Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD 4TB My Cloud DL2100 Business Series +NAS Network Attached Storage -NAS WDBBAZ0040JBK-NESN

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 disappointed
Pros: Looks like a good product on paper
Cons: 1 week later of installing this unit with 9 workstations, power light starts flashing, and after long hours trying to troubleshoot it, I call WD and right away they say it's an internal OS issue and product needs to be replaced. Everything ok guys, new unit means spending several hours setting up the entire network again.
Also, very poor packaging from Newegg. $500 product and they send it on a box like it is a piece of c r a p !!!!!!
Could the product be damaged because Newegg, hard to tell, but obviously I'm no buying an expensive product from these guys again. Sad, because Newegg used to be great, but looks like times change.
Other Thoughts: You are at your own !!!!!
Reviewed By:Esteban C.,6/26/2016 5:12:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD 3TB My Cloud Personal Network Attached Storage - NAS - WDBCTL0030HWT-NESN

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Had 2 of these, and they SUCK!!
Pros: Good for pictures and small files
Cool interface
Cons: Freezes and fails all of the time. When it works it is good but has an average up time is 70 percent ish. If you transfer a large file it will freeze and be unresponsive and takes me hours to fix. The interface is slow and is written in Java so it takes massive resources. Allot of bugs when you try to access it online.
Other Thoughts: Just junk and not worth the money do not buy!!
Manufacturer Response:Greetings DAVID,
Sorry to hear about these concerns, and we apologize for any inconvenience experienced.
For troubleshooting drive functionality issues, you can run a diagnostics on the enclosure and internal disk to rule out possible hardware concerns, and if they pass, try running a System Restore on the OS to clear out any software issues.
“How to run a System Diagnostics test on a My Cloud”: http://support.wdc.com/KnowledgeBase/answer.aspx?ID=10427
“How to restore a My Cloud Storage device to factory default settings”: http://support.wdc.com/KnowledgeBase/answer.aspx?ID=10433

If there is a connectivity problem, disable the Power Save Feature, check for a firmware update, and assign a Static IP to the My Cloud. This will help with miscommunication between the router and drive during a DHCP release/renewal request, and ensure the drive is up to date with the latest features, functionality, improvements, and optimal compatibility for your connected devices.
“How to update the firmware on a My Cloud device”: http://support.wdc.com/KnowledgeBase/answer.aspx?ID=10440
“How to configure a My Cloud or My Cloud EX4 drive with a Static IP”: http://support.wdc.com/KnowledgeBase/answer.aspx?ID=11384

If your concerns are not addressed with these recommendations, please contact us and mention your Newegg review details with our staff.

Need Help? Please visit the link below for further assistance or contact us at 1(800) 275-4932
https://wdsupport.wdc.com/sfdc/case.aspx

Reviewed By:DAVID S.,6/14/2016 9:13:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD My Cloud EX2 Ultra Diskless 2 x 3.5 inch hard drive bays, hot swap capable, tray-less design 0TB My Cloud EX2 Ultra 2-bay Diskless NAS WDBVBZ0000NCH-NESN Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Solid. Hot. Not Silent
Pros: I bought this as a replacement for my WD Live Duo. The UI is much improved. Landing page has all pertinent info at a glance. The disks include in other models are WD Red (5400 RPM) so I bought two 3Tb WD Red Pro (7200 RPM) drives and installed them – piece of cake. Took while to figure out where to build the RAID 1 but it’s up and running.
I like the iSCSI feature. I built a box with four 750Gb drives in a RAID 0 to backup the EX2 Ultra. Very fast and always available. I still burn critical data to DVD – I know, I’m old
Power usage peaks around 16 watts.
There are a lot of apps available, many of which I am too scared to install, but Plex works great. My ISP stifled my bandwidth because I was “serving media” but a quick phone call to yell at them and we’re back.
Cons: It runs hot. Idle temp is 43c/109f though I have seen 52c/126f while doing a full-system backup. Definitely needs a cooling solution (3-pin case fan connector somewhere?). I think there is a small internal fan (40mm?) that kicks on when temperatures are running high but I don’t want to take the unit apart to find out (and void the warranty).
Not silent – I had the unit atop a metal filing cabinet which amplified the sound of the drives churning. Moved to the floor of my basement which is cooler and haven’t heard much. About as loud as a CPU fan running at 3000 RPM.
Other Thoughts: Very useful UI. Many great features and information. Definitely recommending to friends and family.
Always have your critical data in two places! Even if running RAID 1, if the unit is compromised you lose everything.
Reviewed By:JAMES O.,6/3/2016 8:43:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Seagate > Seagate Diskless 2-Bay Network Storage STCT100 Black

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 i was hopeful but not so much now
Pros: 2 bay RAID enclosure
Cons: crashes window 10 frequently if i try to copy over 150 images at a time
boot up is very slow
Other Thoughts: i keep getting BSOD if i copy 150 raw images at a time. running 16gb RAM, i7 on a 450gb ssd. not sure if it's my Win 10 or seagate but faults include among others, memory management, IRQL not less or equal. not sure if i should return or not
Manufacturer Response:Hello Charles,

We would want to obtain additional details on when the crashing behavior occurs, such as, does this occur inside or outside of your local network? Is this associated with SDrive or with transfers via Explore? Please contact us using the following link so we may troubleshoot this in more details to determine the root cause and available resolution. A support case (#05715743) has been created that will reference your review and our response. Please contact us directly using the following link:

http://support2.seagate.com/

Best Regards,
Seagate Support

Reviewed By:Charles S.,5/19/2016 5:36:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Seagate > Seagate Lyve Home 2TB Home External Hard Drive LH100NAM White

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Photos & Videos Storing Device
Pros: I've used Lyve app on my iPhone & iPad for over a year now. It has given me very good experience in using it. I particularly like the old pictures fetched across on top of the screen reminding me all those good time without mentioning the timeline laying out all pictures by date. Recently, I've decided to buy the Lyve box at sale price via Newegg. It's so easy to transfer all those old photos & videos from my desktop using the USB port. It also transfer all my pictures & video from my Apple devices effortless using Wifi. If I want to transfer any other photos stored on an external hard drive, I just copied them to a USB drive & then plug it into the USB port at the back of the Lyve box. Voila! They'll be copied to the Lyve box automatically. Yesterday, I took a video clip & some pictures using my iPhone in Philadelphia. As soon as I got back to the hotel where there was Wifi, I opened the Lyve app & those video & photos already started backing up to the Lyve box at my home in Vancouver. Amazing!
Cons: The Lyve box is excellent for storing photos & videos, but not good for storing documents. It's also good for viewing pictures in a slide show using tags, but not good for scrolling through over 20,000 of them.
Reviewed By:Peter,5/14/2016 9:29:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Seagate > Seagate Lyve Home 2TB Home External Hard Drive LH100NAM White

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 ITEM ONLY SAVES PICTURES, NOT ANY THING ELSE, WONT SAVE BACK UP OF COMPUTER
Pros: SAVES PICS FROM ANY DEVICE
Cons: WHO NEEDS 2TB FOR PHOTOS! NOT ME, I EXPECTED TO SAVE DOCUMENTS AND BACK UP OF CURRENT COMPUTER.
Other Thoughts: I DO NOT RECOMEND THIS AS AN EXTERNAL HARD DRIVE, ITS A GLORIFIED PICTURE SAVER.
Reviewed By:kevin w.,5/12/2016 5:07:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD 4TB My Cloud Personal Network Attached Storage - NAS - WDBCTL0040HWT-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great experiance again !
Pros: Well, i decide to purchase another NAS made by WD based on my personal experience with My Book Live that I bought about 2,5 years ago. By the way, My book live works flawlessly since day one I got it . Period. For those that think they bought Google server are greatly mistaken. This little server works perfectly in the home environment. There is enough of horsepower to stream simultaneously decent HD quality movies to 2-3 devices without any hiccups. Period. All you have to do is get decent AC router and use provided network cable to connect it. I do not use any extra WD software on my PC , because simply there is no need. Just go to my network settings In Win 7 ( in my case) and create shortcut to the drive on the desktop. In my case, it always works 100% to get to the files I need. This includes both NAS drives I have at home. When it comes to remote access to the drives ( outside my home network ) It seems to me that service provided by WD is definitely sufficient for the money that I invested into the home storage. Once again if you need greater DL/UL speeds pay $$$ for pro cloud service. Period. There is also a way to tweak these drives with getting alternative firmware. However I have no intention to improve the performance simply just because I do not think there is need to do that. Keep good work WD !
Cons: I put about 2 TB of data on the new NAS . It took about 16 hrs to do that ( not bed at all ) My concern is that thanks to relatively slow CPU and 256 megs of RAM it takes a long time for that little baby to index all the data stored on the new drive which means the drive stays on for most of the time. However I noticed that the drive tends to go to sleep mode more often then in the first few days after the purchase. My guess is it will take additional couple of weeks for the HDD to go to sleep mode on a daily basis. Anyway that was the case with My Book Live that I have.
Other Thoughts: Do not be fooled by many negative reviews. Buy it !
Reviewed By:Michal C.,4/28/2016 7:12:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 1.5TB Wireless Mobile Media Streaming Device STSHX-MTD15EU (HX-MTD15EU/G2)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Has its issues, but overall works for my needs...
Pros: - 1.5tb of space
- Decent Android support
- Price
- Portable charger for your device
Cons: - Since it is connected to your device through Wi-fi (the hard drive issues a "samsung" wifi for you to connect to), it can be inconvenient because if you're connected to the samsung wifi aka your hard drive then you are not connected to an actual wifi where you have internet access unless you disconnect from the samsung one and connect to a regular wifi
- Would prefer an option to connect the hard drive to your tablet/phone using an OTG cable
Other Thoughts: The technology itself is an amazing idea. Who wouldn't want to be able to stream tv shows, movies, music, pictures etc because we all know that tablets and phones run out of space so fast. I like that you have the option to charge your device using this hard drive, however, I wish you could plug the hard drive into your tablet/phone using an OTG cable and read the files. Most of us know the problem with external hard drives is most of them require an external power source, which our tablets/phones are not strong enough to power on their own like a laptop or computer can. 1.5tb of space is very nice. I think the biggest issue with this device is the actual app. I am using it on my Samsung Galaxy Tab S and it works well except I wish it supported more video formats and had greater codecs. I noticed it does not support VOB file format and with some video files, you can play the file and see the video but there isn't any audio. I've had to use Handbrake to convert some files so that they can play in the Samsung Hard Drive app itself. I reached out to Seagate support and it doesn't seem like they were non-committal about upgrading the firmware or app itself in the future. I tried using the hard drive on my LG G2 but the app will not start and just keeps restarting. Overall, I am happy with my purchase because Newegg was selling it for dirt cheap at the time ($89.99).
Reviewed By:Alexander V.,4/25/2016 7:24:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Seagate > Seagate Lyve Home 2TB Home External Hard Drive LH100NAM White

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Recommend Against This Device
Pros: Large Amount of Storage At A Good Price
Cons: The software has an antiquated feel. Doesn't auto launch as expected.
Other Thoughts: I bought this on sale with the intent of centralizing yet another copy of my pictures and videos. They are my most important data period. Software doesn't seem to automatically run in the background on our Android phones. I would not recommend this device solely based on the client software.
Reviewed By:Anthony R.,4/18/2016 7:39:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Seagate > Seagate Lyve Home 2TB Home External Hard Drive LH100NAM White

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Awful-Totally misleading on this device they claim to be a "NAS"
Pros: Powers on
Cons: Can chose what movies, pics or anything you want to manually put on it. It constantly backs up all your docs, downloads, pics, text and everything. Also, it displays them randomly on the 4in LCD screen. So you better not have any secrets from your wife or significant other cause this thing WILL ruin you.
Other Thoughts: I Would never recommend this to a friend, a person who I do not know and could get a commission, shoot yes!
Reviewed By:Timothy p.,4/16/2016 2:04:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.