Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Gaming Laptops > MSI > MSI GE Series GE70 Apache Pro-061 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i5 4200H (2.8GHz) 8GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M 2GB 17.3" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Pretty Beastly
Pros: Everything is pretty awesome, very strong computer.
Very good on the price for what specs are given.
Cons: I only have a couple problems with it...
1. It gets pretty hot on the left side, and when i play games, my hand tends to sweat and get uncomfortable. but its not all that bad. The extra fan that you can turn off and on, i dont feel like it helps and almost makes it hotter sometimes, though maybe im not using it right, but i would think that you would want another fan for when your playing high end games, like Far Cry 3.
2. The battery that it came with was kinda sad, it must be plugged in to be able to run game at full potential. Not that big of a deal though considering im gonna be plugged in and remaining in one spot for when im playing. so being plugged in isnt much of an issue.
3. Windows 8.1.... enough said....
Other Thoughts: Even though i have these cons with it, i still give it a 5 egg rating.
Reviewed By:TechnoLemon,8/19/2014 4:24:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > Lenovo > Lenovo Y50 (59418222) Gaming Laptop Intel Core i5 4200H (2.8GHz) 8GB Memory 1TB HDD 8GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M 2GB 15.6" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 What a deal... SO MUCH BLOATWARE
Pros: Definitely not too big of a loss on the i5, pretty blazing fast and worth saving the couple hundred bucks to the i7. I mostly use this for school/work, but I wanted capabilities of gaming and the GTX 860m is definitely a huge upside on this build for the price. Under a grand and you get the capabilities of most 1200+ laptops. I will be upgrading RAM in the future to full 16g and installing a SSD just because 5400 RPM won't hold up over time, but the factory HHD + SSHD you can definitely feel the difference in it helping.
Cons: Graphics are great, but I've noticed colors are a bit dark and I'm having to up the brightness in-game + settings if it is a really dark scene. Only thing I've noticed so far. Oh, and I spent the first 30 minutes uninstalling all the bloatware that came on it. Some of it seems useful, but not my cup of tea.
Other Thoughts: Overall the laptop is awesome. The powerful portability and sleek look is amazing for its price range. I still would have a desktop gaming build, as this is not a replacement, but if you go to school and play games like I do - this is far more worth it than spending the 1200+
Gave 5 eggs because I think everyone giving it less forgets how much they paid and how much they are getting. People don't look to buy a laptop with gaming capabilities under 1000 for no reasons at all.

I had the i5 model and was not disappointed.
Reviewed By:DavieJonesLocker,8/19/2014 10:40:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > MSI > MSI GT Series GT70 DominatorPro-888 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4800MQ (2.70GHz) 32GB Memory 1TB HDD 384GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 880M 8GB 17.3" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Video editing: so far so good
Pros: It runs Avid, Premiere, etc quite easily. Hyperthreading apps like the Adobe stack will make better use of a system like this on paper but my first hand experience with a 4K film is that the laptop is a powerful mobile video workstation if you're on Windows. And it kinda doesn't matter which software. The hardware is up to the task of editing video - and it has power to spare. So that's the reason I needed this, and I'm very happy to say it's working great so far.
Cons: Look, I could wish it were cheaper, but in fact it's quite a good deal for what you get. The equivalent hardware on other brand systems would not be priced this low. MSI is tackling enthusiast niche. But this is pricey for a laptop. $2700.

Big? I guess it's big, but that's part of what I needed; a big screen. I am strong and I'm content to lug around a huge laptop when I know it has five laptop bays, that it burns bluray disks, that it can connect to two external monitors, that it's full HD 1920x1080 screen 17.3" diagonal screen. I guess some would say that it is inconveniently large and heavy. My laptop in college weighed nearly three times what this little beast weighs.
Other Thoughts: I also truly appreciate that this is upgradable and maintainable. DO YOU HEAR THAT APPLE? I'm making a big investment of initial capital. This is my first system out of grad school, and I need it to WORK, and I want to be able to open it up and add new parts in a few months when I've got a few bucks. So this laptop promises a lot and is open to the immediate future, so my fingers are crossed. I'll check back in over the months to say how it's going.
Reviewed By:filmmaker rob brink,8/18/2014 7:20:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > Lenovo > Lenovo Y50 (59425944) Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4700HQ (2.40GHz) 8GB Memory 1TB HDD 8GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M 2GB 15.6" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Severe Regressions
Pros: >Powerful CPU + GPU combo
>Nice matte screen
>Lightweight for power
>Nice port layout
>Fast with SSD + GNU/Linux
> Built-in speakers are nice
Cons: >Keyboard is regressed in quality from Y500 model laptops and back, sometimes keystrokes don't register properly
>Under load without AC power, will cut power unexpectedly
>Gets really hot under load, keyboard gets unreasonably hot, uncomfortable to game on for any length of time.
>Bug in BIOS where if you have eth0 plugged in, menus will freeze and you have to cut power
>Nvidia Optimus is a wreck, with no option to just use the GPU instead of switchable graphics, getting it working on GNU/Linux is a mini-nightmare.
>Screws on the back are too small and at 45 degree angles, making crossthreading commonplace and taking the back shell off a nightmare.
>No internal mSATA port
>Battery not removable
>Scratches + hand oil shows easily
>Low quality 3.5mm onboard audio
>AC adapter is in propriatary box shape and is clunky, instead of traditional round 90 degree DC plugs.
Other Thoughts: The BIOS turn me off, as they are so buggy and offer very little in the way of actually changing anything, although that's probably more of an issue with InsydeH20 BIOS and not the manufacturer, but they still refuse to acknowledge it as an issue.
The keyboard is miserable to type on due to the excess heat around the left side of it, and I often have to press extra hard to make sure that keystrokes are entered, making gaming sometimes unpleasant.

Not worth the cost.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/18/2014 12:54:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS ROG G750 Series G750JM-DS71 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4700HQ (2.40GHz) 12GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M 17.3" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Laptop
Pros: Fast - with the hardware that this laptop has it runs anything i throw at it on full settings. Planetside2, Day Z mod, 7days tolive, Corel x7, Arma 2, etc. Additionally this pc stays cool, you can feel the heat from the vents in the back. However i cant say the fans have ever kicked on full even after hours of gaming. The only reason i gave it 4 stars is due to the HDD which i will bring up in the cons section. It came perfectly, popped it out of the box, ran the updates, and had it setup and playing games in an hour or two. The keyboard is well constructed, as is the body of the pc. It is on the heavy side, but coming from a 18" XPS its on par for me. There is some bloatware to remove but that is expected. Dual HDD slots makes it super easy to swap a SSD, and have the storage for the other slot. I have not seen any of the issues mentioned in other reviews.
Cons: the only con at this time is the HDD. at 5400 rpm it is a dog when multitasking. if you are doing basic work or loading one program at a time it is quick. However if you are downloading a program and opening another or something like that, it does hang a little bit due to the slow speed of the HDD. I as others have recommended would also suggest getting a SSD for your main drive and a higher rpm TB drive for your storage. I do alot of file and graphic work on this so i need to be able to access multiple files quickly from storage. If you just want regular storage than the original storage should be ok, tho i would still recomend a faster HDD for storage too.
Other Thoughts: All in all aside from the HDD I really enjoy this laptop and am happy with the purchase. It seems that in reading reviews from other sites about this laptop that the issues other people have mentioned have been resolved. Also for some reason i received this laptop with a blue ray player not a dvd rw. which i will be looking into soon.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/18/2014 8:24:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE P15Fv2-SP1 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4710MQ (2.50GHz) 8GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 850M 2GB GDDR3 15.6" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 GIGABYTE
Pros: It is very fast, seems to be work with out any heat problems.
Cons: The touchpad goes unresponsive. I have tried updating drivers with no luck. Sometimes it will work for few minutes and then will spaz out and becomes unusable. Could be the laptop is a lemon, but this is off my experience and will change once I return it and receive a new one.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/18/2014 8:17:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS G75VW-DH72 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 3630QM (2.40GHz) 16GB Memory 750GB HDD 256GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670M 3GB 17.3" Windows 8

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid Machine
Pros: fast bootup, ssd drive, 7200 rpm hd, fine graphics, lighted keyboard.

the unit does what need it to do.

i've had it almost a year now, and really don't have many complaints.
Cons: factory structure of the hard drives,

lack of touch screen.

win 8.1. (fixable, but still 8.1)
Other Thoughts: has a nice, solid feel to it. would probably buy it, or one in this series, again.
Reviewed By:crow2dark,8/17/2014 11:42:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS ROG G750 Series G750JM-DS71 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4700HQ (2.40GHz) 12GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M 17.3" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 What a Machine
Pros: Amazing cooling, Surprising battery life, Great Audio/Visuals. It's ASUS ('Nuff said) really a great portable for even the pickiest users. It's obviously not gonna match up to the $4000 gaming laptop's on the market right now with bigger processors and better dedicated graphics, but for the pricepoint, its better than MSI (which I have always experienced as trash after owning 2 and returning them) or Acer, HP, Alienware, etc. Goes great with my ROCCAT periph's I put a Samsung EVO SSD in here fresh out of the box, and I couldn't be happier.
Cons: You can only use the dedicated graphics when plugged in.
Other Thoughts: Asus makes quality hardware. The bloatware on this machine is pretty average but I even ended up using all of it.
Reviewed By:ToxikProphet,8/17/2014 6:35:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > MSI > MSI GT Series GT60 2OC-024US Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4700MQ (2.40GHz) 12GB Memory 1TB HDD 128GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770M 3GB GDDR5 15.6" Win 8 Multi-language

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Major USB Problems
Pros: Runs fast, programs start fast with SSD, great screen, well built case.
Cons: USB Barely works. I've tried everything under the sun to fix the USB. All my USB devices will continuously disconnect and reconnect, making it it worthless for everything from playing games to typing papers. I've tried disabling USB 3 and xhci hand-off in BIOS, and every possible USB bios setting. I've tried replacing the Microsoft extensible host drivers with the Intel ones. I've tried installing Windows 7. I've even sent the laptop back to the manufacturer and they said they replaced the whole motherboard, but still the USB is broken. The only thing that works is to run Prime95 in the background with 1 thread. Then USB works perfect, but it should work perfect on an idle load too. Would not recommend this hell on anyone.
Other Thoughts: I bought a Lenovo y410p last March which works great and have barely touched the MSI GT60. I'd really like to clean my hands of this machine. But it still lingers there in the corner reminding me of the hundreds of dollars I poured down the drain when I bought this machine.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,

We apologize for the issues that you are having with this product.

If you have not go through troubleshooting yet, then feel free to contact our tech support team for assistance at 888-447-6564 from M to F, 6am to 6pm Pacific Time.

Best Regards,
MSI Review Team | usreview@msi.com

Reviewed By:Quixotic7,8/17/2014 2:21:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > MSI > MSI GE Series GE70 2OE-017US Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4700MQ (2.40GHz) 12GB Memory 750GB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 765M 2GB GDDR5 17.3" Windows 8 64-Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Hardware and Software problems
Pros: Looks pretty. Nice keyboard and backlighting. Runs somewhat cool. Quiet unless the high power fan in on.
Cons: Hard drive was clicking. Sent computer back for several weeks and was repaired. The "new" HDD is still clicking. Additionally, less than a week into using the computer, I restarted it to update. When it came back on it said it was "unable to repair" and gave me the option to shut down or look at advanced options.

Not what you expect from a brand new $1400 machine. Looking for a refund as of now. Very disappointed.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,

We apologize for the issues that you are having with this product.

Please feel free to contact us directly regarding your system issue. Please provide following information provided to usreview@msi.com.
1. Full name (first, and last)
2. Telephone #
3. Physical address
4. Email address
5. Serial number (located in the battery compartment and begins with S/N)
6. Proof of purchase (screenshot/photo, or PDF is fine)
7. Symptoms you are having (as detailed as possible)

Once your information and warranty are verified by the system then MSI will contact you with a solution.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding the product or special requests, received the unit back from RMA but are still having issues, please do not hesitate to call us or email us directly and we will be more than happy to assist you, thank you.
Tech Support Line: toll feee 888-447-6564 (M to F, 6am to 6pm Pacific Time)
Tech Support Email: usreview@msi.com

Best Regards,
MSI Review Team | usreview@msi.com

Reviewed By:Luskerdoo,8/17/2014 11:06:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau