Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Barebone PCs > MINIX > Minix NEO X8-H Quad Core Cortex A9r4 Processor Octo Core Mali-450 GPU 1 x HDMI Quad Core Media Hub for Android

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice HTPC but Not ready for prime time streaming
Pros: Choppy streaming and no Dolby when using Netflix (Android app limitation, not the fault of the player)

Very poor range on infrared remote (about 9-10 ft)

Web browsing sluggish
Cons: Plays MKVs, ISOs, etc via XBMC. All video served up from my network seemed smooth.
Other Thoughts: Sadly, I think this player is not ready to meet my needs. I am a heavy Netflix user and I've found the X8-H choppy when streaming over both wired and wireless, where my WDTV Live is smooth. Add to that the lack of Dolby Digital support in the Android Netflix app - I just can't take a step backwards.

Regarding the rest of the device - I serve up my 25K+ music library from a server running Tversity. DLNA streaming via XBMC has always been spotty. It's unusable here. I can, however, play the music without lag in Party Mode. It's a bit of a pain though.

The X8-H does play my MKV's and ISO's fine, so no real issue there. However, the WDTV Live upconverts 480p DVD-rips to 1080p and the X8-H appears to play them in real size. I am not sure that is true - just speculation.

Finally, the remote receiver sucks. I thought it was just the remote, but even mapping to my Logitech Harmony 700 didn't improve the range, which was roughly 10 feet. However, a wireless USB keyboard did lend snappy response from the arrow keys, making navigation much more pleasant.

Overall, a decent HTPC but not one that will meet my needs for daily movie and music streaming.
Reviewed By:horizonsfan,7/11/2014 7:21:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > MINIX > Minix NEO-X5MINI Rockchip RK3066 Dual-Core Cortex A9 Quad Core Mali 400 1 x HDMI Remote Control Smart Media Hub

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Updated Review
Pros: New version of the firmware (March 2014?) provides lots of updates, but not to the Android OS. Improves memory performance enough that when using the Minix XBMC, plays 1080p just fine, zero problems. Even fixed problems in configuring XBMC via the remote (previously needed a usb mouse or keyboard).
Cons: Latest firmware has the DNS set at 75.75.75.75, which sorta works, but prevents you from registering via Google Play for apps. Changing the settings to static, with a DNS of 8.8.8.8 (backup 8.8.4.4) fixes this.
Other Thoughts: Playback of 1080p transport streams from a HD Homerun Prime still struggle, but 720p channels work fine.

If you want flawless 1080p support for TS files, then get the quad core version, which is a tad overpriced given that a root is out for the Fire TV.
Reviewed By:Russ C.,7/7/2014 10:03:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > MSI > MSI Hetis H61 Ultra-E Intel Core i7 / i5 / i3 / Pentium (LGA1155) Intel Socket H2(LGA1155) Intel H61 Intel HD Graphics by CPU 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 newegg ripped me off
Pros: I cannot reveiw this it was dead on arival. I really would like to think it would of been a good system.
Cons: The customer support is wortless for exchanges and returns.
Other Thoughts: I bought this machine and and it didnt arrive with a processor, that came the next day. Once it arrived I noticed there was a problem with machine. It would fire but no video. I tried a different chip and memory and got nothing. I signed up for an rma only to find newegg completely ripprd me off because they would mot except the computer back without original box. The box was torn while opening it so it was discarded. I bought a product in good faith only to find newegg does anything they can to get out of supporting their customers. I wll never use newegg afain and I will spread the word everyway I can to to warn people of their fraud like activities.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,

We apologize for the issues that you are having with this product.

If you have any questions, please kindly get in touch with our tech support team directly at 626.271.1004 for assistance during regular business hours from M to F, 6am to 6pm Pacific Time, or you can email us at usreview@msi.com.
When contacting us, please kindly include your product info, thank you.

Best Regards,
MSI Review Team | usreview@msi.com

Reviewed By:tomrip,7/6/2014 8:01:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > JETWAY > JetWay HBJC373F38W-525-B Intel Atom D525 1.8GHz Intel ICH8M Intel GMA 3150 Barebone

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Great idea, poor execution, poor support
Pros: Form factor
Feature set
Cons: Non-maskable interrupts (NMI) without explanation
Other Thoughts: I contacted Jetway, but they have stopped responding to me, and I have not been able to get a resolution so I will be forced to return the product.

I was attempting to run Debian Linux (jessie, kernel 3.14.7) on it as a firewall. When the machine is under load, the kernel spits out the following messages periodically:

[ 113.202218] Uhhuh. NMI received for unknown reason 2d on CPU 0.
[ 113.202218] Do you have a strange power saving mode enabled?
[ 113.202218] Dazed and confused, but trying to continue
[ 124.517038] Uhhuh. NMI received for unknown reason 3d on CPU 0.
[ 124.517038] Do you have a strange power saving mode enabled?
[ 124.517038] Dazed and confused, but trying to continue
[ 159.657889] Uhhuh. NMI received for unknown reason 3d on CPU 0.
[ 159.657946] Do you have a strange power saving mode enabled?
[ 159.657994] Dazed and confused, but trying to continue
[ 189.437582] Uhhuh. NMI received for unknown reason 3d on CPU 0.
[ 189.437582] Do you have a strange power saving mode enabled?
[ 189.437582] Dazed and confused, but trying to continue
[ 189.469271] Uhhuh. NMI received for unknown reason 3d on CPU 0.
[ 189.469271] Do you have a strange power saving mode enabled?
[ 189.469271] Dazed and confused, but trying to continue

While I can find references to these messages in Google, there is nothing that appears directly related to this problem. (Presumably) the same problem halts memtest86+ completely within a minute of it starting.

I have mostly ruled-out RAM as a problem by testing a different module and getting the same result. It doesn't appear to be overheating (although the only sensors I have access to are for the CPU, and those are reading at most 32°C). (Note for other reviewers: "hot to the touch" is not a way to judge whether a system is within spec or not.)
Reviewed By:squarooticus,7/3/2014 12:17:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > JETWAY > JetWay HBJC373F38W-525-B Intel Atom D525 1.8GHz Intel ICH8M Intel GMA 3150 Barebone

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great computer...with possible solution to overheating issue some people have reported
Pros: Small design, four ethernet ports, Compact Flash and two Mini PCI-e ports. Works great as a pfSense firewall router and wifi AP.
Cons: I am writing this review to address the overheating issue. When I first got the computer I also had problems with the system shutting down due to heat. I found the problem to be a small air gap between the CPU and the exterior heat sink like case. The CPU should touch the metal case so the heat can be drawn away from the CPU. I tore the PC down and applied thermal paste to the CPU. Now the temp stays between 60 to 65 degrees Fahrenheit. I have read that that is still a little hot, but at least it works now. Have had it on 24/7 for over 7 months now.
Reviewed By:JimL,7/1/2014 10:14:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > CybertronPC > CybertronPC Forge TBB1263B AMD A4-3400 2.70 GHz AMD Radeon HD6410D Mini-Tower Barebone - Bulk

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 CyberTron PC
Pros: Cybertron Systems are Stable and have great branded parts. A+
Cons: NONE
Reviewed By:MICROAIDEINC,7/1/2014 1:15:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > CybertronPC > CybertronPC 5150 Escape TBB1244C AMD FX 4130 3.8GHz AMD Socket AM3+ ATI Radeon 3000 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 CybertronPC 5150 Escape TBB1244C
Pros: Very nice system runs windows 8.1 great
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Lowell1960,6/25/2014 8:43:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > Shuttle Computer > Shuttle XH61V Intel Core i3 / i5 / i7 / Pentium / CeleronIntel Core i7 / i5 / i3 / Pentium (LGA1155) Intel Socket H2(LGA1155) Intel H61 none 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Product
Pros: Very easy to put together; comes with clear instruction manual. Perfectly compatible with my old laptop optical drive and harddrive running Linux. Could not have asked for a better office/work computer. Small, quiet, runs cool. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a tiny desktop machine.
Cons: Have not found anything bad yet. Will it play games? Probably not, but I didn't buy it for gaming purposes.
Other Thoughts: Specs don't mention it, but it has two front USB ports, a front mic jack, and a front headphone jack (they're hidden inside a panel underneath the power button).
Reviewed By:N/A,6/23/2014 12:56:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > MSI > MSI Nightblade-013BUS Intel Core i7 / i5 / i3 / Pentium (LGA1150) Intel Socket LGA1150 Intel Z87 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not as good as it should be
Pros: looks great and awesome ventilation
Cons: i AM GOING ON MY 3RD BAREBONE ON WARRANTY. The first one wouldn't boot up. I tried different cpus, memorie, and hard drives but still wouldn't boot up. The second one booted up as soon as I installed all the hardware and Windows 8.1 pro. Once I started to get the drivers installed the computer would not boot up anymore. I reseted the CMOS changed the hard drive cpu and memory in that order but it wouldn't boot up again.
Other Thoughts: The CPUs I tried are i3 4150 haswell dual core and i7 4770 haswell quad core. The memory were 2 8GB Team Dark Series 240-Pin ddr 3 and I used 2 different 128gb kingston SSD HDs.

I tested everything on a ASUS Sabertooth X79. They all work fine on the asus MB but the nightblade stops booting up after a few hours
Reviewed By:xxxyadxxx,6/17/2014 10:44:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > JETWAY > JetWay HBJC371F35W-T40E-B AMD G-T40E APU (1.0GHz, dual core) AMD A50M (Hudson M1) AMD Radeon HD6250 Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 My New Pfsense Device
Pros: Fanless, dual ethernet with a number of optional configurations
Cons: No cons, but this thing would be an amazing value with serial console redirection
Other Thoughts: I replaced the wireless module with an mSATA module for the internal storage. Another decent use for this device is a serial console since it sports 4 db9 serial interfaces. For me I use one interface for WAN and the other is carved up in to VLAN's, which works beautifully with Pfsense.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/15/2014 11:45:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau