Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > Foxconn > Foxconn RM3-H2 Intel Core i7 / i5 / i3 / Pentium (LGA1155) Intel Socket H2(LGA1155) Intel H61 none 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Will not boot up with Ivy Bridge Processor
Pros: No pros this far, I cant get this to work. Foxconn support telephone number for North America is disconnected
Cons: Does not work, will not buy another product by this company
Other Thoughts: I read bunch of reviews this product need updated BIOS chip for Ivy Bridge processor, called Foxconn in Los Angeles just to find out the number has been disconnected. I am money out of pocket with this computer, I bought RAM, Hard Drive, DVD-Drive, CPU just to find out it's not working
Reviewed By:Marek P.,1/8/2016 2:12:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > CybertronPC > CybertronPC Forge TBB1123A Intel i3-3220 3.30GHz Intel HD Graphics Mini-Tower Barebone

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Bad Motherboard
Pros: None
Cons: Shortly after installing a hard drive, optical drive, and Windows this system started throwing random blue screens. After hours of fruitless troubleshooting, including replacing the RAM that came with the system, removing the wireless card that came with it, and trying a different hard drive than the one I purchased separately, I've come to the conclusion the motherboard is bad. It might be simply bad luck, but since the warranty is no longer valid I'm left with a barebones kit that has been a complete waste of time and money.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/6/2016 8:51:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > MSI > MSI Nightblade X2-001BUS Intel 6th Gen. Core i7 / i5 / i3 / Pentiuml / Celeron (Max. TDP: 95W) Intel Socket LGA1151 Intel Z170 Support up to a two-slot design of graphics card up to a GTX 980Ti, max 290mm length 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great lil' Lanbox!
Pros: - The general quality is absolutely awesome
- Thread lock on the screws so they don't slack when you carry the thing around
- Internal management among the best I have seen (more than 10 years of experience)
Cons: - Non-standard motherboard
- Non-standard PSU
- Could not boot from Windows 7 installation CD, had to make a UEFI USB drive
- CPU bracket is threaded. You will have to use a cooler that screws from the top, or modify the bracket (or the cooler). You cannot just remove or change the bracket as it's holding the CPU socket too. Because of this the stock Intel cooler won't fit without some modification. It was a minor issue for me, but could be a bigger problem for some and Newegg should state this in the specification page.
Other Thoughts: First, the quality of all the component impressed me. The paint is tough and thick, the plastics are good, even the screws are great, all black anodized steel screws with threadlock! This is a serious case you are getting, I worked with 200$ Lian-Li or Silverstone cases that do not put as much attention to to details like that, the bar is set high.
Also, the internal management is really well though and you get different length SATA cables. No need for cable ties, there is clips everywhere a cable should go. It was a lot easier than expected to wire a GTX970 and drives inside this small case.
The problem come when you get to the CPU cooler. As the back bracket is threaded, your cooler need to screw from the top. If not, you will have to modify the bracket, or the cooler. I personally just cut the arms of the bracket, it took me 5 minutes and I could put whatever cooler I wanted. Still, I think that Newegg should states this in the item specifications.
Reviewed By:Francis D.,1/6/2016 5:19:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > MSI > MSI Nightblade MI2-001BUS Intel 6th Gen CPU Intel Socket LGA1151 Intel B150 Support up to a two-slot design of graphics card up to GTX 970 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing small gaming barebone
Pros: Looks neat has customizable Lighting on the front. Comes with slim/laptop style CD/DVD Rom drive. Nice bays for SSD/HDs Quiet Very small.
Cons: only con is it is a pretty tight fit inside the case. had to rearrange cables inside because they were touching the heat pipes for the included CPU cooler. The cable management clips inside the case helped make this an easy task.
Other Thoughts: I installed an Intel Core i5-6500 Skylake 16 GB DDR4 ram and a Nvidia GTX 950. Runs quiet cool and fast no problems what so ever.
Reviewed By:Joshua W.,1/4/2016 6:24:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > Shuttle Computer > Shuttle SH97R6 Intel Core i7 / i5 / i3 / Pentium (LGA1150) Intel Socket LGA1150 Intel H97 1 x HDMI Triple-display Mini server

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Would NOT buy again
Pros: Not many Pros. It is capable of using the new Intel Haswell processor so you may NOT need a video card.
Cons: To complete this system, you will need a processor, hard drive, memory and an operating system. Depending on the processor you buy, and the screen speed you need, you may also need a video card (if you are a gamer) will probably want a video card). I bought a Intel Core i5-4590S Haswell Quad-Core 3.0 processor ($209.00), 32g of memory [2 x CORSAIR 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 Desktop Memory] ($160.00), a Crucial M550 mSATA 512GB drive ($233.00) and a 1TB 2" HD ($100) replacement for the mSATA drive that didn’t work and ended with around $950 in this system because I already had windows 8.1 for this PC (Note: I did upgrade to win 10 but had driver problems). There are definitely other less expensive ways to go! In addition, I also have had problems with this particular Shuttle PC reading both my internal mSATA 500g drive and the same drive after I converted it to an external USB drive. It was also NOT just this mSATA drive, I tried 2 others with the same result – none of them worked so I would NOT buy this shuttle again. I did contact shuttle and they said they would like me to send them my computer (and all the PCIE drives I tested) and they would look into it, but with only 1 computer, I couldn't do that and they would NOT send me a working replacement first! So I am just using it as is. I am Not happy with this Shuttle unit and can NOT recommend anyone purchasing it after the problems I have had.
Other Thoughts: Shuttle needs to resolve their mSATA drive issue. Maybe others have had success, but I sure didn't. It was a huge waste of my time getting this PC running. I have been a Microsoft beta tester since 1980 and have been putting PCs together since 1973 or so and this has been one of my worst experiences. Since I have now upgraded over 250 PCs of various types to windows 10, it was not a windows 10 issue either.
Reviewed By:Leon B.,12/26/2015 8:33:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > Shuttle Computer > Shuttle XH81V Intel Core i7 / i5 / i3 / Pentium / Celeron 65W Intel H81 1 x HDMI Barebone system

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great unit for specific use cases
Pros: Well built, solid design. Throw in an Intel copy some ram and a 2.5" hdd and your ready to roll. Great for small PC like edu computer lab or kiosks. We use ours as the base of a small Linux based NVR along with a WD red 3tb hdd. Very pleased with the quality of this product.
Cons: None that I can think of. Ok just so I can put something down, it would get 5 eggs if it had a built in case tamper.
Other Thoughts: Updated my review today just to say, this thing has been sitting on a shelf recording video for a while now with not one single problem or reboot. Great little tiny box to set on a shelf and forget. If your space limited, this is for you!
Reviewed By:Ryan S.,12/21/2015 4:45:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > MSI > MSI Nightblade X2-001BUS Intel 6th Gen. Core i7 / i5 / i3 / Pentiuml / Celeron (Max. TDP: 95W) Intel Socket LGA1151 Intel Z170 Support up to a two-slot design of graphics card up to a GTX 980Ti, max 290mm length 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Stock Intel CPU cooler does not fit.
Pros: Looks cool.
Cons: The motherboard has threaded holes for the cpu cooler and the retail boxed intel skylake processors have snap on cpu coolers that will not fit through securely. No online support from MSI for this product yet. I'll be calling tech support during the week.
Other Thoughts: Without the cpu cooler from MSI this product is not functional.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Ryan,
Please kindly use below CPU cooler for this Nightblade X2, thanks!

https://shop.msicomputer.com/app/storefront/ProductDetail.aspx?ID=1478
If you need further assistant, Please do not hesitate to contact us directly by email at usreview@msi.com or by phone at 626.271.1004 M-F, 6AM to 6PM PST. We will be more than happy to assist you.

Thanks for choosing MSI

Best Regards,
MSI Review Team | usreview@msi.com

Reviewed By:Ryan C.,12/19/2015 3:12:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > Shuttle Computer > Shuttle SZ87R6 Intel Core i7 / i5 / i3 / Pentium (LGA1150) Intel Socket LGA1150 Intel Z87 1 x HDMI High-Performance Multi-Display & Video Wall Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Just what you want in a mini PC
Pros: Compact and small. Reliable. Versatile. Quiet. I like Shuttle's small form factor and product quality seems sturdy.
Cons: None, except for one driver issue I ran into for Server 2012

I run Windows Server 2012 on it: Key point you must get the video driver from the Intel website . Shuttles version will break the 2012 Server OS requiring reinstall.
Other Thoughts: This is my second shuttle. I like them after buying my 1st one so here I am again... Playing HD to my tv through this quiet little box with a slim wireless Bluetooth keyboard connected. Love it. Fast because I put a good CPU in mine so I could run HyperV. It's really proving to be a great mini high end workstation that I use in my TV room for playing video and serving VMs.
Reviewed By:Chris J.,12/19/2015 1:16:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > MSI > MSI Nightblade X2-001BUS Intel 6th Gen. Core i7 / i5 / i3 / Pentiuml / Celeron (Max. TDP: 95W) Intel Socket LGA1151 Intel Z170 Support up to a two-slot design of graphics card up to a GTX 980Ti, max 290mm length 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 why did they do that?
Pros: I really like the Nightblade original, built one for a friend and it runs like a dream with SSD's. Oh yes the X2 it looks really cool and happy to see the extra SSD slot open but that's about it.
Cons: 1# - MSI.com do not make heat sinks so STOP making CPU back plates!!

2# Stock CPU heat sink dose NOT FIT!!!

yes cut some piece off an old heat sink to make it fit bla bla

Listen... I'm not building a house I'm trying to assemble a pc, MSI can you try to comprehend that?

thinking to return it because of issues with the CPU heat sink....
Other Thoughts: really nice case but lots of head aches for me due to the stupidity of blocking the stock heat sink/fan I just don't understand why??

every aftermarket heat sink come with their OWN back plates so again why MSI???
Manufacturer Response:Dear Marcin,
Thank you for the feedback.If you have any questions or concerns regarding the product, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at usreview@msi.com or contact our support phone number at 626-271-1004 M-F 6am to 6pm pst. and we will be more than happy to assist you, thank you.

Thanks for choosing MSI

Best Regards,
MSI Review Team | usreview@msi.com

Reviewed By:N/A,12/11/2015 9:08:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > ASRock > ASRock M8-Z97 5th Generation Intel Core i7/i5/i3/Pentium/Celeron Intel Socket LGA1150 Intel Z97 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 First time
Pros: No one can deny that this is a beautiful looking mini itx case, possibly the best looking one out there. It is made out of good sturdy outside materials, I believe it is aluminum and you can feel that it is solid. The design on the inside works great if you want to build a pc that packs a punch.
Cons: Sadly I decided to ignore the reviews on this and went ahead and purchased the case. I took all the time to get all the parts in and had everything set up nice then when to power on and it started and stopped. I have built many pc's and this is usually fixable but suprisingly with the second click it started up fine. Mid installation of windows 10 it died and seemed like it was doing whatever it wanted with turning on and off then working but not displaying any image. After troubleshooting for hours I cam to the conclusion that it was a bad motherboard. A bad motherboard! I was so disappointed in asrock on this one. I am usually a die hard MSI fan but I had no choice with this case. The motherboard was DOA and now after spending almost $2000 on this build I had to RMA the case and by the time the new one arrives hopefully working, It will be 3 weeks from the time of my original purchase. I am extremely upset with asrock and newegg.com about this one. My first part DOA officially goes to ASROCK.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Alexander,

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
Please trouble shoot the mainboard whether the issue is resolved.
• Turn the power off.
• Clear the CMOS.
• Check the mainboard’s CPU contact pins are normal (should be pointing same way and pattern).
• Reseat the CPU and heatsink fan if socket pins are normal.
• Test with single memory module.
• Test with onboard video.
• Connect the monitor.
• Turn on the power to check if its post.

If you have any technical support inquiry, please contact us at http://www.ASRock.com/Support/tsd.asp
We will assist you shortly.

Thank you

ASRock Support
Tech Support Email: http://www.ASRock.com/Support/tsd.asp

Reviewed By:N/A,12/10/2015 5:31:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.