Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Barebone PCs > MINIX > Minix NEO X8-H Quad Core Cortex A9r4 Processor Octo Core Mali-450 GPU 1 x HDMI Quad Core Media Hub for Android

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not ready for prime time
Pros: Android 4.4.2 media player,
- MIMIX has released 5 beta firmware updates in the last month, and is working very hard to improve this product and release a new production firmware
- Great potential
Cons: The box was released with a ton of bugs.
- Netflix will not play smoothly (Netflix problem?)
- XBMC is buggy
- generates random audio noise
- As a media player, I think there's much to be desired.
Other Thoughts: Can't say if it's the hardware or the software at fault here, but for anyone not wanting to spend an inordinate amount of time updating firmware and/or apps and just wants a solid Android media player +, all I can say is this box is not ready for prime time... I returned mine today. I'm really disappointed in this product release. I was wanting this to be awesome!
Reviewed By:N/A,7/28/2014 1:41:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > ASRock > ASRock M8 Mini ITX Gaming PC 4th Gen Intel Core i7/i5/i3/Xeon/Pentium/Celeron Intel Socket LGA1150 Intel Z87 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Nice design but EXPENSIVE
Pros: The design is sleek and unique.
Cons: But for $450 you get a case, power supply and motherboard and still have to buy the CPU and video card!! That's expensive. They should have offered them with the CPU's and just left the video card to add. Dealbreaker to me.
Other Thoughts: Nice design but not worth the money. If it was $200.00 maybe.
Reviewed By:THOMAS F.,7/25/2014 6:18:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > Shuttle Computer > Shuttle SH87R6 Intel 4th Generation Core i3/i5/i7 Intel Socket LGA1150 Intel H87 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 The Space You Need
Pros: An intelligent layout provides no more space than required while providing space enough to comfortably build the machine, mostly thanks to the removable drive tray. Though not immediately apparent, the drive tray does accommodate the narrow downward SSD mounting screws by way of four large perfectly spaced circular cut outs.

BIOS options were a pleasant surprise. Memory voltage, frequency, and timings were fully customizable. Video memory can be custom selected from 64MB to 1024MB. CPU modifications are unsurprisingly locked save for the toggle of power saving features.

Heat dissipation is more than adequate for my 4130 i3. The heatsink fan will throttle up for Prime95 but only just. There's plenty of head room for the up-line processors. The PC draws a very impressive 15 watts while idling and a mere 70 watts at full clip in Prime95. This leaves plenty of head room for a dedicated budget video card. The PSU only provides one 6-pin video connector so you would need to make sure a molex to 6-pin adapter was included with your video card of choice.
Cons: My shuttle shipped with a dead CMOS battery. The BIOS would be restored to defaults each time it was unplugged. A $6 replacement was needed.

The heatsink fan emits the sound of a motor. You hear more than the woosh of air. It's hard to get upset about the noise as the fan only emits around 15 db of noise on the low idle but the noise is undesirable (I estimate based on comparison to my noctua filled mid-tower). I can't confirm for you that the fan is 92mm, but that is my best guess based on the gap to the 80mm fan I tried to fit.

A space for a forward intake fan would have been nice. And the air holes running the length of the case will welcome dust over time. I've become accustomed to mid-towers with fan grilles.
Other Thoughts: i3 4130
8GB G.Skill Ripjaw Low Voltage
250GB Samsung 840 SSD
Reviewed By:N/A,7/25/2014 5:56:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > MINIX > Minix NEO-X7-216A Quad-Core Cortex A9 Quad-Core Mali 400 1 x HDMI Remote Control Smart Media Hub

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Still not good enough
Pros: More features than you'll need.
Cons: Internal flash IO is very slow, its as if your running of a usb or sd card.
After a few weeks is will slow to a crawl until you reset the device. Software, like all these devices is buggy.
Controller sucks even with third party HIDs (again like most of these devices)
Other Thoughts: ONLY for tech savvy folks, DO NOT get this for your wife or parents they will hate it.
Reviewed By:TomD,7/15/2014 8:34:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > MINIX > Minix NEO X8-H Quad Core Cortex A9r4 Processor Octo Core Mali-450 GPU 1 x HDMI Quad Core Media Hub for Android

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Media Box
Pros: -Runs XBMC smooth as can be at 1080p
-Youtube App is Smooth
-QuadCore
-Optical Audio Out
Cons: Doesn't come Pre-rooted
Other Thoughts: I had a G-box MX-2 and I thought that was great, except XBMC was in 720p and was somewhat sluggish when scrolling through my movie Database.

This Neo- X8-H is way faster and smoother, so it takes care of the issues that I had with the G-Box.

I only use this for XBMC, YouTube, and Pandora, so it handles them flawlessly
Reviewed By:N/A,7/12/2014 1:20:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > CybertronPC > CybertronPC 5150 Escape TBB1244C AMD FX 4130 3.8GHz AMD Socket AM3+ ATI Radeon 3000 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 CybertronPC 5150 Escape TBB1244C
Pros: This an awesome system. name brand parts. very clean system. cables are routed and tied.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Would recomend
Reviewed By:Lowell1960,7/12/2014 1:09:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > MINIX > Minix NEO X8-H Quad Core Cortex A9r4 Processor Octo Core Mali-450 GPU 1 x HDMI Quad Core Media Hub for Android

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice HTPC but Not ready for prime time streaming
Pros: Choppy streaming and no Dolby when using Netflix (Android app limitation, not the fault of the player)

Very poor range on infrared remote (about 9-10 ft)

Web browsing sluggish
Cons: Plays MKVs, ISOs, etc via XBMC. All video served up from my network seemed smooth.
Other Thoughts: Sadly, I think this player is not ready to meet my needs. I am a heavy Netflix user and I've found the X8-H choppy when streaming over both wired and wireless, where my WDTV Live is smooth. Add to that the lack of Dolby Digital support in the Android Netflix app - I just can't take a step backwards.

Regarding the rest of the device - I serve up my 25K+ music library from a server running Tversity. DLNA streaming via XBMC has always been spotty. It's unusable here. I can, however, play the music without lag in Party Mode. It's a bit of a pain though.

The X8-H does play my MKV's and ISO's fine, so no real issue there. However, the WDTV Live upconverts 480p DVD-rips to 1080p and the X8-H appears to play them in real size. I am not sure that is true - just speculation.

Finally, the remote receiver sucks. I thought it was just the remote, but even mapping to my Logitech Harmony 700 didn't improve the range, which was roughly 10 feet. However, a wireless USB keyboard did lend snappy response from the arrow keys, making navigation much more pleasant.

Overall, a decent HTPC but not one that will meet my needs for daily movie and music streaming.
Reviewed By:horizonsfan,7/11/2014 7:21:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > MINIX > Minix NEO-X5MINI Rockchip RK3066 Dual-Core Cortex A9 Quad Core Mali 400 1 x HDMI Remote Control Smart Media Hub

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Updated Review
Pros: New version of the firmware (March 2014?) provides lots of updates, but not to the Android OS. Improves memory performance enough that when using the Minix XBMC, plays 1080p just fine, zero problems. Even fixed problems in configuring XBMC via the remote (previously needed a usb mouse or keyboard).
Cons: Latest firmware has the DNS set at 75.75.75.75, which sorta works, but prevents you from registering via Google Play for apps. Changing the settings to static, with a DNS of 8.8.8.8 (backup 8.8.4.4) fixes this.
Other Thoughts: Playback of 1080p transport streams from a HD Homerun Prime still struggle, but 720p channels work fine.

If you want flawless 1080p support for TS files, then get the quad core version, which is a tad overpriced given that a root is out for the Fire TV.
Reviewed By:Russ C.,7/7/2014 10:03:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > MSI > MSI Hetis H61 Ultra-E Intel Core i7 / i5 / i3 / Pentium (LGA1155) Intel Socket H2(LGA1155) Intel H61 Intel HD Graphics by CPU 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 newegg ripped me off
Pros: I cannot reveiw this it was dead on arival. I really would like to think it would of been a good system.
Cons: The customer support is wortless for exchanges and returns.
Other Thoughts: I bought this machine and and it didnt arrive with a processor, that came the next day. Once it arrived I noticed there was a problem with machine. It would fire but no video. I tried a different chip and memory and got nothing. I signed up for an rma only to find newegg completely ripprd me off because they would mot except the computer back without original box. The box was torn while opening it so it was discarded. I bought a product in good faith only to find newegg does anything they can to get out of supporting their customers. I wll never use newegg afain and I will spread the word everyway I can to to warn people of their fraud like activities.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,

We apologize for the issues that you are having with this product.

If you have any questions, please kindly get in touch with our tech support team directly at 626.271.1004 for assistance during regular business hours from M to F, 6am to 6pm Pacific Time, or you can email us at usreview@msi.com.
When contacting us, please kindly include your product info, thank you.

Best Regards,
MSI Review Team | usreview@msi.com

Reviewed By:tomrip,7/6/2014 8:01:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > JETWAY > JetWay HBJC373F38W-525-B Intel Atom D525 1.8GHz Intel ICH8M Intel GMA 3150 Barebone

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Great idea, poor execution, poor support
Pros: Form factor
Feature set
Cons: Non-maskable interrupts (NMI) without explanation
Other Thoughts: I contacted Jetway, but they have stopped responding to me, and I have not been able to get a resolution so I will be forced to return the product.

I was attempting to run Debian Linux (jessie, kernel 3.14.7) on it as a firewall. When the machine is under load, the kernel spits out the following messages periodically:

[ 113.202218] Uhhuh. NMI received for unknown reason 2d on CPU 0.
[ 113.202218] Do you have a strange power saving mode enabled?
[ 113.202218] Dazed and confused, but trying to continue
[ 124.517038] Uhhuh. NMI received for unknown reason 3d on CPU 0.
[ 124.517038] Do you have a strange power saving mode enabled?
[ 124.517038] Dazed and confused, but trying to continue
[ 159.657889] Uhhuh. NMI received for unknown reason 3d on CPU 0.
[ 159.657946] Do you have a strange power saving mode enabled?
[ 159.657994] Dazed and confused, but trying to continue
[ 189.437582] Uhhuh. NMI received for unknown reason 3d on CPU 0.
[ 189.437582] Do you have a strange power saving mode enabled?
[ 189.437582] Dazed and confused, but trying to continue
[ 189.469271] Uhhuh. NMI received for unknown reason 3d on CPU 0.
[ 189.469271] Do you have a strange power saving mode enabled?
[ 189.469271] Dazed and confused, but trying to continue

While I can find references to these messages in Google, there is nothing that appears directly related to this problem. (Presumably) the same problem halts memtest86+ completely within a minute of it starting.

I have mostly ruled-out RAM as a problem by testing a different module and getting the same result. It doesn't appear to be overheating (although the only sensors I have access to are for the CPU, and those are reading at most 32°C). (Note for other reviewers: "hot to the touch" is not a way to judge whether a system is within spec or not.)
Reviewed By:squarooticus,7/3/2014 12:17:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau