Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Corsair > Corsair Voyager Air 1TB USB 3.0 / Ethernet / WiFi External Hard Drive CMFAIR-BLK-1000-NA Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Epic fail of a product
Pros: hmm...
Cons: See below.
Other Thoughts: From day one I regretted purchasing the voyager air drive. The wifi was finicky and slow, it sounds good on paper but in use is kind of a hassle to use on a PC, also their android app leaves much to be desired. I held onto the drive figuring I could just get by using usb 3.0, however half the time the computer doesn't even detect the drive when plugged in(happens on multiple systems), seems the jack on the back of the drive is super flimsy so if you barely bump it then it loses usb connectivity.

By far the worst thing about this drive are the (power & wifi) switches on front. On countless occasions the power switch has been flipped on while in my backpack leading to a dead/unusable drive when I go to grab it. And here's the kicker, the drive is powered/charged by usb however it does not get enough power to keep the drive running if it's low on juice. You must first let the drive charge (slowly) for a bit before you can use it, and hope you can get whatever you need copied before it dies. Sad.

I used to be a huge Corsair fan but no more after this. Avoid this thing or you'll be sorry.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/10/2015 9:02:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Seagate > Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 / WiFi Wireless Mobile External Hard Drive STDC500402 Red

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A great new addition
Pros: First off, a wireless hard drive should be a part of almost everyone's arsenal of tech these days. This product allows for the transfer of hundreds of movies, thousands of songs, unlimited number of ebooks, at any given moment you need them.

Devices these days like the apple ipad, cost one price at a 16gb modeled design, then a whole different one at 32gb or 64gb. I'm talking an 80$ or more price increase for just a tiny bit more memory. It is partially understandable since the ipad and similar tablets are very thin, so where exactly do we want them to put even more memory? So instead of spending an extra 100$ on 16gb of ipad memory, how about you spend an extra 100$ on this hard drive which can work with EVERYTHING you can think of. And of course it comes with 484 more gb for you to use.

Like I said above, this works with anything that can find a wi-fi connection, which is pretty much anything I can think of. It is password protected, like a router, and does in fact come with a reset button like a router does, to reset your old settings in case you forget. Everyone else is complaining about this but it has been a standard for these types of devices for a long time. Since this is a wireless hard drive, just keep it in your purse or center console in your car, treat it like you would your wallet. It's not like your wallet comes with security right?
Cons: Can't think of one other than it isn't a solid state hard drive. Though that would cost close to 300$ or more and I don't think it exists yet.
Reviewed By:axoh17,4/21/2015 9:00:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > LaCie > LaCie 2TB USB 3.0 / WIFI Fuel Wireless Attached Storage 9000464U

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terrible - I hate it
Pros: THere is nothing good about this drive - especially for the price. IT's terrible.
Cons: Terrible interface
Reviewed By:N/A,4/4/2015 9:54:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > G-Technology > G-Technology G-Connect 500GB USB 2.0 / Ethernet / WiFi Wireless Storage for iPad and iPhone 0G02148

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Networking broke after a 29 hours of indexing
Pros: 500 GB USB 2.0 storage said to be Hitachi hard drive.
Cons: Well there's good cons and bad cons. The good cons, the manual is nice except for anything to do with the trouble I'm having. A nice, big manual doesn't so much as show what the indicator lights do or why one of mine turned red and networking is broke. Go to their website and see, hardly any questions are answered and they're all good questions from 2011.
Once I'd copied half of my data to this, took up about 300 GB, I plugged in Ethernet and it indexed for 29 hours, with 50,000 thumbnails left to generate. I thought maybe it had updated and perhaps it needed a reboot. I turned it off and here we are, NO Ethernet access at all, one month old.
Other Thoughts: What a useful product in theory. When it comes to copying files using USB 2.0 for longer-term storage, I thought the speed and quit were good indicators. Cool to the touch. then i turned on the Ethernet, got into the menu, and it updated itself. Then it indexed files for 24 hours before starting thumbnail generation. This went on for five more hours before i worried an update maybe didn't finish and maybe something internally was fighting itself. So I powered off. Now one light turned red, no mention int he manual what the lights stand for. Went to their website (check it yourself before considering buying this) and it seems basic problems from 2011 weren't answered or the answer was so minimal it's a bit of an insult.
I state my tech knowledge as 4-5 even though i was programming on Macs in 1981 (!) and spent 6 years in Computer Science living in a University computer lab last decade. I'm gentle with my stuff and am telling you, run away from this! It's not what they claim and now I've got an expensive USB drive. If that works I'll live with it, but I'm pretty sure the 30-day return is up. Maybe if I'd started it indexing them it would have finished. Totally disgusted!
Reviewed By:N/A,3/28/2015 9:48:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Seagate > Seagate Wireless Plus 2TB USB 3.0 / WIFI Mobile Device Storage STCV2000100 Gray

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It's the app not the drivr
Pros: lots of space
Cons: the app
Reviewed By:N/A,3/23/2015 1:39:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Seagate > Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 / WiFi Wireless Mobile External Hard Drive STDC500402 Red

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good enough to steal
Pros: -Red & black plastic enclosure make it easy to find
-It has decent transfer speeds with USB 2.0
-It has a fairly simplistic interface for setup and usage
-The wireless access is reasonably fast and kept up fine with a 2GB, 2000Kbps bitrate movie streaming to my iPhone.
-It has decent battery life for its size and it will get you through a movie or two on battery power. Because it is powered by USB, which is ubiquitous these days, I would recommend keeping it plugged in as much as possible.
-Supports m3u playlists
-At first, I thought the User Manual was rather minimal, but I then discovered that Seagate has User Manuals for iOS, Android and the Windows 8 app on their website.
-It has the ability to upload/dowload files from your mobile device using the wireless connection.
Cons: -Samba-mount access of the files would be an ideal option
-You are locked into the 500GB HDD size, which may be fine for many users. Having used an Iogear MediaShair, I am able to keep my whole library with me on a 5TB HDD.
-With its square shape, it is too big/odd-shaped for standard portable HDD cases.
-The Windows 8 app is rather intrusive and made itself the default application for a variety of file types in Windows, including MS Office file types like .docx, .xlsx, etc.
Other Thoughts: The all-in-one concept is great and I imagine for some users, 500GB is enough for their portable AV needs. I have been using an Iogear MediaShair Wireless Media Hub for a while now and some of my comparisons here will be with that device. With this Seagate Wireless device, you get a device that is quite a bit bigger than a typical portable HDD that has the storage, battery & wireless interface all-in-one. Setup is fairly straightforward, provided you already have a bunch of digital media files ready to move to it. I have been slowly standardizing my home digital video collection to MP4 H264 with AAC and bitrates in the 1K to 2K Kbps range. This seems to be the standard these days and it meets all of our family’s needs.

Finding/installing the Seagate Media app in the Apple App Store was easy enough and the interface has two, standard options: #1 is Library view, which create listings based on what types of files are in the collection. #2 is Folder view, which shows the folder structure and is my preference, since that is how we find/access media on our home Media Centers. Running the Seagate Wireless app on my iPhone 6 Plus, I was able to play our standard-sized MP4 videos without an issue. Where I think this device really shines is for audio playback, especially since it supports .m3u playlists (and possibly other playlist formats). For my own usage, I am Windows-centric and wanted to see how it did there. In that environment, you can access the setup features and the media files via a web browser or using the Seagate Media app that is accessible in Windows 8 through the Microsoft Store. The issue mentioned in the cons soured me on playing media using the app.

Now onto the review title and final thoughts... I brought this device with me on a work trip and had just finished testing/running media on my iPhone and was going to do the same testing in Android. I had been listening to some music on the flight home and had, like a goofus, put it in the seat pocket. When the flight arrived, I forgot about it until I had gotten out of the airport. At that point, I pulled over and called Delta, but was directed to their lost items website. I immediately submitted the information and fully expected that I would get the notification a day or two later that it was found. I have left my tablet in the seat pocket on two previous occasions and didn’t even get out of the terminal before they found me to return it. So, I figured that because this was a lower value item, that I would get it back, but the review title spoiled the ending. After 3 weeks of waiting to get the notification that it was found, I received the notification that it had not been found and that the case was closed. A painful lesson learned, both regarding not putting anything in the seat pocket and that theft even among business travelers exists. My overall review is 4 eggs for the fact that the function I felt this device does the best is music playback.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Rob,

We wanted to note that you may use Samba to access your data on the Wireless Portable drive. For additional instructions on how this is done on both Windows and Mac computers, please reference the following support articles:

http://knowledge.seagate.com/articles/en_US/FAQ/005098en

http://knowledge.seagate.com/articles/en_US/FAQ/005099en

If the drive was stolen, or you have additional questions or concerns, please contact our support staff and we will be happy to assist further:

http://www.seagate.com/contacts/

Best Regards,
Seagate Support

Reviewed By:theholmboy,3/16/2015 11:16:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Western Digital > WD My Passport Wireless 2TB USB 3.0 / WIFI 2.5" External Hard Drive WDBDAF0020BBK-NESN Black/Silver

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Be warned
Pros: Great price when I bought it.
Cons: It died! I had asked it to be the sole repository for my data for less than ten hours. I ran Spinrite on the drive overnight to be certain that it would be okay while I wiped all my drives and reconfigured everything (partitions) for the installation of my new SSD.

When I went to copy everything back to its new homes, the drive wouldn't show up in Windows. The USB controller wasn't recognizing what type of device was plugged into the system.

Because the drive spun up and sounded healthy, I figured, "no big deal, it sounds like the usb controller in the enclosure died. I'll just hook the physical drive up normally and get my data.

Imagine my surprise/horror when I opened the case and found out that the drive "featured" no SATA to USB3 converter, but instead had a USB3 interface natively on the drive's motherboard, and no way to get around it!

Now I have to hope that a data recovery company can get the pictures of my kids back.

Be warned. if the usb controller dies, the drive is inaccessible, your data is gone.
Other Thoughts: If companies are gonna save a dollar with this sort of shortcut, the least they should do is notify users, and they should allow a means to get around a failure-prone interface, like a usb controller.

Just for full disclosure, I bought my model through Staples locally.
Manufacturer Response:Hello Jason,
We regret hearing about the unexpected drive failure and thank you for providing us with the information from your experience.
Our Support Team would like to resolve this particular issue for you with a positive outcome. Please contact us via email or phone below and mention your Newegg review with our team so we are able to connect you with the proper team member for assistance with your concerns.

Need Help? Please visit the link below for further assistance or contact us at 1(800) 275-4932
https://wdsupport.wdc.com/sfdc/case.aspx

Reviewed By:J.D. Gallaway,3/3/2015 5:40:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Seagate > Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 / WiFi Wireless Mobile External Hard Drive STDC500402 Red

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 works
Pros: Fairly compact size. Wireless connectivity. Available in several colors. Can be used just as a external hard drive, or as it is intended a wireless streaming hard drive. Battery life is pretty good. Was able to take a couple tumbles with no damage of any type. Plenty of storage space for most users. Streamed music and pictures flawlessly.
Cons: Set up could be a bit complicated for some users. When connected to Seagate wireless you could lose internet connection if not tied to a wireless network. (this was not a con for me because I was using to access manuals for work) Til I reset this unit when trying to access manuals (PDF) they would be downloaded to my phone. which defeated the whole purpose of the device. Very slow to charge when connected to PC via USB cable. Does not come with a wall charger.
Other Thoughts: I only used this with a iphone 5s. Worked well once I set it up correctly. Something like this is the answer to no removable storage on Apple mobile products. Others have said no streaming from itunes store, I have no movies on itunes store and do not stream my media though itunes so I don't know. Just as any portable device that you could lose or easily have stolen, I would recommend not keeping sensitive information on this device. Sure it can be password protected but a simple reset and this devise is accessible to anyone. If you are like me you probably have several USB wall chargers around. But if you don't this devise is going to take a very long time to charge. Seems that at the price point a USB wall charger could be included.
Overall I would recommend this product. Sure it is not USB 3.0 or 5Ghz wireless, but how much faster would that really be? Can only be as fast as the slowest part that is being used. That will depend on the user and their device/computer. For power users the speed limit could very well be the HDD it self.
I did not give 5 eggs because of have a little difficulty with initial set up.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Bradley,

We wanted to show how to set up your Wireless drive for concurrent connection with your internet. Please reference page 11 of our user guide listed below:

http://goo.gl/x3Z0W2

If you have additional questions or concerns, please contact our support staff and we will be happy to assist further:

http://www.seagate.com/contacts/

Best Regards,
Seagate Support

Reviewed By:eyes,2/28/2015 4:48:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Seagate > Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 / WiFi Wireless Mobile External Hard Drive STDC500402 Red

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Interesting concept, works fairly well
Pros: - Fairly fast as far as portable drives go
- Wireless access is interesting
- Quite rugged, I dropped it once or twice and it seems fine
- Set up is easy
- It has a nice form factor for carrying and holding
- Looks decent
Cons: - Insanely slow charging. The instructions talked about a wall charger but I didn't get one, may have just been my unit though.
- Battery life didn't last nearly as long as described, again it was hard to tell what my battery life was like.
- Switching between USB mode and WIFI mode wasn't very intuitive.
Other Thoughts: This is an interesting product. It certainly lets you stream to your devices and in that respect it succeeds. The battery life doesn't really feel like it meets the intended purpose however. If you're on a long flight or roadtrip it will run out of juice quite early. Of course you could just plug it in, but at that point the wireless aspect is kind of useless.

I feel as thought at this price point it would have been more fitting to have a USB 3 connection to allow faster data transfer and power transfer.

The instructions covered any questions I had and using the device was straight forward enough. I really wish it had a battery meter on it though.

There is probably a concern that you could just reset the settings and disable the wireless security. I guess that's true, but you could just plug it into a computer too or steal it if you were holding it in your hand...

Speaking of holding it, it feels nice. It has a decent grip, but it's a bit slippery. Mine was red, and it was good to look at.

If you're looking for a portable hard drive that can wirelessly stream movies and music to other devices, I highly recommend this unit. It's a pretty solid choice for a portable drive too.

If you want a super secure external drive, this probably isn't what you are looking for. It's for media, not state secrets, and it works quite well in its niche.

Minus 1 egg for the relatively quick battery drain.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Andrew G.,

Battery life can be affected by a variety of factors. Here is a support link that shows how to optimize your battery life. While the article is written for our Wireless Plus and iOS 5, many of the suggestions are valid for this drive and other mobile devices.

http://knowledge.seagate.com/articles/en_US/FAQ/005649en

We wanted to note that there is a battery gauge for this drive by using our Media app under "Menu", then "Info".

The quickest way to charge the Wireless drive is using a tablet charger. Phone chargers would be slower and charging by USB by the computer would offer the slowest charging rate.

If you have additional questions or concerns, please contact our support staff and we will be happy to assist further:

http://www.seagate.com/contacts/

Best Regards,
Seagate Support

Reviewed By:BSprite,2/18/2015 4:57:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Seagate > Seagate Wireless Plus 2TB USB 3.0 / WIFI Mobile Device Storage STCV2000100 Gray

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 wireless seagate 2tb
Pros: works wireless sometimes and can be taken with you
Cons: will not stay connected and is relatively slow
Other Thoughts: buy a regular external hard drive depending on your needs
Manufacturer Response:Dear Shawn,

We wanted to provide some suggestions for resolving any connection issues you may be experiencing with your Wireless Plus. Please reference the following support articles (one for iOS and the other for Android devices) under the header "Check your connections":

iOS:
http://knowledge.seagate.com/articles/en_US/FAQ/005139en

Android:
http://knowledge.seagate.com/articles/en_US/FAQ/005717en

If you have additional questions or concerns, please contact our support staff and we will be happy to assist further:

http://www.seagate.com/contacts/

Best Regards,
Seagate Support

Reviewed By:sshawnt1114,2/9/2015 2:23:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.