Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Seagate > Seagate Wireless Plus 500GB USB 3.0 / WIFI Mobile Device Storage STCV500100 Gray

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy Setup and Operation
Pros: I had a previous generation of this device (same 500Gb), and there was a number of step you needed to take in order to make it work properly. Now you just copy the files to it (drag 'n drop too). After charged you can immediately start streaming.
Cons: The previous generation came with a secondary charging port, it was useful as it allowed to keep it plugged to power while being used, particularly beneficial when in a long trip in car. It will not stream if the USB is plugged to the computer.
Other Thoughts: I wish it would have come with the extra capability to keep charging while streaming, but some how the easier setup makes it worth having it.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/30/2015 6:04:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Western Digital > WD My Passport Wireless 2TB USB 3.0 / WIFI 2.5" External Hard Drive WDBDAF0020BBK-NESN Black/Silver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good to have on trips
Pros: Good storage device with its own internal wireless distributor. If you know how to convert your movies or other entertainment to a compressed format, you can load the drive with hundreds of movies and take it on a long trip. It can stream at least 4 separate videos to 4 devices and playback on all devices was excellent. A wonderful piece to have on long car trips and no use of cellular data.
Cons: Battery life is somewhat low and needs a power source to stay up for longer than 2 hours. Plug in to your car charger or a battery pack for cell phones/tabs and you've got plenty of entertainment available on multiple devices.
Other Thoughts: Highly recommended if you want portable media and no use of cellular data plans.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/26/2015 8:37:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Western Digital > WD My Passport Wireless 2TB USB 3.0 / WIFI 2.5" External Hard Drive WDBDAF0020BBK-NESN Black/Silver

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 My Cloud vs. My Passport
Pros: Compact, nice ID
Cons: I have been using USB passport device for years to backup my destop. I purchased this with WiFi ability to backup my multiple devices over wireless connection. Product literature was not clear enough for me to know that I can't use as wireless backup device. WiFi connection is not meant to be On all the time :(. After 10 days of back and forth and escalation to level 2 I was told by western digital that I need my cloud. I am writing this hoping it will help someone not making same mistake as me. I am 31 days in to my purchase let's see if new egg helps me replace with my cloud device.
Other Thoughts: Nothing wrong with product but information is not clear enough of its limitation.
Manufacturer Response:Hello Zubair,
We appreciate you bringing your concern to our attention. We would like to reach back out to you directly to see how we could do better. To clarify, the Passport Wireless can be utilized as a backup destination for multiple computers. Further, this device can be utilized as a central wireless location for your connected computers to access or upload data. However, from the information provided within this review, we were able to locate your cases and determine that your particular needs for a network attached storage drive to be available 24/7 may be better served by a My Cloud drive and not a battery operated portable device such as the Passport Wireless.

We will be following up with you directly, from the information provided, in order to see how we can assist you further. If you wish to contact us first, please mention your previous case number(s) and this Newegg review with the support team member you connect with, and you will be escalated to our My Cloud Support Team to address your concerns.

Need Help? Please follow the link below for further assistance or contact us at 1(855) 556-5117.
https://wdsupport.wdc.com/sfdc/case.aspx

Reviewed By:N/A,8/21/2015 2:45:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > ASUS > ASUS Wireless Duo 1TB USB 3.0/Wi-Fi Wireless Hard Drive w/ Built-in SD Card Reader - Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3
Pros: The device work as advertised except battery life. I purchased it as a video streaming device to compensate for limitation of iOS and the iPad I own, I have found ways to use it as such, but see "Cons".
Cons: The battery life is much less than I expected from the specifications. while streaming I think it will not last two full hours without being charged. The 8 hour claim must be for being turned on without doing any streaming.

The device is hot to the touch after streaming for a while.

The iOS app is very weak! I can only get streaming to work if I select video in "list" mode. The icon mode gives erratic results, mostly unsatisfactory. It does not provide a way to continue a movie if you shutdown the device and restart the same movie later. Positioning with the progress line/bar is not very easy.
Other Thoughts: It seems the APP could be improved. It is at a very low version (1.1.22). Adding the ability to continue from the current position in a restarted movie would be my highest priority improvement. It would also be great to have the remaining battery status on the portion of the screen where the volume and status line/bar along with pause/play control would be helpful. Right now I have to connect a second device (iPhone) to see the battery status. BTW if it could support 4 or 5 hours of continues streaming, it would not be as important.

Making the APP work right would make it a nicer product. First priority is to have the icon act as the list when selecting a movie to stream, then second is to have the icon be specific to the movie. This kind of consistency would go a long way.

Remove limitations like a 1GByte file upload size limit on a 1TByte device would make sense. This is a 1990's kind of limitation. I had a little over a half hour video that I shot and tried to upload via Wi-Fi and it failed without giving any indication as to why. I put in a request through online help and ASUS help desk responded that it may have been the 1GByte limit (not mentioned in the specifications or user manual)
Reviewed By:N/A,8/9/2015 2:48:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Western Digital > WD My Passport Wireless 2TB USB 3.0 / WIFI 2.5" External Hard Drive WDBDAF0020BBK-NESN Black/Silver

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Total lemon
Pros: None
Cons: Copied my files over via USB.
Disconnected, and configured wireless.
All four of my PCs will connect, but within one minute of the first PC connecting, the drive disappears off the network.
Reboot, and I can get back in. For about a minute.
Tried updating firmware, failed 3x in a row with different errors.
Tried calling WD tech support, after two hours on phone, tech blamed my PCs and network as "not compatible". Really? A Windows network and Windows PCs are not compatible with this thing? Maybe you should mention in the product description that it does not work with Windows. Maybe also mention it does not work with iOS either. Or Android. On that note, what does it work with?
Manufacturer Response:Hello Devin,
Thanks for bringing your concerns to our attention. We are sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience with our support team, this is not the level of quality that we strive to provide. Further, we want you to know the Passport Wireless is compatible the Windows PC as well as Android and iOS mobile devices. It would be recommended to perform a System Only Factory Restore as this will reload the drive’s operating system without damage to your valuable data. In depth information regarding Restoring Factory Settings starting on page 47 of the User’s Manual below.
“User Manual (pdf)”: http://www.wdc.com/wdproducts/library/?id=461&type=25&cn=4779-705118

We would appreciate the opportunity to redeem ourselves, by helping resolve your concerns for a stable network connection as well as remote access for your mobile devices. Please contact us directly by phone or Email from the links below and be sure to mention this Newegg review and your previous case number as a point reference so we escalate your case to an experienced team member for resolution.

Need Help? Please follow the link below for further assistance or contact us at 1(800) 275-4932.
https://wdsupport.wdc.com/sfdc/case.aspx

Reviewed By:N/A,6/24/2015 11:49:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > ASUS > ASUS Wireless Duo 1TB USB 3.0/Wi-Fi Wireless Hard Drive w/ Built-in SD Card Reader - Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Works relatively well
Pros: When in close proximity works relatively well and for more than one device. Seems to last long enough for a couple of movies between charges. Connections to devices is as fast as other n and ac devices. Once connected to PC transfers of media are simple and at USB 3 speeds
Cons: Hard to connect to PC at times. Seems random when connection problems occur - can't tie problems to anything else. Weak wifi signal that drops causing media stalls when using Blutooth devices. Can't use duo and blutooth together. Does sometimes need a reboot/restart after a couple of hours of use. Does run hot - should probably have small vent holes.
Other Thoughts: All things considered, it works relatively well. Have been able to stream to 3 devices simultaneously (iPads, iPhones). But, it will not work with any blutooth devices in use on the players. Sound has to be via wired or internal speakers only. Connection to PC can be problematic and has often required several tries with difference USB ports. Sometimes it connects just fine. This is random. You do have to be in close proximity for device connects to sustain media transfer - within about 6-8 feet. ASUS may want to consider a larger battery and higher wifi output power on future similar devices that may overcome the current shortfalls in performance and with blutooth devices. A more rugged and vented enclosure would also add to the value of the device.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Dale,

Thank your for your time in posting a review about our products. On behalf of ASUS, we would like to apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you. Let me assist you. Please try this troubleshooting steps to try to fix the issue like updating the firmware of the unit. Here is the link: http://support.asus.com/Troubleshooting/detail.aspx?SLanguage=en&p=2&m=Wireless%20Duo&s=13&hashedid=1dcrLF8vSkIf7tbw&os=&no=275.
For further assistance, you can email me at customerloyalty@asus.com and place the case #N150665403 in the subject line for a reference.

Thank you for choosing ASUS!

Best regards,
Jerry A
ASUS Customer Loyalty

Reviewed By:N/A,6/19/2015 10:05:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Buffalo Technology > Buffalo Technology Wireless Attached Storage HDW-PD1.0U3

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 battery issue, did not charge
Pros: not able to use
Cons: it looks that there is battery issue with this item
Reviewed By:N/A,6/6/2015 11:12:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Western Digital > WD My Passport Wireless 2TB USB 3.0 / WIFI 2.5" External Hard Drive WDBDAF0020BBK-NESN Black/Silver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: very good
Cons: very good
Other Thoughts: very good sory I don't speak english
Reviewed By:maddog,5/31/2015 3:42:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Seagate > Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 / WiFi Wireless Mobile External Hard Drive STDC500402 Red

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 No way! A wireless drive that works!
Pros: I've used or reviewed numerous wireless storage products and most give you an unstable connection or flat-out don't work except as an expensive wired USB drive.
After my experience with Samsung's attempt (See N82E16822152423), I didn't expect much from this unit because they and Seagate are wireless drive partners (and Seagate bought Samsung's storage division), but it turns out that Seagate knows how to get it right.

+ It actually works! Every single time!

+ I was able to stream a high-definition episode of Big Bang theory to my old Samsung GS3 phone without the slightest problem.

+ I was even able to steam a video from the drive while simultaneously copying it to the phone! It was a little jumpy, though.

+ Seagate's software is very easy to use and hasn't been frustrating so far.

+ The Seagate app does not silently eat battery in the background when not in use. I know this shouldn't be a big deal, but so many Android apps (even some from Google) eat battery in the background and can but battery life in half. Seagate's app seems to have been written by developers that know what they are doing!

+ The software is smart enough to know that an MKV file is video. A lot of software refuses to play or even acknowledge MKV files. It even bins them in the right folder (Video).
Cons: I took notes on some minor gotchas that you should know about:

1. My biggest complaint is that you can't enable wireless while plugged into USB, even just a USB charger.
This is my biggest use case: Use the drive as wireless storage for a tablet while the drive is plugged in so that I don't have to worry about the battery running out. Why??

Fortunately you can work around this by powering on the drive, waiting for it to go wireless, and THEN connecting to USB. Please fix this, Seagate!


2. (See above) You cannot use both USB and wireless storage at the same time. When wireless, the drive isn't detected on USB. When you start as a USB drive, it won't enable wireless. See #1.

3. Establishing a wireless network isn't slow, but it isn't super fast. It takes about 20-30 seconds.

4. Data copied to the wireless drive from a mobile device is hidden from Windows/Mac. You can still get to it by showing hidden files and then looking in the hidden GoFlexData and .GoFlexData_thumbs folders, The directory contents seem well organized, at least.

5. The app seems to cache a list of files and not refresh that list, even when you totally disconnect and reconnect the wireless drive. For example, I disconnected the drive, plugged it into USB, copied a video to the drive, disconnected USB (see #2) and re-enabled wireless, but the Seagate app did not see the file until I tapped "refresh". Doing so is hardly a big deal, and it works perfectly every time, but isn't very intuitive.
Other Thoughts: Through wireless, I was able to copy data to my phone at 3-5 megabytes/sec (24-40 megaBITS/sec).
That's plenty for most streaming but could be faster for large file copies.
Please keep in mind that the drive may transfer faster to newer phones. Mine is about 2 years old.

When you copy files from the wireless from the wireless drive to your mobile device, those files appear under the "SeagateMedia" folder. (This isn't obvious at first)
Manufacturer Response:Dear Charles,

We wanted to thank you for your valuable feedback and shed some light on the "Cons" listed in the review.

When the Wireless Mobile is connected to a computer, the wireless functionality stops. The drive's WiFi mode, however, should still function with the device connected to its original charger. It will not work if a third party charger is used instead of the one that came with the Wireless Mobile.

The files copied from mobile devices to the Wireless Mobile are normally stored in folders named with the mobile device name, and will be located in the drive's root. They are easily accessed from Windows Explorer or Mac Finder.

As for the added files that do not appear immediately, the app does get refreshed automatically after a certain time, which makes the files not appear instantly after being added.

We periodically release firmware updates that fix bugs and enhance functionality of the Wireless Mobile. Please keep your drive connected to your home WiFi (Concurrent mode) to ensure that your Wireless Mobile firmware remains up-to-date:

http://goo.gl/V6kUtK

If you have additional questions or concerns, please contact our support staff and we will be happy to assist further:

http://www.seagate.com/contacts/

Best Regards,
Seagate Support

Reviewed By:CharlesBurns,5/25/2015 1:05:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Corsair > Corsair Voyager Air 1TB USB 3.0 / Ethernet / WiFi External Hard Drive CMFAIR-BLK-1000-NA Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Epic fail of a product
Pros: hmm...
Cons: See below.
Other Thoughts: From day one I regretted purchasing the voyager air drive. The wifi was finicky and slow, it sounds good on paper but in use is kind of a hassle to use on a PC, also their android app leaves much to be desired. I held onto the drive figuring I could just get by using usb 3.0, however half the time the computer doesn't even detect the drive when plugged in(happens on multiple systems), seems the jack on the back of the drive is super flimsy so if you barely bump it then it loses usb connectivity.

By far the worst thing about this drive are the (power & wifi) switches on front. On countless occasions the power switch has been flipped on while in my backpack leading to a dead/unusable drive when I go to grab it. And here's the kicker, the drive is powered/charged by usb however it does not get enough power to keep the drive running if it's low on juice. You must first let the drive charge (slowly) for a bit before you can use it, and hope you can get whatever you need copied before it dies. Sad.

I used to be a huge Corsair fan but no more after this. Avoid this thing or you'll be sorry.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/10/2015 9:02:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.