Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > MSI > MSI Nightblade X2-001BUS Intel 6th Gen. Core i7 / i5 / i3 / Pentiuml / Celeron (Max. TDP: 95W) Intel Socket LGA1151 Intel Z170 Support up to a two-slot design of graphics card up to a GTX 980Ti, max 290mm length 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Really great portable Lan box by MSI!!
Pros: Nice design
Small but sufficient power supply
Was nice to have mobo pre-installed
Sleeved cables.
Nice layout.
Cons: Not much of a con, the mobo requires a screw type cooler.
I installed a Corsair H60 liquid cooler. There is only only a total of two fan controllers on the mobo, so had to buy a fan splitter cable.
Other Thoughts: I would totally buy this again. Tight fit when everything goes in, however the Corsair H60 managed to fit. In order to fit I had to trim off some plastic on the side fan bracket. Be careful not to kink hoses putting everything back into box. This system is FAST! Changed fan on Corsair H60 to Noctura 3000 rpm black fan. Fan produces almost no noise. CPU temps at idle stay right at 19-20 degrees. What more could you ask for. Actually I have case fan unhooked until fan splitter arrives. Heat isn't an issue and you could probably get by on this setup with no case fan at all! Newegg service was great!

MSI Nightblade x2
Intel I5 6600K
Gskill 32 GB RAM 16x2
MSI Nvidia GTX 970 4GB
Samsung 950 Pro 512 GB
WD Black 7200 1TB
Corsair H60
Reviewed By:Will S.,4/28/2016 6:53:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > ASRock > ASRock M8 Mini ITX Gaming PC 4th Gen Intel Core i7/i5/i3/Xeon/Pentium/Celeron Intel Socket LGA1150 Intel Z87 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Compact, Sturdy, Air flow is the hardest part.
Pros: -Great size, can fit a pretty huge video card
-decent power supply
-included motherboard is good
-includes wifi ac
-red led lights (that was a surprise)
-slot in dvd drive
-5 available sata ports (with space for 5 solid state drives)
Cons: -only 1 pcie (it's mini-itx_
-2 sodimm ddr3
-low overhead for coolers (stock intel cooler technically fits, but with the sidepanel on, severely limits airflow
-poor cooling
-front power button kinda stiff
-4th i series processors
Other Thoughts: I ordered mine may 2016. Seems to be old stock, but at least in mine, they swapped the direction of the bottom intake fan to push air out. Back bottom fan is set to pull air in which is not bad. Both top fans are set to push air out.

I used the noctua nh l9i. It's not the best cooler, but performs better than the intel stock cooler due to having more space overhead for air to circulate. Have to remove the motherboard in order to install.

The wifi card is suprisingly decent. good throughput over on my ac network.

If I were to change one thing, it'd be to possibly have a vent on the panel over the cpu sink.

Case arrived in good condition, dense pack foam was used.

besides the processor and ram, the possibility of upgrading your video card and adding more sdds is nice.

For what I paid 200, I feel like it was worth it.

i5 4590
gtx 970
mushkin eco 480gb
sandisk 240gb
2x8gb ddr3 sodimm
noctua nh-l9i
Reviewed By:Ben D.,4/22/2016 6:12:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > ASRock > ASRock M8 Mini ITX Gaming PC 4th Gen Intel Core i7/i5/i3/Xeon/Pentium/Celeron Intel Socket LGA1150 Intel Z87 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great quility build and "nice" over all barebone
Pros: Its an awesome little box, its a 10 on the cool looks factor. It will actually
hold pretty good size 3.1"h cooler. Cool red lights on the inside. Low price.
Don't get infatuated because it's cheap, looks good and you think its gonna be
easy, while that works in other areas of your life does not hold true in this situation.
Its still 4 year old technology remember that. Includes hardware.
Cons: Your limited to a Nvidia card by the 450/35a on the 12 power supply (50a total).
To upgrade to the 650W SilverStone SX-SFX is about $125, sell the 450 for 50$ and
it's only 75$ upgrade. One side of that P/S should be open/caseless/mesh and
vented out side wall, its already against the front of the case. Its
vented internally (inside the case) which is a complete stooge move. Not enough
juice to run a R9 card, i don't care what the HCL says i know better.
Other Thoughts: I own 3 already, i bought 2 here and one "open box" on auction for less than a
stick of memory cost. I know what happened to that unit, it came all in pieces
in 2 boxes. More than likely because someone couldn't read the directions or figure
out how to put it back together. I been doing this a long time, i'm not afraid
to cut-bend-drill-force-modify anything, on the spot re-engineering is how
us professionals refer to it. I have more solutions than problems. I will be
cutting 1 side of the power supply open and venting it behind the front
panel-probably.

I bought a big nasty Zalman 125W+ cooler same time i ordered this. I now have 3 of
the 4 fans blowing in. My i7 is only 85W at stock speeds. Heat is not an issue in my unit.

Im gonna say i bet a lot of these are getting returned for the obvious reason
of it being more difficult that an average user can handle putting together.

I7-4790 non K, but OC's quite nicely in this BIOS with the added big cooler.
Nvidia GTX 980 (ref)
2 x 500 SSD raid 0 (SP S55 @ 1000+ Mbs)
2 x 8 GB of one of the SKH brands of memory (G-Skill, Kingston, Ballistx...?)

I will write a more detailed review at another time after i finish another one.
I just don't think this should get such a bad rap because of people's low frustration
tolerance or lack of experience. READ THE MANUAL.

I wont recommend this for a first time builder. For an advanced tech there is no real
difficult problems- only solutions.
Reviewed By:Andy B.,3/26/2016 11:07:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > Foxconn > Foxconn SFF R20-A1 AMD E-350 APU (1.6GHz, Dual-Core) AMD A45 (Hudson D1) AMD Radeon HD6310 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great workstation
Pros: At this point I am going on 4 years of continued use on this little barebone. I used it as my business workstation, my playtime machine, development machine, virtual host, I found the TPM for it and have set it up...

This little box is still rocking nicely. I ran virtuals, I crunched world community grid projects and did real work too... Very happy with this purchase. For the other hardware that I included in my build check out my previous review date (2/3/2012)
Cons: None at all. The barebone was an awesome purchase.
Other Thoughts: I have since moved the motherboard and components to an Antec ISK300-150 and added a 2 port Intel gigabit adapter. The original case was still quite functional so I donated it to Goodwill.

This is a barebone and as such does not function until you add other components. If you picked the wrong SSD, or if you threw in another graphics card that overdrew from the power supply or if you went with the wrong memory (voltage) or if you didn't read the reviews ahead of time to learn that you needed to spend 5 bucks on a longer SATA cable... the problem lies in 1 place... and it is NOT with the barebone.
Reviewed By:James C.,3/26/2016 9:07:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > ECS (EliteGroup) > ECS V20-BAT-J1900 Intel Bay Trail-D, J1900-series Barebone

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 specs still wrong
Pros: not a bad.. 19"...not the best screen. audio is ok.. but not loud.. baytrail.. seemed snappy runs win 10 or ubuntu with no issues..just dont go looking for drivers for the battery or touch ..lol
Cons: specs are still wrong.... no battery............. touch is not an option on this model
Other Thoughts: Posted : GMT 2016/03/17 17:15:02
Is this the model you purchased from Newegg?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16856501016

Unfortunately, Newegg has incorrect specifications listed.
This model does not come with a battery or a touch screen.

None of the V20-BAT models come with a battery. Newegg takes the specification from our website but likely took the specifications from the V20S-BAT.
http://www.ecs.com.tw/ECSWebSite/Product/Product_Detail.aspx?CategoryID=12&TypeID=67&DetailID=1592&DetailName=Feature&MenuID=41&LanID=0

The V20S-BAT with battery is an optional feature. Currently Newegg is not selling the V20S-BAT.

Only certain models of the V20-BAT comes with touch screen. Currently Newegg is not selling the touch screen model.

We have asked Newegg to correct these specification on their website. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.
Reviewed By:joseph w.,3/24/2016 9:35:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > Shuttle Computer > Shuttle SX58H7 Intel Core i7 (LGA1366) LGA1366 Intel X58 Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Quite Possibly the Best PC Ever
Pros: Still going VERY strong in 2016 from 2009
Can actually upgrade to 8GB DDR3 ram (x3 or x4) for 24GB or 32GB
Can Overclock even the i7-920 to 3.5GHz using stock cooler.
If no optical, can fit 2x 120mm Fans + Water Cooled Radiator for CPU (can overclock even higher)
Can upgrade to (now cheap) Xeon processors for awesome CPU / L3 cache speedups (2x i7-920)
Will support even the latest GPU cards (nVidia 960/970/980 etc) with stock 500W Power supply.
Beyond a doubt, the longest lived PC I've owned (I used to upgrade my PC every 18 months).
Supports both RAID0 (striping for speed) and RAID1 (mirroring for redudancy) - I used 2*250GB RAID0 drives for C:
Cons: Has many USB2.0 ports, but no USB3.0 (not that I have a use for them).
Stock cover for PC needs more ventilation to keep loaded PC cool (55C idle)
CPU Runs fairly hot if air overclocked (80C is well within CPU specs max is 100C)
No support for mSata/M.2 type SSD cards, but standard 2.5" SSDs deliver most of that.
Other Thoughts: This is my 4 Shuttle PC and I still love this brand, all of the Capacitors are solid metal (not Electrolytic) so they last about 5x as long as usual, meaning the PC will not go back from leaking caps. Unless I need another one, I will continue to ride my SX58H7 for even longer -- just amazing durability.
Reviewed By:TERJE B.,3/21/2016 7:25:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > MSI > MSI Hetis H61 Ultra Intel Core i7 / i5 / i3 / Pentium (LGA1155) Intel Socket H2(LGA1155) Intel H61 Intel HD Graphics by CPU 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Sweet Box
Pros: Nice for PointOfSale systems, budget machine builds with cheap parts, but upgradable to high end components if desired. Many display connection options, nice for home entertainment hub. Small size and flat side operation. Intel GFX on-chip capable. Best for business use or primary home internet machine.
Cons: Proprietary CPU cooler, is why it comes with one.
No Wifi/bluetooth, adaptor needed.
Other Thoughts: Not a gaming rig, but better than any steam machine. Nice for running old console emulators.
DDR3-1333 RAM only.
Proprietary riser card for expansion slots, wont fit fat gaming video card.
A likeness on the old ASUS Pundit machines, useful with today's hardware.
I personally love the 2x 9-Pin COM ports as I use them for experimenting and other exotic local hardware.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/21/2016 1:32:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > Shuttle Computer > Shuttle SH87R6 Intel 4th Generation Core i3/i5/i7 Intel Socket LGA1150 Intel H87 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Item. Up and running quick
Pros: I've built dozens of clone PCs from individually purchasec components over the past 20 years for both personal and business use. Shuttle makes that process extremely easy. Besides the Shuttle item, all you really need is a HDD and a CPU and RAM and you're ready to go. It takes about 10-15 minutes to completely assemble one of these to boot up (installing CPU, RAM, HDD), not including unboxing time. You can actually make a very powerful gaming PC out of one of these little guys if you use a beefy CPU and decent video card. Video card is not necessary, onboard graphics have been sufficient for all my needs of this item.
Cons: Really can't think of anything. Very well designed. Maybe you might need a bigger CPU fan if you got a super high power CPU, but you can't expect a huge fan to fit in this little guy. Included CPU fan has been enough fo me.
Other Thoughts: I've purchased 6 of these for my company. Made a video rendering farm in our server room and got a whole lot of horsepower out of 3 PCs for about $1000 each [CPU was more than the Shuttle].
Reviewed By:Anthony M.,3/9/2016 3:35:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > ASRock > ASRock M8 Mini ITX Gaming PC 4th Gen Intel Core i7/i5/i3/Xeon/Pentium/Celeron Intel Socket LGA1150 Intel Z87 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 solid build, looks nice.
Pros: -Soo many USB ports.
-Easy access.
-Pretty small.
-Solid and easy to carry.
Cons: -I wish it had more expansion slots, but I'm not sure where they'd fit them in.
-Power button gets annoying if you accidentally turn it.
Other Thoughts: I've been using this case for almost a year as a both demo machine and for personal gaming, frequently taking it between home and work and on road trips to conferences. So far no problems!

It's nice being able to plug four controllers into the front (or back) with no extra USB hub.
Reviewed By:Shant P.,3/3/2016 3:55:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > ASRock > ASRock M8 Mini ITX Gaming PC 4th Gen Intel Core i7/i5/i3/Xeon/Pentium/Celeron Intel Socket LGA1150 Intel Z87 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Looks nice
Pros: Product looks nice, good quality build
Cons: Have to spend 20 minutes taking it apart just to put in the initial hard disk, requires quite a bit of disassembly to replace anything but ram
Reviewed By:David G.,2/27/2016 7:50:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.