Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting daVinci 1.0 3D Printer

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Has broken in every way I can imagine.
Pros: Cheap (also a con)
Easy to set up
Cons: -The first one I had stopped printing within a few daysof getting it, would lot recognize that there was a filament cartridge in. Spent weeks working it out with XYZ before returning through New Egg.
-Second one I got worked fine for around two weeks before it stopped loading filament. I've been working on getting that worked out since February. No help from XYZ yet again and ineligible for return with New Egg because of the amount of time that has passed.
-Cheap
-Only works with proprietary software/filament.
Other Thoughts: -Would not recommend. There are better options out there for the money.
Reviewed By:Jackson B.,4/20/2016 9:17:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting da Vinci 2.0 Duo FFF 3D Printer

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DO NOT BUY, HORRIBLE COMPANY!!! Headaches. Be prepared for some issues and waiting for customer service to respond to your complaints.
Pros: Price is definitely a pro. I was going to buy this for $499 but my computer messed up and ended up buying this after midnight and got this for $449 and the next day it went back up. No settings to mess up, cartridges control temperatures and software is limiting in options. Other reviews state they jerk you around until 60 days so they don't have to pay shipping to return. The person I spoke to was helpful but unable to recommend non-scripted tricks i.e. warping and sticking failures to the bed solutions.
Cons: Expensive cartridge proprietary filament therefore limited colors
Limited settings.
I've had this for 2 weeks and had several problems; 1st: software wouldn't send print to printer, 2nd: could not keep prints on the print bed using "approved" techniques therefore warping or the opposite extruder pulling the print off the bed (solution-kapton tape and dissolve failed prints in acetone and apply to tape), 3rd: one extruder has a filament "jam" to apart cleaned several times and cleaned and loading the filament fine, go to print and starts print and "jam" yet its not jamming, 4th: the connectors to extruders loss contact and fail to heat leading to a extruder failure, 5th: print splits about 1 inch away from bed, separation of layers.

Update - machine broke for the second time, first the heater broke, second the main board failed. Had to wait for customer support for 6 days to tell me they will ship me a new board and tech support would provide the tracking number. I inquired about the tracking number a week later and tech support requested I send them the board to test first, a week later I asked for an update and I'm being ignored.

Update - They've tested it and say they'll ship a new one after they get done moving and that'll be 2 WEEKS.
Don't buy this garbage.
Other Thoughts: Regretting my purchase. Wish I could return this.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/11/2016 2:32:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting daVinci 1.0 3D Printer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It Works Without Using Your PhD in Electrical Engineering
Pros: This is your ideal first 3D printer...IF...you want to push a few buttons and get a totally amazing, pretty decent quality printed object in ABS, PLA or Flexible filament. Every review I have ever read that was negative was because of a handful of unrealistic expectations. This printer is closed source, and runs most simply using XYZPrinting's software and filament. I have never owned another printer, so I cant make this judgment, but people say the quality is middle of the road. I think its amazing, and everyone who sees my prints are astounded. Add a little cold vapor acetone smoothing or priming and painting and you get some of the most amazing things "out of thin air" I received exactly what I was shopping for...a really reasonably priced printer that I plugged in, warmed up, pushed print and got...magic. I am so very happy with my printer. I've gone through three cartridges, and maybe 150 hours of printing, and I haven't had one single issue that wasn't ultimately my fault or an unreasonable expectation of the unit. I've done 40 minute prints and 8 hour prints with equal success. If you buy it and don't like it, send it to me, I'll put it to good use
Cons: If you are a tinkerer, you will probably hate this machine. Its not as tweakable as many of the others. I understand that the software is slow and pretty limited when compared to others, but since some of the other software can cost $150, I'm glad that cost wasn't bundled into my unit. Many people use hardware and software hacks to use other software/firmware and filament. In my opinion, that's like dropping a jet engine and robotics into a 1977 car and expecting it to be a Ferrari.

If you want very high quality prints right off the build plate, this might not be the right tool, and you may need a $4000 printer. This printer is a little sloppy on detail of some prints and multiple part prints may not fit together well without some post processing.

The speed of the slicer isn't the best, and it can be disheartening to wait 5 minutes to learn that something you want to print will take 15 hours.

Colors and types of filament are limited. XYZPrinting addressed this in the DaVinci Pro...again that wasn't important enough to me to spend the extra money (grey would be a reasonable color to produce for this, dearest XYZPrinting)
Other Thoughts: If you want a "microwave"...push a button, get a reasonable print. Buy this now! If you want to change the hot end, update the firmware, replace the build plate, use a more flexible slicer and print things in glow-in-the-dark or bronze, Don't buy this, you aren't the target audience.

Also, New Egg had the best price and shipped it to me in pristine condition
Reviewed By:John K.,4/6/2016 10:28:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting da Vinci 1.0 Junior 3D Printer

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Fast Shipping from the seller - Poor explanation of proprietary filament requirements
Pros: Solid device, especially for the price. It worked well with the provided filament.
Cons: You *cannot* use third party filament without jumping through hoops or hacking your printer. The proprietary filament used by the XYZ series will cost you at least $27 per KG. Off brand, generic or self manufactured filament can easily cost $6-$12 per KG.

My first major project with this printer would cost me $450 in proprietary materials.
If I buy a printer that allows me to supply my own filament, the project will only cost me around $140. This was a no brainer.

I'm not happy about paying a restocking fee or the costs to return ship, but losing $100 on this purchase will still save me hundreds in the future.
Other Thoughts: You will spend less on the printer itself but the cost of supplies (mainly filament) will cost you way more.

I would only suggest buying this printer if you do not plan on making many items. It did work quite well and I had absolutely no problems with it. I don't want to give the impression that this is a junk machine. I'm simply pointing out the massive issue with their filament policy.
Reviewed By:Cameron T.,3/23/2016 12:29:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting da Vinci 2.0 Duo FFF 3D Printer

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Complete junk
Pros: Could be used as a boat anchor
Cons: Worked long enough to print one of the sample objects. Now its been over 2 months trying to get their customer service to help. Major issue is the bed will not calibrate. After a month of trying to contact them I finally get a response from a very polite Asian lady with an accent that makes her completely useless as tech support. Now having been strung along for 30 plus days trying to work with them, I exceeded Neweggs return policy for this item. Shame on me for thinking things would be made right. Finally got a call from a guy named Charles at XYZ (we are now in week 7 of ownership and 13 call attempts to reach tech support). Charles was helpful, and gave me a list of things to try to do to resolve my issue, and told me to try everything on the list and contact him if there was still an issue. Tried everything twice. Not resolved. Again went into the email and phone attempting to contact Charles again......... no luck. No response to EMAIL and when I do reach their tech support the polite Asian lady sets up a time for Charles to call me but the phone call never comes. This has happened three times now. I have given up all hope of XYZ making this right, and I guess my only recourse is to attempt some type of legal action against them. By the way if you think this is sour grapes...... it is, but I have all the EMAIL correspondence and phone records to back up this info.
Other Thoughts: I know lots of people have had great experiences with these printers, and that's great, but if you happen to get one with a problem, youre pretty much done for. I recommend you spend a bit more money any buy something that has adequate tech support to help in case of problems
Reviewed By:James G.,3/19/2016 4:57:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting da Vinci 2.0 Duo FFF 3D Printer

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Fairly easy to use, For a decent start
Pros: A good price and lard print base.

Minimal set up and maintenance.

Good to learn the basics of printing
Cons: Software leaves much to be desired.

Not the greatest customer support
Other Thoughts: I am very new to 3d printing and thought it was a plug and play affair. This printer definately taught me outherwise. I went from most prints failing and slowly learning the ropes on this machine.

Now having worked on my friends maker bot I know that this machines software leaves much to be desired.

However I will say if your just starting out this isn't a have bad start. Im pretty happy with it and am slowly paying off the cost of the printer which I have afffectionatly named Zhu Li because she does the thing.

However as stated it does leave much to desire now that Im becoming more and more adept printing and maintaining the machine.
Reviewed By:Paul T.,3/12/2016 10:15:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting daVinci 1.0 3D Printer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 DaVinci 3d printer
Pros: great entry level printer, the xyzware suck but there are ways around it. Easily hacked. I've got 2 of them and haven't had any issues. The price is great with free shipping.
Cons: Proprietary filament, as I've mentioned previously, easily hacked.
Other Thoughts: There is a steep learning curve with any 3d printer, it takes lots of reading to see what other people are doing for better prints.
Reviewed By:RV Mike,3/11/2016 3:34:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting daVinci 1.0 3D Printer

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Good printer, but terrible support by xyzprinting
Pros: Easy to operate. Supplies are economical.
Cons: Removing printed objects from heated glass platform can be tricky. Glass pitted during one print job. Fortunately, I opted to replace the glass with one I purchased elsewhere as I have found the XYZ printing customer support is almost non-existent. I purchased one of their 3D scanners and required almost two months to get replacement for defective product. And the replacement was DOA. Their solution was to refund my money less a 15% restocking fee.
Other Thoughts: The lack of customer support would cause me not to recommend the product. If support is not required, then the product is a good deal for the price.
Reviewed By:Charles B.,3/3/2016 4:47:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting daVinci 1.0 3D Printer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome Printer (If you jailbreak it)
Pros: Low cost
DO NOT BUY UNLESS YOU PLAN TO HACK THE FIRMWARE
5 star based on the printer potential, if hacked. As-is I'd give it a 3 star

Can be great if you modify to Repeteir Firmware allowing:
-Using any brand filament (cheaper)
-Full control of bed/extruder temperatures
-Use a better slicer such as Cura or Sli3er
-BETTER PRINT QUALITY
Cons: As-is, this printer does not have very good print quality. All the XYZ software is very limited and gives very little control. Do not buy this unless you plan to hack the firmware, which is pretty easy to do with an Arduino.

I had to rewire the X-Axis stepper motor due to cheap wiring and loose connections. This caused the prints to shift randomly be about .25 inches. This is an easy fix and a VERY common problem.

Be prepared to tweak and modify this printer. You get what you pay for. If you want a printer that needs no work or mods then get a MakerBot and pay $2500.
Other Thoughts: I got mine for $350 shipped. Ran stock firmware/software for a few weeks then voided warranty and used Repeteir Firmare thanks to Voltivo!! I use $12 filament spools (Full 1 kg spools) and get pretty good print quality at .2mm. You will have to do some tweaking in order to get precise prints. I had to calibrate and fine-tune for a few weeks until I was fully satisfied with the prints. I use Cura slicer with Octoprint. Please make sure you calibrate the following:
Layer Height (.2mm)
Bed Temp (I use 110 C)
Extruder Temp (240 C)
Flow Rate (100-105%)
Bed Level (manual leveling is best. Don't use auto-level)
Support material (I use Brim at 10 layers when necessary)
Print speed (I use 45 mm/s with 25 mm/s for first layer)

GOOD LUCK!
Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/3/2016 8:23:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting daVinci 1.0 3D Printer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Shocked it only had 1 egg reviews
Pros: -Cost
-Print Quality
-Print Size
-Enclosed print area
Cons: -Print Speed (still as good as any competitor I just wish I were faster)
-The fact that you must use their filament cartridges (not really a con because you can hack any firmware you want onto it, and then use 3rd part filament, although their cartidges work fine)
Other Thoughts: I was shocked to see this only had 1 egg reviews. I have been using 3d printers for years, and built my first one from scratch many years ago. I have seen the nastiest clogs and seen printers fail in every which way. For under 1000 USD, this printer is the best printer on the market, period. I have over 250 hours of printing on my first one, have never had a clog, and have only had minor issues with the systems (I had to clean the optical stop sensors as they failed on me once, causing zero damage). I have done 24 hour plus prints on this no problem. I have had to create object accurate to the 100th of a mm before and used this printer to do so successfully. I'm also a 3d artist and make a lot of my own models, and this printer does a great job. Even though they try to limit you to their own software, the support system for prints their software creates is the best I have ever seen and always works great and is easy to remove.

Unless you are prepared to spend 2,000USD or more, this is the best printer you can get. Except maybe the new smaller junior version, which is cheaper if you don't need the build space.

Again, this is the BEST 3d printer under 1,000USD that exists in the world today. The other reviewers are high. The fact that this printer is user friendly at all (and it is) with the stats it offers for the price is ridiculous.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/29/2016 10:03:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.