Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Sound Bars > VIZIO > VIZIO SB3851-C0 38-Inch 5.1 Channel Sound Bar with Wireless Subwoofer and Satellite Speakers

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 More of a response to Jonathan
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Don't have it yet
Other Thoughts: Reading Jonathan's Review, I am a bit perplexed at the lack of understanding how satellite speakers and center speakers work. Dialogue is always piped through the center channel whilst sound effects, ambient sound and other sound effects are part of the satellite speakers.

Having tried to use this as a solution for someone who is going to watch tv while someone else is sleeping is like using a Fog Horn connected to a cellphone vs set it on vibrate. Solution. WIRELESS HEADPHONES! much cheaper and actually solves the problem you were trying to solve in the first place.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/28/2015 9:17:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Bars > JENSEN > JENSEN JSBW650 2.1 CH Wall-Mountable Soundbar with Bluetooth, FM Receiver, & Remote Each

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 damaged in shipping
Pros: arrived on time
Cons: This sound bar looks like they dropped kicked into the ups truck. I received it with an entire end of it busted to pieces .Think this item was a return and not new because of the way it was packed in orginal box and extra tape.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/27/2015 1:20:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Bars > Newegg > VIZIO S3851W 5.1 Sound Bar with Wireless Subwoofer & Rear Satellite Speakers

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Still could use a refurbishing
Pros: It sounds pretty good for movies etc. Not the best for music
Makes non 5.1 streams sound like they're 5.1.
The sub provides plenty of bass.
Several options via the display on the remote including sub level, rear and center channel levels,optional eco mode so it auto powers off after a certain amount of soundless time.
It also allows you to program any brand IR remote you may have to control volume and power
It all works as intended if I get the wire just right in one of the rear speakers. I have a PC remote I now use for this soundbar
Cons: It has a few obvious signs of wear.
Came with less than half the accessories.
No long RCA cables for the rear speakers, no wall mounts, the 1.5 ft optical cable was from a different retailer that almost exclusively sells cables and I think was added after it was returned.
Other Thoughts: One of the rear speaker's output is much lower than the other. I found that if I position the cable just right where it's almost not even plugged in and don't touch it, it works fine. I'm thinking this was the reason it was returned and as such has not been fixed. I can't say for sure but I think this is non-manufacturer refurbished. The box was the original and just taped up with shipping tape. Second refurb item from Newegg that let me down.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/26/2015 8:07:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Bars > HARMAN KARDON > Harman Kardon Sabre SB35 Slim Surround Soundbar with 100W Wireless Subwoofer (Black)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Once installed, sounds great
Pros: The sound is beautiful. For that, it's a great value. You need to either have VERY high tech skills to install it yourself. I recommnd getting a pro to do it.
Cons: VERY difficult to install unless you are a total tech geek. Packaged instructions are useless - all diagrams, no works. Down-loaded owner's manual slightly better. I had a top tech pro finally install it. Even he had trouble figuring it out, but did get it done.
Other Thoughts: As I get older, I become more convinced that only those with technical training will be able to survive.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/23/2015 8:14:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Bars > Proficient Audio > Proficient Audio MaxTV MT2 All-In-One TV SoundBar with Bluetooth - Each (Black)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Impressive Sound From A Slim Package
Pros: Great sound quality; of all the soundbars I've owned, this has a superior sound.
Good amount of bass, mids and highs.
You get bass and treble level adjustment.
Surround sound option is good.
Compact design that allows TV to stand on it.
Pretty stylish, I like the look of it without the mesh screen to expose the speakers.
Bluetooth works well. Other soundbars I've owned have had connectivity issues keeping the bluetooth connected to my devices. This one works well and sounds good; others have sounded like I'm listening to FM radio.
Remote is compact.
Easy connectivity; I have all my devices plugged into my TV via HDMI and then the optical cable out to the MaxTV; practical and minimal clutter.
Cons: No display, I've owned other sound bars that had a decent display to tell you what input you're in, whether you're in surround mode or not, how high the volume is set, etc.. All this has is a red led to tell you that it is off when lit and a blue led to tell you that bluetooth mode is on.
Remote isn't very ergonomically designed; all the controls are laid-out symmetrically but not practical, you can easily end-up pressing a button you didn't intend on pressing. You learn the location of all the buttons after some time but after one year, I still press the wrong button.
I would like the ability to be able to adjust the mids and not just treble and bass.
I would like to have different audio modes like theater, sports, concert, spoken voice etc.. to better adapt the soundbar to what I am viewing or music I'm listening to. Other soundbars I've owned in the past have had these settings.
I wouldn't really call this a "soundbar". It is too deep to be considered a "true" soundbar. It has to be to be able to set the TV on top of it but soundbar makes you think it is and actual bar that you may be able to mount on the wall which it can't, must be laid-down on a table or entertainment center.
Other Thoughts: In the end, after one year of ownership, and all my complaints regarding ergonomics, display and button layout, I have really enjoyed this soundbar. I sounds great(which is the most important), looks good, and frees-up space(2nd most important) on my entertainment center. I would have liked a better display, not just two leds but I would and have highly recommended this soundbar and that is why I still gave it 5 eggs
Reviewed By:N/A,8/23/2015 1:28:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Bars > Pioneer > Pioneer SP-SB23W Andrew Jones Bluetooth Soundbar System with Wireless Sub

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Sounds great but poor quality
Pros: Sounds fine.
Cons: Have had this sound bar for about 1.5 years and it already quit working. I watch TV maybe about 2-3 hours per week so it didn't have many hours of use. About 14 months in, it started making a loud popping noise right when you turned it on but then it would work fine. About a month after that started happening, the sound bar completely quit powering on. Despite the highly rated reviews, I would not recommend this product based on this problem in combination with the blue tooth issue many other users have reported.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/19/2015 5:18:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Bars > Newegg > VIZIO S4251W-B4 5.1 CH 42" 5.1 Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Satellite Speakers System

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Terrible packaging, great soundbar
Pros: EXCELLENT sound
Cons: Horrible packaging
Some scuffs
Have to reset to hear sound
Other Thoughts: Like all other review said the packaging is a trainwreck. Inside the soundbar is scuffed a little, but looks good enough to keep. I got all the cables I needed included. After mounting this under the TV and turning it on I had no sound. Lucikly I read one to the other reviews that said they had to do a reset to get it to work and that did the trick for me. The sound is incredible and by far the best on the market. Have the rear speakers makes all the difference in the world. Sub rumbles big time so gaming as well as movie sound great. Although this is a 2013 model, it is still better sounding than most new models that fake the 5.1 sound. For the price it's a great buy if it doesn't come beatup.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/17/2015 12:36:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Bars > Craig Electronics > Craig CHT941 Tower Speaker System with Bluetooth Wireless Technology

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great for music not for TV
Pros: Does what it's intended plays music perfectly and Bluetooth is amazing if your streamer like me who needs their phone.
Cons: not great range with remote and the bass is a little low for my liking.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/9/2015 3:32:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Bars > Newegg > VIZIO S4251W-B4 5.1 CH 42" 5.1 Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Satellite Speakers System

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 VIZIO S4251W-B4 5.1 CH 42" 5.1 Home Theater Sound Bar
Pros: Arrival:
I was skeptical about buying this system as a refurb unsure of how it would arrive. The box was a bit beat up, but that was it, the system itself was in great condition.

In The Box:
All of the main components were fine, I even removed the fabric speaker grills to inspect the speakers themselves. They were all in excellent condition. The display remote was fine with no scratches, had to supply my own AAA batteries, no biggie. The only suspect items included, or not included for that matter were the bag of cables. They were kinda of a mismatch bundle. I already had an optical cable so I wasn't to worried and my surround speakers are not very far apart, so the included cables worked. Having said that, they are not what would have been included if brand new. Also no brackets for wall hanging which didn't matter to me cause I'm not hanging them.

Setup:
Setup was a cinch. in about 20 minutes I had the subwoofer placed and linked to the soundbar, my harmony remote programmed, and Moto X linked via bluetooth. (download the manual form the Vizio website, it was sent with a piece of barely legible photocopied paper)

Sound:
I read and watched a ton of reviews on this specific system before buying it and they were all very positive. I would say that I agree with the reviews, this system, for the price sounds really, really good. There isn't a lot of options, but that's ok really. The night mode option is nice, and the subwoofer gives off a surprising amount of bass considering it's only a 6.5" woofer. Overall, it gets decently loud and sounds nice and clear throughout the volume range.

Overall:
If you can get over the fact that this item is a refurb, it may come in a beat up box, and mismatched cables, it is definitely a good buy.
Cons: Some missing mismatched components, please read above.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/4/2015 9:10:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Bars > Newegg > VIZIO S4251W-B4 5.1 CH 42" 5.1 Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Satellite Speakers System

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 VIZIO S4251W-B4 5.1 CH 42" 5.1 Home Theater Sound Bar
Pros: I got a good buy on the produce as it was refurbished but all of the cable to connect it to the TV were missing except the optical cable. It appears to be working OK.
Cons: Wish I had the missing cables. Being a refurbished product I didn't feel as if I had the right to Complain. The box the product came in looked like it had been through a war and it lost, but the interior packaging was all in tact The set up of the subwoofer & Satellite Speaker system is complicated and evidently I don't have it set up right yet as no sound is coming out of that part of the system.
Other Thoughts: If I had to do it over, I believe I would have bought the new system that was manufactured for the make TV that I hooked it up to.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/2/2015 8:46:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.