Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Network Antennas > Rosewill > Rosewill RNX-AD7D, High Power/High Gain True 7dBi Dual Band Network Directional Antenna, Directional Amplifier of Your Routers

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very nice results
Pros: Compact, light weight, good positioning ability, satisfied with performance improvement
Cons: For a directional antenna, not to have a label (or some marking) indicating either Front or Back is a major oversight.
Other Thoughts: First things first - the Front of this antenna is the side that has all dimples and NO smooth rectangular box. The Rear of the antenna is the side with a smooth rectangular box, where you might put something like a logo or a label that says REAR.

I work in the commercial radio industry and after comparing the dbm losses of both sides with a spectrum analyzer, the Front became apparent. In my home environment I measured a -10dbm to -12dbm difference between sides. Remember, the smaller the overall negative number, the better the performance. Negative numbers are losses. Positive numbers are gains.

You can use an Android app called WiFi Analyzer to measure the -XXdbm number in the 2.4G and 5G bands around your house. If the stock antennas give you a -40dbm reading and then you swap in the Rosewill antenna (1 or 2) and now the reading is -30dbm, you have increased your signal strength in that area where you point the Rosewill antenna. EVERY environment is different. If person A gets -20dbm improvement and you only get -10dbm improvement, that does NOT mean your antenna is bad. Your environment and/or positioning is different.

Repositioning your router (even by a foot, sometimes) can make a surprising difference. Signal scatter (bouncing off other objects) can impact performance both positive and negatively. Have patience and play with antenna positioning. Take measurements.

Remember, don't have all the antennas vertical - too close a proximity will have negative effects - the interaction will cause the reduction of signal and transfer performance.

My router (Nighthawk R7000) is now using 2 RNX-AD7D antennas - one on the left and right. Stock antenna in the middle. Location of router is basement of 2 story house. Late 1930s era. Plaster walls and metal lathe in them. The metal lathe is what holds the plaster up. It is also a terrible barrier for most RF signals. Forget any reliable cellular service in the house. The router is on a stand angled up at a 75 degree angle. My center antenna is vertical. My left antenna is angled back and faces 45 degrees left. My right antenna is angled back and faces 45 degrees to the right. The FRONT of the RNXs are facing the areas that where I want to provide more signal strength. Always have the front of the antennas facing away from each other!

This setup has resulted in measurably improved signal strength on the second floor (where I needed it). So, the purchase was a good one.

Remember, your mileage WILL vary and each environment is different, requiring different solutions.

My 4 egg rating should NOT be construed as a knock against the product. I only give 5 eggs for truly stellar products.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/22/2015 7:38:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Network Antennas > Rosewill > Rosewill RNX-AD7, High Power/High Gain True 7dBi Dual Band Network Omni Antenna, Range Extension for Your Routers

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 This is 5GHz band antenna
Pros: Good gain in 5GHz band when comparing to OEM 3dBi
Cons: average performance @2.4GHz
If you dig around AD7 is 5dBi @2.4 and 7dBi @5GHz. If you need to boost 2.4 band look elsewhere.
Other Thoughts: @Navnit P; a couple points:
1) looks like you are not familiar with WiFi Quality of Service. Here is how it calculated (sample with 80dB signal / 98dB noise) :
Signal - Noise = SNR
-82 - -98 = 16
Signal / Noise * SNR = Signal Quality
-82 / -98 * 16 = 13.4%
if you improve signal +2dB to 80, signal quality will go to 14.7%. ~1% as you experienced.
2) Antennas usually rated by the highest gain. So your 5dBi OEM antenna is probably 3dBi/5dBi @2.4/5GHz, and this one is actually rated 5dBi/7dBi.
3) If you're only looking for 2.4 performance get something like TP-Link TL-ANT2408CL or Rosewill RNX-A9-EX. They give 8-9dBi improvement by limiting radiating pattern to 360/15deg horizontal/vertical single floor plane.
Reviewed By:cyclopathic,1/4/2015 8:00:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Antennas > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-ANT2408CL 2.4GHz 8dBi Indoor Omni-directional Antenna

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 There is an improvement
Pros: A marked improvement over my previous antenna.
Very good price
FREE shipping.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:jadinolf,12/31/2014 8:03:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Network Antennas > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-ANT2408CL 2.4GHz 8dBi Indoor Omni-directional Antenna

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 New life to old router
Pros: Easy to install - screw the old ones off; put the new ones on.
Less expensive than a new router (that may or may not offer better range).
Cons: They are large/long, but it's not that big of a deal.
Other Thoughts: I was trying to push my wireless signal to a detached garage space where the signal was spotty at best. The standard antennas on my router (an older TP-Link supporting wireless G) were having problems cutting through the walls.

I relocated the router in the house a bit, and slapped these guys on. Problem solved.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/29/2014 9:06:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Network Antennas > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-ANT2408C 2.4GHz 8dBi Indoor Desktop Omni-directional Antenna

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 External antenna WIFI
Pros: Works great very sturdy and strong magnets improved my bars from 3 to 5 great that's what I wanted. I purchased two of them this works great better than a two port one that I had tried from another adapter. You can space them as needed to get better reception.
Cons: No cons
Other Thoughts: These are for 2.4 GHZ band not 5 GHZ so beware of that
Reviewed By:N/A,12/21/2014 12:30:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Antennas > Rosewill > Rosewill RNX-AS14001, 3 plus Network Antenna Stand, w/ ULA100 Cable to Prevent Gain Loss of Data Transmission and Wi-Fi Interference Free

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Product
Pros: Very well made
Strong magnet
Reasonable Price
FREE shipping
Cons: NONE
Other Thoughts: Scratch another one off my wish list
Reviewed By:jadinolf,12/10/2014 12:33:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Network Antennas > Rosewill > Rosewill RNX-AD7D, High Power/High Gain True 7dBi Dual Band Network Directional Antenna, Directional Amplifier of Your Routers

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Stock antenna works better
Pros: It wasn't DOA I guess.
Cons: No signal strength improvement over a stock antenna whatsoever. Bulky and heavy. I put my stock antenna back on. Nice dust collector. BTW it was used with Rosewill wireless adapter, which sucks as much as this antenna.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you very much for purchasing this unit.
We strive to provide the most reliable and highest quality products to our customers.

We are sorry to hear that, please contact our support team to assist you with troubleshoot and/or warranty options.

Phone: 1- 800-575-9885
Email: rma@rosewill.com
Email2: techsupport@rosewill.com

We look forward to hearing from you.

Thanks,
Rosewill Customer Care

Reviewed By:N/A,12/8/2014 9:15:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Network Antennas > Rosewill > Rosewill RNX-A9-EX 2.4GHz Indoor 9dBi Detachable Omni-Directional Antenna with Extension Cable and

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2
Pros: Good range
Cons: Intermittently stops working, can only fix by restarting. Very annoying.
Other Thoughts: My wife and I bought two different Rosewill network adapters and both have the exact same problem. They will sporadically stop working, shutting off my network connection. The network adapter cannot be disabled than re-enabled when this happens, and windows diagnostics cannot figure out a solution. The only way to fix it is to hard restart the computer (normal shut downs will not work when this happens).

I've contacted support and they told me to download the newest drivers. I have them, and I have tried various installations with various permissions and different compatibility modes. Nothing has worked. Support did not offer any help beyond "download the newest drivers". I've tried various methods found on google and Toms Hardware, but nothing has corrected this problem. Sometimes it happens every 20 minutes, sometimes I can go 3-4 days without the issue occurring.

For two models to have the same problem on two different computers, and from the google results, it seems that this is not an uncommon issue. I've had good results from Rosewill PSUs in the past, but I will never buy a network adapter from them again, if I even buy anything of this brand again.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you very much for purchasing this unit.
We strive to provide the most reliable and highest quality products to our customers.

Thanks for the feedback we will pass it along to our QA and Design teams. In the event that you are having troubles please do not hesitate to contact our support team at the number below.

Phone: 1- 800-575-9885
Email: rma@rosewill.com
Email2: techsupport@rosewill.com

We look forward to hearing from you.

Thanks,
Rosewill Customer Care

Reviewed By:N/A,12/1/2014 11:51:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Antennas > Rosewill > Rosewill RNX-AD10D, High Power/High Gain True 10dBi Dual Band Network Directional Antenna, The Most Powerful Dual Band Antenna on Earth

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Definitely works.
Pros: Did increase signal strength. Signal strength went up from 2-6% depending on position of router/wifi adapter.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Definitely install two or more depending on your router then rotate them till you get best signal.
Reviewed By:Syllinx,11/28/2014 4:59:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Antennas > Amped Wireless > Amped Wireless WA12 Omni-Directional Wi-Fi Antenna High Power 12dBi

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Complete waste of money
Pros: Well, it hasn't killed anybody
Cons: They should really just start advertising this product as a paperweight, because that's all it really does. I purchased it to add on to a AMped Wireless 3000 Access Point because of all the claims Amped Wireless makes about performance and coverage. I got virtually no gain from this product. My signal before the antenna was 54% my signal after installing the antenna was.....56%. Nowhere near the 2X they advertise. This antenna did nothing for me nd as it seems no else either
Other Thoughts: Absolutely useless
Manufacturer Response:Hello Bill,
We apologize for the issue you are having with the unit. The WA12 antenna is of higher gain then the antennas on the AP300 unit so you should see an increase in the coverage. please make sure you have the antenna connected to the primary antenna port, the one opposite of the power connector, so that the antenna works correctly. If that does not increase the performance please call our tech support line at 888-573-8820 so that a technician can assist you.

Amped Wireless Tech Support
888-573-8820

Reviewed By:Bill B,11/5/2014 11:04:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.