Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5018A-MHN4 1U Rackmount Server Barebone (Black) FCBGA 1283 DDR3 1600/1333

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Flexible Server
Pros: Easy to configure with readily available parts.
Quite.
Supports Linux.
Cons: No out of the box RAID support.
No dual power supply support.
Other Thoughts: I have two of these machines set up. One running CentOS-7 and acting as a L.A.M.P. server. The other set up as a time clock server Running Win7 Pro and MS SQL Server. Both installations were a breeze to set up. I only had to install RAM and HDD's and install the OS. SuperMicro does not have drivers that fully support Windows 7 Pro, but everything that I need is working, so I'm not overly concerned.
I like to run my servers with a RAID 1 (mirrored) set up, but there is no RAID support on the MoBo. I had to use software RAID on the CentOS install, but had to forgo the RAID on the Windows installation. Fortunately there are plenty of extra drive slots that can be used for backups etc...
Reviewed By:Unixmonkey,3/1/2015 6:13:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5017C-MF 1U Rackmount Server Barebone LGA 1155 Intel C202 DDR3 1333/1066/800

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Bad network
Pros: Good price, good build.
Cons: One of the two mobo network ports is completely unusable in Linux. There's a known issue with that 82579LM chip and driver that causes the network card to go to sleep for 5 to 10 seconds every few minutes even if you disable power management. Not fun with VOIP traffic. DONT RUN LINUX on this box unless you want a big headache.
Other Thoughts: I wish I'd known before I ordered 3 of these, now I am having my remote office ship the server back so we can install an additional network card and disable the on-board em0.
Reviewed By:CyberMage,2/20/2015 9:44:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5038ML-H12TRF 3U Rackmount Server Barebone (12 Nodes) LGA 1150 Intel C224 DDR3 1600/1333

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great High-Desity Solution
Pros: We run these in high desity, and are able to fit 120 servers per 47u rack easily! Amazing value! IPMI works great, have yet to have an issue with any of them. We go with the 1231v3 CPU & 1271v3 CPU's.
Cons: A bit more pricey than buying 12x single 1U servers.
Reviewed By:robby,2/14/2015 2:51:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > ASUS > ASUS TS500-E6/PS4 Pedestal Server Barebone Intel 5500 Dual LGA 1366 Dual Intel Xeon 5500 and 5600 Series

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Won't restart without power cycle
Pros: Great unit in general. Reasonable cost, good performance over all. RAID system works... always a plus....
Cons: Same /exact/ problem reported here by Albert M.. Warning light on front panel always comes on about a minute after power up. Stays on. Nothing tells us why. The monitoring software provided by ASUS literally shows random values on all voltage, temperature, and fan speed readings. No really... the values shown on the display just randomly change. We've cleaned it out completely (kept it clean in fact) but you still cant restart it (which is sort of bad for a windows server) without powering it entirely off and then back on. This means it can't be managed remotely.
Other Thoughts: Really wish ASUS would support prior equipment.
Reviewed By:James Newton,2/11/2015 11:45:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO AS-2022G-URF 2U Rackmount Server Barebone Dual Socket G34 AMD SR5670 DDR3 1600/1333/1066

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome server, super fast, good deal
Pros: Good pricing
Reliable Hardware
AMD Chips (Better at multi-tasking).
Cons: None that I can think of except the onboard RAID is not very good.
Other Thoughts: I've built 3 of these for medical clinics, I got it with a RAID Card and ran ESXi with it. Server is super fast, doesn't skip a beat, and doesn't glitch out.

AMD chips provide very good multitasking for cheap.

Setting up a SSD RAID 10 I was able to get 1800MB/s in IO
Reviewed By:N/A,1/28/2015 3:47:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5037C-I Pedestal Server Barebone LGA 1155 Intel C202 DDR3 1333/1066

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Workstation, Not for Gaming
Pros: Bought this system back in 2012. Rock Solid as with any other SuperMicro System I've had at work or at home.

Buying the Mobo and Case separately would have been cheaper back then so check the prices. A BIOS update may be required for newer Xenon processors.

Know what you are getting into.
There is no PCIe x 16 slot so you cannot use a Gaming GPU and the on-board GPU (Matrox) is barely adequate for one display. I installed a AMD FirePro 2270 for running 2 24" monitors and it only consumes 15W and is passively cooled.
The MOBO only has 3Gbps SATA ports so if you have good SSD drives you won't get the best performance but for 7200RPM Desktop Drives it is adequate. I'm running 4 Hitachi DeskStar 1TB drives in a RAID10 Array using the C202 Software RAID under Windows 7 Pro.
No idea what some others are talking about with respect to the RAID. No problem here getting Win 7Pro to recognize and install the RAID during install but I am not running RAID5.
The Power Supply is adequate for running 4 Enterprise Class 7200RPM disks with absolutely no problem 24x7 for the last 2 1/2 years. Granted I'm only using a CPU with a TDP of 55W and a GPU with a TDP of 15W but even when rendering 1080p HD video with all 4 threads maxed the CPU only hits 55C and the Case 35C with the stock Intel Cooler and single case fan. If there were to be a power issue it would likely be at startup due to inrush current on the drives and this can be ameliorated by configuring staggered start in the option ROM for the RAID.
Research the memory as it is finicky. ECC Unbuffered. I'm using Kingston ValueRAM (4x4GB) with no issues.
Cons: Only SATA3
No PCIe x 16
No USB3
Other Thoughts: Realistically there are newer motherboards out there from SuperMicro that address all these Cons. When I needed USB3 I just added a $25 card. I'm currently moving the MOBO, CPU & RAM to a Fractal Define R4 for a FreeNAS build and replacing it with a X10SLH-F which has USB 3, Has a PCIex16 Slot (running at x8) and has 6x 6Gbps SATA3 for RAID1 OS/APP and RAID0 Scratch on Samsung EVO SSD. Installing 32GB ECC Corsair.
Reviewed By:Gorgon,1/28/2015 8:53:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5018A-FTN4 1U Rackmount Server Barebone FCBGA 1283 DDR3 1600/1333

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Solid units once the bugs get worked out.
Pros: - Quad Intel NIC. Great for firewalls and routers.
- 8 Logical Cores
- 4 DIMMs for RAM
- VMWare Compatable (Sort of)
- Small Size
- Expandable via PCIe
Cons: - USB3 doesn't work with VMWare. USB2 Does.
- Out of the 5 units purchased so far, 3 have had to be replaced for either bad ram slots or electrical shorts on the motherboard. After a fulling working unit is received, they are rock solid.
- No RAID
Other Thoughts: I have yet to find a smaller, more versatile package for virtualization.

I am using the units as firewalls. They are loaded with VMWare 5.5 and then with PfSense running on top. For ~$700 with RAM and a cheap disk, they are beastly firewalls or routers.
Reviewed By:RYAN N.,1/26/2015 10:59:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > Intel > Intel R2216IP4LHPC 2U Rack Server Barebone Dual LGA 2011 Intel C602 DDR3 1600/1333

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Hyper-V Setup
Pros: FAST, easy to configure.
12x WD1000CHTZ in RAID 10
Cons: Slow boot, but this is expected.
Does not work with Xeon V2 out of the box, must update the firmware. Intel does not provide loaner CPU's for this. I had to buy an old CPU just to get the system running!
Other Thoughts: Update all the firmware!!!
Update Motherboard to slow down the fans and enable V2 CPU's.
Update RAID controller, and don't forget to upgrade the RAID Expander "RES2CV240". I was getting many Unexpected reads and PD errors until I updated the Expander Firmware.
Reviewed By:eric,1/26/2015 9:15:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5018A-TN4 1U Rackmount Server Barebone FCBGA 1283 DDR3 1600/1333

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best low power solution
Pros: This is one beast of a server!!. I use it for my home lab which comprises of some good enterprise grade products from top vendors. This mean machine is what I am proud off. I have 16G of Crucial branded SODIMMs installed and it easily runs my ESXi environment with 4 VMs. I do create additional VMs and have tested up to 7. Works perfectly. Keep in mind that my environment has small number of users and I run AD, NTP, CA, DNS and Apache web servers on my VMs. Use some Linux and open Solaris VMs for development. They all work fine in terms of performance and compatibility. I highly recommend this server.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this for a NAS or a pfSense server/router given it is far more capable than just serving as a network share/router.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/25/2015 8:58:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > Intel > Intel R1304BTSSFANR 1U Rack Server Barebone LGA 1155 Intel C202 DDR3

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good server - Horrible RAID
Pros: Fast - It is extremely fast with 2 (1Gb) NIC's (Which are flip-flopped, more info in cons)

Reliable - Never had a crash, or anything

Light - Does not weight much for a 1U server
Cons: NIC Card's switched -
On Linux (or any OS) you will have to interfaces on it, NIC1, NIC2
On the chasis they are labeled 1 and 2
On the OS the interface 1 goes to NIC2 and vise-versa

No backup power supply

RAID IS HORRIBLE - I tried installing multiple installations on it over 50 times, each a little different. I later learned that there is FakeRAID, not even real hardware RAID.
Reviewed By:Cody,1/18/2015 3:24:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.