Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Western Digital > WD My Passport Wireless 2TB USB 3.0 / WIFI 2.5" External Hard Drive WDBDAF0020BBK-NESN Black/Silver

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Total lemon
Pros: None
Cons: Copied my files over via USB.
Disconnected, and configured wireless.
All four of my PCs will connect, but within one minute of the first PC connecting, the drive disappears off the network.
Reboot, and I can get back in. For about a minute.
Tried updating firmware, failed 3x in a row with different errors.
Tried calling WD tech support, after two hours on phone, tech blamed my PCs and network as "not compatible". Really? A Windows network and Windows PCs are not compatible with this thing? Maybe you should mention in the product description that it does not work with Windows. Maybe also mention it does not work with iOS either. Or Android. On that note, what does it work with?
Manufacturer Response:Hello Devin,
Thanks for bringing your concerns to our attention. We are sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience with our support team, this is not the level of quality that we strive to provide. Further, we want you to know the Passport Wireless is compatible the Windows PC as well as Android and iOS mobile devices. It would be recommended to perform a System Only Factory Restore as this will reload the drive’s operating system without damage to your valuable data. In depth information regarding Restoring Factory Settings starting on page 47 of the User’s Manual below.
“User Manual (pdf)”: http://www.wdc.com/wdproducts/library/?id=461&type=25&cn=4779-705118

We would appreciate the opportunity to redeem ourselves, by helping resolve your concerns for a stable network connection as well as remote access for your mobile devices. Please contact us directly by phone or Email from the links below and be sure to mention this Newegg review and your previous case number as a point reference so we escalate your case to an experienced team member for resolution.

Need Help? Please follow the link below for further assistance or contact us at 1(800) 275-4932.
https://wdsupport.wdc.com/sfdc/case.aspx

Reviewed By:N/A,6/24/2015 11:49:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > ASUS > ASUS Wireless Duo 1TB USB 3.0/Wi-Fi Wireless Hard Drive w/ Built-in SD Card Reader - Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Works relatively well
Pros: When in close proximity works relatively well and for more than one device. Seems to last long enough for a couple of movies between charges. Connections to devices is as fast as other n and ac devices. Once connected to PC transfers of media are simple and at USB 3 speeds
Cons: Hard to connect to PC at times. Seems random when connection problems occur - can't tie problems to anything else. Weak wifi signal that drops causing media stalls when using Blutooth devices. Can't use duo and blutooth together. Does sometimes need a reboot/restart after a couple of hours of use. Does run hot - should probably have small vent holes.
Other Thoughts: All things considered, it works relatively well. Have been able to stream to 3 devices simultaneously (iPads, iPhones). But, it will not work with any blutooth devices in use on the players. Sound has to be via wired or internal speakers only. Connection to PC can be problematic and has often required several tries with difference USB ports. Sometimes it connects just fine. This is random. You do have to be in close proximity for device connects to sustain media transfer - within about 6-8 feet. ASUS may want to consider a larger battery and higher wifi output power on future similar devices that may overcome the current shortfalls in performance and with blutooth devices. A more rugged and vented enclosure would also add to the value of the device.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Dale,

Thank your for your time in posting a review about our products. On behalf of ASUS, we would like to apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you. Let me assist you. Please try this troubleshooting steps to try to fix the issue like updating the firmware of the unit. Here is the link: http://support.asus.com/Troubleshooting/detail.aspx?SLanguage=en&p=2&m=Wireless%20Duo&s=13&hashedid=1dcrLF8vSkIf7tbw&os=&no=275.
For further assistance, you can email me at customerloyalty@asus.com and place the case #N150665403 in the subject line for a reference.

Thank you for choosing ASUS!

Best regards,
Jerry A
ASUS Customer Loyalty

Reviewed By:N/A,6/19/2015 10:05:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Buffalo Technology > Buffalo Technology Wireless Attached Storage HDW-PD1.0U3

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 battery issue, did not charge
Pros: not able to use
Cons: it looks that there is battery issue with this item
Reviewed By:N/A,6/6/2015 11:12:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Western Digital > WD My Passport Wireless 2TB USB 3.0 / WIFI 2.5" External Hard Drive WDBDAF0020BBK-NESN Black/Silver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: very good
Cons: very good
Other Thoughts: very good sory I don't speak english
Reviewed By:maddog,5/31/2015 3:42:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Seagate > Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 / WiFi Wireless Mobile External Hard Drive STDC500402 Red

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 No way! A wireless drive that works!
Pros: I've used or reviewed numerous wireless storage products and most give you an unstable connection or flat-out don't work except as an expensive wired USB drive.
After my experience with Samsung's attempt (See N82E16822152423), I didn't expect much from this unit because they and Seagate are wireless drive partners (and Seagate bought Samsung's storage division), but it turns out that Seagate knows how to get it right.

+ It actually works! Every single time!

+ I was able to stream a high-definition episode of Big Bang theory to my old Samsung GS3 phone without the slightest problem.

+ I was even able to steam a video from the drive while simultaneously copying it to the phone! It was a little jumpy, though.

+ Seagate's software is very easy to use and hasn't been frustrating so far.

+ The Seagate app does not silently eat battery in the background when not in use. I know this shouldn't be a big deal, but so many Android apps (even some from Google) eat battery in the background and can but battery life in half. Seagate's app seems to have been written by developers that know what they are doing!

+ The software is smart enough to know that an MKV file is video. A lot of software refuses to play or even acknowledge MKV files. It even bins them in the right folder (Video).
Cons: I took notes on some minor gotchas that you should know about:

1. My biggest complaint is that you can't enable wireless while plugged into USB, even just a USB charger.
This is my biggest use case: Use the drive as wireless storage for a tablet while the drive is plugged in so that I don't have to worry about the battery running out. Why??

Fortunately you can work around this by powering on the drive, waiting for it to go wireless, and THEN connecting to USB. Please fix this, Seagate!


2. (See above) You cannot use both USB and wireless storage at the same time. When wireless, the drive isn't detected on USB. When you start as a USB drive, it won't enable wireless. See #1.

3. Establishing a wireless network isn't slow, but it isn't super fast. It takes about 20-30 seconds.

4. Data copied to the wireless drive from a mobile device is hidden from Windows/Mac. You can still get to it by showing hidden files and then looking in the hidden GoFlexData and .GoFlexData_thumbs folders, The directory contents seem well organized, at least.

5. The app seems to cache a list of files and not refresh that list, even when you totally disconnect and reconnect the wireless drive. For example, I disconnected the drive, plugged it into USB, copied a video to the drive, disconnected USB (see #2) and re-enabled wireless, but the Seagate app did not see the file until I tapped "refresh". Doing so is hardly a big deal, and it works perfectly every time, but isn't very intuitive.
Other Thoughts: Through wireless, I was able to copy data to my phone at 3-5 megabytes/sec (24-40 megaBITS/sec).
That's plenty for most streaming but could be faster for large file copies.
Please keep in mind that the drive may transfer faster to newer phones. Mine is about 2 years old.

When you copy files from the wireless from the wireless drive to your mobile device, those files appear under the "SeagateMedia" folder. (This isn't obvious at first)
Manufacturer Response:Dear Charles,

We wanted to thank you for your valuable feedback and shed some light on the "Cons" listed in the review.

When the Wireless Mobile is connected to a computer, the wireless functionality stops. The drive's WiFi mode, however, should still function with the device connected to its original charger. It will not work if a third party charger is used instead of the one that came with the Wireless Mobile.

The files copied from mobile devices to the Wireless Mobile are normally stored in folders named with the mobile device name, and will be located in the drive's root. They are easily accessed from Windows Explorer or Mac Finder.

As for the added files that do not appear immediately, the app does get refreshed automatically after a certain time, which makes the files not appear instantly after being added.

We periodically release firmware updates that fix bugs and enhance functionality of the Wireless Mobile. Please keep your drive connected to your home WiFi (Concurrent mode) to ensure that your Wireless Mobile firmware remains up-to-date:

http://goo.gl/V6kUtK

If you have additional questions or concerns, please contact our support staff and we will be happy to assist further:

http://www.seagate.com/contacts/

Best Regards,
Seagate Support

Reviewed By:CharlesBurns,5/25/2015 1:05:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Corsair > Corsair Voyager Air 1TB USB 3.0 / Ethernet / WiFi External Hard Drive CMFAIR-BLK-1000-NA Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Epic fail of a product
Pros: hmm...
Cons: See below.
Other Thoughts: From day one I regretted purchasing the voyager air drive. The wifi was finicky and slow, it sounds good on paper but in use is kind of a hassle to use on a PC, also their android app leaves much to be desired. I held onto the drive figuring I could just get by using usb 3.0, however half the time the computer doesn't even detect the drive when plugged in(happens on multiple systems), seems the jack on the back of the drive is super flimsy so if you barely bump it then it loses usb connectivity.

By far the worst thing about this drive are the (power & wifi) switches on front. On countless occasions the power switch has been flipped on while in my backpack leading to a dead/unusable drive when I go to grab it. And here's the kicker, the drive is powered/charged by usb however it does not get enough power to keep the drive running if it's low on juice. You must first let the drive charge (slowly) for a bit before you can use it, and hope you can get whatever you need copied before it dies. Sad.

I used to be a huge Corsair fan but no more after this. Avoid this thing or you'll be sorry.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/10/2015 9:02:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Seagate > Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 / WiFi Wireless Mobile External Hard Drive STDC500402 Red

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A great new addition
Pros: First off, a wireless hard drive should be a part of almost everyone's arsenal of tech these days. This product allows for the transfer of hundreds of movies, thousands of songs, unlimited number of ebooks, at any given moment you need them.

Devices these days like the apple ipad, cost one price at a 16gb modeled design, then a whole different one at 32gb or 64gb. I'm talking an 80$ or more price increase for just a tiny bit more memory. It is partially understandable since the ipad and similar tablets are very thin, so where exactly do we want them to put even more memory? So instead of spending an extra 100$ on 16gb of ipad memory, how about you spend an extra 100$ on this hard drive which can work with EVERYTHING you can think of. And of course it comes with 484 more gb for you to use.

Like I said above, this works with anything that can find a wi-fi connection, which is pretty much anything I can think of. It is password protected, like a router, and does in fact come with a reset button like a router does, to reset your old settings in case you forget. Everyone else is complaining about this but it has been a standard for these types of devices for a long time. Since this is a wireless hard drive, just keep it in your purse or center console in your car, treat it like you would your wallet. It's not like your wallet comes with security right?
Cons: Can't think of one other than it isn't a solid state hard drive. Though that would cost close to 300$ or more and I don't think it exists yet.
Reviewed By:axoh17,4/21/2015 9:00:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > LaCie > LaCie 2TB USB 3.0 / WIFI Fuel Wireless Attached Storage 9000464U

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terrible - I hate it
Pros: THere is nothing good about this drive - especially for the price. IT's terrible.
Cons: Terrible interface
Reviewed By:N/A,4/4/2015 9:54:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > G-Technology > G-Technology G-Connect 500GB USB 2.0 / Ethernet / WiFi Wireless Storage for iPad and iPhone 0G02148

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Networking broke after a 29 hours of indexing
Pros: 500 GB USB 2.0 storage said to be Hitachi hard drive.
Cons: Well there's good cons and bad cons. The good cons, the manual is nice except for anything to do with the trouble I'm having. A nice, big manual doesn't so much as show what the indicator lights do or why one of mine turned red and networking is broke. Go to their website and see, hardly any questions are answered and they're all good questions from 2011.
Once I'd copied half of my data to this, took up about 300 GB, I plugged in Ethernet and it indexed for 29 hours, with 50,000 thumbnails left to generate. I thought maybe it had updated and perhaps it needed a reboot. I turned it off and here we are, NO Ethernet access at all, one month old.
Other Thoughts: What a useful product in theory. When it comes to copying files using USB 2.0 for longer-term storage, I thought the speed and quit were good indicators. Cool to the touch. then i turned on the Ethernet, got into the menu, and it updated itself. Then it indexed files for 24 hours before starting thumbnail generation. This went on for five more hours before i worried an update maybe didn't finish and maybe something internally was fighting itself. So I powered off. Now one light turned red, no mention int he manual what the lights stand for. Went to their website (check it yourself before considering buying this) and it seems basic problems from 2011 weren't answered or the answer was so minimal it's a bit of an insult.
I state my tech knowledge as 4-5 even though i was programming on Macs in 1981 (!) and spent 6 years in Computer Science living in a University computer lab last decade. I'm gentle with my stuff and am telling you, run away from this! It's not what they claim and now I've got an expensive USB drive. If that works I'll live with it, but I'm pretty sure the 30-day return is up. Maybe if I'd started it indexing them it would have finished. Totally disgusted!
Reviewed By:N/A,3/28/2015 9:48:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Seagate > Seagate Wireless Plus 2TB USB 3.0 / WIFI Mobile Device Storage STCV2000100 Gray

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It's the app not the drivr
Pros: lots of space
Cons: the app
Reviewed By:N/A,3/23/2015 1:39:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.