Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting da Vinci 1.0 FFF (Fused Filament Fabrication) 0.1mm-0.4mm 150 mm/s Single Jet 3D Printer 7.8" X 7.8" X 7.8" Build Size

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great intro to 3D printing
Pros: Having started with a 3D printer parts kit I learned a lot during the build and tuning stages. After many, many hours of upgrades and calibration my prints with that printer were coming out really great. But I wanted more build volume and the design didn't lend itself well to expanding the build area. Now that I had about a year of in-depth experience I decided to try a factory built machine so I could focus more on my designs and less on the unit itself.

When I received a notification that the XYZprinting da Vinci 1.0 was offered with a special price, I only had a few hours to research and place my order. Fortunately I could skip researching the vendor (Newegg) because they had always provided me with 'eggcellent' service. I couldn't find any glaring negative reviews of the printer, and some inflammatory ones were immediately chalked up to user error. Having experience with 3D printers (Lulzbot, Printrbot, MakerBot) allowed me to focus on the important details instead of the superficial ones. Satisfied with my research, I placed my order for the printer and a cartridge of filament (yes it's double the normal spool price). The items shipped separately with two different carriers but when you realize how large the printer's box is, and how well it's packed, you'll understand why!

Shipping: Order to delivery time was incredible. YMMV but I ordered on the 15th and received on the 18th - a Saturday. Cartridge is coming on the 20th.

Packaging: XYZ provides a shipping-safe box from the factory with heavy duty cardboard and nylon strapping. It is packed like a kitchen appliance, which should tell you a lot. Cut the straps, lift the outer cardboard shell off exposing the printer encased in foam. Flawless execution.

OOBE: (out of box experience) Quick start guide was easy to follow and accurate. No bad Engrish to deal with, either. I did not connect to a PC at first, optioning to try it out from the built-in LCD where you can choose from 3 sample designs. But the thing is massive and self-contained - perfect for my garage workshop. The cartridge based filament system is trouble-free, though I would prefer the less expensive standardized spool. Oh well.

First prints: I printed the 'Demo' model from the LCD menu and in about 52 minutes it presented me with a finished part. It looked really good!

Also, I love the built-in LED strip to light up the build chamber.
Cons: I would like an even large build area in the future, although in a year of printing I haven't needed greater than 4" x 4" for a single part. A larger build area allows multiple parts to run simultaneously.
Other Thoughts: I would suggest this to beginners and to intermediate users. There are also a number of community hacks available to change aspects of this printer, so you can still make it your own.
Reviewed By:David L.,10/19/2014 9:30:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > 3D Printers > 3D Systems Inc. > 3D Systems 381000 Silver Plastic Jet 200 microns Single Jet 3D Printers 5.5" x 5.5" x 5.5" Build Size

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 3-D Printer
Pros: Makes an excellent product for it's size.
Cons: Filament breaks and jambs print head. I have to disassemble head to clean out. Software is hard to unzip and load after downloading.
Reviewed By:Skip,10/19/2014 7:28:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting da Vinci 1.0 FFF (Fused Filament Fabrication) 0.1mm-0.4mm 150 mm/s Single Jet 3D Printer 7.8" X 7.8" X 7.8" Build Size

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dont waste your time
Pros: Cheap price
Cons: Poor manual
Horrible software
Menu options limited
Proprietary filament cartridges
Other Thoughts: I have yet been able to print off a single item. Every time I try, the base/support structure for the print screws up, and I never even get to see any part of a final product. The manual stated that the bed came calibrated, but the printer showed errors on that. Once fixed, I noticed there was no more clicking, but the extruder constantly catches the support structures and drags them along as it prints. If you don't want to waste your money, but another product. This product is not worth the investment.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/18/2014 9:04:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting da Vinci 1.0 FFF (Fused Filament Fabrication) 0.1mm-0.4mm 150 mm/s Single Jet 3D Printer 7.8" X 7.8" X 7.8" Build Size

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 ERROR
Pros: Cheap
Cons: Keeps stoping and showing an error message in the middle of printing. Always prints a square diagonaly first, regardless of what the model is supposed to look like and then errors. Spent many hours on it, and no model yet.
Other Thoughts: I am a Georgia Tech senior and my friends and I have not been able to figure out why it is malfunctioning, and one of them works with 3d printers daily.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/1/2014 8:25:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting da Vinci 1.0 FFF (Fused Filament Fabrication) 0.1mm-0.4mm 150 mm/s Single Jet 3D Printer 7.8" X 7.8" X 7.8" Build Size

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing
Pros: Everything you could want in a 3d printer to start is right here.
Cons: nothing on the printer itself just software is a bit limited but noting freecad cannot convert.
Other Thoughts: be carful with shipping they left it at my door with no signature required.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/30/2014 10:01:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > 3D Printers > 3D Systems Inc. > 3D Systems 381000 Silver Plastic Jet 200 microns Single Jet 3D Printers 5.5" x 5.5" x 5.5" Build Size

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Value and Easy to use
Pros: NeweggFlash had this for sale under 500.
what a great value for something that is just plug it in and start printing, just check table-level and z-height first.

That you have to convert to .cubefile is not a big deal,
and it does a great job of adding support structure and make the file more raw for what is a rather simple mcu inside
And if you use wifi that is nearly a transparent step anyway.

That cartridges cost 40 (wall-mart) is not to bad as you're saving $500 that buys 12 more cartridges.
And there is a trick by simply moving the cart after it started to print and use a external spool.
Cons: No large support and hobbyist forum but probably change as 1000 more sold now.
Gen3 is out, so you are not getting the latest and greatest.
Other Thoughts: Learning to design with 3D software (not included)
comes with a learning curve, sketch-up etc takes at least 6months to be good at.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/29/2014 1:09:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting da Vinci 1.0 FFF (Fused Filament Fabrication) 0.1mm-0.4mm 150 mm/s Single Jet 3D Printer 7.8" X 7.8" X 7.8" Build Size

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great starter 3D Printer
Pros: Works great right out of the box.

Up and running in less than 15 minutes.

Proprietary software does a good job of translating STL files into printable format.

Price is unarguably excellent for an entry level 3D printer.
Very easy to use, no problems encountered after a few days of nearly constant use.
Cons: Documentation isn't excellent. Explanations of the different print settings could be better.

In order to print your own designs you must have design software that exports STL format. The software that comes with this printer doesn't have any design capability (that I have found anyway). This isn't necessarily a bad thing but potential buyers should be aware of this.

Resolution isn't terrific. The manufacturer advertises 100um but that's the best you can expect using "custom" settings according to their own documentation. It's not clear what they mean by "custom" settings or how you can set them. Typical print quality seems to be more like 400um resolution (which is also stated in the documentation). Overall, I don't think you can beat the print quality for the price but don't expect to produce precision parts with this unit.
Other Thoughts: This is my first 3D printer. I bought this unit with the expectation of it being a user friendly piece of hardware that pretty much anyone could operate, in particular high school kids. So far, I've been highly satisfied with the performance that I've gotten for the price I paid.
Reviewed By:JDoug,9/25/2014 8:12:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting da Vinci 1.0 FFF (Fused Filament Fabrication) 0.1mm-0.4mm 150 mm/s Single Jet 3D Printer 7.8" X 7.8" X 7.8" Build Size

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 FIRST IMPRESSIONS
Pros: WOW was this thing easy to set up. It came out of the box very well calibrated. Once ontrac delivered the package, the printer was printing in less than 30 min. so far the print quality is amazing. The fit and finish of the printer just blows the similiar priced competition out of the water.
Cons: If i had to nitpick and think of a con, it would be the contacts where the filimant box/catrtidge links to the printer. Mid print, they seemed to lose contact and stopped the print. However this is easily avoided by putting the printer on a solid table.
Other Thoughts: Tl;dr if you can afford it and you are looking for a printer, buy it, you will thank me later.
Reviewed By:Codymann,9/24/2014 12:10:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting da Vinci 2.0 3D Printer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 So far very good
Pros: Very well built. CHEAP! Easy to use.
Cons: Proprietary filament. But the cost is not that much greater.
Other Thoughts: This thing is great. Unboxed, plugged it in, put some glue on the table and was printing the demo within 15 minutes. I
I'm sure when I get to the point of doing custom stuff that I may run into some kinks but I know that I have made a good purchase compared to a friend that bought a Printrbot and has never got it to run right.
Reviewed By:VoodooJoojoo,9/24/2014 8:10:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting da Vinci 1.0 FFF (Fused Filament Fabrication) 0.1mm-0.4mm 150 mm/s Single Jet 3D Printer 7.8" X 7.8" X 7.8" Build Size

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A great 3D grinter for the price
Pros: Sub $500 dollar printer. Free shipping on this 50lb beast! Heated bed. Self calibrating. Nozel cleaner. Built in memory card, just press print then unteather USB. Comes with a full cartridge in white. Can use ABS and PLA. Easy to mod if you want to. Factory mass produced quality. Decent prints so far. Very happy.(Newegg threw in another free cartridge on my deal)
Cons: Well, you sortof have to buy into the XYZ propriatary cartridge. For around $30 you get 600 grams instead of the 1000 gram spools available for the same price. Cost is 40% more, but if that is a sticking point there are plenty of mods or simple hacks available to use regular spools. So, not really a big con there.
Other Thoughts: I've been researching so many 3D printers, but this was my choice to date. Price is great and comparable to $2000+ models. The shipping box is really big and packed like a beast. Look for a badge on the outside of the box that indicates if was shipped upside down. Mine was, it noted a red warning but it still came out perfect.
Reviewed By:PC Solutions,9/11/2014 10:32:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau