Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > CD / DVD Burners > ASUS > ASUS DVD-Writer 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 24X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM Black SATA Model DRW-24F1ST

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: -cheap
-quiet, I cannot hear it over my tower's fans
-works great
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: does what it's supposed to do and does a great job doing it
Reviewed By:N/A,6/2/2015 4:29:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > CD / DVD Burners > Lite-On > LITE-ON DVD Burner 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 24X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM SATA Model iHAS124-14

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Easy to install and works right off the bat. Cheap price from all the others that newegg had to offer. Will buy again if needed.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,6/2/2015 1:17:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > CD / DVD Burners > ASUS > ASUS 24X DVD Burner - Bulk 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 24X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM Black SATA Model DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 reliable
Pros: It's a dvd burner...old tech=reliable
Cons: none
Reviewed By:some user,6/2/2015 7:33:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > CD / DVD Burners > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG DVD Burner 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 24X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM SATA Model SH-224DB/RSBS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 5 Stars at a great price!
Pros: It seems to be a solid drive. Reliable burns, churning out several copies with flawless results.
Cons: The only problem I have with this drive is the loud operation. As noted with several other reviewers, the drive is very loud.

I used this drive to repair a friends computer. She hardly uses the drive for anything, and has a budget to stay within. The unit was $13.99 on sale, and was perfect for her. (It was a great price till I ordered it, and then NewEgg decided to drop the price another dollar!) Isn't that the way it always seems to go? If I had to pay $20 for it, I think I'd rate it at 3 stars.

Still... I'm happy with the operation, and the price was right.
Other Thoughts: If it hadn't been on sale, I'd rather stick with Lite-On, or another one of the more well known drives. For less than $15, this is a great drive!

The software that is included with the drive, is best stored in the waste basket. I would think for a drive that regularly sells for $20, they really should have included a reputable burning program.

But on the bright side, you'll have an excellent coaster. Set your beer on it, because that's all it's good for. But, there's plenty of great freeware burning programs out there. I downloaded a copy, and she should be a very happy camper.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/1/2015 9:16:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > CD / DVD Burners > ASUS > ASUS DVD-Writer 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 24X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM Black SATA Model DRW-24F1ST

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Does what it should
Pros: Works flawlessly. Bang for the buck its the best option.
Cons: A bit loud, but I rarely use it so not an issue.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/1/2015 8:12:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > CD / DVD Burners > Lite-On > LITE-ON DVD Burner 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 24X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM SATA Model iHAS124-14

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Basic Optical Drive
Pros: I use this optical drive very often in budget pc builds. It is a standard no bells and whistles optical drive.

Get this drive if you are on a budget and it is on sale for less than 20 dollars. Otherwise, there are better options such as an ASUS.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,5/31/2015 9:56:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > CD / DVD Burners > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG DVD Burner 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 24X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM SATA Model SH-224DB/BEBE

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 This is Samsung?!?!
Pros: It came free with case purchase
Cons: Disk tray sticking on first day, SECOND TIME IT WAS OPENED! Read time is pathetic for a new drive with the Samsung name on it.
Other Thoughts: Got it free when I bought a new Corsair case so I think, "Nifty, I don't need to pull a ODD out of my old system.".

Think again, glad I installed two Lite On drives in my old system. (plug alert), five years old and still work like new, which is ten times better than this piece of ....

Guess that's why they're giving them away.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/31/2015 2:38:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > CD / DVD Burners > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG DVD Burner 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 24X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM SATA Model SH-224DB/BEBE

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: For 12 bucks what more do you want? It burns my DVDs and CDs at decent speeds. I am on a budget i5 system so I'm pleased
Cons: none so far
Reviewed By:N/A,5/30/2015 8:41:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > CD / DVD Burners > ASUS > ASUS 24X DVD Burner - Bulk 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 24X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM Black SATA Model DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Needed a new DVD burner
Pros: -Burns all kinds of DVD/CDs
Cons: -None
Reviewed By:N/A,5/30/2015 6:15:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > CD / DVD Burners > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG DVD Burner 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 24X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM SATA Model SH-224DB/RSBS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 NOT BAD
Pros: GREAT FOR THE PRICE
Cons: NONE SO FAR
Reviewed By:N/A,5/30/2015 2:45:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.