: Probably was Vizio's fault.
Reviewed By:Joey,8/13/2014 8:19:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Bars > Sony > Sony HT-XT1 2.1-Channel TV Sound System with Built-In Subwoofer (Black)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: works great for us. we do not need 5.1 and like that it is just one piece.
simple to hook up and operate
Cons: none so far
Reviewed By:N/A,8/10/2014 5:33:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Bars > Polk Audio > Polk Audio SurroundBar 2000 Instant Home Theater Sound bar

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love the SR 2000
Pros: Great sound, complements TV speakers. easy hook up. Really adds depth to the movie experience. Did not expect the quality it delivers. Looks like a quality piece, made for the TV. Excellent price.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Reviewed others in the price range, they were lower wattage. Really good price, prompt delivery.
Reviewed By:Texokla,8/10/2014 9:23:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Sound Bars > Energy > Energy Power Base TV Sound System with Bluetooth

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Energy Power Base
Pros: Sounds great. Quick hookup with TosLink, but has two channel also. Great for the bedroom TV as it boosts the height of our TV-on-a-table just enough to be more viewable from the bed
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,8/10/2014 5:45:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Bars > Pioneer > Pioneer SP-SB23W Speaker Bar System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 BlueTooth issues has been fixed
Pros: As of January 2014, Pioneer acknowledged that all new models has had the BT issue fixed and older models will continue to receive free fix.

Price to performance ratio is spot on here. BTW this product can be found for $250 at another top brick and mortar store. For the price you can't beat the rich and detailed clarity this sound bar has.

Subwoofer blends in amazingly to the bar's speakers. This model really focus's on detail and sound quality. You can hear, very distinctively I might add, whispering and quiet talking without straining to hear.
Cons: No virtual surround or what most sound bars have which is fake surround that's still in front of you anyway. Rather to say it doesn't have that "wide space" or "airy" effect which really isn't much of a loss but depends on your listening desires.

The sub isn't powerful but again blends perfectly and adds much to the rich detail, you just won't feel the explosions. Because of it's careful blending, You also cannot move the subwoofer away from the sound bar itself because it will start to disassociate the sound. Best placement is right under the bar or behind it if possible to add that cabin gain effect.
Other Thoughts: Again the focus with this one is more sound quality and despite the rich detail, some will miss the oomph emphasis found in higher priced sound bars. This is what separates typical audiophiles and typical listeners as some have gotten used to the boosts of certain frequencies and sound fields that later become a preference or provide a quicker wow factor.

Subwoofer output can be fixed by taking the amp and sub into a larger enclosure with a tuned port (At 47hz to mimic the original) or 32 hz to go even deeper. Theoretically, you might also be able to use the built in amp's output wires into the high level input of a larger sub amplifier like a Dayton perhaps, to provide more output power yet still keep the original EQ'ing ...which also means you have to buy a sub capable of handling that power.....might be a fun DIY project for some.

Another option would be to just add another, more powerful subwoofer to go really deep but not sure how you would tap into audio to provide input unless your TV does RCA output at the same time as optical.
Reviewed By:Mike,8/10/2014 4:39:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Bars > Sceptre > Sceptre SB301523 2.1 CH Sound Bar with built-in Subwoofer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Sceptre sound bar SB
Pros: Good sound and bass, no problem setup
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: I set it up sceptreTV the control of the tv controls sound bar, no more extra remotes
Reviewed By:N/A,8/5/2014 11:46:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Bars > Sceptre > Sceptre SB301523 2.1 CH Sound Bar with built-in Subwoofer

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 So-So
Pros: They work
Cons: sound only slightly better than the TV speaker's on my 50" HiSense
Other Thoughts: coax input doesn't work, line in volume is very low from TV, best is aux, my cable remote progrmmed to it but it only shut's off or mute's, volume doesnt work, so a pain having multiple remotes
Reviewed By:Chris,8/2/2014 12:21:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Bars > Toshiba > TOSHIBA SBX4250 2.1 CH 300W Sound Bar W/ Wireless Subwoofer

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Unreliable
Pros: - Sound is decent for small rooms
- looks good
- easy to sync with laptops, phones etc.
Cons: like many other users - about 4-6 months of use - the subwoofer stopped working. There's no light to indicate it's receiving power, so there is no way to tell if the entire unit is broken or the synching device is malfunction - tried troubleshooting techniques to resync, and nothing. Subwoofer is done. - Warranty expires after 90 days and tech support could not help - Save up and spend a little more on a better soundbar.
Other Thoughts: Try another brand.
Reviewed By:Jason,7/31/2014 1:23:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Bars > AudioSource > AUDIOSOURCE S3D650 200-Watt Soundbar with sonic emotion(R) 3D Sound

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 No Lightweight
Pros: This is a heavy-weight sound bar, about 25 lbs, that does what it says. Good sound anywhere in front of the speakers, within reason. Multiple inputs, separate adjustable sub-woofer output. Remote control is small but good.
Cons: Very few cons. The lights that show the input selection and mode are very bright and white, very noticeable in a dark room. Inputs are tightly grouped in the back that could cause a problem if you have a lot of sources.
Other Thoughts: The bar has two speakers facing down so I mounted mine about 5 feet up the wall above my TV. I have a separate 12 inch sub-woofer connected to the sub-woofer output and this works very well. You can control the volume separately using the remote.
Reviewed By:FredO,7/29/2014 12:07:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau