Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS ROG STRIX GL502VS-DB71 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) 16 GB Memory 1 TB HDD 256 GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 8 GB GDDR5 15.6" FHD 1920 x 1080 Windows 10 Home 64-Bit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good laptop ruined by an inadequate power brick
Pros: Great speed, very quiet fans, thin and light for a gaming laptop. Never got at all close to uncomfortably warm while I was using it (on a desk, at least). The temps under stress testing (Prime95 + Furmark, simulataneously) got to around the mid 80's for the GPU and the CPU getting to the upper 80's with one core peaking at 92 degrees. That's not outstanding cooling, but it is good enough to keep it from throttling while gaming.

The keyboard isn't bad, just feels a little cheap.

The screen looked real pretty.

The NVME HDD is a huge plus, but I couldn't really see a significant real-world difference between NVME and SATA SSD performance.
Cons: The biggest drawback is the lack of a proper power brick. This laptop comes with a 180W power brick while all the others with similar specs have a 230W one. This rears it's head in that whenever the laptop is under load, it has to scavenge power from the battery when it can't get enough from the brick. You will see the battery slowly draining while in use, even when it's plugged into the wall. Run out of battery? Your performance will drop like a rock with lots of stuttering and poor frame rates. The battery is held in with screws under the case, too. So it's not easy to swap out. That's a serious flaw and it would be relatively easy to fix with a new brick and a firmware update, but Asus has shown ZERO interest in addressing this issue. As you wear out the battery and the capacitors age, this problem will get progressively worse with time. Replacing the brick would be easy enough on your own, but the regulation is controlled by the laptop itself, so it won't draw more than 180W no matter what brick you connect to it unless Asus updates the firmware to tell it to (fat chance at this point).

The IPS panel seems blurry to me. I've never had an IPS before, so it might just be the way IPS panels are.. It might have pixel bleed-over issues in high contrast situations. It's most apparent when looking at writing in the middle of the screen. ALL IPS panels have really bad response times, too. Typically in the upper 20-mid 30 ms range. 60hz means a cycle every 17 ms. This means the pixels can't even keep up with it's own refresh rate and makes for some serious blurring in fast paced games. This isn't really an issue unless you like to play FPS games and need twitch response times, but it's visually distracting, too.

The touchpad is worthless. If you plan on using a mouse, this isn't a problem.
Other Thoughts: This is an unfortunate case of lack of oversight and a brand known for crummy customer service showing it's stripes.
Reviewed By:James R.,1/13/2017 1:51:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > Acer America > Acer 15.6" FHD E5-575G-57A4 7th Gen Intel Core i5 7200U NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M 8 GB DDR4 Memory 256 GB SSD 1 TB HDD Windows 10 Home 64-Bit Gaming Laptop - "ONLY @ NEWEGG"

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Where did the SSD go?
Pros: I've finally got the laptop.
Cons: It is not in its form mentioned on the store page.
Other Thoughts: Just received the laptop today, and what I have found out yet are:
1. that the 256GB SSD is missing
2. the touchpad works badly. Cursor keeps jumping from a point to another, and sometimes not respondant to my fingers.

Fantastic.
Reviewed By:Dongkyun Kim,1/13/2017 1:32:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > MSI > MSI 15.6" GT62VR Dominator-027 Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 16 GB Memory 128 GB SSD 1 TB HDD Windows 10 Home 64-Bit G-Sync Gaming Laptop VR Ready

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Poor battery
Pros: Good price.
Nice specifications.
Cons: Poor battery life. Less than 60 minutes with normal use (without gaming).
Very thick.
Other Thoughts: If you are looking for the gaming laptop and don't care about the battery this is a great machine.

I returned it. Newegg is great and they are the best in their return policy.
Reviewed By:Vikramjit S.,1/13/2017 9:34:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > AORUS > Aorus 15.6" X5 v6-PC3K3D Intel Core i7 6820HK (2.70 GHz) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 16 GB Memory 256 GB SSD 1 TB HDD Windows 10 Home 64-Bit Gaming Laptop

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Small form factor, Loud, and poor customer service
Pros: Small form factor, solid aluminum build, great hardware.
Cons: Loud, hot, poor customer service, screen, and keyboard issues.
Other Thoughts: I purchased this laptop with the intent of using it as a gaming PC. I quickly ran into several issues with this laptop. The first and biggest issue I encountered was the "-" key and the "g" key would randomly depress and the only fix was a hard reset of the laptop. After insuring I had updated everything on the computer BIOS, Windows, etc. I contacted customer support regarding this issue. After 3 days I received a response that stated try an check for a BIOS update, if that does not work here is a RMA form. This was not the answer I was looking for. Clearly this was a known issue if the first response is to return the laptop. The second problem with this laptop is the fan noise. This computer is extremely loud. As a current Razer Blade and Alienware 15 R3 owner I expect some level of noise in a gaming laptop. However this computer was extremely loud and scalding hot while gaming. I then began having problems with the system not turning on. I have no explanation for this as it was completely random and not reproducible. This happened several times and the only fix was to simply wait. When I initially received this laptop I was very impressed with the build quality and the high end components inside. After using the laptop for a couple of weeks I do not feel that I could recommend it. The loud fans, high heat, and general QC problems as well as a sub par customer service make this laptop less than ideal.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comments. We apologize for your difficulty with your AORUS product. Please contact AORUS support hotline at 626-986-4368 or newegg-support@gigabyteusa.com with the case number 140230 in the e-mail subject line. We will provide personalized service and analysis to help solve your issue ASAP. If the matter is urgent, please send us your contact number, and we will contact you.

AORUS VIP Support Team

Reviewed By:Justin W.,1/13/2017 9:10:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > Lenovo > Lenovo IdeaPad Y700 80NV00Q9US Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 6700HQ 16 GB Memory 1 TB HDD 256 GB PCIE SSD GeForce GTX 960M 4 GB 15.6" FHD Windows 10 Home 64-Bit - "ONLY @ NEWEGG"

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Does the job
Pros: Fast startup and processing. Handles most medium level games.
Cons: Steam games not always stable, not sure if it's Steam or the hardware or WIN 10.
Reviewed By:Sheldon R.,1/12/2017 3:14:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > Lenovo > Lenovo IdeaPad 700 (80RU00FSUS) Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) 16 GB DDR4 Memory 1 TB HDD 256 GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M 4 GB 15.6" Windows 10 Home 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent laptop.
Pros: Fast laptop plays most major games on high/ultra quality, max settings (fallout New Vegas, Skyrim, sims 4, assassin's Creed) many on high quality high/mid settings (fallout 4, no man's sky). Few frames rate drops if any (use the SSD to fix long load times) I got it on sale and it out performs many computers double the normal price.
Cons: updates updates updates. you need to update the video card drivers. hands down no questions. Lots of bug fixes with the new drivers.
Other Thoughts: Amazing computer, great game machine, well worth more money. RUN ALL UPDATES!
As with any lightweight gaming laptop, battery life is either amazing or awful, it depends on what you are doing.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/12/2017 6:54:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > Acer America > Acer Predator 15 G9-593-77WF Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) 16 GB Memory 1 TB HDD 256 GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 8 GB GDDR5 15.6" Windows 10 Home 64-Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Nice product with major flaw
Pros: The screen is quite vibrant
The keyboard feels nice and provides a lot of travel
The laptop seems to run cool
Has great gaming performance with a 1070
excellent processing power with i7-6700HQ
Cons: The touchpad is below average, skipping a little
looks like a gaudy gaming laptop
heavy and large
The laptop sent to me has a completely defective battery
Other Thoughts: If you get a working model, it is large laptop that is great for gaming. However I cannot even use this computer as a laptop since the battery will not hold a charge. I tried everything, including factory resetting the laptop and fiddling around with all the power options. If the laptop is not connected to the wall, it is unusable.
Reviewed By:Hongxia C.,1/11/2017 5:29:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS ROG STRIX GL502VS-DB71 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) 16 GB Memory 1 TB HDD 256 GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 8 GB GDDR5 15.6" FHD 1920 x 1080 Windows 10 Home 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid overall, would buy again
Pros: -PRICE for components can't be beat as far as I can tell.
-Screen is very nice (except backlight/see cons)
-Pretty lightweight
Cons: All of these are pretty minimal issues:
-Backlight can be seen in corners of screen when dark black colors are shown sometimes.
-Touchpad is kind of finicky but most people want this as a desktop replacement so its not a big deal for most.
-Excess Bloatware (to be expected when buying a new machine these days) One specifically will mess you up if you are like me and want to use something like "Twilight" or "f.lux" for late night color changes to reduce eye stress. I can't remember the name but it was part of the ROG suite which I don't use.
-Fans can be loud and ventilation seems ehh.
-
Reviewed By:nicholas v.,1/11/2017 2:49:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS 15.6" K501UW-NB72 Intel Core i7 6500U (2.50 GHz) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M 8 GB DDR4 Memory 128 GB SSD 750 GB HDD Windows 10 Home 64-Bit Laptop - "ONLY @ NEWEGG"

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Fantastic for the sale price of 700!! But...
Pros: I am a full-time video producer and I have used this laptop for about a month now. I've used all of its features and abilities and pushed it to its limit with my work so I think I have a very good nuanced view of the pros and cons of this laptop. If you take any review of this laptop seriously, make sure its mine.

-Powerful. Very nice specs for the price range. This is, in a nut shell, an upper-mid-tier laptop for a lower-mid tier price. I got it for 699 on sale though. I see the regular price is about 999, which isn't unfair, but if you're buying it for 999 then I would disregard some of my praise. 999 is fair, but not an amazing steal or anything.

-The inclusion of the number pad (which is uncommon for 15-inch laptops), back-lit keyboard, 4 USB ports, HDMI out and an SD card reader make it very useful in a wide variety of situations. I do video production for an ad agency and also some gaming and so far it has handled nearly everything I've thrown at it. And since there is room for me to upgrade the RAM I suspect I'll be able to push it further.

-The SSD HDD combo is fantastic. This is the main thing that makes the laptop a good deal. Sold State Drives are expensive and the fact that they were able to cram one in this laptop, for this price, is just great. Bootups and shut downs are very fast and rendering big video files to the SSD are nice and quick.
Cons: -The biggest and most unforgivable aspect of this laptop is the touchpad. It is absolutely garbage. The same surface that you use to mose the cursor around is ALSO the surface of the left and right click buttons. This means when you move the pointer over something that you want to click, then go to click, you have a very good chance of throwing the pointer off to the left by mistake when you press the left click button. This is extremely annoying. 90% of what I do on this laptop is a lot of technical video editing and gaming, so I use a mouse for those things. If you want this laptop for similar situations, then don't worry too much about it I guess, but if you just want to casually lay in bed and browse netflix, youtube, or facebook, then prepare to be annoyed. Seriously. Its almost unusable. How Asus messed this aspect up is beyond me, but they totally did.

-The Screen is not the best. Its clearly a 1080 display, but you do not have a lot of options with angles. You really need to view it from a very specific angle to truly see what is being displayed accurately. Maybe this bothers me more than the average joe because I do a lot of video editing, but I suspect it would be noticeable to a casual user as well.

-Battery life is nothing special. I don't quite want to call this a "con" but in 2016, in a laptop from Asus, I expected more. If you aren't doing anything too intense you might not notice, but if you do any video editing, gaming, or anything even relatively intensive, expect the battery life to plummet. Its not terrible, I just expected a little more.

Other Thoughts: Overall, I reiterate my point that this is a pretty nice laptop for a more-than-fair price. You would be hard-pressed to find a better deal in that price range. It is not perfect, but you're not going to find perfect for under a grand. This is probably the best you can do in the 700 range.
Reviewed By:George C.,1/11/2017 2:01:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS ROG STRIX GL502VS-DB71 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) 16 GB Memory 1 TB HDD 256 GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 8 GB GDDR5 15.6" FHD 1920 x 1080 Windows 10 Home 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Gaming Laptop
Pros: - It's very light for a 15.6 gaming laptop.
- The GTX 1070 is a powerful GPU
- The screen is high quality and the colors are fantastic
- The keyboard quality and pressure is great
- The load time is extremely quick to boot into Windows
Cons: - Power brick is not 240v and should be...
- Plastic instead of aluminum shell, but I do like the color and the brushed look
Other Thoughts: A few things. I found that the sound is perfectly fine and underrated. You can definitely feel the heat from this laptop, but it's a gaming laptop and to be expected. I play World of Warcraft: Legion with a lot of addons. I get somewhere between 45-60fps with the NVIDIA optimized settings. If you try and game using the laptop and it's not connected to power you will get flickering and it won't run. (This should be obvious with the power requirements for gaming.)

Lastly, I believe that this version with the new 7700HQ is being released at CES now for the same price as this one. I don't know the launch date, but if you can wait you probably should and get Kaby Lake. I didn't because I'm too impatient to wait and the gains from Kaby Lake will be minimal.
Reviewed By:Robert I.,1/11/2017 1:12:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.