Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Limited Time Only! Newegg Premier is now only $29.99/year. Sign up now.
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wearable Electronics > SAMSUNG > Samsung Galaxy Gear 2 Neo Smartwatch (Charcoal Black)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Step in the right direction for Smart watches
Pros: • The band is very comfortable
• Very lightweight, hardly notice you’re wearing it
• The initial setup and sync with the phone was very simple and intuitive
• Has an infrared sensor which worked great controlling my Samsung TV
• Pedometer works well and is pretty accurate, it even worked while on a treadmill
• The weather app displayed all the same locations that were stored on my phone
• The screen comes on every time you move your arm so you don’t have to press the button
• Got about two and half days on battery (Much better than the first Galaxy Gear)
• Range for the device was a little under 30 feet
• Heart rate monitor is really cool and more practical to use than one on a phone
• So far it’s been getting good support with frequent updates from Samsung
• Great quality display, much better than some other smart watches
• Has a built in microphone however practical it may be is till up for debate but it’s a cool feature
• Can customizes the watch face from the phone or the watch

Has a cool find my phone feature that makes the phone ring even if you left it on silent so you can find it easily (So long as you’re within range of the Bluetooth signal).

It has an IP67 classification meaning it is totally protected against dust and is protected against the effect of immersion between 15 cm and 1 meter. But either way this watch will work fine even if you’re out extreme weather like rain or snow.
Cons: The fact that it requires an adapter/attachment to charge is really annoying. Having to attach a big adapter to it is a hassle and sometimes you can forget to take it off and the watch is really fat with that thing on.

It would be better if it got better battery life, though mine is on high brightness and was vibrating a lot due to frequent notifications, but still its mediocre at this point.
Other Thoughts: In my opinion, the charger adapter is the biggest pitfall of this device next to the average battery life so far. Other than that it may not be the perfect smart watch but it is a good start as this kind of device has yet to be standardized. With that, given the support and the hardware in this device I see a bright future for this as time progresses and new software updates are provided.

Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 with Android 4.4.2
Reviewed By:blknight88,7/7/2014 11:52:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wearable Electronics > SAMSUNG > Samsung Galaxy Gear 2 Smartwatch (Charcoal Black)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Hate it
Pros: Keeps the time. Music player works great when using a bluetooth device(other than car).
Cons: If you change devices, meaning if you switch from phone to tablet the watch has to a factory reset. There is no keyboard to reply to a text or email. No Android OS.It uses Tizen OS. Have to use the Samsung app store to get apps. Pedometer and heart rate monitors are not accurate. Comes with a charging cradle type device that has to be used to charge it. Must have a Samsung device to connect it to or it will not function.
Other Thoughts: This device has lots of potential.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/6/2014 3:18:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wearable Electronics > SAMSUNG > Samsung Galaxy Gear 2 Neo Smartwatch (Wild Orange)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Calling Dick Tracy
Pros: light, touch screen, adequate volume, HR sensor is sensitive
Cons: Not much different that Original Gear - they have their own OS (big deal) ad the bio-functions are therapeutic.

Emails not working from GMAIL - had to forward everything to a Yahoo account
Other Thoughts: Hot item at $199, lacks camera of Gear S2 but supports IR blaster. Be sure to select STB for set top box if using cable selector.
Reviewed By:Kimosabe,6/24/2014 11:19:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wearable Electronics > SAMSUNG > Samsung Galaxy Gear 2 Smartwatch (Charcoal Black)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Does everything advertised very well
Pros: Allows me to see my texts and Kiks without taking out my phone
I can call people with it
Can secretly play games
Can track my steps/bike riding/etc
Acts as a flashlight in a dark room
Very durable
Stylish

EVERYBODY asks about it and is impressed by it. Everyone.
Cons: Can't type out text message responses.
Reviewed By:Theliahh,6/21/2014 12:05:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wearable Electronics > SAMSUNG > Samsung Gear Fit Wearable Electronics (Black)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very Cool!
Pros: Very futuristic and stylish even though a bit dorky. Looks better than the other gear watches.
Cons: Takes a little time to get used to looking at the text from the side.
Other Thoughts: Lots of stuff packed in this watch. I was surprised it had a 1ghz dual core 512rom and 4gb of memory. The battery lasts about 2 days depending on the brightness. Way cool gadget that is actually very usefull in class or on the road for quick and descrete notifications. Liked the audio controls and the menu is slick. Very pretty screen!
Reviewed By:N/A,6/17/2014 1:43:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Wearable Electronics > SAMSUNG > Samsung Galaxy Gear 2 Neo Smartwatch (Mocha Grey)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Wanted to like this
Pros: This product is well built, looks nice, and is comfortable to wear. Getting notifications on your wrist for emails, text messages, phone calls, etc. is nice (not having to pull out the phone, unlock it, etc.)
Cons: It was very frustrating trying to get the fitness features to work correctly. I was not able to use it to track my heart rate DURING an exercise (even Samsung support could not help). It measured a 2.1m walk as 5.8 miles. And it clocked my bicycling at 58mph. WOW. Strange that the actual tracking app was running on my phone and had more accurate information. It would show my heart rate (sometimes 120bpm, then 50bpm, then back to 120), but not track it in the exercise. Just as well, since it was highly inaccurate. The software was confusing, and appeared to be not well tested.
Other Thoughts: Since my main goal was fitness tracking, I can't justify the cost for just the notification features. I'm returning this product. It's not ready for prime time, so to say.
Reviewed By:KevinL,6/12/2014 5:19:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Wearable Electronics > Sony Mobile > Sony SW2 SmartWatch 2 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Sony SW2 SmartWatch 2
Pros: The Sony SW2 SmartWatch 2 is a very nice and simple, and easy to use. I really had n trouble paring the watch to my Samsung S3, either using the NFC function of the Bluetooth function.
The screen is 1.6'' and surprisingly good quality, for me it is more of a Tech Toy, which it is very nice having not to pull out your phone every time you get a text message or e-mail, it also displays Twitter, and Facebook. It is also water resistant as I did not have to worry about getting it wet while washing my hands or getting caught out in the rain. The battery life is also fairly good as well in my case it lasted about 2 to 3 day with may incoming text messages.
Cons: As I mentioned earlier this to me is just a neat tech toy because you still have to use your phone so in fact really it just an other item you have to carry around, but it really did come in handy while I was in meeting and did not have to sneak and look at my phone under the table. It is however a conversion piece, I had several comments on it, but for me its just not quite that useful just yet, probably in the near future, but with more added features this might become the normality for many people.
Other Thoughts: The Sony SW2 SmartWatch 2 is a very nice and simple, and easy to use, but truefully I really have no quarrels with this watch, I did everything as advertized, the setup process was painless, although once the watch is turned off you have to reconnect it which is a pain for me because I always turn of me devices every night when I go to charge them up for the evening.
The Sony SW2 SmartWatch 2 has many features, and lot of apps for download, the included Runtastic app is cool, the app automatically records elapsed time, distance, calories burned, speed, elevation and tracks exercises via the onboard GPS and through satellites. and the majority of the apps are free. It has a miro USB connecter for charging, so you can use it with your existing phones charge cable, the overall quality of the watch is very nice. I think you will really enjoy the Sony SW2 it has so many cool apps. that you will use on a day to day basis. It also has a light sensor on the face of it so in the daylight the watch will become bright so you can see in sunny weather, I can go on and on about all the apps, but you have all the basics like music, and pictures., its a really cool devise I love it, and will continue to use it every day.
Reviewed By:Michael B.,6/11/2014 8:28:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Wearable Electronics > Sony Mobile > Sony SW2 SmartWatch 2 Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Still waiting for the iWatch
Pros: The Sony SW2 is a good effort, but falls short in the end. On the plus side, it is not locked to a specific phone - as opposed to Samsung's offerings. Any phone or tablet running Android 4.0 or above easily connects to the watch. A good number of apps are available, however a disappointing percentage are pay apps (without free trials) or don't work at all well.

This may seem like a no-brainer, but the SW2 functions as a watch. You can simply look at it and see the time. Seemingly obvious capability, but it eluded the designers of the Galaxy Gear. The display works well outdoors in full sunlight.

Pairing the watch with a NFC-enabled phone takes mere seconds. Without NFC, you need to download an app, but setup is still easy. Once you do, the watch shows notifications for incoming GMail, Facebook, Twitter, etc. updates. It also shows incoming calls, which can be answered or rejected.

Battery life is decent. In normal use I got three days on a charge; less when I actively played with the watch.

Finally, kudos to Sony for designing a watch that looks relatively sleek rather than going for the geek-gadget look. You can wear it in mixed company without too many worries.
Cons: First, the display. It is bright and readable outdoors, but terribly low resolution. GMail or other notifications can only show the first few words of text on screen. You may be able to read an entire tweet, but scrolling through an email is not supported. The low resolution also meant that those of us with large fingers have difficulty in activating what we intend rather than a random screen area.

The watch does not have a microphone. I found it handy for rejecting calls; accepting incoming calls only works if you are either holding your phone (in which case why the watch?) or are using a bluetooth headset.

I also found the SW2 easily lost connections. This happens both when you walk away from your phone and, frustratingly, at random times when the phone is nearby. Each connection drop triggers a vibration alert on your wrist. While we're on the subject of alerts, Sony copied the iOS behavior of showing the number of unread notifications next to the icon for each app. Clearing the counter either requires using the phone app to mark everything as read or to read each email, tweet, etc. individually. C'mon Sony - enable the long press to clear notifications!

Several of the apps showed promise but did not work reliably. Sony offers a media control app to select songs, change volume, and pause playback. When it worked, it was great. Most of the time, however, it hung, played random tracks (often showing the info from one song while actually playing another), would only play a single song (over and over and over...), or rebooted the watch. There is also another official Sony app to use the watch as a remote viewfinder and shutter release for your phone's camera. Very cool, except that it mostly crashed.

Overall responsiveness is also an issue. Some apps work, but the watch hangs for several seconds. You are left stabbing the screen repeatedly to no avail.
Other Thoughts: With the SW2, Sony produced a semi-functional smart watch. It tells time, is compatible with any recent Android phone, is not awful looking, and actually has apps to use. Whether it is useful is another question that depends on your needs.

I found the SW2 to be useful as a way of quickly telling whether I needed to look at my phone. Twitter ended up sending more Spam that was useful, but I usually could tell whether an email needed to be looked at or responded to without fishing out my phone. I also appreciated the ability to reject unwanted calls.

Unfortunately the low resolution screen, limited functionality, inconsistent apps, and frequent non-responsiveness turned me off. The SW2's incessant notifications of lost connections, double or triple alerts for incoming emails and tweets, and overall bugginess of the software got too annoying to bear.

The SW2 ends up as a tease - there is enough functionality to see that it really could be useful, but this package isn't it.
Reviewed By:Ethan H,6/3/2014 12:46:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wearable Electronics > Northwest > Northwest 72-MA878 Bluetooth Watch connects with iphone

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2
Pros: The watch is bluetooth capable. You can talk and listen to a phone call through the watch.
Cons: The watch time is only in military time (24 hour) and cannot be adjusted to twelve hour time. The sound of the phone call coming through the phone is tinny.

New Egg can do better than this when choosing a bluetooth capable watch to sell.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/1/2014 3:38:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wearable Electronics > SAMSUNG > Samsung Gear Fit Wearable Electronics (Black)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Sleek and Professional
Pros: Samsung nailed it as far as style goes for this watch. It's not huge or over-burdening and doesn't stick out in any negative way. The display looks great and the watch works perfectly with my new Samsung Galaxy S5. It charges VERY fast and seems to last two days for me on a charge. AC cord that plugs into the dock which charges the watch is the standard cable that's now used to charge most phones. The watch boots up quickly and is very easy to navigate. Easy to put on your wrists yet it secures very well.
Cons: The charge dock that connects to the watch is small. To minimize the risk of me losing it I am keeping the AC cord plugged into it. I wish the timer on it had an auto renew function.
Reviewed By:Brendan,5/23/2014 1:12:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau